Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 163 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

163 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

163 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
129
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 154 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
A very good buy for HDTV
5/20/2013

Customer review by FrankieT88

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by FrankieT88
by FrankieT88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 2 main standout points of this HDTV is picture quality and the built-in computer for internet browsing and watching movies, like NetFlix. The picture you get out-of-box is not the picture you want to use. Stand close to the TV, and work your way through Picture Wizard II, a couple of times. The Wizard will take you through many steps, which adjust all the quality aspects of the picture. When you are done, you will have a near perfect picture. I rate the picture as 92, on a 0-100 scale. The next aspect of this TV is the "smart" feature. To use the "smart" feature you must provide a connection to the Internet. I can connect using the ethernet (LAN) cable from the modem, or I connect wirelessly using the WiFi signal from my LinkSys router. You are able to connect a mouse and keyboard to the back of the set - my mouse is wired and my keyboard is wireless. Unfortunately, LG provides little documentation, as to how you use the Internet features (or the TV setup). I had to figure that out for myself. LG customer support only provides a small amount of help. I do recommend updating the Internet Browser software (a simple download, eg. you will get FlashPlayer 11), because the original software was no good. Once the TV is connected to the Internet, you can do the usual things. I can buy things on eBay, I can search Google, or I can send eMail (gmail). LG's software is not fully debugged, so you are still better off using your desktop computer to surf the net. The "smart" TV lets you watch NetFlix, Hulu, vudu, You Tube, CinemaNow, MLBTV, Skype, etc. Many of the websites are subscription. Note, that there are 3 HDMI and 3 USB ports on the computer. There are audio in and audio out jacks. Inputs for DVD and over-the-air (or cable) signals and tape player and gamers are on the back.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankieT88
Indiana, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV Overall.
6/21/2013

Customer review by AROHDE

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by AROHDE
by AROHDE

Almost everything on this tv has met my expectations. The only thing that was disappointing was there is no red white audio (analog) out on this tv only optical out (digital). My external speakers that I bought a few years back only have the analog audio so I had to buy a digital to analog converter ($60) and an optical cable to hook up my speakers. It works most of the time but for some applications the audio is out of sync with the video, a problem that i think can be attributed to the converter. Most of the newer external speakers you can buy now are upgraded to digital sound so this might not be an issue for some people. The tv speakers are not bad if you dont have an external sound system. Just note that the tv speakers and an external sound system cannot be used at the same time on this tv. You can only use one or the other (but its pretty easy to switch between them).

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AROHDE
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Real performer
11/27/2015

Customer review by Rutgersjim

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by Rutgersjim
by Rutgersjim

I have owned this set for two years and liked it so much I bought another LG Smart set. Easy to program, great picture, works great with a sound bar.

Rutgersjim
Dunedin, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/10/2013

Customer review by Mzbonzi

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Mzbonzi
by Mzbonzi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with the LG. Has a wide viewing angle and the picture is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mzbonzi
Oswego NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BACKLIGHTS FLICKERING AND FAILING
7/11/2015

Customer review by gofortheneck

1.0 stars 7/11/2015 by gofortheneck
by gofortheneck

The backlights on our 18 month old set are failing. They started flickering about six months ago. And now one portion of the screen is permanently dimmed. I liked this set a lot until this problem arose.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gofortheneck
Would recommend to a friend? No
overall good buy
12/10/2013

Customer review by CEHolley01

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by CEHolley01
by CEHolley01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

overall this LCDTV is a good buy. if you want a good SMART TV at a lower cost, this is the TV you should get. It doesn't have all the features a more expensive TV has, but it does allow access into network, and have the features you need.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CEHolley01
Fort WOrth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love LG!
5/1/2014

Customer review by sag1127

5.0 stars 5/1/2014 by sag1127
by sag1127

This is my second LG TV. I researched for almost a year before I made my final choice and decision. I wanted a larger screen and one simple for this senior lady to assemble and put in place in my living room. I chose the 47" Smart TV as it would be the perfect size for the room and for me to handle. I am so happy with my choice. There has not been a moment of regret at all. The picture on my other LG is great, but the picture on this TV is far superior and I not thought it possible. The colors are clear and crisp and bright. Also, ladies, do not think you can not do this yourself. These TV's set themselves up. They know what to do. I just love my LG's. My 32" in now in my bedroom and I ran cables to both from my router. I have never enjoyed so my programming in my life. I have one wish. LG, could you please get Dramafever to be included. I love the Korean dramas and watch as much as possible. If I had a home, I would buy a big LG refrigerator. I am amazed seeing them in my programs. Wow, they are gorgeous too! Thanks, LG, for making such great products. Love these TV's with a passion.

sag1127
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Smart TV for the Value
1/2/2014

Customer review by pbarks

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by pbarks
by pbarks

This is my first Smart TV. I have friends and relatives that have Smart TV's and I have not been impressed with the abilities, until I got this TV. It works as a multimedia hub for my devices. I am able to access all my content from my media server, streaming movies and audio, all from the Smart Interface. Comes with WiFi and hard wired networking to cover all bases. Also the Intel WiDi feature is fantastic! The TV told me when it was available for me to use and I did not even know my laptop was capable of doing this. All the major apps are there and are easy to use. I can also use my smart phone as a remote, which helps when searching or typing. The TV will also act as a Wireless access point if you use a hard wire connection. With all these features plus a incredible picture, I'm not sure I would purchase anything else. I would recommend this TV to anyone.

pbarks
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great smart TV but there are some issues.
11/13/2013

Customer review by ererererer

3.0 stars 11/13/2013 by ererererer
by ererererer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great smart TV if you would like to use internet as a key source of programes. But I was using regular TV without cable and was able to catch all the local TV channels, but this smart TV is unable to catch most of them. If you do not mind about this, this is a great TV! It is easy to install, set up and operate. Picture quality is great too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ererererer
Lyndhurst NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would tell my friends to buy this TV
11/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This LG is really a step up from my Sony 40" Brava. I have only just started to use some of the many features The wyfi was easy to set up . I also bought the Magic remote which is an extra but eliminates all other remotes . The TV setup takes little time [very simple]. I just need more time to use the many apps that are pre loaded. I will buy one for my daughter for Xmas.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Easley SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED TV
7/18/2015

Customer review by Displeased

1.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Displeased
by Displeased

I bought this TV new at Walmart back in October 2013.. so after having not even 2 years the screen went black. We contacted the LG company and found out this model is a 2010 not a 2013. So if anyone wants to check the date on this its on the back of tv. So they gave a number for repair...The repair man said unfortually its not worth repairing do to cost so he said they do not even bother repairing them...I am so unplease with LG for not backing some what there product...Will never buy another LG no matter what.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Displeased
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply put...
12/15/2013

Customer review by JHel

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by JHel
by JHel

The best money I have ever spent for entertainment. Rich, clear colors along with deep blacks making this Smart TV worth every penny. I was genuinely surprised when I played Battlefield 4 while connected to the Xbox 360. I couldn't believe the graphic quality! It was almost like watching a movie. Using this TV on the internet is easy. It accepted my USB keyboard and mouse without any issues. I simply plugged in the wireless USB transceiver device and I was wireless in seconds. Nice! Very easy to set up and use. It found and connected to my wireless router in mere seconds. I have nothing negative to report in this review. The TV performs well and is all that I could ask for. Worth every dollar and leaves me wondering if I should get another one for the master bedroom....hmmmmm.

JHel
West Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Smart TV
1/10/2014

Customer review by DogMeister

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by DogMeister
by DogMeister

I didn't buy this because of the 3D feature, and only partly for the "Smart" stuff. Turns out it was the same price as the non-Smart non-3D version, so why not. Several reviews complained about the sound being poor, but I have not found that to be true. It sounds as good, if not better, than any other TV I've owned (the only way you're going to get theater quality sound is thorugh a surround sound system). The 3D function actually works quite well. The Smart features are fun too, though the optional remote probably makes web surfing a lot easier. I downloaded a remote app for my Droid and it does make it easier, but searching for YouTube videos is still a bit of a chore. So far, everything we've watched shows good picture quality. The only feature that would be nice would be PIP

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogMeister
Jasper, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV if you don't count the Smart TV stuff
5/23/2014

Customer review by DecaturNC

4.0 stars 5/23/2014 by DecaturNC
by DecaturNC

Overall I like this TV. It had a good picture and decent sound. It is easy to use as far as the basic TV functions go. I do not like the Smart TV features. That is okay as I did not buy it for the Smart TV features. I wanted a basic television. I wanted something at a decent size that I can conned multiple devices to. This unit fit that bill. I have tried using the Smart TV features and find them tedious and cumbersome. I have devices connected to it that do the same thing but in my opinion they do it much better. The best part is that I don't have to use the Smart TV stuff to watch the stuff I want to watch. Discounting the Smart TV mess I will say that I like this TV and am glad I purchased it and would recommend it.

DecaturNC
Raleigh, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Model 47LN5700 is an excellent television set!
6/28/2013

Customer review by 12345678

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by 12345678
by 12345678

We purchased this set one month ago and have been thrilled with its performance! The picture is so vivid and clear, it's nearly perfect in every way. Even in daylight, bright room light, the images are very strong and the amount of glare and/or reflection of the windows on the opposite wall of the room is minimal. We thoroughly researched large flat panel TV sets on the internet and then we viewed our top three finalists in the store before making our final decision. LG was easily the top choice even before considering price! We are extremely glad we chose this LG set and recommend it without hesitation. We now own a total of four LG products and we couldn't be happier!

12345678
Dublin, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected!
8/24/2013

Customer review by leslie19

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by leslie19
by leslie19

We purchased a different brand LED HD TV just a few months before purchasing this LG 47" and probably would have purchased the same if it had been available. But, I'm glad it wasn't. The HD quality of the LG is significantly better. I have been mesmerized by old movies I've seen many times before because of the phenomenal picture. - Some reviews I read while doing my comparison shopping caused me to be concerned about sound quality, but it has NOT been an issue. The magic remote took a little getting used to, but is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. Access to internet and apps - easy. Adjusting settings - easy. We are VERY pleased with our LG LED Smart TV.

leslie19
Atlanta, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
big improvement right in time for football.
9/6/2013

Customer review by Bigukfan

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by Bigukfan
by Bigukfan

We knew we had to upgrade. Our best television was one that weighed a ton, and was not that big. ( an old tube model ) We picked the start of college football season as our deadline so we would force ourselves to make a decision. After looking at lots of tvs, and finally deciding a 47 inch was better for our room. we bought the LG. All of the salesmen we talked to brought up the LG as a good brand. The color is great ,and last night watching Denver beat Baltimore on the big screen made it all worth it. Oh and although two salesmen recommended sound bars, we didn't bite, and the sound it just fine for us.

Bigukfan
Lexington, KY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OVER ALL GOOD
1/3/2015

Customer review by JRES

4.0 stars 1/3/2015 by JRES
by JRES

I REALLY ENJOY THIS PRODUCT. THE 2 COMPLAINTS I HAVE IS #1 I HAD TO HAVE MY TV SERVICED BECAUSE THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE WIRING HARNESS IN THIS PRODUCT. BUT, THE GOOD THING IS THAT I WAS NOT CHARGE FOR THIS. TV WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. #2 I WAS TOLD BY LG SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT I DID NOT NEED THE DOGGLE WITH MY SMART REMOTE THAT I PURCHASED THRU LG. WHEN THE SERVICE TECH CAME TO THE HOUSE HE INFORMED ME THATIT NEEDED THE DOGGLE IN ORDER FOR THE REMOTE TO FUNCTION.

JRES
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be smart and buy a LED HD Smart TV.
11/29/2013

Customer review by Katsbiz

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Katsbiz
by Katsbiz

Excellent HD picture. easy to switch from TV/Cable to other inputs like DVD/VHS, USB and game consoles. Format your picture to best fit your current mode; whether gaming, watching movies, or using Skype. After setting up the TV out of the box, it took approximately 10 minutes to have it hooked up to Cable, DVD Player and sync'd to my computer. Only had to look at the owner's manual once to figure out how to enter my password for Netflix. That's 'cuz I wasn't smart enough to click twice to bring up the on-screen keyboard. Makes me wonder how I was ever happy with a normal TV before now.

Katsbiz
Independence, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm cable free!!
10/22/2013

Customer review by jrich72

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by jrich72
by jrich72

I love this tv! It's User Friendly! I had never even seen a SmartTV in action before purchasing this one. Apps are preloaded, and some are even free. TV also came in handy when I had to do a presentation for school one day. The professor wanted the PowerPoint in the background, but if it weren't for this tv, I would've been in a boat without a paddle. The one thing I have a tiny problem with is the remote. I didn't know that I had to buy another remote to be able to talk to the TV. Still a great buy though. I'd recommend it hands down. Oh yea, plus, I'M CABLE FREE!!! :)

jrich72
Slidell, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews