Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
38
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 109 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
looks good works bad
5/30/2013

Customer review by PPBee

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by PPBee
by PPBee

My first try using this smoker was very disappointing. The firebox leaks on top where it meets the smoker area. Paint burnt off on first use and is now rusting. Charcoal area cannot handle more than 1 chimney of coal and the wood / coal tray does not allow proper air circulation. I had a really hard time keeping it at 225 degrees due to the poor air flow on the unit. I called Dyna-Glo and asked what they would recommend, their representative told me to return it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (81) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PPBee
Wall, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent smoker!
7/7/2016

Customer review by Bobby

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Bobby
by Bobby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok. I just received this smoker delivered in the mail about 2.5 weeks ago. Shipped fast and free. Came in very good packing order and easy to assemble. For the last 4 years I smoked on the Brinkman smoke n' grill before this one. I already used the dyna glo 2 times in 2 weeks and I absolutely love it! Mind you it's not the thickest steel like the Oklahoma Joe brand, but this guy works great! I just did 2 slabs of back ribs and a small pork butt for 6 hours and they came out the best I ever did. The ease of use of this think really satisfied me. Maintaining the fire pit what I love. So easy compared to the Brinkman. Stayed steady at 225 to 240 degrees all day in the Florida heat. For piece of mind I sprayed the cook box in and out side with canola oil for hope of longevity, although I keep in the garage. Great product! Best $170 ever!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better Than Expected
6/21/2016

Customer review by ATLPaws

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by ATLPaws
by ATLPaws
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did quite a bit of research before choosing this Dyna Glo smoker. This smoker arrived well packaged and was easy to assemble. My assembly took a little more time than the norm, as I made a few mods in order to seal up any potential areas I saw for heat and smoke loss. I love the offset coal rack because it allows you to add coals and wood without opening the smoker and losing heat. So far, I've smoked ribs, a pork butt, pork tenderloin, and a beer can chicken and all have turned out great. I'm still learning this smoker but have been pleasantly surprised with results so far. I've found that I had better results maintaining heat with charcoal versus lump coal, but this is only because I'm still learning the process. I like the lump flavoring much more than the charcoal. The minion method has been the best method to use in order to maximize and maintain good temps. If you are serious about getting a new smoker and you are looking at this one in your final group, I highly recommend this smoker.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLPaws
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dyna Gio Smoker
6/26/2016

Customer review by olwoody

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by olwoody
by olwoody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seasoned smoker by using charcoal and large wood chips for 8hrs. This really coated the inside completely and sealed the unit well. Smoked 2 racks of Spare Ribs and 1 pork loin for 1 hr. Then wrapped the Ribs in foil with butter and apple juice. added more charcoal and brought the heat up a little to finish Ribs and Pork Loin. Both came out perfect. Dispatched cut a whole Chicken the next day and smoked the same way and it too was perfect. Well worth the price. Recommending to all my friends. Cover the bottom of the smoker box with foil to save cleaning the bottom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olwoody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Excellent
5/3/2016

Customer review by perimeter

4.0 stars 5/3/2016 by perimeter
by perimeter

This has to be one of the better vertical smokers available. Easy to assemble! It is for the serious backyard pit boss. It is NOT made for competition. Those smokers cost upwards of $2K. If you are NOT comfortable with using a true wood smoker, shame on you! The manufacturer recommends this smoker to be sitting on a concrete or brick surface. Mine is on my wood deck. I also purchased a grill pad to place the smoke on. No problem. One suggestion to DYNA-GLO: make it more user-friendly to move from one place to another.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
perimeter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted and priced just right
6/5/2016

Customer review by GMA2914

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by GMA2914
by GMA2914
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking to get a new, larger smoker and after researching reviews on several brands, decided on this Dyna Glo. It didn't hurt that Walmart had it on sale for under $200 when I ordered. In fact it was the best price on the internet. It arrived 1 day earlier than they said and it was so easy to set up. Took hubby and me about 25 minutes. I smoked ribs and chicken the first time using after seasoning and they were all delicious

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMA2914
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a great smoker for the size.
6/27/2016

Customer review by albesure

4.0 stars 6/27/2016 by albesure
by albesure
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used it already and find it to be pretty good you just cant put any large size meat in it ribs, briskets and roast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
albesure
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works
7/19/2016

Customer review by Bryan

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Bryan
by Bryan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works great. Had to seal the small leaks from smoke. I ordered it online. When I initially ordered it was suppose to arrive on July 1. It didn't arrive till July 7. ( after holiday) But is works well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bryan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoker
7/19/2016

Customer review by Acey

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Acey
by Acey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice grill ,needs wheels built well you need permatex to deal leaks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Acey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smokin hot
6/15/2016

Customer review by Step

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Step
by Step
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Heats up well. Charcoal grate should have been one piece. Doors work well and it looks nice in the yard. Doesn't require a lot of monitoring during cooking.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Step
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smokin Joe
7/13/2016

Customer review by SmokinJoe

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by SmokinJoe
by SmokinJoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a couple of attempts to monitor the heat control through the vents, I found it easy to operate and maintain optimum temperatures. I would like to see a little more control of the upper stack, but found it to be very east to get the fire started, control the heat and cleanup was so much more simple than what I was used to . Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokinJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BROWNIE POINTS!!!
7/14/2016

Customer review by Soon2BeMRS

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Soon2BeMRS
by Soon2BeMRS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Fiance absolutely LOVED his new smoker. It was out of stock on Father's Day but I got it just in time for our Fourth of July celebration!!! He doctored it up some to fit his standards, but this was an AWESOME DEAL at a truly GREAT PRICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soon2BeMRS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoked It!
6/15/2016

Customer review by vgarcia

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by vgarcia
by vgarcia

I really enjoyed the smoker! It worked really well. I did find problems with the instruction manual. It is poorly written, and some steps are skipped and makes assumptions in the process. I also found a design flaw tray as the fuel grate that sits over the tray is not secured down. I had to rig up something to keep the grate from collapsing and knocking over the hot briquets. I should patent my design as improvement to smoker

vgarcia
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smoker
6/4/2016

Customer review by KitQ

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by KitQ
by KitQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this after our huge smoker rusted out. Lots of room with the racks and temperature easy to control. We cooked ribs, chicken and sausage at the same time - perfect!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
7/7/2016

Customer review by ADDADAD

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by ADDADAD
by ADDADAD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only used it once and it seemed to work alright. You need to seal the seems and doors. Seem to keep the heat in, cannot gripe for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADDADAD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grill preformed just I wished and as I expected!
7/13/2014

Customer review by PRK1941

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by PRK1941
by PRK1941
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have smoked a three five pound pork loin tips so far. One with mesquite chips on charcoal the other two with hickory chips on charcoal. All three receive rave reviews, moist inside, nice service texture outside and great flavor!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PRK1941
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
6/24/2015

Customer review by Romans81

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Romans81
by Romans81

This is my first smoker and I found it to work really well, I did pretty good on my first try at some ribs. The smoker maintained a steady 225-250 temperature for 3 hours before I added more charcoal. The included temperature gauge seemed accurate enough (using boiling water test to check for 212 fahrenheit. If you really must have temp readings accurate to within one degree, you will need to replace it or by a digital thermometer. However to me as long as I'm within 220-250 I'm happy. You'll want to seal this smoker as soon as you buy it, as it can be leaky, and you want a nice tightly sealed smoker in order to maintain target temperatures. When you buy this, go ahead and get some Permatex 81160 High-Temp Red RTV Silicone Gasket (available via major online retailers for $5), and when you are assembling put a nice thick bead between the coal box and the smoke chamber. Then when you attach the coal box you get a nice tight seal with no leakage between the coal box and smoke chamber. Also, there is some leakage around the doors. You can make a seal with the silicone by putting a bead of the high-temp silocone around the door and then shutting the door with some cellophane while it cures. Or you can order a 1/8" thick Nomex gasket available at online retailer (this option is more expensive). Put a water pan (disposable aluminum cake pan) on the bottom grate to help distribute the heat while cooking. After making these adjustments you will be very happy with your purchase. I look forward to many happy hours of smoking with this smoker.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romans81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wouldn't recommend this purchase
6/4/2013

Customer review by MeatSmokerREH

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by MeatSmokerREH
by MeatSmokerREH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found that the metal is too thin and it doesn't contol heat very well. The smoker box is directly adjacent to the heat box so the meat in closest proximity to the heat cooks 3x faster than the top racks. The only way to keep the meat from burning or drying out is to rotate frequently. The frequent opening of the cook box depletes the heat and further increases your smoke time. I've used a horizontal smoker with an offset fire box for years so I thought this was an upgrade instead it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, now that it's used it can't be returned.

Was this review helpful? (76) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeatSmokerREH
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this Smoker
8/7/2015

Customer review by Handyguy62

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Handyguy62
by Handyguy62

After researching many smokers I chose this one and so glad I did. We love smoked Salmon and it was the first thing I did. I had to call customer service a couple of times the first time used the smoker and they were a great help. Not only did they answer my question about using the smoker but they helped me with how to smoke the salmon. One thing I did have to call about was how hot the smoker got by putting 75 pieces of charcoal in it to do the first firing. I would recommend using about half that amount. I have used the smoker every weekend since purchasing it and love the ease of use. I have found that lump charcoal works much better then regular brickets. That was also a recommendation from the customer service rep I talked too. For the money I am very happy with my choice of this unit and like most people I love a company that has a customer service department that knows their products and are willing to help when you call them.

Handyguy62
Xenia, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Smoker Ever...
9/12/2015

Customer review by MasterSmoker1A

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by MasterSmoker1A
by MasterSmoker1A

I used to use a barrel-type smoker from another maker for years, until my wife bought me this Dyna-Glo vertical smoker. Having already been experienced in the workings of smoking, I was anxious to see what this one would do. My first smoke, after seasoning per the instructions, was an Angus tri-tip with a Santa Maria marinade, using a mix of apple and cherry wood chips soaked in about 1/2 cup of Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, and estimated the smoking time at about three hours. The smoker performed beyond my wildest expectations, and I ended up with a beautiful 1/4" smoke ring, and a flavor unlike anything I had done in the past. They say it is not the tools, but the master, but I have to disagree. This smoker made all the difference. I have since smoked many various meats, sometimes using all six shelves, with excellent results. Am I happy with my Dyna-Glo vertical smoker? Ask my friends and family. They will tell you...

MasterSmoker1A
Chino, California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews