Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 66 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Lives up to the hype!!!
7/24/2013

Customer review by BLAQORCHID

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by BLAQORCHID
by BLAQORCHID

My husband and I have been looking for the perfect bed for our 3yr old boy, we wanted something that will last for a long time. And stumbled on the Step2 Boy's Loft & storage twin Bed, after reading all the reviews, we went for it {walmart also has the best price}had it shipped to the store it got there fast. easy to put together, very sturdy, and most of all our boy loves it, he even helped me put it together he hammered the black pegs. ;) I can see him sleeping in this bed for a very long time, maybe till he is about early teens. if you look at it that way you can get past the cost, no matter how you slice it it's worth it. we read to our boy often, my husband or I lay in bed with him, the bed can take it. He falls asleep, we make our exit. love, love ,love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLAQORCHID
Hackensack,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New colors are great blue for boys pink for girls
8/13/2014

Customer review by 15063

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by 15063
by 15063

This might take awhile Grandchildren are 5 and 2 we have had different types of beds for the 5 year old after the crib we went to twin size beds Race car( bulky hard to change sheets big gap between mattress and sides) Bunk bed (top bed to low for adult to change sheets and they are to high for a young child) Single bed (to low to floor wasted space and bed rails are needed for the sides) I purchased from a friend the older style step 2 bed that has the doors and it turned out to be the best bed of all Now that it is time for another change going from crib to twin size bed Walmart has a great price I got one for grandaughter and grandson The new colors are great but they do not come with doors or totes and after getting them they look fine without them Nice play /storage area under the bed They are not that high and no side rails needed I give this bed 5 STARS even though I had a 38 inch X 74 inch board cut from a 4x8 sheet to put under the mattress and bought 2 pks of 2ct 7/8 inch nyln hole plugs to put in the holes where the door pins went in the older model (Put the plugs in before putting the sides on ) each pk of plugs were 1.39 x 2 The board I bought was 1/2 top choice blondwoo 30.84 free cutting of board This bed can withstand the abuse any child can give it and looks good GOOD LUCK hope this was some help

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
15063
Monongahela15063
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This Bed Changed Our Lives!
10/3/2014

Customer review by Tressabelle111

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by Tressabelle111
by Tressabelle111

I bought this for my 3 yo who wanted to sleep with me every night. The bed is so cool to him that my room is not longer appealing! This bed is larger and higher up than I thought but my child loves it. You should get at least a 10 inch mattress to avoid having to go get plywood cut for support, as there are only 4 slats provided. We bought a 10 inch dream pillow top form Walmart as well to go with it and it's perfect! No, it does not come with the storage bins... But my son enjoys camping out under the bed so it's not a huge deal. The box it comes in is humongous. It will not fit in a car...and prob not in most standard sized SUVs. But this is easy to put together.. 20 min start to finish. Love Love Love this bed!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tressabelle111
Waldorf, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bed!
11/13/2013

Customer review by Dewinr

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Dewinr
by Dewinr

Does NOT come with the bins as shown in the picture - need to be purchased separately. In addition to buying a mattress a board is also need to set the mattress. Turns out to be not such a great value but my grandson LOVES it for his first big boy bed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dewinr
Orlando,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is perfect for a toddler!
1/27/2014

Customer review by momspfld2

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by momspfld2
by momspfld2

This style of bed is perfect for a toddler transitioning from a crib. The high sides keep them from rolling out of bed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momspfld2
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE this bed!
8/30/2014

Customer review by anonymous664

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by anonymous664
by anonymous664

My son just turned two and recently started climbing out of his crib. I was looking for a safe bed that would be durable enough to hold up for years. I had already tried toddler beds with my daughter and they hadn't lasted very long. This bed is perfect! It has a ladder but he has no problems climbing in and out of it. He can not roll out of the bed thanks to the safety sides. You can turn the bed to either side. My husband put it together pretty quickly. There is plenty of room for storage bins underneath. It does not come with the blue bins you see in the picture but we found some nice ones that fit under it perfectly. Behind the blue bins we found, we have 4 very large storage totes full of his toys. He also has no problem pulling the bins out to get to the toy he wants lol. I am very happy with the bed and I'm sure it will hold up for a long time just like all of our other Step2 products. You will need to purchase a bunkie board.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anonymous664
Florence KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nephew loves the bed!!!
8/19/2014

Customer review by Mable

4.0 stars 8/19/2014 by Mable
by Mable

It is easy to put together and my nephew is in love with his big boy bed. I bought a 7 inch mattress to go with it. I recommend 10 inches or larger. If you buy a smaller thickness you will need to put a piece or plywood across the bottom where the mattress lays. The slats are not close enough together and it creates dips in the bed. There is also not a slat right where he gets into the bed so not a lot of sturdiness there. But like i said you throw in a piece of plywood or MDF and it is an amzing bed for a three year old.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mable
Boone, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but missing doors and board..
8/30/2013

Customer review by oppbiz

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by oppbiz
by oppbiz

Nice product but needs to be disclosed that there is no board to keep up the mattress and the doors underneath they dont make anymore. Looks cruddy and I would not recommend buying it...

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oppbiz
WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bed
7/16/2013

Customer review by customerX123

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by customerX123
by customerX123

While only having the product for a week, our son really loves and enjoys his new bed. The assembly was simple and our 2 year old son even helpled out with his plastic hammer. Great bed for him to grow into.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customerX123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great BIG boy bed
2/3/2015

Customer review by Momofzeker

5.0 stars 2/3/2015 by Momofzeker
by Momofzeker

First I'd like to say the box is huge, my son used It as a play house. Lol Second, extremely easy to put together, can be put together by 1pereson. I used a drill made it that much easier. Comes in about 12 parts. The ONE thing YOU NEED to know it that you need a piece of ply wood, bunkie bed or slats. IT DOES NOT COME WITH A PLATFORM BASE! I made my own with 3/4 inch ply wood, upholstery fabric, left over batting i already had and an 8$ staple gun. We bought a 6" mattress and it fit perfectly leaving about an inch (hieght wise) of the latter so he doesn't fall out. If you want is flush to the ladder the. You will prob need a 7" or 8" depending on the base you use. It is a little "wobbley" but I slept in it with him half the night because he was scared. I'm 5' 8" and 200lbs and it held us perfectly. Also it's easy to move around the room for rearranging. I can't think of anything else....anyways buy the bed. We love it. We also got the matching toy box which was super stupid easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momofzeker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bed
10/11/2014

Customer review by LynnLan

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by LynnLan
by LynnLan

We got this for my 6 year old son. It was super easy to put together and it is very sturdy. As many of the other reviews suggested we dis end up purchasing plywood from Lowes to place under the mattress. The ends of the mattress will push through the space between the slats. $15 fix so it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LynnLan
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My son loves this bed!
8/15/2013

Customer review by MJV420

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by MJV420
by MJV420

My son is 2.5 years old and is very rambunctious! He loves his bed and I am very happy with it. I would recommend this to all of my friends with boys this age.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJV420
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!!!
12/29/2014

Customer review by csomama

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by csomama
by csomama

I ordered this for my 4 year old son and he just can't get enough of it. He loves that he can climb up to his own bed and that he has a place under it to hide "his fort". It was really easy to put together. I would recommend if you do site to store pick up that you have a pick up or van with the seats removed as the box that it is shipped in is very large. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
csomama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bed for active boys!
6/16/2014

Customer review by CrazyBusyAZMom

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by CrazyBusyAZMom
by CrazyBusyAZMom

This bed was relatively easy to set up and sturdy enough to handle active boys. One note - I would recommend a good thick mattress that will not fall through the four slats (due to jumping on bed ; ) provided otherwise you'll have to cut a piece of wood to fit on top of the slats under the whole mattress.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyBusyAZMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just What We Expected
2/27/2015

Customer review by 1boyplustwinboys

5.0 stars 2/27/2015 by 1boyplustwinboys
by 1boyplustwinboys

We ordered this bed after fully researching it, so we KNEW we wouldn't be getting the doors at the bottom of the bed, or the totes, and we knew we would need an additional sheet of wood to support the mattress. We planned accordingly and couldn't be happier! I was able to put the whole bed together by myself while my husband went for the wood. It feels sturdy and our son loves it. He's so excited to go to bed every night because he gets to climb a ladder. The shipping did take longer than expected (we did site to store) but it was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1boyplustwinboys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Surprises
1/22/2015

Customer review by K2R6

4.0 stars 1/22/2015 by K2R6
by K2R6

Received item in excellent condition - one day later than estimated. No problem putting together even though instructions were in Spanish with only pictures to guide English speaking person. Even so, bed went up in less than 1/2 hour. Bought a board at Lowes and had them cut to the size recommended on Step 2 website. Fit perfectly. Overall, very satisfied with bed. For those complaining about cheapness, lack of doors, lack of storage bins....read the description before you buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K2R6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Christmas gift
12/26/2014

Customer review by kenzmom

4.0 stars 12/26/2014 by kenzmom
by kenzmom

Love the bed just wish it came with the bins so they would all match!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kenzmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Step 2 boys twin size loft storage bed
5/28/2015

Customer review by Thelopezfamily

4.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Thelopezfamily
by Thelopezfamily

Purchased this bed for our special needs toddler. He absolutely loves the big boy bed and especially the underbed "secret hideout!" I love the bed due to its sturdiness and seems to be built very strong. Also was super easy to put together!! NOTE: you will need to purchase a bunkie board to put as the base for under your mattress. I also love that it's raised on all sides of the bed so your toddler will definitely not roll out of bed during night. I am overall very pleased with this bed and can see it will last for many years!! The only thing I didnt like is the fact it no longer comes with the doors and I didn't like the look of putting a storage totes so we left empty BUT my toddler loves the underneath open space for play so all worked out well!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thelopezfamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad product
5/11/2015

Customer review by Mommy2009

1.0 stars 5/11/2015 by Mommy2009
by Mommy2009

It looks incomplete. It has very obvious hinges where doors belong. It took so long to put together, I didn't want to have to take it apart, but it's unfinished.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommy2009
Would recommend to a friend? No
great bed!!
4/8/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bed was super easy to put together. All you need is a screwdriver and maybe a little elbow grease to click the pieces together. Its a 150lb max which makes sense because theres 2 plastic bars and 2 wooden bars holding the mattress. Bit if its for a kid, its perfect. Youll like this bed

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews