Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
34
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 126 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Has GMail / email features of normal Blackberry's
12/10/2013

Customer review by GoodSol

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by GoodSol
by GoodSol
Top 100 contributor

Includes the same email features of contractual BlackBerry's including PiN messaging and BB Messenger. Setting up GMail was the easiest just by using my GMail email address, the device and network already knows the server settings and accessed GMail accounts WITHOUT DOWNLOADING ANY "GMail" apps This is a Verizon model and has better 3G coverage than Sprint or TMobile prepaid or contractual models. Plays songs and has BlackBerry AppWorld access Comes with GPS and mapping Strongly recommend downloading an alternative extra browser like Opera Mini for better picture handling since BBBrowser and most SmartPhone browsers like Android strive to download lower quality pics such as 24bit resolution instead of 32bit your Windows or OSX downloads. Most human eyes can't tell the difference between 24 or 32bit but it makes a difference when viewing primary colors and black tints that will seem gaused instead of the better 32bit Try the phones menus and features on your desktop before buying it, BlackBerry Corp provides free desktop simulators for application developers testing of code but anyone can use the simulators without registration, visit http://us.blackberry.com/sites/developers/resources/simulators.html and use the dropdown menus to select your model. Direct links are harder to share since the site requires session cookies and would just expire if posted by me or anyone. The file you're downloading is small enough for a CD at 220MB ( BlackBerry%20Simulator_7.1.0.396_9310.exe )

Was this review helpful? (67) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodSol
u s a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Love this phone
3/3/2014

Customer review by Sandilicious45

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Sandilicious45
by Sandilicious45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first Blackberry and I love it. I bought this when my SGS2 went out and I needed a phone quickly. Took me awhile to figure it out and get used to the small buttons since I was used to an android phone. I love that it runs on Verizon network. It's a great phone for the price and I recommend this phone. I also bought a couple of cute cases for it. :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandilicious45
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Phone but BEWARE
10/31/2013

Customer review by NCguy27278

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by NCguy27278
by NCguy27278
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been a StraightTalk user for about 5 years now and have had many different phones. I must say this one is wonderful and meets every expectation I had for it. Battery life is superb, processing speed is great, the software is top notch and the service is wonderful. I did have a HUGE problem getting this phone activated. If you order this phone I highly recommend picking it up in the store so that they will activate it for you. If you get it shipped to your home brace yourself for a lot of headaches because you will probably have to go back to the store and get it activated, keep your receipt and packaging as they will need it to verify your purchase. Overall this is probably the best phone I have ever had and I have had no problems with it at all for the few weeks I have used it. In my opinion it is a stellar deal for a magnificent phone but I had one of the worst experiences trying to get it activated. After activation though everything was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (182) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCguy27278
Hillsborough, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent phone, great price.
2/4/2014

Customer review by GeekOnTheHill

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by GeekOnTheHill
by GeekOnTheHill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've always preferred BlackBerries, and I was happy when Straight Talk introduced this one. This Berry works great as a phone, all the BIS functions work fine on ST's service, and of course, no one does mobile email as well as BlackBerry. It's like instantaneous. The battery life is much, much better than an Android. I usually get two days on a charge from this BlackBerry, with moderate use. On the Android, I could barely get through a day. This BlackBerry runs on VZW towers, by the way, which is also a plus because VZW is the only game in town where I live. I did have to make one call to ST support after I activated the phone. Apparently they had to do something on their end to make the BIS stuff work. They were cheerful and efficient about it, and the Berry's worked perfectly since then. So yeah, I have the best of three worlds now: VZW coverage, ST pricing, and a BlackBerry. Life is good.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeekOnTheHill
Delaware County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
9/16/2013

Customer review by Brad87

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Brad87
by Brad87
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a fan of simple phones for a long time. After trying a couple straight talk android phones I wasn't satisfied. First of all I don't like touch screen keyboards and I do text a lot. Second the battery life barely lasted me a full day of use. So I waited until they released a Blackberry because I've always wanted one. I love the keyboard and the long battery life. I can get about 2 days on a single charge which android phones cannot match. Yes there are far fewer apps but I mainly use Facebook and Pandora anyway and they are available for free. The 3G runs fast and my call signal is very reliable. I love this phone and I'm going to stick with it until Straight Talk releases a newer Blackberry in the future.

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brad87
Mount Pleasant, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for those with basic needs- 1/7/14
1/25/2014

Customer review by FeistyGirl13

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by FeistyGirl13
by FeistyGirl13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not a technology freak who has to have the latest/greatest. My primary interest is in a low cost cell/plan. I was with Verizon on an old plan that kept my costs below $50- I am talking flip phone, no text plan- basic service. Which is all I want/need. This blackberry fits my needs- small enough to compare to my old flip phone which I dropped on a regular basis...and the keyboard helps with my lack of texting skills. Very old school which I prefer. The calls are clear but I have not had long enough to say much about coverage area...I am still learning how to use it and what it has to offer. I am not happy with the alarm- my primary way of getting up in the morning- but it does the job. I have to set daily alarm via the calendar and my morning schedule changes enough in a weeks time to make it a hassle to change the alarm thru the calendar. If there were an alarm separate from the calendar, it would be much easier to use. Now if I need to get up later than usual, I just have to dismiss the earlier set alarm. I have not been able to figure out how to speed dial but I am sure that is my deficiency. The camera good but again I have not had much opportunity to use yet. After I figure out all the functions I might give it 5 stars but for now, a very solid 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FeistyGirl13
Abq, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a Canadian in US for extended period
1/22/2014

Customer review by CanadianMB

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by CanadianMB
by CanadianMB

I bought this phone on the Site to Store plan as we would be in US for 6 weeks. Roaming plans from MTS Mobility are expensive for so little. As I am familiar with Blackberry phones, this phone was a seamless transition. $60 per month gets me international and US voice, unlimited text and data. Michael at Las Cruces store helpfully activated phone for me. When there was a problem the next day with Verizon recognizing the phone, we contacted Straight Talk at the Walmart electronics desk. Despite some of the online warnings, Straight Talk technical help was competent, and quickly contacted Verizon who solved my problem. The phone and reception have been solid for the past 10 days. I would highly recommend this phone and plan for visitors to US or anyone who likes Blackberry keyboard and secure system.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CanadianMB
Portage la Prairie, MB CANADA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this phone!
1/7/2014

Customer review by blackberryfan01

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by blackberryfan01
by blackberryfan01

I did alot of research prior to deciding to buy this phone. I read that it had great reception (works off of verizon tower), takes great pictures, and has a good battery life. I will agree with all of these things. However this phone is so much more than that. I like the size and quality, love texting with the keyboard so much more than with a touchscreen text, It was so simple to set up. The pictures are awesome the camera has a great flash. I only have to charge the phone every few days. I am a huge fan of this phone.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blackberryfan01
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone performance and quality
10/24/2013

Customer review by TheKid72

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by TheKid72
by TheKid72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 100 contributor

This may be the best affordable priced phone for Straight talk, hands down. The phone itself is superior to the Android offerings as far as build quality, clarity, keyboard and download speeds. Once you adjust to the finger position sensing button in the place of a touch screen - this phone really excels. Clarity of calls is top notch, and you won't be disconnected due to holding your face against a touch screen. Messaging is good, as you can feel the keys better than a touch screen. Battery life is amazing - just amazing - for a smartphone. Downsides are major or minor depending on your needs. This has GPS, but the Straight Talk version of the Curve does not support Blackberry's voice guidance application. Real time location tracking is disabled. You can find where you are quickly, and directions (both in map and turn by turn) are quickly available. If traveling alone, this is a serious shortcoming. Apps are limited, and many popular apps aren't available here. However the browser is quick for 3G, and in many cases you can do as well by visiting the web site vs. using a company app. Lastly the screen is small - may or may not be an issue. I did return mine as I needed voice guidance for GPS. This phone, for talk and messaging was so good that I considered going back to a stand-alone GPS, but made the switch.

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKid72
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 100 contributor
Great Little Smart Phone.
4/7/2013

Customer review by meif

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by meif
by meif

The phone was a breeze to set up and being on the Verizon towers it has great reception. The phone is really fast and the battery is long lasting.

Was this review helpful? (107) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meif
Eastern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Blackberry and I'm a fan
12/17/2013

Customer review by Wamacar

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Wamacar
by Wamacar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this phone online and wasn't able to activate it online so I had to call customer service. It took about twenty minutes but the Rep was nice and polite (albeit a little difficult to understand). I was able to use my phone within minutes of ending the call and I ported my number from Verizon. This phone operates off Verizon towers so my coverage is the same. And after the initial setup and getting used to how a blackberry operates I really enjoy it. I had an LG Android smartphone previously. The call quality is better than any phone I have had. I love the directional key and didn't have a bit of trouble switching to this from a touchscreen. The keyboard is easy to use. The camera is great. And I really love the customizable features for contacts such as setting a specific LED light color for a specific contact so you would be able to distinguish calls or texts even when in silent mode. Also the battery life on this phone is EXCEPTIONAL. My old smartphone couldn't make it thru a full day. This phone I left off charge all weekend before needing to charge it with me play games, making calls, txting, and surfing the web. I have noticed that sometimes the screen will dim before it is supposed to. (You can set the back light dimming settings). It isn't much of a problem now, but I don't know if it will be in the future. For $60 I am pretty happy so far

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wamacar
St.Leon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/3/2013

Customer review by Blackberrylove

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Blackberrylove
by Blackberrylove

Works just like my Verizon Blackberry...satisfied! Not sure why there are low raters...I was not disappointed with saving $$$ with StraightTalk!

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blackberrylove
N. Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As advertised and reviewed
12/12/2013

Customer review by Vonwolfen

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Vonwolfen
by Vonwolfen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There are several good reviews on this product and prospective buyers should carefully read them. I won't add a bunch of technical comments, but I will provide an overview. This phone has performed well and survived a couple drops. The Blackberry.com site offers a wealth of good info and by joining, it has been a very pleasant surprise. Coverage in my area is excellent. Browser works, but can be a bit slow, if you are used to quad processors. The keyboard is small and tricky for me, but works very well and has the feel of quality. The phone will need a media storage (mini) to have reasonable storage, so plan on that expense. It works fine without the storage, but you are very limited in media use. The GPS has me a bit stumped on its effective use....I must study more on the proper use. The ringtone, set on loud, is not very loud....so if you have a hearing impairment, it may be a problem. The WiFi works excellent. I have not used Bluetooth, so I can not comment. My opinion is that this is a legitimate good deal at less than $50. The Blackberry system setup for emails etc., is easy and quick. Go to Blackberry.com and Crackberry.com for great info and support.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vonwolfen
Southern Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth It
7/5/2013

Customer review by rshe6482

2.0 stars 7/5/2013 by rshe6482
by rshe6482

I have had many BlackBerry's before having this prepaid one, and have never had the issues that I've had. I absolutely LOVE BlackBerry, and everything on the phone works just fine, all but my email setup. Can't even surf it online with wifi and 3g! Of course I did my research before calling straight talk. After calling Straight Talk, I realized I needed to get a different carrier. They are the most incompetent people I have ever spoken to. I talked to four different people who continuously did the same thing over and over and over again before transferring me to someone else because they couldn't figure out what else to do. The last person I spoke to had me factory reset my phone. Did it work? NO. Did it infuriate me? YES. $45 dollars a month is a GREAT deal, but not worth the hassle. Terrible customer service. I loved the phone, and if you absolutely never plan on setting up your email with this phone, then I say give it a shot. But, the only complain with the phone is the battery. For some reason the battery on this Blackberry isn't that great. Never had that problem before. I love the phone but have to have my email setup.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rshe6482
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/8/2013

Customer review by Axel9

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Axel9
by Axel9

I love this phone...I am a Blackberry only customer!! This was easy to set up and I have better reception than my last blackberry. Pictures are sharp and everything about this phone fits me to a too...don't listen to the bad reviews..A+

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Axel9
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone
10/22/2013

Customer review by jmcook79

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by jmcook79
by jmcook79

If you mainly talk, text, use the internet, and like a physical keyboard this is the phone for you. It may not have all the apps that Android and iPhone have, but it has the basics like Facebook. The web browser is also very good and I love the keyboard. I've never liked touch screens and if you feel the same this phone is a great option. The only negative thing about this phone is that it accumulates dust underneath the screen. Apparently this is a problem with all Blackberry curve phones but honestly it's hard to see unless you're in direct sunlight.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmcook79
Fanning Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great smartphone for the price
11/27/2013

Customer review by Emerald409

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Emerald409
by Emerald409
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I picked this because Blackberry is a reliable name and it was a great price! It has a few apps like Facebook and twitter, you can download more in Blackberry World. I love listening to my overdrive books on here and If you're tired of touch screens freezing up and androids this will be a great phone for you!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emerald409
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

ease to use.very good phone

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
long beach ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/4/2013

Customer review by Pita59

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Pita59
by Pita59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with the Blackberry Curve. I can actually SEE my pictures & even zoom in on them. I am able to do multiple tasks on the phone while talking to someone. Internet connection loads quickly.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pita59
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Curve 9310 on sale
11/26/2013

Customer review by CR625

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by CR625
by CR625
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased to have paid $39 for this phone. Especially becuase I use it with Straight Talk for $45 a month unlimited. The tower service is through Verizon so I receive coverage everywhere that Verizon covers. I have had 3 "Touch Screen" phones and I did not like typing on the touch screens because I had to correct mistakes constantly. With this Curve I hit the exact button the first time everytime.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CR625
Martinez, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews