Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 6 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

6 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

6 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-6 of 6 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Works Great!
5/27/2013

Customer review by katieinme

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by katieinme
by katieinme

I love the Ziploc Vacuum Sealer that I bought at my local Walmart! For years, I put off buying a food vacuum & seal machine because of the high cost. The Ziploc machine & bags are much less expensive than some other systems, so I decided to finally splurge and try it. So far it has saved me both time and money by allowing me to batch cook in larger amounts, then package and freeze meal-sized portions for weeks & months ahead when I'm in a hurry. The food quality stays so much fresher than in regular freezer bags & containers. I know exactly what ingredients are in my food and I'm not paying a premium for convenience freezer meals. On occasion I have had to reposition a bag to get it to vacuum properly, but that is a user positioning error rather than a mechanical problem. Other than those few second tries, the system has been reliable, super fast and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katieinme
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product.
5/29/2013

Customer review by TCCRGIAE

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by TCCRGIAE
by TCCRGIAE

I have been using this machine for everything along with the Ziploc bags. I do a ton of outdoor activities and will place and seal cooked meals in the bags and freeze (bbq ribs, ribeye steaks, smoked brats, etc.). Then when it comes time to eat, I just simmer the meal while still in the bag in a pot of hot water over our camp stove until warm - only takes a few minutes. Then I just cut open the bag and serve (great taste as the meal simmers in its own juices and does not dry out). No pots to clean while out camping - awesome!!! We do this at home too when reheating frozen meals, but it really pays for itself for pure convenience while camping in the mountains. I have also used it to seal and store my family's passports, fishing/hunting licenses, ammo, electronics and other gear I don't want getting wet and ruined. One really nice feature that I do not have on my older machine made by another company is that the Ziploc machine has a "Pulse" feature whereby you can slowly vacuum items and then press the seal button. This option is great when sealing foods that are very moist or that may crush on a regular stronger auto-seal setting (e.g. fish fillets, spaghetti, cooked noodles, etc.). Lastly, I also bought a few of these for gifts for friends and family and they too use them on a regular basis. You really can't beat vacuum sealing when it comes to long term food storage or on the road meal prep.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCCRGIAE
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Ziploc V102 vacuum sealer
8/28/2013

Customer review by Texasroseinok

4.0 stars 8/28/2013 by Texasroseinok
by Texasroseinok

I purchased this to replace my Dazey Seal A meal which I had not even used in quite a while, but when I tried to use it, the sealing function wouldn't work properly. I bought this at my local WalMart and used it to break down to 4 each and seal a package of Brats that I bought at Sams. It didn't vacuum hardly at all on the first package even though I read the directions and followed them. (I thought). Sealing worked fine---vacuuming did not. I was frustrated because I was so sure I had followed their directions....So....I called their customer service number and the lady walked me through and had me seal a group of Brats. This is what she told me which made all the difference in the world on how the vacuum action worked: 1. Put the bag in to the sealer with the end of the bag touching the tabs...not facing down at the tabs or over the tabs or facing into the tray--the bag must touch the tabs. So--if you cut your own, it is very important that it be cut evenly across or the ends may not touch as it should. There is no cutter on this model but I can use a ruler if I need to make sure I'm cutting even. The bag I was using was the preformed, one end sealed bags that was provided in the box. 2. Once the bag end is touching the tabs, close the lid and press on both sides til you hear it lock. At that point, try to pull the bag out (even if trying to lift the lid and the lid doesn't lift--which means it is locked properly). When I did this, one side of the bag would still slide out--so even though the lid was locked properly, the bag was not in the sealer properly. I reopened the sealer, reset the bag, then in closing the lid, I locked the side that had originally slid out first by pressing that side until i heard the snap, then I pressed and locked the other side. The bag would not move at that point. 3. I then pressed the vac and seal button (if your bag is not flat on the counter, you will need to hold it up to support it, but I had my sealer on the counter and the bag was laying flat.) Once I pressed the vac and seal button, I could immediately see it begin to suck out the air in the bag. After getting all the air out, it then went into seal mode for about 3 seconds and made a perfect seal. You do not need to hold the lid down. Once you press the vac and seal option, take your hands off of the sealer. I am now a happy camper with the Ziploc vacuum sealer. Also, it does not work well with bags that are not the Ziploc bags. The Ziploc bags are thicker than the others I have had and can be washed and reused. We have had a new Sams open up close by that has great meat products and even though there is only 2 of us, we were wanting to buy some meat for the freezer so we don't have to buy it every week. This works wonderfully for being able to do that. I greatly appreciate the help from Customer Service in providing some information that was not in the instruction book.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texasroseinok
Glenpool, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
drastically under powered
8/6/2013

Customer review by deltaphx

1.0 stars 8/6/2013 by deltaphx
by deltaphx

The summery said it all. Got this unit to replace my george foreman vacuum sealer after it died after two or three years. I picked up some steaks and wanted to vacuum seal them to make sure they are good when I grill them. I had high expectations from ziploc and expected it to out shine my old unit. Didn't happen.... this unit removed about 90% of the air in the bag before the auto seal engaged. I thought what the heck...... I had to cut open the bag and manually shove the air out to help the machine. For 50 bucks I was expecting it to work well, at least better than my old unit which I got for about the same price but I was disappointed. I plan on taking it back and getting one from another manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deltaphx
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't waste your money
5/13/2013

Customer review by bama61

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by bama61
by bama61

It was a waste of my time. I now have to drive back to town to return becausr it would not vacuum the air out. It would start vacuuming and then just stop.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bama61
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Better than Foodsaver
8/24/2013

Customer review by NatMart

4.0 stars 8/24/2013 by NatMart
by NatMart

Last winter, I borrowed my mother-in-law's $140 Foodsaver to put up some deer and hog that I harvested. I cracked the code on how to properly insert the bags to get them to trip the sensor and initiate the vacuuming/sealing cycle. It worked fine, except I didn't think it pulled a very good vacuum before sealing. This Ziploc machine does a much better job at drawing a good vacuum in comparison. Yesterday, I put up some rye grain to protect it from grain weevils, which have taken over our pantry. Divided into 1 lb bags, the Ziploc pulled such a tight vacuum that they were as hard as bricks. I like the manual control over the automatic. I think it is wise to double seal the bags. This is not possible with an automatic like the Foodsaver, but is a breeze with the Ziploc since you can see exactly where you are lining it up. I do worry about the snaps that lock the lid down. They are plastic and will probably be the first thing to break. However, when I'm closing the lid, I don't simply slam the thing shut. I press down slowly but firmly to engage the locks. Then when releasing, I press down on the lid to relieve some of the tension before I press the unlock button. I'm hoping I'll get years of use out of this if I treat it right. I do wish it had some kind of built-in cutter, like the Foodsaver, but this model was a third of the price, so you can't expect much more than just a basic sealer. I'll probably build a cutting jig to hold the rolls and keep the sheets square once hunting season comes. If you're main concern is max vacuum in a reasonably priced then this is for you. If you want all the extra features that cost more, like a roll storage area and a convenient cutter, then go with the Foodsaver. Be warned, though. I doesn't pull much of a vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NatMart
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week