Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 758 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

758 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

758 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
289
4 stars
241
3 stars
62
2 stars
42
1 stars
124
1-20 of 746 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 746 total reviews
1-20 of 746 reviews
Owned two since Christmas
4/25/2014

Customer review by prettybaby2013

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by prettybaby2013
by prettybaby2013

I waited to write this review so that it was worthwhile to read. We bought two of these for Christmas for our 9 and 10 year olds. We had taken back two of the RCA brands..(NEVER buy those) and found these online. These HKCs were a brand we never heard of before, but the price was great and the colors were perfect for girls, so I gave them a shot. Seriously, they have really been more than we could have expected. I'm very glad to have bought them. The girls play on them daily for about an hour total. they have downloaded many games and apps. They can search the internet, but on that it is a little slow. Well, compared to a normal sized laptop I mean. They are durable, because so far, being slept with, toted around, dropped a time or two, and plugged into chargers all the time, we have not had a single issue. They do hold a charge a long time, by the way. I would buy one again, and in fact remembered to leave this review because it is the 5yr old's birthday, and she loves playing on her sister's tablet so much that we are going to get her one too. Hope this helps. We are real parents with real kids. They aren't destructive brats, but they are active little things and put have their tablets to the test, which passed with flying colors.

Was this review helpful? (785) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prettybaby2013
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the price
2/4/2014

Customer review by jumpjump12

4.0 stars 2/4/2014 by jumpjump12
by jumpjump12

I purchased the HKC 8” Dual Core and fell in love after one 4 hour flight. I have an iPad and love it. However when I travel the iPad is a little larger then I want to carry on the plane. The HKC was just prefect. Just love the picture resolution. Books, magazines, tv/movies just look better. Don't think you can go wrong with this unless you're looking for a notebook. Great job HKC. Too, like most people I was surprised and extremely happy to get the HKC prior to the Thanksgiving vacation trip. One last note, the HKC 8” is also a wonderful ereader for those looking for a larger screen, however, pretty costly but worth it. If you want an inexpensive tablet that does everything you need and more this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (162) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jumpjump12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Good Cheap Tablet
6/13/2014

Customer review by CarlAustinTX

4.0 stars 6/13/2014 by CarlAustinTX
by CarlAustinTX

I purchased a 7 inch HKC tablet around 6 months ago. I was looking for a decent table I could take on the road (since so many places now have wifi) and not be upset if it broke or I lost it. It has held up well and consistently provided decent performance. However, my 11 year old son has decided it is his. So I purchased this 8 inch version for the road. As far as I can tell it is identical except a extra inch of screen has been added to it's width. Which does give the 8 tablet a odd shape. (Old TV ratio) so widescreen movies and TV streaming have large black bands on the top and the bottom. This is not noticeable when viewing old aspect ratio TV/movies or most apps. In fact I appreciate the large size (than the 7 inch) in these latter cases. In summary this is a "sweet spot" product. Faster than most cheap tablets with it dual core processor and 1G of RAM, but no barn burner compared to the leading edge tablets. In short a "lot of bang for the bucks", but if you want leading edge and can afford it; buy the latest name brands (since this will disappoint you).

Was this review helpful? (123) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarlAustinTX
Austin TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy Peasy
2/26/2014

Customer review by MelSleepsWell

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by MelSleepsWell
by MelSleepsWell

I bought this on sale for $59.99 in purple.Was very easy to set up and use.I have a desktop and a laptop but wanted something smaller I could take with me on vacation that didn't add bulk while traveling.Tablets are wonderful for this very purpose.They do not have a disc drive but that is not a concern of mine.That's what downloads and flash drives are for.You can use this anywhere internet access is available.Simply use with unlocked internet access or type in the code on the wireless router.You can also use this by adding it to your cell phones plan for an additional fee.This tablet was a very good deal and just the right size.I found a matching tablet case online cheaper then what they sell in stores.You'll need a case for your tablet to protect it from drops and scratches.I'm very pleased with my purchase and actually have been using this every day since I got it just because it's so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (226) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelSleepsWell
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Tablet is a good starter device
3/11/2014

Customer review by ModestoS

3.0 stars 3/11/2014 by ModestoS
by ModestoS

I bought two of these tablets for only $60 which is a bargain. The only negative issues that I have with them is the touch screen response. When trying to click on certain buttons such as for installing apps, it will not register the touch. I have press several times until my touch registers. Other buttons seem to be ok. Not sure if this is a bug with android 4.1. Support from HKC is terrible. I emailed their support and the email bounced back as invalid. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 4.2 if possible but I could not get a response. Other than these issues the tablet functions very well. Watching video is good. The camera is not very sharp but works well for the price of this tablet. The backing feel rugged and build is pretty good. Has 8 gb of storage with a dual core processor and 1 gb of ram. You can expand the storage with micro sd cards. I tried this and it worked fine. Impatient people such as kids may get frustrated when installing software because of the issue already mentioned. For $60, I am content with my purchase and hoping I can upgrade the os.

Was this review helpful? (95) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ModestoS
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet
4/28/2014

Customer review by 1stTimeTabletBuyer

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by 1stTimeTabletBuyer
by 1stTimeTabletBuyer

This was my first tablet purchase. To be honest I bought it b/c of how inexpensive it was...(I snagged it on a $60 sale!) but truly, I am so happy that I bought it and I only regret that I didn't buy one more! Everyone in the family uses it. We use it for Youtube, Netflix, PlayBooks, IE, just about everything! It retains it's charge pretty well. My friend has a Kindle and in my humble opinion this tablet is better on so many levels. Seems to be able to handle more. And the screen size is amazing. No complaints! Probably will purchase another one! The only downfall is for some reason I can't be online with it while in the same room with the Xbox....I'm pretty sure that's a problem with my router though, not the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (68) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stTimeTabletBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tablet for a beginner
11/11/2013

Customer review by mizunique29

3.0 stars 11/11/2013 by mizunique29
by mizunique29

I purchased the HKC tablet Dec 2012 as a Christmas present for my then 6 year old daughter. i researched pricing etc and decided this was best for 99.00 you couldn't beat it I didn't want to invest in a "Name Brand"tablet being she is only 6 w/o knowing how she would take care of it. that plus with the many colors available I was sold. WELL about a month after purchasing the batter quit charging it could be on the charger for 6+ hours and only say 35% I contacted HKC personally customer service was ok they sent me about 3 replacement chargers lol!! at first this worked but then the same problem started happening, by now my daughter is getting really upset wanting her tablet i'm glad i purchased the Walmart Warranty plan with this I was able to just get my money back and i got her the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 NO PROBLEM AT ALL!!! this really is a good tablet to start out with we just didn't have much luck she was soooooo disappointed to return her "pink" tablet but she gained front facing cameras plus an upgraded tablet no compliants from her or myself

Was this review helpful? (94) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mizunique29
Birmingham,Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Skype doesnt work on this Tablet
2/20/2014

Customer review by Louisvillian123

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Louisvillian123
by Louisvillian123

Bought the tablet on President day sale. It was best seller online. Received two days later. It comes with a charger, a screen protector, headphones and a USB cable. The tablet desgin is thick and heavy but good for 60$. I turned it on and it took half an hour for setup and updates. The front camera is VGA webcam, very poor quality images and video. But I think it doesnt matter only if it works. The touch system was total mess. The Skype started , signed in, and I thought its okay, but Skype cannot make video or audio calls. Tried several time, looked over internet for solutions. Looks like the skype is not working on these tablets from Jan, 2013 after the latest Skype update. I dont know whose fault is that, but the bottomline , "SKYPE dont work". Thought it might need an upgrade of system but only to despair that the company HKC website is a totally puzzle in terms to get updates.

Was this review helpful? (123) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Louisvillian123
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Item for a Great Price
2/2/2014

Customer review by dmspara

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by dmspara
by dmspara

I thought you had to spend $400 dollars for a tablet to get a quality product. I did some research and decided on an 8" HKC. It's terrific! It moves quickly and suits my needs. Now, I understand if you're a "gamer," it may not be a good choice. The only game I play is Scrabble, so... I do my e-mails, check out music, and once in a while, play Scrabble. Would highly recommend this to anyone whose needs are simple.

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmspara
Washington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buyer beware
12/25/2013

Customer review by nicolem2405

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by nicolem2405
by nicolem2405

I read all the reviews for this tablet and got mixed feelings about it in the end. I did decide to order though and boy what a disappointment. When I opened the box there were no instructions on getting it set up the first time and the tablet wouldn't turn on so I chargered it for acouple of hours.. When I came back the red light was no longer displayed so I assumed that meant it was charged.. So I turned it on and the opening screen was displayed. For a few minutes I sat there thinking it just was taking awhile to boot up, but the thing never did go to any other screen and would not shut off. I gave it another hour or so and finally took it back to my local walmart and got the Samsung galaxy tab 3 10inch. But when I returned it the tablet was about super hot and still had the same screen up. This was a gift for a close family member so I'm so glad I opened it to charge it and realized it was a terrible tablet. The samsung galaxy may have been more then what I was wanting to spend.. But it sure beats having to deal with this mess!

Was this review helpful? (159) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicolem2405
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!!
1/29/2014

Customer review by lovebball22

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by lovebball22
by lovebball22

I love this tablet, it's fast, wifi is easy to connect to, Bluetooth has great range and an HD screen for $89 I mean come on!! It cannot be beat. Highly highly recommend this tablet.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovebball22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Complete Waste of Money
1/2/2014

Customer review by GrammaHJF

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by GrammaHJF
by GrammaHJF

Do NOT purchase any HKC product. You have been warned. They claim to have a one year warranty but when I sent my non-working tablet in to be repaired, they would not stand behind it. Not only did I have to pay shipping to send it to them, but they are charging me 3 times what it cost to send it in order to return it to me. The power cord looked different when I got it but it worked so I assumed that it was supposed to be that way. NOW they say that the problem is in the power cord and the best that they can do is to SELL me a new cord and charge me through the roof to return my tablet. Even when it WAS working, it was frustratingly slow and would hang up every few days.

Was this review helpful? (55) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammaHJF
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very disappointed
8/6/2014

Customer review by 1JenJen

1.0 stars 8/6/2014 by 1JenJen
by 1JenJen

I purchased this tablet for my kids to use for games, school, etc. It is considerably slow right out of the package without any programs/apps installed yet other than the factory settings. The touchscreen isn't very sensitive so we often have to touch the screen several times before it recognizes the action your trying to do. The resolution is great but that's about the only good thing about this tablet. After 4 months, the tablet stopped working and I've spend a week now trying to reach someone at HKC support/warranty to get it fixed/replaced. You have to leave a message and the recording says you'll get a call back within 48 hours. It's been a week, several call attempts, and I'm still waiting. Horrible product support. If you're wondering how it compares to an iPad or similar, this tablet doesn't even come close. It's definitely a less expensive alternative but you get what you pay for. I'm going back to an iPad.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1JenJen
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Tablet for the money!
12/5/2013

Customer review by Opaatje

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Opaatje
by Opaatje

We bought this tablet for our 14yr. old Grandson & he loves it. He previously had a Visual land & this one runs circles aroud it. It has so many apps, is fast & the battery time is fabulous. It is very easy to use has better graphics & clear resolution. We will definately buy another one for us.

Was this review helpful? (92) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Opaatje
Carrollton,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Touch screen will go out
7/17/2013

Customer review by not4kids

2.0 stars 7/17/2013 by not4kids
by not4kids

I purchased two HKC tablets. I purchased one for Christmas for my seven year old and by January I was purchasing another one because the touch screen went out. I really enjoyed the applications that were offered but the touch screen went out on the two tablets that I purchased. I am now seeking a better tablet.

Was this review helpful? (43) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
not4kids
Jacksonville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Get the warranty :)
12/11/2013

Customer review by SnakePlisskenFL

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by SnakePlisskenFL
by SnakePlisskenFL

Can't say too much about the this product, its a gift for my son. Well, it's a replacement for the 7" HKC tablet I bought him for Christmas last year. I got the 2yr warranty, a godsend by the way, and it took a year for one of the internal components to self destruct. So I got him this one with the warranty money and renewed the warranty. GET THE WARRANTY! His comment when comparing this 8" tablet with the 7" was that the 8" was HUGE. Anyway, I have been pleased with the performance and construction in general. Did I mention get the warranty?

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnakePlisskenFL
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok, for what you pay!
1/16/2014

Customer review by spoiledbratz

3.0 stars 1/16/2014 by spoiledbratz
by spoiledbratz

This is a very cheap and buggy device; it’s a first time or starter unit. This tablet is perfect for someone not really familiar with electronics, like an elderly person learning to use the internet or face book for the first time. It could also be good for a child ten and under. The screen is not that great. If you use it for a while it get pretty hot, because of that I don’t think it will last very long, so please get the warrant. If you are just looking to keep the little one’s busy or you want to give an elderly family member a new fun experience this is an ok light uses table.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spoiledbratz
batonrouge
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Great price but No blue-tooth
4/10/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/10/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Many people use their tablets for a variety of things. I really only need one for a singular purpose, linking to a data collection device that connects via bluetooth. With this requirement in mind, it was easy to eliminate all the super-high end tablets, rich with features that served no purpose than to inflate the price. When I saw this one, I thought I lucked out. The specs said nothing about blue-tooth, either having it or not. The manual (found on the manufacturers website) was equally as useless. Emailing the manufacturer with this simple question on their model received no answer. So I bought it, charged it, and found no blue-tooth. At least Walmart was very polite in taking the return from me the next day. For any electronic, all possible features should be listed in the "Spec" section, with a simple "yes" or "no" next to it (or version/compliance type, like B/G/N if absolutely necessary). If they had done this (as many other electronic outlets due), it would have saved me time and trouble.

Was this review helpful? (59) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY
3/18/2014

Customer review by wannabike

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by wannabike
by wannabike

Do not buy this tablet. I bought an HKC tablet in November. It worked for one month, then totally shut down. After numerous calls and emails I finally got a reference number so I could send it for repairs in February. They received it from me on February 5th. I have been calling, leaving messages when the queue isn't full and sending emails. On the rare occasion that I do actually get to speak with someone, I'm told different things about my tablet. Finally, last Tuesday I was told they were shipping me a new tablet via FedEX. It is now one week later and still haven't received it. I called today and spoke with someone and was told they would get back to me within the hour. That was 6 hours ago.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wannabike
Lewes, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
extremely happy with this tablet
3/4/2014

Customer review by BGunner

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by BGunner
by BGunner

For the money i spent, this tablet is awesome, no its not a 400.00 tablet, so probably doesn't go as fast as one or have the camera one of those does, HOWEVER PEOPLE, for 99.99 dollars i am so happy, i can watch my movies, read my books, use my google drive, and everything else i want to do as far as surfing the web, i see people complain about the camera and a few other things, well guess you should have spent more money, don't buy something for 100.00 and expect it to do 400.00 worth of speed and camera pixels, not happening, what i am saying in a nut shell is, this is a great tablet for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BGunner
Arlington,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 746 total reviews
1-20 of 746 reviews