Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 34 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Knife well constructed, nylon webbing on sheath no
8/30/2013

Customer review by Adirondak63

3.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Adirondak63
by Adirondak63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The knife is well constructed and is, as advertised. This includes the blade, blade edge, striking edge on back strap of blade for fire starter ( which also performed as advertised ), the blunt end of the handle used for pounding/hammering, and whistle. The rigid, plastic, part of the knife sheath is good and as advertised, it securely holds the knife and fire starter and includes a weep hole which effectively drains water. The nylon webbing of the sheath is too thin for the application in my observation, after a 10 day outing in the wilderness, the webbing has frayed, and is coming detached form the rigid plastic, as is the belt loop which is also coming apart. Based on my experience and observations of this knife I have formed the opinion that the overall package is average, the major detraction is the quality of the nylon webbing on the sheath. Mine is no longer wearable on a belt after a 10 day wilderness hike/trip, due the nylon coming apart. I would still say it is a good knife, I will just keep mine in my overnight or week out pack. I hope this is helpful.

Was this review helpful? (46) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adirondak63
Peabody, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So I bought a Bear Grylls Knife....and I survived!
1/14/2016

Customer review by CainesRage

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by CainesRage
by CainesRage

Ok so my BG Pro arrives in the mail and I open it without any trouble. Once I get the knife itself in hand im pleasantly surprised by the heft and feel of the blade. Since I own other knives such as ESSE and Ontario Blackbirds ect which are considered a bit pricey, I know what to expect from a good knife and this one didn't dissapoint. I'll number a few key points I want to make. 1)The fit and finish was very good on this knife. 2) The 9cr19mov blade was hair popping sharp right out of the box. I ended up polishing it with a leather strap to get it paper shaving. 9cr19mov is known to take a good edge and to keep it. It's also known to be pretty tough due to the high carbon content of like 0.95% which is about what 1095 is give ot take. 3) The Sheath, Firesteel and everything else was in good shape without any troubles. I have yet to test this knife in the field, but I'm quite certain that it will perform without any issues. People may dislike Bear Grylls, they may dislike Gerber, but this knife is solid and all the praise and high marks it has received thus far is well deserved. This knife is 5x better then the Original Ultimate and it's soft 7cr17mov steel. Good Job Gerber!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CainesRage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best pricing I've seen
8/7/2013

Customer review by Andyides

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Andyides
by Andyides
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I tend to "research" all online purchases to ensure I get the best value (price, shipping expense, seller rating). This was the best deal out there. I realize there are other comparable knives based on quality but many are more expensive, don't offer the extras or carry the name/guarentee this knife does. In all the Ultimate Pro is a feature dense, well thought out quality knife that can hang with the biggest names out there. There are enough YouTube videos out there to satisfy your curiosity, but through practice and experience I have found the Bear Grylls line of products to be a high quality (one notch below pro grade), high value that are probably more than the occasional outdoorsman will ever need. Having said that I utilize this as my primary knife and have complete faith in it for survival situations.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andyides
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great survival knife
11/11/2013

Customer review by Marlin44

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Marlin44
by Marlin44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Ultimate last year and it is a nice knife. I like to have an full tang though and this one didn't have. I bought the Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Pro fixed blade about three months ago and am very happy with it. It hold a edge very well and has a full tang. The disigne of the sheath is very nice too. And the sharpener that came with it was a plus.. I'm very happy with my purchase and will recomend it too others.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marlin44
spring hill Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A complete survival tool in and of itself.
9/13/2014

Customer review by Barry276

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Barry276
by Barry276
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This knife is well balanced, will hold an edge and is easy to sharpen. It is long enough without being too long. The blade is comfortably thick and strong. The Choil is a great added feature for close work while choking up on the blade and the sharpener is located in a handy and useable place. The rubberized sheath makes gripping it secure. The rubber coated handle of the knife will enable use without fear of the knife slipping in your hand. The hammer in the end can drive aluminum tent stakes and even nails if needed. It can cut fruit, clean fish or slice meat as well as any butcher knife while still able to trim kindling and with a baton split fire wood. The entire knife can be worn comfortably on the belt while Camping, hiking or for my purpose, canoeing or swimming while canoeing the weight is comforting without being too heavy. If you don't camp, hike or canoe you can still buy one and throw it in your vehicle, aircraft or emergency bag and have a great survival tool for what ever comes your way. The two items I feel need to be changed are the ability to attach the fire stryker by a lanyard to the sheath to prevent loss and the attachment for the whistle needs to be on the sheath as well. I purchased the Pro for myself and the ultimate for my oldest grandson, I personally like the pro better, yet both will do the job. A half serrated blade should also be offered for those who may wish for a saw. Overall I would carry this knife anywhere and feel I have the ability to handle anything from a fishing trip campfire to a survival situation in the deep woods. I highly recommend this knife.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barry276
Haralson County Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the best"
2/8/2014

Customer review by Oldgunny

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Oldgunny
by Oldgunny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this knife,It is very well made as is all of Gerber products, I checked out reviews on You-Tube and Bear Grylls's web page and I was sold on it.The sheath is very strong and utile there is a built in whistle,fire starter tool that fits in the sheath and it can't fall out,built in knife sharpener behind the handle that is reversible for left handed people,it is one solid piece of steel along the entire length of knife.I have started collecting Bear Grylls/Gerber products 90% purchased from Walmart's web page.That's how highly I respect the Gerber line and hope to purchase more in the future.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldgunny
Holiday,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A rugged knife.
10/3/2013

Customer review by LakotaMan

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by LakotaMan
by LakotaMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my seventeen year old grandson; he previously had the Ultimate model and loved it until the blade broke. The best thing about the pro model is the full tang blade. The overall construction is much better also. It has everything you need in a survival knife exept a compass, which would have been great. My grandson has used the firestarter several times and it is easy to use and works well. He also likes the built in sharpener. It's a tough knife and very solid; I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a dependable camping and rugged outdoors tool.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LakotaMan
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What i did
1/13/2015

Customer review by MohawkMike

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by MohawkMike
by MohawkMike

This knife is great i was able to break apart logs and bust up concrete (not recomended i just wanted to take the knife out of its comfort zone) and it held up rather well the edge was gone after but the knife is solid. The holder is a bit odd but with the removal of the nylon part i was able to take the holder and permanently attach it to a strap. I take this knife every where it is my go to tool when i need to survive (recently wrecked a car and was able to use it to cut my seat belt and break my window to escape).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MohawkMike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a great survival knife
11/4/2013

Customer review by Taxranger275

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Taxranger275
by Taxranger275
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The knife was exactly what I ordered and had exactly the features I required. There is a subtle distinction between the Ultimate Survival Knife vs. the Ultimate Pro. I wanted the Ultimate Pro and that's exactly what I got. The Walmart price was substantially below the price otherwise available on the market. So I got what I wanted at the best available price. I'm happy and recommend this product to anybody who wants a good, high quality survival knife.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taxranger275
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great knife
3/23/2016

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by John
by John

I like the way it snaps into sheath. The striker also snaps into place. No way to lose them. Very sharp, in fact I cut myself on it. Tough knife, don't see it falling apart on me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing knife!!!
8/11/2013

Customer review by BearisAwsome

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by BearisAwsome
by BearisAwsome
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This knife is arguably the best survival knife on the market in my opinion. Light weight and durable it looks and works fantastic. It's as tough as the man who made it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearisAwsome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super sharp and stays sharp
7/24/2014

Customer review by jihnny

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by jihnny
by jihnny

Built in sharpener is super. The sparker/fire starter works every time. Gerber is the best!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jihnny
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
It's the best value for a large fixed blade knife.
12/14/2013

Customer review by Leadbelly

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Leadbelly
by Leadbelly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Of the 20 + knives I own in this size, this is by far the most useful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leadbelly
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great knife
3/14/2016

Customer review by shotguner

5.0 stars 3/14/2016 by shotguner
by shotguner

This is my second knife. I have the non full tang and now this one. I like everything about both. I'm not a big fan of the carbide sharpeners but it is there if you need it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shotguner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top of the line
10/2/2014

Customer review by Tlgshopper

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Tlgshopper
by Tlgshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Did not have any idea this knife would be the quality it is. The number one knife in my outdoor gear now. Just an awesome knife.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tlgshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Knife
6/5/2015

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Jeff
by Jeff

I am so impressed with this knife. I had read and watched many reviews before I made my purchase. As soon as I opened the package, the weight screamed quality. It has a full tang, so the weight is substantial and the grips fit my hand like it was made for it. Out of the box, it would shave the hair off my arm. When I took out the firestarter, it had a void in the plastic which made it not fit properly in the sheath. I called Gerber and they sent me another one, which arrived in three days. After you get the black coating off of it, it is very easy to strike. I used some 80 grit sandpaper to remove the coating as it won't spark until the coating is worn off. The knife has a positive lock when it snaps in the sheath even before you use the velcro strap to secure the handle. The built in sharpener puts your blade at the same angle every time and allows you to put a razor sharp edge on with just a few draws. The pummal is a good size and doesn't mark up easily and the whistle is loud and easy to use. The only thing that could be improved, in my opinion, is the width of the belt loop on the sheath. It is 2 inches wide, but is so tight it will really only accommodate a 1 1/2" belt. In all, for a lifetime warranty, full tang knife, I couldn't ask for anything better. Walmart's price is half of what Gerber charges on their website. I would recommend buying the Ultimate Pro to anyone that is in the market for a quality survival knife at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent knife
7/6/2015

Customer review by BuckMaster

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by BuckMaster
by BuckMaster

There are many knife manufacturers out there. My decision to purchase this knife was based on potential daily use and not a collectors knife. However that being said, this Gerber is an attractive knife for sure! I chose this knife for its features, quality and durability. Once it was in my hand, I knew that a great knife had arrived! This knife was as advertised and in my opinion and at its price point, it's a bargin.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuckMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
2/14/2016

Customer review by BobbyG

5.0 stars 2/14/2016 by BobbyG
by BobbyG

A little pricey but this is the best of the best, it'll last a few lifetimes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbyG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Survival knife
2/9/2016

Customer review by Harry

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Harry
by Harry

An excellent well made quality knife at an affordable price what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat this price. Great knife!
12/7/2013

Customer review by Schmikname

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Schmikname
by Schmikname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This knife is over $100 on some websites so this truly was a great value. And my husband is in love with the Ultimate Pro. The reviews on it are outstanding. I really hit a homerun with this gift. I also purchased the Bear Grylls Hatchet in Walmart. Another good deal as well! Wife of the year!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schmikname
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews