Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 25 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
It was ALRIGHT
9/12/2013

Customer review by DirectionerForevs

3.0 stars 9/12/2013 by DirectionerForevs
by DirectionerForevs

I bought this dye to dye my hair tips sort of a deep dark red. The bleach worked very well and i actually kept the blonde tips for a few days before dying it red. After about 15 minutes with the dye in my hair i washed it out and it turned out to be a really pretty color, not the red i wanted but still really pretty. I found some advice online that told me to shower with cold water and to only wash my hair once in 3 days. I followed these guidelines but still after about a week and a have my hair looks sort of orange now and im pretty sure i going to cut it off since i dont want it anymore. I think its a good value if you only want your hair for a month, dont let the bad reviews stop you. Im only 13 and this kit was extremely easy for me to use and if you are interested you can see my hair below after the bleach and after the red ( the red is actually quite a bit darker than the picture)

Was this review helpful? (48) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DirectionerForevs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Best dye
4/29/2016

Customer review by badcheese

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by badcheese
by badcheese

Honestly this dye is the best out there. I leave it on for about three hours and the color lasts me TWO months! I personally don't use the bleach it provides anymore because it doesn't do much on my naturally extremely black thick hair but when I used it once it definitely left my hair soft, just don't go over the suggested time! With the dye however, you can leave it as long as you want since its a concentrated color it won't damage your hair. My frizzy bleached hair actually comes out nice and soft after rinsing the dye out!

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badcheese
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it!
7/19/2016

Customer review by Whit

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Whit
by Whit

My hair was a golden brown. I didn't use the bleach and just put the Crimson obsession color on the brown. It came out cute! It's red and looks like it has black lowlights. Pretty sure it'd all be red if I would've bleached it. Color is runny but, if you're careful you want have any problems. My water never ran clear when washing it out and it didn't stain my shower. I would recommend a dark colored towel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely gorgeous (messy) color.
9/20/2015

Customer review by Katt

5.0 stars 9/20/2015 by Katt
by Katt

My name is Katelina and i am a licenced cosmo. I'm never a fan of boxed dyes but no color compares with Splats "crimson obsession" I'M OBSESSED! It will stain everything so cover anything it may come in contact with (including yourself). My advice to receive optimal results are -don't bleach to pale blonde (only medium orange) because it may turn out pink if you do. -leave it on for an hour to an hour and a half -it will not ever run clear and will stain all towels clothes and sheets when wet. -only wash with cold- Luke warm water (never hot) I've literally used this color for 2 years now and I love it follow all the rules along with my tips and prepare for gorgeous crimson red hair! Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (57) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great color very bright. Color bleeds and stains.
2/19/2014

Customer review by avidreaader12

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by avidreaader12
by avidreaader12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is great if you want bright color. You don't have to use the bleach when you dye. The bottle may seem small but it is very runny so one bottle should be enough for shoulder length hair. The only bad things are that for the first couple days that it gets wet (like in the shower or in the rain) it bleeds color, this means the color you have the first day will not be the color you have later. Also this product will stain any surface it touches. My tub is pink which will come off with bleach (my advice is to wait a couple days until your hair stops bleeding color. ) It will come off of walls with alcohol and baking soda. If you get it on your hands just wash with soap and baking soda.

Was this review helpful? (54) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avidreaader12
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved it
6/20/2016

Customer review by Kccat

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Kccat
by Kccat

Make sure you use a lot of Vaseline and cover all surfaces otherwise I love the color very vibrant and I plan on keeping it

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kccat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Red Starter
4/22/2016

Customer review by 5fam4isu

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by 5fam4isu
by 5fam4isu

As far as becoming a red head we all know it's difficult. With this kit using the bleach for a little less tan recommended time will allow brunettes to have that deeper red. I suggest getting another box of red hair dye this brand or john Friedas reds to keep up and saturate hair so that eventually your red stays until roots start showing. Cold water and a good save color shampoo is important tips f I r keeping the red.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5fam4isu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great hair dye for Red!
5/29/2014

Customer review by Yasighra

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Yasighra
by Yasighra
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently have dyed my dark hair to this beautiful crimson red/magenta. I have been dying my hair for years and this has to be my favorite. Its a two step process so if you have dark hair, you have to bleach it for this color to take well and last really long. I had black. Bleaching your hair is a at your own risk, no bleach is non harmful to your hair. I left the bleach on for about 30 min till it was a orange base color instead of super yellow, i did not want a bright bright red. Dont use shampoo just Wash it out really well and let it air dry because your hair will be brittle after the bleach. This is red dye, it stains and it will get everywhere be prepared to clean up and protect anything white. Use vaseline for your skin and gloves for your hands, this is hard to get off. I use a 99cent lemon wood floor soup to remove any stains, trick I learned in art school. After dying wash out again really well without shampoo. Allow the dye to settle for a day ortwo before a good wash. This dye is strong and will leave your scalp stained, just scrub well when shampooing. You must do your hw and be prepared to taken on a second job of mainting red hair, or else it will fade out quickly no matter what dye you use. And red hair will always bleed red dye when washing. Use cold water only, hot fades out any color quickly. I use matrix color care shampoo and a regular conditioner- with a drop of red dye in it every two washes. It adds color to your hair without being harsh. Hope this helps, i wish someone had before I first dyed my hair this color

Was this review helpful? (66) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yasighra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Crimson Is Awesome Color
2/18/2014

Customer review by Pixie911

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Pixie911
by Pixie911

I dyed my daughter's hair with Splat Crimson Obsession and it turned out just that, crimson without bleaching and her hair is medium brown naturally. It is not supposed to be a bright red, it is supposed to be dark, so if you are looking for a bright red you need to go with Rasberry. I've tried several different brands on her hair since then and none of them turned out as pretty or lasted as long.

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pixie911
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great!(:
5/9/2013

Customer review by hellosarahscream

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by hellosarahscream
by hellosarahscream

It definitely did not turn out the red as shown on the box, but it still turned out great. I absolutely love the color it turned out. It didn't turn a bright pink, but the same as a manic panic red i had used before. And it lasts a bit longer :)

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hellosarahscream
Port Huron, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
lul
3/30/2016

Customer review by cathy

1.0 stars 3/30/2016 by cathy
by cathy

This product is horrible I honestly never going to try buying this product ever again. It stains everything it's a mess do not recommend

Was this review helpful? (12) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cathy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this color
10/23/2013

Customer review by TDA1969

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by TDA1969
by TDA1969

This was my first experience with Splat and I will say that it is extremely messy and stains quickly. The color however is BEAUTIFUL. I didn't bleach my hair prior to coloring only because my hair was already a very light blonde and the color turned out exactly as on the box. I have washed my hair 3 times since (once a week with sulfate free conditioner only) and the color is lasting nicely.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDA1969
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Do not buy this product
2/15/2016

Customer review by Katy

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Katy
by Katy

I've dyed my hair many times and I've used many different brands of semi-permanent colors. Do not get this horrible dye in any color. This dye is super thin like ink, stains everything, and does not take to the hair consistently. It is very splotchy. The colors are pretty but I do not see it lasting long at all even with washing it in cool water. If you run your hand or brush through it (when its dry) the color still comes off and stains. Your pillows and shirts will be stained. I suggest using Manic Panic or any other brand. I've never had this issue. The only thing this product is good for is the bleach inside. It works so well and did not irritate my skin or damage my hair.

Was this review helpful? (9) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Color not as portrayed.
3/22/2013

Customer review by Briruce

1.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Briruce
by Briruce

I had slightly different results from the previous reviewer although in the end still bad. I used the bleach first as directed for truer color results. My hair turned out a very bright,not all that pretty pink. Was NOT the pretty deep red on the box. Went to my hairdresser to try and pull the pink out, used 40 developer with green and blue shots, after an hour the pink had lightened to cotton candy colored but in the end would not budge. Apparently it is a metallic dye or something. We ended up going over it with pravana vivid since we could not pull the color out. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? (26) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Briruce
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Love this dye!
8/3/2014

Customer review by keytobri

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by keytobri
by keytobri

This dye was easy to use. I just recommend putting a towel around your shoulders and wearing an old shirt. Clip your hair up after your done. This didn't stain my tub after like most people are saying. This dye stayed in for 2 months, the same color it was the day I dyed it. I bleached it to change my hair color. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keytobri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't believe this stuff is still on shelves.
3/6/2016

Customer review by LittleRed

1.0 stars 3/6/2016 by LittleRed
by LittleRed

No. Please just say no.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleRed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not even worth one star. Will never buy again.
1/26/2016

Customer review by Grace

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Grace
by Grace

DO NOT BUY. HORRIBLE! Not even worth one star. My hair is a bright fluorescent magenta color. VERY UPSET!!!!!!!!! Plus it is extremely messy. STAINS EVERYTHING! Will never buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never again!
11/26/2013

Customer review by SquishiesMom

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by SquishiesMom
by SquishiesMom

I have been dying my hair for years and years with many different brands/colors and when I saw this beautiful color I was so excited. My hair normally takes to any color I have thrown at it... except this one. My problems are that the dye is BEYOND runny (it was like using pure water), it stains anything it touches (I know hair dye stains but this one got on my wrist and would not come off for well over a week). The only thing it would not stain is my hair as the color came out totally different from the color on the box and was majorly uneven. I will never use this brand again... as a matter of fact I make a face at it on the shelf every time I walk by it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SquishiesMom
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Great color but not easy to use.
8/1/2014

Customer review by Nena1Ziva

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Nena1Ziva
by Nena1Ziva
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would recommend for someone who knows how to dye hair. Difficult to do by yourself but color looks very nice when completed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nena1Ziva
Whitehall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/20/2013

Customer review by redhead23535354

1.0 stars 3/20/2013 by redhead23535354
by redhead23535354

worst hair color ever!!!!!!!!!! I dye my hair bright red with manic panic, adore, and many other brands. I have used splat luscious raspberries many times and had great results, so i saw this and thought hmm maybe this will look cool! cause its a darker red. WRONG. it turned my beautiful bright red hair dark muddy brown! almost black! with a slight red tint. so ugly. i am so disappointed. i have shampooed it with dish soap 7 times and it wont come out. at all. DO NOT BUY YOU UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR BLEACHED HAIR TO TURN BLACK.

Was this review helpful? (20) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redhead23535354
raleigh, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews