Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 832 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

832 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

832 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
450
4 stars
143
3 stars
33
2 stars
48
1 stars
158
1-20 of 832 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 832 total reviews
1-20 of 832 reviews
Tank leaks
1/16/2015

Customer review by drewdownkali

2.0 stars 1/16/2015 by drewdownkali
by drewdownkali

Works great but tank leaks both solution and water. That solution isn't cheap.

drewdownkali
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent Machine
12/5/2016

Customer review by JoanZ

4.0 stars 12/5/2016 by JoanZ
by JoanZ

I have had this unit for about a year and a half and have used it on carpet and stairs. The last carpet cleaned was in a rental apartment where, once we lifted the area rug, there was a large circle of dirt outside where the rug had been. I truly did not think the machine would return the carpet to one color and it did a great job making the rug look normal. We have used the cleaner on a high-traffic hallway after housebreaking a puppy and the carpet was not pristine, but it was much, much improved. The waste container fills up quickly and it takes many refills to clean a carpet, but a larger container adds weight to the machine and this machine is just about as heavy as I can handle so this is a reasonable compromise. Another feature I like very much is the ability to wash the carpet with detergent and then rinse with plain water. I would recommend the Hoover as a good value. The amount we have saved compared to either renting a carpet cleaner or calling a service has more than paid for the machine.

JoanZ
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Hoover Carpet Cleaner does what it claims to do!
2/19/2017

Customer review by Mitchie51

5.0 stars 2/19/2017 by Mitchie51
by Mitchie51

I bought my first Hoover, had a Bissell Carpet Cleaner before. Just picked up my New Hoover Carpet Cleaner I put my purchase to the test, cleaned my carpet and sofa great, better then the Bissell I had before, I love the outcome!

Mitchie51
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely thrilled; great product!
2/14/2017

Customer review by Lois A Stoddard

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Lois A Stoddard
by Lois A Stoddard

I bought this product a week ago today. Started using it within 3 days of purchase and have used it nearly every day since. The rating I would give this home appliance is definitely A-one. It does a fabulous job. I am impressed with the suction ability as the carpeting dries very rapidly after a cleaning cycle.

Lois A Stoddard
Albany, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaking Hose & SpinScrub Brush is Cracked
9/6/2016

Customer review by StephiePooh

1.0 stars 9/6/2016 by StephiePooh
by StephiePooh

I purchased this on July13, 2016 and I have used it 3 times now. This last time (just today), the solution and water just squirted from the Accessory Hose the minute I turned it on (no need to press the button), and I could not get it to stop. I tried reseating the tanks, the rubber grommet seemed fine. And come to think of it, I noticed it leaking from around the bottom area of the "upper handle" the last time I used it. I always clean it out before putting it up according to the manual. And today, while trying to get the SpinScrub Brush off (not exactly easy to do, especially when wet), the clear plastic started to crack. I'm not very happy about this purchase. It's beyond the return policy period, otherwise I would have returned it for my money. I would rather have my money back, so is there a way to get a refund through Hoover? It does clean well, when it works properly, but it seems like the unit has many problems, and I didn't buy it for headaches.

Comment from Karissa - 9/16/2016

Hi StephiePooh! Your Power Scrub Deluxe should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

StephiePooh
Southfield, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Borrowed from my Son, loved it ! Bought my own.
2/16/2017

Customer review by BlueIzeGuy

5.0 stars 2/16/2017 by BlueIzeGuy
by BlueIzeGuy

I had borrowed the same unit my son owns. It is great. Bought my own.

BlueIzeGuy
NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean water tank leak on RINSE mode
9/23/2014

Customer review by Billybean

1.0 stars 9/23/2014 by Billybean
by Billybean

I bought this from Hoover Factory sale on 9/9 and was very excited about it and expecting this everyday like a boy. I finally received it on 9/22 and rushed to use it. After I filled the solution and the clean water and put it on the cleaner. Then I saw water coming out from the cleaning tank. I finally figured it out the clean water tank is leaking from the bottom at the RINSE mode. However it doesn't leak at WASH mode. My wife humiliated me and asked if I bought a cheap refurbished model. I was super frustrated since it didn't work even before my first use. I just regret buying it online and not buying the Bissell from Costco. Finally I have to use the WASH mode to use up my cleaning solution in the tank without rinsing it. This is my first Hoover product and it's a really bad experience. I will contact the customer service to see if I can get a new replacement. I know I probably can go the repair center to have it fixed. But I just feel unfair to fix a supposedly new product.   

Comment from Gisellle - 9/23/2014

Hi Billybean! You should not be having any problems with your cleaner only after the first time use. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly for further assistance. Thank you.

Billybean
Salt Lake City, UT, United States
Gender:Male
Missing parts
2/2/2017

Customer review by Stradic

3.0 stars 2/2/2017 by Stradic
by Stradic

Been looking at this carpet cleaner for a long time. Finally got a great price on Black Friday 2016. My only complaint so far is that there were parts of the tool kit that were missing. I got the sample bottle of cleaner and Spin scrub hand tool but the mesh storage bag, the accessory hose, stair tool, upholstery tool and crevice tool were all missing.

Comment from Michael - 2/3/2017

Hi Stradic! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. For further assistance in this matter feel free to give us a call at 800-944-9200 between 8am-6pm M-F. We look forward to hearing from you!

Stradic
St Cloud, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
brush stopped spinning...AGAIN
5/24/2016

Customer review by etamano

1.0 stars 5/24/2016 by etamano
by etamano

So i Purchased this item sometime in 2013, with the idea of using it twice a year. and using a cleaning service once a year. the first couple of times the hover worked pretty good, the darkness of the dirty water was amazing...but the past few of times i've used it (twice last year and today) the power brushes stopped moving. the first time i did the troubleshooting and cleaned the screen behind the nozzle and it allowed me to finish the cleaning i was doing then. started it up today did a few rounds and noticed the brushes weren't moving again. did the same trouble shooting, and checked all around to make sure there was no blockage and the brushes were clean as well...but no luck. all i could do was finish with some dry runs to get what water i had used up. i wanna throw this thing out a window...what a piece of junk. looks like im going have to rent a rug doctor to finish the job, but what a major time suck to have to do that when you think the item you own should.

Comment from Michael - 5/24/2016

Hi etamano! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. We want to help. If your brushes are not spinning while the unit is on, try this: Remove the brushes from the unit, and spin the control rod by hand. If the brushes do not spin, then the brushes need to be replaced. If they do spin, then your unit may need to be serviced. Your Power Scrub Deluxe comes with a two year warranty from the date of purchase on the receipt. To find your local service center, please go here: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

etamano
Alameda, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is my second Hoover carpet cleaner. It is much lighter and more user friendly than the first one was.
2/5/2017

Customer review by Deutze

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Deutze
by Deutze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i have used this carpet cleaner once. It was an improvement over the older machine and yielded great results.

Deutze
Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so fast. Pump for upholstery stopped working the second time I used it.
1/31/2017

Customer review by A cleaning machine

4.0 stars 1/31/2017 by A cleaning machine
by A cleaning machine

Unit worked great on carpet and upholstery at first. Pump for upholstery stopped working the second time I used it. Followed instructions in manual several times. End instruction was to return unit due to a faulty pump. As this was within the stores 30 day warranty Hoover customer service said to return it to the store. I did and have a new unit that is working fine.

A cleaning machine
Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleans great, leaks like crazy though
4/5/2016

Customer review by Matt40

1.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Matt40
by Matt40

I bought this cleaner on Amazon.com to replace a Bissell. It leaks out of any and every opening possible. It leaks where the handle sits, out the two caps for solution and water whether filled to the fill line down to an inch below it. I soaked up almost a half a roll of paper towels trying to do a 6x4 piece of carpet last night. The cleaner arrived yesterday (March 31, 2016) morning. I'm disappointed with the cheap quality of the rubber washers for the cap and under the solution/water tank, the way the cleaning solution/water tank sits(it's a shot in the dark as to if it's on properly every time), and the fit of the handle. The only good thing about this product is that it cleans well. It does an excellent job at getting dirt from deep down in the carpet. It also dries rather quickly, but all in all that doesn't make it worth the stress. Oh, and the other good thing is the size of the water tank. That's about it. I'd give 1 star, but the cleaning performance got it 2.

Comment from Kenya - 4/11/2016

Hi Matt40! Your Power Scrub Deluxe definitely shouldn’t be leaking. We want to help. We’re sending you an email to better assist. Thanks!

Matt40
Rome, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
I've never loved a floor cleaner until now!
1/22/2017

Customer review by Pam58

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Pam58
by Pam58

I purchased this carpet cleaner approximately 6 weeks ago and have used it at least 3 times a week since then. The machine does a great job removing dirt and wet spills off of carpets; however, it may take more than one cleaning to get deep down dirt.. I purchased this cleaner to help clean up after an elderly mostly incontinent large dog. This cleaner exceeded my expectations for removing new and old urine from the carpet. I recommend this product without hesitation.

Pam58
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't last long
1/30/2017

Customer review by Cap1

1.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Cap1
by Cap1

Took product out of the box, started using it after reading instructions, it did not last 20 minutes and then quit running. Returned it to store for a replacement, we'll see if the new one is any better

Comment from Karissa - 2/2/2017

Hi Cap1! Your Power Scrub Deluxe should last longer than one use. If further assistance is needed with your replacement unit feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We're here for you!

Cap1
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor design of the turbine assembly
1/24/2017

Customer review by Tim from MI

1.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Tim from MI
by Tim from MI

I bought this about a year ago (unfortunately cannot find the receipt). After a few good cleans it started leaking during use and the brushes stopped moving. Checked youtube and found a video on how to clear this up. when I took this apart the inside of the turbine assembly was rusted out. It does not look like it is sealed well and many complaints about this happening on the web.

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2017

Hi Tim from MI! Your Power Scrub should be holding up better than that. We want to help. This model actually carries a 2 year warranty against manufacturing defects. Please take the cleaner in to an authorized repair center for service. To locate one nearest you visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. We hope this helps!

Tim from MI
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome
1/28/2017

Customer review by Labtech1

5.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Labtech1
by Labtech1

I purchased this machine one week ago and it did a great job on our carpet. I will never need to rent a carpet cleaner ever again.

Labtech1
Lafayette, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Scrubber
1/23/2017

Customer review by Fresno AJ

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Fresno AJ
by Fresno AJ

Purchased with minimumal hopes of cleaner doing a good job. To my supprise, the Hoover with it's rotating brushes turned out to be on very, very great carpet scrubber. Wish I had purchased this Super Scrubber a lot sooner as we rent a house with a live in grandson and the carpets would not have gotten this dirty and we could have cleaned them more often!

Fresno AJ
Fresno, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Carpet Cleaner
1/18/2017

Customer review by MillerBeachGirl

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by MillerBeachGirl
by MillerBeachGirl

We bought one in 1996 - It is still going strong as of Jan. 2017. We gave it to our son, and purchased the latest model for Christmas 2016. They have really improved the ease of use of the product in the last 20 years, and it cleans even better than the old model. It's much lighterweight, easier to fill and empty, more energy efficient even. We love both and are happy to have such a great product in our home. Would highly recommend it.

MillerBeachGirl
Wheaton, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cleans very well and easy to use
1/26/2017

Customer review by karenalleva

5.0 stars 1/26/2017 by karenalleva
by karenalleva

overall excellent product, I just wish the stair attachment had better suction.

karenalleva
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job expected
1/22/2017

Customer review by Nickszer

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Nickszer
by Nickszer

Compared a bunch of different carpet cleaners. This one looks more basic than some of the fancy looking comparable machines. Easy assembly, pretty light, great results, simple to use, and cleans the carpet as expected for the right price.

Nickszer
Reading, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 832 total reviews
1-20 of 832 reviews