Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 20 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good Machine, no frills or software
4/6/2013

Customer review by nielsentech

4.0 stars 4/6/2013 by nielsentech
by nielsentech

I got this for my wife and starting setting it up last night. It took a few days to ship to my location, but I was able to go to store and pick it up without any problems. All you get is a computer, keyboard, mouse, backup Windows 7 CD, and a power cord. After entering in the Windows product key, the system mostly sets itself up. I was actually pleased there were no additional software installed like the Office trial version. I will be installing Thunderbird for email and Open Office for applications, and I don't like having to remove a lot of pre-installed junk that can slow down a computer in some cases. If I don't need it, I like to get rid of it. I will also be installing the free version of AVG antivirus software. The PC does NOT come with WIFI and the full-height wireless adapter that I have will not fit in the low-profile slots (two, both available). It does have an Ethernet cable jack, so I can use it until I get a WIFI router that I am going to try setting up with that that will expand the WIFI coverage I currently have. Google searches indicate that you can do that if both routers have the same network name, so we will see. :-) The RAM and HD have enough space for what I wanted and the processor speed is fine as well, but it's not a duo-core CPU. No problem for email and browsing. Oh the computer has a one-year warranty, but NOT from DELL. Something that should have been mentioned in the description. This is a refurbished machine and the Warranty is through them. Because it's a Dell I feel the refurb is from the machine removed from service due to an upgrade. Mine has the Windows XP sticker that has been voided and a new Win 7 Home Premium "refurbish" sticker added on. Most Dells are darn reliable so I think my risk is warranted with the low cost of ownership. Heck, it costs almost $100 just to buy a copy of Windows...! If you are not a computer nerd you may want to pass on this machine, but if you know what you are doing it seems like a great deal on a late-model used machine.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nielsentech
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Completely disappointed!
4/10/2013

Customer review by hannasdad

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by hannasdad
by hannasdad

This product would not even boot up completely one time. The older couple I purchased this for did not get a chance at all to use this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hannasdad
Indianapolis, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/16/2013

Customer review by BigMike616

1.0 stars 4/16/2013 by BigMike616
by BigMike616

When I received the computer, the disc drive was broken and had to return item. I waited 2 weeks for this broken item, so I got my money back and bought another computer somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigMike616
Tomball, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
4/16/2013

Customer review by JuneBug9

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by JuneBug9
by JuneBug9

I had ordered a different refurbished computer (an HP) that did not work at all. (I was kind of prepared for this after reading the reviews.) I returned it to the store, no issues. I still wanted a simple, inexpensive pc, so I tried again, and this time ordered the Dell. Both PCs arrived much faster at the store than projected. It was easy to pick them up. The Dell did work, so I was happy. And it was $40 cheaper than the HP I had originally ordered. I already had a monitor, so did not need to buy one. Great value for a small business.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JuneBug9
Wynantskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not work
5/17/2013

Customer review by malofton

1.0 stars 5/17/2013 by malofton
by malofton

It did not work when I received it. I was able to send it back and they sent another one but it took a long time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
malofton
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/27/2013

Customer review by Kml720

1.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Kml720
by Kml720

The product was defective right out of the box. It had to be returned for exchange because of an issue with the CPU fan racing and very noisy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kml720
Sufflok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/16/2013

Customer review by tsread

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by tsread
by tsread

This was perfect for my mom who is in her late 70's, she can do her facebook and check her email and play her games. She is not one who needed a great big computer and was great on the budget

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tsread
Jasper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent and a surprise free AV pkg
6/5/2013

Customer review by FRANKINWASH

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by FRANKINWASH
by FRANKINWASH

Easy to set up. Well packaged. Clean and no wear or tear. New keyboard and mouse. This is my second computer refurb unit and they have removed any doubts I had. I got this and another Win 7 refurb as insurance against Win 8, per negative reviews. Now I see that MS is surrendering and putting out a WIn 8 point one later this year as a Hybrid which allows a more non Win 8 experience, Still glad I got this refurb. Especially surprising to me was that it came with Microsoft Security Essentials, a free antivirus and anti spyware product which appears to be competitive with other "paiy for" AV's. More $ saved! I guess this quietly became available as a free Windows download in the last year or so, and got by my attention. I am reconsidering forgoing my nest Norton AV buys for my other computers and downloading MSE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FRANKINWASH
Kitsap Penninsula, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Would be great...if it worked!
5/20/2013

Customer review by tuxxy

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by tuxxy
by tuxxy

I took a gamble after reading the ratings. It looked like about a 50-50 shot at getting a good computer. Well, I lost. The packaging was first rate, the shipping was fast and it was just what I needed (basic computing). It booted right up and then promptly gave me the first of several crashes followed by the dreaded 'Blue Screen of Death!' No matter what I tried it would not stay running. Wal-Mart was great when I returned it. I have no issues with them, But the refurbishers obviously didn't thoroughly test this Dell before shipping it out. I decided to spend a few extra bucks and get a new base model HP. No problems now. My advice...buy new. You never know what you're getting with a refurbished machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuxxy
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's ok
5/28/2013

Customer review by PJlovesWWE

3.0 stars 5/28/2013 by PJlovesWWE
by PJlovesWWE

Buyer beware, the operating system it comes with is Windows 7, but the version that comes with the refurbished computer DOES NOT have windows mail / e-mail on it. Please, take precation this is NOT a new computer, so don't expect much. If I could do it over, I would not buy this computer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PJlovesWWE
Gonzales
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent computer especially for a beginner.
5/20/2013

Customer review by ladyteesup

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by ladyteesup
by ladyteesup

I bought this for my 6yr old grandson knowing it was for his mother to use as well. It was easy set up and excellent. No problems and they love it. Thanks for making their happy home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyteesup
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/2/2013

Customer review by BIRD66655

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by BIRD66655
by BIRD66655

GREAT COMPUTER.FOR THE PRICE. I had no problems.Easy setup.I recommend to anyone.You'll be happy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIRD66655
Bakersfield,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/13/2013

Customer review by rhelle

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by rhelle
by rhelle

liked it so much bought 2nd one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhelle
greensboro nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
4/29/2013

Customer review by yankees500

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by yankees500
by yankees500

Friday i will own this pc 3 weeks.Pc was shipped quickly arrived super fast for standard shipping.When you first turn on it will go into automatic download programs for you since pc was cleanned.First several days it loaded programms after i click on shutdown allow it too run its course it be fine.The machince was nice on outside look new to me.So far no complaints.Thanks walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yankees500
va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
computer
6/11/2013

Customer review by hostile

4.0 stars 6/11/2013 by hostile
by hostile

The computer arrived as scheduled on a Friday. It would not run. Seemed to not have Windows installed but the instructions said not to install the enclosed Windows disc. Customer Service was closed for the week-end so called the Geek Squad. They told us that the company who refurbished it would have to help. We waited until Monday. After two hours waiting fifth in line on the phone, someone finally answered and told us to install the Windows disc. Once we did the computer worked fine but the printer would not. We called Geek Squad back and they fixed the printer problem, updated and fixed every issues, spent 8 hours and got the computer and printer running beautifully and our laptop connected and running beautifully. All is well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hostile
south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kids or Elderly
5/27/2013

Customer review by machagogo

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by machagogo
by machagogo

This is a perfect pc for those not doing much. I always recommend off lease products to people due to they are built with better cooling fans in them than home ps's.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
machagogo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good small home computer
6/12/2013

Customer review by doublek1962

4.0 stars 6/12/2013 by doublek1962
by doublek1962

this computer seems to meet all of my computer needs for a small at home system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doublek1962
wichita,ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fair for the price
5/19/2013

Customer review by Pamela162

2.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Pamela162
by Pamela162

It did not play any video properly. Most sounds to videos were good some were choppy. It is impossible to get in touch with the company to call if you you have issues. Other then video everything else worked good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pamela162
Hopkinton,RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never got to use it
5/12/2013

Customer review by TricieR

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by TricieR
by TricieR

Had to return b/c Windows was corrupted. Will try one more time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TricieR
Cordova, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer Won't Boot
7/11/2014

Customer review by OnceAConsumer

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by OnceAConsumer
by OnceAConsumer

I just received this computer and right off the bat the computer won't boot. It isn't detecting the hard drive. I opened the case and all the cables are connected. I attempted to contact the company that does the refurbishing and they don't have any office hours on the weekend. So since I received my computer later in the evening on a Friday, I won't hear back until Monday sometime most likely. So I'm stuck with a dead computer over the weekend and they will likely just tell me to send it back. I have to assume the company didn't even try to boot this thing up or they would have caught the issue before shipping it to me. It was packaged well so for it to be damaged during shipping is highly unlikely. So frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnceAConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? No