Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 54 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 35 reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Terrific tablet - has some nice touches
9/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This sweet, sharp tablet uses an industry-standard micro-USB connector for charging and data transfer (unlike my Galaxy Tab 2, which uses the proprietary Samsung connector). This means I can use the same cable for my Bluetooth earpiece, cell phone, and tablet (although I hae to use a 2.1 amp charger, such as the one that comes with the Asus). When I travel I only have the one cable to take; even if I'm just hanging with some friends, it's MUCH more likely that I'll be able to borrow a micro-USB. This tablet is lightweight, quick and has a very sharp and bright display. The bonus micro-hdmi output (again, my Samsung does not have one) lets me connect my Asus to my HD-TV. PROS: Sweet, sharp, lightweight. Micro-HDMI output. Cons: Slightly longer form-factor doesn't let me use my pouches/cases marketed for the iPad. Battery life is okay at best (especially when wi-fi is enabled). Like many 10.1" tablets, requires a 2.1 amp charger for reasonable charging times.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Newer Doesn't Mean Better
5/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I write this to correct some errors in the few "reviews" posted here. I'd hate to see buyers buy this Asus based on inacurate information. Newer release doesn't mean better. For many buyers, the Acer Iconia 10.1" tablet Walmart is selling for $219 is a better buy. 1st, the Nvidia Tegra 3 quad core platform\mobile processor is now the oldest and less impressive quad core processor. The Samsung Exynos is faster, plays video better and uses less battery power. The new Rockchip RK3188 is faster than both and more important uses much less power, about 60% less. Samsung, Qualcom (Snapdragon), & Nvidia (Tegra 4) will be releasing even better quad core platform\processors soon. A buyer incorrectly states the Asus can't use an external keyboard. It certainly can. There isn't a matching attachable keyboard (those are overly expensive anyway), but you can buy and use third party bluetooth or USB keyboards. Walmart incorrectly reports this Asus doesn't have or use a battery. It must & it does. Its has a 19 Whr lithium & battery life per charge is found to be "average." The absence of a dedicated A/C port is presented as a plus. Actually, its a minus, since there is only one USB port, which you use to charge the Asus battery. A dedicated A/C port is a plus (especially when the USB hardware allows charging). With both you can charge (or operate) the tablet and use USB devices simultaneously. The Asus has a mini HDMI out. The excellent $219 Acer Iconica A210, I mentioned earlier, has two USB ports, full size & mini. It does not have HDMI, through some ads say it does. If you do not need the HDMI out port which most tablet users will never use, the Acer is a better buy. As soon as you connect to Internet, Acer servers send an over the air auto upgrade to 4.1 Jelly Bean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (111)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fast Tablet for the $$$
3/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had a smaller tablet that broke and I opted to try this new product, with limited reviews and so far so good. This table is very fast, great for movies. The speakers are clear and reach a decent volume for the size of the speaker. There are two cameras on this tablet and they are decent, same MP as my smartphone. The picture is very crisp and clear and the screen is a nice size. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a tablet with the most updated technology for half the price. Asus did a great job with this tablet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for beginner
3/25/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i purchased this tablet, and it is my first one. i have found it to be a nice deal for the money. excellent hd display, you can add memory, this tablet will not dock to a keyboard and thatss fine with me because thats what i was shopping for a tablet. it comes with some apps. it does indeed have a lot of google apps. it is not compatible with adobe flash player reguardless of any browser. overall i think its a great deal for the money. even though i am a beginner i did research alot of tablets befor i made my purchase another big plus it is lightening fast no issues with speed or performance. i took pictures with both front and rear cameras and surprised by the quaulity.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I was looking for
4/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I researched a lot of tablets before buying this one. I bought Asus products before (24" monitor, motherboards, DVD drives) and they have all been well made and priced right. So far, I am very pleased with this purchase. I wanted a 10" screen and this one looks very good with movies, apps, and the Kindle reader. For my purposes, a higher resolution at a much higher price wasn't worth it. This model includes three features I think all tablets should have but most don't: (1) An SD memory card slot lets you add 32 GB for less than $25, compared to over $100 for built in memory. Plus you can preload SD cards with games, music, photos, etc. and swap them out. (2) A micro USB port that lets you (with a cheap adapter cable) connect a flash drive, keyboard, or game controller. It is also a universal connector for the battery charger. (3) An HDMI mini port through which you can connect (with an adapter cable) your LCD TV to watch Netflix or Youtube. Also included is Bluetooth wireless capability so you can add a Bluetooth keyboard or mouse. The battery holds a good charge - I get about 2 days of mixed use before having to recharge. A battery utility lets you see how much charge is remaining. Asus preloads a lot of useful applications (Kindle reader, Netflix, Youtube, email, a generic browser, etc.) and a few widgets. My weather widget stopped working after I downloaded a software upgrade, so hopefully they will fix that in the next release. I suggest a leatherette slip case (less than $15) to protect the unit. Add the all hazards 2 year policy for $28, which is about half of what the other big online stores are charging and you will have a great package for less than $350..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't Put This Down, Take it Everywhere
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I t type of person that wished i can bring my laptop everywhere and with this tablet i actually do. Its light and very slim. Comes with no additional accessories - charger and tablet thats all that in box. Rear cameras takes clear and crisp pictures. I took a picture of my husband and nephew with a scenic background and to check the quality, we zoomed in to max to see breaks in the pixels and there were none. When they say HD, it is prevalent. Front camera takes good pictures but lighting and crispness aren't anything to rave about. Its like taking a front picture on my iPhone. Processor speed is primary reason why tab gets 5 stars. Ideal for playing fast paced games like subway surfer and navigating multiple websites. Small print is clear and i appreciate the keyboard - easy to recognize letters, QWERTY format, and slight touch typing. I have movies, music, books and games (take full advantage of the features) and all this is stored on my microSD card, saved from iTunes, and it recognized no problem. Wont play MKV or AVI files though which is ok for me since i know portable devices dont usually. Primary app store is Google play but compatible with other app markets like Amazon. Speakers are impressive. I love how you can change modes to accommodate what you're doing. On Movie mode, you feel the action scenes, almost like surround sound. On a side note: This tab has accessories built for it so cases and screens are a perfect fit, which makes the investment of this tab so worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No trouble at all with this one.
9/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This tablet does everything I want it to do. Sky view is one of the reasons I bought this one. It also has a boat load of apps I don't know what they are. It is fast and never has locked up or acted stupid. I play games and surf the internet with this one. Don't do any work from it, so I can't say how it would do under those conditions. But, over all I am happy with this tablet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy guided setup and easy to use I love it. It is a great portable way to keep up with my online classes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good all around value
4/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Kindle Fire has a much better screen and sound, but the Kindle's Android operating system modified by Amazon will not function with most Android Apps. This is new on the market not clearance and compatible with my uses and Apps
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT IT MET MY EXPECTATION AT FIRST I DOUBTED BUT I'M VERY PLEASE THE PICTURE AND SCREEN IS SO CLEAR SO FAR HAVE NOT USE THE CAMERA I GIVE THIS A TEN
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not the fastest tablet, but it works great!
8/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Almost thought I'd have to get another one for the significant other, but after an android update, it supports multi users. The tech specs are starting to age, but it still keeps up nicely. The camera is the best I've seen on a phone or tablet, so yea to that! Wifi works great. Screen is fabulous. Just a good all around tablet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT!
6/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great tablet! My husband is a 'computer guy' and he researched many before deciding on this one. Good value for the money and it works perfect!!! A+
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice tablet for the money
7/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this tablet about a week ago. Didn't read the manuel, fairy easy to use. Im sure soon tablets we kill the laptops , ha ha, I took my asus tablet to brazil ( where i am now) On vacation. Super easy to make a wi-fi connection, I use the google translation here, this tablet has been very useful for me here with no problems....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Screen Cracked
2/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used 5 weeks and the screen cracked for no reason. Having a difficult time with ASUS on warranty. Be sure you get extra protection with this unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works like its supposed too
7/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works great, pairs nicely with my other android based devices
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfection
8/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After owning several no-name cheap android tablets and dealing with their numerous issues, I finally decided to spend a bit more and buy a quality product. This tablet is very fast even in its conservative power mode. The device plays streaming video smoothlyand works with hulu, vudu, netflix, and flixter.It is easy to type on using the onscreen keyboard. It boots quickly and the sound quality is amazing for such a thin and light device. It also gets outstanding battery life. I was shocked to discover it alsohas GPS, which is not mentioned in the brochure. Great wifi reception too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great first tablet for the price.
8/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros - two cameras. One front for skype, one rear for pics, and video. Very nice screen resolution, speedy response when gaming and watching youtube at HD. Athough, the tablet gets hot on the backside when playing high res games. Cons - Battery drains rather quickly depending on processor demand. 2 hours under high demand. No support for Flash Player. No place to plug in memory card. If you just want something to have next to your easy chair at home, it's great to have. Although it's not very handy while on the go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It was disappointing to get my new Asus tablet and
8/10/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
AND not get any kind of paperwork to tell me even the simplest directions to get me started. How do I get aps, How do I get set up for wifi, hw do I make lists, At age 70, I need to be led at least thru the first use...... No where to turn to, so have not had a chance to use it ony one time. Frustrated, put it back in the drawer...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Top Ten Review of ASUS MeMO Pad Smart 10
9/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 10 contributer
This is the tale of two tablets - One so poor I was going to return it, and the other very good - and they are the same tablet! I got this tablet and started to set it up. First I could not even get the lock screen off. After repeated tries and resets, I managed to get the lock screen off. Touch response was awful. Then it took me about a hour and many force shutdowns and resets to get the WiFi setup and the Google Account setup. Then I started to get system downloads and Apps from my other tablets backed up on Google. I looked for the Operating Manual that the tiny book said was on the tablet and could not find it. I went to the ASUS website to download it. I could not make the tablet browser find the manual for download and gave up for the night. I was going to return it in the morning. Next morning as I was getting ready to pack it up, I saw that a system update was ready to run. So I ran it and watched the update scroll by and noticed one of the items was "touch screen firmware update". WOW! New tablet! After the update and another you have Android 4.2.1 and a very good tablet. It is thin and light, has three operating speeds (Power Saving, Balanced, and Performance). These give Quadrant scores of 2150, 3350, and 3550 respectively. You can choose to use the 4.1 or 4.2 launcher. It has good Parental Controls by using Apps (App Locker, Parental Lock) and Multi-User settings. Battery Run times from Battery HD calibration are: Music Play = 23 hrs, 12 min. Video Play = 10 hrs, 0 min. Internet Browsing = 7 hrs, 8 min. Talk Time (VoIP) = 8 hrw, 14 min. I would recommend this tablet but only for people that have a fair knowledge of Android - if you are new to Android you probably WILL return it the next morning.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for price
8/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm very suprised how easy this is to use. The screen is very easy to see and read. Its faster then I thought it would be, because for me it's an off brand so I wasn't sure about it, but I would recommend this to my family an friend's. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-