Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 25 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Excellent computer
8/3/2013

Customer review by happy2bntn

4.0 stars 8/3/2013 by happy2bntn
by happy2bntn

Was pleased with everything except in the item description it states that it comes with Microsoft Office 2010 Starter and it did not. Otherwise great laptop.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happy2bntn
nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best laptop I have ever had!
9/16/2013

Customer review by Pepper1020

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Pepper1020
by Pepper1020

In August we bought this computer for our daughter to use on her school work. Once it was all ready to go for her, she spent the next 3 hours telling us how great it was. I have been using a 3-4 year old Acer that had never done me wrong.... UNTIL it decided to blow on me about 2 weeks after we got this computer for our daughter. I came online and was so disappointed to see they were out of them! However diligence does pay off. I came back the next day to check at least 15 times and was able to get one of them for me. I also took advantage of the 2 year warrant for $36.00. Walmart has an awesome warranty on their electronic that is darn near as perfect as square trades warranties. It covers spills, dropping it and screen replacement too even if you broke it. I just wish I would have bought the warranty for our daughters computer. Hind sight is 20/20... This is the best I cannot imagine using any other brand than Gateway in the future. Here are some comparisons I have noticed between my acer and this gateway. Acer was a 2.25 processor and a single core. It has 8 gig's of ram (memory in it) but the speed of this gateway at 4 gig's ram blows my old one to pieces! In some comments I have heard people say the finger tip pad/ what you use to scroll when you are surfing the net surf etc, is large and sensitive. I have found this to be true, however I had exactly the same issue with the acer. This is so NOT an issue for me, but I thought maybe someone would find it useful. You can not go wrong with this computer

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepper1020
RLH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No wifi access bad customer service
12/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I received my laptop within a week. The set up proved to be slow and unless you are familar with Windows 8, it was a little hard to navigate. The real issue came when I tried to connect to my my wifi. I could not even get the computer to recognize that there was an available wifi. I called the customer service line and tried to trouble shoot the issue. The orginal rep told me to connect it to the modem itself to see if it would recognize the internet which it did. Then they told me to reset my settings and reboot the computer and "that should work". I did as I was told and rebooted the computer. During my reboot I was disconnected from the call center. After the computer started back up I realized I still could not connect to the wif so I called the tech line again. They were rude and told me that I "may have a claim that would fall under the warranty claim". I told them I literally took the laptop out of the box the day after it's arrival and the rep told me they couldn't guarantee anything but I should fill out some paperwork and return the computer via UPS. I was informed that it would take up to 2 weeks to diagnose the computer and see if it could be fixed and then another week to mail it back. Frustrated, I agreed and had to wait another day for them to email me the paperwork. In the meantime, I did some research on the internet and discovered that refurbished computers from Gateway have this issue a lot. I packed the laptop and returned it to Walmart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ellijay, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent laptop for the price
12/10/2013

Customer review by polykov

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by polykov
by polykov

I bought this 17" refurbished laptop as a backup computer and for use on the road. It arrived in couple days in excellent, brand new like conditions - no scratches or any other signs of ware. Pre-installed software was functioning as expected, without any problem. Windows 8 is somewhat different from traditional Windows and sometimes annoying, but this is a question of taste and habit - instead of going through a learning curve I installed start8 app (free for a year, $5 if you keep it) and traditional look and feel of Windows was restored. Before buying this computer I read reviews and I saw that not everyone was happy with this refurbished product. I took my chances and based on computer performance during two weeks of use, absence of damages and a price paid ($268) I can consider myself lucky (so far) and I am glad that I bought this computer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
polykov
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could't pass a memory test
8/4/2013

Customer review by naiveKarabas

1.0 stars 8/4/2013 by naiveKarabas
by naiveKarabas

After it froze several times, I input a memory test CD with MemTest 4.2 which found 2 memory errors. I feel comfortable with opportunity to bring it back at the same day and I still plan to use Walmart for a purchase where I can bring things back instead of paying the shipping fee on return things back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naiveKarabas
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gateway Laptop
9/10/2013

Customer review by Simnitt

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Simnitt
by Simnitt

Could not be happier with the purchase of my refurbished Gateway laptop. I could not tell it was not new. Picked it up at a Neighborhood Market close to my house. I have told all my friends about this great deal!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simnitt
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turned It On Very EASY TO RUN. VERY NICE PORTABLE
12/12/2013

Customer review by DARRE30003

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by DARRE30003
by DARRE30003

THIS WAS THE EASIEST TO USE COMPUTER THAT I HAVE EVER HAD. MOST COMPUTERS REQUIRE YOU TO READ THE MANUAL, AND DO A LITTLE TRAINING TO USE IT EFFECTIVELLY. NOT THIS ONE. THIS GATEWAY IS USER FRIENDLY. I MAY BUY ANOTHER ONE IN THE FUTURE. THIS IS THE WINDOWS 8 OPERATING SYSTEM. IF WINDOWS COMES OUT WITH THE 9 OPERATING SYSTEM , I'LL BUY ANOTHER ONE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DARRE30003
DIXIN, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No more refurbished!
9/8/2013

Customer review by DeeDee1976

2.0 stars 9/8/2013 by DeeDee1976
by DeeDee1976

This laptop would have been rated 5 stars if it wouldn't have had system errors; my browser and extensions kept crashing! I couldn't watch movies because of a graphic's error that the computer reported, and it said that the system was activated about a month before I bought it. That didn't sit well with me; knowing that someone else had been playing around with it before I got it. With all this, I returned it today and bought the exact same model in a 15.6", and spanking new! ;)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeDee1976
Richwood, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
junk
12/18/2013

Customer review by Spudsjohnson

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Spudsjohnson
by Spudsjohnson

Refurbished Gateway has been nothing but problems never will buy Refurbished agian

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spudsjohnson
BARRON W.I.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i expected
9/6/2013

Customer review by PLANELOVER

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by PLANELOVER
by PLANELOVER

I just got my p.c. and it crashed. it was full of viruses and it cost me another $149.00 for Microsoft to remove all the viruses they said the viruses was in the computer when I bought it.ill never buy a refurbished computer again,i tried to get them to fix it for free since it was just purchased,but they said no.the tech said the hardware is guaranteed but the software is not, BAD INVESTMENT IM VERY UNHAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE,AND WINDOWS 8 IS TERRIBLE TO WORK WITH WINDOWS 7 IS MUCH MUCH BETTER

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PLANELOVER
ROANOKE VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop for the price. Works and looks great.
12/17/2013

Customer review by kattlin

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by kattlin
by kattlin

Great laptop for the price. Works and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kattlin
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product for Online Student!!
1/15/2014

Customer review by JustJoi

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by JustJoi
by JustJoi

I love this laptop. It's a good value for the money. I use it pretty regularly and I am having no problems whatsoever. The battery life is pretty awesome too! When this deal comes around again, TAKE IT! I like the Windows 8 operating system. The apps are convenient. I wish there was a Blackboard app for my classes. I paid 268.00 btw.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustJoi
Inglewood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just like new
8/4/2013

Customer review by SwagGuy

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by SwagGuy
by SwagGuy

seems good so far.but getting used to windows 8 is tricky

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwagGuy
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
unbelievable value
7/7/2013

Customer review by gofoit

4.0 stars 7/7/2013 by gofoit
by gofoit

graphic are just fantastic

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gofoit
Ocean Springs,ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Time will tell.
12/25/2013

Customer review by ump22

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by ump22
by ump22

My first attempt with the Windows 8, need more time before I can truly evaluate the overall computer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ump22
Walton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprised
2/10/2014

Customer review by TrippleC

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by TrippleC
by TrippleC

I was not expecting much as I was not a fan of Gateway, but this one seems to be great. It has a great crystal-clear screen and good RAM. Very happy with it. It also arrived quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrippleC
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
crazy deal, just happened upon it looking for deal
1/14/2014

Customer review by markiemarkiejarrett

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by markiemarkiejarrett
by markiemarkiejarrett

wow! cant believe the deal I got shopping walmart.com was looking for 1 laptop ended up finding 2 sweet deals. thanks mr walton

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markiemarkiejarrett
lavergne, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Laptop
2/21/2014

Customer review by mikeb12

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by mikeb12
by mikeb12

Came in perfect shape. no damage or scratches. Works wonderful added more ram to it but works great. It was a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeb12
Dover, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The price is Right!!
9/29/2013

Customer review by Ajohn91

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by Ajohn91
by Ajohn91

Refurbished, but looks brand new!! Replacement computer for my daughter and she is very happy with it and I am happy with the price :-D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ajohn91
Phila, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
boss
2/4/2014

Customer review by cannon33

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by cannon33
by cannon33

Great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cannon33
vero beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews