Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 248 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

248 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

248 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
59
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 238 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews
Excellent EXCEPT for one thing!
6/4/2013

Customer review by shehkh

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by shehkh
by shehkh

I've had this product for about a week and love it (so far). Picture quality is great, sound is very good for an LED television. HOWEVER, LG seems to be falsely claiming 120hz refresh rate or what they refer to as TruMotion 120hz. The LN5300 is a 60hz set, while the LN5400 is supposed to be a 120hz set. I contacted LG support about the issue and was told its a firmware update (no TruMotion setting in the menu) that should resolve the issue. However, I've also noticed similar problems with LG's 2012 line of televisions (purchased/returned LS4600 to be specific). I'm very disappointed that LG resorts to such marketing tactics. If your claiming to sell a 120hz set than do it, otherwise don't lie to customers or give excuses! Overall great TV if your not looking for smooth motion (sports programs, video gaming). Hope LG takes customer reviews seriously and makes some changes...

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shehkh
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Mid Size TV
6/28/2014

Customer review by TallMocha

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by TallMocha
by TallMocha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased an LG because my 56" Samsung caught on fire not once but twice. I shopped on QVC first to get the sales pitch and see the TV, then searched for the price second, finding Walmart had the best price and free shipping, and also the digital tuner option not listed at QVC (I really hate paying for cable). I miss seeing the upcoming programs that used to be available on my old TV, but the picture quality of this LG TV is outstanding. I have an indoor antenna and the picture is crystal clear. I was picking up only 4 major channels with the old Samsung, but with the new LG, I get about 56 stations without cable, very happy. Great product and this was my very first purchase at Walmart ever. Never even been into their stores. Fed Ex Delivered this TV by the date promised in perfect condition. The best part about this TV is it's super slim profile and I can actually carry it and move it around. Thanks Walmart for the super low price and great service. Great first time shopping experience.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TallMocha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PICTURE WENT OUT.
1/18/2016

Customer review by mfnich215

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by mfnich215
by mfnich215
Spark Reviewer - received free product

We bought this TV on 11/29/2013 and the picture went black on 1/08/2016. (still has audio) Trying now to figure out if it can be fixed and at what cost.

mfnich215
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Spark Reviewer - received free product
12/5/2015

Customer review by Iqbal

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Iqbal
by Iqbal

Its a great product. The picture quality is perfect and the sound quality is very nice that i dont need for a seprate speakers which normally we need with other brand LCDs.

Iqbal
Swat, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan
Love it!
7/6/2013

Customer review by bulgarsh01

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by bulgarsh01
by bulgarsh01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is such a nice picture and I am very happy with it! My old TV was very heavy and although it still had a great picture, I decided to go to the trim light weight TV and I'm so happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bulgarsh01
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv
7/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have another LG i paid 1200.00 for. This one I paid 490.00 and the quality is the same, the sound is a bit different but overall its awesome for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Picture, but
12/5/2013

Customer review by MrBilll3rd

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by MrBilll3rd
by MrBilll3rd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Poor sound quality. I had to buy a separate sound board to get good sound. The literature says 120 Hz update rate, the the "info bubble" always displays 60 Hz. Still the picture captures action scenes clearly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBilll3rd
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Truly an Advanced "State-of-Art" TV
4/26/2014

Customer review by cyberdude

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by cyberdude
by cyberdude

We bought this TV to replace a 7-year old 40" TV (from another manufacturer) which was showing its age. The wide border of the old TV was so wide that the TV would not fit between cabinets on the countertop of our entertainment center, requiring that it be mounted in front of the cabinets, thereby partially overlapping them. Although the screen on the new TV is 2" larger, its thin border allows the TV to fit comfortably between the cabinets. The old TV produced a considerable amount of heat, indicating that it was consuming an excessive amount of electricity. The new TV does not give off a noticeable amount of heat, thereby attesting to its efficiency. The picture quality of the new TV is spectacular. Its feature are more than most people would ever need. It provides an on-screen message identifying the caller when the phone rings. It provides a connection to the internet.

cyberdude
Saratoga, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This tv stopped turning on after 2 weeks
1/2/2014

Customer review by totogcjm

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by totogcjm
by totogcjm

This tv stopped turning on after 2 weeks and seems to be a common problem for these models according to lg customer service.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
totogcjm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!!
8/12/2014

Customer review by Happy mama

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Happy mama
by Happy mama

Our old TV was this cheap-I magnovox 30 inch that I hated!!! It has the worst sound quality and the picture was less than stellar. After buying a new entertainment center and my old TV looking so pathetic inside of it, we decided it was time to finally upgrade! The picture on this television is beautiful and the sound is great! Plus now we can play video games from our couch instead of having to sit 2 inches from the screen to try to see what we were doing. I am obsessed with this TV! And now that my toddler is more interested in watching her cartoons she loves it too. I am especially happy about the hole in the bottom of the stand for the TV if you don't wall mount, so you can secure the TV to the entertainment center. No worrying about the TV falling on top of my curious climbing toddler. Great investment. Highly recommend.

Happy mama
Oceanside, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality at great price
7/11/2015

Customer review by lsilvest

5.0 stars 7/11/2015 by lsilvest
by lsilvest

Picture is bright and clear, very sharp. I have an antenna for local stations that is run through my computer and Dish satellite service. So, I have to use 2 of the inputs and both work beautifully and are easy to switch between. I wanted a 42" screen and they were hard to find. LG had one and I will go to them first the next time I buy this or any electronics or appliances. Pricing is very competitive and reasonable.

lsilvest
Sun City, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
9/14/2013

Customer review by K.C.

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by K.C.
by K.C.

My new 42" LED is great! It lights up the whole room when it's on & is certainly the center of attention. I've been around awhile...my first TV was a black & white portable! TV has come a long, long way since then. I've worked in the industry for many years in management at the TV station level. Worked for all 4 networks, having to move only once. Always had an experienced engineer to give advice as to what brand was the best for home use. I bought this LG on my own, primarily on its reputation, standard of quality & you can throw in a great price too. I would rate this set as having "broadcast quality" & I know this from exposure & experience. Added bonus... there was a purchase rebate & it was a breeze to set up, even with the myriad of components that had to be installed.

K.C.
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy
4/12/2014

Customer review by NewYorkSeahawk

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by NewYorkSeahawk
by NewYorkSeahawk

Being disabled, I watch a LOT of TV. I also do a lot of research on any electronics I purchase. My LG 42LN5400 TV is a certified winner. This is my third LG TV. It started with a 50" LED TV in 2007 that is STILL crystal clear and without any issues. Then I bought and LG Cell phone and an LG 32" LED TV for my bedroom. Now I just bought this 42" LED TV for my den. The picture quality is awesome and the sound is great. With some flat screen TV's the speakers are garbage and you cant hear anything unless you pump up the volume and then the sound gets distorted. Not with the 42LN5400. It is perfect in everyway. The TruMotion 120Hz refresh rate is as smooth as it gets. I HIGHLY recommend this TV and any LG product I have ever purchased

NewYorkSeahawk
Maybrook, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay,,, Just AMAZING!
7/4/2014

Customer review by Terry NK

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Terry NK
by Terry NK

This is a first rate TV. The picture is stunning and super clear! Sound is a bit thin but a sound bar made it truly theatric. It replaced a plasma 42" (brand X) and goes miles beyond the old one with a much smaller "footprint". It scales wonderfully to the room. The old one had a very much bigger overall frame which didn't fit its' place in living room well. The plasma also weighed in at about 60 lbs.! I have LG computer monitors that impressed me so much that, in shopping for a new TV, LG was my first choice! The picture on this TV is, well, I'm running out of superlatives! Crystal clear, vivid color reproduction, effortless installation, pure detail focus. This is a great choice and the price is a very good value too.

Terry NK
Spokane, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good screen excelent sound facilities.
1/7/2014

Customer review by MichaelIan

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MichaelIan
by MichaelIan

We have found the Screen to be excellent when viewing High Definition programmes. The sound enhancement for speech is also good. We have the set mounted on the wall and it is not over heavy to manoeuvre while mounting it, ie can be done by one person once the mount is on the wall. Only complaint is lack of HDMI sockets. Only two is not sufficient in this day and age. Sky Box, DVD Player, TalkTalk broadband recorder make three and a Kindle Fire makes four. Short male to female HDMI lead makes changing peripherals a bit easier.

MichaelIan
EXETER UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smart Buyers will consider this LED HDTV!
7/5/2014

Customer review by Mike-N-Bike

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Mike-N-Bike
by Mike-N-Bike

120 Hz, great picture and sound! We had already purchased a Roku 1 and had Amazon Prime so getting a "Smart" TV didn't seem necessary. A simple TV controller to select source (Only two HDMI ports), AV for red/yellow/white RCA cable inputs and antenna for over-the-air broadcasts (which is what we are currently using). There were some complaints about the sound quality and volume (which is true about other brands), but sound seems fine with two installed speakers at the base of the TV? The 120 Hz seems crisp/clear for sports (Hockey/Baseball/Golf/Cycling) and haven't noticed blurring - which, I was really worried about. So far the TV has been great and was one of the less expensive units for it's size.

Mike-N-Bike
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
7/7/2014

Customer review by Hagakure

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Hagakure
by Hagakure

This tv is fantastic it is extremely slim and light. The design is beautiful and the picture quality is excellent. USB port with this tv which is a nice little feature and it is dead easy to set up. The sound on most hdmi tv are rubbish however on this one it is not bad at all I was pleasantly surprised on how good it was compared to a lot of hdmi tv's out there. This tv is definetly a must have and I will definetly recomend it!

Hagakure
Brackley, Northamptonshire NN13, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product has limited Inputs
1/15/2014

Customer review by PeteC

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by PeteC
by PeteC

I upgrade from a LCD to LED LG TV. Whilst the picture quality and ease of use is exceptional, I am disappointed that LG have decided to downgrade the input quantities and even remove others. Reduced HDMI inputs, reduced Scart sockets,reduced component inputs and removed headphone socket, WHY? I have had to purchase a HDMI splitter, D2A audio convertor and optical2optical lead, just to connect what I had connected before. Is this progress? I don't think so.

PeteC
Lincoln UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The design it fab and look great
1/13/2014

Customer review by Nookofthenorth

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Nookofthenorth
by Nookofthenorth

Even though I am please with this TV and I am sure that I will save on my electric bills being so 'Green' However, someone put a review to say that they thought the sound was excellent quality. I would question this. It's not that got at all. I had a Sony before and the quality on that was fab. No need for surround sound. Unless LG can give me a steer on ME not setting up the TV sounds correctly , make sure you factor in some surround speakers.

Nookofthenorth
Herefordshire uk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better to buy a cheap TV
11/16/2014

Customer review by Wishful thinking

2.0 stars 11/16/2014 by Wishful thinking
by Wishful thinking

I've had this TV for a year. In the slightest drizzle, the pics and colour muddle on the inferior channels (not TV 1,2 or 3.) The remote is difficult to negotiate and the auto timing for setting programmes does not work. I have 2 other cheap brands of TV and I have no problems with them.

Wishful thinking
New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews