Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 147 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Perfect Hard Floor & Carpet Stain Removal Cleaner
6/9/2013

Customer review by MrMomInVA

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by MrMomInVA
by MrMomInVA

I own or have owned all the major brands of carpet and hard floor cleaners and I have become adept with all of them. My Go To machine for heavily soiled floors is the Hoover MaxExtract 700 and my Go To machine for carpets will always be the Rug Doctor (middle size). But this Sonic Duo is a revelation. I will no longer wait for my floors to become noticeably dirty (beyond what daily sweeping can handle), with the Sonic Duo I can quickly and easily keep all my hard floors (wood, ceramic, tile) clean, shiny and in top shape and any time a stain appears on my carpets I can whip out the Sonic and blast it away. A big part of the success of this product is some pretty incredible cleaning formulas. And the stain treatment spray is unreal. Ground in stains, grease stains, pet stains, it doesn't matter it blasts them all like nothing I've used before (and I've used them all). Then the cleaning cloths on the Duo suck up the stains so you can throw them into your washing machine and be permanently rid of them. But while this is now my Go To machine for hard floors I would still stick with my Rug Doctor with the Bissell ProCare carpet formula to keep large carpeted areas in tip top shape with the Duo to maintain the good looks between major cleanings. Just to note I had one 2 year old stain that the DUO could not remove completely (but neither did the Doctor) but I went over it with the Sonic Duo cleaners and machine and then the Doctor and the stain was completely gone. If I were an apartment dweller or only had a small amount of carpet or just some area rugs on a hard floor then the Sonic Duo is the perfect tool. Don't hesitate to buy this product. Even the mechanically challenged should find this great product fairly easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (235) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrMomInVA
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does not do what it says on carpet !!
5/24/2013

Customer review by Jessiesgirl38

1.0 stars 5/24/2013 by Jessiesgirl38
by Jessiesgirl38

Ive had this cleaner for just a few days now and yesterday I cleaned my carpet with it. It does not make the carpet brighter unless they are talking about it the spots that the lights on the cleaner are shining on !! Haha. It does pick up some of the dirt that's on top of the carpet but as far as scrubbing them to get the stains out , its not heavy enough to do that. I haven't tried it on my hardwood yet, but im sure it will clean them ok but as far as carpet its a big let down for me. This is one product that I did waste my money on. I cleaned in one room that's maybe 20 by 16 and I worked on these stains for 3 hours and it did not get the stains out at all. It did lighten them but not out all the way.

Was this review helpful? (253) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jessiesgirl38
Cleveland Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/27/2013

Customer review by Isono

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Isono
by Isono

I am really impressed with this machine. It does everything as advertised. The only issue I have found is that the cleaning solutions are not available in any stores yet, and i had to order them directly from Shark. I assume that will only be a temporary problem, since it is a new product.

Was this review helpful? (135) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Isono
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
6/17/2013

Customer review by jlove621

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by jlove621
by jlove621

I bought this through Shark's website with a 60 day 100% money back guarantee. Got it and used it on my rugs that were extremely dirty. It did get some small stains out but I did just half and didn't notice much difference from the side I didn't do. Then I did one section of my carpet. After letting it dry and vacuuming it, I got my hand held carpet cleaner and cleaned an area I did with the Shark and an area right next to that, that I didn't clean with the Shark. There was no difference both pulled up the same amount of dirt. Then I tried it on my hard wood floors. I liked it best on the hard wood floors. But only because it was easier than getting on my hands and knees to clean them. This product is ok but not worth the $250.00 I spent. To make it worse, even though they say 100% money back guarantee including shipping...They don't refund your original $50.00 shipping.

Was this review helpful? (175) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlove621
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I returned it after one hour.
7/5/2013

Customer review by honestcustomer49

2.0 stars 7/5/2013 by honestcustomer49
by honestcustomer49

I purchased this because on the commercials it seemed to be a great cleaning machine for all floor types. As far as the hard floor options and soap solution, this was great and very easy to use. Out of the box it took less than five minutes to assemble and this included prep for the soap container. It worked great on my tile floor however so did my mop. So, I tried it on my carpet and this is where the product took a nose dive. I tried it on a small box of the carpet which was about size of regular paper. It took 30minutes to clean that spot and that is when I realized the product was not for me, because my home is mostly carpet. I really like the ease of cleaning the hard floor because I did not have to deal with the mop water and handling the dirty mop but felt I could not keep it for the price. The shark looked great and handled great on the floor so 5 stars but as for the carpeted areas 0 stars. I would not recommend for use on rugs or carpets.

Was this review helpful? (178) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honestcustomer49
nm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
a clean floor at last!!!!!
5/15/2013

Customer review by Decomaniac

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Decomaniac
by Decomaniac

Purchased the Sonic Duo to keep from scrubbing my floors on my hands and knees with a brush. I was surprised at how little effort it took to maneuver it around, and how quickly it removed the dirt on the floor. I live in the country and have multiple dogs, a husband who tracks dirt into the house so the floors were a real annoyance to me. I had all the laminate mud /paw print free in about 30 minutes, and the cleaner has a mild pleasant fragrance that isn't over powering. I was very satisfied with how clean the floor was. My only dissatisfaction would be that the cleaner left a haze on the laminate, but I'm going to re-clean the flooring again as maybe it was a initial cleaning extremely paw printed floor, If recleaning doesn't work, I'll try some white vinegar water in a separate spray bottle and see if that helps remove the haze. This machine will make floor cleaning almost enjoyable, it is light weight, easy to move around, and does remove sticky spots, dried mud and foot prints with out extra effort or scrubbing. I can't wait to try it on some area rugs.

Was this review helpful? (189) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Decomaniac
Kansas City MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quit working the 2nd time I used it.
6/2/2013

Customer review by momnem

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by momnem
by momnem

I was mid-way through cleaning my laminate wood floor and it just quit. Checked troubleshooting guide which said let it sit for 45 min to cool off. Did, still does not work. I will now need to call the 1800 number. I think I will go back to the old fashioned scrub brush and mop. No mechanical parts, just me and my muscles that need work anyway.

Was this review helpful? (87) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momnem
Gulfport MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sonic Dud
7/9/2013

Customer review by cleaninggreyhound

1.0 stars 7/9/2013 by cleaninggreyhound
by cleaninggreyhound

Ended up buying the Sonic duo due to seeing it was going to make my life easier to keep the carpets and floors looking cleaner without having to pull out the Bissell or scrub the floors on one's knees. Well ended up buying and couldn't wait to try it out after reading all about it.... About hour after getting home I was finally ready after reading the directions and prepping the area of carpet and a floor in the kitchen. Did as the directions said for the carpet... The carpet looked just a little clean but still didn't come clean after doing it three times it was a big waste of my time and money. Especially when I could have gotten my big bissell out and fully cleaned the area rug 1000x times better than Sonic Duo or rather Dud! The floors it did do a little better job but was able to go over the floor with a swifter wet mop only to make the floor cleaner. A $10 dollar stick cleaner with a pad did 100x times better than again the Sonic Dud! Don't waste your time or money! I returned this machine the same day I picked it up! And thankful the store took it back! Never again will I buy this again!

Was this review helpful? (160) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleaninggreyhound
Pgh, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great machine
5/15/2013

Customer review by Slambam

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Slambam
by Slambam

Really makes a difference with carpet. Cleans them fast and easily removes stains. I love that it can go from floor to carpet with minimal time to change pads and solution. So far very happy.

Was this review helpful? (126) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slambam
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This works!
2/19/2014

Customer review by KHefington

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by KHefington
by KHefington

I just recently moved into a new house, on moving day it was pouring down rain, from the constant in and out of the house, my carpet really took a beating, especially in those high traffic areas. I was always intrigued by the commercial when it first came out, but really didn't want to spend the money. The stains and dingy looking carpet in my house was really buggin' me, so I did a little research on carpet cleaners and decided to give this a try, the walmart price was excellent and I got it at my local store...looking at the device, I just couldn't see how it would get my carpet clean, I was always used to the more traditional machines that suck the water and dirt out... Well, let me tell you, the sonic works so much better than any carpet cleaner I have ever used. The pre- treatment solution is excellent, my carpets are clean, I can't wait to use it on my tile. Seriously, I have purchased toooo many things in the past that promised and didn't deliver, if this didn't work, I would have not written this review and returned to the store. Give it a try, you can always return it.

Was this review helpful? (80) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KHefington
Atascadero, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
works great on carpets
11/21/2013

Customer review by ibedi

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by ibedi
by ibedi

I have the big Hoover floor scrubber, which is a real mess to clean. And having tile throughout the house, this works better for me, as far as getting in the corners, its much lighter, and once I get the hang of using it on the tile floor, I should be OK. I thought I might have let out too much solution on the floor, because some areas had a dull finish...or...maybe my floors were too dirty for the first time use. I might try next time not to add as much cleaner as they say...or....maybe I needed to add more. I'll just have to practice. As for the carpet solution, I have a large area rug, and it worked really well on that. Dog hair isn't sticking like before I cleaned it, so that tells me that it didn't leave a soapy residue on the fibers, that attracts the hair and dirt. So it does a great job there. Also I have a couple of shag rugs in my bedroom, and the dogs lay on them and the oil from their hair gave the rugs soiled areas. But the machine got them out.

Was this review helpful? (84) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibedi
southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This mop does what it says it does
6/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Cleaned my kitchen tile better than my Electrolux Steam Mop. Cleaned my hardwood floors well. At first I thought there was a film on them, but once they dried they were beautiful. I also like that you can control how much cleaner you use as I don't like to put a lot of moisture on my wood floors. I cleaned my carpet in my bathroom and a large front entry run with the Sharp Sonic Duo. It got out stains that my heated, huge, Bissell carpet shampooer didn't touch, and they were dry much quicker (will be returning my Bissell). And the Sharp Sonic Duo was so much lighter and easier to use so I can clean my carpets more often before they show the dirt. I also like the fact that when you buy a replacement bottle of cleaner it comes with a new cleaning pad. Two hard floor cleaning pads came with the unit and another one with the bottle of cleaner. I also love that I can clean every floor surface in my house without having to drag out three different cleaning machines!

Was this review helpful? (103) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
don't waste your money
2/2/2014

Customer review by denalee

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by denalee
by denalee

i had most of Shark products, which I find are true to the claims, EXCEPT FOR THE SHARK SONIC DUO FLOOR AND CARPET CLEANER.......I WANTED TO TEST THIS OUT FOR MY HARDWOOD FLOORS VERSUS MY SHARK STEAM CLEANER SO I FIRST BOUGHT 2 NEW SHARK STEAMER PADS FOR AN EVEN EVALUATION....I USED THE SONIC DUO ON MY KITCHEN FLOOR, HAD TO HOLD IT OVER SEVERAL DIRTY AREAS FOR A MINUTE OR SO TO GET UP THE DIRT..FINALLY, AFTER ABOUT 1 HOUR AND THE WAITING FOR THE FLOOR TO DRY, I THEN USED MY STEAM MOP S3101 WITH THE 2 NEW PADS, I COULDN'T NOT BELIEVE THE AMOUNT OF DIRT I GOT ON THE PADS( USED 2 BECAUSE I HAVE A LARGE KITCHEN) COMPARING IT TO THE SONIC DUO PADS......DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE SONIC DUO, BUT THE SHARK STEAM CLEANER, SAVE YOURSELF TIME AND MONEY. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS PRODUCT, WOULD ENCOURAGE EVERYONE NOT TO BUY IT

Was this review helpful? (80) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denalee
GEORGIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
It works!
6/5/2013

Customer review by sillyme2000

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by sillyme2000
by sillyme2000

I have laminate,tile and area rugs. I was really tired of cleaning up after my animals. Sponge mopping and towel drying out streaks takes up too much time and dust mops are useless. I needed a mop to act like a stand up mop vacuum cleaner this product was it. It cleans up animal goo and everything. This is a wonderful product and now I have my time back for more important things. THANK YOU SHARK!

Was this review helpful? (125) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sillyme2000
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
What A Surprise!!
10/10/2013

Customer review by Ladyjcw

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by Ladyjcw
by Ladyjcw

I purchased this device with a little skepticism but I needed to get some pet stains up and the commercial was intriguing. The stains in my carpet in one of our bedrooms has been there for several months after getting our dog. We just closed the room off. When I got this device, it was easy to assemble, actually, I was pretty much already assembled. The instructions for carpet cleaning were very simple. I followed the directions and to my surprise, IT WORKED!! The dark smelly stains were gone!! My husband and I could not believe it. I thought that after it dried, the stains would reappear, but they're gone. This is a truly awesome machine. My only issue is that it did not come with enough carpet cleaning solution. I got more hardwood floor cleaner, but I will be ordering more carpet solution. This is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladyjcw
Bowie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good product
8/23/2013

Customer review by spotlesslyclean

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by spotlesslyclean
by spotlesslyclean

I bought this to use on hardwood and carpet also. I have struggled for a long time to get that "new" look back to my hardwood floors. Finally I have found what works! It effortlessly cleans everything on the floor. The cleaner does leave a dull finish, so I recommend using the polish afterwards. It is very easy to use and very lightweight. I was not quite as impressed with the carpet cleaning. My carpets look better, but it took a lot of the shampoo to get them done. Makes it kind of expensive to use. I don't have very dirty carpets to begin with either. It did clean a couple small stains on my area rug very easily. It fluffed the nap well and overall brightened everything up. If you have very dirty carpets, i'm not sure this would work for you. I have a hoover steam shampooer I will continue to use, and use this for maintenance in between. If I could rate this separately, I would give 5 stars for the hardwood floor, and 4 for the carpet. I feel this was worth the money, just wish the cleaners were a little more affordable.

Was this review helpful? (60) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spotlesslyclean
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I love it!
10/9/2013

Customer review by Melissa040412

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Melissa040412
by Melissa040412

Because of the price, I was thinking about getting something cheaper but I was afraid of getting something that didn't work. I was also worried because I saw some not so good reviews on this product. I recently moved and where I moved, the bottom of our shoes get BLACK and track on the carpets REALLY bad. So within two days of being here, my carpet in the entryway was BLACk instead of cream like it started out. Well, I used the Shark Sonic Duo on it, and in minutes, the carpet was clean! Looked brand new! I've used it for many recent juice stains, pet stains, food stains, etc, and it gets out all of them besides for a red stain I didn't know was there from juice that dyed my carpet, but I run it over it every now and then and its fading a good bit. I've used it on hard floors and it gets up dirt that I didn't even think was there. I also tried it out on my mattress because it was stained from my daughters spills and accidents (its a pillow-top). I've tried EVERYTHING to try to get it clean, so I gave up, and the stains have sat there for quite a while. Well, I just ran the shark sonic duo over it and most of the stains are out. I couldn't believe it. You can still see hints of the stains but I am very impressed with the overall job. Overall, I think its a great product and would definitely recommend it, and won't go back to a normal shampooer, ever.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melissa040412
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product, clean floors!
1/7/2014

Customer review by ajhawk15

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by ajhawk15
by ajhawk15

I have ceramic tile and carpet throughout my home. I have a family of 5, and our floors always seem to be dirty. I tried everything on our tile--conventional mops, Swiffer products, sponge mops, and getting on my hands and knees with a scrub brush--and nothing really was effective (or easy on my knees!). This product cleans my tile very well. It actually scrubs it. After I used it, I did a test--I put a Clorox wipe down on the floor and wiped/scrubbed one small area. There was no dirt left (which happened often after using a mop). I then used it on my carpet, and after one use, it got out a majority of the stains and really did a nice job of making my carpet look and smell better. The directions state that after regular use, your carpet's appearance will improve over time. Overall, I felt this product was well worth the money and would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajhawk15
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Skeptics Be Assured
8/3/2013

Customer review by JamestheSkeptic123

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by JamestheSkeptic123
by JamestheSkeptic123

I bought the Sonic Duo thinking this was a steam cleaning system for carpets. When I first got it home, I started using it and was super unhappy with the concept behind how it was trying to clean. But I stuck it out. The product basically takes the solution and it loosens the dirt in the carpet by shaking back and forth. You must spray the worst spots, run the Sonic with the spray, then the solution MUST DRY.(do not need a lot of solution) Then you take your regular vaccuum and sweep away the dirt. I think there is more to it than shaking back and forth but I can tell you that after running it a couple of times on my carpet(It was filthy), my carpet is revived and feeling/looking significantly cleaner. It's less effort than conventional steam cleaners. Very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (56) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JamestheSkeptic123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for carpets!
5/25/2013

Customer review by Josey28

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by Josey28
by Josey28

This is easy to assemble and use. It really restored my carpets to looking like new. Although it was unable to remove a stain on my high gloss black porcelain tile floor.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Josey28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews