Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Lego Set for advance Builders
6/22/2013

Customer review by Nebraska94

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by Nebraska94
by Nebraska94

Just what my son wanted for his birthday - a big set of legos with lots of Lord of the Ring mini figures.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nebraska94
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lord of the Rings lego
12/27/2013

Customer review by ambushpirate

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by ambushpirate
by ambushpirate

excellent product a lot of extra features and tools, very nice the undeath minifigures. my kids love it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ambushpirate
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal
12/25/2013

Customer review by CanadianLEGOman

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by CanadianLEGOman
by CanadianLEGOman

I got this ship on sale for about $80 at Walmart. As a LEGO loving Canadian, this was a no brainer, as the ship costs $130 up here when regularly priced. I haven't opened it yet (to be honest, I am saving it for my 8 month old son for when he gets a bit older) but I can see that it's another great LEGO product, that is well worth the price. Great deal, great buy. Couldn't be happier. Thanks Walmart USA! Your Canadian companion could use your advice in attracting customers with decent prices. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanadianLEGOman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lego LOTR Pirate Ship Ambush is Sweet as He**
12/26/2013

Customer review by wolviefanmike

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by wolviefanmike
by wolviefanmike

After I got the Lego LOTR Pirate Ship Ambush playset at Walmart for their Black Friday sale for 30% off I went and grabbed this first thing and must say it was totally worth the $70 I paid for it,and with it displayed right next to my Lego Pirates of the Caribbean Black Pearl Ship they look so EPIC next to each other.I highly recommend getting this if you get a chance.Tho I do wish they would have made the ghost minifigs where they glow-in-the-dark that is just a minor quibble.Again worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolviefanmike
Marshall,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Lego set
12/30/2013

Customer review by Happytogothere

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Happytogothere
by Happytogothere

My 12yr. old grandson loves legos so this is one set he requested for Christmas. He was very excited to get it and I was glad he was happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happytogothere
Kennesaw, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Legos are always a great gift.
12/30/2013

Customer review by richnbuffy

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by richnbuffy
by richnbuffy

I found that Legos are well priced at Walmart and a hit with all of my grandkids. I ordered several sets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
richnbuffy
Prior Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fun to create
3/7/2014

Customer review by roguedbr

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by roguedbr
by roguedbr

A fun set to build, sturdy and well designed. It is a huge boon to my collection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roguedbr
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product for any Lego collection.
4/15/2014

Customer review by SWlego66

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by SWlego66
by SWlego66

I have many Lego(mostly Star Wars), and this is a very large and displayable product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWlego66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great ship, lots of minifigs
6/5/2013

Customer review by stevesheriw

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by stevesheriw
by stevesheriw

I must admit that I was not originally planning to buy this set. If you do not have the extended version of the Return of the King, you are probably wondering where the ship came from. My kids like pirate ships, and it does contain some unique elements and figures, therefore this was the first purchase in the new wave of sets. The ship itself is an imaginative and unique design. In comparison to the Black Pearl of Pirates of the Caribbean, it is a bit longer from bow to stern and shorter at the masts. There is plenty of deck space for display and play activities. If you like lots of weaponry, you will really enjoy this set. There are plenty of weapons available, and it is even incorporated into the design of the ship. The anchors are made from axe heads, and it looks great. A dozen shields also line the ship fore and aft. There are plenty of accessories such as Middle Earth maps, a bit of treasure, and bottles. The back sail and wheel area lifts up to reveal the brig, complete with a bucket and rat. Moving functions include flick fire weapons on each side of the ship. The anchors can also be raised and lowered by a clever wheel device. A really nice variety of parts are used, and the build remains interesting from start to finish. This set is great for those who desire minifigs, because there are nine. Three are Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas. They appear exactly as they have in earlier sets. There are two orcs, neither of which have hair. They come with a catapult to recreate the scene where the ship lands near Minas Tirith. Although the orcs are not unique from previous designs, one could always use more orcs to set up for large battle scenes. Then there is the Army of the Dead. Lego did a great job here, and I suspect these minifigs will be the most desirable of the nine presented. The King of the Dead has a nice green crown and you get two army of the dead soldiers to go along with him. The soldiers are not identical, which is also nice. Aragorn and the King of the Dead use a large sword, while the soldiers have smaller swords. Gimli has an axe, and Legolas has his bow. Since this is a pirate ship, there is one pirate in the set. He is made to resemble Peter Jackson's cameo role as one of the Corsair pirates. He comes with a chain and bread, yes bread. He has the new hair which appears to allow for a quiver to be worn if for some reason you wanted him to have one. Overally, this is a great set to have, although it is one of the pricier ones. I do predict it will be popular due to design, playability, and minifigures. There is not really much I would change about the set. Of course, I would have liked Aragorn to have a unique sword representing Anduril. Another pirate would have been great, but these are only minor issues. This should be a hit with all ages.

stevesheriw
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great ship
6/1/2013

Customer review by BKEB

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by BKEB
by BKEB

this set is great not only does it go along with the LOTR sets but it also matches the ship from PotC sets or movies so you can have multiple use for it and the mini figures are great

BKEB
Newport
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another pirate ship!!!!
7/24/2013

Customer review by silver5575

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by silver5575
by silver5575

When I saw this set it looked great so a while later I bought it and loved it! The functions are ok but the ship itself is great. I really got this set to match my other pirate ship such as the black pearl and the queen annes revenge. This set goes great with them. The ghost king and great detail and the cape looks great on him. The undead soldiers look cool . And the main characters are the same. The pirate is my favorite out of everybody he looks like a true lotr pirate. You get 2 orcs and one has armor which I think you should put a skull on his head to he is the harbor master orc. Overall this set is a 10/10 and you need this set so go get it when you can ASAP

silver5575
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!
6/24/2013

Customer review by LOTRNerd

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by LOTRNerd
by LOTRNerd

I just finished putting together the Pirate Ship Ambush and I definitely recommend purchasing it! I am not a huge pirate ship fan and wanted the ship for the minifigures (4 exclusive ones) and to complete this LOTR wave, but once I had it I loved it! There is a ton of detailing on the ship, mostly on the inside of the ship, and I think there are some really cool play features. I especially love the prison cell for the Pirate of Umbar and I think the ship looks fantastic. The price per piece is pretty high ($0.13 per piece) but I think it is because of the 9 mini figures and some of the large pieces, but I think the ship is totally worth 100 dollars. GO BUY IT!!!!!!!

LOTRNerd
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing peace to have!
8/22/2013

Customer review by orayli

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by orayli
by orayli

Hello guys, I don´t want to write here some kind of gigantic novel, just wanna say, this set is worth every coin, it is absolutely amazing, It is incredibly accurate to the ship from movie! The new figs -> ghost soldiers are fantastic, pirate of umbar is really cool, the rest of figs are common :-) .. Personally I don´t mind so much that you get only 2 orcs, the thing I don´t like, is the cannon. Really simple, boring peace to have. Anyway overall rating 9.5 / 10. Thanks for reading :-)

orayli
Olomouc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"You and who's army?" " This army!!!
10/17/2013

Customer review by Blonkitotos2000

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Blonkitotos2000
by Blonkitotos2000

This is an absolute epic set, great for Lord of the Rings fans even if you haven't seen the extended movie. I do recommend to watch it and read the book. This ship has a LOT of detail, eg: bottles, maps, crates, money, crossbows and lots of shields. Its got a great dungeon with details on the wall and bread and a rat. And now to the best part of the set: the characters. Ok we have Aragorn and Gimli who are the same as first, but the other ones: The King of the Dead and 2 Soldiers of the Dead. They are awesome. They have got great detail and there faces glow in the dark. Then we have the Corsair pirate who is great with cool hair, face and clothes. After that we have two orcs with a catapult which is awesome. I was at first going to bye the Battle of Helms Deep but I didn't because this set looked better. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Blonkitotos2000
Leiden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super ship
7/8/2014

Customer review by tawogman

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by tawogman
by tawogman

This set is my favourite set out of all the LOTR LEGO sets. It has quite alot of features that are all really cool, they are the anchors that come out when you twist this thingie also i like the jail that is avalible whenyou remove the main platform. Its great how you get nine figures and the ghost knight people are really good and they even glow in the dark! As i said before this set is totaly awesome so i would recomend this for anyone but you should be 8 or older probably.

tawogman
Adelaide
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Come out of there, you mangy sea rats!
7/17/2014

Customer review by armadillosandwich

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by armadillosandwich
by armadillosandwich

Prepare to march on Gondor! This latest set has a good balance of good and bad guys and a fair amount of playability. Let's get down to it, shall we? PIRATE SHIP: Makes you feel like its 2011 and your back with Jack Sparrow again (with a slightly more Viking feel). The ship does many things that the others did, with firing flick missiles (no idea they had that kind of tech in Middle-earth), dropping anchor, and steering wheel. This ship also has a removal rear section to open up the prison under the helm. It's sails are well done, and its a great and mighty ship to add to your collection. Personally, I will be using it with the Black Pearl and Queen Anne's Revenge, since the scene from LOTR is so brief. But the minifigures is what will get you a bit more pumped. MINIFIGURES: -Pirate of Umbar: This guy was never seen in the movie (unless he was in the extended version, that thing is 4 hours long so I still haven't finished it), but he's not a bad figure all the same. His hair is the same as Thorin and Kili's, and he has a bearded face and pirate armor. Not much to say about him, but he makes for more cannon fodder. -Mordor Orcs: We've seen these before. Mostly the same as Hunter Orcs, save for the legs. They've got a catapult and the standard array of evil Middle-earth weapons. More cannon fodder. -Aragorn: He's never been seen in a less than sixty dollar set, but oh well, here's another chance anyway! He's got long brown hair and a regular or angry face. He has brown robes featuring the Evenstar around his neck, and is armed with his sword of the king of Gondor. Which is him. -Legolas Greenleaf: The elf has been seen in two other sets as well, but only the LOTR version has gotten this expensive to buy. He has a green torso with Elvish printing, and a blonde hair piece with elf ears. He has his bow and arrow and a neutral or angry face. -Gimli: The dwarf was also in a cheaper set as well as being with Legolas in Moria, but he's here again. He has a large brown beard and dwarvish helmet which also completely covers his face save for the eyes. He has a red and gray torso with dwarvish armor printing, and is armed with his axe. -King of the Dead: I never really liked these guys, but now that they're here, it's okay to have them (though they would be even more useful with an actual Minas Tirith set. I have the full idea layed out for you in the OVERALL section, LEGO). Anyway, the king has a ghostly green look to his entire body, as do his soldiers. He has a skeleton like head and printing, a crow and red cape. A good ally, but only if you have the king of Gondor handy. -Soldiers of the Dead: There are two, but they aren't too different, save for front torso printing and hand color (one is brown, one is greenish). They have knight helmets that are greenish in color and are ready to serve their leader. Kind of weird for some people since there's no army builder here with this, but just as long as you have other good guys to fight the growing number of Orcs. OVERALL: This is a pretty cool set, though its based on only a split second attack of the fellowship. So while we can celebrate a new pirate ship and all three of the best heroes in LOTR, I'd like to give LEGO a little idea for a set of Minas Tirith. You know they won't listen, but it's always worth a shot. Anyways, my idea: -Set name: Minas Tirith Battle -Contents: A wall of Minas Tirith with your choice of catapult/battle area or gate, maybe a room of Denethor, or both. Probably something for the bad guys too; a battering ram or catapult, or if you really want to please us, give us a Elefant or a Nazgul dragon. -Minifigures: Let's not go crazy. Denethor, Eowyn, Faramir, and the Witch-king will give us some exclusive figures and higher price (we know that's necessary nowadays). An Orc or two is probably needed, maybe a Gondor soldier, but he's not a have to. I'd also think about adding Gandalf the White and/or Pippin, since they're pretty big in the Gondor section of the movie. -Price: Depends on the size...it's really more for you guys to figure out, but certainly no more than this set here. Remember: content and figures count! Anyway, just a little consideration for LEGO to entirely ignore, but to all those who have spent an extra few minutes reading this, I say totally get this, and if you find the need for a Gondor that never happens to appear, just go with Helm's Deep. Thanks for reading!

armadillosandwich
McKinney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great set
8/4/2014

Customer review by LegoGimli2001

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by LegoGimli2001
by LegoGimli2001

great set but needed some improvements soldier of the dead needs some bigger swords and it needs some more orcs and more weapons over all GREAT set if you like LOTR sets

LegoGimli2001
tyrone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking model, no so great build
2/28/2014

Customer review by UberMegatron

4.0 stars 2/28/2014 by UberMegatron
by UberMegatron

Let me start off by saying the finished model looks really good and the number of mini figures included is fantastic. This is one of few Lego sets where you get all the approriate characters in the one box rather than having to buy multiple sets to finish the look. Only thing I would change in terms of the look is how shallow to boat is - really could have used a second layer to provide some rooms under the main deck. Ths would also have increased playability. Playability wise is a real treat as are the adjustable sails but playing around much inside the boat it's all to easy to knock off all the little bits of detailing. Still a great kit to play with but requires a bit more running repair than most. Where the kit was a real dissapointment though was in the build. Other that the rather nice working double anchor this kit has no interesting building techniques. Worse still to flesh it out to two instruction books each step has only 1 to 4 pieces added per page. Sure there are some pages with more than this but doing this a page at a time was really dull due to how few parts each step added. While the kit has over 700 pieces due to the number of small parts, single space clips and the like it never felt you were getting anywhere and when finally finished while the model looked brilliant there was not the usual sense of satisfaction. It says 9-14 on the box for this kit but by pointing at where he needed to put the pieces my 3 year old did not struggle with this kit. Price per piece is quite expensive too given the majority of pieces are common, small bits. Overall a very nice looking kit but if you are someone who enjoys the build and looks forward to those moments where you suddenly realise how the piece you are building fits in then look elsewhere. You could likely build this just from looking at the picture on the box. Still getting a decent score as the mini figures are great and the final look is too.

UberMegatron
Would recommend to a friend? No
"Look to the black ships"
6/10/2015

Customer review by AwesomeMattyStyle

4.0 stars 6/10/2015 by AwesomeMattyStyle
by AwesomeMattyStyle

I got this on Christmas and built it while eating 5 pounds of candy. The ship looks great just like in the film. Also the minfigures are awesome the big 3 in one set plus 2 orcs. The inside of the boat however like most lego sets is to small. It is hard to play with and I just display it. All you can do is have the three hop on fight the orcs and pirate and thats it. No biggie thought. A great set for any lotr fan.

AwesomeMattyStyle
Vista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs more bad guys!
7/31/2013

Customer review by LEGOJediMasterBaggins

3.0 stars 7/31/2013 by LEGOJediMasterBaggins
by LEGOJediMasterBaggins

The title says it all otherwise a great set, this set needs more orcs! It seems as if the battle is lopsided! With so many good guys, this set needs way more orcs, like four or five more to create a decent matchup.

LEGOJediMasterBaggins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes