Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 34 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
My Vizio Co-Star Experience
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Vizio TV with VIA, WiFi, etc. so one would think, why do I need a product to give me internet apps, when my TV already has that support built in? The internet apps that come with the Vizio TV are limited, and from what I've determined, are backed by a component called 'Yahoo Store' and there simply are not that many apps to choose from. The Vizio Co-Star was created, in my opinion, to allow a much wider selection of apps, regardless of the kind of smart TV that you have. Also, the Co-Star in basically 'Android in a box' so your app variety is limited only to what is available in Google Play, which is certainly more extensive that the Yahoo Store mentioned previously. Also, for those of you that are considering the 'Onlive' game controller, I purchased that as well and configuring it for use with the Co-Star was fairly straightforward. A word of note: the USB dongle that comes with the controller should be plugged into the back of the Co-Star, not the TV. I would recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Schaumburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great but it has its limitations
4/18/2013

Customer review by PSUNEXUS

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by PSUNEXUS
by PSUNEXUS

The Co-Star is a great little device. The only issues I have with it are towards the Google TV platform as a whole more than the product that Vizio has created. I bought mine in hopes of saving money from my cable provider. I am tired of paying monthly DVR costs and figured that I'd move to more of an on-demand style of content. I'd either watch it live on TV or simply wait a day and watch it online. It seemed logical enough after all the Co-Star has both Flash and HTML and really whats the difference to the content provider if I choose to plug my laptop in via HDMI to my TV or if I use GTV. The problem is that EVERY major network blocks their content. ABC, CBS, NBC, & FOX all block their videos. Even Hulu, which I'd gladly pay to watch content blocks me from their site on GTV. Until these restrictions are lifted GTV and the Co-Star are crippled from reaching it's full potential. Sure you have access to Amazon Prime & Netflix, but neither of them brings you "current" content in a timely manor to when it aired on TV. I think the Co-Star is a great compliment to Cable TV and Satellite providers, but it's not a device to replace current services that you have with them.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PSUNEXUS
State College, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good But Not So Good
9/7/2013

Customer review by tdh2484

3.0 stars 9/7/2013 by tdh2484
by tdh2484

I had bought the Roku 2 XD and enjoyed all the channels and all, but it was just wireless and didn't have the ethernet cord area in the back, and it kept buffering on and off, but not to bad but was still annoying, esp for my kid, so I returned my roku 2 and got this vizio co star, it was easy to set up and very nice looking, the remote was awesome with the touchpad and keypad , but it really lacked on apps and channels, I couldn't really do much on it except the netflix , youtube and browser, which I didnt care to much for a browser bc thats why I have a computer, but anyways, I took it back because it didnt have the pbs kids and all the kids stuff, again I bought these for my kid to pretty much watch on. Its a good idea product but just don't have much on it , it says it has iheart radio but I could never find it to install , and the apps that you can install are limited. So I took it back and got the roku 3, it has games and all what I wanted , it just dont have youtube :( but hopefully soon , there is some ways to get youtube on there though I have read.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tdh2484
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally found what I wanted...
6/16/2013

Customer review by TVAPPs

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by TVAPPs
by TVAPPs

Before I review this product, I believe you should know what you want to do with an Internet device for your TV before you buy one. I wanted the apps for streaming like everyone else and I have a Blu-Ray player that does that in a limited fashion. However, I wanted a "Laptop/Tablet box" that allowed me to use my Flatscreen to do what I can do on my Laptop and SmartPhone, i.e., Web surf to all my Favorite sites, YouTube, Stream, Apps, gmail, etc., etc.. I tried other devices. Some didn't do anything without issues like freezing up or terrible lags or just didn't have the complete feature package that I wanted...Web, YouTube, Qwerty Keyboard-using a standard numeric remote for typing just doesn't work for me. I actually tried most out there wanting them to succeed but they either failed to work properly or they lacked the features I mentioned. Then I tried the Vizio Co-Star even though now I was prepared to be disappointed after my previous attempts with other products. I have had it for more than a month now and can honestly say I use this device on my TV more than I watch regular TV. It does everything that I want and does it well. It evens "learns" your cable/satellite box channel lineup and mates with it so you have an integrated device using the same HDMI port so no switching from port 1 to 2 and back again. You're also able to do PIP and switch back and forth from live TV to your Apps and surfing. It creates an on-screen graphic of your cable/sat guide showing pictures and a description your current choices from your cable/sat provider. Is it perfect? What is in a evolving tech world? What's better an IPhone or an Android Phone? Depends on the person doesn't it?. The shortcoming for me is that I can't pair my Smartphone with the Vizio's Bluetooth. Only certain versions on the Android OS will work and mine doesn't although Vizio's Tech staff said that "Google is working on adapting that as an upgrade". We'll see, but other than that and the lack of an on/off indicator, for me this has been my answer to what I was looking for and I use it and enjoy it all the time. Another strong reason for using/enjoying the Vizio C0-Star is that when I want to quickly use the Web to look up something or to show friends, I don't have to boot up my Laptop and try to share it's screen or show something that's hard to see on my Smartphone. I can just turn on my Flatscreen and my Vizio Co-Star and my large TV screen is displaying to all what I wanted to share. Can't tell you how many times I get asked, "how did you do that? How can I do that?" So, is it for you? Know what you want to do on your Flatscreen/TV. Find the device that can give you all or most of the features that you want and then if it works properly you should be happy. I can honestly say that I am.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVAPPs
Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a real streaming player
8/25/2013

Customer review by DISAAPOINTEDshopper

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by DISAAPOINTEDshopper
by DISAAPOINTEDshopper

I have owned a Roku HD for the longest time and have truly enjoyed it. I got rid of my cable and bought the Vizio co-star, with the expectations that I was purchasing a product like the Roku however I was dead wrong. This is just another advocate for google and their affiliates. The apps are very limited to what google will let you have. With the Roku I was able to stream movies from my desktop or laptop through my internet network. The vizio costar would not stream anything. I couldn't find any free movie, TV, news or music apps. All their apps pointed to paid subscriptions or pay as you go type applications. This was a waste of money and after 3 hours of aggravating frustrations I am happy to say that I am on my way to trade this in for a ROKU 3. VIZIO CO STAR IS HOT GARBAGE

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DISAAPOINTEDshopper
El Paso TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/9/2013

Customer review by snitch85

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by snitch85
by snitch85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worth the Money! If you are looking for a lot of streaming content then there are better ones out in the market. I was looking for a web browser and this one works well. The remote is kind of a little big but with time you get used to it. The mouse pad is very much usable and responsive.(Don't expect Applesc interface for 99$) Pros: Best web browser(chrome)/youtube/ functional remote/price Cons: takes a little time to get used to the remote Not a lot of content(this is NOT a Vizio issue but more specific to google platform), No light indicators on the vizio

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snitch85
sunnyvale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Died after 9 months and Vizio won't honor warranty
7/22/2014

Customer review by Tetela

1.0 stars 7/22/2014 by Tetela
by Tetela

I bought this product in October 2013 and had issues with "internet connectivity" with every use. I also own a Roku 2, which never has issues. (I've had both running Netflix at the same time and the Roku streamed flawlessly while the Vizio always stated internet disconnected.) The Vizio died over the weekend and I contacted Vizio Warranty as the product is still within the 1 year period. Vizio will not stand behind their warranty because I did not buy it from an "authorized retailer and they do not know where its been since it left their hands." I have had my Roku for years and it works great. I will be buying another to replace this piece of junk. View the vizio facebook page regarding other people's experience with the warranty claims and lack of customer service before you buy any of their products!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tetela
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Didn't last 11 months...
1/17/2014

Customer review by pcnettech

2.0 stars 1/17/2014 by pcnettech
by pcnettech

Started reBOOTing itself, then a few days later just died. Tried reset, pulling the power, everything I could think of. Nothing helped. I purchased a vizio Blu-Ray player that didn't last much longer. I'm done with vizio...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pcnettech
DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it.
5/15/2013

Customer review by lovesmeacer40

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by lovesmeacer40
by lovesmeacer40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it. Great replacement for cable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovesmeacer40
Round Rock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so good
7/14/2013

Customer review by Lieut320

2.0 stars 7/14/2013 by Lieut320
by Lieut320

Great picture, great remote. I sure wanted Google TV to work but you would be much better looking elsewhere. Has a hard time with my wifi signal, will always downgrade the picture quality and stop to reload but the worst thing is when it just freezes up. Limited Apps but slick menu. I can't stand it any more --- going back to the store!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lieut320
South Bend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
If You Seek Freedom Roku Limits You
12/7/2013

Customer review by JOnyx

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by JOnyx
by JOnyx

Tired of waiting for Simple Control Over Internet-TV? The Vizio Model ISG-BO3 is the first small inexpensive device to offer this. Yes, Roku is solid hardware, very simple to setup & use but Roku serves not the buyer; but rather its main customers, the Content Providers. First are the pay services such as Vudu, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, then the for profit free to the user services. You thought You are Roku's customer? Where is GoogleTV? AppleTV? YouTube? Everyone has YouTube EXCECT Roku, who wants you to believe they don't block YouTube & that YouTube actually fails to provide a Roku App for the, by far, most used streaming box. Blocking YouTube is a sales point Roku offers content providers. Vizio Co-Star MODEL ISG-BO3 is the first Android TV Internet box I can recommsend to everyone. The cheaper Chinese Mini-PC ship with poor ROMs & most of them run too hot & Wireless connectivity & Wifi data speed is poor. Buyers must learn and experiment too much to get & keep one working right. Plus, you have no way to know if your getting what you ordered or defective knock off. The Android TV boxes require much from the user. Co-Star is not perfected but the Dec 2013 newest model and Rom (5.3.0) is the best yet. There are some issues. Beware, the Co-Star marketing team follows some odd practices. They keep secret hardware specs that other manufacturers reveal, such as Processor? Ram? Memory? O/S? The O/S is Android. What version? And there is no way to expand memory, This is actually HURTING Co-Star reputation and sales because the boxes look the same & buyers assume they are the same. Co-Star has evolved rapidly over the 15 months. Read the Buyer reviews here and at Amazon. Buyers are not discussing the SAME Co-Star BUT they assume they are. No one seems to pay attention to the model numbers. Most YouTube and buyer reviews are about the earlier model VAP530. I have the ISG-BO3 with the major over the air free ROM upgrade V5.3.0. Setup is easy follow onscreen directions. Strongly recommend Coolerguys USB powered 120X120X25MM fan with grill. ($15 Amazon) The Co-Star runs too hot. Set it on this fan and it will run cool. 2 things cause the heat and malfunctions buyers report, a fan & treating the box like its an Android tablet PC. (install few apps & minimize game use). Significantly better video playback than a Roku. Does great job of playing movies from other devices -flash memory, hard drive, DVD. A Quality Device, I say.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JOnyx
Canton, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Costly For Shows
4/22/2014

Customer review by Burden02

3.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Burden02
by Burden02
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently bought this product with hopes to eliminate cable bill. I have not found an application that gives me updated tv access. It seems that most of the Amazon shows cost to watch. The one application that has a monthly subscription is Netflix, and it's lower than cable. I have not tried the unit with hd cable box, but this will be my final step. The hook up was easy; I love the touch access remote. I was able to pair my tv, xbox, and sound bar with ease.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burden02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fell short of expectations
4/21/2014

Customer review by ssvelle

1.0 stars 4/21/2014 by ssvelle
by ssvelle

I've owned this player for 5 months and I've had nothing but problems with it. I bought this particular brand thinking Google TV and VIZIO made good quality products, but not in this case. In short I have to clear the cache every two days in order to stream Amazon shows. This past weekend the unit would not boot up. After many reset attempts and no success I'm sending the unit back for a replacement. I would recommend buying a ROKU.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssvelle
SW Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
not made for apps
3/6/2014

Customer review by slickcat2002

3.0 stars 3/6/2014 by slickcat2002
by slickcat2002

It does what it says but don't be fooled. Its says thousands of apps but only a hand full are accessible. Most say your device isn't compatible. Other than that it's a descent product the remote is a real nice feature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slickcat2002
central, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great item
12/16/2013

Customer review by Anjaadi

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Anjaadi
by Anjaadi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was just what we needed without having to purchase a tv which also had internet browsing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anjaadi
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good product and great price
5/7/2013

Customer review by maskands

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by maskands
by maskands
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't use the browser and dlna video player is not that great. Amazon prime video and netfilx are fine. Overall very good product and lots of possibilities.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maskands
Dallas,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Co-star
11/2/2013

Customer review by Camryhybrid

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Camryhybrid
by Camryhybrid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works as advertized. Only downside is that it gets very warm to the touch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camryhybrid
simi valley, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/23/2013

Customer review by MovieandTVFanatic

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by MovieandTVFanatic
by MovieandTVFanatic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love This!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MovieandTVFanatic
Glasgow, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not meet my expectation
12/3/2013

Customer review by giani

2.0 stars 12/3/2013 by giani
by giani
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchase this so that I can directly browse on TV instead of browsing thru my laptop. The device is very convenient to install but remote does not work as it should function. Touch screen is there to browse but it selects the option after tapping couple of times on the touch screen pad. I try using thru arrow keys and OK button and that also does not work. I have attached the device thru HDMI (not using Wi-Fi) still the response to display web page is very slow in spite of my broadband speed is 25mpbs. So, I plan to return this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
giani
Lansing,MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor support
6/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this to receive Netflix and Hulu. No Hulu support, should have purchased a Roku. Instructions are poor. Customer support says to bad for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews