Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.9out of 5 stars
2.9 out of 5 | 32 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
Sort by: 
1-20 of 32 reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Best Hair Dye!
5/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using splat for about 5 years now! Honestly my go to always. I've never followed the instructions with the dye, I always put it in before I go to bed or let it sit for 12 hours.. yes 12 hours. Splat is ammonia free so there is no damage being done. Always lasts me about 2 months before I have to touch it up. Love!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It was ALRIGHT
9/12/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this dye to dye my hair tips sort of a deep dark red. The bleach worked very well and i actually kept the blonde tips for a few days before dying it red. After about 15 minutes with the dye in my hair i washed it out and it turned out to be a really pretty color, not the red i wanted but still really pretty. I found some advice online that told me to shower with cold water and to only wash my hair once in 3 days. I followed these guidelines but still after about a week and a have my hair looks sort of orange now and im pretty sure i going to cut it off since i dont want it anymore. I think its a good value if you only want your hair for a month, dont let the bad reviews stop you. Im only 13 and this kit was extremely easy for me to use and if you are interested you can see my hair below after the bleach and after the red ( the red is actually quite a bit darker than the picture)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (35)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never again
5/20/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used the midnight indigo, the color turned out nice. It was to much like ink. Stained everything it came in contact with including skin. The color was slightly uneven and bled a lot. DO NOT put on scalp!! I honestly believe it is pure ink.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this product!
10/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been coloring my hair for at least 15 years. This was my first time trying SPLAT. I followed the recommended time to the T, and my results gave me the look I wanted. I love my hair, and people keep telling me they love the color. I plan on using this again and again. My hair started off black, I gave myself and ombre look.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked great for me
6/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used purple desire and left the bleach on my dreads for about an hour and then the dye for about 2 hours and it's very vibrant!:) I don't plan on using any stripping shampoo while I have the color in, vinagear rinses will do just fine. So hopefully the color will last a while:)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible!
5/9/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used the burgundy splat and it turned my hair a pinkish orange it's the worst dye I've ever used please please just say no! It will seriously mess up your hair!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extremely gorgeous (messy) color.
9/20/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My name is Katelina and i am a licenced cosmo. I'm never a fan of boxed dyes but no color compares with Splats "crimson obsession" I'M OBSESSED! It will stain everything so cover anything it may come in contact with (including yourself). My advice to receive optimal results are -don't bleach to pale blonde (only medium orange) because it may turn out pink if you do. -leave it on for an hour to an hour and a half -it will not ever run clear and will stain all towels clothes and sheets when wet. -only wash with cold- Luke warm water (never hot) I've literally used this color for 2 years now and I love it follow all the rules along with my tips and prepare for gorgeous crimson red hair! Good luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great color very bright. Color bleeds and stains.
2/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is great if you want bright color. You don't have to use the bleach when you dye. The bottle may seem small but it is very runny so one bottle should be enough for shoulder length hair. The only bad things are that for the first couple days that it gets wet (like in the shower or in the rain) it bleeds color, this means the color you have the first day will not be the color you have later. Also this product will stain any surface it touches. My tub is pink which will come off with bleach (my advice is to wait a couple days until your hair stops bleeding color. ) It will come off of walls with alcohol and baking soda. If you get it on your hands just wash with soap and baking soda.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Crimson Is Awesome Color
2/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I dyed my daughter's hair with Splat Crimson Obsession and it turned out just that, crimson without bleaching and her hair is medium brown naturally. It is not supposed to be a bright red, it is supposed to be dark, so if you are looking for a bright red you need to go with Rasberry. I've tried several different brands on her hair since then and none of them turned out as pretty or lasted as long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hair dye for Red!
