Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

36 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

36 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 36 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Nice rod-terrible reel!
7/16/2016

Customer review by john50

2.0 stars 7/16/2016 by john50
by john50

Line kept on going under reel-took apart 10 times and as I was reeling in a trout-had to take apart and lost the little parts under the reel. Junk-probably will have to throw away because can't find anything to order new parts on web site.

john50
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
6/16/2016

Customer review by Ryan21

4.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Ryan21
by Ryan21

I gave it 4 stars because of how smooth it is, how far it casts such light bait, and the reel can hang in there with a good sized fish. The bad is I only had it for 2 or 3 days before the rod broke. I'm not sure if I can be mad or just should have expected it when a few pound bass bit my little beetle spin. But for the price the reel is great just becareful not to get the line wrapped under the spool.

Ryan21
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Winning combination
5/13/2016

Customer review by Randy 143

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Randy 143
by Randy 143

I have this combo and couldn't be happier with a setup. The tip is sensitive for the lightest of bites and has enough beef for a decent sized fish. The reel is awesome for making longer casts with lighter baits. Love mine [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Randy 143
Montrose, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
overall its good
3/17/2015

Customer review by rob421

4.0 stars 3/17/2015 by rob421
by rob421

these rods work great for stream fishing. I love the light weight design and the sensitivity. I fish with it every other weekend but I broke 3 of them within 2 1/2 years, broke the first 2 from trying to un snag my my hook across/in the creek i was using braided line I think that's why i pushed the pole over its designed weight limit and the other one was from not paying attention to the rod tip, but I keep on coming back for more. cant really go wrong with this setup. to be honest its the perfect pole for camping and hiking. give it a shot you'll be glad that you did p.s. the reel is fine no problems at all

rob421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
bail springs
1/29/2016

Customer review by TRW 62

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by TRW 62
by TRW 62

I bought two micro series spinning combos and after 60 days I decided on a refund at the local department store . I really liked the four and a half foot rod , but after exchanging out 5 combos because of bail springs , I decided that all the running to town was cutting into my fishing time on the weekends . [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TRW 62
Kirksville, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
The perfect man for the job
2/21/2016

Customer review by HubbleRubbleFan

5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by HubbleRubbleFan
by HubbleRubbleFan

After just a few matches I am ready to take the champ! The micro series with a good set-up is very handy. It's great casting puts you in the perfect hot spot. With a little practice you'll be ready to take on the king.

HubbleRubbleFan
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
junk
3/14/2016

Customer review by Dan the man

1.0 stars 3/14/2016 by Dan the man
by Dan the man

I bought this yesterday and didn't even get the line wet. It fell apart and I'm mad

Dan the man
Clearville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Drag system easily lost, not secured with screws
4/30/2015

Customer review by Reeler

3.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Reeler
by Reeler

I bought this combo less than a year ago and was happy it until it fell apart when some of the line was caught under the spool. It managed to pop the poorly designed retaining washer so the spring and metal engagement to the drag are lost. The retaining washer has tabs that grip the plastic nub to hold the spring in place. Cheap. Hopefully cheap to replace I like the combo other than that. We will see how Shakespeare's warranty/ customer service works out.

Reeler
Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Male
Great from my pontoon boat
1/9/2016

Customer review by Blakeb1

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Blakeb1
by Blakeb1

Liked it so much I have three that I carry. Great castability and versatility. Sensitive yet strong. Caught some of the biggest trout of my life this year thanks in no small part to them. Got 3-4 buddies hooked on them too! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Blakeb1
Flagstaff, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
For the money it fishes with the best of the them!
1/28/2016

Customer review by General tso chino

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by General tso chino
by General tso chino

Good quality affordable price your products dollar for dollar great value! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

General tso chino
Union, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love This Little Combo
6/13/2014

Customer review by Topkick1

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Topkick1
by Topkick1

Have been using the micro combo for over a year for crappie. Last trip to Guntersville Lake, Alabama caught a 4# + largemouth on it with no issues. Had to do some back reeling but both the rod and reel handled it with no problems. Have also caught hybrid and cats on it when fishing for crappie. Can't "horse 'em" but the rod and reel stood up no problem.

Topkick1
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
rod tips break on first use
6/1/2014

Customer review by cbram69

1.0 stars 6/1/2014 by cbram69
by cbram69

i purchased a 7 foot ultralight and the first time I took it out, the rod tip broke off within 2 hours. I exchanged it and got the 5 foot ultralight model instead, on the 15th cast the tip broke off on this rod also. I will not exchanged this out I will put it right where it belongs, in the trash can

cbram69
Columbia, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
3/21/2015

Customer review by DW34

1.0 stars 3/21/2015 by DW34
by DW34

I bought a Shakespeare Micro Series spinning combo model# MGSP461UL 4'6" rod in October 2014. The first time Trout fishing this year and after only 5-6 casts, this rod broke into. I am very disappointed in this product and would not recommend it to anyone...

DW34
Richwood, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Rod broke....
6/22/2015

Customer review by Wess

1.0 stars 6/22/2015 by Wess
by Wess

Bought this combo yesterday (6/20/15) Took it out this morning, after catching 3 small bluegill rod broke 5" front the top

Wess
Louisiana, United States
Gender:Male
great casting
7/20/2015

Customer review by rich fisher guy

5.0 stars 7/20/2015 by rich fisher guy
by rich fisher guy

casts a mile reels smoth and fast ,7 ft allows presice bait placement ,

rich fisher guy
den ,co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo
2/16/2015

Customer review by Blacksmith

5.0 stars 2/16/2015 by Blacksmith
by Blacksmith

I own several Shakespeare combos and they are by far the value and the toughest rods on the market. I love them more than my expensive rods.

Blacksmith
Missouri, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great rod and reel
6/15/2014

Customer review by JustinB23

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by JustinB23
by JustinB23

nifty little rod and reel. throw in a hook and a senko worm and your set. very light and sensitive. throw it in your truck for whenever you see a pond. 

JustinB23
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I bought one of these back in the spring
1/8/2017

Customer review by OneCrappieFiaherman

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by OneCrappieFiaherman
by OneCrappieFiaherman

I bought one of these back in spring and used it through late summer I loved mine it came with stren line which was nice not trash line like most cheap combos come with I did like I always do took apart the reel put some oil on it put it all back together tight and took it out I was very impressed with how far it will cast such a light jig and how accurate the placement of said jig can be it is a very light and sensitive rod you can feel the fish bite on this pole makes a great pole for crappie or brim fishing not made for bigger fish I did end up breaking my pole when a nice large bass decided to take my jig for a ride and I had the drag set too tight it doubled over my pole and broke it before I had a chance to do anything really to save it but the reel still works great bought a replacment rod and I'm off running again can't wait for spring when the crappie are back in shallow water going to limit out in my kayak using this rod again and again

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneCrappieFiaherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun for kids and adults alike!!
6/16/2013

Customer review by AquaGoat

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by AquaGoat
by AquaGoat

I bought one of these combos approximately four years ago and it's still going strong. With any fishing reel there is some maintenance involved, but as long as you occasionally oil and grease them, they'll keep going. I've caught bream, bass and catfish on this combo and it doesn't miss a lick. I did change the fishing line that came on it from 4 lb mono to 15lb Spiderwire braid and I use an 8lb leader (approx 4 feet in length) of Trilene XL armor coated, but I hate to lose fish and I have more confidence in the braid w/ leader. The rod has a great ultra light action, so a two pound bass is an awesome fight. I especially like the length of the rod [mine is a 4' 6"] which allows me to be in some pretty tight areas around trees and overhanging limbs and still be able to cast with accuracy. Lastly, who can argue the price? Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, it's a great little combo. Go get yourself one, I think you'll be impressed!

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AquaGoat
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awsome little fishing rod
8/2/2013

Customer review by Velimir

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Velimir
by Velimir

I've had this rod for a few years, and it's one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've ever made. I've used it many times to fish from the lake shore. It can actually reel in bigger fish than the 4lb. line it comes with. I love the slip-proof cork handle. The rod itself is light, easily flickable with the wrist, and allows very good feel of even the tiniest bluegill hitting the lure. I disassembled the reel once already and restored it's performance to factory. I've caught legal sized lake trout and black bass, a pikeminnow, and quite a few bluegill over the years with it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Velimir
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews