Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 475 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

475 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

475 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
233
4 stars
78
3 stars
15
2 stars
35
1 stars
114
1-20 of 475 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 475 total reviews
1-20 of 475 reviews
Tank leaks
1/16/2015

Customer review by drewdownkali

2.0 stars 1/16/2015 by drewdownkali
by drewdownkali

Works great but tank leaks both solution and water. That solution isn't cheap.

drewdownkali
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I THOUGHT my carpets were clean until I used this.
9/21/2015

Customer review by Denogginizer

4.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Denogginizer
by Denogginizer

We have a couple of dogs in our house and I like to think I keep things pretty clean. I thoroughly vacuum the house once a week and do "spot vacuum sessions" two or three times per week in the dogs favorite rooms and areas to lay in. With that said, the first time I used this in our living room, the dirty water came out looking like chocolate milk and that is not an exaggeration. I went over the carpet two more times and eventually the dirty water turned to a lighter gray but I still could not see through it. (For cleaning, I used a 50/50 mix of water and white vinegar in the cleaning solution tank.) I am not sure if that means that a better unit (or a professional job) would get it clean the first time, or if this thing works so good that it is getting ALL the dirt out of our carpet. Either way, I am happy with it. The is four stars and not five only because the plastic feels kind of cheap and I wonder about it's longevity. But, for the price of this, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Denogginizer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better Than Expected
9/19/2013

Customer review by Twin11

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Twin11
by Twin11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have three dogs and three cats and to keep our house clean and smelling fresh, you need to clean your carpets regularly. I purchased this after my Bissell steam cleaner quick working. I bought this specifically because it had the two separate water containers. I did not like the water containment /bladder system on my old one. This machine worked excellent. It is light weight and easy to use. The two water tanks is a great feature. The best part in the end was the "Spin Brushes" rather than the roller brush on other carpet cleaners. The spin brushes really made a difference in the end result. After applying the water and solution to your carpets, when removing the water from your carpets (remember this is not a sweeper) you must go slow and go over the area a few times (same as any other steam cleaner). This Hoover seamed to pick-up more water out of my carpets. My carpets were dry in no time! I did not use the attachments as of yet, but I assume I will like those features as well.

Was this review helpful? (260) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twin11
Newburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excitement soon died - as did the cleaner
1/23/2016

Customer review by Maggie May

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Maggie May
by Maggie May

I bought a Power Scrub carpet washer on black Friday as it was a fantastic deal. I didn't get around to actually using it until after the holidays (Jan 23, 2016). I read all the instructions, assembled it correctly and all was working fine on the first wash. I emptied the dirty water tank and refilled the clean water for the rinse. I got about 3/4 of the way through the rinse and the machine cut off. I checked my outlet and it was working (no blown fuses, other things worked when plugged into it). On the troubleshooting guide, it said that it might be a fuse in the actual machine and my only recourse is to take it to an authorized dealer. Luckily there is one in town, but this should not happen on a brand new appliance the very first time it's used!! My recommendation will depend on how long it takes for the repair and if this ever happens again. At this point, I would not recommend it.

Maggie May
Hickory, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Off to a good start
1/11/2016

Customer review by Poppins1122

4.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Poppins1122
by Poppins1122

I've been in my condo for seven years and thought that regular vacuuming was keeping the carpets clean enough, until I decided that with all my pets (cats, dog and ferrets) and my inability to take off my shoes as soon as I come inside, the carpet, especially on the stairs was starting to look dingy. The Hoover had the stair attachment that I wanted and seemed popular with pet people. It was easy enough to assemble --although those two screws that go into the handle keep falling out -- and I was both impressed and horrified by the amount of dirt and fur that was pulled out of my carpets. By the time I was done with one room and the stairs, the water was black and there was almost enough fur to clog my sink. The next morning the carpet that I had cleaned was perfectly dry and noticeably brighter than the carpets in the areas that I hadn't done. I just hope that the Hoover holds up, because I plan to use it a lot.

Poppins1122
Providence, RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
scrubbing brushes not spinning and I've only used one other time
10/25/2015

Customer review by jillandbrendan

1.0 stars 10/25/2015 by jillandbrendan
by jillandbrendan

I just bought this model 2 months ago. I've used the machine once. I loved how it cleaned. I cleaned my machine very meticulously at the end of my use. However, I am giving it 1 star because now I pulled it out today to clean again but the brushes won't spin. I have used the troubleshooting guide. The filter inside the dirty water tank is clean, the filter behind the nozzle is clean, the brushes rotate freely when I spin it with my hand. Now the couple of hours I had to clean have been wasted. Even if I take it to a service center and have it fixed the hassle of dealing with it and losing the precious time that I had to clean is all wasted! I have to have my carpets cleaned this week and who knows how long it will take to get my unit fixed. I have 5 children and finding time to clean carpets can be difficult. Very frustrated that after one use and taking exceptional care of my cleaner that it won't work. I bought this unit hoping for ease of cleaning when I needed it right away and I am hugely disappointed.

Comment from Kenya - 10/27/2015

Hi jillandbrendan! Oh no, this sounds like something we will need to take a look at. We know how frustrating it can be when appliances don’t work properly and we understand your time is valuable. The Power Scrub carries a 2 year warranty & it’s important to us that we get your cleaner in working order as soon as possible. Please take it in for warranty service. We have a center right in your neighborhood. Find it here: http://bit.ly/1RzNct1. Let us know if you still need us!

jillandbrendan
Jeffersonville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful job cleaning carpet!
8/23/2014

Customer review by Feenv

4.0 stars 8/23/2014 by Feenv
by Feenv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had nothing but trouble with carpet cleaners after my last Hoover Max Extract literally disintegrated. They no longer make that product - I loved how it cleaned. Since then, I've gone through several different cleaners by different manufacturers, including Hoover. I was so frustrated until I got this cleaner. It's lightweight and simple to operate and does a great job cleaning my carpet. With three small dogs and my family, our light carpet is always dirty. Not so with this cleaner. I can pull it out and clean up a spot or clean an entire room. The carpet comes out looking like new and is not saturated, like some cleaners leave it. I'm so happy with the product. I did not give it a perfect rating because I had cleaning solution leak into the water after it was stored overnight in my closet. I will wait to see if it continues and will contact Hoover if it does. I'm very happy with this product and highly recommend it! Walmart had the best price and it was delivered quickly and in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Feenv
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
10/16/2015

Customer review by reviewer1

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by reviewer1
by reviewer1

This is only the 2nd carpet washer I've ever used (the 1st being a Bissell from 2004), & so far so good. I purchased it because I have a large area of carpet that my dogs had accidents on & while my house didn't smell from it, I could smell it when I put my nose to the carpet & it was enough to drive me crazy. I've used it 3 days in a row now (using the 2x cleaner that came with it)- each time the carpet smells a little less like pee. -It is a little heavy (the old cleaner was marketed as lightweight) but not unbearable. - I really like the rinse & wash settings. In fear of leaving soap on my carpet and making the carpet more stain prone, I go over the carpet MULTIPLE times with just plain water. While I fill the plain water side (and empty the dirty water) MULTIPLE times the solution side lasts through the entire cleaning. - My carpets are pretty much dry within a couple of hours---very impressed since I think I wash & rinse more times than I should. - I haven't had much use for the hose & attachments

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hand Tools BROKE after one use
1/27/2016

Customer review by MrsMope

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by MrsMope
by MrsMope

I bought this machine from Amazon two weeks ago. Used it just once to clean my carpets, stairs and furniture. When I tried to remove the spin scrub brush from the hose, the tab that clicks in place broke off! I put the upholstery brush attachment on to clean my furniture, when I tried to remove that.. same thing the little plastic piece that slides over the raised black knob broke! Highly disappointing, I have to give an overall rating of poor because I would expect attachments designed to come off and on to have a better design than this. Now I'll have to purchase new hand tools at a cost of over $40. If I knew that I could have added that $40 onto my purchase price and bought a machine with a better design.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/28/2016

Hi MrsMope! This is totally unacceptable and we want to help make this right for you. We need just a bit more information from you, so we'll be reaching out to you privately. Thank you!

MrsMope
Birnamwood, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Versatile and thorough cleaner
6/22/2015

Customer review by HappyCleaner

5.0 stars 6/22/2015 by HappyCleaner
by HappyCleaner

This carpet cleaner is great. We love that it has the option to either use soap when cleaning or to rinse only to make sure you don't leave behind any soapy residue. The attachments that come with it add to the versatility. The oscillating scrub brush works wonders on small ground-in stains, whereas the other attachments work wonders on vehicle upholstery. The clean and dirty water tanks are easy to fill/dump and have a capacity that will allow you to a decent sized bedroom with one tank. The only finicky part we have encountered is the orange float in the dirty water tank that cuts off suction to alert you when the tank is full. If you bump or tip the carpet washer while you are working the ball engages even though the tank is not full. You will have to shut the cleaner off and let it sink before turning it back on to proceed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCleaner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for smaller areas and routine use.
5/27/2014

Customer review by KleanCarpet

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by KleanCarpet
by KleanCarpet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The carpet washer is well suited for routine light weight carpet cleanings. The cord supplied is shorter than expected and requires the plug to be moved frequently to be moved if cleaning a large area. The instructions for the mixing of the cleaning solution could be clearer. It cleaned our carpets very well and left them drier than most commercial cleaning machines. We are quite pleased with the machine. It is light weight enough to allow my wife to use without overly stressing her. It is compact enough that if only a spot needed to be cleaned it would be easy to get out, setup, clean the spot and put it away without a major hassle. The waste water container is small enough to not be too heavy to drain but large enough to allow a sizable portion of the carpet to be cleaned before it must be emptied. The model FH50150 was a very good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (120) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KleanCarpet
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent job on the carpet
1/17/2016

Customer review by Joe J

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Joe J
by Joe J

I bought this model from Amazon after seeing it consistently in the top 3 on several reviews. It is very easy to use and did a great job taking care of some nasty pet stains (also thanks to Hoover's Platinum Collection Pet Plus solution). I would definitely recommend this cleaner. It's pretty lightweight, seemed to suck up the wetness really well and the scrubbers really worked well. It is very reasonably priced as well. Quick nod to the Platinum Collection Pet Plus cleaner - cleaned up cat urine and vomit stains very well and smells really nice - a floral, linen scent. Beats cat smell any day! The Hoover 2x Pet Plus in the green bottle cleaned well, but the scent reminded me of soap.

Joe J
West Chester, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brushes also stopped after first use.
11/3/2015

Customer review by John19348

1.0 stars 11/3/2015 by John19348
by John19348

I guess I am in the same boat as the rest here. Bought it 10/22/15 , used it once for about 1 or 2 hours. Next day later tried to use it again and the brushes wont turn. If you set the unit on its back so the brushes are in the air they turn. If you take the brushes off they turn freely and the socket that drives the brushes turns BUT when there is the least amount of resistance against the brushes they wont turn. You can even place your hand on the brushes and they stop. After calling the service center and checking the filter and making sure the brushes are moving freely all they can say is take it to a service center. Brand new unit and now I got to take my time to drive it to the repair center. Doesn't instill a lot of confidence in the durability if Hoover. Next time I look for an item I'm probably going to thing twice about purchasing a Hoover... :( Will try to update if/when I find out the problem from the tech...

John19348
Kennett Square, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very poor quaity
1/28/2016

Customer review by VERY Unhappy Custome

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by VERY Unhappy Custome
by VERY Unhappy Custome

I purchased this model and its been in the repair shop more times then I've used it even after Hoover replaced the original cleaner . The cheap plastic air turbine bearings overheat and lock up so the brushes wont spin . Do not buy this model its junk. If I could rate it a zero stars I would.

VERY Unhappy Custome
Valparaiso, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Product
6/30/2014

Customer review by timken2

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by timken2
by timken2

Purchased this on 6-27-14 and finally got around to using it today. It exceeded my expectations. This is the 3rd Hoover steam vac we have had in the last 20 years. The first one is still going except that the trigger needs to be replaced. Not much liquid comes out anymore. The second one is also still going but the motor gets really hot and it smells like it is burning. We have basically worn these two out by using them. No complaints about either one. Now the new Fh50150. It is indeed much lighter thus making it feel cheap so you would think. It is not by any means. Hoover did some thinking on this one and listened to customers. (Imagine that). It has great suction. Both of the tanks are easy to remove and replace. It does use much more water than the previous two models but it seems to clean much better. We will see what the carpet looks like when it dries.

Was this review helpful? (72) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timken2
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works great!
1/25/2016

Customer review by SassySusan

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by SassySusan
by SassySusan

I bought this because my light colored bedroom carpet was looking a little dirty in the high traffic areas and needed to be cleaned. I used my new Power Scrub and now my carpet looks NEW again. I can't believe the dirt it pulled up.

SassySusan
Bradenton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
2/6/2016

Customer review by RooR

4.0 stars 2/6/2016 by RooR
by RooR

It did a good job. It takes awial to learn how run it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RooR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great cleaning
1/24/2016

Customer review by blue97

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by blue97
by blue97

I am very pleased how easy it is to operate it . my 3rd carpet cleaning machine I bought. I like this one the best.

blue97
Two Rivers, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great job
1/19/2016

Customer review by carpetsclean

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by carpetsclean
by carpetsclean

I cleaned all the carpeting and it did a great job. I couldn't believe the amount of dirt it picked up, even though I have had the carpets professionally cleaned every year. What I also like is that the machine is easy to disassemble to clean and put back together.

carpetsclean
Naperville, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/20/2016

Customer review by Rick and Marlene

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Rick and Marlene
by Rick and Marlene

The Wife and I just bought this cleaner yesterday, and put it to the test. It worked wonderful, the stair attachments and overall cleaning of this cleaner is excellent. It cleaned circles around our "Bissell" that has been retired.

Rick and Marlene
Kawkawlin, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 475 total reviews
1-20 of 475 reviews