Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 70 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Would not buy this again
12/21/2014

Customer review by elecengineer

1.0 stars 12/21/2014 by elecengineer
by elecengineer

We bought an HW-F450 to use with our 60" Samsung Smart TV. I regret having made the purchase. The sound bar unit provides bass, but essentially no treble. Higher-end frequency response is abysmal, and I have not been able to find any way to adjust it to equal the sound from the TV itself. And unfortunately, when the sound bar is activated, the sound from the TV is deactivated, which means that the sound goes from relatively clear to horribly muffled. Every time we try turning this thing on, we wind up turning it off--the sound from the TV is better. In terms of features, what I would have hoped for was a product that could be set up and then would turn on and off with the TV--with the sound level integrated with the TV and controlled by the TV's remote. That doesn't happen with this. The display is small and not very readable from a distance. We have been very happy with our Samsung TVs, but this sound bar is a dud. The only reason to give it one star is to get the system to take the rating..

elecengineer
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
The previous readeris rite! But it does sound good
7/20/2013

Customer review by jason010

4.0 stars 7/20/2013 by jason010
by jason010

This system has HUGE inconvenience factors (as listed above), however with the proper arrangement it pushes sound well for its price. I am in a decent sized apartment and filling it with huge sound (bass included) is not a problem. My main thing was bass, because I am more music than movies, and I was upset with the TV compatibility (That echo is ridiculous and yup another remote), but with the TV sound off it fills the void. And it will go ON and Off automatically with the TV (I have the optical line attached). Bottom line for me; this system could look better and could have used better TV integration controls. But I don't hate it, and people like the sound when they visit. And that woofer in my place is an animal!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jason010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Yet another remote control
6/17/2013

Customer review by SlotSavers

3.0 stars 6/17/2013 by SlotSavers
by SlotSavers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not what I expected, but sounds better than TV alone. Here's the bottom line ... you need a separate remote to use the speakers, which means the bar has to be within remote contact ... can't hide it ... has to sit in front of everything. And, turning down the volume on your TV does not turn down the volume on these speakers ... separate remote. The speaker remote can control your Samsung TV, but your Samsung TV remote can't control the speakers. Unfortunately, the speaker remote is a very lite version of a TV remote (no numbers) ... not practical for a TV, which means, now I have yet another remote control. I like to mute commercials, so now I need 2 remotes ... one to mute the sound, one to change the channels. Worse yet, you can't leave both your TV and speakers on simultaneously ... there's an echo because the two don't quite synch, at least for me using an optical cable. Why optical and not HDMI? Did you know that if you want to use an HDMI cable that you need two (2) of them ... one in and one out back to TV? Cables not included, so I used an optical cable I had instead instead of spending $$$ for 2 HDMI cables. So, I use my TV without the speakers. When I want to watch a movie, I turn down the TV speakers and pick up the speaker remote, turn the speakers on and then go from there. Yes, it's better than TV, a little more base, but not the "wow" factor I was hoping for. Seems not much better than good PC speakers with a base unit. And now it just sits silent until I turn it on with my separate remote.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlotSavers
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good Soundbar
2/2/2014

Customer review by cybercord

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by cybercord
by cybercord

Purchased this 2 weeks ago and use with Samsun Smart HD TV. The size and features, though not high end, does sound fantastic. The unit was easy to set up and connect to get system working with the TV. But there are some issues that are minor and easy to get around. The provided remote works great if you use only a TV and sound bar for video and sound. Not so good with a Set Top Box. Does not control the STB for channels. So a 2nd remote is going to be needed. The provided remote is expected to be the master remote with TV function and Volume only. Ok for audio inputs only. The remote is not that functional when using a Digital Cable Box. The Digital input for the fiber connection is very tight, be careful. The Digital output from the TV cannot be controlled via the TV/STB remote. Only the TV connection, via the RF/Bluetooth can be controlled via the TV volume. I use the HDMI connection to the TV and the Anyconnect or the Digital Cable for audio in the Sound bar. This unit has multiple option and I’m sure one will work in any situation even for the most demanding.

cybercord
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Good Buy
1/3/2014

Customer review by randomreviewerguy

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by randomreviewerguy
by randomreviewerguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this soundbar mostly for the bluetooth feature and my wife loves it. She's able to play internet radio from her phone straight thru the soundbar. The soundbar sounds great, just don't expect this thing to replace actual surround sound speakers. But the soundbar speakers are a great upgrade for my living room and the bass from the subwoofer is great. I would recommend buying an extra HDMI cable while you're shopping to connect the soundbar to your Blu Ray player or TV. Installation couldn't be easier, especially since the subwoofer is wireless. Overall I'm impressed with the sound and happy with the product - just don't expect to get the movie theater experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
randomreviewerguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than TV speakers... design issues
4/22/2013

Customer review by RDubFL

4.0 stars 4/22/2013 by RDubFL
by RDubFL

First the good. 1) Speakers are way better than way comes with the TV PN60F5500. 2) SoundShare wireless works great, eventhough there is a 10-20 lag between TV on and speaker on. Before the soundbar turns on the TV speakers are on. Its not an issue, just wish they were more in sync with the power. 3) Design is meet. Lots of input options. Now the Bad 1). THAT POWER CORD. This thing is not designed to be hung on a wall. The power cord does not come with an adapter. The plug is so long and straight that it can't be mounted even with a recessed Leviton outlet. The bar is so skinny you cant mount a super recessed outlet without seeing the outlet. The only way to do is to buy washers, at least a half inch extra clearance. 2) Wish my Samsung made a less expensive 55" wide system like this with 3.1. The audio and spoken word in action sequences gets a bit lost. 3). Wish SoundShare turned on faster with TV.

RDubFL
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Samsung Sound bar and Wireless subwoofer
12/13/2013

Customer review by MyTVStand

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by MyTVStand
by MyTVStand
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, the Sound bar and woofer is a good deal. The sound is very good and easy to install and link up with my Samsung HDTV so that I can use only one remote control to adjust the sound and features of the sound bard.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyTVStand
Evans, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Actually happy with a soundbar...
4/17/2014

Customer review by Xisle

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by Xisle
by Xisle

I've only listened to 5 different sound bar's so I'm no expert. I went to one store and listened to a few they had there and I was fairly impressed but they didn't have the one I wanted in stock so off I went to see what Walmart had. I originally bought the Samsung HW-F35 and for the money it was decent enough but outside of medium listening volume I found it lacking and turned down the sub all the way to it's lowest setting to listen to music at a reasonable level less I suffer through some distortion. I took it back today and bought this one. Ten minutes later I knew the extra $100 was well worth it. Both are fine but I would really recommend spending the extra for this model. Looks nicer, sounds much better and I can leave the sub at the default level and no distortion at normal levels.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xisle
Sometown, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Adequate sound for most
4/13/2014

Customer review by Radioman1961

3.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Radioman1961
by Radioman1961

This sound bar is a vast improvement over the cheesy speakers in the tv but with a few tweaks, could have been much better. It's really lacking in treble but mid range and voice are very good. The sub isn't thundering but was never intended to be. For normal broadcast tv it's adequate. I'm connected through Sound Share and the power on and off functions as well as volume changes work fine. It's a good thing since the range on the remote that came with the soundbar is about 3 feet. It will not work from across the room. We have watched a few movies with a Samsung blu ray player attached via HDMI to the television and it has a tendency to break up on louder scenes. I have replaced the cable, substituted my older $ony blu ray player, but the issue remains. It seems the transition from HDMI to Bluetooth that occurs in the television has an issue that Samsung has not addressed. Bottom line: if you want to improve the sound of basic television broadcasts, this soundbar will do the job with no fuss. If you think it's a decent replacement for a true 5.1 or even 3.1 system, you will be disappointed.

Radioman1961
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
This unit did not meet expectations
3/15/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/15/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this unit 16 months ago and it has been nothing but junk. Our first issue was every time we turn the unit and tv on after about ten seconds it switches back from HDMI 1 to D.in. Then you have to use the remote to switch back to HDMI 1. Not a big deal but annoying. We contacted "tech support" and they recommended we create a return form and ship the unit back. ( I cannot list the cost out of pocket due to this sites policies ). They returned the unit and said they could not find anything wrong with it. We still have to switch back to HDMI 1 every time the unit is powered on. Now the subwoofer has stopped syncing and does not work. We have tried the reset ID procedure several times with no luck. Samsung makes some nice products, this is not one of them.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Took it back,subwoofer bad!
5/11/2014

Customer review by SGP1953

1.0 stars 5/11/2014 by SGP1953
by SGP1953
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think the sound bar was decent,but the subwoofer faded in and out and was defected,so I took it back. I was not confident in exchanging it so I got on you tube and found a Sony brand for 26 more dollars and it came with a optical cord. A 16 dollar gift that Samsung didn't come with. I'm happy with the Sony.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SGP1953
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Sound, Great Price
4/30/2014

Customer review by Taylrmade

4.0 stars 4/30/2014 by Taylrmade
by Taylrmade
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So sad these days that you spend a fortune on a new super thin Tv, and the sound quality on it is just unacceptable. I couldnt spend much on a sound system, but wanted BIG sound. Im a gamer, and a Big movie and sports fan. Sound is everything. Have to say, this soundbar not only meets expectations, but exceeds it. This base is boom boom big, and the sound fills my family room. One of the biggest problems with the tv speakers is the voice quality. Could never make out what the heck they were saying. With the soundbar, voice is clear, sound is crisp, and the base penetrates the room. Considering the price, its a BIG thumbs up for me!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taylrmade
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
big sound from small speakers
12/9/2013

Customer review by bilcotoo

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by bilcotoo
by bilcotoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is as advertised. Sound from my flat screen is transformed into a theater mode with this soundbar. Wow!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bilcotoo
Byron, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
7/27/2013

Customer review by ChowDog

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by ChowDog
by ChowDog

I got this soundbar about 3 months ago and haven't regretted it one bit. I have a Samsung Smart TV and the speakers on the TV left a lot to be desired so I started looking. I read reviews and looked at a lot of different systems but decided on this one since I didn't want a lot of speakers, just something to enhance the sound of the TV plus it was a Samsung. What a HUGE difference this made!! Great sound for my needs and quite a few settings to get any sound you need from either watching TV or listening to music. Wireless connection worked good and I haven't had any problems at all. I highly recommend this soundbar for those looking to upgrade the sound from their TV speakers, you won't regret it either!

ChowDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Another TERRIBLE Samsung product!!!
4/1/2014

Customer review by Unhappy2014

1.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Unhappy2014
by Unhappy2014

Purchased this sound bar to replace an older sound system and are wishing I never had. To start things off when I turn on my TV and the sound bar it will make alot of crackling noise and swith back to the D.IN mode from HDMI. I then switch it back to HDMI and it will do the same thing again. After that it will stay on HDMI. Sound is Ok but I was expecting alot better considering the price. Subwoofer acts like it hardly even works. Also it only has 1 HDMI input so if you have multiple devices that you want to use, you will need to changed HDMI cords to get them to play through the speakers. Shop around and compare before buying this. It will be worth the time!!!

Unhappy2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Might sound better in a small room
12/6/2013

Customer review by Antnick

2.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Antnick
by Antnick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had high hopes for this sound bar based on all the positive reviews, but it unfortunately didn't meet my expectations. My living room is 22 x 12 feet and this little unit barely sounded better than the speakers on my TV. Guess I need more of a traditional "surround" system. On the plus side, the sound itself wasn't horrible, just wasn't big enough for the size of my space. This might work better in a smaller environment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Antnick
Sunland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent buy!
12/10/2013

Customer review by jimmy143

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by jimmy143
by jimmy143
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall I have to give it a 4.8 out of 5 as it has a slight tinny aspect to it however it cud be just that I haven't set it to the features properly. Other than that I'd say it worth it to spend the xtra 69$ For the wireless subwoofer as well as the Bluetooth capability to receive signal from the comparable tv. EXCELLENT buy at $167!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmy143
Lansing MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected from Samsung
8/7/2015

Customer review by Mariska1554

1.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Mariska1554
by Mariska1554

I bought this Samsung sound bar because it was highly rated and our TV is a Samsung. I am very disappointed in this sound bar. I had to have service on it once not long after I purchased it and I constantly have to reset it because I will lose the wireless connection for no reason, and now my subwoofer doesn't work. Very frustrating especially for the price.

Mariska1554
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Noise
8/10/2015

Customer review by luvqualitysound

4.0 stars 8/10/2015 by luvqualitysound
by luvqualitysound

I have had this sound bar for a little over a year and I am now experiencing a buzzing noise. I have looked in the manual for troubleshooting, nothing. I have tried to google it as well, but can't seem to find answers on if this can be fixed or not.

luvqualitysound
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Expertise:Beginner
Bad Product
7/18/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/18/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this item a few years back and it barely last 6 months. I keep getting notices to renew the protection on this item which is just collecting dust in front of my TV. Do not buy this product, because it did not provide the same results that you hear in the store either.

An anonymous customer
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews