Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 625 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

625 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

625 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
159
4 stars
138
3 stars
53
2 stars
81
1 stars
194
1-20 of 602 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 602 total reviews
1-20 of 602 reviews
Can't beat this Great phone!
5/31/2013

Customer review by JustJerry

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by JustJerry
by JustJerry
Top 500 contributor

After too long of a time, Straight Talk has finally moved out of the dark ages and has begun to offer Android phones with the more current Android OS: 4.0 vs. 2.3 on most of their other phones. That being said this phone is an excellent phone. First, it works on the Verizon network and works well. Reception is excellent, call quality/clarity is crisp and clear. 3G is pretty decent on Verizon but don't expect anything near 4G LTE speeds. For having an 800mhz processor this phone responds very well-it's snappy and responsive with no lags. The screen is bright and gorgeous. If you're wondering how much memory it has to store apps the answer is 2.75GB which is a lot. It also has the capacity for up to 32GB external SD CARD storage (for photos and music, etc). Battery life is much better than expected. The rear facing 3MP camera is decent but is missing a flash. There is no front facing camera. It utilizes the Google Play App Store FYI. Setup was a breeze. Other features include picture caller ID and the ability to respond to an incoming call with a text message much like the iPhone 5. Voice commands work well on this phone too. All in all, coming from a smartphone geek, I rate this phone an A! Simply the best Android 4.0 phone Straight Talk has to offer. You can't go wrong especially for $99!!

Was this review helpful? (701) (96)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustJerry
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Frustrating phone
4/2/2014

Customer review by dakstar

2.0 stars 4/2/2014 by dakstar
by dakstar

This is my second Centura from Walmart and through StraightTalk. I am switching after about 10 months of use. The first phone was returned to the store within 2 weeks as it would not keep time and would shut off at random times. This phone seemed to work much better and has had no problem keeping time, but has its own glitches that I have now grown tired of. Various apps cause the phone to freeze entirely, while receiving group texts from iPhones is a nightmare. More often than not, when receiving a text from an iPhone I get a "Download" option, then a subsequent "Download failed" message. The download continues to attempt itself for hours afterwards, producing even more "download failed" messages. They have all attempted to change the settings on their phone but to no avail. My iPhone friends have adjusted and now no longer text me, but rather just call. I am giving it 2 stars because there have not been any problems with calling people, but problems with just about every other aspect.

Was this review helpful? (168) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dakstar
Would recommend to a friend? No
My second smart phone first was an LG with Sprint
6/14/2013

Customer review by ADBayCity

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by ADBayCity
by ADBayCity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone has already exceeded expectations for me. I bought in May and just activated today. However, I have been using the phone off of my Wi-Fi and was impressed with what I was able to do even before activation including sending photos and email plus getting the downloaded apps. I wanted. A great surprise this morning as the straight talk customer service worked like a charm. Last time I tried to activate a different phone with them it was a night mare. But today it was perfect, the phone was activated and number ported in less than 10 minutes. My first call was to my daughter and she said the voice quality was excellent I knew I was having no problems hearing her. Must add that st. talk listened and corrected my difficulties with them and managed to keep me as a customer when I had already convinced my self that maybe it was too big of a hassle. This phone with the updated android is huge step up for those of you wanting to remain on Verizon towers like I did and get a st. talk smart phone.

Was this review helpful? (197) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADBayCity
Midland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first Smartphone
5/23/2013

Customer review by Houshead

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Houshead
by Houshead

Before I get to my review. I have to make it clear this is my first EVER smartphone.I needed a phone with apps, especially for GPS for my new job. About a year ago, the last cheap prepaid I bought for almost 70 bucks I thought the phone had all the apps I needed/wanted FB/Pandora/Youtube and it clearly said on the box "download apps" but, it was just a regular old cheap phone. So yesterday the 22nd of May I went and bought this phone for 99 bucks. I was nervous I was going to waste my money again, get home set it up and not have the actual apps I wanted. Man was I happy about my choice. Not only did it have everything I wanted, it was the perfect phone for me. This phone is about 5 time the speed of my wifes phone and a lot easier to guide through the phone. I could sit here all morning about all the amazing things about this phone but, I need to get to sleep. If anyone is reading this and is having doubts about this purchase, don't. Go out and buy this right now!!!

Was this review helpful? (1037) (92)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houshead
Newburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Satisfied
7/15/2013

Customer review by debnal

4.0 stars 7/15/2013 by debnal
by debnal

This is my first smart phone. So please take into consideration that I am "smartphone challenged". At first I was ready to return it and go back to my old flip phone. After a little tutoring from daughter in law and 2 weeks of using it I like it much better. I am amazed at all the capabilities of this phone. The ST Samsung phones use Verizon towers. So that was a big consideration in the purchase of this brand since Verizon is very strong in my area. So before purchasing any phone read the reviews. Do your research to find out which brand of ST phones are serviced by what cellular provider and what service is strongest for your area. (My old flip phone was also a ST Samsung so I knew the brand I needed). The only reason I gave it a 4 is because some of the apps like the GPS really drain your battery. (not uncommon for all smartphones) I do recommend purchasing a car charger for on the go. I also spent the extra $9 for the damage warranty. Hope this is helpful!

Was this review helpful? (173) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debnal
Enterprise, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a good phone
6/3/2014

Customer review by TawandaSC

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by TawandaSC
by TawandaSC

This is my first expereience with a smart phone. I ordered it after reading other reviews and testing out a simliar phone. I must say I am very disappointed in this phone. It will go to the home screen automatically without the button being pushed. I constantly have to turn it off and reboot it because it hangs up and freezes. The text screen changes to landscape without turning the phone and will not go back to portrait without closing the message app and reopening it. The buttons are extremely sensitive and it will open apps that I do not select. It is NOT user friendly. You really have to dig to find how to do things and the instruction book that came with it is not helpful. I have spent a lot of time on Google trying to figure out how to work the phone and how to complete basic functions like copying and forwarding texts. Overall, I am very disappointed in the phone and the purchase. I will be purchasing an Iphone soon as it seems more user friendly than this phone.

Was this review helpful? (115) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TawandaSC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great alternative to the more expensive phones
4/15/2014

Customer review by jennyzoo

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by jennyzoo
by jennyzoo

I purchased the Galaxy Centura about a week ago, based off the positive reviews on this site. I had a Galaxy Precedent, which was just as good a phone, but operated off the Sprint network, which gave me really spotty-poor coverage beyond the city limits. I am extremely pleased with the price, and also with the capabilities of the phone. Although, one thing I might add is that some of the 1 star ratings mentioned that you cannot hear very well on the phone, and unfortunately, they are somewhat right. I think they exaggerated quite a bit with only 1 star, but so far, that has been the only drawback for me. I would highly reccommend this phone for someone who wants the features of a smart phone, but doesn't want to pay the high price. The I-Phones and galaxies on the straighttalk plan start at around $300, and go up to around $600. Not gonna do it!! And not gonna pay the high monthly prices, along with lengthy contract, that Verizon requires. Absolutely love my straighttalk plan, and now love my new Galaxy Centura.

Was this review helpful? (83) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jennyzoo
LaGrange, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cheap outdated glitchy phone
12/25/2013

Customer review by anadarko

2.0 stars 12/25/2013 by anadarko
by anadarko

With practice, you can get this phone to do its job. (1) When you plug it in to charge--check to see if it feels like charging. If it isn't in the mood--reboot by holding down the on/off button and when the menu appears choose to shut it down completely--then re-start. Usually, it will now charge. (2) If the phone is not in the mood to tell the correct time--go to settings, then date and time, and click 'automatic date and time' on and off once. This should correct the problem for the moment. After re-booting to fix the charging problem, the time problem often crops up too--so check. (3) If your phone call does not end when you end the call (this will happen), go to Settings/Accessibility/and check' power-button ends call'. (4) If you cannot get your music onto the SD card--I can't help you--I have not been able to do that either. Straighttalk needs to fix this. Many people with this phone are streaming their music--using up data time--because the SD card is un-accessible. No-one on line knows how to fix this.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anadarko
maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
5/18/2013

Customer review by bmc2

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by bmc2
by bmc2
Top 1000 contributor

I recently bought the Samsung Galaxy Centura, because my previous phone (Samsung Showcase) was having some issues. Overall, this phone is a deal! I won't pay $350-$450 for a smartphone when most of Straight Talk's phones are outdated. Pros: - 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. Next to the SIII (that they just now have), the Centura is the only smart phone with an updated OS. 4.0 runs very smoothly, has awesome apps and of course is more up to date. - The $99 price tag. I was floored that this was only $99!! I did some research to make sure there wasn't a catch. - Graphics are really good. My previous phone was more on the "pixely" side. The Centura's is bright and clear! - This phone is a CDMA-V, which means it runs on the Verizon network! For me, this is a pro! Con: - Screen Size. The screen size 3.5". I wish it was a 4", but I can't complain too much! - No front facing camera. I am still kind of amazed they still make phones without this feature. Other than that, I love this phone. I haven't had any issues! Definitely worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (570) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmc2
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Fantastic Value, Except for the Camera
6/4/2013

Customer review by ironhans

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by ironhans
by ironhans

After several years with Sprint I was ready to spend less money on phone service. Last year I switched to Straight Talk. I wasn't impressed with the phone selection (for the prices) so went for an old, cheap model for about 9 months until the Centura came along. I've now used it for 3 weeks. My last Smartphone was a Galaxy S (Epic, Gen 1), so in some ways the Centura is a step down. What makes it all worth it is Ice Cream Sandwich and the Straight Talk price. Also that it runs on Verizon's network so I can actually get a signal 99% of the time. I do really love this phone. Except for the camera. I discovered yesterday that it does not have auto focus. My Galaxy S was able to scan documents and barcodes perfectly. This phone is badly far-sighted. I cannot focus on any text closer than a couple feet away. It makes QR and barcode reading very difficult and document scanning and receipt storage impossible. I will be upgrading this much sooner than I had originally hoped. I await another Android/Verizon/$99 combo with a better camera.

Was this review helpful? (87) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ironhans
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this phone!
4/14/2014

Customer review by Jimmykat

1.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Jimmykat
by Jimmykat

I bought my first one Nov 2013 for $99 at Walmart. Since it was my first android phone, I didn't want to pay too much for a phone. In Jan 2014 the phone would not charge. I called Straight Talk and they said to send it back, which I did. They sent me a replacement phone which was a refurbished phone. Not happy with that since I had bought new, I expected a new replacement. Now it is April 2014 and this phone will not charge. I called Straight Talk again and we are in the process of sending mine back and getting another replacement. I ask if I could get a new one this time and she said she didn't have any control over whether I got a new or refurbished replacement phone. The only thing I can say nice about he phone is that it looks nice. Phone coverage in my area is good too, but doesn't do me any good if I can't get the the phone to work. My recommendation is not to waste your money. Spend a little more and get a better product.

Was this review helpful? (90) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmykat
Salem, Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Good low price, how to avoid lockups, or just slow
9/25/2014

Customer review by AZNorsemen

4.0 stars 9/25/2014 by AZNorsemen
by AZNorsemen

I have found that my friend and mine did for a while freeze lots. We narrowed down to the add-on programs we use. removed the ones not needed. Keep in mind each program will need updates, more mean more downloading, possible slow down of phone response too. My friend gets frustrated and says she may go back to flip and give everything up, I decided not to let emotions keep me from getting any new features. You may need to compromise or upgrade to a premium galaxy model. Then I was able to resolve by backing up phone first, copy entire files in both storage loc, int and ext sd and get a complete backup program at Play Store. When you reset d a factory back/restore it erases everything on sd card. I have found some of the files saved, are not restored on when it done. Besides its just a good idea to do. My phone works much smoother, I changed upgrades to download only on WiFi. I speculate some programs are not able to restore because other apps installed changed them too. Backup/Restoring is like recompiling your personalized smart phone to optimize its resources.

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZNorsemen
PHX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Honest Opinion after a week
12/25/2013

Customer review by PeteG1027

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by PeteG1027
by PeteG1027

I have used this phone for 7 days now and am getting more familiar with it. I must say that this is a very functional and easy to use cell phone. This is my first smart phone and I was worried about using it. I have had no issues whatsoever. My kids text me all the time and because of some other reviews I was worried about that. Texting is easy with a good sized screen which respond lightning fast and is easy to see and type. The search button is also very easy to use and it responds quickly. Pictures are easy to take and come out clean and crisp. I'm also back in school and downloaded a chemistry app as well as a statistics app. So far they have worked perfectly. I have had no issues with this phone. On cyber Monday I bought it for $29 on walmart.com and I hope it will be offered at that price again after Xmas. I would without a doubt recommend this phone. It is easy to use, easy to set up, text, take pictures, dial, etc... Great Phone for the price. Even at the current $99 I would buy another if I lost this one. For whatever it is worth to you, that's my two cents...

Was this review helpful? (75) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeteG1027
Western, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for anyone
8/14/2013

Customer review by mnstar

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by mnstar
by mnstar

I am definitely not an entry-level user. I've had cell phones going back to when they were as big as a purse. I bought this because I absolutely hate contracts, and I didn't want to spend $400 plus on a "high end" smartphone. I have owned iPhone, Blackberrys, and many other brands and operating systems. This one is my favorite. What else could you want? $99 for the phone and $45 a month for unlimited everything, and this phone runs on the Verizon network, which in my area has the best coverage by far. Features: For starters, its a Samsung product. Quality is next to none. Android 4.0 is awesome! It has Bluetooth and Wifi. Download the iSync app and wirelessly transfer your iTunes to this phone. Video is stunning quality, and I just played Pink's new YouTube video with no hesitation. Sound quality is great. Call quality is great and so far no dropped calls. If you like to Skype it does not have a front facing camera. That is the only downside I can see to what I think is the best deal on a full-featured smartphone available on the market today. Thanks Samsung and Straight Talk! mnstar

Was this review helpful? (97) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mnstar
Charleston SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst phone purchase I have ever made
7/13/2014

Customer review by WatertownMomx3

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by WatertownMomx3
by WatertownMomx3

I purchased this phone 5 months ago after my Samsung Galaxy Illusion (owned 2.5 years) started having trouble recharging at the connection point. I was already aware that I was downgrading a bit on the processor, but I was surprised at just how much slower it was. Still, I'm not too impatient, so I've dealt with slightly longer wait times. However, almost straight from the box, this phone started freezing up all of the time, making me have to do hard resets, or it spontaneously resets on its own for no apparent reason. It has a lot of trouble picking up signal, no matter where I am. The real kiss of death, however, is that this phone DOES NOT RECEIVE GROUP TEXT MESSAGES!!! Please be aware of this before you purchase it, because Straight Talk's Customer Service will only apologize over and over for this but not give you any kind of real help or offer you any kind of credit. It also only sporadically downloads other MMS (picture) texts. The description of this phone on both the Straight Talk and Walmart sites are misleading, as both state they receive MMS messaging.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WatertownMomx3
Watertown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought two, both are paperweights
7/14/2014

Customer review by CentSchaf

1.0 stars 7/14/2014 by CentSchaf
by CentSchaf

I bought this phone to get an entry level smartphone since I was not sure if I would stay with Straight talk when I signed up after coming from a regional carrier (US Cellular). Straight talk as a service I would wholeheartedly recommend, as long as you don't call customer service (they read from scripts and told me to call them when my phone had an issue- it was intermmitment, so that really was not possible). This phone locks up all the time. It took me 8 minutes to make a phone call once because it kept returning to the home screen. When switching between apps it will often lock up. I do not use any unusual apps on my phone either- twitter, netflix, Hulu plus, and some banking apps. I have tried uninstalling all of the apps and re-installing them and the phone acts the same way. Customer service will not be helpful nor sympathetic at all. There is no reason this phone should be sold at all. It is broken from the get-go.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CentSchaf
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible battery life.
12/13/2013

Customer review by SophomoreGirly16

1.0 stars 12/13/2013 by SophomoreGirly16
by SophomoreGirly16

I hate this phone! It has the worst battery life ever! Most days the phone dies before I go to lunch at school. It is not just my phone either. My mom has the same phone and she is having the same problems as I am. There are other flaws to the phone. Our phones like to do a total reset and I have lost all of my pictures and music. Also, the time likes to reset itself. There has been countless times where I have been late to school because my phone has reset the time. The phone never tells me when I have a text message and it never rings when someone calls me. Also, my music app opens and starts playing at random times. I have deleted all of my apps to see if that would help with the battery life, it did not phase it. The battery still drained within three hours. I close all of my apps before I lock my phone and that also does nothing for the battery life. Overall I am very disappointed with this straight talk phone.

Was this review helpful? (53) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SophomoreGirly16
Gaylord, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice entry level smartphone with Android 4.0
5/20/2013

Customer review by Jorge357

4.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Jorge357
by Jorge357

Picked this one up for my in-laws. Was planning on getting the Galaxy Proclaim, but they were out, and this was the new Galaxy in the lineup. Definitely a step up from the Proclaim, and it includes Android 4.0. This phone is nice and light, and is pretty quick for a 800MHz phone running the Ice Cream Sandwich flavor of Android. Verizon towers, so no issue there, good connectivity and speed thus far. Two quirks that have popped up, and both are related to the stock messaging app - first, I haven't found an "enter" key on the stock messaging keyboard (even Shift doesn't change the emoticon to an enter key), and 2nd, if you take a portrait photo, and attempt to send it via text, it often times compresses the photo, but also rotates it, stretching the photo from it's native portrait layout to a landscape - very weird. Other than that, it's a really nice Android phone for $100!

Was this review helpful? (303) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jorge357
Palmer, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Memory problems causing frustrating issues!!
1/13/2015

Customer review by hylokie

1.0 stars 1/13/2015 by hylokie
by hylokie

This phone does have a fast decent processor but lousy memory space that can cause freeze-ups, annoying screens that change when you're not even touching the phone, but just turning on the power, sometimes the time it takes to reboot will and has taken me 20-30 min. to finally behave like it should. My best advice and smartest thing you should do if you're considering to buy, is to purchase a MicroSD card and download a file manager ( I'm using one called "File Manager (Explorer) by Cheetah Mobile app for more space which I downloaded free on Google Play Store app on this phone and do this right away before having this phone more than 2 weeks if you want to avoid these bad issues if you are a heavy user (music, pictures, etc). Believe me, it will only be more frustrating trying to "reset" as you would lose everything. If you get these issues and you didnt take my advice, buy another phone...avoid the headache. Worst smartphone ever!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hylokie
Pittsfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Shocked
9/13/2013

Customer review by funNsurf

1.0 stars 9/13/2013 by funNsurf
by funNsurf

I Purchased this Galaxy Centura 3 days ago. It drops calls, internet connection is iffy at best. But, WORST OF ALL, this phone does not disconnect when you end the call. The other party can hear everything that is being said on your end, even though you have no idea the line is still connected! Not to mention the fact, this phone automatically dials the last person you spoke with, even after you cleared the screen, it is face up on the table and supposedly locked! AGAIN, the other party is privy to anything being said! What? I'm sure that I am no different than any other consumer, my cell is used for business as well as for my own personal use, well this particular model takes OUR PERSONAL PRIVACY, to a whole new level!!! This smartphone (questionable at best) is going back to Walmart for a full refund! If you have one of these, you need to be fully aware of the GLITCHES in this particular model. I would Never recommend purchasing this phone to anyone! Damage control is Unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? (30) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
funNsurf
Myrtle Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 602 total reviews
1-20 of 602 reviews