Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 379 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

379 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

379 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
81
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 stars
79
1-20 of 364 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 364 total reviews
1-20 of 364 reviews
You WILL want an SDcard, internal storage limited
7/12/2013

Customer review by Argusvision

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Argusvision
by Argusvision

The internal storage is 2.75 GB, but for some reason the space allocated to apps is limited to about 700 MB. That includes data for apps. So if you download your Google play songs, books, etc. that runs out quickly. The fix for this is to get an SDcard and enable it as the default storage location. To do this, Go to "Settings" > "Storage" > "Default storage location" > "SDcard". You'll get a warning about how it may affect apps that have data stored internally. If you do this before downloading a bunch of data, it won't be any consequence. If you've already downloaded data that was stored internally, you'll want to "Clear Data" for those apps, and re-enter your account info, then download the data again. This time it should go to the SDcard. This is a great phone. The specs don't list it, but it has a front 2MP camera, GPS, and FM tuner. The dual-core 1GHz processor renders video well and makes this a smooth operating phone. For the $150 price tag this is a lot of phone. It exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (295) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Argusvision
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An amazing phone for an excellent price!
11/27/2013

Customer review by cookeja24

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by cookeja24
by cookeja24

I have been a Straight Talk customer for years now. I recently moved to a new area and my LG Optimus Q (running on Sprint) wouldn't get a signal. My wife upgraded to a LG Showtime (runs on Verizon) and it worked great. I compared the Huawei Ascend Plus and the LG Showtime and the only difference was the Ascend Plus doesn't have a flash built in for the camera. I couldn't see paying $70 extra for the Showtime when I don't need the flash. I have had the Ascend Plus for a few weeks now and I am blown away with its features. The 5 megapixel camera with a front facing option is excellent for Skype and works great! I also like the upgraded Android software. It is much faster than my old phone and it is easier to use. I was a bit skeptical about the touch pad key board but the large screen makes it easy. One last thing to point out is that the battery lasts forever. I usually go 3-4 days between charges, and that is with a lot of internet browsing. If you are thinking about upgrading you will not be disappointed with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (321) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookeja24
Thomasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Very good phone
6/17/2013

Customer review by JStee

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by JStee
by JStee

,This is a very good phone, quick and responsive, 1ghz processor, and it is in fact dual core, because I ran a quadrant standard which is a test to test the phone capabilities. Sound quality is excellent, screen is nice and bright. I saw the price 150.00 and was very skeptical as why so cheap, here's a few reasons, phone does not come with sd card so you'll have to get your own you can get them pretty cheap, phone does not have a flashlight for camera, but still pretty decent for snapping pics, also does have a front facing camera for skyping, or video calling, I also think the brand huawei is not that much of a household name as samsung, htc, lg, but works just as good. If you want a good phone for calling, texting, and browsing the web, this is the phone to get for 45 dollars unlimited talk, text, web.

Was this review helpful? (211) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JStee
Salem, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow - no lag!
7/2/2013

Customer review by kbhgwm

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by kbhgwm
by kbhgwm

This phone is the best straight talk phone (in the less than $400 price range) on the market. It has a great size screen, android 4.0 operating system, and a good design (no cheap plastic look/feel). One of my favorite things about the phone is they seem to have everything geared towards google instead of bing (score)!!! It runs on Verizon towers so I have great service everywhere I go. It has a 5mp camera which is good for its price range but unfortunately it does not have a flash. I recently switched from Verizon to straight talk to save money and let me tell you, this baby blows my laggy lg revolution out of the water when it comes to speed. It opens/closes apps quickly, surfs the web quickly and with no problems, and you dont get the annoying system crashes and errors android is known for. It's nice to have a phone that actually functions as a phone rather than a paperweight. It has very limited memory but if you save your apps to your sd card and get a good task killer (I use "advanced task killer" - you can set it up to kill apps youre not using automatically), it will run smoothly. The battery life is average for a smartphone but it charges pretty fast - it can go from dead to full charge in 2 hours. Another thing I love about this phone is it has a data on/off button conveniently on the pull down menu so it's not a hassle to turn the data off when im not using it (which greatly extends battery life). Overall this a great phone that is a force to be reckoned with even when compared to the most expensive phones on the market. I would recommend it to anyone who has ever wanted to smash their laggy phone against a wall. Let's recap: Pros Android 4.0 Low price Verizon network Fast/no lag or crashes Runs netflix/hulu smoothly Google search/chrome Data on/off toggle on pull down menu Charges quickly Large screen Cons No flash on camera Low memory - can be easily fixed by storing apps to sd card (not included) and getting a task killer

Was this review helpful? (188) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbhgwm
Big Stone Gap, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than other ST phones i've had
5/20/2013

Customer review by STcustomer

4.0 stars 5/20/2013 by STcustomer
by STcustomer

Had a lot of the other Straight talk phones and mainly bought phone cause it runs on Verizon network unlike my Samsung which ran on Sprint. Here in my area Sprint is the worst. Call quality is good and camera is better than other prepaid phones ive had (5MP) and has front facing camera too. No Flash Youtube viewing on 3G was surprisingly fast it didnt have to buffer which most other phones did but always depends on your location to towers i am guessing. Supports sd card up to 32GB but doesnt include one. Only Power On/OFf & Volume buttons everything else you use the touch screen 1ghz processor 2.67 GB internal memory i believe 3G Android 4.0 FM Radio Mp3 player Chrome browser and internet browser Navigation Quickoffice Preloaded YouTube & Google+ Features storage display that allows you to see how much storage you are using up with apps, pictures, music, downloads etc.. Also Data Usage which allows you to see how much data and in what you are using it. By the way this is a pretty decent new phone so theres not much out there about it. i couldn't find any cases for it or reviews.I really believe its a good phone ^_^ i love it so far

Was this review helpful? (354) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STcustomer
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Smartphone
7/19/2013

Customer review by SCHeat

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by SCHeat
by SCHeat

My girlfriend has had this phone for 2 weeks and so far its been flawless. We live in the country of South Carolina where PREPAID smartphones won't work but this one has good reception and signal. Make sure you type in your zip code here on the website to make sure it will work in your area. This Phone operates with no lag. She plays Candy Crush all the time, listens to Pandora iheart radio and Ive watched movies on Crackle and videos on Youtube and not one freeze up. The description states that the camera is only on one side but its not. There is a camera on both sides of the phone which is a plus. Has all the google apps and plenty of extras to download. Navigation works great and also the Locals App which I like to look up gas stations, hotels, restaurants, and more work perfect. We are going to buy another one for me this weekend since I have tested and played with it for the past few weeks and like it. This will be my first smartphone and I will be switching from net 10 to straight talk because they are the cheapest.

Was this review helpful? (122) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCHeat
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read Reviews before purchase
12/2/2013

Customer review by Teleponeman

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Teleponeman
by Teleponeman

I did a lot of research before I bought this phone. I knew going in it was not a beginners phone. Built in memory in this phone is very limited. I added the 32G memory card right out of the gate. It is more memory than I will need but if your into music then you will want it. The issue of memory is solved by getting a app transfer program and placing all your apps into the sd memory. There are several good ones online, but all require that you get into the developers section of the phone and make some changes. I would not recommend that action for a beginner. All of the other issues with this phone are minor. Most involve where you use it and how good a signal you have from Verizon. I live on top of a Verizon tower so it is no issue for me. Price, Quality and Verizon towers make this phone a excellent value. Still working on getting the phone to transfer files to my wife's phone via bluetooth but bluetooth works good on my Garman in the car. None of the local stores or flea markets have the cases or screenguards for this phone, but there are 100's online to choose from.

Was this review helpful? (121) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teleponeman
Daytona Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this phone!!
5/19/2013

Customer review by Heatherlj

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Heatherlj
by Heatherlj

This phone is Awesome. Great size .Very easy to use .and price was awesome for all it can do .Only thing thats I don't like is it dont have the 2nd music player that most androids have but there is always apps for that !

Was this review helpful? (115) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heatherlj
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone for the money
12/6/2013

Customer review by FiremanBobCT

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by FiremanBobCT
by FiremanBobCT

I've been with ST for about 3 years and this is my first Android phone. I've had the phone for about 2 weeks and it's a great phone for the money. I was able to easily switch the network (Verizon) to this phone from my other phone. I was also able to easily transfer all of my contacts to this phone via Bluetooth from my old phone. I come with 2 browsers installed, Google Chrome and Firefox mobile (not labelled as such, but it's by Mozilla). Both seem to work pretty well. The pages that don't load on Chrome always come up on Mozilla, so I primarily use that one. It's not too big and not too small. The battery has sufficient life to run my applications, as long as I'm not streaming audio or video too long. I've got about 30 additional apps installed from Google play and the phone runs them all flawlessly. I really don't have any complaints about the phone except for the fact I can't find a case for it at Walmart so I got one off eBay. I would recommend this phone to anyone considering an Android device.

Was this review helpful? (178) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FiremanBobCT
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Way better than I thought it would be.
6/13/2013

Customer review by BoredomConsumesAll

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by BoredomConsumesAll
by BoredomConsumesAll

I'm not a believer in touch tech but this phone is great and works better than my friends phones even the IPhone 4s. I was hard to find a case that would work on this model but eBay took care of that.. they only have a silicone case but its nice. it even came with screen protectors all for around 5 bucks. Front cam works better than my old phones only cam with nice res and the rear cam is great so I'm pretty happy with that. Only con I would say is the built in Google apps update and I will never use them referring to magazines, Books, ect.. All in all, really happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (122) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoredomConsumesAll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love This Phone!!!
6/18/2013

Customer review by SassiePrincess

5.0 stars 6/18/2013 by SassiePrincess
by SassiePrincess

This is my 3rd Straight Talk Smart Phone and was going to be my last, but I decided to try a phone that worked on the Verizon Network. I have service everywhere...I've not lost or dropped a call, or been in a location where my phone or internet hasn't worked. I've downloaded a ton of games for the kids and still have a ton of memory. Would recommend this phone!

Was this review helpful? (88) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SassiePrincess
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
6/19/2013

Customer review by Andenes

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Andenes
by Andenes

I was looking for a smartphone with an affordable data plan. I was about sold on the Galaxy S3 but the price was pretty high. Never heard of Huawei but the reviews were very good and the price for an Android 4 box was great so decided to give it a try. I wanted Verizon network so that was a big factor in the decision. Bought their 30 day unlimited card and fired it up. It found my wireless network instantly and set up without trouble. And it's FAST! Gmail works better than on my laptop. So how does it work as a phone. Went to the Straighttalk website and went thru their process. No sweat including transferring my old number (from Verizon# to this phone. A couiple of hours later, I was in business. Called several friends around the country; loud and clear. Drove out in the back country where my old LG had problems; No prob Solid 2 bars and good reception. Email even worked! Cons: Hassle transferring my old Phone book #over 200 numbers) but it is doable using the import/export functions. Really worthless manual with the phone, but the full manual with good directions is available on the Tracphone Website. Battery life could be better but considering how I use it, it's OK. All in all, I have to agree with the 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? (91) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andenes
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Straight Talk Android Phone
6/22/2013

Customer review by Tbear3

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by Tbear3
by Tbear3

This is an excellent Straight Talk Android phone. I've tried the Straight Talk LG L86c Optimus Showtime but it has battery/charging problems and audio/speaker quality is not good. This phone is excellent with both battery and audio quality and I think the best offered Straight Talk phone. I compare this phone more with the Straight Talk iPhone 4s I tried, but could not justify spending $550 for the iPhone. This phone is excellent in everything I have tried so far and I would highly recommend it. I drove 39 miles to get one. Now looking for a case and screen protector. You will not regret your purchase if you are in a Verizon area.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tbear3
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Impressed
3/3/2014

Customer review by Samsonite2000

3.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Samsonite2000
by Samsonite2000

I have had this phone since October. I thought some of the issues I were having was because this was my first smartphone. I like that is it thin. I have had the following issues: 1. Pictures being sent via text can take DAYS to get to the intended party. I mean like 4-5 days. 2. Cannot receive certain pictures via text and then when it says download I am unable to download because "not enough memory". 3. Sometimes the phone just freezes and I have to restart the phone. 4. Internet and apps sometimes kick me out for no reason. Really aggravating when trying to use Maps. 5. Unable to play the music on my phone through my Bluetooth or any program on the phone. 6. Sometimes people don't even receive a text message that I send. I do have a 16mg SD card in the phone for storage of my music, pictures and apps that I can move. I don't think that it is the service through Straight Talk because I know others who have a nicer smartphone and are on ST and they have no problems. I am looking at trying another phone.

Was this review helpful? (104) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samsonite2000
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase indeed
3/21/2014

Customer review by Java76

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Java76
by Java76

Phone is fantastic.. you get roughly 1.5 Gb internal memory, which is quite a bit for internal memory on a phone. You will need a micro sd 8gb or better ( more is def. Better) to hold more apps, music, pics etc. This was an upgrader from an old slider keyboard phone which finally kicked the bucket. Found that after transferring my number to this new one that I could nether send or receive pictures. This is in no way an issue to the phone itself for all those that complained about it and returned a perfectly good phone Back to the store. Just turn off your phone for a few minutes and then restart it.. if this doesn't work then you call Straight Talk and they will fix the problem. Something in the programming is the issue and quite fixable. The camera takes very nice clear pictures with a front and rear facing camera. Battery time is not that great.. but ive found if you stop all apps from running in the background and turn off wifi when not in use that it preserves the battery nicely. So yes this is a great phone for the price with hardly any issues that I have found thus far.

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Java76
Fort Payne, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Phone. Very Pleased
11/10/2013

Customer review by Irridum

4.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Irridum
by Irridum

I picked this phone up because I broke my Samsung and needed a phone that ran on Verizon towers ASAP and this was the Only one they had on the shelf that did. Honestly I expected to throw it in a drawer after I got back to a store with a better selection. I am perfectly happy with the phone and the way it works. I installed a 32gb card before I ever booted it the first time and it stores and runs all my apps and I am a VERY app intensive person. I use it for business as well as personal with some very intensive apps like a card reader, materials estimator, billing app, geocaching and about 200 service manuals in Ebook format. The camera takes fantastic pics and video which is great for job pics to send to customers and photos of the grand-babies. I did have an issue with MMS messages with the stock app but I just downloaded the app I had been using on my previous phone and Problem Solved.. The only problems I have had otherwise were from MY failing to read the manual first and Not any issues with the phone itself. I am very picky about my equipment and if this phone quit today I would buy another just like it. The only thing I don't like is I cant turn off stock apps that I will never use.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Irridum
Winchester, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't send me; I'll send you.
9/21/2013

Customer review by nomoreissuesplz

2.0 stars 9/21/2013 by nomoreissuesplz
by nomoreissuesplz

Although this product offers all the features that I was looking for, it seems that there may be some inherent issues with regard to some of the functions/features. Since I've had this phone (1 week), there has been 2 occasions where I've had to troubleshoot it (turn off, remove the battery and turn on) in order to reestablish the speaker and bluetooth features. For no apparent reason they just randomly stopped working. Also, I've been working with StraightTalk Tech Support for the last week to determine why I can't receive MMS (photos) via text message and the matter still isn't resolved. I can send but not receive. I can however, receive photo and audio files via emails. The speech recognition feature is barely adequate. The phone hardly ever recognizes the call I'm trying to place vocally. These may be flaws with my phone in particular but as these features are things that I frequently look forward to using, I find this phone inadequate for my needs. This may be an isolated case.

Was this review helpful? (89) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nomoreissuesplz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Phone!!
6/14/2013

Customer review by Papabhl

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Papabhl
by Papabhl

Was looking for a smart phone that combined features and value. Especially wanted a large screen and the Android operating system, the newer the version the better. Of course, I was also looking at price. I checked reviews, both here and on line and the H881C got good reviews both places, so that's what I bought. I've only had it a few days, but right now it has been doing everything I expected and more. It's a great value for the price. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Papabhl
Windsor, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice phone.
7/23/2013

Customer review by 17goodenough

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by 17goodenough
by 17goodenough

I was a little reluctant over the brand of the phone because I had no experience with it. The reviews were positive. I was comparing it to the LG Showtime which was $50 more. The Showtime has a flash on the camera and is about 1/3 inch bigger. Beyond that, that's it. The Huawei has preformed well. Fast and reliable. A step up from my Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was the first smart phone on straight talk offered in our zip code. It sold like hot cakes here. It served it's purpose but the Plus has a far better and advanced system. I had to special order a protector case and screen protector off the Amazon site (Bundle package with stylus pen). Looks amazing. No problem there. Now I have a very functional phone that looks and preforms just like the very expensive ones. Netflix works fine. Browser works well, too. For the price, it's a pretty fair deal. Unless you're hung up on trendy brand names you might want to consider this one. The smart phone industry has come a long way. Why spend hundreds of dollars if you're just texting and just social networking most of the time? Things that work, get used.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
17goodenough
huron,s.d.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone in relation to typical phone cost.
7/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I think that ALL cell phones cost much more than they need to (hence my 4/5 value score) but in the case of the Huawei Ascend Plus (also known as the Hauwei Ascend Ace) you're getting more for your money compared to other cell phones. This phone utilizes a somewhat updated Operating System that some even prefer over the new Android 4.2. It features a 1GHz dual core processor. I'm no phone expert, but I know the processor affects speed (and these specs look comparable to other higher end phones). Straight Talk utilizes Verizon towers for this phone- enough said there. You may have noticed that it is completely touch-screen. I prefer qwerty keyboards because my fingers are too fat to use on-screen keyboards (those with digital "buttons"). I was very hesitant about getting a phone with no key pad. But luckily, the Huawei Ascend Plus has a "swipe" feature which simplifies on-screen texting. The downside to this phone is the camera: there is no flash and there is about a three second lag time before the picture is actually captured (meaning that you often cannot get the shot you want if you or the photographed object is moving). But the phone DOES have an additional camera that faces the screen (so you can utilize skype video chat or take a picture of yourself). I was hesitant about this phone because I really like flashlight apps that utilize the camera's flash as a flashlight. You can download apps that turn the bright lights on your screen up but it's not as bright. The back cover (that holds the battery in) is a little flimsy. The battery doesn't last over 36 hours but that's the case for many smart phones (a good task manager application could probably help that). The phone did not come with an SD card (as some do) but I son't think you would need it anyway. The speakers have decent volume but if it isn't good enough for you, the phone came with headphones that incorporate a mic so that this can be used as a hands free device when driving. This has the best price:quality ratio compared to all other StraightTalk prepaid smartphones that I have seen out there.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Coachella Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 364 total reviews
1-20 of 364 reviews