Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 348 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

348 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

348 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
65
3 stars
10
2 stars
25
1 stars
71
1-20 of 348 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews
Better Than Expected
9/19/2013

Customer review by Twin11

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Twin11
by Twin11

I have three dogs and three cats and to keep our house clean and smelling fresh, you need to clean your carpets regularly. I purchased this after my Bissell steam cleaner quick working. I bought this specifically because it had the two separate water containers. I did not like the water containment /bladder system on my old one. This machine worked excellent. It is light weight and easy to use. The two water tanks is a great feature. The best part in the end was the "Spin Brushes" rather than the roller brush on other carpet cleaners. The spin brushes really made a difference in the end result. After applying the water and solution to your carpets, when removing the water from your carpets (remember this is not a sweeper) you must go slow and go over the area a few times (same as any other steam cleaner). This Hoover seamed to pick-up more water out of my carpets. My carpets were dry in no time! I did not use the attachments as of yet, but I assume I will like those features as well.

Was this review helpful? (157) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twin11
Newburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for smaller areas and routine use.
5/27/2014

Customer review by KleanCarpet

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by KleanCarpet
by KleanCarpet

The carpet washer is well suited for routine light weight carpet cleanings. The cord supplied is shorter than expected and requires the plug to be moved frequently to be moved if cleaning a large area. The instructions for the mixing of the cleaning solution could be clearer. It cleaned our carpets very well and left them drier than most commercial cleaning machines. We are quite pleased with the machine. It is light weight enough to allow my wife to use without overly stressing her. It is compact enough that if only a spot needed to be cleaned it would be easy to get out, setup, clean the spot and put it away without a major hassle. The waste water container is small enough to not be too heavy to drain but large enough to allow a sizable portion of the carpet to be cleaned before it must be emptied. The model FH50150 was a very good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KleanCarpet
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
6/30/2014

Customer review by timken2

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by timken2
by timken2

Purchased this on 6-27-14 and finally got around to using it today. It exceeded my expectations. This is the 3rd Hoover steam vac we have had in the last 20 years. The first one is still going except that the trigger needs to be replaced. Not much liquid comes out anymore. The second one is also still going but the motor gets really hot and it smells like it is burning. We have basically worn these two out by using them. No complaints about either one. Now the new Fh50150. It is indeed much lighter thus making it feel cheap so you would think. It is not by any means. Hoover did some thinking on this one and listened to customers. (Imagine that). It has great suction. Both of the tanks are easy to remove and replace. It does use much more water than the previous two models but it seems to clean much better. We will see what the carpet looks like when it dries.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timken2
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works great, lots of parts
7/15/2014

Customer review by HappyWife522

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by HappyWife522
by HappyWife522

I am pleased with my purchase. It cleaned well; better than expected!!! It took out the grayest stains that have been there for 5 years. It looks and feels nearly new. I suggest that you read other reviewers and bloggers at Hoover about their carpet washers. It helped me to be diligent when cleaning the parts after carpet washing. Also, follow the directions as prescribed about the wet and dry strokes. I used the owner's manual to get the gist of the parts and how to fill what with what and when to pour out the dirty water. There's a little plug at the bottom of mixer that drains a very small compartment. Push up on it and it will release the water in the small compartment.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyWife522
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Carpet Cleaner for the Price
6/11/2014

Customer review by BigD007

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by BigD007
by BigD007

I have owned this carpet cleaner for a couple of weeks and have cleaned wall to wall carpeting in two rooms so far ( I have 4 other fully carpet rooms). It has performed extremely well, considering these were the toughest carpet cleaning areas. One was a heavily used den and the other a pet stained rumpus room. The amount of dirt removed was amazing and the rooms smelled a thousand times better (I used a special pet cleaning solutuion in the unit). The areas yet to be cleaned have much longer carpet fibers, but are not as heavily used or soiled as the first two. If this unit does half as good a job on those rooms it will have already paid for itself, however I hope it last considerably longer. It cleans as well as a commercial rental unit that I have used in the past. The biggest advantage is that since you own it, you can clean one half of the room, let it dry completely, then do the remaining half. No more worrying about the furniture being placed on a damp carpet and producing an unremovale stain. I highly recommend it and the price is extremely right.

Was this review helpful? (40) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigD007
Williamstown, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
returned after one day
5/4/2013

Customer review by lexysnanny

1.0 stars 5/4/2013 by lexysnanny
by lexysnanny

I was excited to get this after reading the reviews and watching the video. I bought it at another leading store. but to my disappointment I had to return it the next day. it worked fine for the first couple of rows. it has a bobber in the tank that tells you when to change the water by rising. when it rises it stops cleaning. it constantly kept rising after less the a inch of dirty water. I would shut it off and the bobber would go back down. I turn it back on did another row it came back up. this went on and on, finally I had enough I returned it to the store!!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lexysnanny
winter haven, fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Will never pay to have my carpets cleaned again
10/6/2014

Customer review by kjohn0102

5.0 stars 10/6/2014 by kjohn0102
by kjohn0102

With 2 dogs, 2 cats, a toddler and a messy teenager in my home, I wanted something to do quick spot clean ups. I cleaned my entire living room in about and hour and was disgusted by the BLACK water that I was pouring out of the tank. This from a carpet that was cleaned professionally less than 3 months ago. "Get Super Clean" my A--! I will never pay to have my carpets cleaned again. This is light weight and easy to use and the hot air feature dried the carpets much faster than I expected.For the price, it exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kjohn0102
Frisco TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Does a good job
1/16/2014

Customer review by thegirl360

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by thegirl360
by thegirl360

It was very easy to assemble. I didn't even need the instructions that came with it. I first used it on our basement carpets. We just bought our house, and there are some funky stains in the basement. It did alright with the stains, you can still faintly see them, but to be fair, I don't know what the stains are from. It was very easy to use, and not much heavier than a vacuum. It came with a free bottle of carpet shampooer which smelled great! It didn't take too long for the carpets to dry either. I did it fairly late in the evening (8pm) and they were dry the next morning.

Was this review helpful? (22) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thegirl360
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was a worthy investment
5/31/2014

Customer review by WinterSunshineLady

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by WinterSunshineLady
by WinterSunshineLady

I was very pleased with the end results. I owned a Hoover Steam Vac previously and was happy with the results. The first one I had for 7 years, the second one I had for ten years. I am hoping this on last past the 2 year warranty! The carpet washer did a better job than the other 2 Hoovers. It really brought up the nap which tells me it cleaned deeply. I believe the spin brushes had something to do with that. I did not have to soap an area more than once (according to the instructions), but the rinsing took a little more work. I had to use several more passes with the clear water to remove the soap. Overall I am pleased with the job and I did it in less time than my older Hoovers. It is an improvement. Now for the bad news. I could not get the rinse to work without the solution chamber being empty. I switched the selector knob, but was still getting the solution. By the time I realized that the switch did not take place, I had a carpet full of soap residue. I took many, many rinses to correct this. I do not intend to hassle with returning this product. My solution to this problem is to not fill the solution tank completely. I only pour in the solution amount I think I will need to do the area, and when it runs out I rinse the area. Problem solved with no effort. Haven't used the upholstery cleaning yet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WinterSunshineLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Carpet Cleaner for Anyone!
2/26/2014

Customer review by HappyConsumerVA

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by HappyConsumerVA
by HappyConsumerVA

I purchased this cleaner after reviewing many of the options to choose from. My neighbor has a Bissell, which I have borrowed a few times and it worked pretty well. I have two dogs and my living room sees a lot of traffic. I was going to get a Bissell but in my review the Hoover Power Scrub is lighter, more amps, and cheaper. I have cleaned my living room and bedroom with the cleaner so far and it has exceeded my expectations. You can clearly see a difference! I did half of the living and when I looked back between the clean side and the dirty side you could see how much lighter the carpet was and it felt clean to walk on it, like new carpet! Some old stains did not come completely out, but were noticeably lighter. The cleaner was easy to put together and I really like the separate clean and dirty water containers. The cord is pretty short, I had to keep plugging it into different outlets as I worked around the room. The Hoover Power Scrub works great with pets, it has a mesh like filter where the dirty water goes in to catch hair and carpet fuzz. The carpet was "dryer" than expected after using it. When I used my neighbor's Bissell it took a long time for the carpets to dry enough to put furniture back. With the Hoover after about an 1 1/2 hours it was dry enough. It comes apart easy to clean. I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyConsumerVA
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I think this Hoover Power Scrub is a good value.
4/30/2014

Customer review by OlieO

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by OlieO
by OlieO

I bought this machine because of price and the ability to put solution in a separate container. I also like that it has warm air blowing on the just shampooed carpet. It helps dry the carpet faster. I like most everything about this machine, I only wish the water tanks where bigger. I have no regrets about buying the Hoover Power Scrub Deluxe FH50150.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlieO
Rogue River, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SUPER CARPET SHAMPOOER
10/31/2014

Customer review by ThePianist

4.0 stars 10/31/2014 by ThePianist
by ThePianist

I had a Bissell Carpet Shampooer that lost its suction. I have shampooed my own carpets for years, so after looking at reviews I decided on the Hoover Power Scrub DCW. Pros: This machine is easy to put together. I didn't even look at the instructions for that part. It is lightweight and easy to manuever. I very much like the design of the combo water and shampoo solution compartments. The dirty water compartment is easy to empty through a spout on the front. It comes apart very handily and cleans up quickly. The 3 circular scrubbers really seem to help lift out dirt and hairs from the carpet. It is very powerful indeed and I was amazed at the amount of dirt it lifted. It is best to first spray lightly with just the rinse on. This will loosen the dirt and allow the wash to do a much better job. Then go over a section of carpet with the wash on, and then rinse again to get all the shampoo out. Cons: It is much too sensitive if I bump it against a wall or other object, even lightly. It causes the yellow float to pop up and shuts off the machine's suction. I was a little perturbed at needing to shut the machine off so the float would relax, starting it up again to continue. I would still rather use this Hoover machine than a heavier, clumsier, hard to clean Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePianist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great!
4/16/2014

Customer review by gob39

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by gob39
by gob39

Got this Scrubber 4 days ago and cleaned all the carpets in my apartment. The Scrubber is sturdy yet lightweight and easy to use. No leaks, 4 carry handles. The tank capacities are just right, The dirty water was full just as the clean tank was nearly empty. the wash/rinse feature is great. I did label each side of the selector so I could see what position they were in. When moving furniture and refilling tanks I found that I lost track of the mode -- not once after I labeled the selector. The tank is labeled but it's not conveniently visible while you are pushing the unit around. My carpets were tan and new 8 years ago. They are tan again. The scrubber took up MANY buckets of muddy water, previous traffic area cleaning just had made them worse. I took a one gallon garden pump sprayer and put "Awesome" cleaner ($1.47 Walmart, 1$ at most dollar stores) in it at a 1 to 5 solution, I sprayed the traffic areas, soaked for 15 minutes, and vacuumed it with the scrubber before running the normal wash/rinse cycles over the carpet. Took up TONS of very dirty water and old shampoos. In the Solution tank, I used the "Awesome" cleaner solution mixed at 4 oz per gallon. Tip- when you empty the dirty water tank, refill the clean water and solution tanks at the same time. When I finally did that I made many fewer trips to the sink. Big note, the Scrubber states that the hot water cannot be over 140 degrees, I used my hot tap water (115 degrees) with no problem. Now that I own a scrubber and have scrubbed under all the furniture, I will be doing the traffic areas frequently. Cost of Solution is no problem, did the whole apartment for a dollar. No apparent harm to the Scrubber at all. This Scrubber exceeded my expectations, based on some of the other lame reviews. I chose this Model for the two year warranty and the nearness of a service center but I doubt if it will ever need service. I think it is a very well designed unit and easy to handle. If it held more water it would just be hard to move. I used a 15amp rated extension cord to get to all areas with no problem. I am very happy with this Scrubber. I am turning 75 and consider this a real BD present.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gob39
north georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Good carpet shampoo machine for the price!
4/5/2014

Customer review by PB73

4.0 stars 4/5/2014 by PB73
by PB73

Easy to use, cleans well for pet and high traffic areas. Easy clean up and storage, lots of attachments for stairs and furniture. Very satisfied with results for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PB73
Southern IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cleaner- better brand
1/7/2014

Customer review by Zing33

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Zing33
by Zing33

After owning two different carpet cleaners that stopped working after 10 months, I decided to pay a little more and get a Hoover. It had only been a couple of weeks , but cleans great and is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zing33
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use, light weight yet powerful
4/16/2014

Customer review by Lilvicka

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Lilvicka
by Lilvicka

I really love this newer version from Hoover. It is very light weight and easy to fill and empty the water trays. Seem to give a good scrubbing to the rugs when you are cleaning them. I would definitely recommend this Power scrub deluxe carpet washer. Another great product from Hoover..

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilvicka
Boston Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT SHAMPOOER THAT WILL LAST FOR A LONG TIME
6/1/2014

Customer review by BLONDEE1

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by BLONDEE1
by BLONDEE1

SO FAR SO GOOD JUST STARTED USING IT AND ALREADY I HAVE A CHAIR WE WERE GOING TO GET RID OF THAT LOOKS LIKE BRAND NEW. THE WELLS FOR THE WATER AND CLEANER FLUID IS BETTER THAN EVER SO EASY TO MIX.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLONDEE1
FLORENCE,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My second Hoover
7/20/2014

Customer review by Grammieof18

4.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Grammieof18
by Grammieof18

I like this Hoover, I used the first time and it did get rid of the stains, but have to do it again as I thought the carpet still looked dirty, it was pretty bad so I can not blame it on the cleaner, it's easy to use. I had my last Hoover for about fifteen years.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grammieof18
Susquehanna, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great! Love it!
1/17/2014

Customer review by Satisfiedcstmr

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Satisfiedcstmr
by Satisfiedcstmr

Very easy to use. Light weight and works great. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satisfiedcstmr
Akron Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome...best bang for the buck.
5/20/2014

Customer review by BigBubbalicious

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by BigBubbalicious
by BigBubbalicious

Dirt, Stains, Dust mites...say hello to my little friend. This machine is great. I read a few reviews on-line before I made my purchase. I breathe so much easier than before. What I thought was hay fever were in all actuality dust mites. The Hoover really is a life saver. It also cleaned most of my spots without need for a spot remover. My carpets look much better now. If it could only restore the worn and trafficked areas in my carpet :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBubbalicious
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 348 total reviews
1-20 of 348 reviews