Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 21 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
6/20/2013

Customer review by BeautyEnthusiast

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by BeautyEnthusiast
by BeautyEnthusiast

This is the best over the counter hair color I've ever used. I love the color and my hair was not brittle and dry after product use.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautyEnthusiast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to apply. Natural looking color.
11/12/2013

Customer review by Crikkett

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Crikkett
by Crikkett

I don't like hair products that have ammonia in them. The Revlon Colorsilk Buttercream offers an affordable, do-it-yourself product that leaves my hair feeling healthier and less weighed down than other hair products I have used. Some hair dyes seem to cause a lot of hair loss after application due to the chemicals used. I've never felt that way with this product. The directions are simple, and I've never had a bad experience. The color lasts until I need to reapply it due to hair growth, and the roots betraying my true hair color.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crikkett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/19/2013

Customer review by tina45

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by tina45
by tina45

love the coloring this gives... and so worth the price... love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tina45
livingston, montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it's a keeper
1/10/2014

Customer review by consumergem

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by consumergem
by consumergem

I use number 73N. Medium blonde. Many other people must use it too, because it disappears off the shelf as soon as it is stocked. I hope Revlon continues to make it, and Walmart continues to sell it. My hair is shiney and manageable, full of body. I use it every three weeks to a month, and the conditioner packet is awesome! Definitely a keeper!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
consumergem
waynesboro, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
9/18/2013

Customer review by TopazStellex71

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by TopazStellex71
by TopazStellex71

I gave this a 5 star rating because over all it really is a great product. It doesn't smell bad & didn't leave my hair dry at all. I've been dying my hair medium brown (my natural color) from a another brand for awhile now. I was getting bored with my hair color so I wanted a little different look so I had bought the light brown thinking it would lighten it a bit. I'm kinda disappointed with the color result because it didn't do anything different to my hair. It came out the same as if I just dyed it medium brown. So I would be alittle curious with the color that you may choose because it might come out darker then you may want! I would buy this again though over all.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopazStellex71
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
True colour, great savings.
1/12/2014

Customer review by xune

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by xune
by xune

True to box colour, non drying. I will definitely use this brand again. One of the very best things about this hair colour is the gloves. So many dyes come with horrible, tight, weak gloves, this brands gloves are great. The smell was also not bad. It wasn't that pleasant, not many blonde hair dyes are, but it wasn't an overwhelming scent. The dye rinses well, leaving hair soft, manageable, and pleasantly scented. The Wal-Mart cost was very inexpensive, and honestly, for this quality I would have expected to pay much more. Also know that there is a lot of dye in the bottle. I usually need three for my mid back, very thick hair, I only used two and had a bit left over.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xune
apollo,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/27/2013

Customer review by Sweetdeet

3.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Sweetdeet
by Sweetdeet

It turned my hair a little darker than what is shown on the box. But it was still a pretty color. The only thing i didn't like was you don't get much dye at all. I have Short hair and i barely had enough.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetdeet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Doesn't work
5/25/2014

Customer review by EliseGK

1.0 stars 5/25/2014 by EliseGK
by EliseGK

It doesn't work properly and doesn't color evenly. This is mostly due to the fact that there isn't much product in the package. I have a lot of hair, so I always use two boxes, and that still wasn't enough to cover my hair thoroughly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EliseGK
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice cream for softer hair
12/22/2013

Customer review by cpease

4.0 stars 12/22/2013 by cpease
by cpease

This product needs to have more color options and variations

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cpease
Missoula, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i love it
2/24/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful
4/10/2014

Customer review by Riah0811

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Riah0811
by Riah0811

Was great I have hair down to my butt and very thick I used three boxes and not the usual four. Worked and looks excellent

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riah0811
Pensacola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buttercream hair color
6/13/2014

Customer review by Minnoo

2.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Minnoo
by Minnoo

I could not find in the store but I know the product and love it! Even my hair dresser compliments me on the texture and color of my hair!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Minnoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't order or find 73n medium neutral blonde
3/31/2015

Customer review by Dealcatchers

5.0 stars 3/31/2015 by Dealcatchers
by Dealcatchers

Walmart.com's description for 73n says it's a brown color so I can't order it online. Please correct the description. Also, Walmart stores are often out of this color. I love the color and I get lots of compliments.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dealcatchers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
* Light Blonde 81N - love it.
5/18/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/18/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Didn't plan on trying another Revlon hair dye product after my painful scalp burning experience w/ ColorSilk Beautiful Color* But I gave Luxurious ColorSilk Buttercream* a shot & glad I did; pleasant to apply, dye itself smells great & amonia-free, comes w/ 2 packets of 3 oils conditioning butter which smells amazing! I applied it to my dark brown roots working it down to the ends of my already treated blonde hair. The color is true & fabulous, turned out way better than I expected, & it looks natural. The cherry on top was really the conditioner, my hair is super soft couldn't stop touching & smelling it after wash lol also, cannot beat the price$$$ - MY SCALP DID NOT BURN. I will definitely be using this product again in the future. I'm Happy :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful Product, DO NOT BUY
4/4/2014

Customer review by MarieSC

1.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MarieSC
by MarieSC

I purchased this coloring kit in Light Ash Brown (50A), and paid about $7 for it in store. I was very disappointed in this product. The color on the box that I purchased was not at all the color my hair came out. I had a red tinted brown color before, mostly resembling the "medium" before shade on the side of the box, and a white streak. The color I picked out would have been several shades lighter. After coloring, majority of my hair was even darker than when I started, and the white streak had been colored a dirty dishwater grey. Also, it left my hair feeling very dry and brittle. I followed the directions to a T, and have never had any trouble with other brands of hair color before. I'm very disappointed and will never buy another Revlon hair product again. My final thought on this is that your money is better spent on saving up for a professional or just buying another brand all together.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarieSC
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Awesome product
5/20/2014

Customer review by Rantnravien

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Rantnravien
by Rantnravien

I love the auburn it's suites me. I love it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rantnravien
Okc OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No problem
9/26/2014

Customer review by PracticalMostOfTheTime

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by PracticalMostOfTheTime
by PracticalMostOfTheTime

Box a lil banged up but product inside is ok. Hair feels good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PracticalMostOfTheTime
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ive used better haircolors
1/9/2014

Customer review by MomFromMissouri

3.0 stars 1/9/2014 by MomFromMissouri
by MomFromMissouri

Maybe I expected too much from this. I mean, I didn't pay much at all, but the word "Buttercream" must have thrown me off, lol I did not expect it to run near as quickly as it did, I would honestly recommend a gel or foam; that is what I will be looking for the next time. If you don't mind it being a little messy, its a great product with awesome color results.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomFromMissouri
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad, bad, bad!
8/2/2013

Customer review by bab2521

1.0 stars 8/2/2013 by bab2521
by bab2521

I've been a blonde my whole life. I usually color every 4 or 5 months with the regular colorsilk just to keep the color even (i.e. bleached out ends from the sun). Decided to try this one with the oils thinking it would be better for my hair. My hair is now BROWN! Wonder how long before I can color again and fix it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bab2521
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Pleasantly surprised
5/25/2015

Customer review by Fullpricehater

5.0 stars 5/25/2015 by Fullpricehater
by Fullpricehater

I purchased this hair color as a last second attempt to cover some stubborn grays and also to compare a new product against the hair color line I usually purchase from a famous discount beauty supply chain. I hand't purchased a "boxed" hair color for at least 10 years + once I found out that most of the popular boxed colors use a unnecessarily strong developer especially on a non-lift hair color shade. I don't have a need to lift / lighten my color so why use a product with a 30 volume or higher developer? Anyway, I loved the result of this product! When I opened the box I was already feeling good when I saw that they actually mark the developer bottle with the level used. For this product it's a 20 volume developer. Great! Just what I wanted. Enough to cover my stubborn grays and non-damaging. The color I used: Burgundy (48BV) gave me lots of gorgeous deep reddish burgundy color and covered my gray. My hair color was a level 4-med red color. It's been a week and I can't believe my grays aren't peeking through and the color is still gorgeous. I'm so impressed!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fullpricehater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews