Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

165 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
41
1-20 of 155 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
6/3/2013

Customer review by Downsouth304

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Downsouth304
by Downsouth304

The was a great phone but did not have good signal in my area. I had to leave my home to make and receive phone calls. To the next preson make sure you have the correct cell towers in your area. Just because they say it works in your area, ask which carrier or cell towers the phone will be connected to.

Was this review helpful? (185) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Downsouth304
Swansea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Smart Phone Yet!!
6/17/2013

Customer review by Brandie28

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Brandie28
by Brandie28

I wanted the S3 ever since it came out but did not want to pay the hefty monthly bill other companies require in order to have it. I was very happy to hear that the S3 was being offered on straight talk & the fact that the Iphone was also being offered did not make me reconsider my purchase for the pricier Iphones being offered. I have just received the Android update 4.1.2 Ice Cream on my S3 as well & I am glad those added features are being offered to s3 users considering how much we paid for the phone! To me the s4's bigger screen & few other updates were not worth the additional cost or waiting time, none of those updates were things I couldn't live without & some of them were things that Samsung would be pushing to the S3 in way of System updates later on anyway. The phone is sleek, the color is great, S Voice is really awesome, Graphics are awesome, The volume could be just a little bit higher for me, The space just on the phone itself is really awesome!! The only issues I have faced are that the Straight talk easy exchange warranty is not available with this phone because of the purchase price, the wal-mart warranty is also not available because of the purchase price & so I need to find a warranty company for the phone. Also my contacts keep getting lost but I think this has something to do with Google contact importing & storing new contacts to the database rather than a issue with the phone itself. I did purchase the Otterbox defender for the phone which I love as well even though it is bulky - the protection is needed! The plastic piece that comes with the otter box is cracked so I need to return that to get a new one but this phone is great. Importing my old phone number from straight talk to the new phone with straight talk was easy. All of my pictures and contacts pulled over. My old phone and new phone were both Android so that made things rather simple. Oh one more issue I did have was in wireless / mobile data availability. The Mobile data network for 4g Coverage was not available in my area so I had to switch to the 3G coverage network but I can switch back to 4g easily if I am in an area that supports 4g networks. Wifi connectivity is very fast & reliable even on the straight talk service!

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandie28
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone good, but activation was a nightmare
8/30/2013

Customer review by JMM4250

3.0 stars 8/30/2013 by JMM4250
by JMM4250

The phone is fine, as this phone has received good reviews elsewhere. The problem was the horrendous experience in trying to activate the phone via Straight Talk, both online and via phone. I bought the phone here on Wal-Mart.com after verifying that it works in my zip code. Even though I had that information, Straight Talk kept telling me the phone's technology did not work in my area, and that I had to get a GSM phone. One phone rep was as useless as the next, as they had no critical thinking skills and could only follow a script, and had poor communication skills. A supervisor was no better. I was only able to get the phone activated after finding a secret corporate e-mail address on a prepaid wireless forum blog. With that, it took over two days and numerous hours of my time for the simple exercise of activating the phone.

Was this review helpful? (62) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMM4250
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone, not for me. Uses SPRINT.
6/10/2013

Customer review by Auronold

2.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Auronold
by Auronold

Its an excellent phone and theres hardly any wait time while performing anything on the phone. The screen is quite large. Battery isn't all that good. This phone operates on Sprint networks. Where I live, you'd be lucky to have data. If you know your area isn't good for Sprint service, don't let the Sprint service map fool you either, you should NOT get this phone if your area or the places you will be with this phone has horrible Sprint service. You would be better off with an alternative Android that runs under Unlocked GSM. If you live in the city or a very urban area, this phone is a must have. All in all, if you absolutely want a SGS3 with straight talk but no Sprint coverage, you must also look up other methods because this phone does not have a SIM/Micro-Sim card slot, therefore you cannot change your carriers at all. I personally refunded this and moved on.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Auronold
Hornell, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awesome phone...please read!
6/9/2013

Customer review by CAM171047

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by CAM171047
by CAM171047

This phone is just like any other galaxy s3, it is a great phone. it is lightning fast anf has a great screen. the settings and camera features are great. This phone runs on Sprint towers so you need to cck how well sprint works in your area ignore all the other reviews i have good sprint in my area!

Was this review helpful? (59) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAM171047
hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Fantastic Phone !!!
6/27/2013

Customer review by ISIS4000

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by ISIS4000
by ISIS4000

I have noticed that all of the negative reviews for this phone seem to be because of Sprint being the carrier and this is certainly understandable if you have poor Sprint coverage in your area or where you travel. Fortunately I have good Sprint voice and 4G LTE data coverage both where I live and work and I do very little traveling and so being outside of the coverage area is not a problem for me. And the phone is simply amazing! It has more features and capabilities than I could possibly name here. It has everything I need in a smartphone and is very fast with LTE. And the battery will easily last 36 to 48 hours between charges with normal use. Overall, I would recommend this phone to anyone who has good Sprint coverage in their area and the places they travel. I definitely recommend going to Sprint.com and researching if you have their 4G LTE coverage in your area and the places you may be traveling before you buy! This is certainly true with any phone and carrier. If you have the coverage, this is a simply amazing and fantastic phone!!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ISIS4000
Poquoson, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great if the Verizon works well in your area.
6/4/2013

Customer review by Kalze

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Kalze
by Kalze

Verizon did not have a good signal at my home, so I returned the phone. Wal-Mart was great and accepted the return with no problems. Ended up getting the same phone that works on the AT&T network and all is good.

Was this review helpful? (56) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kalze
Atl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Service, Do NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
6/3/2013

Customer review by Macgyver90

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Macgyver90
by Macgyver90

Box coverages avertises entire USA with ATT coverage map. Had problems activating in store and then could not access internet. Tried numerous locations without internet access and poor phone reception. After spending 1 and 1/2 hours on phone with straight talk and them stating numerous times that I was not in zip code I register phone that Icould not use internet, I found out it was a CDMA phone and used Sprint network which according to coverage maps is the worse coveage yet. I would not have purchased if knew it was a spint phone. The S2 phones are on ATT network. This phone is going back to the store. I would give a zero rating, but is not a option.

Was this review helpful? (67) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Macgyver90
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love this phone!!!
12/10/2013

Customer review by GeePags

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by GeePags
by GeePags

For $300 this is a great phone!! It's is not only beautiful, it is amazing!! Maybe I was just sheltered "with a not so smart" smartphone before but I seriously think this phone is very attractive looking and has all the bells and whistles you expect with today's smartphones!! The only thing that is a little annoying is getting use to the touch pad for texting. I do like the separate keypad on my last phone but I'll get use to this soon enough. And this phone doesn't have a navigation icon...you just use google maps which I'm not use to either and need to figure out how to work it properly. Other than that it is very attractive, very responsive and has all the great features you want in a smartphone. It was very easy to transfer my contacts, music and pictures with the miniSD card from my other phone also. I would definately recommend this phone to others. So far I haven't had a problem with the Sprint service in my area. I have in the past and was hoping for a verizon phone but it's on Sprints network.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeePags
Aston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone on Verizon Network
3/6/2014

Customer review by WirelessTech

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by WirelessTech
by WirelessTech

The day after Christmas 2013 I read the online reviews about the Samsung Galaxy S3 and found out that in 2 Walmart stores approx 30 miles apart, one store had a S3 that uses Verizon's network and the other store had a S3 that used Sprint's network. In Southern Idaho, Verizon has the dominant Network with coverage everywhere. Sprint's network is along the Interstate and covers the major towns and cities and that is about all it covers. The Verizon S3 is Model# S968CP. I called that store and the Associate in the Electronics Department verified that it used the Verizon Network. I purchased the Verizon model and I am loving the phone and the network. I used to pay Verizon Wireless $110.00 a month for a HTC Incredible 2 with a 2 GB Data Plan. Now I pay $45.00 a month on Straight Talk and I have 2.5 GB per month. I am using the same Verizon 3G network for a whole lot less. Bottom Line: use the Verizon Model if they have coverage where you live, work and play. Use the Sprint Model if they have coverage where you live work and play. 3G coverage is good for me right now-I will upgrade my S3 to a S4 or S5 LTE when Straight Talk offers it on Verizon's Network.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WirelessTech
Twin Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Had Samsung Galaxy S 2 and now have this phone
12/8/2013

Customer review by TeresaB89

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by TeresaB89
by TeresaB89

I have no issues with this phone. Had a S2 with straight talk and just recently purchased this phone and it was very easy to activate. It's faster going between pages, loading app.s and the picture , screen quality is much crisper and vibrant compared to my old s2. One big plus for me was being able to have a option to change the font size to large , which was a option already on the S3. Battery life seems much better than the S2. Don't let the pic. on here fool you , the phone that you get is much nicer than pic .. looks. I was afraid that it would look cheap, cause pic kind of makes it look cheap. Walmart's picture of this phone does not do it justice.... It actually looks just like the picture they have of the same phone (white Phone) but just in black, same quality in looks... For some reason white phone pic on here makes it look better or a better phone..... Trust me the black phone is a very good quality phone. So happy to have the option of having this really nice phone without getting stuck in a expensive contract plan.... Figured it up, saves over $1000+ even with having to pay $300.00 on the phone....

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeresaB89
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It pays to buy this product
11/3/2013

Customer review by lordbert13

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by lordbert13
by lordbert13

I had this same phone from another carrier and I paid over $100 a month after taxes with a two year contract. On top of that I pay $200 upfront for the phone. If you buy this galaxy you will paid $425 taxes included for the phone and $48.70 a month for your services internet included. Do the math you will save more than $1200 on that two years if you choose straight talk. That is way I said it pays to buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lordbert13
orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone, Coverage Terrible
6/4/2013

Customer review by FreeMas

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by FreeMas
by FreeMas

I was very excited about receiving this phone. The phone is great but if you're not in an area with Sprint 4G LTE, you've just spent a great deal of money for what I consider less than average performance. Again the phone is wonderful, but the internet speed, not being able to use it in my office or in most locations outside of my office building even, its very disappointing. Not sure it was worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeMas
El Dorado, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Phone! RUNS OFF VERIZON TOWERS
11/3/2013

Customer review by hisbabygirl17

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by hisbabygirl17
by hisbabygirl17

I called straight talk before I purchased this phone to see what towers this phone would run off of, in my area it will be running off of verizon towers. SO it is available for verizon now which makes it ten times better!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hisbabygirl17
Princess Anne, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/22/2013

Customer review by Trahog

1.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Trahog
by Trahog

I have very bad coverage on this plan,It is sprint network Works at my house but go 1mile down the road and noting ,can't even make a phone call.Love the phone ,just not the coverage

Was this review helpful? (105) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trahog
Pensacola .Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only dropped calls ever...
6/14/2013

Customer review by Mexibeetle

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Mexibeetle
by Mexibeetle

Could never stay connected for more than 30 seconds at a time. Signal strength kept bouncing back to zero bars, even though a second Sprint HTC smartphone right next to it had a steady signal. Straight Talk could not resolve the problem. Their final suggestion was to "wait 24 hours to see if it got better!". Thought it may have been a bad phone, so I returned it for a different one with the same result. Before you buy, google "Samsung Galaxy dropped calls Sprint." It does not appear to be Sprint's fault because other smartphones work fine. It is either the Galaxy S III problem or its interface with Sprint.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mexibeetle
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet phone
12/9/2013

Customer review by dvajamz

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by dvajamz
by dvajamz

I LOVE this phone! It's a great phone. It does everything I want and gives me access to even more apps should I feel the need. It's user friendly and has a generous screen without being to big. Thankfully I was able to get it at the black friday price online without having to brave the horrible black friday crowds. FTW!!!!! The only down side is that I don't have a lot of connectivity here in Lexington TN because it's run off of Verizon towers. I'm investing in a cell phone signal booster for the house though which should remedy some of that. Eventually I may get one for the car... or maybe magically I'll find a way to petition Straight Talk and Verizon to build more towers! I really like Straight Talk's service and, even though it was way more than I really wanted to spend on a phone, the $299 was worth it. That's my opinion so far folks. I hope it helps. P.S. go ahead and pick yourself up some accessories like a 16gb sd micro card, a protective case and a car charger. You'll want those things to keep it all nice and portably safe. P.S.S. - do I need to add an anti virus app to this thing? #query

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dvajamz
Lexington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value, usable service
10/30/2013

Customer review by ThunderGunExpress

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by ThunderGunExpress
by ThunderGunExpress

I initially purchased an iPhone5 on StraightTalk. After about a week I was feeling frustrated by the lack of customization available and difficulty managing files with iTunes. As a techy guy, who likes to mod software, I found this android phone much more my speed. The main things I liked are the ease of setting custom ringtones and the larger screen. Aside from a short time with the iPhone5, this is my first real smart phone. Being limited to 3G may get annoying, and I do notice my cell reception bars vary greatly even when the phone remains in the same spot. (Fargo, ND) It's a much better value than paying $60 to Verizon for a phone without a data plan. I would recommend this as long as you are comfortable being limited to 3G service. I have access to WiFi in most areas that I use my phone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThunderGunExpress
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not an unlocked phone
9/19/2013

Customer review by Anonymous970

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Anonymous970
by Anonymous970

Beware: this phone is not unlocked. Although it is a GSM phone, the SIM card is embedded in the phone and cannot be replaced. That means this phone is forever tied to Straight Talk. There are factory unlocked phones available on Amazon that are virtually the same price and do not lock you into a specific carrier. The phone itself is great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonymous970
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hardware is good, service is awful.
9/27/2013

Customer review by MSF59

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by MSF59
by MSF59

I've been a straight talk customer for 3 years. The pricing can't be beat BUT there is no viable customer service. I bought this smartphone as an upgrade to 4G. Unfortunately it wont get 4G. I believe it's on the AT&T network and 4 G is absolutely in the area. I've called ST several times and they just cant seem to figure it out. I have been waiting for over a week for someone to call me back. The lesson learned is you get what you pay for and as far as Straight Talk is concerned, Technical Support isn't included.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSF59
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews