Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 395 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

395 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

395 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
199
4 stars
102
3 stars
32
2 stars
13
1 stars
49
1-20 of 390 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews
Great tablet for the money, great specs
12/21/2013

Customer review by dwgibson2000

4.0 stars 12/21/2013 by dwgibson2000
by dwgibson2000

Not sure why some are having problems, but I'm an IT guy and work on Androids and for $60 these are great. Bought 2 for my grandsons. Benchmarks on Antutu well above a Galaxy S2 and between a HTC ONE X and Galaxy S3, Both cams are only 2mp and no flash on rear, but only tablet in this price I've ever seen with a rear cam. Would've actuually prefered bluetooth instead of rear cam, but that's unseen in this price range also. It runs a dual core Cortex A9 processor and the *gn ram includes ALL the memory, so you get 1gb system, 1 gb main memory and a little over 5.4 gb storage memory. Battery life on mine is great, been updating and adding apps all day on wifi, on single charge I come back after the kids have had these awhile and see if the quality contro; has gotten better than the other stories on here. On the plus side, I emailed the company about updates and they responded promptly. The lady with the charger problem should have contacted them, letting it go and probably using the wrong charger, probably caused the failure. These use a 5v 2amp charger with a standard pin, just noy micro usb like a phone.

Was this review helpful? (117) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwgibson2000
Mcminnville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I bought 3 for my grandkids, couldn't be happier!!
12/30/2013

Customer review by PapaDougH

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by PapaDougH
by PapaDougH

We bought 3 HKC 7' tablets for our granddaughters for Christmas. So far, we are very happy with the overall performance of them. Are they the fastest? High definition screen? Best built ever? No. But we paid under 70 dollars for them!! We got what we expected, and they all worked great, I am an IT person by trade, and have over 30 years of experience in computers and electronics. Would I recommend them for business use? No. But for a cheap, entry level, Android tablet they are pretty impressive. They don't have a lot of storage space available, but they are expandable with a micro SD card. The kids, 4 to 10 years old, have used them every waking hour since Christmas without any issues. They have downloaded a couple dozen games, personalized their tablets through settings, and otherwise put them through the ringer. They couldn't be happier! If you have lots of money and can afford a high-end tablet or Ipad, more power to you. But if you are looking for a fully acceptable android tablet at a very reasonable price, then this is the one I would recommend!

Was this review helpful? (80) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaDougH
Payette, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
i love this product.
12/31/2013

Customer review by tip23

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by tip23
by tip23

this tablet is so cool. I bought one for myself I also bought a fun tab for my son but returned it to get him one of these. I also plan to purchase another for my husband. great bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (101) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tip23
opelika,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tablet!
12/30/2013

Customer review by HAPPYCAMPER6456

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by HAPPYCAMPER6456
by HAPPYCAMPER6456

I bought this tablet to upgrade from a Nook Color. I wanted faster speed, more storage and dual processor with two cameras. Everything I wanted I got. I see a lot of complaints about the charger, but I have no problem with that. I get about 5 hours on a battery with lots of use. I do not play games, I use for surfing, email, pictures, etc. No problem downloading apps that I needed. No problem playing Netflix like one person complained about. It has a great screen, and speed from the dual core processor. For those people who say they can't locate replacement chargers, just go on Amazon and do a search for HKC 7 chargers and you will find them. I have no problem with the touch screen calibration at all. One person complained about it taking forever to charge, but if you turn off the Wi-Fi and turnoff the tablet it will charge quite fast. For those complaining about the Wi-Fi being on but no Internet, as long as the Wi-Fi switch is on which is found under "settings" you will work fine. Some are saying the tablet just shuts off. You need to go to the settings to adjust the "sleep" mode and extend the time. Mine never shuts off because I adjusted it to that. I would tell everyone to read thoroughly the book the comes with the device. It will resolve a lot of problems that I see here. The device comes with charger, and ear buds, and instructions. Warranty is also included for up to one year. The manufacturer is out of California, this does not come from China. Great device!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HAPPYCAMPER6456
LAS VEGAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you want a headache, buy this tablet!
11/18/2013

Customer review by BecaC

1.0 stars 11/18/2013 by BecaC
by BecaC

So I have to say for about 6 weeks this tablet worked great! Then the charger stopped charging. Since I had bought two, one for each one of my children, I used one charger to charge both which sometimes caused disagreements because both needed to be charged at the same time. Then about 3 weeks later, that one stopped working. We randomly had an old charger wire to the old white xbox wireless headsets that worked only when charging the tablet from an xbox usb port. So now we are down to 1 random wire and had to leave the xbox on all the time. Then the tablets started shutting off and not charging anymore so I gave up and sent them back. Glad I bought the warranty so it was no hassel at all. Walmart refunded me with walmart gift cards (which I am using for xmas anyways) so it worked out fine. But seriously, don't give yourself a headache and just purchase one that may not have these problems. I am not one to write reviews, but I read them all the time and I wish someone had given me a heads up!

Was this review helpful? (81) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BecaC
Swansea, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleasantly Surprised!
12/26/2013

Customer review by HappyNewOrleanian

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by HappyNewOrleanian
by HappyNewOrleanian

At the very last minute, I decided I wanted to find a tablet for my 4 year old daughter. After searching through several off brands, I stumbled across this one. I was excited by the Google applications. Originally, I received an expected arrival date of December 28th. It came the very next day through Fed Ex, and arrived on Christmas Eve. My 4 year old was ecstatic about her "iPad". My older kids have an Apple Ipad, and a Samsung Galaxy. This tablet is of the same quality as the others. The camera quality is not the same, but the android operating system and web browsing works great! We are pleasantly surprised and happy with this item! Thanks Wal-Mart and Fed Ex!

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyNewOrleanian
New Orleans, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Luck Finding a replacement adapter
7/11/2013

Customer review by MSVA804

2.0 stars 7/11/2013 by MSVA804
by MSVA804

My 11 year old has gone through 2 chargers for this item and they were very difficult to find I believe there is a defect with them.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSVA804
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/18/2013

Customer review by Doug777

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Doug777
by Doug777

Generaly I like this 7 inch tablet. It replaces a different make (Craig) which I dropped breaking it's screen. Functionally this one works as well and was a bit less expensive. It has the exact same Android operating sytem. The major pluses are that the battery on this new one seems to run longer that the other, and the WiFi might be a bit stronger and it's response seems a bit faster. On the negative side, the surrounding frame is wider comparartivly, making this tablet seem a bit clumbsy. And the charging cord connection is not the Micro USB that I consider the 'standard ?'. So I cannot use the old cords and it is a bit harder to find economy after market charging hardware.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doug777
Belfair, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd tablet to buy, and this was the best!!!!
8/18/2013

Customer review by jmgl

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by jmgl
by jmgl

If you want a tablet and dont know which one to get, think about this one. I did want a Samsung but I wasn't going to pay all that money for it, so when I compare this and the rest I decided on this. And to me its better, its fast, dual can and everything so my money was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmgl
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Kids
1/26/2014

Customer review by KidsHappen

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by KidsHappen
by KidsHappen

I purchased 3 of these tablets for my kids, 5 and under. I love how they came in different colors. I got each of my kids their favorite color so it's easier for them to distinguish which tablet belongs to which child. I got it during one of the Christmas blowout sale for about $50-60 each. I am very happy with the product thus far. My kids have dropped their tablets countless times and the screen has not cracked and it is very sturdy. I love the rubber casing on the back of the tablet. It's easier for my kids to grip. I purchased a Dragon tablet for our older son on Amazon. Same features but the images on the screen on this HKC is so much better. The Dragon has this brightness to it that almost gives you a headache if you look at it too long. This is not the case with the HTC. I am very happy with the purchase. The only thing is the memory. I can't download much apps for the kids. I need to purchase separate SD drives to be able to store more apps on there.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KidsHappen
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do Not Buy this Tablet
12/19/2013

Customer review by Crackercrumb99

1.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Crackercrumb99
by Crackercrumb99

This is the first review I have ever written, that is how disgusted I am. I read lots of reviews on this and other tablets before I decided on the HKC for a first tablet for my aging parents. Out of the box it connected quickly to my Wi-Fi but would not connect to the internet. I called tech support and even after I told them my phone, and another tablet were connected and working, they said to go to a Starbucks to see if it would work. Really, that's the solution? Customer service agent told me she would send an email with instructions on how to reset but had to send it to a Gmail account as other ISPs thought they were SPAM. I should have put it back in the box then. The email never came so I sent one to them through their web site explaining my issue. I received a response about 20 hours later asking what color the Wi-Fi symbol was. Not sure how that was helpful so I called back. Same customer service lady, same advice; go to Starbucks. Again she said she would send an email on how to reset the tablet to remove all of my data. I asked her to stay on the line until the email came. Her response; I have other customers waiting. I'm done and returning in the morning. Poor product, pathetic customer service. If you bought one of these for a Christmas present, I highly recommend you check it before disappointing your kids on Christmas morning!

Was this review helpful? (41) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crackercrumb99
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cant beat the price
1/16/2014

Customer review by sierrafisherman

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by sierrafisherman
by sierrafisherman

overall, its not a nook or ipad but it does the job. we needed a spare tablet and the first one was a joke, returned to wally's world for credit. then back home i see this on sale for 59.00. for the price it does what it needs to do. not the fastest but it plays youtube as well as streaming movies. the plus usb vs a stupid proprietary cord. pretty fast (nook is faster). speakers arent terrible pretty good (dont expect bose) decent battery life i got a good 6 or 7 hours of playing around. not so plus the earphone jack is next to the charger outlet.... about the same size too. hdmi would be nice. better screen this isnt a hd, but its not bad (my nook hd is waaayyyy better) outside volume button would be nice. cant turn off the keyboard clicking. camera isnt too bad, not great, not horrible. it does the job. overall for 60 bucks, heck it works fine for me. i web surf, email, videos, google. play a little angry birds, tetris, solitare. thats about it. the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars was a little slow, hdmi, a better hd screen. but i guess it wouldnt be 60 bucks either Lol.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sierrafisherman
bayarea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY
11/26/2013

Customer review by loveofmother

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by loveofmother
by loveofmother

My husband bought me this tablet last year around this time, for Christmas, and it stopped working long ago. It doesn't hold a charge and I went through two chargers already. I bought one for my little 8 year old brother, and his does not work at all. You cannot get all of the apps because it says "This device is not compatible with this version" (of whatever app you are trying to download). I know for a fact that you cannot get Angry Birds, Instagram and etc. Do not waste your money now, just to have to ultimately get a better tablet later. Just buy the more expensive tablet now. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveofmother
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Run Dont Buy
12/6/2013

Customer review by mseverythang

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by mseverythang
by mseverythang

This is a piece off junk I got this for my son and felt so bad because I knew I should have invested in something better like a nook or kindle at least. He had it for a total of 2 months when it would freeze periodically and the battery life was ridiculous. I even tried deleting apps to see if that could have cause the freezing but while doing that it shut down on me over hand full of times I finally called the company to return this.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mseverythang
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little tablet!
1/8/2014

Customer review by tronicswiz

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by tronicswiz
by tronicswiz

I was skeptical about purchasing this tablet because it received either very good reviews or very bad ones. One complaint was the battery didn't last long between charges. I found this to be true only if the tablet is left in standby mode. I power it down after each use and have experienced 6 - 7 hours of use between charges. Another complaint was the battery takes forever to charge. Again, I experienced this only while charging it when in use. If it is off, it charges in about 2 hours. Also I read that it had problems freezing, I have not experienced this whatsoever. Overall this is an excellent tablet, well made and extremely functional. The only drawback I have found is that it does not have bluetooth.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tronicswiz
Nampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible...
11/22/2013

Customer review by smoodard

1.0 stars 11/22/2013 by smoodard
by smoodard

We bought 3 of these tablets last year as a cheaper alternative to an ipad for our 3 younger children. Thankfully we bought the product replacement along with it (even though you can't get your money back until the manufacturer warranty goes out)...... I just returned them yesterday. I waited this long because the only other option was to reboot/restore/restart option that the manufacturer suggested, which I did more times than I can count. So now onto the problems. The picture is TERRIBLE, the battery takes FOREVER to charge and once it is charged, you'll be lucky to get a couple of hours of game play, the screen freezes up constantly, every time they tried to play on it, a message would pop up saying " {x} is not responding, wait or force close", it takes about 2 minutes or so to power on. And all of these problems happened with ALL THREE TABLETS. Had it just been one, I would have thought it maybe was just that tablet specifically but it was all three that were terrible. Absolutely, in my opinion, not worth the money. And I put the use a few times per month because after a few times of attempting to play with these tablets, they were put in their cases and sat on my computer desk for about 8 months.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smoodard
memphis tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing performance for the price!
2/6/2014

Customer review by HonestMan1251

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by HonestMan1251
by HonestMan1251

I purchased an Irulu 7" tablet with the same features in the same price range about a year ago (half the ram, single core processor, and 480 res. screen), which died in January and was a slow, frustrating piece of junk compared to the HKC 7". This HKC tablet connected easily to my wi fi and loads pages and plays online videos as well as my laptop does, especially with the Chrome browser. It plays most videos quite well from the sd card, too. I installed the MX Player with extra codecs, and can now play any video I want, even those watched online. The screen looks as good as I'd expect for a 600 res. and is very responsive. Also, the battery lasts me at least 4 1/2 hrs. of online and frequent video use, and would go longer if I made some adustments The rear cam on this doesn't look quite as good as I expected for a 2 mp (and has fewer settings), but is ok in adequate light. But considering all the features and performance for the price, it's still a five star experience for me!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HonestMan1251
spokane, wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great alternative to a laptop
12/3/2013

Customer review by mine90

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by mine90
by mine90

easy to use and easy to pack - this in awesome alternative to a lap top

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mine90
Lostant, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My daughter loves it
1/22/2014

Customer review by Lower5

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Lower5
by Lower5

I bought this for my 9 year old daughter to replace her Kindle when it stopped accepting the charger. It was extremely easy to figure out and she hasn't had any problems with it. She was having trouble downloading enough stuff, but I had to show her how to go into the settings to uninstall and app instead of just taking if off the homescreen and that fixed that issue. She is on this alot and hasn't complained or needed any help figuring it out. The sound is great and the picture is good too. It is actually a tad bigger than her Kindle. The battery has been good but she also keeps it plugged in most of the time, even when she is on it at home. The camera quality could be better but I also haven't tried to use it more than once and it was in dim lighting on the side without a flash, she also hasn't complained about that and loves that she can make videos with it. I almost want to buy one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lower5
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent decision; excellent choice
2/2/2014

Customer review by JazzyDivaGrrl1113

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by JazzyDivaGrrl1113
by JazzyDivaGrrl1113

My six year old grand-daughter was forever co-oping another tablet in the house and wanted her own for her birthday. I found this tablet while searching for something else. Best buy ever. It is a sturdy product as she has a tendency to drop it, regularly. The tablet has a textured non-slip back and is a bit thicker. There are a few preloaded apps, but comes with Google Pay store so access to hundreds of thousands more. We have had not issues with any apps. DA enjoys Netflix, YouTube, and several educational apps. I loaded pictures from her vacation with provided cable. There is also an expansion slot for micro sd card up to 32gb. To prevent excess time on movies, we turn off the WiFi, leaving only music, pics, and apps. This also eliminates accidental clicking of ads during play. There is no downside to this purchase. I got a fabulous price. If you see this and the price is right for you, buy it. (My comparison is HiSense Sero Pro 7, which I love! We also have the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2, meh...)

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JazzyDivaGrrl1113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews