Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 344 reviews
5 stars
178
4 stars
107
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 stars
26
Sort by: 
1-20 of 343 reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews
Now I Must Excercise
1/16/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The unit works great. I don't like exercising but this unit is comfortable and you can push through the workouts. I wish the unit came with an AC adaptor. You can buy one for it or use 4 D batteries. It is much larger than I expected, so you may want to assemble it where you plan on using it. After taking 2 people 3 hours to assemble it we couldn't get it to fit through the hallway turn into the bedroom until we removed the handles. It seems to be heavy duty weighing around 130 pounds. When we received the unit, the box was in bad shape with many staples pulled out and a few holes poked through the box. and one tie strap missing. However, the unit was packaged very securely in the box with Styrofoam and plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Squeaking Noise Resolved!
9/8/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am so excited to have purchased this equipment and doubly excited now that I have resolved that annoying squeaking sound! I was able to assemble the unit by myself... Took me a couple of hours but I did it. Thanks to the comments of a reviewer I read, I believe it was Amazon, that stated she found the source of the squeaking was due to the metal on metal contact between front frame(23), and rear frame(1) and the front stabilizer bar(2) and where they fasten together. I found that if you stand in front of the machine and put weight on either of the handlebars pushing down or pulling forward and I put my ear closer, I can hear with the sound was coming from. She suggested getting a thick lubricant not the regular WD-40... I ended up purchasing from Lowe's, liquid wrench white lithium grease. I lifted the unit from the back as if I were going to use the front wheels to roll it and make sure that the handlebars were even, if that makes sense, then tilted forward to the floor and let it rest on the handlebars. I then proceeded to tighten every bolt, especially ones that were done at the warehouse. Afterwords I sprayed the three parts that I thought were the source of the squeaks, wiped off any excess, stood on the rear frame and front frame where they are bolted together putting as much weight down on them as I could. Today the squeaks are gone!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Luv it
6/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Been wanting this for a while decided to sell my treadmill and give it a try. Found it in a local walmart so that was a plus did not have to wait for shipping. Started putting it together by myself instructions was super easy with color coded left and right and all the bolts was coded as well. My husband finish helping me and moving it. It is really heavy but lift the back and pull or push to where you want it. The machine works great and quite me and my teenage son love it. Great workout easy to go from bike to elliptical. You will truly enjoy this equipment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (108)No (34)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never delivered not damaged
9/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Never was able to deliver it not damaged so they refunded the money. Didn't attempt to make it right and deliver the item in good condition.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A joy to use - a pain to assemble
2/16/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Construction is sound and it doesn't wobble if put together properly and placed on a level, carpeted surface. Use is fluent and fairly quiet so far. Resistance level 14 should provide quite a workout. That being said, it was a bit difficult to assemble. Total time of 3 hours with my wife helping me could have been 2 hours had all the bolts threaded correctly. Due to this issue, I found it necessary to exert as much effort as a man can while using one of the handlebars as a torque pipe to aid in turning the allen wrench. The two most problematic areas where the top and bottom bolts which hold the recumbent and elliptical sections together. These screws don't go all the way through, so you must attempt to screw them into the receiving threads located inside the pipe. I don't think the receiving threads inside the adjoining were properly "tapped" at the factory. Now that the construction is happily behind us, I'm sure we're going to get a lot of enjoyment from our new exercise equipment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty Good
10/31/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It took awhile to put together, but it would have been easier with a 2nd person. Machine is reasonably durable given the price. The cup holder is a joke. I hit my knees on it and I'm only 5'3", so I removed it. The pulse sensors do not work unless your hands are wet. And I don't mean just slightly moist, but wet. I called the manufacturer and they sent me new wires and one sensor with no installation instructions (they did not come like this in the original box). Now I have to call them back (and likely hold for another 20 min before someone answers) to get an explanation and instructions on installing. At this point, I've resigned to living without that pulse monitor. Some squeaking, but it only came with a minimal amount of grease. Going to add more from the hardware store and see if this helps. The programs are ok, but the level of difficulty for starting out is tough. The resistance is very responsive. Hopefully this will become easier with time and better strength and endurance from working my way into it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (168)No (80)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid quiet machine.
3/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a well built machine, especially for the price. I appreciate the smooth resistance and very quiet operation. I had to drop at least one star because there are a couple glaring ergonomic design flaws that should have been addressed before production. One is that the handles with the heart rate monitors are placed where the moving bars strike your arms if you try to use them while in motion. They can't be accessed during normal operation while in recumbent mode either, since they are to far away. So, the heart rate monitor is cumbersome to use while working out. Other issue is the resistant adjustment is controlled by the cheap display monitor. If batteries are dead or wires bad there isn't a manual adjustment. Proform's engineering is good enough to have caught these issues. It is a good solid machine and creates a great work out if you don't need the heart rate monitor and do not use stationary handles in elliptical mode.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (145)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value for the money.
11/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The following represents some of my thoughts/observations regarding the Proform Hybrid Trainer Elliptical. Since they are cheaper by the dozen...good luck. 1. The equipment is very solid. 2. Assembly took 2+ hours. 3. Directions were adequate. 4. Most small parts (Nuts & Bolts) are clearly labled and put on a cardboard card for easy identification. 5. Purchased on line with free delivery to the house. If purchased at store it would have been approx. $50 more. 6. Connecting wiring was a little tricky, match wire colors. Directions could be improved. 7. Left/Right parts were clearly labled. 8. Noticed many of the poor ratings were related to missing parts, not the product itself. 9. Assistance assemblying is not absolutly necessary but you will find it a big help at times. Maybe I could have finished in less than 2 hrs if I had an assistant. 10. FYI The seat is stationary and the bike pedals must be moved on rails to adjust to a persons leg lenth. 11. Display should have a tilt feature. When using the bike it could be difficult to see. 12. Bought the bike for my wife as an anniversary present. Next time I will just take her out to dinner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (300)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
READ THIS
1/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This item is more than what I was expecting. After reading multiple reviews, I almost didn't want to purchase it because I was afraid that it was going to be a terror to put together and that it wasn't going to be a good working machine. That is not the case. My husband and I put this machine together in almost 2 hours. It is not that difficult everything is labeled and everything is sturdy pieces and bars. The elliptical is the perfect length for me I am about 5 feet 5 Inches. It is easy to move from room to room after you put it together. It is sturdy, smooth and a great machine for the price. Get it! Workout, achieve and don't let people's negative reviews hold you from purchasing. People complain about everything, sounds like excuses to me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice machine for the price
11/10/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this machine is very nice for the price I paid. I was a long-term Nordic Track user, but my unit eventually died and I wanted something new. This machine is manual, not belt driven, so I am hoping there is less that can go wrong with it in the future vs. a treadmill or an eliptical with a drive train. I was tedious but not difficult to put together, the buddy helping me said if would have been much easier if he brought his electric drill/screwdrive with the allen wrench attachment, vs. hand tightenting everything with the provided allen wrenches. I have not noticed any significant noise coming from the machine like some others. We could not find the grease that was supposed to be provided in the kit, so used sprayable white lithium grease that seems to work well. The machine is easy to use and the battery powered digital readout seems to work well (although you have to use an eyeglasss screwdriver to open the back to put in the batteries. I got the item on sale for a very good price, it was delivered within 48 hours so very high ratings for Wal-Mart with regard to customer service.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my husband!
9/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Can use several times a day. Very convenient
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
1/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It does have a kind of short stride, but crank up the resistance and it will kick your butt! I have been using it two weeks straight so far and no squeaking yet. It's quiet and easy to switch from bike to elliptical. I'm so glad I went with this one versus the newer ($200 more) model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Notice the picture's of Operator's on machine !
4/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I looked around for an Elliptical for my 70 yr. old mother to use, as her knees are not in great shape.. After trying out this machine at my local Walmart store, I decided to purchase one after a week of searching other Sporting Good stores.. I wanted to buy at the Walmart store, but they did not have any in stock, so, I had to order online.. I placed my order, for the price of $377.99 the week of April 7, 2014, it came April 17 in great shape..Did take appx. 2 hrs. to assemble by myself. Machine is SMOOTH and no SOUNDS..However, the Heart Monitor is USELESS, as the handle bars, DO NOT, move forward far enough to reach! And, the seat DOES NOT move, and is in a FIXED position...LOOK at the pictures. I do like this machine, and recommend it.. And, by the way, as of this review, April 18, the price is now $399.00!! WOW! REALLY?!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!
8/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It took a little bit of time to put together, the instructions weren't always clear but I got it done in a reasonable amount of time. I LOVE it! On lazy days I use the recumbent bike part. When I use the elliptical, even if only for a short time, I get a good workout and am building up how long I can stay on. I am quite out of shape but changing that with this equipment!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (336)No (43)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hybrid trainer
9/6/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I start with the elliptical then sit on the seat to rest then do the bike and repeat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceptional workout equipment for anyone.
12/31/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I did a lot of research for a workout machine that would have zero impact on the knees but provide top results on a cardio workout. This machine is well designed, of good quality parts, and not bad on the price. The only negative thing I could say about this product is you have to put it together. It took me about three and a half hours. However, after working out on it, it was well worth it. It felt like I was walking on air as far as no pressure on the knees but the workout was there. I like the fact you can also work out your arms and sit down and ride a bike as a workout. You will be pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A few suggestions
5/15/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice, easy to use machine. There's some useful information about the product on the box that doesn't make it into the description. Stride length is 15"; the screen shown in the images is YOUR iPad - it doesn't come with a graphic screen of any kind; bring your tool box with you to put it together. You'll need a Phillips, a hammer, and a socket wrench or pair of pliers. Keep your smart phone handy, in selfie mode too. You can use it to see under the machine to reach screws that are out of sight from the top (like those under the seat or step attachment). I recommend taking everything out of the box and checking for all of the pieces first. There are 19 steps in the manual, but the first is registering the warranty, so I didn't count that one. A few steps require repeating the same thing on the other side, so that ads to the time to finish. It's also not entirely clear when certain parts are supposed to be used. The directions on some complex parts (like adding a washer and a rubberish "stop" or adding grease) isn't always laid out. The pictures in the manual are well done though. Use that when you're in a bind. I'll bulletpoint a some more thoughts: - The ifit solution requires an app that has very poor reviews on IOS. Check into it before buying for that reason; - The machine is easy to put together. Takes about an hour to put together, much longer if you're not able to put together something on your own when two people are called to do it. If you don't know what I mean by that, it'll take you longer; - You'll need a hammer.... Some parts need a little coaxing to get in place; - The total device is sturdy and very quiet. - The manual is moderately useful. It doesn't, for example, tell you the content of the sample included programs. I just pick a number and roll with it. - The steps rise up about a foot off the ground, so add 12 inches to your height to determine if the machine will fit in your home. - The slide for the seat is dry, so it does not move easy. Add some lubricant to it to help out.; - It needs four D batteries and they are NOT included. It does not have a plug, so you'll need to pick the batteries up before using the machine. I like the machine so far, but I give it four stars because the building and machine use instructions are just above average and, there's a bit of false advertising through the use of the iPad in the marketing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Value
11/10/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the working person that needs to get 30 minutes a day of a good workout.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best elliptical and bike in one
3/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We Just love this proform hybrid elliptical. It took my husband about two hours to put together out of the box. Instructions were very easy to read and follow. It was Packed very well. All the hardware for assembly was packaged in a nice pack clearly labelled. It is Very well made and very sturdy. Doesn't rock back and forth like some do. Easy to use. Very comfortable seat, Great work out. Easy on the knees especially if you have arthritis or knee issues. I have a bad back and neck and it really helps me with my pain . I can only use it for short periods at a time. But I love it. My teenage daughter also loves it as well! she can use her ipad and get a good workout as well. My husband loves it too he was injured in an accident that left him disabled so this helps quite a bit with his pain. It is so much fun for the whole family. We highly recommend! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (49)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for exercising lower body
5/3/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I knew I needed to exercise as my legs were becoming weak. So I considered this hybrid cycling/elliptical device knowing in particular that it had a back on it for re-cumbent cycling. I know I need to do warm-ups first and that is important to remember for not injuring yourself. The instruction book was quite good as we were able to follow it in the correct order. All the parts were there, my husband enjoys putting things together and it took about 3 hrs working at a regular pace. Did I mention he is 75? Now we can both exercise indoors when the weather is bad or good as I have it in our enclosed "Florida" room near all windows. Oh and I'm 73.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643934, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-