Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 273 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

273 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

273 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
127
4 stars
55
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
68
1-20 of 265 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
very dissapointed
12/14/2013

Customer review by sepsis

1.0 stars 12/14/2013 by sepsis
by sepsis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was going to give this to my 13 year old for Christmas , but they way I received it was very disappointing ,it came in a plain brown box and some sort of shrink wrap to a piece of cardboard ,no instructions nothing just a plug and a tablet ,so not to be embarrassed when he opens it , I am returning it ,I understand it was refurbished but It still was not cheep, I would not recommended this if you know nothing about tablets because when you open it you will still know nothing ,they could have put it in a tablet box and threw in instructions so the tablet and the warranty are going back , I could have got a different brand for less then I paid for a refurbished one ,but I wanted the Nexus , that will teach me to try to save a few dollars

Was this review helpful? (53) (160)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sepsis
lake ariel PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth The Gamble For The Refurb
1/18/2014

Customer review by ramach

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ramach
by ramach
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I noticed that the reviews of these tablets were either 5 star or 1 star, and I figured I'd take a chance to save a few bucks. I bought 2 of these refurb Nexus 7 tablets for $119 each. One showed up pristine, and the other near perfect with a small defect on the screen. Obviously the quality control on the refurbishing process isn't awesome. Now here is the important part: I didn't return it to the store and lose out on shipping or get burned by a price change. I called walmart.com customer service and had them handle it. The sent UPS to pick up the defective one, and a new one showed up right away. The 3rd tablet was in perfect condition. Everyone knows that Walmart is the easiest place for returns, so if you are going to gamble on a refurbished product - - Walmart is the place to do it. In my opinion I saved $60 on two tablets, but it did require a little work to return the bad one. Returning the defective one didn't cost me any money, just 20 mins on hold. I'm 100% satisfied with the way it turned out. ... 2 out of 3 ain't bad.

Was this review helpful? (74) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ramach
windber. pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
purchased two for Christmas presents for kids
12/19/2013

Customer review by DadinAnnapolis

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by DadinAnnapolis
by DadinAnnapolis

I purchased two of these refurbished tablets for Christmas. Placed the order on Sunday and they arrived on Tuesday. Packaging is plain, but they arrived well secured. They look like new tablets with NO imperfections on the units I received. I charged both units fully and then signed in and updated the system. There will be two updates (as of 12/19/13) that need to download and install. The first update takes the tablets to Android 4.3 and the second to Android 4.4.2 (Kit Kat). Each update takes 15 minutes to complete. The updates need to be approved by the user and it may take the tablet a few minutes to realize that an update is available....give it time. If you interrupt the update process by shutting the tablet off...you may cause harm. So let it do it's thing...it takes time. The tablets where completely charged up...and left on. 36 hours later both tablets are at 96% battery life. No complaints. I would not be surprised that some refurbished tablets have issues, but for the price these are an excellent value...especially for kids.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DadinAnnapolis
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
2/5/2014

Customer review by Spagball

4.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Spagball
by Spagball

I was careful to read all the reviews on this excellently priced tablet. I was nervous I might get a dud, but was relying on the solid return policy from Walmart. So after about two weeks of ownership I've yet to experience any of the problems I've read about. 1. Turned on fine 2. Charged fine 3. If I can remember correctly, I think it shipped with Ice Cream Sandwich, then ran an update to Jelly Bean. And then ran another update to the current Kit Kat (4.4.2). But whichever it was, it went through two OS updates flawlessly. 4. Runs quickly and was preloaded cleanly, as any Nexus branded product should. 5. Screen resolution is good. 6. Keeps a decent charge. I got this as a simple reader and browser. I've loaded a few additional productivity apps (evernote, cable company remote app, camera app, etc.), but nothing crazy. Haven't run any games, so can't speak to the speed in that respect. If you're looking for a super cheap tablet made by a known brand and willing to take the minimal risk of getting a dud, this is a no-brainer. I need to also mention this arrived a day earlier than the expected ship date, which was pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spagball
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but not perfect
1/14/2014

Customer review by cooeyb

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by cooeyb
by cooeyb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having a terrible experience with two less expensive tablets that we purchased as gifts for our kids, we decided to try the reconditioned Nexus to get better quality. We purchased two of these, and our kids were pleased. The Nexus feels great, is fast, and has great graphics, BUT after only a week, one of the tablets stopped charging and will now not power up. I will be returning it, and I will order another reconditioned Nexus. Hopefully, we wont have problems with the third one. I'm giving this an ok review because I know the Nexus is a good product even though we have one that's having issues.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooeyb
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tablet
12/7/2013

Customer review by Jen19772005

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Jen19772005
by Jen19772005
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of these for my kids for Christmas. Both tablets look brand new and were fully charged. I have left them off the charger for over 3 days ( with minimal use) and they still had 40 percent battery. I think my girls will love these and I will finally get my iPhone back!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jen19772005
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought three Nexus 7 and all looked brand new
11/22/2013

Customer review by MidTennUSA

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by MidTennUSA
by MidTennUSA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We could not tell these were refurbished. No scratches or dents and has great battery life. It comes with a 90 day warranty so we purchased the 2 year extended replacement warranty.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidTennUSA
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Tablet
1/20/2014

Customer review by Splatte

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Splatte
by Splatte

Looked brand new. No surface blemishes. It worked flawlessly with very fast speed. I see now why google nexus is viewed as one of the best android tablets on the market. It did show where I could update from 4.2 android already installed to 4.3. I opted not to download for now. 4.2 works fine for what I use it for. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Splatte
Memphis, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome product
12/10/2013

Customer review by InTheSunshine1202

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by InTheSunshine1202
by InTheSunshine1202
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I bought the Nexus, I was worried I wouldn't know how to use it. I picked up and within the hour I knew how to use it well enough. I am amazed by the screen quality and the camera quality. The battery life is about a six to eight hour battery depending upon what you are doing. I am in love with this tablet!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InTheSunshine1202
Pinellas Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/29/2013

Customer review by Coolmen

3.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Coolmen
by Coolmen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Brown box, Nexus 7, and a original usb cable and charger. No user guide or (1 yr) warranty card. 90 days warranty printed on the brown box label. $20 is not that much of a saving on the nicked refurbished. No MAC address available on brown box made initial setup impossible for router with tight security. Comes with 4.1 but easily upgraded to 4.2.2.

Was this review helpful? (55) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coolmen
LAX, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am happy with purchase of refurbished tablet
8/10/2014

Customer review by Arnarama

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Arnarama
by Arnarama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

PC magazine rated the Nexus 7" tablet as the best $200 7" tablet. But, only you can determine if it fits your needs. I use it for e-mails, streaming music, Netflix, and cable TV (using the correct app), and listening to downloaded music and viewing pictures. It does not have a slot for adding additional memory via an external sd card. Nor does it have an hdmi jack. It does have a headphone/audio out jack. The tablet arrived quickly and in like new condition, with the carger and usb cable. You will probably want to download the manual from the web site. I tried to integrate the tablet into my home wireless network using the push button configuration method (on the tablet and my wireless router), but for some reason (and I cannot blame the tablet) this did not work. However, by viewing the log on the embeded web page of the router, I was able to obtain the tablet mac address, and manually entered this into my router, and all was good. In short, I consider this tablet to be a good value and am happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arnarama
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price for a tablet
11/23/2013

Customer review by Skeptic009

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by Skeptic009
by Skeptic009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was little bit skeptical about this refurbished nexus 7, but for $79 what more can I expect. Glad that I bought it, so far it is working perfectly (using it for 5 days).

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skeptic009
West Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Positives well documented so here weak points
3/25/2013

Customer review by Onewizavu

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Onewizavu
by Onewizavu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product has excellent reviews all over the internet hence my purchase. It does deserve all the praise but I think I won't add any value reporting on its many positives which range from size/weight, screen, apps, prompt OS updates and much more, at a lower price premium than an industry incumbent would charge. In other words, it's not only the best value tablet but it's likely the best value any type of product you can find today. I initially bought this device as a present to my parents so they could see pictures of their grandchildren off my NAS. But after trying different ways, looks like it cannot serve this purpose due to how slow pictures get loaded, which probably has to do with my wifi and physical connections rather than the N7's graphics power. So I'm keeping the device myself for my own. So where are the weaknesses ie improvement areas? Software: * Calendar: No native annual view, no choice for dark background so as to save battery * Internet: Can't view Adobe flash sites natively, need to find a getaround * Google Drive: Doesn't work offline for creation of new docs/editing * Notes (quick, easy-access notes on the run): No native app like most Android phones do, instead having to download independents * Whatsapp: Nice if could edit my phone's whatsapp messages from the the N7's larger screen Hardware: * Device could be physically even smaller if Asus/Google reduced the black rim around the 7" screen, so it could truly be a daily pocketable device. No need to be as thin as the Ipad Mini especially if it raises the cost/is argument for raising the price. I'd rather pay for a back camera for those occasions I want to take a picture.

Was this review helpful? (50) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onewizavu
Asia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent tablet, no problems
4/6/2014

Customer review by drysplash

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by drysplash
by drysplash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this table new in 2012. It still works great. No loss of speed or charging. It is used heavily for gaming, surfing and reading. So much so that I purchased two more refurbished. The difference is that the refurbished tablets did not have a printed manual. The only thing I felt was worthwhile in the instructions concerned turning the power on. I have read a number of reviewers complaining that the tablet will not turn on at times calling it a "brick". My first tablet had this problem. Directions clearly state to press and hold the power button down for 10 seconds. Miraculous!! Tablet turns on. This is an unbelievable value. Get one (or 2) while they are still available.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drysplash
surprise, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd try to get a functioning Nexus 7
1/22/2014

Customer review by NorthGeorgaGrandma

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by NorthGeorgaGrandma
by NorthGeorgaGrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased my first refurbished Nexus 7 Jan. 5, 2014 for one of my grandchildren. It worked great until it needed to be charged. After being charged, it would not turn back on. My son and I watched several videos about similar problems - tried all -finally came back on. But when it needed charging again, after charging it wouldn't turn on again. Would never come on again after that. So, I am returning the first Nexus 7. Since it is such a great price, I am trying one more Nexus 7 since a lot of the reviews are good. Hopefully, whatever is wrong with the battery placement or problem with battery moving around will not be a problem with the second Nexus 7. I believe google has a battery problem with the Nexus 7 that needs to be corrected.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthGeorgaGrandma
North Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I do wish it had a space for an SD card.
7/14/2014

Customer review by I4my80w

4.0 stars 7/14/2014 by I4my80w
by I4my80w
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tablet is relatively fast and has played games and allowed for video watching without any issues. I do think the video picture could be a bit clearer but for the price, it will do. My biggest complaint is that there is no place to add an SD card for addtional memory. That means i can't download movies for my kids to watch on it unless i download directly to the tablet. Games will fill up the space relatively quickly. But, overall, it has been better than my kids two previous tablets which had issues with some games and some movies. I will say that the extra protection plan Walmart offers for these tablets is great. My kids have broken the screen on one tablet and dropped another causing it to split and the protection plan gave us a gift card equalling the purchase price without any problems. Best customer service i have ever experienced. My recommendation would be to get a bigger memory tablet if you download movies or play games that take up large amounts of space. If you just want a tablet to surf the web then this is great. It is also great for my younger kids who play games only on it and watch some cartoon network. If you travel and want movies for your kids then i recommend a larger memory or a tablet with SD card.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
I4my80w
American Fork, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived DOA
12/17/2013

Customer review by Dvc4045

1.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Dvc4045
by Dvc4045
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My nexus arrived totally inoperitive. It would not charge or turn on. I followed all of the troubleshooting steps online but nothing helped. The return process was painless and I ended up buying a new one which I love. Skip the 2012 model and buy the new one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dvc4045
Wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked right out of the cardboard!
1/21/2014

Customer review by Barnivere

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Barnivere
by Barnivere

I ordered this item on the 19th, received it today! :D Reading the one star reviews from others had me a little skeptical at first and afraid that mine would end up broken or uncharged etc. I pressed the power button and that beautiful GOOGLE logo popped up, it was halfway charged, but that wasn't a problem. I immediately noticed that it's slimmer than most tablets, but it gives me a bang for my buck! It's fast, it's sleek and it won't disappoint as it lasts 9 1/2 hours total battery life (and when it's on stand-by mode it hardly sucks up battery power!) This little tablet I would recommend to anyone (especially if they're gamers!)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barnivere
Dover,DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Handy and easy to use tablet
12/11/2013

Customer review by Barblie

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Barblie
by Barblie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fun to use . . . once I got it going. I've never had a tablet type device before, so I was nervous when it came with no instruction guide of any kind or any beginner information. So I talked to a rep at Wal Mart and they guided me to where I could find online instructions at the Google Nexus 7 site. Once the tablet is turned on and going, it was easy to set up as it takes you through it once it's on. But I didn't know how to even get it to turn on. It would be helpful to include a basic first time users instruction sheet that comes in the box with it for us beginners. Still learning what all it can do. It can do a lot.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barblie
La Habra CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good value
9/5/2014

Customer review by curiousmamma

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by curiousmamma
by curiousmamma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tablet refurbished and have noticed a few flaws in it such as the screen being slightly loose on one side. However, for the price I paid, none of the flaws are of great concern. This tablet works excellently. I would have liked to have more usable memory, and it is frustrating that there is no external memory port available. However, I knew what I was getting when I bought it. I do like that it charges with the "standard" cell phone charger which is convenient when toting the tablet along in the car or to a friends house. I wanted to stay away from tablets running Windows, I not a fan of Windows 8, I much prefer 7. So, I chose to go with the Google running Nexus. The platform preforms well, but there are a lot of Google applications that I do not use which cannot be removed. This sucks up memory. I have also found a few apps that install fine on the Nexus, but do not seem as though they are designed to work with it, none of these are important apps, so I've not been terribly upset by it. All in all I am happy with the tablet, but will be happy when I can upgrade too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curiousmamma
VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews