Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 37 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
6/16/2016

Customer review by Ryan21

4.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Ryan21
by Ryan21

I gave it 4 stars because of how smooth it is, how far it casts such light bait, and the reel can hang in there with a good sized fish. The bad is I only had it for 2 or 3 days before the rod broke. I'm not sure if I can be mad or just should have expected it when a few pound bass bit my little beetle spin. But for the price the reel is great just becareful not to get the line wrapped under the spool.

Ryan21
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I bought one of these back in the spring
1/8/2017

Customer review by OneCrappieFiaherman

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by OneCrappieFiaherman
by OneCrappieFiaherman

I bought one of these back in spring and used it through late summer I loved mine it came with stren line which was nice not trash line like most cheap combos come with I did like I always do took apart the reel put some oil on it put it all back together tight and took it out I was very impressed with how far it will cast such a light jig and how accurate the placement of said jig can be it is a very light and sensitive rod you can feel the fish bite on this pole makes a great pole for crappie or brim fishing not made for bigger fish I did end up breaking my pole when a nice large bass decided to take my jig for a ride and I had the drag set too tight it doubled over my pole and broke it before I had a chance to do anything really to save it but the reel still works great bought a replacment rod and I'm off running again can't wait for spring when the crappie are back in shallow water going to limit out in my kayak using this rod again and again

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneCrappieFiaherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun for kids and adults alike!!
6/16/2013

Customer review by AquaGoat

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by AquaGoat
by AquaGoat

I bought one of these combos approximately four years ago and it's still going strong. With any fishing reel there is some maintenance involved, but as long as you occasionally oil and grease them, they'll keep going. I've caught bream, bass and catfish on this combo and it doesn't miss a lick. I did change the fishing line that came on it from 4 lb mono to 15lb Spiderwire braid and I use an 8lb leader (approx 4 feet in length) of Trilene XL armor coated, but I hate to lose fish and I have more confidence in the braid w/ leader. The rod has a great ultra light action, so a two pound bass is an awesome fight. I especially like the length of the rod [mine is a 4' 6"] which allows me to be in some pretty tight areas around trees and overhanging limbs and still be able to cast with accuracy. Lastly, who can argue the price? Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, it's a great little combo. Go get yourself one, I think you'll be impressed!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AquaGoat
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Awsome little fishing rod
8/2/2013

Customer review by Velimir

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Velimir
by Velimir

I've had this rod for a few years, and it's one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've ever made. I've used it many times to fish from the lake shore. It can actually reel in bigger fish than the 4lb. line it comes with. I love the slip-proof cork handle. The rod itself is light, easily flickable with the wrist, and allows very good feel of even the tiniest bluegill hitting the lure. I disassembled the reel once already and restored it's performance to factory. I've caught legal sized lake trout and black bass, a pikeminnow, and quite a few bluegill over the years with it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Velimir
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Great little rod!
12/27/2016

Customer review by Neesie66

5.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Neesie66
by Neesie66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little rod

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neesie66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice
3/15/2017

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 3/15/2017 by John
by John
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice smooth action. Very affordable and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat the price for performance!
9/28/2016

Customer review by redwood499

5.0 stars 9/28/2016 by redwood499
by redwood499

Ok, I saw this on a Rollback price drop and began reading the customer feedback. Therefor I just had to respond. I've had at least eight (8) of these rods, over the past 40 years or so. Out of all eight, one got broke when my cousin slammed it in the hatchback of my Shelby Charger, that would have been 1984. The same cousin lost the tip half of the rod while casting for Pike in a lake. We were in a small boat and the tip sank when he broke the line. Other than that ; NEVER had one break, not even while realing in 36 inch northern pike on the lake. Now I do use 6# spider wire, ie 14# test with 6# dia. As for people complaining about the line; lets see the rod has been sitting in a warehouse for two years, maybe some new line might be in order if you actually want to catch fish. Also if the line is twisting and flipping under the spool while you cast; you have to much line on the spool. You need approx. 1/8" of empty space around the spool. I've often thought a bout getting an Ugly Stick, they are great; but I've never needed one. I think so highly of these rods that I bought my son one to teach him how to trout fish. Gave it to him on his birthday, he pulled it out and said dad this is exactly like the one you use. Also about 30 years ago I wrote shakespear about trouble getting parts for their reels, seems a local shop could no longer get parts. I listed every shakespear reel I could remember since I was 9 y.o. and the three I wanted to rebuild. They sent a box with three of each and every part I asked for, on the end of the invoice was a line that read "thanks for being a loyal customer......we appreciate your business ............NO CHARGE" I've looked at alot of nice reels over the years, but everyone I own says Shakespear on the side. Oh, I've given about six combos away over the years, friends kids, my one cousin's kid who's dad ran off on him ; every one of those kids have thanked me and told me 3-4 years later that they still have the rod I gave them and wouldn't trade if for a brand new one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redwood499
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good product
9/19/2016

Customer review by JP13

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by JP13
by JP13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked well

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JP13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/13/2013

Customer review by MississippiFishermen

1.0 stars 10/13/2013 by MississippiFishermen
by MississippiFishermen

I bought this rod to be simple little bream/perch rod. I expected nothing more out of it, I left the 4 pound line on it and treated the rod very gently because I was a little unsure of "ultralight rods" being I have seen some people have success with them and I have also seen a lot of them break for absolutely no reason. On the first trip fishing with this rod, I had enough time to catch one rock bass/goggle eye and hang a couple very small bass (we're talking 6-10 inch bass here, not anything near the 4-6 pounds this rod is rated for) and I did not pick the fish up with the rod or anything because as I said: I was a little unsure about it. I had always heard Shakespeare made good reels and I hoped rods being as why I didn't buy the uglystik. But, to my expectation when all I did was pull my little grub in on the bank and set my rod down gently to remove the grass off of the grub about 3-4 inchs of the rod tip broke under absolutely no more pressure than it should have been designed to handle. So little of pressure, it kind of surprised me. Mine might of just been a defect, but I'd suggest an Uglystik or some other type of rod that is known to hold up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MississippiFishermen
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
4/18/2013

Customer review by Razzamanazz

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Razzamanazz
by Razzamanazz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If a person wanted a rod and reel in small pkg., this is for that person.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razzamanazz
Medina, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not worth the trouble
8/7/2014

Customer review by chuckinky

1.0 stars 8/7/2014 by chuckinky
by chuckinky

bought this combo to trout fish. it often will wind line below the spool sometimes going under spool and getting wrapped up on inner shaft.and shaft nut keeps backing off . will be returning for refund.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuckinky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great rod and reel
6/3/2016

Customer review by DanTheMan

1.0 stars 6/3/2016 by DanTheMan
by DanTheMan

I bought two of these combo's around 5 years ago and these are my go to rods for even heavy bass! They are great in the canoe or kayak that I have because they are short and easy to run new line up through the end when needed. They are simple to cast and really turn great when fighting a bass unlike the tournament slobs that are Neal Armstrong wanna be's in their clown suits that rip the fish from the water into the boat then yell like they hit the lottery - so stupid it really gives fishing a bad name. The rod will bend in half I guarantee when a large fish is on but won't break if you set the simple drag properly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanTheMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Fishing Line Ever Seen
9/21/2016

Customer review by Colton

1.0 stars 9/21/2016 by Colton
by Colton
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Line literally would break with barely any pressure the first day of using it. Bought 3 and all had horribly spooled line and with barely any pressure even after using multiple knots. Would not recommend. Cant return it when you ordered it online, paid about as much as they were worth to get them overnighted, and they arent worth using even on the first day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Colton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gone Fishing
10/9/2016

Customer review by POPPAJON

5.0 stars 10/9/2016 by POPPAJON
by POPPAJON
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the Shakespear quality . I have had many of their products over the years OK by me. Couldn't beat the sale price either lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
POPPAJON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
7/28/2015

Customer review by AC870

1.0 stars 7/28/2015 by AC870
by AC870

I bought one for bluegill fishing. Ongoing issues with line getting under spool plus tip breaks easily. Save your money and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AC870
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rod broke
8/30/2016

Customer review by malamutemom

1.0 stars 8/30/2016 by malamutemom
by malamutemom

We bought two of these poles to do some fishing off the dock and the line kept tangling when we went to cast them. After one day of using the poles, the tips broke off both poles. It's not like we were catching massive fish, we caught fish under a pound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malamutemom
Would recommend to a friend? No
overall its good
3/17/2015

Customer review by rob421

4.0 stars 3/17/2015 by rob421
by rob421

these rods work great for stream fishing. I love the light weight design and the sensitivity. I fish with it every other weekend but I broke 3 of them within 2 1/2 years, broke the first 2 from trying to un snag my my hook across/in the creek i was using braided line I think that's why i pushed the pole over its designed weight limit and the other one was from not paying attention to the rod tip, but I keep on coming back for more. cant really go wrong with this setup. to be honest its the perfect pole for camping and hiking. give it a shot you'll be glad that you did p.s. the reel is fine no problems at all

rob421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice rod-terrible reel!
7/16/2016

Customer review by john50

2.0 stars 7/16/2016 by john50
by john50

Line kept on going under reel-took apart 10 times and as I was reeling in a trout-had to take apart and lost the little parts under the reel. Junk-probably will have to throw away because can't find anything to order new parts on web site.

john50
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good Starter Rod
6/26/2016

Customer review by Matt

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Matt
by Matt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just wanted to learn one day. Ordered this rod without seeing it and it worked it. Big enough for an adult, cheap and good to learn with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute little combo
6/7/2016

Customer review by Benjamin

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Benjamin
by Benjamin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really appreciate it in tight spaces around boat docks.......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benjamin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews