Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 61 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Everyone needs this!
5/31/2014

Customer review by Aprilesole

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Aprilesole
by Aprilesole
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you wonder what's in your backyard you can know with this game cam! This is our 5th game camera. We like to put them in our backyard and in the country at our cabin. We've gotten bear, deer, turkey, raccoon, fox, squirrel, and lots of different birds. It's fun and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aprilesole
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
On Sale For A Reason
5/2/2014

Customer review by rubygoose

3.0 stars 5/2/2014 by rubygoose
by rubygoose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this outdoor game camera due to the features listed compared to the price and it seemed to be the best value going. The quality of the daytime pictures and video are pretty good. The night pictures and video are almost undetectable unless the object is within about 4-5 feet of the camera. There seems to be a delay between the time the camera detects activity and the shutter snaps. I have lots of 'empty' pictures both day and night. There are not settings for this to adjust. Surprisingly I have found the video feature to be much more useful than the pictures. For the money it's not too bad, just don't set your expectations too high. I paid around $89 for mine. The menu is easy to navigate. Access to the SD card is a little tight, but with the help of my pocket knife, I was able to push it into place. Fortunately, it comes with a USB cable so you don't have to take the SD card in and out. It also comes with a video cable (RCA connector) to hook up to your TV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rubygoose
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent model
12/17/2013

Customer review by DCname

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by DCname
by DCname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second i40 Camera I have purchased . It was because of the first camera that I bought that made me want to buy another. I have tried other more expensive cameras but none has been as reliable as this. I have had my first camera 3 years and I just love it. Easy to use. Batteries last a long time. Pictures are clear and videos are great. The only thing I have had to do is replace the view panel because it went out after warranty but the company sent me the part for about $14 bucks and u fixed it myself and was back in business was even able to use the camera when the view screen went bad on it. Reliable and durable ..... I did notice that the one I received was not the same color as in the picture here it is a army green . So I hope it turns out to be just as reliable but this photo on Walmart . Com should reflect the exact product

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DCname
DeRidder LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good camera for the money
12/24/2013

Customer review by johnp61

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by johnp61
by johnp61
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used this model (8 total) for the last 3 yrs. and was pleased with the results. When I saw this one on sale I bought another. Battery life is great and takes great stills--haven't ever used the video function. Had problems with the read out (screen) after two yrs. on one, but was an easy fix.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnp61
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for a gaming camera
12/11/2013

Customer review by mom2theboys

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by mom2theboys
by mom2theboys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on Black Friday, received on following Tuesday! Gave it to husband right away to use for deer season. He is very happy with the camera

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2theboys
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-4
1/11/2014

Customer review by dendon51786

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by dendon51786
by dendon51786
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great camera, Take good quality time stamped pictures both day and night so you know when the game is moving. It is very sensitive, Make sure when you set it up you have a clear lane free of branches or bushes that will move easy in a light breeze or you will end up with several hundred pictures of the surrounding scenery and shrubs, This is my second trail camera and I run it year round to watch the deer patterns change through out the seasons

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dendon51786
Drexel Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera
11/25/2013

Customer review by bandhreynolds

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by bandhreynolds
by bandhreynolds
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband loves it! Its takes great pics!

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bandhreynolds
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will avoid Moultrie products
1/6/2014

Customer review by AlanOR

1.0 stars 1/6/2014 by AlanOR
by AlanOR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Should have paid more attention to the reviews, usually do but the price was too good. Everything worked except night photos, and that was what I needed most, turns out it is a common problem with this camera

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlanOR
Bend, Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the money ($49) this is a good camera.
1/9/2014

Customer review by VirginiaHunter

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by VirginiaHunter
by VirginiaHunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First it's not black like the picture, it's olive green. Not a big deal. It does not take color pics during the day. I thought I read it would take color pics, again no big deal. At first I was having problems with white out on some pics, I called Moultrie and the customer service rep told me to reformat my SD card, I was using a previously used card, and that seemed to take care of the problem. She also said Moultrie cameras seem to do better with Scan Disk brand cards. I've tested the camera with my dogs and it takes clear pics. I haven't tried it at night yet. For the money I would buy a couple more of these cameras. I think they will work fine on my property. Go ahead and get one and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VirginiaHunter
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Dependable
7/9/2014

Customer review by TripleSWidowmaker

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by TripleSWidowmaker
by TripleSWidowmaker

Ive had a few of these cameras and they are rock solid and also have excellent battery life. They aren't pretty like some of the newer models but they take quality pictures for days and months on end. These are also fairly easy to repair yourself, I have changed out the LCD display on a couple, one of them is still in use after 7 years of running 24 hours a day 365 days a year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TripleSWidowmaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat the price
5/22/2014

Customer review by Salrov

3.0 stars 5/22/2014 by Salrov
by Salrov
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had the older i40 and you can tell this one is made cheaper. The on off switch is kinda flimsy hope it holds up. For the price seems decent

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Salrov
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Faded digital readout
9/13/2014

Customer review by Righttofreedom

1.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Righttofreedom
by Righttofreedom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Set camera up with batteries and programed it before I took it to the field. 2 days later ready to go out and put it on a tree. I checked program first. Digital readout was faded and 70% missing. Returning camera now. Emailed Moultrie twice to see why this was happening-NO RESPONSE

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/28/2014

Righttofreedom, Due to the nature of the season, we have regrettably had a delay in our email response time. Please contact our US-Based call center Monday-Friday 8AM - 5PM CST<br />1-800-653-3334. Our Customer Service team is ready to provide a better experience for you. Thank you for being a Moultrie Customer.

Righttofreedom
Conesus NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent for the price
1/4/2014

Customer review by Flintstoner

3.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Flintstoner
by Flintstoner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a dinosaur of a camera. Big, bulky and not very user friendly as far as what's involved in getting to the SD card and batteries. The price was low and it performs well as far what I need out of a game cam. If you want a good cheap camera that does the job and you don't mind going through all the motions then this is the camera for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flintstoner
Gillsville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Display not readable and not real user friendly.
7/21/2014

Customer review by PreacherC

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by PreacherC
by PreacherC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Function screen is not legiable. Card slot in tight area. I have 2 other kinds of cameras and love them. Hate this so bad I'm not even gonna send it back. Gonna keep it as a reminder to stick with poducts I know. Do us all a favor and take it off the market.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PreacherC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera for the price
1/7/2014

Customer review by Goldfisher

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Goldfisher
by Goldfisher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has been one of the most reliable cams Moultrie has had over the years. Takes great pictures and performs great. The size of the camera is only downside compared to todays tiny cams.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goldfisher
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality pictures
1/6/2014

Customer review by Kenpatsand2

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Kenpatsand2
by Kenpatsand2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Up and running quickly, though access is "fussy" with knob/screws to mess with. SD card is hard to access through battery door. Pictures are really good, love the temperature data.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenpatsand2
Ozarks, U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
compicated with all the twist screws to secure it
1/6/2014

Customer review by honeyhank

3.0 stars 1/6/2014 by honeyhank
by honeyhank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

too much trouble to secure batteries and sd CARD.. old school with all the screws..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honeyhank
Covington Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Game camera
7/1/2015

Customer review by brtkelso

1.0 stars 7/1/2015 by brtkelso
by brtkelso

The camera works but does NOT take pictures of animals UNLESS they remain standing in front of the camera for a minute or two. Every day I walk past the camera with my two dogs - I have been 'caught' by the camera twice and the dogs never have. I have at least 50 pictures of the grass in front of the camera. The description for the camera should state that there is a 2.5 sec 'delay' before the shutter trips. If the game moves out of view in that time you see nothing on the photo! Apparently it is useful ONLY for use on feeders where the animals are standing for extended periods in the field of view. If you think you are going to see a coyote or a rabbit or a bear on a trail forget it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brtkelso
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good price, Simple Camera
3/9/2014

Customer review by heritage07

4.0 stars 3/9/2014 by heritage07
by heritage07
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The camera was bigger than I expected, but takes good pictures day and night. Having to take the battery compartment lid off to access the flash card is bothersome, but trying to retrieve it from that small slot is aggravating. Only been in operation for a week, so no knowledge of battery life and how it stands up to the weather. The camera does display a red light at the time of photo capture. Get flash cards yourself, it does not come with any. Buy a couple so you can swap and not miss anything. Get 4G or better, any smaller than and the High resolution will not work with under 1G.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heritage07
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail
5/27/2014

Customer review by Butchfer

2.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Butchfer
by Butchfer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Still trying to get it set up, not the easiest to set up, I have others that are easier to set up. But in all fairness I paid more for them. This camera is ready to use out of the box but I like a little more than the default settings. Default setting did take pictures. Maybe after it is used for awhile I will give another review ( I do have other Moultrie's and I am happy with them.) I can't give this a good score yet because I haven't got to test it yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/4/2014

Butchfer, Please contact our US-Based call center Monday-Friday 8AM - 5PM CST - 1-800-653-3334. We would welcome the opportunity to assist you with your Game Spy Classic I-40. Thank you for being a Moultrie customer.

Butchfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews