Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

78 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

78 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
37
1-20 of 76 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
do not buy
1/14/2014

Customer review by sunbug33

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by sunbug33
by sunbug33

this product is junk it is way to slow I could open 3 cans with my one touch compared to 1 can with this one and the tornado doesn't automatically stop when the can is done it just keeps going til u turn it off manually. where as the one touch stops once it gets the can cut the whole way around. the tornado does a bad job of cutting the can. eats batteries like crazy and is hard on the rechargeables. my hubby bought this as a replacement of my One touch cordless can opener that I had for years before I just wore it out.. I will be buying a one touch again and trashing this one. don't buy this product it is a waste of your money!!!! only reason I bought this was cause walmart stopped carrying the one touches in our store here. so I will be shopping online for a new can opener.. def is not worth the 20 bucks they charge!!! not even worth 2 bucks!!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunbug33
lewistown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
don't waste your money
1/1/2016

Customer review by MOMINO

1.0 stars 1/1/2016 by MOMINO
by MOMINO

this thing does not work at all, but it will definitely dance around the can as long as you let it, piece of junk, money maker for the manufacturer, I returned mine and stuck to my 30+ year old under the counter black and decker

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOMINO
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a pile of POOP.
12/29/2015

Customer review by TRUTH

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by TRUTH
by TRUTH

This was an absolute waste of $20. I would only recommend this to my ex-wife. DO NOT BUY THIS SO-CALLED CAN OPENER, IT IS JUNK PERIOD

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRUTH
Would recommend to a friend? No
A good product despite the nay sayers.
1/2/2016

Customer review by DBF68

4.0 stars 1/2/2016 by DBF68
by DBF68

Within the past couple of months, I bought this Tornado can opener for my 86 year old father and 78 year old mother. After many attempts to teach him, my father couldn't figure out how to use the Mainstays Safe Cut can opener, which is an awesome no-brainer can opener that's better than my previous Oxo version at half the cost. As for my mother, she has arthritis and strength issues with her hands. Initially, after reading the instructions, and using 4 AA NiMH Rayovac recharged batteries, it cut the lids off of cans just fine. It wasn't particular fast, but it did the job. There may be better versions of this type of can opener, like the Toucan, but this is the one I came across in the Home Kitchen department. Then one day, it stopped working for some reason. My multi-meter voltage tester showed the batteries were still fully charged. A similar test could have been done by inserting them in my small Maglite flashlight. So, since I'm technically inclined, I decided to open up the device to see if I could determine the problem. Long story short, the problem was that one of the stranded wire (solid wire would be better) electrical leads from the motor had broken away from a solder point connected to a battery terminal. After I re-soldered the line back to the battery terminal, the motor came to life all over the workbench. Suffice it say, it's a very powerful little motor. Afterwards, I just put everything back together an the unit has worked fine. Keep in mind that, possibly after a year or less of consistent use, the blade will dull, it won't cut well, and if will eventually stop cutting. Also, you might start to see thin metal strands being shaved from the can, which is something of a safety hazard around food, be it for person or pet. When that event starts happening, it'll be time to buy a new unit. It's kind of a shame you can't just replace the round blade, but that's the way of our disposable society. If you buy the Tornado, it's probably not a bad idea to buy either a spare set of 4 AA NiMH batteries that are perpetually in your sole charging station or buy an additional charging station that comes with NiMH batteries. The drawback might be that the charging station you buy might only come with 2 AA and 2 AAA NiMH batteries. That's the scenario I discovered last night with a Rayovac Value Charger I bought specifically for this Tornado can opener. So, I'll still have to buy another $8 4-pack of NiMH batteries to have a fully charged set. Nowadays, Rayovac, Energizer, and Duracell sell NiMH chargers with batteries and additional batteries that will charge in 1.5 to 2 hours. The Rayovac Value Charger I bought will recharge NiMH batteries in 8 hours, but that's not a big deal for me. The only drawback is that these newer NiMH battery chargers by all three big brand manufactures seem to require you to recharge batteries in sets of 2 or 4 at a time. So, if you've got 3 batteries that need charging, you're going to have to put and possibly keep a spare AA or AAA in one of the charger slots so battery 3 of 3 is detected and engages the charger. My old Rayovac NiMH charger lets me recharge 1-4 batteries at a time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBF68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Arthritic hands need this
1/10/2016

Customer review by petsofmine

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by petsofmine
by petsofmine

Product works fine, slow but fine, one touch seems okay for arthritic hands too soon to tell. Keep fresh batteries handy, cheap ones will not work, and opener will work fine. Has to be turned off after each use, seems like a design flaw, but will open cans.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petsofmine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage
10/11/2013

Customer review by ALRD41

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by ALRD41
by ALRD41

I bought this at my local store when I had to replace my old can opener that worked well for years. I am clearly not the first disappointed customer. Unfortunately, they don't post customer reviews on the store shelves. This thing opened MAYBE 5 cans before it completely stopped working, and even the 5 times it did work it took multiple attempts and was very slow. Admittedly, I didn't feel good about it when I bought it, but I never imagined it would be completely useless!

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALRD41
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/15/2013

Customer review by 60Rocker

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by 60Rocker
by 60Rocker

This can opener is very weak. You have to place it correctly or it will not work. It will not stop automatically. It uses twice the batteries(4 AAs) as my old opener. I could not find my old brand which I bought at WalMart witch worked very well, was very fast, and only used 2 AA batteries.

Was this review helpful? (118) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
60Rocker
Waterloo, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does Not Work
11/1/2015

Customer review by TheWoz

1.0 stars 11/1/2015 by TheWoz
by TheWoz

Purchased new double AA batteries and inserted them in product, didn't do anything at all, repackaged and in the process of returning it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheWoz
Would recommend to a friend? No
tornado can opener
11/14/2013

Customer review by sr46and49

1.0 stars 11/14/2013 by sr46and49
by sr46and49

It is not dependable at all. I am working with a second one within 3 weeks and cannot open any cans. It did open about 3 and quit.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sr46and49
Omaha,Ne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Save your money
11/15/2013

Customer review by JollyJimbo

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by JollyJimbo
by JollyJimbo

This thing (misnamed a can opener) is actually a piece of garbage. I've tried it with two different sets of batteries and all it does is grunt. Won't even pierce the can. I'm going to return in and get a corded can opener. At least I know that will work.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JollyJimbo
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great, great, great
1/6/2016

Customer review by shelro

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by shelro
by shelro

This little machine is great. I just hope that it last for a long time. It is a saver in the kitchen where time is always needed. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shelro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Met my expectations
6/20/2014

Customer review by mrbmrb

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by mrbmrb
by mrbmrb

I bought this for my wife, who has rheumatoid arthritis. She has used it several times and her only complaint is that it doesn't shut off automatically. it's not fast, however, it does not leave sharp edges. The magnet does not always hold the lid for removal (my wife actually has better success than I have). She had a little difficulty placing the opener onto a can with her first use, with no problems after that. I use rechargeable batteries and had to recharge them twice (not sure how often the opener is used). My wife's hands are weak and she likes the ease of the on/off button. She also says that the opener is a little heavy, however, that is not a complaint. I had bought a different cordless opener first and I had difficulty placing it on a can. She is satisfied with the Tornado opener.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrbmrb
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
7/17/2013

Customer review by BlackButterfly69

1.0 stars 7/17/2013 by BlackButterfly69
by BlackButterfly69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This can opener looks compact but DOES NOT WORK. I am disabled and have problems opening cans when fighting with arthritis pain. It does not fit on the can the way it should AND it also runs and will not stop running until I take the batteries out. Had another brand and it worked for years. This opener was cheaper than the first one I had but what good is it to be cheaper if it DOES NOT DO WHAT IT WAS PURCHASED TO DO.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackButterfly69
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!
12/29/2013

Customer review by PawsGal

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by PawsGal
by PawsGal

Made with cheap plastic; Difficult to get the back off to put the batteries in; Did NOT cut open the can only made indentations; Plus, the batteries wore down before it rotated completely around going very SLOWLY.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PawsGal
Would recommend to a friend? No
If you can use a regular can opener DO IT!
8/31/2013

Customer review by clockworkorange81

1.0 stars 8/31/2013 by clockworkorange81
by clockworkorange81

Got this for my mother with arthritis and carpel tunnel since she has trouble opening cans. It is SOOOOO SLOWWWW even with a brand new set of batteries. And on top of that it takes up to 4 times of going around the can before it finally opens (taking up to 5 minutes). The lid it cuts off is not smooth on the edges but the can is smooth. Plan on starting your meal early or having it later than expected with this can opening. Do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clockworkorange81
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage
12/2/2013

Customer review by lovemysaintbernard

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by lovemysaintbernard
by lovemysaintbernard

I bought this can opener in hopes of doing away with the corded can opener. Needless to say I will be returning this piece of garbage tomorrow. Took it out of the container and tried to open a can and it just sat there and grunted. Very disappointed!!! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK.....

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemysaintbernard
Somewhere in West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Junk, don't buy
3/28/2014

Customer review by Luvequines

1.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Luvequines
by Luvequines

awful in every way, had to return bad unit in less than a month. It spun around the can for minutes, I only got it to quit by removing the battery. They should all go back to China.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvequines
Sierra Vista, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great item
7/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought the one touch can opener at Walmart and it stopped working and died. It didn't last long at all. One of the associates told me they no longer carry that model. I don't know but wonder if they stopped selling it because of the same problems I experienced. I was disappointed in the quality of the One Touch. I purchased the Tornado And really like the look and feel. I noticed immediately that it is a better quality can opener. Two major benefits of the Tornado. First it cuts through really thick cans with no problem at all - It has a strong motor. Next The Tornado makes a safety cut so there are no sharp edges. This is great and gives me piece of mind with my grandchildren around. It also makes it safe and easy to store or even throw away cans. I would definitely recommend the a Tornado.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Look Ma, NO HANDS
2/21/2015

Customer review by Berni

4.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Berni
by Berni

I developed a "trigger finger", which made bending my thumb, or using a can opener impossible, for awhile. My husband got this opener for me and now I don't have to wait while he opens a can for me. It runs a little slow, but it does work.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Berni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tornado can opener
6/4/2015

Customer review by Nana

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Nana
by Nana

I love it - had shoulder surgery and needed something I could do with one hand for a while. It cuts cleanly with no raw edges.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews