Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

14 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

14 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-14 of 14 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

It was ALRIGHT
9/12/2013

Customer review by DirectionerForevs

3.0 stars 9/12/2013 by DirectionerForevs
by DirectionerForevs

I bought this dye to dye my hair tips sort of a deep dark red. The bleach worked very well and i actually kept the blonde tips for a few days before dying it red. After about 15 minutes with the dye in my hair i washed it out and it turned out to be a really pretty color, not the red i wanted but still really pretty. I found some advice online that told me to shower with cold water and to only wash my hair once in 3 days. I followed these guidelines but still after about a week and a have my hair looks sort of orange now and im pretty sure i going to cut it off since i dont want it anymore. I think its a good value if you only want your hair for a month, dont let the bad reviews stop you. Im only 13 and this kit was extremely easy for me to use and if you are interested you can see my hair below after the bleach and after the red ( the red is actually quite a bit darker than the picture)

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DirectionerForevs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great hair dye for Red!
5/29/2014

Customer review by Yasighra

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Yasighra
by Yasighra

I recently have dyed my dark hair to this beautiful crimson red/magenta. I have been dying my hair for years and this has to be my favorite. Its a two step process so if you have dark hair, you have to bleach it for this color to take well and last really long. I had black. Bleaching your hair is a at your own risk, no bleach is non harmful to your hair. I left the bleach on for about 30 min till it was a orange base color instead of super yellow, i did not want a bright bright red. Dont use shampoo just Wash it out really well and let it air dry because your hair will be brittle after the bleach. This is red dye, it stains and it will get everywhere be prepared to clean up and protect anything white. Use vaseline for your skin and gloves for your hands, this is hard to get off. I use a 99cent lemon wood floor soup to remove any stains, trick I learned in art school. After dying wash out again really well without shampoo. Allow the dye to settle for a day ortwo before a good wash. This dye is strong and will leave your scalp stained, just scrub well when shampooing. You must do your hw and be prepared to taken on a second job of mainting red hair, or else it will fade out quickly no matter what dye you use. And red hair will always bleed red dye when washing. Use cold water only, hot fades out any color quickly. I use matrix color care shampoo and a regular conditioner- with a drop of red dye in it every two washes. It adds color to your hair without being harsh. Hope this helps, i wish someone had before I first dyed my hair this color

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yasighra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great color very bright. Color bleeds and stains.
2/19/2014

Customer review by avidreaader12

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by avidreaader12
by avidreaader12

This product is great if you want bright color. You don't have to use the bleach when you dye. The bottle may seem small but it is very runny so one bottle should be enough for shoulder length hair. The only bad things are that for the first couple days that it gets wet (like in the shower or in the rain) it bleeds color, this means the color you have the first day will not be the color you have later. Also this product will stain any surface it touches. My tub is pink which will come off with bleach (my advice is to wait a couple days until your hair stops bleeding color. ) It will come off of walls with alcohol and baking soda. If you get it on your hands just wash with soap and baking soda.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avidreaader12
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!(:
5/9/2013

Customer review by hellosarahscream

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by hellosarahscream
by hellosarahscream

It definitely did not turn out the red as shown on the box, but it still turned out great. I absolutely love the color it turned out. It didn't turn a bright pink, but the same as a manic panic red i had used before. And it lasts a bit longer :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hellosarahscream
Port Huron, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Crimson Is Awesome Color
2/18/2014

Customer review by Pixie911

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Pixie911
by Pixie911

I dyed my daughter's hair with Splat Crimson Obsession and it turned out just that, crimson without bleaching and her hair is medium brown naturally. It is not supposed to be a bright red, it is supposed to be dark, so if you are looking for a bright red you need to go with Rasberry. I've tried several different brands on her hair since then and none of them turned out as pretty or lasted as long.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pixie911
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love this color
10/23/2013

Customer review by TDA1969

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by TDA1969
by TDA1969

This was my first experience with Splat and I will say that it is extremely messy and stains quickly. The color however is BEAUTIFUL. I didn't bleach my hair prior to coloring only because my hair was already a very light blonde and the color turned out exactly as on the box. I have washed my hair 3 times since (once a week with sulfate free conditioner only) and the color is lasting nicely.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDA1969
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Never again!
11/26/2013

Customer review by SquishiesMom

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by SquishiesMom
by SquishiesMom

I have been dying my hair for years and years with many different brands/colors and when I saw this beautiful color I was so excited. My hair normally takes to any color I have thrown at it... except this one. My problems are that the dye is BEYOND runny (it was like using pure water), it stains anything it touches (I know hair dye stains but this one got on my wrist and would not come off for well over a week). The only thing it would not stain is my hair as the color came out totally different from the color on the box and was majorly uneven. I will never use this brand again... as a matter of fact I make a face at it on the shelf every time I walk by it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SquishiesMom
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
color fades fast
3/6/2014

Customer review by kelsey13

1.0 stars 3/6/2014 by kelsey13
by kelsey13

The color is already fading out of my hair and it has been only a week. Usually when i get red or regular hair dyes it stays in and doesnt fade that fast. Also it stains too easily.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelsey13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/20/2013

Customer review by redhead23535354

1.0 stars 3/20/2013 by redhead23535354
by redhead23535354

worst hair color ever!!!!!!!!!! I dye my hair bright red with manic panic, adore, and many other brands. I have used splat luscious raspberries many times and had great results, so i saw this and thought hmm maybe this will look cool! cause its a darker red. WRONG. it turned my beautiful bright red hair dark muddy brown! almost black! with a slight red tint. so ugly. i am so disappointed. i have shampooed it with dish soap 7 times and it wont come out. at all. DO NOT BUY YOU UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR BLEACHED HAIR TO TURN BLACK.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redhead23535354
raleigh, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great color but not easy to use.
8/1/2014

Customer review by Nena1Ziva

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Nena1Ziva
by Nena1Ziva

Would recommend for someone who knows how to dye hair. Difficult to do by yourself but color looks very nice when completed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nena1Ziva
Whitehall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this dye!
8/3/2014

Customer review by keytobri

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by keytobri
by keytobri

This dye was easy to use. I just recommend putting a towel around your shoulders and wearing an old shirt. Clip your hair up after your done. This didn't stain my tub after like most people are saying. This dye stayed in for 2 months, the same color it was the day I dyed it. I bleached it to change my hair color. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keytobri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Color not as portrayed.
3/22/2013

Customer review by Briruce

1.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Briruce
by Briruce

I had slightly different results from the previous reviewer although in the end still bad. I used the bleach first as directed for truer color results. My hair turned out a very bright,not all that pretty pink. Was NOT the pretty deep red on the box. Went to my hairdresser to try and pull the pink out, used 40 developer with green and blue shots, after an hour the pink had lightened to cotton candy colored but in the end would not budge. Apparently it is a metallic dye or something. We ended up going over it with pravana vivid since we could not pull the color out. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Briruce
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Horrible Product
7/13/2014

Customer review by MidnightMindReader

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by MidnightMindReader
by MidnightMindReader

I bought this color hoping it was going to be the one that I had been looking for. When I used the bleach kit that came with the it made my hair a horrible orange, easy to fix just went out and bought some good bleaching powder and developer and fixed my hair to a nice shade of blonde. I decided to keep my hair the blonde so my sister said she wanted it. So we bleached her hair (with the expensive bleaching powder and developer) then dyed her hair with the splat color, left it on the amount of time that it said to. We rinsed her hair until it came out clear, however the color died EVERYTHING, our bathtub now looks like a murder happened in it. When the color was coming out it started to burn her skin and that was with very little contact with it. It is not a deep crimson it is a light pink. Never before have I had a problem this bad. I will NEVER buy splat again, if I see anyone looking at the product I will tell them if they used it they will end up more disappointed than happy so hopefully no one will be as disappointed as my sister and I are. The label on the box should warn everyone that it will bleed with any kind of contact with water/sweat. Hand sanitizer is the best thing to have on hand, just touching my sisters hair now dyed anything, hand sanitizer at least cleans it off again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidnightMindReader
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Group outdoor activity
6/12/2015

Customer review by Michelle

2.0 stars 6/12/2015 by Michelle
by Michelle

I decided to try this color. I have colored my hair for years and had no problem. None. Nada. For those saying the bad reviews didn't know what they were doing, I'm not sure what else I could have done with the problems I had. IF you decide to use this, I suggest, at least 3 dark towels, lots of extra gloves, multiple sets of dark clothes, a hose and 3 friends. Is is best as an outdoor activity. If you don't want everything to turn pink. I'd read mixed reviews so I was wary before I even started. I have dark hair but decided not to bleach because of the horror stories I'd read and I've never done it before. With my luck I'd end up bald. Before I started, I read, re-read and consulted with a friend whose daughter uses this brand and color. I read and re-read the warnings of not letting it touch your clothes or skin because it would turn it pink. Yes, it does. Everything. YET, they only provide one pair of gloves. I layered everything in the bathroom with newspaper. The process time of the color is vague. "Process 30 min to an hour. If you have thick hair, add 30 min." I have short hair but it's thick, so do I process an hour and a half, just an hour or what? I ended up letting it process for about an hour. Now the rinsing. The instructions said rinse until the water is clear. After 2 hours, let me repeat, T.W.O. H.O.U.R.S., the water N.E.V.E.R. ran clear. The resulting color was ok. The top of my head was an awesome Crimson color, but the rest was darker. In the sunlight, you could see a lot more red. The color would have been more vibrant if I had bleached it, but I wasn't willing to risk bleaching it myself. For those of you with positive reviews, good for you! But please tell me what the averag

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michelle
Would recommend to a friend? No