Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 38 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
Sort by: 
1-20 of 38 reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
6/16/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I gave it 4 stars because of how smooth it is, how far it casts such light bait, and the reel can hang in there with a good sized fish. The bad is I only had it for 2 or 3 days before the rod broke. I'm not sure if I can be mad or just should have expected it when a few pound bass bit my little beetle spin. But for the price the reel is great just becareful not to get the line wrapped under the spool.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I bought one of these back in the spring
1/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one of these back in spring and used it through late summer I loved mine it came with stren line which was nice not trash line like most cheap combos come with I did like I always do took apart the reel put some oil on it put it all back together tight and took it out I was very impressed with how far it will cast such a light jig and how accurate the placement of said jig can be it is a very light and sensitive rod you can feel the fish bite on this pole makes a great pole for crappie or brim fishing not made for bigger fish I did end up breaking my pole when a nice large bass decided to take my jig for a ride and I had the drag set too tight it doubled over my pole and broke it before I had a chance to do anything really to save it but the reel still works great bought a replacment rod and I'm off running again can't wait for spring when the crappie are back in shallow water going to limit out in my kayak using this rod again and again
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun for kids and adults alike!!
6/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one of these combos approximately four years ago and it's still going strong. With any fishing reel there is some maintenance involved, but as long as you occasionally oil and grease them, they'll keep going. I've caught bream, bass and catfish on this combo and it doesn't miss a lick. I did change the fishing line that came on it from 4 lb mono to 15lb Spiderwire braid and I use an 8lb leader (approx 4 feet in length) of Trilene XL armor coated, but I hate to lose fish and I have more confidence in the braid w/ leader. The rod has a great ultra light action, so a two pound bass is an awesome fight. I especially like the length of the rod [mine is a 4' 6"] which allows me to be in some pretty tight areas around trees and overhanging limbs and still be able to cast with accuracy. Lastly, who can argue the price? Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, it's a great little combo. Go get yourself one, I think you'll be impressed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice rod and real
7/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love it l caught a 6 pound3/4oz large mouth only took 30 to 45 minutes drag was set just right
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awsome little fishing rod
8/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this rod for a few years, and it's one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've ever made. I've used it many times to fish from the lake shore. It can actually reel in bigger fish than the 4lb. line it comes with. I love the slip-proof cork handle. The rod itself is light, easily flickable with the wrist, and allows very good feel of even the tiniest bluegill hitting the lure. I disassembled the reel once already and restored it's performance to factory. I've caught legal sized lake trout and black bass, a pikeminnow, and quite a few bluegill over the years with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little rod!
12/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great little rod
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If a person wanted a rod and reel in small pkg., this is for that person.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/13/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this rod to be simple little bream/perch rod. I expected nothing more out of it, I left the 4 pound line on it and treated the rod very gently because I was a little unsure of "ultralight rods" being I have seen some people have success with them and I have also seen a lot of them break for absolutely no reason. On the first trip fishing with this rod, I had enough time to catch one rock bass/goggle eye and hang a couple very small bass (we're talking 6-10 inch bass here, not anything near the 4-6 pounds this rod is rated for) and I did not pick the fish up with the rod or anything because as I said: I was a little unsure about it. I had always heard Shakespeare made good reels and I hoped rods being as why I didn't buy the uglystik. But, to my expectation when all I did was pull my little grub in on the bank and set my rod down gently to remove the grass off of the grub about 3-4 inchs of the rod tip broke under absolutely no more pressure than it should have been designed to handle. So little of pressure, it kind of surprised me. Mine might of just been a defect, but I'd suggest an Uglystik or some other type of rod that is known to hold up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice
3/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Nice smooth action. Very affordable and would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great rod and reel
6/3/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these combo's around 5 years ago and these are my go to rods for even heavy bass! They are great in the canoe or kayak that I have because they are short and easy to run new line up through the end when needed. They are simple to cast and really turn great when fighting a bass unlike the tournament slobs that are Neal Armstrong wanna be's in their clown suits that rip the fish from the water into the boat then yell like they hit the lottery - so stupid it really gives fishing a bad name. The rod will bend in half I guarantee when a large fish is on but won't break if you set the simple drag properly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not worth the trouble
8/7/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought this combo to trout fish. it often will wind line below the spool sometimes going under spool and getting wrapped up on inner shaft.and shaft nut keeps backing off . will be returning for refund.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't beat the price for performance!
9/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ok, I saw this on a Rollback price drop and began reading the customer feedback. Therefor I just had to respond. I've had at least eight (8) of these rods, over the past 40 years or so. Out of all eight, one got broke when my cousin slammed it in the hatchback of my Shelby Charger, that would have been 1984. The same cousin lost the tip half of the rod while casting for Pike in a lake. We were in a small boat and the tip sank when he broke the line. Other than that ; NEVER had one break, not even while realing in 36 inch northern pike on the lake. Now I do use 6# spider wire, ie 14# test with 6# dia. As for people complaining about the line; lets see the rod has been sitting in a warehouse for two years, maybe some new line might be in order if you actually want to catch fish. Also if the line is twisting and flipping under the spool while you cast; you have to much line on the spool. You need approx. 1/8" of empty space around the spool. I've often thought a bout getting an Ugly Stick, they are great; but I've never needed one. I think so highly of these rods that I bought my son one to teach him how to trout fish. Gave it to him on his birthday, he pulled it out and said dad this is exactly like the one you use. Also about 30 years ago I wrote shakespear about trouble getting parts for their reels, seems a local shop could no longer get parts. I listed every shakespear reel I could remember since I was 9 y.o. and the three I wanted to rebuild. They sent a box with three of each and every part I asked for, on the end of the invoice was a line that read "thanks for being a loyal customer......we appreciate your business ............NO CHARGE" I've looked at alot of nice reels over the years, but everyone I own says Shakespear on the side. Oh, I've given about six combos away over the years, friends kids, my one cousin's kid who's dad ran off on him ; every one of those kids have thanked me and told me 3-4 years later that they still have the rod I gave them and wouldn't trade if for a brand new one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Junk
7/28/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought one for bluegill fishing. Ongoing issues with line getting under spool plus tip breaks easily. Save your money and buy something else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good product
9/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Worked well
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
overall its good
3/17/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
these rods work great for stream fishing. I love the light weight design and the sensitivity. I fish with it every other weekend but I broke 3 of them within 2 1/2 years, broke the first 2 from trying to un snag my my hook across/in the creek i was using braided line I think that's why i pushed the pole over its designed weight limit and the other one was from not paying attention to the rod tip, but I keep on coming back for more. cant really go wrong with this setup. to be honest its the perfect pole for camping and hiking. give it a shot you'll be glad that you did p.s. the reel is fine no problems at all
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst Fishing Line Ever Seen
9/21/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Line literally would break with barely any pressure the first day of using it. Bought 3 and all had horribly spooled line and with barely any pressure even after using multiple knots. Would not recommend. Cant return it when you ordered it online, paid about as much as they were worth to get them overnighted, and they arent worth using even on the first day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gone Fishing
10/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like the Shakespear quality . I have had many of their products over the years OK by me. Couldn't beat the sale price either lol.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rod broke
8/30/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought two of these poles to do some fishing off the dock and the line kept tangling when we went to cast them. After one day of using the poles, the tips broke off both poles. It's not like we were catching massive fish, we caught fish under a pound.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Drag system easily lost, not secured with screws
4/30/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this combo less than a year ago and was happy it until it fell apart when some of the line was caught under the spool. It managed to pop the poorly designed retaining washer so the spring and metal engagement to the drag are lost. The retaining washer has tabs that grip the plastic nub to hold the spring in place. Cheap. Hopefully cheap to replace I like the combo other than that. We will see how Shakespeare's warranty/ customer service works out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice rod-terrible reel!
7/16/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Line kept on going under reel-took apart 10 times and as I was reeling in a trout-had to take apart and lost the little parts under the reel. Junk-probably will have to throw away because can't find anything to order new parts on web site.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640679, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-