Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 589 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

589 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

589 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
404
4 stars
95
3 stars
15
2 stars
15
1 stars
60
1-20 of 557 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews
Great Low Price Home Phone Service
7/6/2013

Customer review by juspeachie

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by juspeachie
by juspeachie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't had a home phone in 7 years it was a wasted bill for me. The only reason why I decided to get another home phone was in case of an emergency my son could call 911 or the sitter could have something to talk without using all the minutes on his/her cell. This is still a wasted monthly expense because I may not even use it but it's good to have just in case. To be honest my cell is a wasted bill I hardly ever talk on it as well but if I need it it's there for me to use. Basic Talk only took me about 5-15 minutes to set up the dial tone is very clear I made a couple of test calls it was very clear all and all I'm very pleased with this product. I just wanted to add the good thing about this phone is that it's wireless when you move just unplug it set it back up at your new location re-enter your service address for 911 purpose then you're all set and the last thing if you have kids/teens or someone using your phone you could go online look at your account to see your phone log.

Was this review helpful? (445) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
juspeachie
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What's not to like?
10/17/2013

Customer review by Prairiehawk

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Prairiehawk
by Prairiehawk
Top 1000 contributor

I decided to purchase the BasicTalk box after reading many positive reviews on walmart.com. I calculated that the monthly price would be less even though I was getting discounted phone service from my cable company. Installation went smoothly. I only have a couple of small complaints, one is that the first month's service - supposed to be free - in fact cost me $1.50 for the E911 fee, not covered by the free offer. I was not told in advance that I would be debited the $1.50, but then it may have been in one of the screens I clicked through. Another small complaint is that the temporary phone number I was assigned was not local to my city. This might have been a showstopper except that I was porting my real phone number so it didn't matter. The port took six days, including a weekend. Calls are clearer than they were with my cable company. There's really no downside to BasicTalk, but I advise reading the signup screens carefully and if a local phone number is important to you, you might be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (579) (82)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prairiehawk
West Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Price and Great Value
6/21/2013

Customer review by ASUGIRL761

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by ASUGIRL761
by ASUGIRL761

I bought this phone service to cover a gap in cell phone coverage. I really didn't have high expectations for the service because of the price. However, I was proven wrong. After I hooked up my first device, which I bought at a Wal-Mart store, I had to contact customer service about a problem. It took no time to connect to the chat service. The customer service representative was knowledgeable and professional. After that initial issue, the service has worked like a dream. All together, the service will cost me $11.76 a month. The only con I found was that the original device I bought could not be registered because it had been used and returned to the store. The customer service representative told me that once a device has been registered to an account, it can never be re-used. So before you buy the device in-store, use your cellphone and go to www.basictalk.com/activate and check to see if the device has been used before. I love this service!

Was this review helpful? (326) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASUGIRL761
Osceola, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The calls are clear, but difficult using menu.
11/11/2013

Customer review by ForceFieldOfLove

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by ForceFieldOfLove
by ForceFieldOfLove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I got this device when I was undecided on what cell phone (if any) to buy. So, for $10, it was totally worth it. Far better than magic jack which I have had for years. It just got too expensive, and their customer service was terrible. The setup was easy! Plug it into your modem, after you login and set up your account. You get a free month, too, which I had not expected, so that was great. The menu, once you setup your voice mail is frustrating. Even though it's set up, it says "Since this is your first time using the service, you'll need to setup your voice mail". Yikes! So, I learned to ignore it and push 1 to retrieve messages, but it is still annoying. I don't like having to pay $110 a year for such a tiny device, so I am rethinking the magic jack now. Though you pay more up front, at least you're done for a year, and they do give you specials - thought the price has doubled in the last 3 years. Would I buy this again? Yes, because the initial cost is low, and that is critical when you are in a pinch.

Was this review helpful? (221) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ForceFieldOfLove
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Switching from Vonage to Basic Talk was easy!!
2/17/2014

Customer review by flowerpetal50

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by flowerpetal50
by flowerpetal50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I didn't know what to expect from Basic Talk after ordering it online and for only $9.88 on sale. The next day, my honey and I picked up the order at the service desk with no long wait...and quickly. After getting home, he installed (just plug it in as instructed) it and within just a few minutes, there was dial tone. So easy to register online and we had the choice of keeping the old number or getting a new one...so we picked a new number and start fresh (so no unwanted calls...if you know what I mean...LOL). It's been about 2 weeks now, and no problems whatsoever! I also cancelled service with Vonage and I won't miss paying the $37.00 monthly payment. The representative was trying hard to keep me as a customer and tried to offer me a good deal for staying. I declined after having attempted to reduce my phone bill previously. Anyone looking to save money on basic phone service, switch over to Basic Talk and you'll have no regrets!

Was this review helpful? (725) (78)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flowerpetal50
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Would never use this again!
3/12/2014

Customer review by joedeb6167

1.0 stars 3/12/2014 by joedeb6167
by joedeb6167

The bf got this and hooked it up to my computer. Since I have the same provider for interent and phone they shut it all down. I went 5 days with no internet and no phone!! No number in the box to call had to google their number. My phone company called them and they refused to cancel. With the win back law they made me wait the entire 5days. I have a medical alert box hooked up to my phone and with this Basic talk you cant use that. People called I could hear them but they couldn't hear me. I told them I needed my house phone back and they said you owe us a dollar!! Really?? They did this to my phone sat morning and here it is Tues I did get my house phone and internet back on but now my house phone doesn't ring as Basic talk is still refusing to remove themselves. Customer service to this company is bad. The phone answering service is beyond poor. If you have the same internet /phone company this isn't something you want. Once they get ahold of your phone they wont let go! Beware!!

Was this review helpful? (213) (145)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joedeb6167
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing Home Phone Service
8/9/2013

Customer review by frugalsunflowerqueen

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by frugalsunflowerqueen
by frugalsunflowerqueen

BasicTalk is an amazing product. All calls are clear just like my ATT landline BUT much cheaper. Plus you have unlimited calling, call waiting and voicemail. I have used it for 7 months now and I have NEVER had a problem, NEVER dropped a call and NEVER heard static. It has been crystal clear from day one. $ 9.99 is a great deal for the box and $ 9.99 for the service. There are no contracts or hidden fees. I am very impressed with the quality and the service. The customer service is very helpful and speak English. You can contact them via phone, email or live chat. Connects right to your router so it doesn't slow down your computer or affect it in anyway. Very simple to install. Your cable comes to the modem, Ethernet from modem to router, Ethernet from BasicTalk to router, Ethernet from computer to router. Plug everything up. Voila!!! You have home phone. I have nothing but praise for BasicTalk and I hope my review can help someone.

Was this review helpful? (94) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frugalsunflowerqueen
Redford, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$36/month vs $10/month same phones
12/8/2013

Customer review by Rick9976

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Rick9976
by Rick9976
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've had digital phone service for years, but when the cost kept climbing it made sense to try BasicTalk. The box installed without problems and the phone number was switched within 7 days. The phone number switch was somewhat of a problem as we have a wireless whole house phone and no extra single phones. After install you have a temp phone number with BasicTalk. We were notified when the switch would occur but had to keep checking to see when it was switched. A single phone plugged into either would have made it easier. In retrospect , we should have kept an old phone or bought a cheap phone. We were notified by email after switch was made. I'm making the above comments for someone who has to be available without interruption. We are very happy with the unit and service. It works and today you can't expect much more than that. One added feature of BasicTalk is voice mail which kicks in after 10 rings. We have voice mail on our phone and use it. The good thing about the external mail is if internet service is down the external voice mail works.

Was this review helpful? (420) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick9976
Beavercreek, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value Way Better Than Expected
8/24/2014

Customer review by bfmeador

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by bfmeador
by bfmeador

I have bought this unit at a Walmart Store in Thomaston, GA. It was very easy to hook up and so far had no issues with it. The calls are clear and works just as good or better than a regular landline. The VOIP phone I used was Magic Jack and it always had issues. Not the case with basic talk. It works without any issues so far. I bought it on 8/19/14 and had it for 5 days now and it works great. The cons are that their term of unlimited means 3000 minutes per month per their fair usage policy. If you did go over you would just get an email telling you that your usage is over the fair usage policy they have and ask you to correct it. I called and asked about that. The other con is that they don't have a number available for every city and since Thomaston, GA wasn't in the list, I wound up getting a number in Woodbury, GA. Its the next town from here. My prices with taxes here is only less than $13.00 per month.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bfmeador
Thomaston, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
1/22/2014

Customer review by AnythingIsPossible

4.0 stars 1/22/2014 by AnythingIsPossible
by AnythingIsPossible

Trying to budget like everyone else, decided to try it out. Purchased the item at a local Walmart for 9.99+ tax. There was only 2-3 boxes left hanging on the shelf of maybe 20. The setup of this device was very easy. Before I plugged everything in, I went online to activate everything first. Then, waited for about 15-30 minutes to plug everything in for setup. It will ask you if you want a new number or change to your old number. I just wanted a home phone for emergencies other than a cell. At first, I had thought that I would have to run a phone line and connect it to my wall outlet, this is not the case. You will not need your wall jack. I do have a phone connected to my old wall jack so I do not miss any calls until everything is transferred. Everything is connected to your router, therefore no running wires. I am hoping that they do not raise the prices since so many people are using it.

Was this review helpful? (307) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnythingIsPossible
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Far more than I expected for under $10.00
6/2/2013

Customer review by tsg1000

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by tsg1000
by tsg1000

I bought this on a whim. I honestly thought it would prove itself a small piece of nothing. Boy was I wrong. It worked right away –perfectly. I used the online set up to get a new telephone number, but, after making a few calls, it was obvious that the call quality is massively better that what I had with an ATT landline. That same night, I requested to have my home number ported to the device. –that’s right, you can first try it out with a new number they give you and, if you like the service, you can then select to port your number. Because the device must be plugged into the modem, I had to rethink how I would set up my cordless phones in the house, but a 25ft phone cord took care of that. I chose not to use the included voice mail and instead opted to have it connected to my old answering machine. Everything works as it did. Only, …the call quality is better. This is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (494) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tsg1000
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
1/10/2014

Customer review by Buyer1959gizmo

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Buyer1959gizmo
by Buyer1959gizmo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best back up phone you can buy. Voicemail, accessable from anywhere on any phone, and is so much better than what i have been paying $20 mo for landline phone through windstream, and that was with no caller id or call waiting, or anything. I very rarely ever used it, and hated wasting $20 on a phone that the only callers were telemarketers and i had no caller i.d. so i hated it. Basic talk is the only way to go as long as you have high speed internet already and plan on keeping your internet provider. You can access your voicemail on the phone or even online too. Its Three times the product, and half the cost of my previous landline back up. My Advice: If you have a back up home phone line - do yourself a favor and get the payments cut in half and Buy the BASIC TALK! This is the first new tech product that actually does what it claims to do, and for less money. Great Product.

Was this review helpful? (103) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buyer1959gizmo
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor performance + Poor support
6/9/2013

Customer review by TheDJK

1.0 stars 6/9/2013 by TheDJK
by TheDJK

PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free. CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#. I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible. Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.

Was this review helpful? (114) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheDJK
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/10/2013

Customer review by MisterDeb

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by MisterDeb
by MisterDeb

Our landline service (Frontier) was reliable during a drought. Whenever it rained, we lost our dialtone for 24 - 48 hours. After having seven failed Frontier service calls over the course of 18 months to fix it, I had enough of incompetence. I read reviews of BasicTalk and magic jack, and decided to try BasicTalk. Went to my local walmart and picked up the package. The first one I bought wouldn't work at all; seems that it had been used, returned to the store, and then put back in stock. I learned that once a unit has been registered online, there is no way to 're-register' it and it becomes completely useless. I returned the first unit, and the second one installed easily. Call quality is better than my landline was. Been using the service for about 2 weeks and have had an excellent experience. Plugged in our wirless Uniden phone system and have nad absolutely no issues. Very pleased so far.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterDeb
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
7/1/2013

Customer review by bobbie46

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by bobbie46
by bobbie46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We needed to find a cheaper service for our home phone, since we are now on a fixed income and the price we were paying with cable was just too high. I saw the ad for the Basic Talk home phone and we both agreed it was worth a try. We had our number ported over, which was pretty fast (4 working days from sign-up) and it all went very smooth. So we have had service since the 19th of June and have had no problems with the service; it works just like before when we had cable. Our total bill each month is $12.71 (taxes, etc included). That is a far cry from the $30 + taxes we were paying with cable. I am hoping it will continue to give us many years of good service! It was very easy to set up and going online was simple to do also. I can also state that I am still able to have a 3-4 hour conversation with my daughter each week with no problems at all. So far we love it and have recommended it to many people.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobbie46
Northwest PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Goodbye Verizon Hello Basic Talk, I can hear you!
9/20/2013

Customer review by Hamunaptrah

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Hamunaptrah
by Hamunaptrah
Top 250 contributor

Right off the bat the savings over my old Verizon Home Phone Connect service are 70%, the talk quality is much better (just like land line), calls go through MUCH faster, No dropped calls and it even works when it rains (unlike Verizon)...I did have to buy a router (Netgear from WM) but no big deal, hooked up easy with no hassle, took a few calls to get voice mail worked out and now it is working as it should plus I like all the call information available online for my account and with the total investment including buying a router I will be in the black in less than two months....not a bad return on investment time! Now for the down side: I normally won't do business with a company that has NO Phone Contact number but I did find an 800 number if you wanted to disconnect so I was good with that. When internet goes out I will have no phone, that was a big leap of faith, but that's why we have neighbors. All in all, if they can keep their books straight and I can make calls we will get along just fine, time will tell but thus far it is an excellent value for what you pay so fingers crossed.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hamunaptrah
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Switching from Centurylink to Basic Talk
11/25/2013

Customer review by Blevins423

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Blevins423
by Blevins423

I purchased this device at my local Wal-Mart store.Came home,done the Activation before I took it out of the box.It was very simple.Waited about 15 mins,hooked it up,and made some Outgoing and Incoming test calls.It sounds just like my current land line! Very clear! I was really surprised,and skeptical,but after all the good reviews,less than $15 to purchase and your first month Free (You do have to pay $1.00 Tax off of Debit/Credit card) I figured why not try it?! I was desperate to lower my bill.I was looking at paying around $70-$80 just for my Internet,Phone,Caller ID,Call Waiting,and Local Calling? Rediculous! I would have liked to keep my old phone number though because it was so easy to remember,but had to get a new one (I got to pick from a few),but other than that,no complaints so far! I am set for no more Home Phone thorough Centurylink and depending on Basic Talk starting next month! I'm nervous. After everything is switched over I am now looking at around $50 between Internet and Basic Talk together.I will take saving $20-30 a month! Fingers Crossed! I hope to enjoy this for years! Dollars saved are Dollars earned!

Was this review helpful? (116) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blevins423
Elizabethton,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Unbelievable!!
11/26/2013

Customer review by Hickman123

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Hickman123
by Hickman123

First let me say I only tried this because I figured I would only be out the $10 for the box. We had to have a home phone in case of an emergency so I figured it wouldn't hurt to try. Was amazed at how easy it was to hook up. I got to pick my number from 3 numbers available in my area. My area is very remote. The box hooked up to my router. I have comcast internet but we do not have the fastest speed. I have had no problems at all. Once I linked the payment to my bank account it says may take up to 8dys to work but my phone worked within 10 min. By the way it is only $1 for the first month. If you don't have internet this box will not work for you but when I had triple play with comcast my phone didn't work when my internet was down either. I would absolutely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (149) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hickman123
Lafollette TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST HOME PHONE SERVICE EVER!!!
10/19/2013

Customer review by ANDEisaMOM

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by ANDEisaMOM
by ANDEisaMOM

I hope my review will help other people choose the most inexpensive, best home phone service ever! I am a single mom so I am on a limited budget. Prior to this home phone service I had AT&T and I was paying $35.00 plus all the extra fees & taxes for U.S calling only. I looked into the Magic product but my sister has it overseas and said she had some problems with it, etc. So I found Basic Talk, wow I am pleasantly surprised! Stop paying high company bills for home phone service, buy Basic Talk. I have recommended it to friends & family. You do need to have internet service but nowadays who doesn't? Although a lot of people don't have home phones I wanted it for the sake of my kids. Also, with this home phone you can register it for 911 purposes, you register your physical address. With the Magic you can't. Blessings! <3

Was this review helpful? (203) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ANDEisaMOM
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing deal!
5/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had majicJack for about 2 years. The quality of majicJack has really deteriorated over that time. Many dropped calls and people not being able to get in touch with me. Moreover, their customer support is non-existent, so the issues could not be resolved. A few days ago I got fed up with majicJack and I decided to try Basictalk. Since it has no contract, I had nothing to really lose. And what a difference! The setup was extremely simple, the calls now are crystal clear, has all the features you will ever need (911, voicemail, caller id, call waiting), has an actual customer support and all of that for 10 bucks a month (with taxes and fees it's about $12.70/month for me). And on top of that, no start-up costs whatsoever! Al in all, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (999) (108)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews