Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 57 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Better than I ever expected for a $50 tablet
4/23/2013

Customer review by RLinNH

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by RLinNH
by RLinNH

I was skeptical on this purchase, but knowing that if the product was unsatisfactory, I could return it without much difficulty to my local Walmart store (I used the always excellent Walmart.com "Ship to Store" option). After 2 weeks, I am quite impressed. I already own a Samsung Galaxy 2 tablet which retails for $249, so I have a benchmark (although an unfair benchmark) to compare the Coby Kyros mini tablet against. No, its not a mini Galaxy 2, but at a fifth of the cost, the Coby mini performs far beyond my expectations. The build quality is surprisingly good, and the side buttons for power and volume have a solid feel. Screen brightness and resolution are both very good. The screen is responsive using a capacitive stylus, although it requires slightly more pressure than my Galaxy 2... nothing problematic though. Initial connection to wi-fi takes longer than my Samsung Galaxy, but once connected, it is stable, and signal range is acceptable. I have used the unit in a walled room approx 35 feet from my router without any problems. I expected that its inability to download applications from the Google Play store would be a problem, but that has been a complete non-issue. The first thing I did was use the pre-installed browser, navigate to the Opera website, and download both the Opera Mobile and Opera Mini browsers... IMHO, the best browsers for mobile android devices as displayed text always "fits and aligns" perfectly on the screen using the browsers' auto-wrap feature. Using the slimmed down Opera “mini” browser, the little Coby is fast (though the full featured Opera “mobile” browser is required to properly view some websites, which is why I use both). I then wanted to download some of my core applications. As other reviewers have noted, the Google Play store cannot be used here as the Coby is not compliant with Google Play. Instead, the Coby unit had the Getjar downloader application pre-installed. I found some, but not all, of my wanted apps on the Getjar site and had no issues downloading and installing them onto the little Coby. For those applications that were not on the Getjar site, I went to the Opera mobile store (which is auto-programmed as a favorite “speed dial” in both of the aforementioned Opera browsers), and found all of my remaining apps there. Again, they downloaded properly from the Opera mobile store, and installed flawlessly. I listen to quite a bit of streaming audio using the "TuneIn" internet radio application. The volume coming out of the Coby's miniature mono speaker isn't much, but what is there is at least clean and not distorted. Using headphones, the sound is fine, though a tad lacking in bass. I am getting over 5 hours of battery usage on a charge. This is not a Samsung Galaxy or iPad replacement, but at 50 bucks, it’s a shirt-pocket sized bargain. So far, I couldn’t be more pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLinNH
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lightweight pocket sized Android 4 tablet.
4/13/2013

Customer review by taradog

4.0 stars 4/13/2013 by taradog
by taradog

I purchased the tablet as a small portable notepad, e-reader, and MP3 player. It's perfect for these simple tasks. It's a good size and fits in the front pocket of a dress shirt. There are very few small android tablets on the market, so it's hard to compare it to others. I was surprised by how light the tablet feels compared to a 7" tablet that I was using. The touch screen is very responsive. The WIFI on the tablet easily connected to a public hot-spot without any problems. I read a review on a different site that found a problem with authentication on secure WIFI connections found with auto detection (like a home network), but there apparently is an easy fix. I have no idea if the tablet works on a home WIFI. The battery life is about 2-hours with constant use, but longer for e-reading. The GetJar source for APPS is not very good, but 1Mobile is good and you can find the download for this market online. The Google Play store is not included, but Google doesn't allow the affordable tablets to include their market, so I've never really missed their exclusive club. For the price, I'm happy with the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taradog
West Bend, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little tablet
4/17/2013

Customer review by msscobb

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by msscobb
by msscobb

This is a great little tablet, It meets all my expectation. My son loves it. I will highly recommend it. Thanks for such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msscobb
jax, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not bad for price
4/19/2013

Customer review by 83starflower83

3.0 stars 4/19/2013 by 83starflower83
by 83starflower83

I bought this tablet for my mine year old daughter who desperately wanted one. Not having much money to spend,I looked a round and came up with the Coby. She plays games that she downloads on the downloader that came on the tablet. I don't like it near as much as google play, but it seems to fit her needs. Some times it seems to drop the WI fI a lot. The closer to the router you are the better. Other wise is a good little (4.3" is as big as my whole phone (: ) I wouldn't get it for myself but great for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
83starflower83
Denison, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for children and lil hands
5/10/2013

Customer review by mesmerized

4.0 stars 5/10/2013 by mesmerized
by mesmerized

this is a great tablet for anyone with little hands, the screen is small and so is the tablet. i bought this for my 5 yr old so she could stay off my cellphone playing games. it is a great tablet for little ones because there are so many apps that can be downloaded they can learn from or just play games with.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mesmerized
cleveland, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb for Kindle reader
5/1/2013

Customer review by BellaDare

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by BellaDare
by BellaDare

I've only had the tablet just over one day, but I downloaded the Amazon store feature and the Kindle app without a hitch. Both work perfectly. I had no trouble connecting with my home wiifi. I haven't yet figured out how to download contacts from my phone to the Coby. I don't want to have to add them all manually. I can't find bluetooth, so I'm assuming it doesn't have it. Since I mainly want an eReader and don't care about gaming or internet, this tablet is perfect for me. It fits in my purse so I can read anywhere I have down time. I'm sure music will work fine as well but I haven't downloaded any yet. I am thrilled it isn't connected to Google. I got Skype from the Amazon store free, and I'm only beginning. I just need to get an expansion card. It will recognize up to 32 mb. I will use the calendar, calculator, and a calorie counter if I can find one. So far I'm a happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BellaDare
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So Far Pretty Good !
4/23/2013

Customer review by Rusty52

4.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Rusty52
by Rusty52

This is not a bad little Tablet for the money.., particuliarly if you don't mind the absence of it being rooted or supporting the Google Play market... Only had it for a week so my experience in its use is on the "skimpy" right now.. I bought it mostly for the tablets ultra-portability that I could check email and do some web surfing while "on the go" The touchscreen is a tad over-sensitive when scrolling down checking thru emails and scrolling top to bottom of a webpage.. Its very easy to mistakenly touch one of the pages hyperlinks (not intending to load) the corresponding page that belongs to that link. This seems to be due to the combination of the small screen and the units touch screen over sensitivity... This is my 2nd Colby Tablet and they've improved much over the less than desirable MID7015 I bought about 2 yrs ago. My old 7" Coby was junk !! I've had no trouble connecting this little guy to my Router used for my home wireless broadband; (one user had mentioned it was at 1st troublesome) and also Wi-Fi hotspots such as found at Starbucks, DD's etc. Like all small tablets in this price range the wireless antenna's reception strengths are not very good. If I am 30ft from the Router upstairs I can still manage to get 2 of 4 bars and usually maintain the connection.. I also bought it for "notes on the go" and the compass feature. I've used "Compass" to test it and it seemed to work okay for the 1st use and doesn't seem to be dependent on a wireless connection. Battery life for mine is about 2.5 to 3 hrs with wireless on n using for web and email. Comes with a nice little velvet pouch to cover it. Hvn't tried the USB other than for charging. So with more time we'll see how well this little puppy holds up.. Satisfied for now :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rusty52
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pocket Netflix
5/8/2013

Customer review by Winkyone

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by Winkyone
by Winkyone

I got this little Coby a few days ago,and I tried to get Netflix, and wasn't able to,until I went to 1Mobile and downloaded the Netflix Android App 2.2 and now I have it in my shirt pocket,the Coby 4.3 that is, now if only my doctor's office has wifi ?

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winkyone
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super Long Battery Life - Lots of Apps thru Amazon
6/3/2013

Customer review by ATiredReader

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by ATiredReader
by ATiredReader

I bought this very compact tablet to use as a long-battery-life ereader for a cross-country trip. It works just fine for books in ePub format. By enlarging the font, I have no trouble reading my books. It lasts about 6 hours on a charge, so it got me through the long airline flights with juice to spare. The browser is good. I enjoyed watching YouTube in my hotel room. (Beats the garbage on TV!) Plenty of apps are available through Amazon's appstore. It has a decent camera, charges via USB port, and plays MP3 music. I have one small complaint: The soft menu (the icons that will take you "back," "home," or display the application menu) at the bottom of the screen is a bit small. I have trouble hitting them accurately. Maybe I'll get better with practice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATiredReader
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/23/2013

Customer review by Chayenne

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Chayenne
by Chayenne

My son is very satified with the product. Downloads music, plays games.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chayenne
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a young child.
5/29/2013

Customer review by qtpie4real

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by qtpie4real
by qtpie4real

My son loves his tablet. It is easy to setup and use. Great for a small child.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qtpie4real
columbus, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/10/2013

Customer review by bingolady56

4.0 stars 5/10/2013 by bingolady56
by bingolady56

its small enough to carry around ,just like your smart phone, its nice and handy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bingolady56
Rochester, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Truly Impressive Tablet
5/26/2013

Customer review by SpiderStockCom

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by SpiderStockCom
by SpiderStockCom

Paid 55bucks at Big Lots cuz I didn't want to wait for site to store. I downloaded 2 apps and integrated their services so that texting and calling in&out is 100% free, no credits to earn or minutes to buy! ! Only thing I cannot get it to do so far is receive pics or vids(still think its possible). Next week my cell service contract ends and I will port my number to google voice and valla! Free cell phone service! It fits in your shirt pocket or pants pocket !!!!Complaints about reception is redundant within these reviews, at my home reception wass junk - at work, and public wifi's its awesome. I asked IT guys at work and they told me to get a wifi repeater for home, I did and now it works great at home as well :D I was going to dump everything this lil tablet came with and install Windows 8 but after doodling with it for over a month I have decided to leave it as is. Streams video just like a desktop, plays music well. I don't understand how anyone could give this 50buck gadget a bad review. I am truly impressed , so much that I bought two more in case they quit making them...

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpiderStockCom
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/20/2013

Customer review by Unicorns55

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Unicorns55
by Unicorns55

Great fast connection

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unicorns55
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/23/2013

Customer review by teeshawn

3.0 stars 4/23/2013 by teeshawn
by teeshawn

It wasn't what I expected but its worth it for the price I paid.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teeshawn
Brookhaven, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/27/2013

Customer review by msarg

1.0 stars 4/27/2013 by msarg
by msarg

this product is difficult to use. has a hard time hooking to wfi, difficult downloading

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msarg
hampton, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, a good purchase for an excellent price.
5/1/2013

Customer review by Hesays

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Hesays
by Hesays

Turned on the tablet, surfed the net through WI-FI and that went well. So far, so good. Limited use to this point.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hesays
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/15/2013

Customer review by Old97ns

2.0 stars 6/15/2013 by Old97ns
by Old97ns

Very short connection range to WiFi modem. Doesn't do half the things it claims to do. Find one in the store and try it before you buy it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Old97ns
Western N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth every Pennie!
6/20/2013

Customer review by MrsBron

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by MrsBron
by MrsBron

I ordered 2 for my children 2 wks ago. They love em! It keeps them busy and out of my way. U can download free games. It also comes with a Youtube app already on it. & for $40 u can't beat that!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsBron
Arlington,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome little tablet!!
6/21/2013

Customer review by cajun96

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by cajun96
by cajun96

This mini-tablet is everything I expected and more! One of the best purchases I have ever made! No problems with it whatsoever, and I am extremely happy with this purchase! It's amazing what this tablet can do for what I paid for it, which was only about forty dollars! Yep, I'm a happy camper alright..lol.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cajun96
Lafayette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews