Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 283 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

283 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

283 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 247 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews
Super phone with a great price.
4/25/2013

Customer review by powerstroke73turbo

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by powerstroke73turbo
by powerstroke73turbo

If you have good signal on Verizon towers then grab this phone if you can get it. I bought the Samsung Galaxy which is on AT&T but at my house had lower signal. So I returned it and saw this phone 100.00 dollars cheaper and took a chance. I am so glad now that I bought it. I also noticed that Walmart wont give an extended warranty on phones over 199 dollars but within 30 days you can add a replacement warranty thru straight talk. Even if you step on it and crush the screen they will replace it. Now more good stuff...it has an led flash,2 gig built in memory,gorilla glass screen,1 gig processor,ice cream sandwich 4.0 android software,super thin and light body, 4.3 inch screen, speaker phone sounds good, front and rear facing camera that is voice operated, there are a couple videos on youtube but somebody needs to make a better one. Battery life is awesome compared to other phones Ive had like the Droid X ....I like this phone much better and with my droid I was paying Verizon 120 dollars a month for the same service and only 250 texts a month...45dollars a month with straight talk for unlimited everything is a no brainer!!!! I went from the 99 dollar phone to the 149 dollar phone (still no flash) then to the top of the line 349 dollar phone(still 2.3 software), and back down to 249 for this phone and figured i could save some people some time and tell you buy this one and you should be happy. There were no reviews when I bought it so here you go...

Was this review helpful? (480) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
powerstroke73turbo
Northern MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
The Straight Talk LG L86C Showtime Is Awesome!
4/18/2013

Customer review by jlapny

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by jlapny
by jlapny

It does use the Verizon Towers. If Verizon has the best coverage in your area then get this phone. If AT&T has the best coverage in your area then get the Samsung Galaxy S2. To me, these two phones are very similar. The biggest difference is that the LG is CDMA-V (Verizon Towers) and the Samsung is GSM (AT&T Towers). Both phones are awesome. Just purchase the one for your area coverage. I bought it today and had it activated in no time. I LOVE it!

Was this review helpful? (266) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlapny
Perry, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Night and Day difference for $25-50 more!
5/23/2013

Customer review by rspmobile

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by rspmobile
by rspmobile

I have had both the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim and the LG Optimus Zip, both run on the Verizon network. In the reviews on the LG Optimus Zip, you can read my comparison, titled "LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?" After spending the extra $50, for the Optimus Showtime, it is worth it. Samsung Galaxy Proclaim was a nice phone, if you don't mind the small screen, I would stand by the 4 stars I gave it. LG Optimus Zip, I would drop it down to 3. It would be a better phone, IF they actually put internal memory in the device. You can install some apps and also move it to the SD card but some apps you can not do that and other don't function well when on external memory. So what does the $50 pay for with the Optimus Showtime. Actually, A LOT! - 4.3" Screen with 800x400 resolution, about an inch bigger and double the resolution. - 5mp & HD720 with auto focus & flash, both Zip and Proclaim had 3mp but neither had a flash and only Zip had auto focus. - Front facing camera - 2gb of internal storage vrs 1gb with Proclaim, 150mb with Zip - Android 4.0 vrs 2.3. Version 4 really takes advantage of the large screen. The odd part of this phone is the lack of auto brightness sensor, however a small adjustment to the Notification screen, you can add screen settings icon to quickly adjust it. Also one other quarky thing LG is known fpr, no way to change the MicroSD unless you remove the whole back cover. However, the phne can run as a mass storage drive in USB mode and AirDroid with WiFi works well to access the MicroSD card. I really think with everything involved, the LG Optimus Showtime is bang for your buck

Was this review helpful? (143) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rspmobile
Steubenville, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME
4/22/2013

Customer review by TNREBELMAN

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by TNREBELMAN
by TNREBELMAN

GOT THIS PHONE TODAY HAD SEVERAL SMARTPHONE FROM STRAIGHT TALK BUT THIS ONE ALL CAN SAID IS O M G PHONE TAKES LITTLE TIME TO GET USE TO IT BUT ITS THE BEST PHONE STRAIGHT TALK HAS COME OUT WITH BEATS IPHONE LOTS OF MEMORY PLUS IT FAST SCREEN IS GOOD SIZE OVERALL AWESOME PHONE I AM A HAPPY CUSTOMER NOW

Was this review helpful? (147) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNREBELMAN
SEVIERVILLE TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best deal out there if you have Verizon towers
5/12/2013

Customer review by ABrewster

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by ABrewster
by ABrewster

I currently have a "dumb phone" through Verizon that I pay $30 a month for.. that's just calling and text. My plans up June 19th and I've been looking into getting a smart phone, CHEAP. Something like $45 a month for UNLIMITED everything; data, calls, text. I live in Western New York and the carrier that dominates here is Verizon. $90 a month for a smart phone with a cap on data = too much. With Verizon, you are paying for customer service. You can call them up and English speaking Americans will help you with any problems you have, they might even take charges off your bill if you make enough fuss. With Straight Talk, there is hardly no customer service. That's why it's cheap. Wal-Mart owns Straight Talk, obviously they're going to make it as cheap as possible by out-sourcing. Some how, while trying to cut every corner, Straight Talk came out with this amazing and new smart phone. It's got the newest processor (it's fast), a good 5.0 megapixel camera and can use up to a 32 GB micro SD card. Awesome. Youtube and other internet videos stream flawlessly and in supreme HD on the screen that is bigger than that of an iPhone. Netflix works great so if you're sitting alone somewhere killing time, you can catch up on your favorite shows or finish that movie. It's UNLIMITED data!! You can run Pandora in your car all day every day and you don't have to worry about a thing. Get the uTorrent app and download all the stuff you want! Battery life is the only thing you have to worry about so get a car charger. There's a front camera for video chatting or self portraits although I wouldn't use it because it's only 1.3 megapixels. It can be used for the facial recognition as a way to unlock your phone, but only in good lighting. The speakers are loud and the sound travels. It's got the full size headphone jack too so you don't have to worry about getting special headphones or adapters. It's tough to find a quality case for these phones but just make sure you search LG Optimus Showtime, LG Venice, the LG Splendor, and the LG Optimus 7. These are all the same phones, just on different carriers. Some cases are advertised as fitting one but not the other, but that's incorrect. The best cases I have found are the Trident Aegis and the Ballistic SG. They're both super good and are comparable to an OtterBox type case. The Ballistic is more heavy duty but is also bigger and bulkier. Don't waste your money on the $5 ones on eBay.. they fall right off. So for Straight Talk if you're looking to get a smart phone that uses Verizon towers.. the 2 choices are this for $200 or the $650 iPhone 5. Your choice.. I'd say they're just about the same unless you have brand loyalty to Apple. I saw this phone in March, but it was sold out and my store had none. I read reviews online saying it was a new phone for this year and it almost instantly sold out. In April, they showed back up every where for this nice low price. My plan isn't up til June 19th and I figured I had time to pick up the phone down the line. Last night, May 11th, I checked out this phone online and saw it was "SOLD OUT." I did the thing to see if my store in Fredonia, NY had any and luckily they had, "limited quantities." I got there and there was one left on the shelf, while they had many multiples of the other phones. They may have had more in the back, but I wasn't taking a risk. I bought it last night and have been playing with it for the last 18 hours. I haven't activated the service as I am waiting for my contract to be up with Verizon so I can bring my number over. Even without service, this phone works amazing with Wifi and I'm currently using it as if it were an iPod Touch. If you can afford it and your store has some left, I'd buy them up. In March when they were sold out, people were selling them on eBay for over $300.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABrewster
Fredonia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
4/18/2013

Customer review by DrRonster

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by DrRonster
by DrRonster

1 Ghz Processor is fast. Enough RAM. Just dumped the Precedent which was Android 2.whatever. This is 4.1 and with 32 GB micro SD card (Class 10) nice and quick. Was wondering how I would survive the prepaid year. I was getting an oil change and found this gem. Just hope I never get throttled with Straight Talk. Netflix is fine as is XM. This can actually do everything I used my notebook for.

Was this review helpful? (130) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrRonster
Man Cave, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is the best phone ever for straight talk!
5/7/2013

Customer review by MrsIhaveagreatphone80

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by MrsIhaveagreatphone80
by MrsIhaveagreatphone80

I have a had a couple of straight talk phones and this one is by far the best! Don't get me wrong, I wanted to keep my $45 plan with straight talk but hated their phones. I wanted a phone like my husband's but didn't want to pay the expensive bill that would follow. This was perfect!! I get a great up to date phone with all the features he has and can choose from hundreds of apps. I can watch netflix anytime I want, download music and it has a great camera and video! I don't have time to put how many great features it has, but I gotta get back on it now!!! I LOVE THIS PHONE!! IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY!!! Thanks Walmart!! My husand teases me no longer about my phone. I think he wants one!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsIhaveagreatphone80
Mt. Pleasant, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to Operate
5/13/2013

Customer review by eribears

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by eribears
by eribears

I have had this phone for nearly a month - and I must say - I Love It!!!! This is my first smartphone and I'm extremely glad I went with the LG Optimus Showtime. Battery life is excellent. I can go a full day with no charge browsing the web/facebook for about two hours off and on, talking, and texting. I almost spent the money and bought the Iphone4, but couldn't talk myself into $200.00 more than this phone. Plus, my last phone was an LG and battery life was great. I do not regret this purchase at all. Plus, where we live Verizon is the best service to have. I even get service where I never had service before even with Verizon. This phone was so easy to learn to navigate!!! Wonderful phone - highly recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eribears
Hopedale, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for new Straight Talk customer
7/2/2013

Customer review by bwynn

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by bwynn
by bwynn

Switching to Straight Talk from Verizon had been on my mind for months. The only thing truely holding be back from making the switch was Straight Talk's lack of quality phones at a resonable price. After reading some reviews and talking to a family member who actually owns this phone, I decided to go ahead with the process. WOW! I am so surprised and pleased with this phone. For the most part it does everything that my Iphone 4 was capabable of doing. And for just $45 dollars a month, you cant beat that especially compared to the almost $60 that I was paying for verizon. The only drawback to the phone is that it does have somewhat of a cheap feel, but I can fix that with a case. So, if you are a verizon customer who enjoys a more "fancy" phone but you can do without the monthly costs associated with Verizon, give this little gem a try.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bwynn
Moultrie, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/3/2013

Customer review by cellphonejunkie

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by cellphonejunkie
by cellphonejunkie

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!! I received this phone as a graduation gift because my other straighttalk phone was garbage ( Galaxy Precedent ) and I have had it for about two weeks now. I love that it uses Verizon towers without having to pay for the Verizon bills. The camera is great, front camera doesn't use flash.. picture quality doesn't seem as great. The memory is good but, if your going to download music you might as well get a bigger memory card while making this purchase, 4GB wasn't enough for my 600 songs and apps such as instagram and candy crush, and downloading the apps was quick and easy! I will say this is by far the best phone I have ever owned but, I do feel like some things should be mentioned: the phone does get warm BUT, I have found that this has caused no issues with battery life or functioning of the phone, second off it doesn't have swipe or at least I haven't found it yet, third if you leave your house/wifi connection the phone doesn't automatically switch over to using it's own internet, you have to shut off the wifi and then it will -this just takes a second but worried me @ first, so I figured it was nice to mention, lastly, the backgrounds aren't the greatest and when you add a picture of your own it zooms it and makes it look all funny.. Again I want to say this is a great phone and I don't want to discourage anyone from getting it, I've actually recommended the phone to several of my close friends and I am even buying it as a gift BUT I just wanted to add to the other reviews so that you could make a completely informed decision :)

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cellphonejunkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE it!
5/22/2013

Customer review by JoanMN

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by JoanMN
by JoanMN

I really liked my Samsung Proclaim, but wanted a bigger screen and newer Android operating system. I love this phone, even if it is too big for the cell pocket in a couple of my purses. AccuWeather app alerted me to storm warnings the other night. The dictated texting is much more accurate than it was on the Proclaim. The camera works well. Love that it has a flash. it will not replace a camera for me, but it is with me more. Haven't tried the video yet. The day I went to get it, they were marking it down from $249.99 to $199.88. I had great timing. I downloaded a free app called Assistant, similar to an Android Siri. My husband thinks it's amazing when I am talking to her. She can give you a daily briefing, which can include what's on your calendar and top headlines. You can opt to receive it or not. We have a Panasonic landline phone that is compatible with this (and was with the Proclaim, too). I can make long-distance calls with it, using my unlimited minutes on my cell. They are connected to each other via blue-tooth. The battery lasts longer than the Proclaim, though if I were using it to navigate, I'd probably have to have it on the car charger, as GPS seems to drain the battery fast. If I think of anything more, I will add to this. I've only had it five days, thus far.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoanMN
Minnesota/Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Awesome phone! (vs Huawei Ascend Plus)
9/16/2013

Customer review by CLLonas

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by CLLonas
by CLLonas

I wanted to upgrade from the Proclaim and was torn between the huawei ascend plus and this phone. They both seemed to have similar ratings and specs but because of the price i chose the ascend. Needless to say I ended up trading it in the the LG the next day. It wasn't a terrible phone...but it wasn't worth the 120 (it was on sale) that I paid for it. It was heavy, and had a cheap look to it. The plastic screen didn't help any, it wasn't what I'd classify as "sleek" by any means. It worked ok when i first started messing with it. but as soon as i started customizing, adding apps, syncing etc, it started glitching pretty bad. if i would click on something it would take a second to catch up, esp on chrome. it was laggy in my opinion. The LG is the opposite of that, super fast, responsive, and sleek. Totally worth $200. Not to mention much more internal memory. The only complaint I have is the battery life, it's not awful, but what you'd expect from a smartphone. yes i keep my brightness down, syncing off, and apps killed. Don't let the battery be a deal breaker though, i've looked into replacements and bigger ones are only around $20. Run it on Verizon coupled with only 45 a month? It's a great deal with a great phone!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLLonas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The LG Showtime Has Some Major Shortcomings
6/21/2013

Customer review by FL223

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by FL223
by FL223

I bought the phone 10 days ago and had high hopes for this Android phone. For $199 it seemed like an inexpensive phone with great 4.3" display, fast processor, Android 4. Before activating or using the phone I charged if for 6 hours. After charging this long it only got to 98%. Thought that was weird. So activated the phone and started to use it. Within 2 hours battery level went from 98% to 70% and I did nothing but activate the phone and created my contact list. So I checked the task manager for running apps and there were none running. Let the phone alone another 2 hours and the battery had dropped to 60% with no use, and no running apps. So, went to bed and checked for running apps and turned off wi-fi and by morning the battery dropped to 46%. The drop from 98% to 46% in 10 hours was from absolutely no activity other than activating the phone and adding 15 contacts, wi-fi off, screen brightness down, no apps running. So I took the phone back to WalMart and exchanged it for another one, thinking I had a defective phone or battery. Came home with the new phone and got excited all over again!! I had such high hopes this one would work fine. But, it didn't take long to realize the same battery issues were with this phone too. I realize the larger screen eats more battery, but to lose so much when in a sleep mode is not acceptable to me. I returned the second LG Showtime and ordered a Straight Talk iPhone 4s that also uses Verizon towers. I know it's more money, but the battery is great and doesn't drop more than 2-3% at night. Everything about the iPhone is superior to the LG Showtime, and I guess because of the price difference it should be. But since I have to rely on my phone I'm not going to settle for a phone with battery issues from the start. Oh yes, one other problem with the LG Showtime is quality of the speaker. It sounds very tinny compared to other phones I've had and others have noticed it too. Be sure to listen to a conversation with the speakerphone and you'll see. Also check out the Straight Talk forums and you will see that the LG Showtime battery problem is one of the popular topics. If you buy this phone you have 15 days to return it to Wal Mart, so be sure to check out battery and speaker issues before you decide to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (52) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FL223
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This phone is THE BEST phone for straight talk!
10/30/2013

Customer review by TFitzy16

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by TFitzy16
by TFitzy16

This phone exceeds my expectations and I purchased the refurbished one that has been on and off the website because of its high demand. I actually had my order delayed two days waiting for this phone to be available. Well worth the wait. Faster and bigger than my verizon LG Lucid phone. I have watched this phone since it was released and finally was able to escape verizons contract. Advice is use wifi when possible and do not do illegal downloading or pirating because you will be flagged from straight talk and have problems. Other than that my showtime has better service in my house than my Lucid did. 4 bars as oppose to 1.5-2 if i'm lucky even though they both are CDMA verizon phones. Get this phone new or refurbished while you can. Also get a good silicone/hard hybrid case. These are the best for shock absorption. A screen protector as well as this does not have gorilla glass like my lucid does. we will see how it holds up to a car mechanics demands and accidents. If you do have problems be patient with straight talk service. It always pays off for me in the end.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFitzy16
Binghamton, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/8/2013

Customer review by xmar

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by xmar
by xmar

First off, this is my first straight talk phone and first android. So I can't really comment on whether the 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich is better or not. I'm still learning the ins and outs of an android but as a first one I far from regret it - this phone is great. There are some cons so I'll go through those before I talk about what I do like. - battery life is okay. For the first few days to nearly week I had to charge it every night but I was playing on it often so apps were running more frequently. With minimal app usage it lasts much longer, but still not as long as I would have liked. -The camera is GOOD don't get me wrong but I didn't set anything and I've gone through to see if I've clicked "timer"; maybe there's something set and I don't know, my last phone wasn't very good so I'm new to a nice camera with all the settings it has, but for some reason it randomly will snap a a photo before I tap the button - it like focuses on an object I'm facing the camera at and snaps. It only happens sometimes so I don't know if it's the phone or a setting but it seems to happen if I switch back and forth to the front facing. For now those are the only issues. It's fast, especially on verizon. You can snap shot on this phone. The quality of the photos are great - I wish it was an 8 megapixel for the price but my last was 3 so I don't have room to complain. I've talked on it a few times and no one seems to have issues hearing me, and I hear other people much clearer. The screen is clear and just the right size - not overly large but big enough that you get more on the screen. Now since this isn't a galaxy 2 where there are easily accessible cases, I had to dig around for one. The case I bought for this phone is technically a LG Venice/Splendor LS730/US730 case but it fits perfectly! I don't know if it's just this case that fits and others won't but this one worked. So far this phone has been worth the 249 I paid.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xmar
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Smartphone is the Best Bang for Your Buck!!!
8/18/2013

Customer review by Acceber87

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Acceber87
by Acceber87

I absolutely love the LG Optimus Showtime! This Straight Talk phone runs off of Verizon Towers so it gives you excellent phone service. I've taken this phone from the Deep South in Louisiana to the North in New York & never lost a signal. The phone is a very technologically advanced smartphone that has an extensive Google Play app store, a front facing and back facing 5 megapixel camera, and a large screen 4.3 inch screen. The best feature is that the resolution on this phone is really great...I was actually surprised when I watched Netflix movies and saw how this screens picture was so sharp. I actually compared the resolution of my LG Optimus Showtime with a friends Iphone 5 and in my opinion it was just was sharp. This is a huge plus since the LG Optimus Showtime runs off of Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich, which isn't the most recent version of Android.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Acceber87
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A smart choice in smartphones
6/19/2013

Customer review by PBrook

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by PBrook
by PBrook

I bought the Optimus Showtime to replace a Samsung Proclaim that started acting funny after just 6 months of use. I had planned on sticking with Samsung, but I wanted a newer version of the Android OS, and few phones that work in my area had the features I was looking for. The cost between the Proclaim and Showtime isn’t really much, but the Showtime has so much more to offer and I’m happy with my decision to get one. I was pleasantly surprised at the Showtime, first, it has a fast 1 GHz processor, not 800MHz processor as Wal-Mart’s description states. It was super easy to transfer my Straight Talk number to this new phone, it was ready to use in 5 minutes and the reception is great for my remote area. Android 4.0 manages battery life much better than my Proclaim’s Android 2.3, and the 5 megapixel camera with flash is awesome. Originally, I thought this phone’s screen was too large, but that actually turns out to be a nice advantage. One thing that I really love, is (unlike the Proclaim) the fact that the Showtime does not have lots of useless pre-installed apps on it that you can’t get rid of if you don’t want them. It does include Facebook, Twitter and some basic Google apps, but that’s it… thanks LG! I can get the apps that I choose from the Google Play Store. I’ve been using the Optimus Showtime for almost a month now and I keep finding more reasons to love this phone.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PBrook
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased With Phone & Service
6/5/2013

Customer review by KatieJ

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by KatieJ
by KatieJ

I finally took the leap and left Verizon after 10 years as a loyal customer. I just couldn't afford over $100 a month on unlimited talk, text, and web regardless of the fact that the phone may or not may be cheaper or free when compared to the cost of this straight talk phone. I ported my number and it didn't go through right away online (in fact there was some sort of technical issue when done online# so I called their customer service. I was worried about that given the reviews from other people on how terrible their customer service can be. I have to say that I got lucky and the rep I spoke with was able to correct the problem and my number was ported over and active within 5 min's. They automatically cancel whatever service you had prior so you don't have to bother with doing that. The signal is outstanding and I've had no dropped or broken calls whatsoever. The web connection is very fast and I can browse with ease at a lightening fast speed. I've used youtube & netflix a lot and they play without any pausing or skips. The apps are easy to access and I have downloaded about 10 since I've had the phone. The screen is large but not too big to fit easy into your pocket or pouch in my purse. Some people had issues with the speaker but I haven't really noticed that with mine. If the volume is up on max then I do notice a slight sharpness which is easy to correct by simply lowering the volume. I find that I don't need the volume on max to clearly hear anything from this phone. I do say that you'll want to download one of the free apps that notifies you if you have a missed call or text. Most smartphones don't have that feature #I don't understand why since it seems basic to me) standard but there are some great free apps you can get. I loaded my MP3's to this phone in seconds. It comes with a USB that I simply plugged into the phone and into my laptop and then I just did the drag and drop option onto the phones SD card. It was that simple! The camera is very nice and I love the bright LED flash option! I did purchase insurance through Walmart for $20 which is good for 2 years. It protects against drops and break and I find that well worth $20. Overall, I'm very pleased with the phone and the $45 a month unlimited service. This is a great alternative to all the other cell phone carriers out there who except people to keep paying $100+ per month for the same service. I don't know about you but I'm on a budget and who can afford $1,200+ per years to talk on a phone compared to $540 a years! Give it a try and I know you'll be happy with it. Oh, and I spoke to walmart at my time of purchase and I asked if I didn't like the phone after I purchased it and actually opened the box could I return it. They told me yes and that I had 15 days to do so. I wont be returning mine because I'm thrilled with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatieJ
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a 4G phone but No Biggie-Great Phone
6/9/2013

Customer review by CoolBoomer

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by CoolBoomer
by CoolBoomer

Best deal for a large-screen no-contract phone. It is on the Verizon network and that's why I chose this one. It's fast, and I like the Android Ice Cream Sandwich vs the Gingerbread version I had on my previous T-Mobile no-contact phone. This one seems more responsive with 3G and data than my previous phone was with 4G, I guess that means VZ's network is good. I don't think anyone will regret buying this phone. It comes with a minimal amount of junk on it, and I really like the Smartshare app--it lets you stream music, videos and photos from shared folders on your home wireless network with a minimum of trouble. (That was not easy to set up on previous versions of Android phones.) You will love taking pics with the camera with a voice cue--no more clumsy touching the "shoot" button. I've only had this phone about 2 weeks but so far, I love it. Battery life is good--7 am till 11 p.m. and I still have 30% or better left with using the task manager app.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoolBoomer
Ocala FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
5/26/2013

Customer review by Gabriel54

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Gabriel54
by Gabriel54

I bought this phone a little over two months ago and it's awesome! The 1GHz processor is quick and snappy and the 320Mb of RAM is enough to play games and simple multi-tasking. The 4.3" screen is big and vivid (800x480/217 PPI resolution) it's almost perfect however I've had slight problems with the screen dimming during games or charging. The 5 MP camera is awesome if you take pictures occasionally and it records in HD 1080p! The housing around the phone could be better (it feels a little bit flimsy and could use a better finish) but if you're looking for a upper-midrange smart phone without a contract then this is the phone for you!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gabriel54
Madison, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews