Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 30 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Fun for kids and adults alike!!
6/16/2013

Customer review by AquaGoat

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by AquaGoat
by AquaGoat

I bought one of these combos approximately four years ago and it's still going strong. With any fishing reel there is some maintenance involved, but as long as you occasionally oil and grease them, they'll keep going. I've caught bream, bass and catfish on this combo and it doesn't miss a lick. I did change the fishing line that came on it from 4 lb mono to 15lb Spiderwire braid and I use an 8lb leader (approx 4 feet in length) of Trilene XL armor coated, but I hate to lose fish and I have more confidence in the braid w/ leader. The rod has a great ultra light action, so a two pound bass is an awesome fight. I especially like the length of the rod [mine is a 4' 6"] which allows me to be in some pretty tight areas around trees and overhanging limbs and still be able to cast with accuracy. Lastly, who can argue the price? Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, it's a great little combo. Go get yourself one, I think you'll be impressed!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AquaGoat
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Rod broke
8/30/2016

Customer review by malamutemom

1.0 stars 8/30/2016 by malamutemom
by malamutemom

We bought two of these poles to do some fishing off the dock and the line kept tangling when we went to cast them. After one day of using the poles, the tips broke off both poles. It's not like we were catching massive fish, we caught fish under a pound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malamutemom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice rod-terrible reel!
7/16/2016

Customer review by john50

2.0 stars 7/16/2016 by john50
by john50

Line kept on going under reel-took apart 10 times and as I was reeling in a trout-had to take apart and lost the little parts under the reel. Junk-probably will have to throw away because can't find anything to order new parts on web site.

john50
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Awsome little fishing rod
8/2/2013

Customer review by Velimir

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Velimir
by Velimir

I've had this rod for a few years, and it's one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've ever made. I've used it many times to fish from the lake shore. It can actually reel in bigger fish than the 4lb. line it comes with. I love the slip-proof cork handle. The rod itself is light, easily flickable with the wrist, and allows very good feel of even the tiniest bluegill hitting the lure. I disassembled the reel once already and restored it's performance to factory. I've caught legal sized lake trout and black bass, a pikeminnow, and quite a few bluegill over the years with it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Velimir
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
6/16/2016

Customer review by Ryan21

4.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Ryan21
by Ryan21

I gave it 4 stars because of how smooth it is, how far it casts such light bait, and the reel can hang in there with a good sized fish. The bad is I only had it for 2 or 3 days before the rod broke. I'm not sure if I can be mad or just should have expected it when a few pound bass bit my little beetle spin. But for the price the reel is great just becareful not to get the line wrapped under the spool.

Ryan21
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great rod and reel
6/3/2016

Customer review by DanTheMan

1.0 stars 6/3/2016 by DanTheMan
by DanTheMan

I bought two of these combo's around 5 years ago and these are my go to rods for even heavy bass! They are great in the canoe or kayak that I have because they are short and easy to run new line up through the end when needed. They are simple to cast and really turn great when fighting a bass unlike the tournament slobs that are Neal Armstrong wanna be's in their clown suits that rip the fish from the water into the boat then yell like they hit the lottery - so stupid it really gives fishing a bad name. The rod will bend in half I guarantee when a large fish is on but won't break if you set the simple drag properly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanTheMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Starter Rod
6/26/2016

Customer review by Matt

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Matt
by Matt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just wanted to learn one day. Ordered this rod without seeing it and it worked it. Big enough for an adult, cheap and good to learn with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute little combo
6/7/2016

Customer review by Benjamin

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Benjamin
by Benjamin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really appreciate it in tight spaces around boat docks.......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benjamin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Winning combination
5/13/2016

Customer review by Randy 143

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Randy 143
by Randy 143

I have this combo and couldn't be happier with a setup. The tip is sensitive for the lightest of bites and has enough beef for a decent sized fish. The reel is awesome for making longer casts with lighter baits. Love mine [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Randy 143
Montrose, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Junk
7/28/2015

Customer review by AC870

1.0 stars 7/28/2015 by AC870
by AC870

I bought one for bluegill fishing. Ongoing issues with line getting under spool plus tip breaks easily. Save your money and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AC870
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/13/2013

Customer review by MississippiFishermen

1.0 stars 10/13/2013 by MississippiFishermen
by MississippiFishermen

I bought this rod to be simple little bream/perch rod. I expected nothing more out of it, I left the 4 pound line on it and treated the rod very gently because I was a little unsure of "ultralight rods" being I have seen some people have success with them and I have also seen a lot of them break for absolutely no reason. On the first trip fishing with this rod, I had enough time to catch one rock bass/goggle eye and hang a couple very small bass (we're talking 6-10 inch bass here, not anything near the 4-6 pounds this rod is rated for) and I did not pick the fish up with the rod or anything because as I said: I was a little unsure about it. I had always heard Shakespeare made good reels and I hoped rods being as why I didn't buy the uglystik. But, to my expectation when all I did was pull my little grub in on the bank and set my rod down gently to remove the grass off of the grub about 3-4 inchs of the rod tip broke under absolutely no more pressure than it should have been designed to handle. So little of pressure, it kind of surprised me. Mine might of just been a defect, but I'd suggest an Uglystik or some other type of rod that is known to hold up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MississippiFishermen
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
4/18/2013

Customer review by Razzamanazz

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Razzamanazz
by Razzamanazz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If a person wanted a rod and reel in small pkg., this is for that person.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razzamanazz
Medina, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
junk
3/14/2016

Customer review by Dan the man

1.0 stars 3/14/2016 by Dan the man
by Dan the man

I bought this yesterday and didn't even get the line wet. It fell apart and I'm mad

Dan the man
Clearville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
The perfect man for the job
2/21/2016

Customer review by HubbleRubbleFan

5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by HubbleRubbleFan
by HubbleRubbleFan

After just a few matches I am ready to take the champ! The micro series with a good set-up is very handy. It's great casting puts you in the perfect hot spot. With a little practice you'll be ready to take on the king.

HubbleRubbleFan
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Too short
3/13/2016

Customer review by Fowelllandscaping

2.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Fowelllandscaping
by Fowelllandscaping

Too short doesn't cast good

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fowelllandscaping
Would recommend to a friend? No
bail springs
1/29/2016

Customer review by TRW 62

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by TRW 62
by TRW 62

I bought two micro series spinning combos and after 60 days I decided on a refund at the local department store . I really liked the four and a half foot rod , but after exchanging out 5 combos because of bail springs , I decided that all the running to town was cutting into my fishing time on the weekends . [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TRW 62
Kirksville, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
For the money it fishes with the best of the them!
1/28/2016

Customer review by General Tso

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by General Tso
by General Tso

Good quality affordable price your products dollar for dollar great value! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

General Tso
Union, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great from my pontoon boat
1/9/2016

Customer review by Blakeb1

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Blakeb1
by Blakeb1

Liked it so much I have three that I carry. Great castability and versatility. Sensitive yet strong. Caught some of the biggest trout of my life this year thanks in no small part to them. Got 3-4 buddies hooked on them too! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Blakeb1
Flagstaff, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
not worth the trouble
8/7/2014

Customer review by chuckinky

1.0 stars 8/7/2014 by chuckinky
by chuckinky

bought this combo to trout fish. it often will wind line below the spool sometimes going under spool and getting wrapped up on inner shaft.and shaft nut keeps backing off . will be returning for refund.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuckinky
Would recommend to a friend? No
overall its good
3/17/2015

Customer review by rob421

4.0 stars 3/17/2015 by rob421
by rob421

these rods work great for stream fishing. I love the light weight design and the sensitivity. I fish with it every other weekend but I broke 3 of them within 2 1/2 years, broke the first 2 from trying to un snag my my hook across/in the creek i was using braided line I think that's why i pushed the pole over its designed weight limit and the other one was from not paying attention to the rod tip, but I keep on coming back for more. cant really go wrong with this setup. to be honest its the perfect pole for camping and hiking. give it a shot you'll be glad that you did p.s. the reel is fine no problems at all

rob421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews