Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 885 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

885 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

885 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
478
4 stars
152
3 stars
34
2 stars
53
1 stars
168
1-20 of 885 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 885 total reviews
1-20 of 885 reviews
Amazing
1/14/2017

Customer review by ttlilbit

5.0 stars 1/14/2017 by ttlilbit
by ttlilbit

I just bought it 1/13/2017 I love it, I was reading a lot of good reviews on this carpet cleaner and decided to buy it I'm happy I did it's not a waste of your money

ttlilbit
Temple, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A top end product on a middle class price
1/4/2017

Customer review by CharlEB

5.0 stars 1/4/2017 by CharlEB
by CharlEB

I did good research before getting our carpet washer and we bought this Hoover. I am really impressed in the way it cleaned our stained white carpet! Before I thought to put in a wooden floor as the carpet was a mess, not anymore.. love this machine

CharlEB
London, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't do the job
8/23/2015

Customer review by Lynnk20

1.0 stars 8/23/2015 by Lynnk20
by Lynnk20

I bought this to clean an 8 x 10 area rug and the upholstery of my couch. I have a good that leaves saliva marks on my light colored couch and needed something to get it out. Cleaning the large rug was a breeze. I could see all the dirty water it was sucking up. However, I had 2 small stains on the carpet that still remained even after going over it several times. I also noticed that after drying, my carpet didn't smell any fresher than before. It still smells of my dog, which is disappointing. As for the couch upholstery...what a dreaming mess! The upholstery hose attachment sprayed water and solution everywhere! It soaked the upholstery and the suction barely worked, so it left my fabric completely saturated. The section of couch that I did do, after much scrubbing, still has all the stain marks it had before. Everything else was clean. You can see a distinct color difference where I did it, but ALL of the stains are still there! I was very disappointed in this product and will probably have to end up hiring someone to clean my upholstery for me. What a waste of money! If I could have chosen "no stars" as an option I would have.

Lynnk20
Palm Harbor, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great machine but.......
3/26/2016

Customer review by bryschep

3.0 stars 3/26/2016 by bryschep
by bryschep

Bought this machine about a year ago. It works great for what we need but the handle broke at the base, right at the screws. I hate waiting for repair equipment when I need to use the item now. So I glued everything back together and glue all the cracks that we created as well. Used it today and the handle broke again in the same place. I suppose I will have to order a replacement but in the mean time Hoover, you need to redesign the handle. With all of the weight that is loaded on the handle with it full of water I can understand why it breaks in that area because there is no support at all.

Comment from Kenya - 3/31/2016

Hi bryschep! That’s awful. The handle on your Power Scrub Deluxe should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We’re sending you an email to further assist. Thanks!

bryschep
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but bad all at the same time.
4/6/2016

Customer review by Jocie

2.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Jocie
by Jocie

So I purchased this 10 months ago; in that 10 months it had been used moderately. It works well, I am happy with how well it does at actually cleaning both old and new stains. However, in 10 months the handle has cracked where the clean tank sits; the cracks cause the tank to not sit flush and to leak. So it's a great if you want to purchase a new one. about once a year. Also the area that the attachments hose attaches is a poor design and after useing the hose 5 times it no longer seems seal.

Comment from Kenya - 4/12/2016

Hi Jocie! The handle on your Power Scrub Deluxe should be holding up better than that. We need a bit more information. You’ll be receiving an email shortly to better assist. Thanks!

Jocie
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Love The Look and Impressed With The Results and Accessories! Skippy Happy!
5/18/2016

Customer review by Skippy Happy

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Skippy Happy
by Skippy Happy

After careful research and review I decided on the Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer FH50150. I could see myself using all the tools and the one thing that I loved about this cleaner is that it is lightweight and the accessories were detached and I could use them when I needed them. With another system I previously purchased "Not a Hoover," the attachments were very bulky and would get in the way and often fall off in the middle of my cleaning. My husband and I purchased this lovely expensive off white area carpet and placed it in the family room. Although it is just the two of us this carpet got very NASTY from our outdoor shoes and occasional eating in the area. I mean it got throw away NASTY. He said to me...Let's just get rid of it and I told him to just give me a chance and I would try to clean it. Well a rental was out of the question as the cost to rent was almost as much to purchase a new machine. So I tried to clean the carpet on my hands and knees and had some success with that option but eventually the carpet got NASTY again. So instead of getting on my hands and knees again trying to clean it, I did some research and decided on the FH50150 and was very pleased, excited and Skippy Happy with the results. It scrubbed, it cleaned, it deodorized, it lifted the dirt and extracted the water to almost dry. I did take a picture at the time of cleaning for myself to see it there would be a difference and these are some before and after pictures. I Would Recommend The Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe Carpet Washer FH50150 to anyone looking for a cleaner that has value and gives results. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Skippy Happy
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Carpet cleaner I ever had!
6/13/2015

Customer review by Jenny Lynn

5.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Jenny Lynn
by Jenny Lynn

I had my carpets cleaned by a professional and they did not clean our carpets very well... When they left our house the house smelled like dirty water! The next day I was like let me redo the carpets! To put it this way the pictures show what this carpet cleaner has done for us! I am so happy that our house doesn't feel icky! We have a dog so you know all the hair from her too! It keeps our house clean!

Jenny Lynn
Temple Terrace, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Poorly made
9/6/2015

Customer review by Yokia

2.0 stars 9/6/2015 by Yokia
by Yokia

I purchase this carpet shampooer because it appeared to be a safe choice. I use a shampooer frequently since we have a new puppy. Overall it works as it should but one day the handle just snapped off. It's right above where you screw it into the base so I can't use it now. Instead I have to use all the attachments and well trying to shampoo large areas is near impossible. :(

Comment from Giselle - 9/6/2015

Hi Yokia! This is not good to hear nor see. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly. We have a few questions.

Yokia
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
SHODDY PRODUCT - DO NOT BUY!
5/8/2017

Customer review by NiseSlo

1.0 stars 5/8/2017 by NiseSlo
by NiseSlo

I purchased this cleaner 5 times (plus another model twice). EVERY SINGLE ONE leaked under the bottom to some extent. A few were purchased at Kohls so I was able to just exchange them. I thought with the new one I bought it would be different, but it was NOT. On half of them, they also had spray nozzle issues where it would no longer spray. I used the one I currently have to clean my carpet 3 times this week. After the final cleaning (2 times yesterday), the water was muddy brown. That means this cleaner has never gotten my carpets clean. BTW I do not wear shoes in my home or allow others to. And I wipe my dogs paws off at all times. Also the screws in the dirty water tank are already all rusted away. The cleaner is a little over a month old. Who uses screws that will rust by water??? They will repair the unit if under warranty. But honestly, if they can't get it right the first time, and with 7 that I owned, how the heck are they going to fix the problem for once and for all if I let them repair it??? I went to post a review (honest but negative) on their website. They will not allow it because "it directs business away." That was the reply I got. That to me is an unreputable business and how can one trust they could put out a decent product? No, instead it is a cheaply and poorly made product. I've seen similiar complaints all over the place. Go to their FB page and read. Check them out on the BBB's website. 129 complaints in 3 years all for bad product/service. DO NOT BUY A HOOVER!!!!! See dirty water below from the 2nd cleaning yesterday.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NiseSlo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for regular cleaning
1/29/2017

Customer review by DCfolks

4.0 stars 1/29/2017 by DCfolks
by DCfolks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't expect miracles on very old, set-in stains, but this is great for keeping carpets clean in between professional cleanings. I moved into a house with beige carpet that's probably over 20 years old. And it looked it--stains in all the high-traffic areas. I bought this steamer and tried it out on the worst areas, and they definitely look WAY better (see before and after photos), but some small dark stains only lightened, and the dark sooty areas near the in-floor air vents are still sooty. But once I replace the carpet, I think using this regularly will work to prevent those stains from forming and setting in. It is all plastic and some parts feel a bit flimsy, so I'm giving it four stars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCfolks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BRUSHES STOPPED SPINNING
7/22/2016

Customer review by Paul

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Paul
by Paul

Was a great machine until brushes stopped. Found a broken plastic part to be the reason. Manufacturer doesn't make part available. Maybe HOOVER should make this common faulty part available rather than provide replacement machines ...... especially to those who have a warranty that has run out ................ not very pleased

Was this review helpful? (84) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not sure on this brand yet
1/13/2017

Customer review by Jqhnny

2.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Jqhnny
by Jqhnny

Haven't had it that long and already broke down. I'll keep you posted on warranty quality

Comment from Karissa - 1/14/2017

Hi Jqhnny! Oh no, your Power Scrub Deluxe should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Jqhnny
Iowa, United States
Better Than Expected
9/19/2013

Customer review by Twin11

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Twin11
by Twin11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have three dogs and three cats and to keep our house clean and smelling fresh, you need to clean your carpets regularly. I purchased this after my Bissell steam cleaner quick working. I bought this specifically because it had the two separate water containers. I did not like the water containment /bladder system on my old one. This machine worked excellent. It is light weight and easy to use. The two water tanks is a great feature. The best part in the end was the "Spin Brushes" rather than the roller brush on other carpet cleaners. The spin brushes really made a difference in the end result. After applying the water and solution to your carpets, when removing the water from your carpets (remember this is not a sweeper) you must go slow and go over the area a few times (same as any other steam cleaner). This Hoover seamed to pick-up more water out of my carpets. My carpets were dry in no time! I did not use the attachments as of yet, but I assume I will like those features as well.

Was this review helpful? (383) (90)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twin11
Newburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
12/20/2016

Customer review by 412kari1991

2.0 stars 12/20/2016 by 412kari1991
by 412kari1991

I bought this in the summer to clean my carpets before winter. I used it once, and the seal on the tank where the dirty water goes broke! Now that the seal is broken, the suction isn't great so it leaves my carpets soaked. Don't recommend this product.. seems to be made very cheaply.

Comment from Kenya - 12/21/2016

Hi 412kari1991! Your Power Scrub should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We’re sending you a private email to better assist. Thanks

412kari1991
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I THOUGHT my carpets were clean until I used this.
9/21/2015

Customer review by Denogginizer

4.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Denogginizer
by Denogginizer

We have a couple of dogs in our house and I like to think I keep things pretty clean. I thoroughly vacuum the house once a week and do "spot vacuum sessions" two or three times per week in the dogs favorite rooms and areas to lay in. With that said, the first time I used this in our living room, the dirty water came out looking like chocolate milk and that is not an exaggeration. I went over the carpet two more times and eventually the dirty water turned to a lighter gray but I still could not see through it. (For cleaning, I used a 50/50 mix of water and white vinegar in the cleaning solution tank.) I am not sure if that means that a better unit (or a professional job) would get it clean the first time, or if this thing works so good that it is getting ALL the dirt out of our carpet. Either way, I am happy with it. The is four stars and not five only because the plastic feels kind of cheap and I wonder about it's longevity. But, for the price of this, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (139) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Denogginizer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far so good
6/26/2013

Customer review by mmm0210

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by mmm0210
by mmm0210

I bought this machine yesterday and have it once and can already tell a difference! I live in a house with my husband TWO dogs under a year old & have two toddlers of my own. Every room in our small home is carpeted except the kitchen and bathroom so you can imagine all the high traffic stains. my favorite features are how easy it is to clean! You can take the brush off, the clear face plate and the water tanks. I must say the easy cleaning is what sold me on this product. After having a cheap Boswell I got tired of taking scissors  to the brushes to clean out hair but with this hoover I no longer have that problem! I am happy with this purchase and plan to go over my carpets a few more times.

mmm0210
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
10/16/2015

Customer review by reviewer1

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by reviewer1
by reviewer1

This is only the 2nd carpet washer I've ever used (the 1st being a Bissell from 2004), & so far so good. I purchased it because I have a large area of carpet that my dogs had accidents on & while my house didn't smell from it, I could smell it when I put my nose to the carpet & it was enough to drive me crazy. I've used it 3 days in a row now (using the 2x cleaner that came with it)- each time the carpet smells a little less like pee. -It is a little heavy (the old cleaner was marketed as lightweight) but not unbearable. - I really like the rinse & wash settings. In fear of leaving soap on my carpet and making the carpet more stain prone, I go over the carpet MULTIPLE times with just plain water. While I fill the plain water side (and empty the dirty water) MULTIPLE times the solution side lasts through the entire cleaning. - My carpets are pretty much dry within a couple of hours---very impressed since I think I wash & rinse more times than I should. - I haven't had much use for the hose & attachments

Was this review helpful? (61) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome job ccleaning!
5/18/2015

Customer review by SarahGD207

5.0 stars 5/18/2015 by SarahGD207
by SarahGD207

I have had the product for a month now. Going through my house room by room cleaning the carpets. Mt carpets did not look that dirty but had several stains in areas. I cleaned a strip only to see how clean it was and there was a night a day difference. Not only does it clean well and easily it made my carpets fluffy amd soft again. I love this carpet cleaner. Make sure to get Hoover cleaning solution too it works the best. I tried Woolite but it didnt do the same thing as the Hoover brand solution. Only complaint is the small water tank. You find yourself changing and refilling the water a lot. But it gets the job done!

SarahGD207
Columbia, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does not do bare floors, attachment twisted and useless
2/24/2016

Customer review by Circusof6

1.0 stars 2/24/2016 by Circusof6
by Circusof6

I bought this to do bare floors. The bare floor attachment arrived twisted and useless. It does not stay attached to the machine in any way, not even by the weight of the machine, but the machine is really good at running over the bare floor attachment. Oh, and any time the machine goes over a tiny bump the orange plug pops up, any minor bump. So for two hours I fought the machine, constantly having to turn it on and off due to the plug popping up due to running over the twisted useless bare floor attachment. Fun times Hoover! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from Kenya - 2/29/2016

Hi Circusof6! The squeegee shouldn’t have arrived in that condition. We want to help. We’re sending you a private email to better assist!

Circusof6
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful job cleaning carpet!
8/23/2014

Customer review by Feenv

4.0 stars 8/23/2014 by Feenv
by Feenv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had nothing but trouble with carpet cleaners after my last Hoover Max Extract literally disintegrated. They no longer make that product - I loved how it cleaned. Since then, I've gone through several different cleaners by different manufacturers, including Hoover. I was so frustrated until I got this cleaner. It's lightweight and simple to operate and does a great job cleaning my carpet. With three small dogs and my family, our light carpet is always dirty. Not so with this cleaner. I can pull it out and clean up a spot or clean an entire room. The carpet comes out looking like new and is not saturated, like some cleaners leave it. I'm so happy with the product. I did not give it a perfect rating because I had cleaning solution leak into the water after it was stored overnight in my closet. I will wait to see if it continues and will contact Hoover if it does. I'm very happy with this product and highly recommend it! Walmart had the best price and it was delivered quickly and in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Feenv
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 885 total reviews
1-20 of 885 reviews