Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 118 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Great Features, Terrible Directions
1/23/2009

Customer review by Steve94H

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by Steve94H
by Steve94H

I will start by saying that this gate is excellent. We have a wide opening at the top of our stairs, and this gate was perfect for us. It's also very attractive and should fit in well with most (if not all) styles of decor. With that said, the directions are probably the worst I've ever tried to follow. And that's saying something, as I've put together alot of furniture of this type. If you try to follow the installation directions included in the package, it will take you way too long to put together and you will likely get very frustrated. I read several other similar comments about this product, and they were absolutely right. My suggestion would be to start by taping the template to the wall (which is one of the last steps, according to the directions provided) and attaching the hinge plates. Then, insert the eyebolts into the hinging panel. When you have completed those two steps, hang the hinging panel onto the hinge plates. After you do that, it will be easy to attach the second panel to the hinge panel at the correct length. This may not make much sense as you're reading it, but if you purchase the product and try to follow the provided instructions, please refer back to my suggestions before you get too frustrated. You will save yourself alot of time and agony. Overall, I'm very pleased with the product. It looks great, and functions just as good as we'd hoped it would when we purchased it. I really like the fact that the gate is extremely easy to remove if you want to do so. I definitely recommend this gate.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve94H
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Gate
2/7/2009

Customer review by ABCfamily

4.0 stars 2/7/2009 by ABCfamily
by ABCfamily

This is a nice gate, solid wood. We did a lot of engineering to get it in place, but that is more due to our house than the gate. We were disappointed as to the mechanism used for how you open/unlock the gate. We bought it for use at the bottom of the stairs between the banister and the wall. Having the lever on the side of the gate several inches down from the top was not going to work for us. How would I bend over and use my thumb or finger to unlatch the button with a baby in my arms? We took off the plastic hardware and instead installed a traditional picket fence latch. This works for us, at least for now. May have to buy a more sophisticated latch down the road when the baby can reach it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABCfamily
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate, but only allows for inside mount
1/5/2011

Customer review by Likesoutdoors

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by Likesoutdoors
by Likesoutdoors

This gate is beautiful and is perfect for visible areas of a home. We use it at the end of our hallway, where it meets the living room. I would not say it's easy to install, b/c any time you are trying to line up something perfectly on two sides, it's a challenge. We had a family member who is very handy help us. He did a great job installing it and - as a result - the gate works great. (If you don't get things lined up right, it would not latch and un-latch smoothly, which is a must for high traffic areas.) It's easy to open (and of course close) one-handed, which is a must since baby is usually in my arms. You can also remove it from its brackets fairly easily (i.e. remove the gate, while the mounting hardware stays attached to the wall). That is a nice feature and we recently did that when we had grandparents staying with us for a few days. I uploaded 2 pictures of the gate. In the one picture, the gate is opened as far as it can go. The biggest draw back is it only opens 90 degrees and it's made for only an inside mount. As a result, when it's open, it's sort of a sitting duck to get pushed beyond 90 degrees and I'm worried it's life will be cut short by cracking the plastic pieces that hold the metal hinges (i.e. ... kids roughhousing and someone pushes into it when it's open ...). The second picture is a close-up of the plastic pieces that hold the metal hinges. To address that concern, we initially wanted to mount it just outside the hallwall walls (so the mounting hardware would actually be on the living room walls). The outside mount we desired would have allowed the gate to open all the way back and be flush with the left wall you can see in the picture. We were going to put "bumper" pads on the gate so wall would not get damaged if gate bumped against it. However, to accomplish all of this, we needed a 2"x2" piece of wood to use for the right side of the mounting hardware (for things to line up) and we didn't have time to get that wood and stain it and varnish it, so we just installed it with the inside mount. Sometimes I regret not taking the extra time doing the outside mount. Plan ahead and do what works best for your family. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend and I still gave it 5 stars. Just consider what's mentioned above before you install.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Likesoutdoors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Solid gate, looks good too
11/18/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/18/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a solid gate, made of real wood and looks good too. We used this gate to block a large space (45 in) between rooms. Our one year old daughter can hang on it and it doesn't move. I do like this gate and I'm getting another for the top of our stairs. However, it could use improvement. The latch mechanism can be defeated by simply lifting up the side of the gate that opens. Our daughter has not figured this out yet, but I may have to improvise a solution at some point. The installation was not too difficult, if you disregard some of the instructions. I am an Engineer and even I found some parts of the instructions unworkable, so I had to improvise. Also, the screws provided are worthless and several broke - in half - during installation. I ended up purchasing stainless steel ones to replace the cheap alloy screws provided. Anyway, it's a solid gate that can expand to cover a good range of widths. However, once installed you can not expand or contract the gate. It's a fixed width after installation. The gate comes in two pieces and you line up the pieces to the appropriate width. This can cause the spindles to align much differently than the photos shows. It's not a problem, just don't believe all the pictures you see.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
NW NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could be better
8/22/2011

Customer review by Perdan

3.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Perdan
by Perdan

The gate is on and it's serving the purpose. However, the instructions are pathetically written and wrong. Don't follow them. Don't screw the metal brackets on the sections before you measure the opening. The hinges are flimsy and the whole gate could've been designed better and not have a huge overlap of one section over the other. The system to open the gate is really badly designed. Not well thought out at all. It's very hard to open even for an adult. Not very handy and not very practical if you have stuff on your hand and try to open it. In other words, for the amount of money that it costs, you would think that they could give you something better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Perdan
Fairless Hills, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A nice addition
8/29/2007

Customer review by IowaFisherman

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by IowaFisherman
by IowaFisherman

We purchased two of the Evenflo Wood gates. We opted for them because they are going at the top and bottom of an oak staircase and it was important to keep the integrity of the design by trying to match the woodwork. The evenflo gates fit the bill very nicely. Although the installation was not as quick and easy as some of the pressure fit models, I figured that we'd be using them for several years to keep my one-year old and baby on the way safe so the additional effort to install them was well worth it. They look great, will fit a wide range of sizes, and are relatively simple to install. (However, if you are installing them on a Balustrade, some creative thinking might be required). Overall and so far, we are very pleased with the purchase and would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IowaFisherman
Norwalk, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy and Complements Decor
7/9/2008

Customer review by LovinBeinAGrandma

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by LovinBeinAGrandma
by LovinBeinAGrandma

I was unexpectedly pleased with the quality of this product. It looks much nicer installed than I imagined from the picture -- the light wood gate matches well with our medium oak trim and once installed does not appear a different shade from the surrounding wood. The gate is very sturdy, we choose the hardware-mounted gate instead of the pressure-mounted for safety reasons, as the gate is at the top of a set of stairs. My husband was a bit confused with the installation, there was a gap left between the gate segments when using the enclosed spacer brackets. We finally decided it was a safety feature -- maybe to protect little fingers from getting caught. We are much more pleased than we initially thought we would be. In fact, we have decided to leave the gate up instead of using the pocket door to close off the area when the grandchildren are not visiting, the quality is so nice it actually adds to the decor --- an unexpected and surprising addition.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovinBeinAGrandma
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product, terrible instructions
7/22/2008

Customer review by upnorth12

4.0 stars 7/22/2008 by upnorth12
by upnorth12

This gate is the best I ever saw. It looks very nice and matches my woodwork well. I think it is worth the extra money over cheaper models for that alone. I told myself, I'm going to have to look at this for 5 years, it better look nice. It feels solid and seems that it will prevent any accidents on the stairs. Now the bad. The directions are terrible. The diagrams are backwards and lack the appropriate information needed for an easy install. The installation isn't that hard if you apply common sense. I tossed the directions and started over and it went okay. I had to do a custom install for my gate also. I only had sheet rock on the opposite side of the existing railing. I bought butterfly type sheetrock anchors and that feels sturdy. The main post on the railing where the latch portion attaches tapers as it goes towards the top. The bottom latch catch fit fine. For the top one I use plastic spacers between the post and the top latch catch. This moved it out from the post and lined up perfect. Simply find ones that slide over the screws used to install the latch catch and cut to length.(bring the screws with you to the hardware store) On the gate itself just put the sides where you can see the nails towards each other. Don't follow the diagram on where to place the spacers between the gate halves. Just hold the gate up to your opening and make it about two inches or so shorter than your opening and install the spacers in the closest holes. Hope this helps!! P.S. I didn't look as happy as the lady in the picture for the product when I was done...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upnorth12
osceola, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
evenflo swing gate
2/13/2009

Customer review by iowadaycaremom

4.0 stars 2/13/2009 by iowadaycaremom
by iowadaycaremom

I like the fact this product is oak and matches the woodwork in our home. We have had others that are plastic and do not look very nice at all. Also, I like the idea this product does not rely on pressure against the wall to stay in place. The gates that push against the wall always damage the paint and drywall. What I am a little leary of with this product is that the latch and hinges are plastic. It is my experience plastic parts, especially plastic moving parts are prone to breaking. But that's how things are made these days. There aren't any other options out there. My husband just installed the gate last week. Time will tell how it holds up. Just a side note, it is strongly advised there is a stud in the wall on both the hinged side and the latch side. This was not the case with our install so my husband had to tear out drywall, instert a stud and repair the wall. I then finished up with repainting the wall before we began the install process. Even if you do have a stud in the wall on both sides, the person installing the gate better be handy with a drill and screws. My husband is very much a do-it-yourselfer so he was prepared and equiped to drill the necessary holes etc. But still it took some patience and about and hour and a half of his time. Like I said we just got the gate so I can't really comment on it durability. But I can say it looks much nicer than others we have had and I love the function of being able to unlatch it, walk through and simply close the gate again. Other gates we have had we totally had to take down to get through or hurdle them if we didn't want to mess with moving it. This new gates hinge and latch system is much prefered over the pressure type gates. I just hope the plastic parts hold up to the abuse of the dog and my home daycare business. If only there were metal parts instead of plastic it would be perfect and get a five star rating. As it is, I am a little hesitant to give it five starts since I don't know how long the moving parts will hold up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iowadaycaremom
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
2/12/2009

Customer review by jute101

5.0 stars 2/12/2009 by jute101
by jute101

I purchased this gate to keep my Mother's dogs out of my living room. I needed a swing gate because mom is too old to climb over a regular gate. It took a few minutes to figure out the brackets go on the underside of the top and bottom part of the gate. The instructions weren't very helpful but they did include a template to place on the wall to get a perfect measurement of where to place the screws. I sunk molly's into the wall and opted to use shorter screws but only did this because I'm not using the gate on stairs. The latching mechanism takes a bit of getting used to as it is intended to keep little ones from escaping. Overall I'm thrilled with the gate and it does keep the dogs out of the living room and looks very stylish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jute101
Davie Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome Gate!!
1/24/2008

Customer review by FatherofanAngel

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by FatherofanAngel
by FatherofanAngel

I looked at several different gates and read many, many reviews. I wanted a gate the would keep my daughter from going down the stairs and look nice at the same time. It was very difficult finding something that was not an eye sore because it is the first thing you see when you come into the house. However, it also had to be easy to walk through. This gate is very sturdy and nice to look at. It comes in two colors and the lite oak color I purchased is beautiful. It actually looks like it belongs there. It is also easy enough for my wife to open and close while carrying my daughter at the same time. I would recommend this gate to anyone needing a nice looking gate with the safety and convenience of those eyesore metal ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatherofanAngel
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great gate
1/28/2008

Customer review by MommyinKS

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by MommyinKS
by MommyinKS

works well containing my 9 mo old. it is not that difficult to install, make sure you install it into a wall stud, though. I have it on the top of my stairs and it works very well. To open it, all you do is push in and up on a button that is 2" below the top on the latching side. If you don't push in, the gate won't open.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyinKS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks Great in Your Staircase
10/3/2007

Customer review by RookyDad123

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by RookyDad123
by RookyDad123

Lets make it short: Cheap plastic baby gates look exactly like that - cheap plastic. Plus many of them squeeze in place - ruining your walls over time. / Ups: This one works like a regular door with hinges and a lock. Great if you already have an oak stair case. It looks really great! / Downs: Going by the amount of material that goes into it, I don't see why it has to cost that much. Also the wood screws that come with it are made of tinfoil. Instead of cursing, just get a set of better quality wood screws. And finally our little one already figured out the 'child-proof' lock mechanism. Now I have to install a brass plate in front of it, so he can not reach it. / Summary: Looks great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RookyDad123
Andover, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gate
8/4/2008

Customer review by mother123456

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by mother123456
by mother123456

so far this is a great gate. It is easily opened, and is sturdy (my son stands on it). It was a nightmare to put together however. I would recommend this, just remember patience when installing, it is worth it when you are done!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mother123456
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worth the money
6/13/2008

Customer review by picklemonster

5.0 stars 6/13/2008 by picklemonster
by picklemonster

First, the finish is a beautiful red oak, not a pale natural oak color like on the box. Matches our house perfectly. Easy to install. It is a little bit flimsy on the bottom, but pretty durable for the most part. I just wish the one hand release was a little bit easier for me to release. Perfect for corralling our three shepherds and my friends kids.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
picklemonster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keep the dog out
10/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Sloppy finish on portions of gate. Instructions difficult even for an experienced carpenter-trim specialist. Cheap screws that stripped with no extras in case of that happening. Finished product looks great even though time of installation and our own improvovisatition was what enabled us to finish the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Meriden, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous Gate!
8/6/2009

Customer review by tennisnut03

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by tennisnut03
by tennisnut03

I bought this to match our oak banister and it looks awesome! The wood is high quality, great smooth finish, instructions were easy to follow, closure mechanism works very well. I highly recommend this product, even though it's a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tennisnut03
Northeast, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best Ever
6/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have a steep stairway and so i ordered this product It is so much heavier duty then any gate i have bought or seen. there is no shaking that gate off. Plus it is very nice looking and looks like it was made to be there. I liked it so much I went and bought my Grandma one. This can with stand her bulldogs. Im tellin ya it's great!!! So worth it.!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Up North
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/9/2011

Customer review by Noslenr

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Noslenr
by Noslenr

Very good quality materials, assembly was easy with good fit. Gate works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noslenr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking gate, sturdy, works very well.
10/12/2011

Customer review by FanofSamW

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by FanofSamW
by FanofSamW

This gate looks great, is very sturdy, and works well over a wide range of of door openings. It is easy to open and when closed it latches automatically. Assembly takes a bit of extra work because it is designed to accomodate a different opening sizes and still remain sturdy. It would be nice if the unlatching slide had a spring return but it works well once you understand that the slide must be lowered completely to begin the unlatch process.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FanofSamW
Chelsea, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews