Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 90 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
looks good works bad
5/30/2013

Customer review by PPBee

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by PPBee
by PPBee

My first try using this smoker was very disappointing. The firebox leaks on top where it meets the smoker area. Paint burnt off on first use and is now rusting. Charcoal area cannot handle more than 1 chimney of coal and the wood / coal tray does not allow proper air circulation. I had a really hard time keeping it at 225 degrees due to the poor air flow on the unit. I called Dyna-Glo and asked what they would recommend, their representative told me to return it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (67) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PPBee
Wall, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The quick and dirty on defects
12/29/2015

Customer review by Big Wood

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Big Wood
by Big Wood

The thermometer did not work. Had to salvage one from an older smoker that was on hand. Firebox air vent sticks to the side of the firebox when hot and does not operate without being unstuck with a flat head screw driver. Be careful not to bend the vent tabs as they become flexible when hot. This is not a true wood-only smoker. Charcoal with wood chunks for smoke must be used. Soak the wood first. If you don't the wood will burn quickly and flames will enter the food chamber. Turned some link sausage into jerky before I caught on to that! The firebox only accommodates wood pieces up to 8-10" max in length. The food door latch component leaks smoke. No big deal but may be an issue with the purists. Thinking of getting a patio stone or unglazed clay tile(s) to lay on a grate just above the smoke vent into the foodbox to keep the flames from searing the meat should I decide to play with more wood than charcoal. Good for cold smoking. Did 5lbs of cheese in a couple of hours with outside temps in the 60's and the interior temp never pegged above 80. (handful of charcoal and a few wood chunks at a time). As said before, it's not a true wood-only smoker but will do the trick and is much easier to use than a Webber type vertical smoker.

Big Wood
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Go smoking!
1/4/2016

Customer review by DEEJAY

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by DEEJAY
by DEEJAY

I received this smoker as a gift. I found it a good smoker for the money spent. I only had three things that I found needed some attention. 1- It needs to have a set of wheels on one end for moving it around. 2- I had to using high temp form in place gasket between smoke box and charcoal chamber - leaked badly. 3- Doors are a bit flimsy. They bend a little too easy and leak badly where door meets cabinet - had to install Nomex striping to stop the leaks. Once I had performed those alterations...the smoker work very well. Delicious turkey, pork shoulder, trout, and ribs. My suggestion is to buy this smoker, make the alterations upon assembly, and enjoy the smoker!

DEEJAY
Salem, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Smoker Ever...
9/12/2015

Customer review by MasterSmoker1A

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by MasterSmoker1A
by MasterSmoker1A

I used to use a barrel-type smoker from another maker for years, until my wife bought me this Dyna-Glo vertical smoker. Having already been experienced in the workings of smoking, I was anxious to see what this one would do. My first smoke, after seasoning per the instructions, was an Angus tri-tip with a Santa Maria marinade, using a mix of apple and cherry wood chips soaked in about 1/2 cup of Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, and estimated the smoking time at about three hours. The smoker performed beyond my wildest expectations, and I ended up with a beautiful 1/4" smoke ring, and a flavor unlike anything I had done in the past. They say it is not the tools, but the master, but I have to disagree. This smoker made all the difference. I have since smoked many various meats, sometimes using all six shelves, with excellent results. Am I happy with my Dyna-Glo vertical smoker? Ask my friends and family. They will tell you...

MasterSmoker1A
Chino, California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Smoker
8/7/2015

Customer review by Handyguy62

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Handyguy62
by Handyguy62

After researching many smokers I chose this one and so glad I did. We love smoked Salmon and it was the first thing I did. I had to call customer service a couple of times the first time used the smoker and they were a great help. Not only did they answer my question about using the smoker but they helped me with how to smoke the salmon. One thing I did have to call about was how hot the smoker got by putting 75 pieces of charcoal in it to do the first firing. I would recommend using about half that amount. I have used the smoker every weekend since purchasing it and love the ease of use. I have found that lump charcoal works much better then regular brickets. That was also a recommendation from the customer service rep I talked too. For the money I am very happy with my choice of this unit and like most people I love a company that has a customer service department that knows their products and are willing to help when you call them.

Handyguy62
Xenia, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smoker
6/24/2015

Customer review by Romans81

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by Romans81
by Romans81

This is my first smoker and I found it to work really well, I did pretty good on my first try at some ribs. The smoker maintained a steady 225-250 temperature for 3 hours before I added more charcoal. The included temperature gauge seemed accurate enough (using boiling water test to check for 212 fahrenheit. If you really must have temp readings accurate to within one degree, you will need to replace it or by a digital thermometer. However to me as long as I'm within 220-250 I'm happy. You'll want to seal this smoker as soon as you buy it, as it can be leaky, and you want a nice tightly sealed smoker in order to maintain target temperatures. When you buy this, go ahead and get some Permatex 81160 High-Temp Red RTV Silicone Gasket (available via major online retailers for $5), and when you are assembling put a nice thick bead between the coal box and the smoke chamber. Then when you attach the coal box you get a nice tight seal with no leakage between the coal box and smoke chamber. Also, there is some leakage around the doors. You can make a seal with the silicone by putting a bead of the high-temp silocone around the door and then shutting the door with some cellophane while it cures. Or you can order a 1/8" thick Nomex gasket available at online retailer (this option is more expensive). Put a water pan (disposable aluminum cake pan) on the bottom grate to help distribute the heat while cooking. After making these adjustments you will be very happy with your purchase. I look forward to many happy hours of smoking with this smoker.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romans81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wouldn't recommend this purchase
6/4/2013

Customer review by MeatSmokerREH

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by MeatSmokerREH
by MeatSmokerREH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found that the metal is too thin and it doesn't contol heat very well. The smoker box is directly adjacent to the heat box so the meat in closest proximity to the heat cooks 3x faster than the top racks. The only way to keep the meat from burning or drying out is to rotate frequently. The frequent opening of the cook box depletes the heat and further increases your smoke time. I've used a horizontal smoker with an offset fire box for years so I thought this was an upgrade instead it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, now that it's used it can't be returned.

Was this review helpful? (71) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeatSmokerREH
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grill preformed just I wished and as I expected!
7/13/2014

Customer review by PRK1941

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by PRK1941
by PRK1941
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have smoked a three five pound pork loin tips so far. One with mesquite chips on charcoal the other two with hickory chips on charcoal. All three receive rave reviews, moist inside, nice service texture outside and great flavor!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PRK1941
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Smoker
11/28/2015

Customer review by Ron322007

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by Ron322007
by Ron322007

Just got my smoker and put to work right away! Easy the use. Hold heater and creates great flavorful meat.

Ron322007
Melbourne, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The BEST Smoker EVER!!!!!!!!
11/20/2015

Customer review by JohnC

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by JohnC
by JohnC

I bought this a few weeks ago! It is getting a heavy duty workout! I have parties all the time! I smoke everything! The food taste so much better then the electric ones I have had in the past!! This is a MUST BUY to anyone's home! Mouth watering ribs, and jerky! I can go on and on!

JohnC
Connecticut, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great smoker for the price
11/11/2015

Customer review by Andrew1

4.0 stars 11/11/2015 by Andrew1
by Andrew1

Bought this smoker and researching it for months. Finally decided to buy it and with a few modifications it was ready to go. A high temperature silicon is necessary to fill gaps in welding and the junction with the fire box. After seasoning and sealing, I smoked 5 lbs of deer sausage and a 6 lb Boston butt that all came out perfect. Better sealing and some accessories like sausage hooks with make this smoker perfect.

Andrew1
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good smoker
10/3/2014

Customer review by tazz4434

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by tazz4434
by tazz4434
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good smoker for the money not heavy guage steel ,but for occasional use its great!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tazz4434
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely outstanding
11/18/2015

Customer review by Pete Parks

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by Pete Parks
by Pete Parks

Just purchased this smoker and it is by far the easiest to put together. Looking forward to doing some bbq shortly!!!

Pete Parks
Round Rock, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this Smoker!
10/26/2015

Customer review by PEP22

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by PEP22
by PEP22

I bought the smoker a couple of months ago and I could not be happier. It arrived in perfect condition and it was a breeze to put together. I seasoned it right away and was cooking with coals that afternoon. So far, I have cooked ribs - baby back and spare ribs, pork shoulder, pork steaks, brisket (the best I have ever made) and cut up chicken (maybe I will get to the whole chicken this weekend!) I also made a cobbler and it came out perfect. This smoker is the best money I have spent in a long time.

PEP22
St. Louis, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the $
12/8/2015

Customer review by Highball

4.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Highball
by Highball

Good product need to get seals for the doors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Highball
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Parts broken
12/7/2015

Customer review by truff

2.0 stars 12/7/2015 by truff
by truff

The thermometer was broken when I open the box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/10/2015

Hello,<br /><br />We are sorry this happened. If you call our customer service line we will be happy to assist you with this. Please call 877-447-4768 Monday through Friday 8:30am-4:30pm CST.-Customer Service Team

truff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect Budget Smoker
10/24/2015

Customer review by Corsix

4.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Corsix
by Corsix

This smoker is great for the money. I would suggest getting some sealant for the door(nomex) and rtv high temp sealant. I only wish it had a port for thermometer probe wire since I am currently running it through the door. I have mainly cooked multiple pork shoulders (bone in and boneless) at a time which it does well.

Corsix
Midlothian, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome Smoker
5/19/2014

Customer review by SmokingFool526

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SmokingFool526
by SmokingFool526

My first day getting this was awesome. I was recommend this to anyone that loves smoking meats.. Just make sure you preseason it before using it

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokingFool526
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Product...Shipping debacle.
8/24/2015

Customer review by knoll911

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by knoll911
by knoll911

This is a decent product for the price you are paying. Assembly is quick and easy, but as you are assembling you can tell the material is somewhat cheap. It is imperative that you season this smoker. Besides, it will be a good time to practice controlling the temps; and practice is indeed required. As others have mentioned, I have found that both doors leak and where the two pieces connect has a rather large gap near the rear of the smoker. These unauthorized openings make it a challenge to hit your temps, but it can be done. After a couple of uses, I have found the thermometer on the unit to be accurate. This is based off of comparison with a calibrated thermometer that I tested with. They were within a few degrees. The racks themselves are decent size and depth. You will need to cut a rack of ribs in half, as they will not fit, but anything else you smoke will not have a problem; unless you are doing a whole brisket. Overall, the unit is good, and you will be able to get great food from using it. I am able to control my temps without the mods on the internet, but I can see how it would be easier if you make the modifications.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knoll911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoker
11/22/2015

Customer review by Tyster

4.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Tyster
by Tyster

The fire box is small and you need to constantly add wood or charcoal to it - at lease every 30-45 minutes, we have only done a 5 lb road in it and still had to finish it off in the oven.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tyster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews