Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 64 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
I wouldn't recommend this purchase
6/4/2013

Customer review by MeatSmokerREH

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by MeatSmokerREH
by MeatSmokerREH

I found that the metal is too thin and it doesn't contol heat very well. The smoker box is directly adjacent to the heat box so the meat in closest proximity to the heat cooks 3x faster than the top racks. The only way to keep the meat from burning or drying out is to rotate frequently. The frequent opening of the cook box depletes the heat and further increases your smoke time. I've used a horizontal smoker with an offset fire box for years so I thought this was an upgrade instead it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, now that it's used it can't be returned.

Was this review helpful? (66) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeatSmokerREH
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
looks good works bad
5/30/2013

Customer review by PPBee

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by PPBee
by PPBee

My first try using this smoker was very disappointing. The firebox leaks on top where it meets the smoker area. Paint burnt off on first use and is now rusting. Charcoal area cannot handle more than 1 chimney of coal and the wood / coal tray does not allow proper air circulation. I had a really hard time keeping it at 225 degrees due to the poor air flow on the unit. I called Dyna-Glo and asked what they would recommend, their representative told me to return it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (59) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PPBee
Wall, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
awesome Smoker
5/19/2014

Customer review by SmokingFool526

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SmokingFool526
by SmokingFool526

My first day getting this was awesome. I was recommend this to anyone that loves smoking meats.. Just make sure you preseason it before using it

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokingFool526
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grill preformed just I wished and as I expected!
7/13/2014

Customer review by PRK1941

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by PRK1941
by PRK1941

I have smoked a three five pound pork loin tips so far. One with mesquite chips on charcoal the other two with hickory chips on charcoal. All three receive rave reviews, moist inside, nice service texture outside and great flavor!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRK1941
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good smoker
10/3/2014

Customer review by tazz4434

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by tazz4434
by tazz4434

good smoker for the money not heavy guage steel ,but for occasional use its great!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tazz4434
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
6/24/2015

Customer review by Romans81

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Romans81
by Romans81

This is my first smoker and I found it to work really well, I did pretty good on my first try at some ribs. The smoker maintained a steady 225-250 temperature for 3 hours before I added more charcoal. The included temperature gauge seemed accurate enough (using boiling water test to check for 212 fahrenheit. If you really must have temp readings accurate to within one degree, you will need to replace it or by a digital thermometer. However to me as long as I'm within 220-250 I'm happy. You'll want to seal this smoker as soon as you buy it, as it can be leaky, and you want a nice tightly sealed smoker in order to maintain target temperatures. When you buy this, go ahead and get some Permatex 81160 High-Temp Red RTV Silicone Gasket (available via major online retailers for $5), and when you are assembling put a nice thick bead between the coal box and the smoke chamber. Then when you attach the coal box you get a nice tight seal with no leakage between the coal box and smoke chamber. Also, there is some leakage around the doors. You can make a seal with the silicone by putting a bead of the high-temp silocone around the door and then shutting the door with some cellophane while it cures. Or you can order a 1/8" thick Nomex gasket available at online retailer (this option is more expensive). Put a water pan (disposable aluminum cake pan) on the bottom grate to help distribute the heat while cooking. After making these adjustments you will be very happy with your purchase. I look forward to many happy hours of smoking with this smoker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Romans81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great smoker
9/24/2014

Customer review by piedmontsmoker

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by piedmontsmoker
by piedmontsmoker

IT is very tight,little leaks and holds the temp. very easy,used it last weekend and was the best B-B-Q I have made Have been using a barrel smoker,but this was much better.The price was great,60 dollars less then home depot and lowes(they both had the same price and no they will not price match Wal-Mart online)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
piedmontsmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good smoker for moderate use
7/7/2014

Customer review by Bengalgrl9

4.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Bengalgrl9
by Bengalgrl9

Smoker was delivered fairly quickly, set up wasn't too hard. Keeps temperature well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bengalgrl9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dyna-glo vertical smoker
9/29/2014

Customer review by sparerib10

1.0 stars 9/29/2014 by sparerib10
by sparerib10

This is the worst smoker ive ever had.smoke leaks out around the doors and were the fire box meats with the main box of the smoker. Also cant get the heat up to 225

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from GHP Group Inc. Support - 5/15/2015

Hey there, <br /><br />We are sorry to hear about your experience with your smoker. If we can assist you in resolving any of these issues, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.<br /><br />- GHP Group Customer Service Team

Comment from GHP Group Inc. Support - 5/15/2015

Hey there, <br /><br />We are sorry to hear about your experience with your smoker. If we can assist you in resolving any of these issues, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.<br /><br />- GHP Group Customer Service Team

sparerib10
Would recommend to a friend? No
My Dyna-Glo
6/5/2015

Customer review by smokinggoodeat

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by smokinggoodeat
by smokinggoodeat

the Dyna-Glo was easy to put together and easy to use it. the first day I did chicken, pork steaks and beef steaks and did them at the same time. I have to say they taste very good and it makes me glad I got the Dyna-Glo. I will be using it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smokinggoodeat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SMOKING HOT!!!!!!!!
11/12/2014

Customer review by 42DB

4.0 stars 11/12/2014 by 42DB
by 42DB

Lots of room with multiple shelves, you can smoke different things at same time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
42DB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my 1st
5/6/2015

Customer review by Rider

4.0 stars 5/6/2015 by Rider
by Rider

my 1st smoker. I did a little research, for what I wanted this one for the price was perfect. My younger brother bought a different smoker and after a weekend visit, he wishes that he had bought one of these also. 6 racks, large capacity, easy access to firebox. I believe I got the best value for my money, and will enjoy this for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a Bargain
5/30/2015

Customer review by Mugsbyman

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by Mugsbyman
by Mugsbyman

This is an excellent smoker and ver easy to assemble and use. I think it has more space than the picture shows I cooked 6 racks of ribs and hung about 10 sausages and it cooked great!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mugsbyman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
first time smoker
11/22/2014

Customer review by cmiracing

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by cmiracing
by cmiracing

first time I ever had a smoker. The reason I chose this one was because of the name and because you can use charcoal and wood. Temperature gauge seems very accurate even though we did buy electronic thermometer which we put through the smokestack to keep on the me the whole time its smoking. Very easy to assemble very easy to use quality is very good sturdy. Would recommend to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmiracing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only to smoke food
12/15/2014

Customer review by everhappy

5.0 stars 12/15/2014 by everhappy
by everhappy

We have had our Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker for a few months now and have used it at least 6 times, especially at Thanksgiving,, the turkey was to die for. If you have any doubts about purchasing this item, I really think you will not be disappointed. We will be smoking a butt this weekend, going to have a couple of families over for some pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks Walmart for another great buy,,,,, Happy70

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
everhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatest Christmas Gift
12/20/2014

Customer review by Bunnyfrance

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by Bunnyfrance
by Bunnyfrance

If your husband likes grilling this is the best smoker, grill and everything to get him. Christmas isn't here and he is still messing with it. Great gift!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bunnyfrance
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A True Griller
6/6/2015

Customer review by ThePurchaser

5.0 stars 6/6/2015 by ThePurchaser
by ThePurchaser

Just love it. Its smokes meats like nothing else we've had

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePurchaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works better than my horizontal
11/16/2014

Customer review by Darius

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by Darius
by Darius

I've used it 3 times.Works great, did chicken breast after seasoning used half a basket lump mesquite, held temperature perfectly just under 250°(it was 85°f outside ).I smoked peppers at 150°consistently (on a 30°night).Bottom racks worked well for sausage,top made beautiful ribs.My only complaints are the almost tin can thickness steel, leaks around the door,that being said I would buy it twice rather than go back to my cheap horizontal.

Darius
Hutto, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my First Smoker
11/19/2014

Customer review by cmiracing

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by cmiracing
by cmiracing

easy to put together/directions 20 mins, great cooking info in the book that comes with it. love the ability to use charcoal and wood as a cooking option. Seasoned it the first day Saturday, and cooked ribs on Sunday, amazing...better than any rib house.

cmiracing
North Port, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
12/16/2014

Customer review by kybulldog43

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by kybulldog43
by kybulldog43

Great smoker was able to get a deer shoulder in and smoked it all day about 9 hours at 150 degrees, with DR. Pepper and Mesquite chips, everyone loved it, even the ones that said did not like venison. I would recommend this smoker to anyone who wants to try smoking meat. Would recommend smoking more meat at one time kind of costly smoking just one piece went through 30lbs of charcoal and 2lbs of chips.

kybulldog43
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews