Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 192 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 188 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
IT'S A REAL WINNER!
2/23/2014

Customer review by pearlsport03

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by pearlsport03
by pearlsport03

Not long ago, we decided to get rid of our Microwave. Experts and studies have clearly shown they are a serious health hazard and are even banned in some countries. Still, needed something to use other than fire up the energy hog oven. So next best thing was a convection toaster oven. I tried two other brands before ultimately buying this Hamilton Beach; a Black and Decker and an upscale Oster Digital, both of which went back. Actually, this Hamilton Beach was my first choice, but wanted to get something that was already in-store. The Black and Decker was really flimsy and the door didn't close evenly. Also, the temps were way off. The Oster, which was a little bigger and all digital was a nice unit, accurate temps, but the convection fan was way too noisy. So, decided to just buy and have this Hamilton Beach shipped to me. Glad I did! The fit and finish is excellent for an inexpensive unit and the door closes square and true. The Candy Red color adds a little pizzaz to the counter top too, and the convection fan is very quiet. Although the numbers/letters are a little harder to see than most, it's still passable and not a deal breaker. Don't care about it only having a 30 minute timer as I use the digital timer on the stove anyway. Just turned the timer dial to the left for "Stay On". If you use the timer, it does have an off/done bell that dings. Not too loud, but loud enough so you can hear it. When I purchased this unit it appears in the Walmart photo as not having an on/off light so wasn't expecting it would have one. Was pleasantly surprised when it arrived to see it actually does have one #see photo#. I have added a couple of photos to show how accurate the temp setting is at 350°F using an oven thermometer. Spot On! I would suggest when setting the temp, to turn the dial past your desired temp and coming back to your desired temp So far I've used it to bake a small pizza, some chicken hind quarters, some baked potatoes, small pork roast and reheating. Perfect! And, the roasting pan, racks, crumb tray, and interior clean up very easily with just dish soap and dish cloth. Didn't make toast as I have a separate toaster for that. The cord is 2 prong, and as with most convection toaster ovens, is short; about 24" long. You may want to get short, heavy-guage extension cord #emphasis on HEAVY-GUAGE# if you need more length which is what I did. This Hamilton Beach is 1300W which is quite adequate. Also, as with most counter-top convection toaster ovens, they do get hot on the exterior. Haven't seen one that doesn't unless maybe the high priced ones. The rounded back is different, but not a problem. I suspect it's that way to accommodate small pizzas. Lastly, it arrived at my door in 3 days, in perfect, undamaged condition. I have reviewed based upon how well it achieves results based upon what it states it is, not what it is not. It's a real winner of a budget convection toaster oven and delivers on every aspect as described and promised. Just hope it lasts beyond warranty.

Was this review helpful? (186) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pearlsport03
Eastern Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not Just a Pretty Face, Works Fantastic!!!
8/4/2013

Customer review by cupiedog

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by cupiedog
by cupiedog

So pleased with this toaster oven that I wish I had it for years!! I absolutely love the convection setting which I'm using for the first time, as well using as the bake & broiler settings. Never burns and cooks all foods so nice and evenly in great time. Outperforms my Delonghi that I also liked a lot but not as much as this little beauty. I don't use the toaster setting since I purchased their matching Hamilton Beach candy apple red toaster at the same time. That works great too!!This color is exclusive to Walmart and the price comparison turned out cheaper than other retailers to my extreme pleasure. I must say I use my toaster oven nearly every day and I know a terrific one when I use one!!!! Do not hesitate to make this purchase and brighten up the kitchen to boot!!!

Was this review helpful? (118) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cupiedog
Belmar,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!!
1/7/2014

Customer review by cubarican

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by cubarican
by cubarican

I am a mother of five and love this item for its efficiency. I am able to toast 6 slices of bread at once. Toast complete sandwiches, cheese melt from the inside and bread toast perfectly on the outside. Best part I did not have to babysit it like the stove. Using it to warm up left over pizza is quick and comes out perfect, this I did babysit since I was not sure how long it would take but it was nice to have the crust still be soft and the cheese warm enough for the kids. I have had this item for a week or so and I have used it everyday for different foods (pizza, taquitos, ham and cheese sandwiches, bagel with butter and yes to toast bread).

Was this review helpful? (88) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cubarican
Newton,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect except for 2 things
8/9/2013

Customer review by kikithefoodie

4.0 stars 8/9/2013 by kikithefoodie
by kikithefoodie

Works great, accommodates a pizza (not extra-large!) but a couple things trouble me, and I should have considered these two factors when purchasing; easier said than done but then again, you get what you pay for. It works GREAT on the cooking aspect of things. I'm basically happy with it. 1) It gets hot on the outside so it is important to keep other objects and the cord away from it because it's not well insulated. 2) The back of the oven protrudes by an extra 4" so takes up more counter space than I had anticipated. Total depth from rear of counter to front of oven door is 13 1/2".

Was this review helpful? (85) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kikithefoodie
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Awesome on my Counter!
8/14/2013

Customer review by ileK

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by ileK
by ileK

I purchased this mostly due to the color and size it came in. Totally love the RED- has a sleek modern look on counter. I have it in a corner, which is perfect since the back protudes outward ( to hold a full size pizza). Have used it for about 3 weeks. Very good so far. Convection feature will take some getting used to, but i think you mostly have to try different times/ temps until you get it right. I cook mostly for two, and it holds a small caserole dish perfectly. Only complaint is that i wish it had a 60 minute timer. I knew it didnt when i purchased it, but i miss my 60 minute timer! this one comes with a 30 min. timer.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ileK
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Height is NOT 10 inches
10/2/2013

Customer review by WILKBAMA

4.0 stars 10/2/2013 by WILKBAMA
by WILKBAMA

my oven height measured 9 inches exactly. The othe dimensions were correct. The biggest complaint(that others have had) is the lack of visibility of the dials. I, too, had to get a flashlight in order to see the writings on the dials. The wordings need to be in bright white(not gray) in order to be seen. This is a major design flaw that needs to be corrected.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WILKBAMA
anniston, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Attractive Pleasant Red and Stainless Steel.
8/31/2013

Customer review by Pepperonica

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Pepperonica
by Pepperonica

This Candy Apple Red Toaster/Broiler Oven seemed to be perfect. It is small, but spacious inside for a large pizza and it looks very classy on my limited counter space. HOWEVER, there is so much writing around he three knobs giving instructions that you can hardly see or understand the writing. The reason is the Hamilton Beach company printed the instructions directly on the oven around the knobs in English and in SPANISH! So that is a lot of lettering and in my opinion unnecessary! The entire area around the knobs looks so confusing that it does confuse you! I had to get a flashlight out to read the white tiny letters and a magnifying glass to read the English instructions around the Spanish lettering. I tried to toast one piece of bread but it burnt because I was unable to read the instructions around the timer knobthat you have to pass from the @10 and then return back to the beginning for the toaster feature to begin. I later noticed I had turned it to dark but couldn't see that direction nor read it on the knob already cluttered with English and Spanish instructions! Also, on the glass door of the oven there is more writing. This time it is a lage black lettering at the bottom of the glass door warning you to unplug the oven if it has caught fire! If you have excellent eyesight and do not mind all that lettering on the oven, even the unpleasant, obvious, warning, it is a nice looking addition to your kitchen. I decided to return the oven, so I did not check to see if the black warning lettering on the glass could wash off. The lettering on the knobs is engraved and cannot be removed.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepperonica
Honolulu, Hi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks nice and easy to use.
7/4/2013

Customer review by nwricker

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by nwricker
by nwricker

Easy to use, great functionality, very roomy inside, easy to clean, versatile. Great for small items you wouldn't want to heat a huge oven for, like just a couple of baked potatoes. Love the convection oven. Couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nwricker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it!
1/22/2014

Customer review by Mnqj240

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Mnqj240
by Mnqj240

Not only is this toaster oven/broiler a pretty color, it does everything it's supposed to do fantastically! It toasts perfectly (when you figure out the perfect setting for you), broils, bakes, cooks and the convection oven is awesome! I baked some fish, which normally takes 30 minutes and it was done in 10! This oven is great!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mnqj240
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Toaster Oven !!!
2/14/2014

Customer review by Jeztering

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Jeztering
by Jeztering

It took a while before I first used this unit.. but it works very well. I agree with others that say it is hard to read the dials.. it is but don't let that hold you back... in daylight it is easy to read.. you just need adequate light at night to see the writing around the dials. I took some white appliance paint and put dots at the main points on timer dial and all is good now. People say the timer is loud.. a little louder than my last unit.. but still not a deal breaker. Temps are really accurate... I would highly recommend this unit... works like a dream ... a good medium size too.. !

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeztering
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
There are better options.
3/22/2014

Customer review by MissLys

3.0 stars 3/22/2014 by MissLys
by MissLys

I bought this toaster oven purely based on the color and the price. It does a fair job, but I might have to scrap it and get a different one. Nothing I toast or bake cooks evenly. The rack only has two height positions and it's either too high or too low so my toast is burned on one side and white on the other. The other thing that bothers me (maybe not a huge deal for others) is the extremely short plug in cord. I have an older kitchen so I don't have nearly as many outlets that is probably standard these days so I can't plug this thing in where I would like to keep it. The cord is seriously about 12 inches long.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissLys
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We love it!
7/23/2014

Customer review by Reviewer102957

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Reviewer102957
by Reviewer102957

I bought this to replace our Black and Decker toaster oven purchased 5 years ago that had slowed down considerably. We really wanted a slightly larger toaster oven as well as one in red. This oven works marvelously. Toasts quickly and evenly. The color is beautiful. The baking/convection oven works great. I highly recommend it. It's also a plus that the crumb tray sits inside the toaster oven, lifts out easily, and keeps the interior cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer102957
Amelia, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bi lingual
12/7/2013

Customer review by JeffersonOhio

2.0 stars 12/7/2013 by JeffersonOhio
by JeffersonOhio

The bi lingual print on the front menu is simply ridiculous. I thought hard about returning this product. It's extremely difficult to read. I have this product on a typical kitchen counter. I have to lift it up so I can get as much light on it as possible to read the operating menu. Then, you have to deal with the two languages. The timer on it is really crummy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffersonOhio
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really Handy Addition To My Kitchen
2/2/2014

Customer review by jennyannydots

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by jennyannydots
by jennyannydots

Never bought a microwave because they always seemed suspect as far as electromagnetic emissions and thought a toaster oven was frivolous! But this is just terrific. I have used it almost daily for grilled sandwiches and it works perfectly. The dials are easy to manipulate and the timing seems accurate. Haven't used the convection oven yet. The size is perfect especially with the extended backside so lots of smaller baking dishes can be accommodated if the grill/tray that come with it aren't suitable. I especially love the candy apple red which brightens the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennyannydots
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I absolutely love my new toaster oven.
8/25/2013

Customer review by 2tohugforus

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by 2tohugforus
by 2tohugforus

I searched on the web for over a week before selecting this toaster oven. I've been sprucing up my kitchen with some red appliances and finally selected this one. The color is a dynamite red that sparkled, not that flat red you see so often. And it was very reasonable priced. If I had to choose one thing to change, it would be the temperatures and such that are written onto the appliance. They are so very small, I could barely read them but, as I've used the appliance several times, I know what I want so actually am not reading the options that often.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2tohugforus
Richmond va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the versatility of the product
11/22/2013

Customer review by Priceless50

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Priceless50
by Priceless50

I like that the rack does not tilt or fall out. The candy apple red is gorgeous. I don't like the big back, but it keeps my counter top wall from getting scorched. The crumb tray is a plus; this is the first time I had an oven with a crumb tray.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Priceless50
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great toaster oven
8/2/2014

Customer review by marder

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by marder
by marder

After price shopping Walmart by far had the best price. this is a great toaster oven, very pretty, works great, the only thing is the cord is very short, you have to put this oven right in front of the plug. It works great, I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by SheWhoMustBeObeyed

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by SheWhoMustBeObeyed
by SheWhoMustBeObeyed

I bought this toaster oven to replace one that "died." The curved shape in the back makes it possible for me to use a 10" quiche dish easily to bake any number of things, not to mention a 12" pizza. I no longer use a microwave, due to its adverse affects on health. This toaster oven is the perfect size for me to do most of my baking without having to heat up the large oven. I have not yet tried its convection option, although that was a nice addition to the choices. The timer only goes to 30 minutes, but can be disabled if you want to cook something longer than that.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SheWhoMustBeObeyed
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work as reviews stated
3/6/2014

Customer review by PrarieGirl

2.0 stars 3/6/2014 by PrarieGirl
by PrarieGirl

I loved the red color and ordered due to the high stars it received on the reviews. Unfortunately, it did not work well at all. I tried cooking on the convection setting. I followed the pre-heating directions and put my food in to cook. I set the timer for the amount of time as if I was not using the convection setting just to make sure the food was cooked. When I took the food out it was barely cooked. I turned it on again. It took double the time to cook the recipe not less. The next time I tried baking potatoes and preheated the oven longer than the setting in the instructions. The potatoes were not done in an hour even on the convection setting. I finished cooking them in the microwave. Maybe I got a lemon and will return the oven to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrarieGirl
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very attractive but HOT
9/1/2014

Customer review by puhleeez

3.0 stars 9/1/2014 by puhleeez
by puhleeez

This is a nice looking little oven, and , though we have not cooked anything in it yet it appears to function correctly. i would have gladly paid a little more for some insulation on the sides; though it is no surprise that the unit gets dangerously hot as all these ovens seem to do that. We knew that going it, but now I worry because it will be in an area of our home which we often turn over to guests who may be unfamiliar with this hazard. It is small enough to pack away at such times, which is what I will probably opt to do. i did say I would recommend this to a friend, but only a very careful friend who was well aware of the safety issues of these little ovens. That said, if you are going to buy a toaster oven, this is a very good value and better looking than most.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
puhleeez
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews