Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

17 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

17 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-17 of 17 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Fun for kids and adults alike!!
6/16/2013

Customer review by AquaGoat

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by AquaGoat
by AquaGoat

I bought one of these combos approximately four years ago and it's still going strong. With any fishing reel there is some maintenance involved, but as long as you occasionally oil and grease them, they'll keep going. I've caught bream, bass and catfish on this combo and it doesn't miss a lick. I did change the fishing line that came on it from 4 lb mono to 15lb Spiderwire braid and I use an 8lb leader (approx 4 feet in length) of Trilene XL armor coated, but I hate to lose fish and I have more confidence in the braid w/ leader. The rod has a great ultra light action, so a two pound bass is an awesome fight. I especially like the length of the rod [mine is a 4' 6"] which allows me to be in some pretty tight areas around trees and overhanging limbs and still be able to cast with accuracy. Lastly, who can argue the price? Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, it's a great little combo. Go get yourself one, I think you'll be impressed!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AquaGoat
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awsome little fishing rod
8/2/2013

Customer review by Velimir

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Velimir
by Velimir

I've had this rod for a few years, and it's one of the best bang-for-the-buck purchases I've ever made. I've used it many times to fish from the lake shore. It can actually reel in bigger fish than the 4lb. line it comes with. I love the slip-proof cork handle. The rod itself is light, easily flickable with the wrist, and allows very good feel of even the tiniest bluegill hitting the lure. I disassembled the reel once already and restored it's performance to factory. I've caught legal sized lake trout and black bass, a pikeminnow, and quite a few bluegill over the years with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Velimir
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
4/18/2013

Customer review by Razzamanazz

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Razzamanazz
by Razzamanazz

If a person wanted a rod and reel in small pkg., this is for that person.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Razzamanazz
Medina, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It broke the first time I used it
7/3/2014

Customer review by boredfisherman

1.0 stars 7/3/2014 by boredfisherman
by boredfisherman

It broke the first time I used it. The fish was very small, so it wasn't like I used it incorrectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boredfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/13/2013

Customer review by MississippiFishermen

1.0 stars 10/13/2013 by MississippiFishermen
by MississippiFishermen

I bought this rod to be simple little bream/perch rod. I expected nothing more out of it, I left the 4 pound line on it and treated the rod very gently because I was a little unsure of "ultralight rods" being I have seen some people have success with them and I have also seen a lot of them break for absolutely no reason. On the first trip fishing with this rod, I had enough time to catch one rock bass/goggle eye and hang a couple very small bass (we're talking 6-10 inch bass here, not anything near the 4-6 pounds this rod is rated for) and I did not pick the fish up with the rod or anything because as I said: I was a little unsure about it. I had always heard Shakespeare made good reels and I hoped rods being as why I didn't buy the uglystik. But, to my expectation when all I did was pull my little grub in on the bank and set my rod down gently to remove the grass off of the grub about 3-4 inchs of the rod tip broke under absolutely no more pressure than it should have been designed to handle. So little of pressure, it kind of surprised me. Mine might of just been a defect, but I'd suggest an Uglystik or some other type of rod that is known to hold up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MississippiFishermen
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
great rod and reel
6/15/2014

Customer review by JustinB23

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by JustinB23
by JustinB23

nifty little rod and reel. throw in a hook and a senko worm and your set. very light and sensitive. throw it in your truck for whenever you see a pond. 

JustinB23
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love This Little Combo
6/13/2014

Customer review by Topkick1

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by Topkick1
by Topkick1

Have been using the micro combo for over a year for crappie. Last trip to Guntersville Lake, Alabama caught a 4# + largemouth on it with no issues. Had to do some back reeling but both the rod and reel handled it with no problems. Have also caught hybrid and cats on it when fishing for crappie. Can't "horse 'em" but the rod and reel stood up no problem.

Topkick1
Alabama, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo
2/16/2015

Customer review by Blacksmith

5.0 stars 2/16/2015 by Blacksmith
by Blacksmith

I own several Shakespeare combos and they are by far the value and the toughest rods on the market. I love them more than my expensive rods.

Blacksmith
Missouri, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great casting
7/20/2015

Customer review by spinncastingrich

5.0 stars 7/20/2015 by spinncastingrich
by spinncastingrich

casts a mile reels smoth and fast ,7 ft allows presice bait placement ,

spinncastingrich
den ,co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great ultra rod
6/4/2015

Customer review by Gb721

4.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Gb721
by Gb721

Nice light reel, can feel the fish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gb721
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
overall its good
3/17/2015

Customer review by rob421

4.0 stars 3/17/2015 by rob421
by rob421

these rods work great for stream fishing. I love the light weight design and the sensitivity. I fish with it every other weekend but I broke 3 of them within 2 1/2 years, broke the first 2 from trying to un snag my my hook across/in the creek i was using braided line I think that's why i pushed the pole over its designed weight limit and the other one was from not paying attention to the rod tip, but I keep on coming back for more. cant really go wrong with this setup. to be honest its the perfect pole for camping and hiking. give it a shot you'll be glad that you did p.s. the reel is fine no problems at all

rob421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Drag system easily lost, not secured with screws
4/30/2015

Customer review by Reeler

3.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Reeler
by Reeler

I bought this combo less than a year ago and was happy it until it fell apart when some of the line was caught under the spool. It managed to pop the poorly designed retaining washer so the spring and metal engagement to the drag are lost. The retaining washer has tabs that grip the plastic nub to hold the spring in place. Cheap. Hopefully cheap to replace I like the combo other than that. We will see how Shakespeare's warranty/ customer service works out.

Reeler
Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Male
not worth the trouble
8/7/2014

Customer review by chuckinky

1.0 stars 8/7/2014 by chuckinky
by chuckinky

bought this combo to trout fish. it often will wind line below the spool sometimes going under spool and getting wrapped up on inner shaft.and shaft nut keeps backing off . will be returning for refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuckinky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
7/28/2015

Customer review by AC870

1.0 stars 7/28/2015 by AC870
by AC870

I bought one for bluegill fishing. Ongoing issues with line getting under spool plus tip breaks easily. Save your money and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AC870
Would recommend to a friend? No
rod tips break on first use
6/1/2014

Customer review by cbram69

1.0 stars 6/1/2014 by cbram69
by cbram69

i purchased a 7 foot ultralight and the first time I took it out, the rod tip broke off within 2 hours. I exchanged it and got the 5 foot ultralight model instead, on the 15th cast the tip broke off on this rod also. I will not exchanged this out I will put it right where it belongs, in the trash can

cbram69
Columbia, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
3/21/2015

Customer review by DW34

1.0 stars 3/21/2015 by DW34
by DW34

I bought a Shakespeare Micro Series spinning combo model# MGSP461UL 4'6" rod in October 2014. The first time Trout fishing this year and after only 5-6 casts, this rod broke into. I am very disappointed in this product and would not recommend it to anyone...

DW34
Richwood, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Rod broke....
6/22/2015

Customer review by Wess

1.0 stars 6/22/2015 by Wess
by Wess

Bought this combo yesterday (6/20/15) Took it out this morning, after catching 3 small bluegill rod broke 5" front the top

Wess
Louisiana, United States
Gender:Male