5/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I recently have dyed my dark hair to this beautiful crimson red/magenta. I have been dying my hair for years and this has to be my favorite. Its a two step process so if you have dark hair, you have to bleach it for this color to take well and last really long. I had black. Bleaching your hair is a at your own risk, no bleach is non harmful to your hair. I left the bleach on for about 30 min till it was a orange base color instead of super yellow, i did not want a bright bright red. Dont use shampoo just Wash it out really well and let it air dry because your hair will be brittle after the bleach. This is red dye, it stains and it will get everywhere be prepared to clean up and protect anything white. Use vaseline for your skin and gloves for your hands, this is hard to get off. I use a 99cent lemon wood floor soup to remove any stains, trick I learned in art school. After dying wash out again really well without shampoo. Allow the dye to settle for a day ortwo before a good wash. This dye is strong and will leave your scalp stained, just scrub well when shampooing. You must do your hw and be prepared to taken on a second job of mainting red hair, or else it will fade out quickly no matter what dye you use. And red hair will always bleed red dye when washing. Use cold water only, hot fades out any color quickly. I use matrix color care shampoo and a regular conditioner- with a drop of red dye in it every two washes. It adds color to your hair without being harsh. Hope this helps, i wish someone had before I first dyed my hair this color
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best dye
4/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Honestly this dye is the best out there. I leave it on for about three hours and the color lasts me TWO months! I personally don't use the bleach it provides anymore because it doesn't do much on my naturally extremely black thick hair but when I used it once it definitely left my hair soft, just don't go over the suggested time! With the dye however, you can leave it as long as you want since its a concentrated color it won't damage your hair. My frizzy bleached hair actually comes out nice and soft after rinsing the dye out!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great!(:
5/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It definitely did not turn out the red as shown on the box, but it still turned out great. I absolutely love the color it turned out. It didn't turn a bright pink, but the same as a manic panic red i had used before. And it lasts a bit longer :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this color
10/23/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was my first experience with Splat and I will say that it is extremely messy and stains quickly. The color however is BEAUTIFUL. I didn't bleach my hair prior to coloring only because my hair was already a very light blonde and the color turned out exactly as on the box. I have washed my hair 3 times since (once a week with sulfate free conditioner only) and the color is lasting nicely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this dye!
8/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This dye was easy to use. I just recommend putting a towel around your shoulders and wearing an old shirt. Clip your hair up after your done. This didn't stain my tub after like most people are saying. This dye stayed in for 2 months, the same color it was the day I dyed it. I bleached it to change my hair color. I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like it!
7/19/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My hair was a golden brown. I didn't use the bleach and just put the Crimson obsession color on the brown. It came out cute! It's red and looks like it has black lowlights. Pretty sure it'd all be red if I would've bleached it. Color is runny but, if you're careful you want have any problems. My water never ran clear when washing it out and it didn't stain my shower. I would recommend a dark colored towel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Color not as portrayed.
3/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had slightly different results from the previous reviewer although in the end still bad. I used the bleach first as directed for truer color results. My hair turned out a very bright,not all that pretty pink. Was NOT the pretty deep red on the box. Went to my hairdresser to try and pull the pink out, used 40 developer with green and blue shots, after an hour the pink had lightened to cotton candy colored but in the end would not budge. Apparently it is a metallic dye or something. We ended up going over it with pravana vivid since we could not pull the color out. Oh well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never again!
11/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been dying my hair for years and years with many different brands/colors and when I saw this beautiful color I was so excited. My hair normally takes to any color I have thrown at it... except this one. My problems are that the dye is BEYOND runny (it was like using pure water), it stains anything it touches (I know hair dye stains but this one got on my wrist and would not come off for well over a week). The only thing it would not stain is my hair as the color came out totally different from the color on the box and was majorly uneven. I will never use this brand again... as a matter of fact I make a face at it on the shelf every time I walk by it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great color but not easy to use.
8/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Would recommend for someone who knows how to dye hair. Difficult to do by yourself but color looks very nice when completed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy this product
2/15/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've dyed my hair many times and I've used many different brands of semi-permanent colors. Do not get this horrible dye in any color. This dye is super thin like ink, stains everything, and does not take to the hair consistently. It is very splotchy. The colors are pretty but I do not see it lasting long at all even with washing it in cool water. If you run your hand or brush through it (when its dry) the color still comes off and stains. Your pillows and shirts will be stained. I suggest using Manic Panic or any other brand. I've never had this issue. The only thing this product is good for is the bleach inside. It works so well and did not irritate my skin or damage my hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/20/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
worst hair color ever!!!!!!!!!! I dye my hair bright red with manic panic, adore, and many other brands. I have used splat luscious raspberries many times and had great results, so i saw this and thought hmm maybe this will look cool! cause its a darker red. WRONG. it turned my beautiful bright red hair dark muddy brown! almost black! with a slight red tint. so ugly. i am so disappointed. i have shampooed it with dish soap 7 times and it wont come out. at all. DO NOT BUY YOU UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR BLEACHED HAIR TO TURN BLACK.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-