Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 72 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
6/2/2013

Customer review by marytoo

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by marytoo
by marytoo

have had this phone for 3 days and am really pleased. i have already been using a windows phone for a year(samsung focus) so am used to this operating system. smooth, simple to use and fun. the only reason i gave it a 4 for expectations is the display and the keyboard. the display is very good but compared to my old samsung focus super amoled screen, it is not as clear, colors are not as vivid and it is not as bright. the keyboard seems a little sluggish to me. all in all the internet experience is fast and fluid. decent camera. well worth the money. have been with straight talk for 3 years and am convinced it is the only way to go. contracts are ridiculously expensive. speaker is loud and calls are clear at both ends. fantastic battery life. no regrets.

Was this review helpful? (149) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marytoo
edwardsville, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly Surprised
8/31/2013

Customer review by mothersyoungest

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by mothersyoungest
by mothersyoungest

I have a co-worker who has a windows phone and loves his so when I saw that straight talk also has the window phone I thought I would give it a go. It has plenty of room for apps and gadgets all on the face and another place to keep the apps that you maybe wouldn't use daily but would still like easy access to. My husband wanted to know if I thought he would like one as well. He did purchase one too and is having as much fun with his as I am mine. The screen is large enough to view pictures with out having to zoom in just to see them. I can finally take notes to myself and have them always with me. I listen to music a lot on mine too and think the sound is great. Good selection of free games and apps. I haven't used it yet, but we have Net Flix on these as well. I was asked how I liked my phone and I said it was like being able to take my computer with me in a small package. I am very happy with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (90) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mothersyoungest
Muskegon, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for the money, Here's the good and bad.
7/22/2013

Customer review by OpenComputerDiagnostics

4.0 stars 7/22/2013 by OpenComputerDiagnostics
by OpenComputerDiagnostics

The good. This phone has1.2GHZ Dual Core Processor4 GB internal memory, if you want to store alot of music videos and photo i recommend a getting a microSD card. A 32GB microSD card is the largest this phone can support. Camera's rear facing cam is a 5 megapixel camera and video recorder LED flash front facing camera is a VGA 0.3 megapixel camera and video recorder 4'' IPS LCD touchscreen made of Gorilla Glass (high scratch resistance) The best thing about this phone it uses AT&T network in my area. (most of straight talks smart phones use Sprint's network and their coverage is terrible.) Easy to set up just follow the steps on the screen or open manual. If you have a Xbox 360 get the smart glass app to use this phone with your Xbox 360 The Bad As of right now the Apps in Windows Phone store are lacking One last thing Also you can take the sim card out of this phone and put it into any at&t smart phone change the apn settings on the phone to straight talks and your golden. Any questions feel free to ask!

Was this review helpful? (108) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OpenComputerDiagnostics
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally Some More Windows Phone Exposure!
7/13/2013

Customer review by RayRayy

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by RayRayy
by RayRayy

Ok, let me start by saying this. I DO NOT OWN THIS PHONE. I have used it for a few hours, but this phone is nearly identical to my Nokia Lumia 822. I'm mainly going to talk about the software side of this phone to educate people. Let me also say I have been a Blackberry, iPhone, and Android user. 6 months ago I would tell you to always buy an Android phone, I worshipped them. But when it came time for my upgrade I decided to chance it with a Windows Phone. A choice I do not regret at all and has seriously made me fall in love with phones again. This phone will sync beautifully with your Microsoft Account (Hotmail, Live, Outlook, etc.#. And for Google and Facebook users simply open up your People Hub #contacts# and you can sign in with those accounts as well and have all of your contacts transferred to your new Windows Phone. The live tile interface may take time to get use to for users of different smartphones but once you do it'll really make life feel so much easier, it's a strange thing I can't explain. I feel as though I can do so much more in say a 2 minute period than I ever could on Android. Microsoft also added a cool feature for kids #parents, you'll love this#. The feature is called Kid Zone, it's enabled though the settings. This lets you set up a personal start screen for your kid's to access. If you have little ones you can just add games and maybe a camera app, for older ones maybe add Internet Explorer and Facebook. You can customize it anyway you like! As far as the specs on this phone some people may think they are low. That isn't the case. Windows Phone doesn't require much to run which is why I have never experienced any type of lag or freezing at all. Well ok, ONE time I downloaded a poorly rated app and it locked up my phone. But that's nothing really, I had to battery pull all the time on Android. I don't know what else to really say. The OS on this phone is phenomenal. Anything bad said about it is mainly from people who don't give it a chance or they receive a faulty phone. The fact is, Windows Phone is growing faster than any other smartphone OS in the world #based on percent increase). I invite you to search for Engadget's review of Windows Phone 8. It is very detailed and thorough. So all in all, I would recommend this phone to anyone. Windows Phone 8 is PERFECTION.

Was this review helpful? (81) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayRayy
Alma, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phone is great, Straight talk is the issue
6/8/2013

Customer review by JROBisme

4.0 stars 6/8/2013 by JROBisme
by JROBisme

The phone itself is great. It is fast, easy to navigate. I enjoy the phone and would recommend it to anybody for the price. The problem I have had is with Straight talk. They do not have their system set up for this windows phone properly so I am unable to send or receive MMS messages. I spent hours on the phone with straight talk, and eventually they told me it was a problem with the phone I bought. I took it back and bought a new one, and still have the same problem. Just thought I would share this so people understand the situation at hand when buying this Windows phone

Was this review helpful? (114) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JROBisme
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easiest Smartphone OS toLearn
10/14/2013

Customer review by sandclap

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by sandclap
by sandclap

We bought this phone for my wife two weeks ago. Now...I never review products online but felt like I had to do this. My wife is a bit of a technophobe and self described "technologically stupid". She has been using a baby smartphone running on Android for 21/2 years but was never happy with it largely because she couldn't figure out a lot of the functions. It finally blew up so off to the Straight Talk store #in Wal-Mart#. She fell in love with the IDEA of this phone immediately. She is a Windows 8 user and had found it pretty easy to learn so thought this phone might be a good way to go. She loves it! She was using virtually every app the first day and has already progressed much further than I had ever thought she would. The phone is fast, beautiful images and every app #so far# is smooth, easy to use and looks slick and professional. My own next phone will be a Windows phone.

Was this review helpful? (75) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sandclap
Southeast NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
needs possible service fix "please read"
9/3/2013

Customer review by depunk

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by depunk
by depunk

this phone is awesome, very easy to use and for the money well its worth the buy. how ever the service mat need some tweaking. you may need to get a replacement sim card.before purchasing you may want to check whether you have AT&T towers or T-mobile towers in you area. this phone come with a Sim that is only T-mobile compliant (no service in my area) but after trouble shooting this issue this a straight talk rep (took about an hour) we figure out that all i needed was an AT&T compliant sim. I received the new sim 6 days later in the mail and after a brief phone call to straight talk to configure the new sim card to my phone i now has service in my area.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
depunk
shelbyville, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Customer Service
7/4/2014

Customer review by LadySD

1.0 stars 7/4/2014 by LadySD
by LadySD

I purchase this phone in Dec as a gift for myself. It broke late June and since I had a warranty I called to check to replace the phone. I ask the rep do I get a used one, my repair one or a new one. "Oh yes you will get a new phone". When I got the box to ship my phone to them I call back and told the rep that I worry about sending my phone and not sure what I will get back. Again I ask do I get my back repair or a new one. AGAIN "Oh you will get a new phone". So yesterday in the mail I got the phone and it was a rebuilt one. I called and told by several reps said its not in the notes that I would get a new phone. I ask are you saying I got to suck it up and take this phone. Rep said "yes you do". I told the reps the calls was on their recorded line what I was told. Every time I was being transfer to a supv they disconnect the call. So $200 of my money is gone. BTW I also paid for their $20 replacement plan on their site and that didn't help me.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadySD
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Decent Phone, A Few Drawbacks
7/5/2013

Customer review by WhiteGraffiti

4.0 stars 7/5/2013 by WhiteGraffiti
by WhiteGraffiti

When this phone first came out, I was super excited that Straight Talk was finally offering a Windows phone. The only thing that bothered me about it was that the phone was a brand I wasn't familiar with (Huawei). I finally decided to try it a couple of days ago, however, and so far I'm a happy customer. A couple of things I don't like about the phone are: -The camera is not built into the phone like it is on, say, an iPhone. The lens sticks out a teeny bit so when you set your phone down on it's back, it's resting on the camera lens. This might not be a big deal for other people but I'm a photographer so my lens are treated with extra special care. -The back cover for the phone is super flimsy and hard to take off. I feel like it would be easy to snap it right in half if you weren't careful in removing it. Luckily, I haven't had any reason to take it on and off other than for the initial set up of the phone. -There are practically NO cases for this phone. I've found a sturdier one on Amazon (a boring black and blue for color), a couple of hard back covers that really don't protect the phone, and that's it. If you're a clutz like me and have an issue with dropping your phone, then beware! :P I'm sure the lack of cases is due to the fact that this phone is pretty new and a not yet popular brand as well. Other than that, this seems like a pretty decent phone. It's super fast when connected to WiFi, call quality is decent, the keyboard is pretty quick, music quality is excellent (sounds like my iPod), data seems to work pretty well, battery life is good... Overall, it's a pretty decent phone for a prepaid. I think it's one I'll be keeping unless I run in to problems within the next few days.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhiteGraffiti
Small Town, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Fast but buggy
5/25/2013

Customer review by BobMob79

3.0 stars 5/25/2013 by BobMob79
by BobMob79

This phone is fast and furious. The Windows 8 interface is streamlined and the apps fly with the 1.2 GHz dual-core processor. Web browsing is a bit slow, even when using a fast WiFi connection. The phone got stuck a few times and I had to remove the battery to restart it, which is not something you want to do because of the phone's flimsy back cover. The last straw occurred when the battery was showing 0% after being plugged in all night. Removing the battery yet again solved the problem temporarily as the battery showed 100% again. The phone looks and feels good, but is too buggy for me to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say, I returned mine two days after I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (88) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobMob79
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this Phone
6/3/2013

Customer review by RS112399

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by RS112399
by RS112399

Somewhat dificult to set up, afterwards great! Not a big fan of the App selection. Phone is quick, thin and has a nice feel.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RS112399
Parkersburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality for The Price
12/30/2013

Customer review by AuntJennieD

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by AuntJennieD
by AuntJennieD

I purchased this phone Dec. 26. I returned it this morning. The phone kept freezing up. I kept getting a message across the screen that said "resuming". Resuming what, i have no idea because I could not exit from this no matter what I tried. I could not turn the phone off. After 5 minutes of "resuming" the phone turned itself off and I was unable to turn it back on. I took the battery out and waited a few minutes, put it back in, and it started back up. Taking the battery out was the only way out of this "resuming" lockup. This happened way too many times. For $200, I should have a phone that I can use when I need it, and not worry about this "resuming" situation. I could not even make an emergency call if i needed to. The service kept going out too frequently. And that vibration every time you went to access something became quite annoying. But the lock up problem was horrible. I would not buy again and would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntJennieD
Selden NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am loving it!
7/4/2013

Customer review by Foxcbrwn25

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Foxcbrwn25
by Foxcbrwn25

I just got this phone last month and I am loving everything about it! It is really a magnificent phone and it is highly recommended. I am looking for the perfect case now.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foxcbrwn25
Rockford IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As a previous Android user, I'm impressed!
7/24/2014

Customer review by treeboi

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by treeboi
by treeboi

I've had this phone for a week now, and I'm impressed. Before this phone I had a Huawei Ascend Plus, but it got wet at the river and the 2-Year product replacement plan came in handy! The replacement plan covered most of this phone and I spent the extra 20 bucks on this phone AND got the insurance for it as well (which I highly recommend; totally worth it). I was weary of switching to windows phone, but I figured I would give it a shot. This phone can do anything an android can do, and it does it faster. I haven't had any problems with the phone freezing or running slow at all. Unlike android, the background processes are kept to a minimum...automatically. As soon as you close an app, its closed and doesn't continue to run in the background (with the exception of apps like Facebook). Now for the reasons I only gave it 4 stars: First of all, this phone runs off AT&T towers, which works out okay for me, but might not for others. If this phone ran off of Verizon towers I would most likely have given it 5 stars. Secondly, the windows app store is still pretty new so there are less choices as far as apps go. I had to download Facebook (didn't come pre-installed) but that's no big deal. I also had to download youtube. But all the other apps like vine, instagram, pintrest, google maps, hulu, netflix, pandora, etc are still available and they work flawlessly. Lastly, theres fewer options to personalize the phone with Windows phone as opposed to Android. For instance, I can't set separate ringtones for my contacts. I haven't figured out how to download notification tones either (although Zedge is availiable on the app store). All-in-all this is a great phone. It's got a high-quality 5MP camera with flash (takes great pictures), and it has a front-facing VGA camera as well. It has a designated camera button, which was a big selling point for me (no more trying to line your finger up with the camera button when taking selfies!) I highly recommend this phone, even if you are weary of leaving android; give it a shot. Takes a while to get used to but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
treeboi
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
do not buy this phone
7/5/2013

Customer review by runningman210

2.0 stars 7/5/2013 by runningman210
by runningman210

First off the phone is a great phone. it's fast, has enough room to store all kinds of stuff and the windows 8 interface is good, that is where it stops. I have been with straight talk for over 4 years, I have has this phone for 45 days and the phone itself is good but straight talk is for the birds. I have had NO mms since day one, have spoken to at least 10 people at straight talk and they say it is not on there end. from June 4th to July 4th I used 163 MB of data, when my phone service renewed on July 4th my internet would no longer work. called straight talk and after 37 minutes on the phone they sent me to a auto message saying i was using high amounts of data and the phone system hung up on me....REALLY. the phone now has a purple line going up the middle of the screen and even after restoring it the line is still there. I have called straight talk more then once about this phone and have tried to get them to either replace the phone or refund my money, all they do is keep side stepping it and try to fix my phone through the system. called AT&T for which the phone runs on through straight talk and they were totally lost as to why it will not send or receive pictures via text. ask a straight talk rep for the internet apn and the mms apn's are like trying to milk a bull, they will not give you them you have to google the heck out of the internet to try and find them. Is the phone a good phone....YES is the service that comes along with it.... NO. I am calling them once again today to try and get my money back and I will NOT be buying another straight talk phone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runningman210
maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Okay phone for a beginner, teen, or kid
11/13/2013

Customer review by sologirl

3.0 stars 11/13/2013 by sologirl
by sologirl

Like every other phone there are good and bad things about this phone. This phone is an average touch screen phone but to me there are more of the bad than the good. I'll start out with the good things of this phone. When connected to wifi this phone works pretty fast depending on your wifi connection. The battery life is also good depending on how much you charge it or use it. The camera is also pretty good but sometimes the pictures you take are yellowish orange. The bad things about this phone is that in order to see your battery life while you use the phone, you have to download the app for it which is kind of weird, the phone will also just shut down when it is on low battery and wont turn on until you charge it and its fully charge. The gbs for this phone are also very little so if your planning onto download games and apps i highly recommend you to buy a micro sd card. What annoys me a lot about this phone is that when it dies or you run out of battery and turn it back on, you have to keep resetting your date and time even though you have it on automatic. its not like an iphone or other phones where you just turn it on and it will give you the right time. for this phone you'll have to keep changing it and resetting it. If these bad things about this phone dont matter to you or its ok i highly recommend this phone but if it does matter to you highly recommend you to not get it .

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sologirl
Clovis CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone For The Money
5/15/2014

Customer review by Rootes

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Rootes
by Rootes

After 20 years with Verizon and Sprint, I decided to go with a no contract phone. A friend has a Windows 8 phone and I liked it enough to go with one. I'm 58 years old, and in the music industry. I have no need to download music or videos, so the storage is fine. It easily syncs with my laptop and desktop computers. It's fairly intuitive to use. 4G works great. My only complaint is that it's a little "touchy." But, my last phone was a Motorola Droid, so this might just be a matter of me having to get used to it. Photo quality is good (better than the old Droid), but nowhere near iPhone standards. Call quality is very good. Graphics are good, but again, not up to iPhone quality. The only downsides have nothing to do with the phone itself. Straight Talk, like all prepaid providers, does not offer or provide off network roaming. There are quite a few dead spots. This may eventually be a deal breaker for me. Also, if you're addicted to Words With Friends like I am, Zynga's Windows 8 app is useless. Don't bother. Summery: Well built, easy to use phone. Windows 8 platform is as good or better than Android. Lack of off network roaming is the big downside and that has nothing to do with the phone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rootes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone, horrible service
12/9/2013

Customer review by CP1352

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by CP1352
by CP1352

So, I got this phone months ago. From the get go, I noticed that the internet would go out in certain spots. I thought nothing of it, since I wanted this phone so much. After going down to Southern California, I noticed that it didn't work right there either. It didn't work in Denver either. So, after procrastinating calling Straight Talk, I did. I was on hold for half an hour to be told that "the area you are in is weak. Try other areas. Goodbye". I have called them multiple times, and each time I am told to deal with a horrible connection. All together, the phone works really good. I like the set up, but I wish there was more apps on the Store. So, the phone is great, but the service is horrible.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CP1352
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!
8/20/2013

Customer review by cmdeal0

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by cmdeal0
by cmdeal0

This is my first Windows phone and I was surprised how easy it was to learn after years of working with Android. The applications and web browser both run super fast and it's easy to navigate. The only downside is the storage, but it's more than enough to download the essential apps. Also, I haven't had any problems using this phone with Straight Talk. I was able to port my number right away and the reception is great. I tried sending a picture message right away because some of the other users reported that it wouldn't work, but it went right through. Overall I am very happy with this phone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmdeal0
Somerset, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
out perform iphone and android
8/2/2013

Customer review by ROELS

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by ROELS
by ROELS

i gotta say this phone out perform my iphone 4 they say the brand is in the low side but boy i am happy i got it it is super fast quality is great camera is better than my old iphone 4 the live tiles are amazing and i get 4g in my area windows phone is way better than the iphone and android HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE PRICE YOU ARE GETTING ALOT OF PHONE FOR A REASONABLE PRICE

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ROELS
WEST COVINA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews