Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 382 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

382 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

382 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
82
3 stars
31
2 stars
38
1 stars
80
1-20 of 367 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
You WILL want an SDcard, internal storage limited
7/12/2013

Customer review by Argusvision

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Argusvision
by Argusvision

The internal storage is 2.75 GB, but for some reason the space allocated to apps is limited to about 700 MB. That includes data for apps. So if you download your Google play songs, books, etc. that runs out quickly. The fix for this is to get an SDcard and enable it as the default storage location. To do this, Go to "Settings" > "Storage" > "Default storage location" > "SDcard". You'll get a warning about how it may affect apps that have data stored internally. If you do this before downloading a bunch of data, it won't be any consequence. If you've already downloaded data that was stored internally, you'll want to "Clear Data" for those apps, and re-enter your account info, then download the data again. This time it should go to the SDcard. This is a great phone. The specs don't list it, but it has a front 2MP camera, GPS, and FM tuner. The dual-core 1GHz processor renders video well and makes this a smooth operating phone. For the $150 price tag this is a lot of phone. It exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (295) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Argusvision
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone for the money
12/6/2013

Customer review by FiremanBobCT

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by FiremanBobCT
by FiremanBobCT

I've been with ST for about 3 years and this is my first Android phone. I've had the phone for about 2 weeks and it's a great phone for the money. I was able to easily switch the network (Verizon) to this phone from my other phone. I was also able to easily transfer all of my contacts to this phone via Bluetooth from my old phone. I come with 2 browsers installed, Google Chrome and Firefox mobile (not labelled as such, but it's by Mozilla). Both seem to work pretty well. The pages that don't load on Chrome always come up on Mozilla, so I primarily use that one. It's not too big and not too small. The battery has sufficient life to run my applications, as long as I'm not streaming audio or video too long. I've got about 30 additional apps installed from Google play and the phone runs them all flawlessly. I really don't have any complaints about the phone except for the fact I can't find a case for it at Walmart so I got one off eBay. I would recommend this phone to anyone considering an Android device.

Was this review helpful? (179) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FiremanBobCT
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't send me; I'll send you.
9/21/2013

Customer review by nomoreissuesplz

2.0 stars 9/21/2013 by nomoreissuesplz
by nomoreissuesplz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although this product offers all the features that I was looking for, it seems that there may be some inherent issues with regard to some of the functions/features. Since I've had this phone (1 week), there has been 2 occasions where I've had to troubleshoot it (turn off, remove the battery and turn on) in order to reestablish the speaker and bluetooth features. For no apparent reason they just randomly stopped working. Also, I've been working with StraightTalk Tech Support for the last week to determine why I can't receive MMS (photos) via text message and the matter still isn't resolved. I can send but not receive. I can however, receive photo and audio files via emails. The speech recognition feature is barely adequate. The phone hardly ever recognizes the call I'm trying to place vocally. These may be flaws with my phone in particular but as these features are things that I frequently look forward to using, I find this phone inadequate for my needs. This may be an isolated case.

Was this review helpful? (89) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nomoreissuesplz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Impressed
3/3/2014

Customer review by Samsonite2000

3.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Samsonite2000
by Samsonite2000

I have had this phone since October. I thought some of the issues I were having was because this was my first smartphone. I like that is it thin. I have had the following issues: 1. Pictures being sent via text can take DAYS to get to the intended party. I mean like 4-5 days. 2. Cannot receive certain pictures via text and then when it says download I am unable to download because "not enough memory". 3. Sometimes the phone just freezes and I have to restart the phone. 4. Internet and apps sometimes kick me out for no reason. Really aggravating when trying to use Maps. 5. Unable to play the music on my phone through my Bluetooth or any program on the phone. 6. Sometimes people don't even receive a text message that I send. I do have a 16mg SD card in the phone for storage of my music, pictures and apps that I can move. I don't think that it is the service through Straight Talk because I know others who have a nicer smartphone and are on ST and they have no problems. I am looking at trying another phone.

Was this review helpful? (104) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samsonite2000
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Smartphone
7/19/2013

Customer review by SCHeat

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by SCHeat
by SCHeat

My girlfriend has had this phone for 2 weeks and so far its been flawless. We live in the country of South Carolina where PREPAID smartphones won't work but this one has good reception and signal. Make sure you type in your zip code here on the website to make sure it will work in your area. This Phone operates with no lag. She plays Candy Crush all the time, listens to Pandora iheart radio and Ive watched movies on Crackle and videos on Youtube and not one freeze up. The description states that the camera is only on one side but its not. There is a camera on both sides of the phone which is a plus. Has all the google apps and plenty of extras to download. Navigation works great and also the Locals App which I like to look up gas stations, hotels, restaurants, and more work perfect. We are going to buy another one for me this weekend since I have tested and played with it for the past few weeks and like it. This will be my first smartphone and I will be switching from net 10 to straight talk because they are the cheapest.

Was this review helpful? (122) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCHeat
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An amazing phone for an excellent price!
11/27/2013

Customer review by cookeja24

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by cookeja24
by cookeja24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor

I have been a Straight Talk customer for years now. I recently moved to a new area and my LG Optimus Q (running on Sprint) wouldn't get a signal. My wife upgraded to a LG Showtime (runs on Verizon) and it worked great. I compared the Huawei Ascend Plus and the LG Showtime and the only difference was the Ascend Plus doesn't have a flash built in for the camera. I couldn't see paying $70 extra for the Showtime when I don't need the flash. I have had the Ascend Plus for a few weeks now and I am blown away with its features. The 5 megapixel camera with a front facing option is excellent for Skype and works great! I also like the upgraded Android software. It is much faster than my old phone and it is easier to use. I was a bit skeptical about the touch pad key board but the large screen makes it easy. One last thing to point out is that the battery lasts forever. I usually go 3-4 days between charges, and that is with a lot of internet browsing. If you are thinking about upgrading you will not be disappointed with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (323) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookeja24
Thomasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Read Reviews before purchase
12/2/2013

Customer review by Teleponeman

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Teleponeman
by Teleponeman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did a lot of research before I bought this phone. I knew going in it was not a beginners phone. Built in memory in this phone is very limited. I added the 32G memory card right out of the gate. It is more memory than I will need but if your into music then you will want it. The issue of memory is solved by getting a app transfer program and placing all your apps into the sd memory. There are several good ones online, but all require that you get into the developers section of the phone and make some changes. I would not recommend that action for a beginner. All of the other issues with this phone are minor. Most involve where you use it and how good a signal you have from Verizon. I live on top of a Verizon tower so it is no issue for me. Price, Quality and Verizon towers make this phone a excellent value. Still working on getting the phone to transfer files to my wife's phone via bluetooth but bluetooth works good on my Garman in the car. None of the local stores or flea markets have the cases or screenguards for this phone, but there are 100's online to choose from.

Was this review helpful? (121) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teleponeman
Daytona Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase indeed
3/21/2014

Customer review by Java76

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Java76
by Java76

Phone is fantastic.. you get roughly 1.5 Gb internal memory, which is quite a bit for internal memory on a phone. You will need a micro sd 8gb or better ( more is def. Better) to hold more apps, music, pics etc. This was an upgrader from an old slider keyboard phone which finally kicked the bucket. Found that after transferring my number to this new one that I could nether send or receive pictures. This is in no way an issue to the phone itself for all those that complained about it and returned a perfectly good phone Back to the store. Just turn off your phone for a few minutes and then restart it.. if this doesn't work then you call Straight Talk and they will fix the problem. Something in the programming is the issue and quite fixable. The camera takes very nice clear pictures with a front and rear facing camera. Battery time is not that great.. but ive found if you stop all apps from running in the background and turn off wifi when not in use that it preserves the battery nicely. So yes this is a great phone for the price with hardly any issues that I have found thus far.

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Java76
Fort Payne, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice phone.
7/23/2013

Customer review by 17goodenough

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by 17goodenough
by 17goodenough

I was a little reluctant over the brand of the phone because I had no experience with it. The reviews were positive. I was comparing it to the LG Showtime which was $50 more. The Showtime has a flash on the camera and is about 1/3 inch bigger. Beyond that, that's it. The Huawei has preformed well. Fast and reliable. A step up from my Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was the first smart phone on straight talk offered in our zip code. It sold like hot cakes here. It served it's purpose but the Plus has a far better and advanced system. I had to special order a protector case and screen protector off the Amazon site (Bundle package with stylus pen). Looks amazing. No problem there. Now I have a very functional phone that looks and preforms just like the very expensive ones. Netflix works fine. Browser works well, too. For the price, it's a pretty fair deal. Unless you're hung up on trendy brand names you might want to consider this one. The smart phone industry has come a long way. Why spend hundreds of dollars if you're just texting and just social networking most of the time? Things that work, get used.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
17goodenough
huron,s.d.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than other ST phones i've had
5/20/2013

Customer review by STcustomer

4.0 stars 5/20/2013 by STcustomer
by STcustomer

Had a lot of the other Straight talk phones and mainly bought phone cause it runs on Verizon network unlike my Samsung which ran on Sprint. Here in my area Sprint is the worst. Call quality is good and camera is better than other prepaid phones ive had (5MP) and has front facing camera too. No Flash Youtube viewing on 3G was surprisingly fast it didnt have to buffer which most other phones did but always depends on your location to towers i am guessing. Supports sd card up to 32GB but doesnt include one. Only Power On/OFf & Volume buttons everything else you use the touch screen 1ghz processor 2.67 GB internal memory i believe 3G Android 4.0 FM Radio Mp3 player Chrome browser and internet browser Navigation Quickoffice Preloaded YouTube & Google+ Features storage display that allows you to see how much storage you are using up with apps, pictures, music, downloads etc.. Also Data Usage which allows you to see how much data and in what you are using it. By the way this is a pretty decent new phone so theres not much out there about it. i couldn't find any cases for it or reviews.I really believe its a good phone ^_^ i love it so far

Was this review helpful? (354) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STcustomer
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Phone. Very Pleased
11/10/2013

Customer review by Irridum

4.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Irridum
by Irridum

I picked this phone up because I broke my Samsung and needed a phone that ran on Verizon towers ASAP and this was the Only one they had on the shelf that did. Honestly I expected to throw it in a drawer after I got back to a store with a better selection. I am perfectly happy with the phone and the way it works. I installed a 32gb card before I ever booted it the first time and it stores and runs all my apps and I am a VERY app intensive person. I use it for business as well as personal with some very intensive apps like a card reader, materials estimator, billing app, geocaching and about 200 service manuals in Ebook format. The camera takes fantastic pics and video which is great for job pics to send to customers and photos of the grand-babies. I did have an issue with MMS messages with the stock app but I just downloaded the app I had been using on my previous phone and Problem Solved.. The only problems I have had otherwise were from MY failing to read the manual first and Not any issues with the phone itself. I am very picky about my equipment and if this phone quit today I would buy another just like it. The only thing I don't like is I cant turn off stock apps that I will never use.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Irridum
Winchester, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good phone
6/17/2013

Customer review by JStee

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by JStee
by JStee

,This is a very good phone, quick and responsive, 1ghz processor, and it is in fact dual core, because I ran a quadrant standard which is a test to test the phone capabilities. Sound quality is excellent, screen is nice and bright. I saw the price 150.00 and was very skeptical as why so cheap, here's a few reasons, phone does not come with sd card so you'll have to get your own you can get them pretty cheap, phone does not have a flashlight for camera, but still pretty decent for snapping pics, also does have a front facing camera for skyping, or video calling, I also think the brand huawei is not that much of a household name as samsung, htc, lg, but works just as good. If you want a good phone for calling, texting, and browsing the web, this is the phone to get for 45 dollars unlimited talk, text, web.

Was this review helpful? (212) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JStee
Salem, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
7/14/2013

Customer review by MBENNETT9

5.0 stars 7/14/2013 by MBENNETT9
by MBENNETT9

I've had this phone for almost a week, & so far it is everything i was hoping it would be. The screen is big and very clear. Everything runs smooth and you can customize the home screens in a lot of different ways. It doesn't come with an SD Card, so i would suggest getting one if you buy this phone. The phone looks very nice on the outside, it doesn't look cheap like a lot of other Straight Talk phones. Both front and back cameras are of decent quality, although there is no flash. My battery life lasts around 24 hours, but i mostly use my phone for texting, calling & occasionally checking Facebook or playing games. The only negative thing with this phone that i have noticed is that the battery gets fairly hot once in a while. It's only while i'm playing games, but it cools off quickly after i close the app.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBENNETT9
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not the smartest phone, but decent for the price
10/9/2013

Customer review by Starkston

3.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Starkston
by Starkston
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Summary: A lot cheaper than the Samsung Galaxy or other expensive phones, and you get what you pay for... Pros: Apple and galaxy phones for the Verizon network (or straight talk contracted to Verizon) are expensive... This was cheaper at $150. Arrived as expected Performs as advertised Android operating system 4.1 has matured over the different versions. Screen is large, fairly decent, controls have been working. Cons: My biggest complaint: It has very little working memory, which can be an issue if you try to load large html files. This means large files will not load, and there are other performance impacts. Speed is 3G No zoom on the camera. speaker is not very loud / clear There may be funky things regarding headsets (like if you use expensive ones designed for iPhones or something else). I have 4 pin Klipsch S4, and the mic doesn't work (blogs have various things to try). Battery life is as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starkston
Cowtown, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
6/19/2013

Customer review by Andenes

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Andenes
by Andenes

I was looking for a smartphone with an affordable data plan. I was about sold on the Galaxy S3 but the price was pretty high. Never heard of Huawei but the reviews were very good and the price for an Android 4 box was great so decided to give it a try. I wanted Verizon network so that was a big factor in the decision. Bought their 30 day unlimited card and fired it up. It found my wireless network instantly and set up without trouble. And it's FAST! Gmail works better than on my laptop. So how does it work as a phone. Went to the Straighttalk website and went thru their process. No sweat including transferring my old number (from Verizon# to this phone. A couiple of hours later, I was in business. Called several friends around the country; loud and clear. Drove out in the back country where my old LG had problems; No prob Solid 2 bars and good reception. Email even worked! Cons: Hassle transferring my old Phone book #over 200 numbers) but it is doable using the import/export functions. Really worthless manual with the phone, but the full manual with good directions is available on the Tracphone Website. Battery life could be better but considering how I use it, it's OK. All in all, I have to agree with the 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (92) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andenes
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
really surprised
7/5/2013

Customer review by andreahome

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by andreahome
by andreahome

the phone is great...its a lot better then what i thought it was going to be....the android 4.0 (ice cream sandwhich) works great on this phone the screen is nice and clear...skype works well with this phone on the straight talk network i have skyped on both wifi and network and it both worked well....im not into all the app games out there so i only have filled 1.5 home screens not i cant say for sure if you load it up with tons of stuff how it will run also the ringtones that were set up already where quite so change when you get it to make sure you dont miss calls texts and what not.......if your on a budget but want a updated phone this is a great buy for the ticket price....one last thing i didnt know this before i got it but it does come with mic-earbuds great bonus!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andreahome
akron, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone
7/9/2013

Customer review by shendarenee

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by shendarenee
by shendarenee

So i went from a galaxy s like the first one to this phone. Im the type that needs internet, wifi connectivity, game apps like candy crush, etc. and with this phone i have been able to do all of the above so far only had it about a week and a half. I keep 2 out of 3 bars kinda slow when im in my house but other than that it gets good service. When too many apps open phone runs slow task manager or task killer will help that. Phone gets hot at times but that maybe b/c im playing a game or on the internet. Battery lasts for a good amount of time i forgot to put it on the charger last night so it lasted for about a day and a half thats very good coming from someone who's previous phone was dying every couple of hrs. Overall good phone so far. Very pleased with my purchase as well as my straight talk service

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shendarenee
Greenville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good phone.
7/25/2013

Customer review by JazyEgg

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by JazyEgg
by JazyEgg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In all honesty, it was a very annoying en-devour to actually RECEIVE the phone -- but that's a whole different story completely unrelated to this one. When I finally got the phone, it wouldn't turn on at first, but after charging it a bit I realized the battery was just dead. The camera is of decent quality -- they don't mention the front facing camera, its not that great quality .3MP I think, but certainly not that bad either. It runs on verizon towers and so far has worked pretty good on that end. The Ice Cream Sandwich OS is a huge step up, runs very smooth compared to what I had previously had (Samsung Galaxy Proclaim,) and honestly overall the phone has been great. I have never really heard good of Huawei but this phone is very good for the price. My only real complaints are that the speaker is a little more quiet than I would desire, and you cannot use the FM radio without the headphones plugged in.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JazyEgg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Straight Talk Android Phone
6/22/2013

Customer review by Tbear3

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by Tbear3
by Tbear3

This is an excellent Straight Talk Android phone. I've tried the Straight Talk LG L86c Optimus Showtime but it has battery/charging problems and audio/speaker quality is not good. This phone is excellent with both battery and audio quality and I think the best offered Straight Talk phone. I compare this phone more with the Straight Talk iPhone 4s I tried, but could not justify spending $550 for the iPhone. This phone is excellent in everything I have tried so far and I would highly recommend it. I drove 39 miles to get one. Now looking for a case and screen protector. You will not regret your purchase if you are in a Verizon area.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tbear3
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Glad I jumped ship!
7/19/2013

Customer review by CAJane

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by CAJane
by CAJane

After reading other reviews, I bought this as a replacement for a year old HTC One I had through Virgin Mobile, and I could not be happier! This phone is so much faster and smoother feeling. Texting is a breeze (Google Keyboard with swyping comes pre-installed, although the phone's keyboard and texting itself feels far more natural) and there is no lag. It was ridiculously easy to set up, also. But the best part, and the reason I bought THIS phone and switched to Straight Talk, is that it uses local Verizon towers. The other day I was about to chuck my old Sprint-based phone out the car window out of sheer frustration when Navigation wouldn't load my location after 5 mins and I needed to get somewhere! Not to mention having zero bars at my house (although by some miracle I could still send texts, though they took forever) and my phone constantly telling everyone I texted that I was in Ottawa, Canada. You really can't beat Verizon, but a basic smartphone plan through them will run you over $100. With Straight Talk, however, at $45 a month, this phone and the coverage is unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAJane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews