Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
34
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 126 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Amazing Phone but BEWARE
10/31/2013

Customer review by NCguy27278

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by NCguy27278
by NCguy27278

I have been a StraightTalk user for about 5 years now and have had many different phones. I must say this one is wonderful and meets every expectation I had for it. Battery life is superb, processing speed is great, the software is top notch and the service is wonderful. I did have a HUGE problem getting this phone activated. If you order this phone I highly recommend picking it up in the store so that they will activate it for you. If you get it shipped to your home brace yourself for a lot of headaches because you will probably have to go back to the store and get it activated, keep your receipt and packaging as they will need it to verify your purchase. Overall this is probably the best phone I have ever had and I have had no problems with it at all for the few weeks I have used it. In my opinion it is a stellar deal for a magnificent phone but I had one of the worst experiences trying to get it activated. After activation though everything was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (182) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCguy27278
Hillsborough, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Smart Phone.
4/7/2013

Customer review by meif

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by meif
by meif

The phone was a breeze to set up and being on the Verizon towers it has great reception. The phone is really fast and the battery is long lasting.

Was this review helpful? (107) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meif
Eastern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
9/16/2013

Customer review by Brad87

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Brad87
by Brad87

I've been a fan of simple phones for a long time. After trying a couple straight talk android phones I wasn't satisfied. First of all I don't like touch screen keyboards and I do text a lot. Second the battery life barely lasted me a full day of use. So I waited until they released a Blackberry because I've always wanted one. I love the keyboard and the long battery life. I can get about 2 days on a single charge which android phones cannot match. Yes there are far fewer apps but I mainly use Facebook and Pandora anyway and they are available for free. The 3G runs fast and my call signal is very reliable. I love this phone and I'm going to stick with it until Straight Talk releases a newer Blackberry in the future.

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brad87
Mount Pleasant, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/3/2013

Customer review by Blackberrylove

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Blackberrylove
by Blackberrylove

Works just like my Verizon Blackberry...satisfied! Not sure why there are low raters...I was not disappointed with saving $$$ with StraightTalk!

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackberrylove
N. Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Has GMail / email features of normal Blackberry's
12/10/2013

Customer review by GoodSol

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by GoodSol
by GoodSol

Includes the same email features of contractual BlackBerry's including PiN messaging and BB Messenger. Setting up GMail was the easiest just by using my GMail email address, the device and network already knows the server settings and accessed GMail accounts WITHOUT DOWNLOADING ANY "GMail" apps This is a Verizon model and has better 3G coverage than Sprint or TMobile prepaid or contractual models. Plays songs and has BlackBerry AppWorld access Comes with GPS and mapping Strongly recommend downloading an alternative extra browser like Opera Mini for better picture handling since BBBrowser and most SmartPhone browsers like Android strive to download lower quality pics such as 24bit resolution instead of 32bit your Windows or OSX downloads. Most human eyes can't tell the difference between 24 or 32bit but it makes a difference when viewing primary colors and black tints that will seem gaused instead of the better 32bit Try the phones menus and features on your desktop before buying it, BlackBerry Corp provides free desktop simulators for application developers testing of code but anyone can use the simulators without registration, visit http://us.blackberry.com/sites/developers/resources/simulators.html and use the dropdown menus to select your model. Direct links are harder to share since the site requires session cookies and would just expire if posted by me or anyone. The file you're downloading is small enough for a CD at 220MB ( BlackBerry%20Simulator_7.1.0.396_9310.exe )

Was this review helpful? (67) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodSol
u s a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Excellent phone performance and quality
10/24/2013

Customer review by TheKid72

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by TheKid72
by TheKid72

This may be the best affordable priced phone for Straight talk, hands down. The phone itself is superior to the Android offerings as far as build quality, clarity, keyboard and download speeds. Once you adjust to the finger position sensing button in the place of a touch screen - this phone really excels. Clarity of calls is top notch, and you won't be disconnected due to holding your face against a touch screen. Messaging is good, as you can feel the keys better than a touch screen. Battery life is amazing - just amazing - for a smartphone. Downsides are major or minor depending on your needs. This has GPS, but the Straight Talk version of the Curve does not support Blackberry's voice guidance application. Real time location tracking is disabled. You can find where you are quickly, and directions (both in map and turn by turn) are quickly available. If traveling alone, this is a serious shortcoming. Apps are limited, and many popular apps aren't available here. However the browser is quick for 3G, and in many cases you can do as well by visiting the web site vs. using a company app. Lastly the screen is small - may or may not be an issue. I did return mine as I needed voice guidance for GPS. This phone, for talk and messaging was so good that I considered going back to a stand-alone GPS, but made the switch.

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheKid72
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 100 contributor
I love this phone!
1/7/2014

Customer review by blackberryfan01

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by blackberryfan01
by blackberryfan01

I did alot of research prior to deciding to buy this phone. I read that it had great reception (works off of verizon tower), takes great pictures, and has a good battery life. I will agree with all of these things. However this phone is so much more than that. I like the size and quality, love texting with the keyboard so much more than with a touchscreen text, It was so simple to set up. The pictures are awesome the camera has a great flash. I only have to charge the phone every few days. I am a huge fan of this phone.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackberryfan01
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

ease to use.very good phone

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
long beach ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Curve 9310 on sale
11/26/2013

Customer review by CR625

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by CR625
by CR625

I am very pleased to have paid $39 for this phone. Especially becuase I use it with Straight Talk for $45 a month unlimited. The tower service is through Verizon so I receive coverage everywhere that Verizon covers. I have had 3 "Touch Screen" phones and I did not like typing on the touch screens because I had to correct mistakes constantly. With this Curve I hit the exact button the first time everytime.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CR625
Martinez, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/8/2013

Customer review by Axel9

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Axel9
by Axel9

I love this phone...I am a Blackberry only customer!! This was easy to set up and I have better reception than my last blackberry. Pictures are sharp and everything about this phone fits me to a too...don't listen to the bad reviews..A+

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Axel9
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great smartphone for the price
11/27/2013

Customer review by Emerald409

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Emerald409
by Emerald409

I picked this because Blackberry is a reliable name and it was a great price! It has a few apps like Facebook and twitter, you can download more in Blackberry World. I love listening to my overdrive books on here and If you're tired of touch screens freezing up and androids this will be a great phone for you!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emerald409
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone
10/22/2013

Customer review by jmcook79

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by jmcook79
by jmcook79

If you mainly talk, text, use the internet, and like a physical keyboard this is the phone for you. It may not have all the apps that Android and iPhone have, but it has the basics like Facebook. The web browser is also very good and I love the keyboard. I've never liked touch screens and if you feel the same this phone is a great option. The only negative thing about this phone is that it accumulates dust underneath the screen. Apparently this is a problem with all Blackberry curve phones but honestly it's hard to see unless you're in direct sunlight.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmcook79
Fanning Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Blackberry and I'm a fan
12/17/2013

Customer review by Wamacar

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Wamacar
by Wamacar

I purchased this phone online and wasn't able to activate it online so I had to call customer service. It took about twenty minutes but the Rep was nice and polite (albeit a little difficult to understand). I was able to use my phone within minutes of ending the call and I ported my number from Verizon. This phone operates off Verizon towers so my coverage is the same. And after the initial setup and getting used to how a blackberry operates I really enjoy it. I had an LG Android smartphone previously. The call quality is better than any phone I have had. I love the directional key and didn't have a bit of trouble switching to this from a touchscreen. The keyboard is easy to use. The camera is great. And I really love the customizable features for contacts such as setting a specific LED light color for a specific contact so you would be able to distinguish calls or texts even when in silent mode. Also the battery life on this phone is EXCEPTIONAL. My old smartphone couldn't make it thru a full day. This phone I left off charge all weekend before needing to charge it with me play games, making calls, txting, and surfing the web. I have noticed that sometimes the screen will dim before it is supposed to. (You can set the back light dimming settings). It isn't much of a problem now, but I don't know if it will be in the future. For $60 I am pretty happy so far

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wamacar
St.Leon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent phone, great price.
2/4/2014

Customer review by GeekOnTheHill

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by GeekOnTheHill
by GeekOnTheHill

I've always preferred BlackBerries, and I was happy when Straight Talk introduced this one. This Berry works great as a phone, all the BIS functions work fine on ST's service, and of course, no one does mobile email as well as BlackBerry. It's like instantaneous. The battery life is much, much better than an Android. I usually get two days on a charge from this BlackBerry, with moderate use. On the Android, I could barely get through a day. This BlackBerry runs on VZW towers, by the way, which is also a plus because VZW is the only game in town where I live. I did have to make one call to ST support after I activated the phone. Apparently they had to do something on their end to make the BIS stuff work. They were cheerful and efficient about it, and the Berry's worked perfectly since then. So yeah, I have the best of three worlds now: VZW coverage, ST pricing, and a BlackBerry. Life is good.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeekOnTheHill
Delaware County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for those with basic needs- 1/7/14
1/25/2014

Customer review by FeistyGirl13

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by FeistyGirl13
by FeistyGirl13

I am not a technology freak who has to have the latest/greatest. My primary interest is in a low cost cell/plan. I was with Verizon on an old plan that kept my costs below $50- I am talking flip phone, no text plan- basic service. Which is all I want/need. This blackberry fits my needs- small enough to compare to my old flip phone which I dropped on a regular basis...and the keyboard helps with my lack of texting skills. Very old school which I prefer. The calls are clear but I have not had long enough to say much about coverage area...I am still learning how to use it and what it has to offer. I am not happy with the alarm- my primary way of getting up in the morning- but it does the job. I have to set daily alarm via the calendar and my morning schedule changes enough in a weeks time to make it a hassle to change the alarm thru the calendar. If there were an alarm separate from the calendar, it would be much easier to use. Now if I need to get up later than usual, I just have to dismiss the earlier set alarm. I have not been able to figure out how to speed dial but I am sure that is my deficiency. The camera good but again I have not had much opportunity to use yet. After I figure out all the functions I might give it 5 stars but for now, a very solid 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FeistyGirl13
Abq, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far... things have been decent. ~LONG READ~
10/21/2013

Customer review by Ivy86

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Ivy86
by Ivy86

Along came Blackberry to the Straight Talk family. It started out fairly expensive, so I decided long ago to let it drop down in price before I considered getting one. Then I found it for $50 on Walmart.com and I couldn't pass it up! Depending on how I like this one, I may end up getting a spare (even though I did get the $5 2 year accident replacement). Day 1) As soon as you pop the battery in, the phone turns on.. YIPES! So far, I don't THINK it has affected life of the battery, but I'm sure I will find out soon enough. When I did get it shut off and threw it on the charger for the day, I then decided it was time to get my number switched from my other straight talk phone to this one. Should have been smooth, right? NOPE! I've switched phones about 4 times now. This is the first time I had to wait more than 30 minutes to get the number to switch. Straight Talk now has an online live chat, so I thought I would use that to see what was on. They had me update the phone, try a few things, and after 20 minutes, decided I needed to call in and do a trouble shoot. After then being on the phone for over an hour with them, trying different things, I was then told it could take 24 hours for my number to move over to the new phone. Really wished they could have told me that BEFORE I was on the phone that long... but it is one of the things you have to deal with when having Straight Talk as a prepaid company. It was more of a pain because I do rely on my phone quite heavily for work... a whole night without it made me uneasy. Day 2) Wake up at 6am, and I call the activation number... SURPRISE! It actually activated my phone. Luckily, no missed calls, no missed texts from work. Throughout the day, I was able to really plunge into the phone more and customize it to my liking.You can sync your email, yahoo, facebook, twitter, set up wi-fi, bluetooth, a blackberry ID, a payment option for apps, and then personalize the phone to your own settings. Most of that was fairly easy to get set up. Since I don't use Facebook, or Twitter, and most of the others, I just set up Wi-Fi, Yahoo! Messenger, and email, and some other things. I was even able to pop in my SD card from my previous phone, and have all of my ringtones. So far, still have not figured out how to access the pictures on the SD card, but I'll get there some day. Also found out that after every app you update or download, the phone asks you to restart. I recommend waiting until you have updated/downloaded a few things before restarting, as it can take about 2 minutes or more before the phone boots itself up again and you can start going on your merry way again. Day 3) Playing around with the phone more today, and I really love how much can be customized. People can have their own ringtones when they call or text you, you can have a universal tone for everyone else, and you can even choose what color your LED light is when you get a text, yahoo message, email, phone call, ect. AND there are quite a few volume settings, which you can customize individually. I set 1 of them for bed time, since I have no desire to receive any sort of email alert when I am asleep, but a phone call is fairly important in the middle of the night. I've tested out the camera only a little so far (instead of taking pictures of ALL the things), mostly trying to take a picture of the cat. The flash feature is a vast upgrade from my previous phone, and is customizable to be turned off and on, or set it to automatically be used in low lights. Like I said, haven't played around with it much, so don't really have a lot of insight to offer. The alarm... maybe I can find an app for it, but I'm the type of person who uses more than 1 alarm in the morning to get myself rolled out of bed (which I could set up to 5 if i needed on my old phone) since most days and weekends I get up at varying times. Was nice to just turn one off and another off, and keep them all at the same time. So far, this one seems to be a 1 alarm wonder... like I said, I might just need an app. And the store does seem to have a few free items that look promising! I've also found that my local Walmart does not carry any phone cases or screen covers for the Blackberry anymore, mostly since they have lost their popularity. HIGHLY recommend getting them on ebay (just make sure you pay attention where it is coming from. I ordered 1 from China, and then decided to pay a bit more for one that is shipped from within the US. I'll at least have a spare!) Since I have only had the phone a few days, this is what I've had to deal with as of yet. I mostly expect to wait a month or so and update my review as I should have experienced more of the features and can update on any glitches I may find. Overall, I'm happy with the phone these last few days.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ivy86
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
PRETTY GOOD PHONE
4/7/2013

Customer review by TNREBELMAN

4.0 stars 4/7/2013 by TNREBELMAN
by TNREBELMAN

HAD THIS PHONE COUPLE OF DAYS BATTERY LAST PRETTY GOOD ONLY DOWN SIDE ITS NOT FRIENDY USER GOOD FOR TEXTING AND CALLS ITS LIGHT AND SMALL READ COUPLE OF REVIEWS SAYING IT WAS CHEAP MADE TO ME A PRETTY GOOD PHONE FOR THE PRICE IT RUNS OFF VERIZON TOWER WHICH IS GOOD WI- FI IS GOOD ALSO

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNREBELMAN
SEVIERVILLE TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/4/2013

Customer review by Pita59

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Pita59
by Pita59

I am very pleased with the Blackberry Curve. I can actually SEE my pictures & even zoom in on them. I am able to do multiple tasks on the phone while talking to someone. Internet connection loads quickly.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pita59
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertised and reviewed
12/12/2013

Customer review by Vonwolfen

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Vonwolfen
by Vonwolfen

There are several good reviews on this product and prospective buyers should carefully read them. I won't add a bunch of technical comments, but I will provide an overview. This phone has performed well and survived a couple drops. The Blackberry.com site offers a wealth of good info and by joining, it has been a very pleasant surprise. Coverage in my area is excellent. Browser works, but can be a bit slow, if you are used to quad processors. The keyboard is small and tricky for me, but works very well and has the feel of quality. The phone will need a media storage (mini) to have reasonable storage, so plan on that expense. It works fine without the storage, but you are very limited in media use. The GPS has me a bit stumped on its effective use....I must study more on the proper use. The ringtone, set on loud, is not very loud....so if you have a hearing impairment, it may be a problem. The WiFi works excellent. I have not used Bluetooth, so I can not comment. My opinion is that this is a legitimate good deal at less than $50. The Blackberry system setup for emails etc., is easy and quick. Go to Blackberry.com and Crackberry.com for great info and support.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vonwolfen
Southern Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Purchase
9/8/2013

Customer review by Kenya25

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by Kenya25
by Kenya25

I really love this phone, its simple but has alot of great programs and its very manageable, I would highly recommend this product to anyone..

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kenya25
Elko, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews