Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 240 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
179
4 stars
32
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
6
1-20 of 225 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews
Very disappointed
12/29/2014

Customer review by EJLe

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by EJLe
by EJLe

I wanted this product because it could be customized - not only with name and favorites, but also by changing the music. I opened it and hooked it up only to find out that this new version no longer allows you to customize the songs!! I downloaded the software that supposedly allows this customization, to find that the software requires a USB, but the new version comes only with a microphone jack hookup. In addition, the box states that it has 40+ songs. I find this very hard to believe as we've had this 3 days already, and have definitely not heard 40 songs, We haven't even heard 20 and have heard all of them many times. While my daughter does enjoy the product, we wanted something we could change so that none of us got sick of the same things over and over. I'm extremely disappointed. It was a huge mistake to make this update to the product. If we hadn't already opened the product, I would return it. We already have the Fisher Price Laugh and Learn Puppy. It's essentially the same thing now.

EJLe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Both my sons love Scout!
3/16/2016

Customer review by cassibella

5.0 stars 3/16/2016 by cassibella
by cassibella

I have two young sons. My oldest is 2 1/2 and very attached to his Scout that he received two years ago, and my 14-month-old recently got one of his own that he enjoys playing with as well. He sings several fun songs and I love that you can personalize him with your child's name and favorite food, color, and animal. The one drawback is that he can be difficult to clean if he gets dirty, as he can't be put in the washing machine. If any LeapFrog employees read this, please consider devising a way to make him washer friendly! As messy as babies and toddlers are I feel like being able to give him a thorough washing would be better than spot cleaning. Other than that, Scout/Violet makes a wonderful pal for your little one!

cassibella
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING
10/18/2014

Customer review by BHoward

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by BHoward
by BHoward

Read with me Scout is excellent. One of the most interactive toys that I have ever used. I especially like the pet and hug feature, and of course the kiss feature. It allows you to give love when you are scared at night and have a cute little friend to be there and to comfort you. The stories are entertaining as well, with a giggly sound track and soft fur. Also, the battery lasts INCREDIBLY long. Cleaning may be a little difficult and Read with me Scout also has been known to turn on at night if bumped wrong, So bear this in mind, multiple button presses may be necessary in order to get to the song that you want. Stuffing may also need replaced or refluffed after a lot of snuggles. Not a bad thing, but those four things but enough to drop features down a point. I brought this to the hospital when i was overnight, and it was cuddly and available to give me lots of snuggles, although shut off. I look forward to cuddling this cute puppy nightly, and in my opinion, is possibly the best toy leapfrog has. :)

BHoward
Fort Myers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wish they still sold the old version
6/9/2015

Customer review by Armymedic7588

3.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Armymedic7588
by Armymedic7588

I was really excited to give this toy to my 1 year old daughter. And while she does love it and plays with it everyday, I wish it was the older version and I would've known beforehand that it does not do the same things as the pervious version of the MyPal. Yes you can customize this with the child's name, favorite food and things like that, but the older version you were also able to pick which songs it plays and other things. I didn't know until now (a few months after buying it) that you are not able to further customize it. I downloaded the computer app and everything and only when I called customer support did they explain that it can only do the name and things like that. It no longer is able to be further customized because they switched to an audio jack as the connection to your device instead of a normal USB plug. So overall I still like it, but if the older version was able to do more why mess with a good thing? Still cute though!

Armymedic7588
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toddler gift
3/27/2016

Customer review by AlexAsc

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by AlexAsc
by AlexAsc

Excellent deal, I bought this item for Christmas and my daughter absolutely loved it. It is simple and interactive, as well as educational for children that are learning how to read. The books are short and entertaining

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlexAsc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Hit
4/8/2015

Customer review by GeniusMaker

5.0 stars 4/8/2015 by GeniusMaker
by GeniusMaker

My daughter got (Violet) this toy for Christmas and I thought it was really cute but, since I'd never really paid much attention to it before she got it as a gift, I was unfamiliar with its features. She took a liking to it instantly and although her name is not currently listed I was excited to learn the toy would still spell her name. She was 17 months old when she got it and by 19 months she was able to spell her name which I think is pretty neat. I like the fact I can change the songs because she loves to sing and tends to learn new things fast. The only issue I have with this toy is I am unable to clean it properly. My daughter takes it with her EVERYWHERE and if she isn't allowed too she throws a fit so it has gotten pretty unpleasant looking. It would be nice if the fur could be removed, washed and replaced. Over all I think it's a brilliant product.

GeniusMaker
Nevis, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LeapFrog Read with me Violet
2/13/2016

Customer review by Mimi

5.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Mimi
by Mimi

I Love this, And My Granddaughters do too. They're never too young to Learn

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mimi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great learning toy!
12/27/2015

Customer review by singlemom2014

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by singlemom2014
by singlemom2014

My son got this as a gift for Christmas. He is 20 months old and he loves it. He had gotten something similar to this (but w/o the features) for his birthday and he didn't play with it much. This toy that is not the case. I love how it says his name and the color he likes. I just plunged it up today and customized it. When i turned it on and it said his name his face lit up! I only wish it had not abilities to customize and change but for what you pay it is a great toy!

singlemom2014
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful product
11/22/2012

Customer review by Britty

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Britty
by Britty

My daughter got Scout as a Christmas gift when she was four months old. She loved it. It turned out to be her favorite toy. The lullabies would sooth her, she no longer need her night light, she had Scout. We would take him wherever we went, and she would just be enthralled with him. She stayed calm when she had him, and he would calm her down. She started to count a little before we got rid of him. It was garbled, but it was clear what she was trying to do, and it was all thanks to Scout. She had Scout until she was almost a year old, but unfortunately she had an accident, and we couldn't wash Scout, we had to throw him out. We just bought My Pal Violet for her, for Christmas this year, she is now two, and we just know she's going to love Violet just as much as she loved Scout. I highly recommend this product. This is just an absolutely wonderful product for kids.

Britty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad BUT
12/27/2015

Customer review by PrestonsAsh

3.0 stars 12/27/2015 by PrestonsAsh
by PrestonsAsh

I like the previous one with the usb, but this is alright i guess. needs to be able to customise the songs, and what is the deal with the GIANT battery pack that is a huge struggle to get into the toy, nearly burst a vain struggling to do it.

PrestonsAsh
Preston, England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2014 version a major downgrade :(
5/18/2015

Customer review by MommyTash

2.0 stars 5/18/2015 by MommyTash
by MommyTash

My son received the original scout for his 1st birthday 2 years ago and has always loved it. We bought this Violet for our daughter's 1st birthday last month and are disappointed by the changes. Being able to tell it your child's name and not just chose from a pre-selected list is a good addition. But that's where it ends. They over simplified this version and now the only personalizing to do is tell the Pal your child's name, favorite food, animal, and color. That's it. You used to be able to personalize which songs the Pal sang and played. This was great for helping them learn their favorite songs better, as young children do so well with repetition. We really miss the choices of the old Pal. Pretty disappointed with this one. It's still a favorite toy, I just wish the "upgrade" had really been an improvement. :(

MommyTash
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Violet is great
1/27/2016

Customer review by Mimi

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Mimi
by Mimi

Bought for grand daughter and it works great!! She loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mimi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatest Friend My Daughter Has
11/16/2012

Customer review by Isabellasmom

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Isabellasmom
by Isabellasmom

I got Scout for my daughter when she was 2 months old. She is 3 now. This is her favorite toy in the world. It taught her how to spell her name. It talks to her and she talks back about her favorite foods and stuff. It sings with her. It has a song with her name in it that teaches. It has a feature to play music for 5 or 10 minutes of bed time music and yawns like it is ready to go to sleep when you push his left paw twice then you can play bed time music. She carries him every where. She can not sleep without him. Scout is over 3 years old and still works great. I wish I could wash him, but because the battery pack is attached to him, I can not. He will give your child joy for a very long time. My daughter just turned 3 and can count to 20, can spell her name(Isabella), and says her A,B,Ds. She doesn't say c, she says d. Scout is Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

Isabellasmom
Lake Butler, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Item breaks after a couple months
4/22/2011

Customer review by sleepy

2.0 stars 4/22/2011 by sleepy
by sleepy

We had 2 of these die on us in the past 3 months. We received 1 as a gift for our 1 year old. She loves it and it helps put her to sleep. After about a month of regular use, it started to skip and play different music that what was selected. Hooked it back up to the computer and selected the songs again. It kept skipping and played the same notes over and over. Replaced the batteries and did the same thing. Then it just died, no songs would play and it would not even turn on. We bought a second one because she loved the first one so much. Now yesterday it started doing the same thing again, and of course we did not keep the receipt to send back for warranty. Don't get me wrong I like this product but I don't want to buy another one, just so it can do the same thing again. Has great features but lousy internal parts. THEY NEED TO FIX THIS ISSUE......

sleepy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ziva Pal Scout
8/2/2013

Customer review by PheonixRose

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by PheonixRose
by PheonixRose

I love this toy. She already according to her pediatrician is 19 mo. and 1 week old brain at 15 mos. old... I don't think she would be that far ahead if she didn't get Scout for Christmas...She loves him when its bed time for the lullabies though I wish there was an option for parents to download their own music from like YouTube type thing to put on there because there is a lullaby that she likes that isn't available on the leap connect. She's already counting two and three but not one for some silly reason. I think all the playing time i give her with her scout pal is what has her so far ahead. He is a great toy and my little girl wouldn't dare get caught with out him trailing behind her some how...LOL keep up the good work LeapFrog cuz im gonna be using you alot for her to grow with and have toys that will help her grow in one way or another.

PheonixRose
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
1/17/2014

Customer review by Leahsmommy17

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Leahsmommy17
by Leahsmommy17

My daughter who is almost 2.5 Years old got this for Christmas. She is really into books and loves the 5 books that come with this product. The dog is a pretty decent size and sings and reads the books as well. My daughter loves this gift. Would definitely purchase this for a friends child's bday gift or Christmas gift

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leahsmommy17
brooklyn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent learning tool
3/11/2014

Customer review by youngagitator

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by youngagitator
by youngagitator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bout this product for 3 of my nieces for their 1st birthday and all 3 of them love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
youngagitator
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Toy
7/7/2015

Customer review by Nikidichris36

5.0 stars 7/7/2015 by Nikidichris36
by Nikidichris36

I bought Scout for my son when he was a baby, he's almost 5 now and it is still his favorite toy. This thing has been loved so hard over the last 4 years. It's survived 2 out of state moves, years of cuddles, spilled drinks, drool and dirt, an Elliedog, and it is still singing its songs perfectly. Also it taught my boy how to spell his name, so that's pretty effin sweet. He's pretty stained and dirty now, washing scout up is a challenge, but the toy is still in great condition. No frayed edges or ripped seams. I never got around to changing the songs after I first set them up but my boy is still perfectly entertained and he plays his bedtime music every night when he goes to sleep. We love Scout. It's definitely been one of my best purchases for him

Nikidichris36
Fairbanks Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impossible to clean
10/25/2015

Customer review by momtoisaac

2.0 stars 10/25/2015 by momtoisaac
by momtoisaac

My son loved has loved this toy, and slept with it often, but it didn't take long before it was dirty AND THERE'S NO WAY TO EFFECTIVELY CLEAN IT. You can scrub it with a damp cloth, but if any dampness gets inside to the stuffing and it doesn't dry out well before it mildews (because you can't put it into the dryer) the thing has to be thrown out. I would absolutely love this toy if the battery box were removable so that it could be thrown into the washer/dryer. Ours is a goner and I will not replace it every time it needs to be washed.

momtoisaac
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for kids
12/6/2013

Customer review by Fredsredt

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Fredsredt
by Fredsredt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

well made great education tool and a safe toy for kids to play and learn

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fredsredt
Stockton,CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews