Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

133 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 118 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Solid Gate
2/7/2009

Customer review by ABCfamily

4.0 stars 2/7/2009 by ABCfamily
by ABCfamily

This is a nice gate, solid wood. We did a lot of engineering to get it in place, but that is more due to our house than the gate. We were disappointed as to the mechanism used for how you open/unlock the gate. We bought it for use at the bottom of the stairs between the banister and the wall. Having the lever on the side of the gate several inches down from the top was not going to work for us. How would I bend over and use my thumb or finger to unlatch the button with a baby in my arms? We took off the plastic hardware and instead installed a traditional picket fence latch. This works for us, at least for now. May have to buy a more sophisticated latch down the road when the baby can reach it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABCfamily
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate, but only allows for inside mount
1/5/2011

Customer review by Likesoutdoors

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by Likesoutdoors
by Likesoutdoors

This gate is beautiful and is perfect for visible areas of a home. We use it at the end of our hallway, where it meets the living room. I would not say it's easy to install, b/c any time you are trying to line up something perfectly on two sides, it's a challenge. We had a family member who is very handy help us. He did a great job installing it and - as a result - the gate works great. (If you don't get things lined up right, it would not latch and un-latch smoothly, which is a must for high traffic areas.) It's easy to open (and of course close) one-handed, which is a must since baby is usually in my arms. You can also remove it from its brackets fairly easily (i.e. remove the gate, while the mounting hardware stays attached to the wall). That is a nice feature and we recently did that when we had grandparents staying with us for a few days. I uploaded 2 pictures of the gate. In the one picture, the gate is opened as far as it can go. The biggest draw back is it only opens 90 degrees and it's made for only an inside mount. As a result, when it's open, it's sort of a sitting duck to get pushed beyond 90 degrees and I'm worried it's life will be cut short by cracking the plastic pieces that hold the metal hinges (i.e. ... kids roughhousing and someone pushes into it when it's open ...). The second picture is a close-up of the plastic pieces that hold the metal hinges. To address that concern, we initially wanted to mount it just outside the hallwall walls (so the mounting hardware would actually be on the living room walls). The outside mount we desired would have allowed the gate to open all the way back and be flush with the left wall you can see in the picture. We were going to put "bumper" pads on the gate so wall would not get damaged if gate bumped against it. However, to accomplish all of this, we needed a 2"x2" piece of wood to use for the right side of the mounting hardware (for things to line up) and we didn't have time to get that wood and stain it and varnish it, so we just installed it with the inside mount. Sometimes I regret not taking the extra time doing the outside mount. Plan ahead and do what works best for your family. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend and I still gave it 5 stars. Just consider what's mentioned above before you install.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Likesoutdoors
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Just installed
12/22/2012

Customer review by neka3112

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by neka3112
by neka3112

I haven't had a chance to actually decide how good this product is because I just finished installing it (about 15 minutes ago). But it looks great with my natural wood railing. So based on that, I would say so far it's a great product. However, I agree with most of the other reviewers. The instructions are a P.O.C. and basically a waste of time. I quickly got overwhelmed when trying to figure out the first couple of steps. One review that I read suggested to start by mounting the hinges to the wall (or the spacer), and I completely agree. I had to use the spacers (in which the holes were pre-drilled, even though the instructions said to drill holes), so I started with those. I did not tape the template to the wall or the spacer as the instructions suggest. Instead, I used it to mark off hole locations by measuring between the hole locations. Between hole "A" and "B" is 3/4". From hole to hole on the hinge pieces (from "B" to "B" on one hinge) is 2.5". From the bottom hole of the top hinge "B" to the top hole of the bottom hinge is 18". (Double check yours just to be safe) With those measurements, I used a level to mark all of the hole locations. After mounting the the spacer onto the wall, and the hinges onto the spacer, I started working backwards in a sense. I put the two hinge panels together to get the distance of the door way opening and THEN mounted the brackets to both of the hinge panels. I basically only used the instructions to identify parts and hole sizes. I used a 9/16" drill bit instead of the 1/8" as the instructions suggested. As one other reviewer mentioned, the screws will snap if you aren't careful. So, after snapping one, I learned that I should use a screwdriver (with the correct tip) to tighten all screws, and only use the drill for drilling holes. I had no problems using the screwdriver (but my hands and wrists got a good work out.) Lastly, for step 14 which says, "Adjust the eyebolt until the distance between the latch panel and the solid wood surface (wall or wood spacer) is 13/16 (21mm)"-- the instructions were unnecessarily complex. Basically, screw the eyebolt all the way in until you've reached the end of the thread. That should give you the approximate 21mm. Adjust if necessary. I hope the pictures help too! I hope the manufacturer reads these reviews. They seriously need to start completely over with writing the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neka3112
Brooklyn Park, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product, terrible instructions
7/22/2008

Customer review by upnorth12

4.0 stars 7/22/2008 by upnorth12
by upnorth12

This gate is the best I ever saw. It looks very nice and matches my woodwork well. I think it is worth the extra money over cheaper models for that alone. I told myself, I'm going to have to look at this for 5 years, it better look nice. It feels solid and seems that it will prevent any accidents on the stairs. Now the bad. The directions are terrible. The diagrams are backwards and lack the appropriate information needed for an easy install. The installation isn't that hard if you apply common sense. I tossed the directions and started over and it went okay. I had to do a custom install for my gate also. I only had sheet rock on the opposite side of the existing railing. I bought butterfly type sheetrock anchors and that feels sturdy. The main post on the railing where the latch portion attaches tapers as it goes towards the top. The bottom latch catch fit fine. For the top one I use plastic spacers between the post and the top latch catch. This moved it out from the post and lined up perfect. Simply find ones that slide over the screws used to install the latch catch and cut to length.(bring the screws with you to the hardware store) On the gate itself just put the sides where you can see the nails towards each other. Don't follow the diagram on where to place the spacers between the gate halves. Just hold the gate up to your opening and make it about two inches or so shorter than your opening and install the spacers in the closest holes. Hope this helps!! P.S. I didn't look as happy as the lady in the picture for the product when I was done...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
upnorth12
osceola, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to use, looks great
5/2/2008

Customer review by MomtoElizabeth

5.0 stars 5/2/2008 by MomtoElizabeth
by MomtoElizabeth

I was skeptical when I read the reviews on the problems with installing the gate but my husband did not have much trouble. He does suggest to be sure you do your own measurements because their measurement guide was off by 1/8" which could make the gate a little wobbly. It only took him about 20 minutes to actually install it. We stained 2 pieces of wood & attached to each side of our banister so to not have to screw into the banister and it came out great. (I included a picture.) It is easy to open with one hand & then simply pull close. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomtoElizabeth
DeKalb, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Like It
1/17/2008

Customer review by Kelmey

3.0 stars 1/17/2008 by Kelmey
by Kelmey

If you need a gate that you plan on leaving up for a while, this is the one. I did a lot of searching for a "top of the stairs" gate and never found one that matched our needs, until I found this one. I read the other reviews and most of them stated it was hard to install. I like to think I'm a mechanically inclined guy and it would be no problem, but it was actually a tad bit difficult to install. It matched our woodwork pretty closely and it will look good for the two years we'll probably have it up. Overall, a great gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelmey
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy and Complements Decor
7/9/2008

Customer review by LovinBeinAGrandma

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by LovinBeinAGrandma
by LovinBeinAGrandma

I was unexpectedly pleased with the quality of this product. It looks much nicer installed than I imagined from the picture -- the light wood gate matches well with our medium oak trim and once installed does not appear a different shade from the surrounding wood. The gate is very sturdy, we choose the hardware-mounted gate instead of the pressure-mounted for safety reasons, as the gate is at the top of a set of stairs. My husband was a bit confused with the installation, there was a gap left between the gate segments when using the enclosed spacer brackets. We finally decided it was a safety feature -- maybe to protect little fingers from getting caught. We are much more pleased than we initially thought we would be. In fact, we have decided to leave the gate up instead of using the pocket door to close off the area when the grandchildren are not visiting, the quality is so nice it actually adds to the decor --- an unexpected and surprising addition.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinBeinAGrandma
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Features, Terrible Directions
1/23/2009

Customer review by Steve94H

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by Steve94H
by Steve94H

I will start by saying that this gate is excellent. We have a wide opening at the top of our stairs, and this gate was perfect for us. It's also very attractive and should fit in well with most (if not all) styles of decor. With that said, the directions are probably the worst I've ever tried to follow. And that's saying something, as I've put together alot of furniture of this type. If you try to follow the installation directions included in the package, it will take you way too long to put together and you will likely get very frustrated. I read several other similar comments about this product, and they were absolutely right. My suggestion would be to start by taping the template to the wall (which is one of the last steps, according to the directions provided) and attaching the hinge plates. Then, insert the eyebolts into the hinging panel. When you have completed those two steps, hang the hinging panel onto the hinge plates. After you do that, it will be easy to attach the second panel to the hinge panel at the correct length. This may not make much sense as you're reading it, but if you purchase the product and try to follow the provided instructions, please refer back to my suggestions before you get too frustrated. You will save yourself alot of time and agony. Overall, I'm very pleased with the product. It looks great, and functions just as good as we'd hoped it would when we purchased it. I really like the fact that the gate is extremely easy to remove if you want to do so. I definitely recommend this gate.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve94H
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid gate, looks good too
11/18/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/18/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a solid gate, made of real wood and looks good too. We used this gate to block a large space (45 in) between rooms. Our one year old daughter can hang on it and it doesn't move. I do like this gate and I'm getting another for the top of our stairs. However, it could use improvement. The latch mechanism can be defeated by simply lifting up the side of the gate that opens. Our daughter has not figured this out yet, but I may have to improvise a solution at some point. The installation was not too difficult, if you disregard some of the instructions. I am an Engineer and even I found some parts of the instructions unworkable, so I had to improvise. Also, the screws provided are worthless and several broke - in half - during installation. I ended up purchasing stainless steel ones to replace the cheap alloy screws provided. Anyway, it's a solid gate that can expand to cover a good range of widths. However, once installed you can not expand or contract the gate. It's a fixed width after installation. The gate comes in two pieces and you line up the pieces to the appropriate width. This can cause the spindles to align much differently than the photos shows. It's not a problem, just don't believe all the pictures you see.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NW NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could be better
8/22/2011

Customer review by Perdan

3.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Perdan
by Perdan

The gate is on and it's serving the purpose. However, the instructions are pathetically written and wrong. Don't follow them. Don't screw the metal brackets on the sections before you measure the opening. The hinges are flimsy and the whole gate could've been designed better and not have a huge overlap of one section over the other. The system to open the gate is really badly designed. Not well thought out at all. It's very hard to open even for an adult. Not very handy and not very practical if you have stuff on your hand and try to open it. In other words, for the amount of money that it costs, you would think that they could give you something better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Perdan
Fairless Hills, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
9/27/2008

Customer review by momto3princes

5.0 stars 9/27/2008 by momto3princes
by momto3princes

We needed this swing gate because we got tired of constantly climbing over the gate we were using to keep our 15-month old in the living room. The gate is attractive, albeit a little pricey. But we figured we would pay the price to save our knees. This gate is very easy to open, even with a child in your arms. However, our 6-year old has been unable to get the hang of how the latch works. The only drawback was the time it took to install it - almost 4 hours. My husband is very handy but had problems with the screws that come with this gate, they were cheap and flimsy and kept bending during installation. This gate expands to fit a wide opening, which is what we needed, but getting the measurements "just right" during installation was another issue. Now that the gate is up, it is very sturdy and I'm glad we bought it. I recommend this product - with a little patience during installation - but the effort is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momto3princes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A nice addition
8/29/2007

Customer review by IowaFisherman

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by IowaFisherman
by IowaFisherman

We purchased two of the Evenflo Wood gates. We opted for them because they are going at the top and bottom of an oak staircase and it was important to keep the integrity of the design by trying to match the woodwork. The evenflo gates fit the bill very nicely. Although the installation was not as quick and easy as some of the pressure fit models, I figured that we'd be using them for several years to keep my one-year old and baby on the way safe so the additional effort to install them was well worth it. They look great, will fit a wide range of sizes, and are relatively simple to install. (However, if you are installing them on a Balustrade, some creative thinking might be required). Overall and so far, we are very pleased with the purchase and would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IowaFisherman
Norwalk, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the extra money.
2/11/2008

Customer review by FreddieJR

5.0 stars 2/11/2008 by FreddieJR
by FreddieJR

My wife and I decided to purchase this gate because we live in a split level house and our stairs are used alot. We wanted something that would be easy to use and blend in with the existing railing. We have now had this gate up about 2 months and it has worked flawlessly. The best thing about the gate is that it doesn't take lot of thought to shut it so it has become second nature. A gentle push and you can hear it click into place. I was a little worried at first that the latch would be hard for guests to figure out but we had a first birthday party the other day and no one seemed to have any issues. I know this gate is a little more costly than some others but the solid construction, ease of use and stair type spindles make it well worth the money. If you have a high traffic area, or a large opening like we do I would highly suggest this gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreddieJR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good looks, bad instructions and hardware
2/15/2015

Customer review by RayfromMaine

4.0 stars 2/15/2015 by RayfromMaine
by RayfromMaine

The gate looks good and works well for our needs, but as others have noted, the instructions are poor and we had problems with the hardware quality control. We had to send the first one back because of a bent eye bolt and the second one was sent with machine screws instead of wood screws so they we useless. Luckily, I had wood screws to use. As others have said, the directions are poor. If you follow them in the order given, you will pull your hair out. Skip putting the two gate pieces together until the mounting hardware is installed. You can then place one end in the hinges and you can determine much more easily where to attach the pieces together. Also seems that the gate is over engineered, particularly where the two gate pieces end up with a gap between them instead of one solid piece.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayfromMaine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Gate Ever!
2/17/2015

Customer review by 6snappeas

5.0 stars 2/17/2015 by 6snappeas
by 6snappeas

We have had this gate for 3 years now and we love it so much! Its so great having it swing open rather than undoing the the gate from the wall and remounting it. We love the color(we have the dark wood) and we love the design. We have it fully extended in a large open area between our kitchen and livingroom and it's perfect. I can keep the kids in the livingroom while i prepare a meal. They can come to the gate and have no worries if they push on it that it will fall down, it's just perfect! The only thing that i would maybe change would be to have it swing both ways. If they could change it to do that, it would be even better :)

6snappeas
St Henry, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
2/12/2009

Customer review by jute101

5.0 stars 2/12/2009 by jute101
by jute101

I purchased this gate to keep my Mother's dogs out of my living room. I needed a swing gate because mom is too old to climb over a regular gate. It took a few minutes to figure out the brackets go on the underside of the top and bottom part of the gate. The instructions weren't very helpful but they did include a template to place on the wall to get a perfect measurement of where to place the screws. I sunk molly's into the wall and opted to use shorter screws but only did this because I'm not using the gate on stairs. The latching mechanism takes a bit of getting used to as it is intended to keep little ones from escaping. Overall I'm thrilled with the gate and it does keep the dogs out of the living room and looks very stylish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jute101
Davie Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome Gate!!
1/24/2008

Customer review by FatherofanAngel

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by FatherofanAngel
by FatherofanAngel

I looked at several different gates and read many, many reviews. I wanted a gate the would keep my daughter from going down the stairs and look nice at the same time. It was very difficult finding something that was not an eye sore because it is the first thing you see when you come into the house. However, it also had to be easy to walk through. This gate is very sturdy and nice to look at. It comes in two colors and the lite oak color I purchased is beautiful. It actually looks like it belongs there. It is also easy enough for my wife to open and close while carrying my daughter at the same time. I would recommend this gate to anyone needing a nice looking gate with the safety and convenience of those eyesore metal ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FatherofanAngel
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great looking and lasted 8 years
2/9/2015

Customer review by Vikingtech

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by Vikingtech
by Vikingtech

We bought this gate soon after our son was born. It matched our oak staircase railings and lasted for 8 years until a large sofa was dropped on it and broke one of the hinges. I call support and they shipped out the replacement part for free in less than a week. Thanks Evenflo for the great product and great service after the sale!

Vikingtech
Fort Collins, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just OK
10/7/2014

Customer review by bluestang65

3.0 stars 10/7/2014 by bluestang65
by bluestang65

Happy to see a baby gate that actually blends with the millwork in a modern home which is why I bought it. My sister also got one. It matches our home pretty well. The design of the plastic hinges and latch system leaves something to be desired. It's broken for what is now the third time. Granted, it is 7 years old now and survived 4 children, but it would be nice to get more options in premium gates from evenflo.

bluestang65
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Looks Great in Your Staircase
10/3/2007

Customer review by RookyDad123

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by RookyDad123
by RookyDad123

Lets make it short: Cheap plastic baby gates look exactly like that - cheap plastic. Plus many of them squeeze in place - ruining your walls over time. / Ups: This one works like a regular door with hinges and a lock. Great if you already have an oak stair case. It looks really great! / Downs: Going by the amount of material that goes into it, I don't see why it has to cost that much. Also the wood screws that come with it are made of tinfoil. Instead of cursing, just get a set of better quality wood screws. And finally our little one already figured out the 'child-proof' lock mechanism. Now I have to install a brass plate in front of it, so he can not reach it. / Summary: Looks great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RookyDad123
Andover, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews