Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 84 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Would not buy this again
12/21/2014

Customer review by elecengineer

1.0 stars 12/21/2014 by elecengineer
by elecengineer

We bought an HW-F450 to use with our 60" Samsung Smart TV. I regret having made the purchase. The sound bar unit provides bass, but essentially no treble. Higher-end frequency response is abysmal, and I have not been able to find any way to adjust it to equal the sound from the TV itself. And unfortunately, when the sound bar is activated, the sound from the TV is deactivated, which means that the sound goes from relatively clear to horribly muffled. Every time we try turning this thing on, we wind up turning it off--the sound from the TV is better. In terms of features, what I would have hoped for was a product that could be set up and then would turn on and off with the TV--with the sound level integrated with the TV and controlled by the TV's remote. That doesn't happen with this. The display is small and not very readable from a distance. We have been very happy with our Samsung TVs, but this sound bar is a dud. The only reason to give it one star is to get the system to take the rating..

elecengineer
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Very good Soundbar
2/2/2014

Customer review by cybercord

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by cybercord
by cybercord

Purchased this 2 weeks ago and use with Samsun Smart HD TV. The size and features, though not high end, does sound fantastic. The unit was easy to set up and connect to get system working with the TV. But there are some issues that are minor and easy to get around. The provided remote works great if you use only a TV and sound bar for video and sound. Not so good with a Set Top Box. Does not control the STB for channels. So a 2nd remote is going to be needed. The provided remote is expected to be the master remote with TV function and Volume only. Ok for audio inputs only. The remote is not that functional when using a Digital Cable Box. The Digital input for the fiber connection is very tight, be careful. The Digital output from the TV cannot be controlled via the TV/STB remote. Only the TV connection, via the RF/Bluetooth can be controlled via the TV volume. I use the HDMI connection to the TV and the Anyconnect or the Digital Cable for audio in the Sound bar. This unit has multiple option and I’m sure one will work in any situation even for the most demanding.

cybercord
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Better than TV speakers... design issues
4/22/2013

Customer review by RDubFL

4.0 stars 4/22/2013 by RDubFL
by RDubFL

First the good. 1) Speakers are way better than way comes with the TV PN60F5500. 2) SoundShare wireless works great, eventhough there is a 10-20 lag between TV on and speaker on. Before the soundbar turns on the TV speakers are on. Its not an issue, just wish they were more in sync with the power. 3) Design is meet. Lots of input options. Now the Bad 1). THAT POWER CORD. This thing is not designed to be hung on a wall. The power cord does not come with an adapter. The plug is so long and straight that it can't be mounted even with a recessed Leviton outlet. The bar is so skinny you cant mount a super recessed outlet without seeing the outlet. The only way to do is to buy washers, at least a half inch extra clearance. 2) Wish my Samsung made a less expensive 55" wide system like this with 3.1. The audio and spoken word in action sequences gets a bit lost. 3). Wish SoundShare turned on faster with TV.

RDubFL
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Adequate sound for most
4/13/2014

Customer review by Radioman1961

3.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Radioman1961
by Radioman1961

This sound bar is a vast improvement over the cheesy speakers in the tv but with a few tweaks, could have been much better. It's really lacking in treble but mid range and voice are very good. The sub isn't thundering but was never intended to be. For normal broadcast tv it's adequate. I'm connected through Sound Share and the power on and off functions as well as volume changes work fine. It's a good thing since the range on the remote that came with the soundbar is about 3 feet. It will not work from across the room. We have watched a few movies with a Samsung blu ray player attached via HDMI to the television and it has a tendency to break up on louder scenes. I have replaced the cable, substituted my older $ony blu ray player, but the issue remains. It seems the transition from HDMI to Bluetooth that occurs in the television has an issue that Samsung has not addressed. Bottom line: if you want to improve the sound of basic television broadcasts, this soundbar will do the job with no fuss. If you think it's a decent replacement for a true 5.1 or even 3.1 system, you will be disappointed.

Radioman1961
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
This unit did not meet expectations
3/15/2015

Customer review by BuySonybuysomethingelse

1.0 stars 3/15/2015 by BuySonybuysomethingelse
by BuySonybuysomethingelse

I bought this unit 16 months ago and it has been nothing but junk. Our first issue was every time we turn the unit and tv on after about ten seconds it switches back from HDMI 1 to D.in. Then you have to use the remote to switch back to HDMI 1. Not a big deal but annoying. We contacted "tech support" and they recommended we create a return form and ship the unit back. ( I cannot list the cost out of pocket due to this sites policies ). They returned the unit and said they could not find anything wrong with it. We still have to switch back to HDMI 1 every time the unit is powered on. Now the subwoofer has stopped syncing and does not work. We have tried the reset ID procedure several times with no luck. Samsung makes some nice products, this is not one of them.

BuySonybuysomethingelse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
7/27/2013

Customer review by ChowDog

5.0 stars 7/27/2013 by ChowDog
by ChowDog

I got this soundbar about 3 months ago and haven't regretted it one bit. I have a Samsung Smart TV and the speakers on the TV left a lot to be desired so I started looking. I read reviews and looked at a lot of different systems but decided on this one since I didn't want a lot of speakers, just something to enhance the sound of the TV plus it was a Samsung. What a HUGE difference this made!! Great sound for my needs and quite a few settings to get any sound you need from either watching TV or listening to music. Wireless connection worked good and I haven't had any problems at all. I highly recommend this soundbar for those looking to upgrade the sound from their TV speakers, you won't regret it either!

ChowDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Another TERRIBLE Samsung product!!!
4/1/2014

Customer review by Unhappy2014

1.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Unhappy2014
by Unhappy2014

Purchased this sound bar to replace an older sound system and are wishing I never had. To start things off when I turn on my TV and the sound bar it will make alot of crackling noise and swith back to the D.IN mode from HDMI. I then switch it back to HDMI and it will do the same thing again. After that it will stay on HDMI. Sound is Ok but I was expecting alot better considering the price. Subwoofer acts like it hardly even works. Also it only has 1 HDMI input so if you have multiple devices that you want to use, you will need to changed HDMI cords to get them to play through the speakers. Shop around and compare before buying this. It will be worth the time!!!

Unhappy2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Awesome sound bar for the price
9/22/2014

Customer review by junghova

4.0 stars 9/22/2014 by junghova
by junghova

I had been looking for a sound bar for about the last 6 months and when I saw this one on sale, I took the plunge. My family room is a medium sized space and this sound bar is awesome for it. Movies, music or just regular tv sounds super good. I also was not a true believer on the quality of listening to music over Bluetooth, and this sound bar plays music off my phone or my wife's ipod nano and it sounds way better than expected. The only knock I have is this sound bar didn't come with an optical cable (or even an hdmi one). Pretty minor complaint and I would recommend this sound bar to anyone.

junghova
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Sound Bar was GREAT!
1/30/2014

Customer review by OMGs

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by OMGs
by OMGs

The Sound bar was easy to setup and the sound is amazing. Perfect if you don't want a big sound system in your living room. We have that in our theater in the basement. However, the connection was not the greatest, I mean not many selection, you only have HDMI, Optical, USB and Head phones hook up(they call it AUX, I don't know the name for that connection.). My Blu ray player was using Coaxial for the sound, so I had to use HDMI instead. Still works great, just had to buy a extra HDMI cable.

OMGs
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Sound
1/22/2014

Customer review by RLC1234

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by RLC1234
by RLC1234

The installation is pretty easy. The hardest part was finding something small enough to insert into the reset to get the subwoofer linked to the sound bar. After that ... it's a breeze. It brings the sound of your TV forward vice in the back if you have one of the thin Samsung TVs. Music sounds great, movies ... I haven't found anything that doesn't yet. Ours is set up to turn on and off with the TV. I have no complaints or even fusses with this device.

RLC1234
Charleston, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sound is decent
8/18/2014

Customer review by IndianaGatorFan

4.0 stars 8/18/2014 by IndianaGatorFan
by IndianaGatorFan

Features work great. I hooked it up to my Samsung Smart TV 6350 with only an HDMI cable from the TV. It powers on/off with the TV as advertised and I can control the volume with the TV remote. My only dislike is the bass is very weak. You can adjust between -3 and +3 but it doesn't make much difference. The soundbar has great volume but the bass is much too weak and is not easily heard over the volume of the soundbar.

IndianaGatorFan
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Not what I expected from Samsung
8/7/2015

Customer review by Mariska1554

1.0 stars 8/7/2015 by Mariska1554
by Mariska1554

I bought this Samsung sound bar because it was highly rated and our TV is a Samsung. I am very disappointed in this sound bar. I had to have service on it once not long after I purchased it and I constantly have to reset it because I will lose the wireless connection for no reason, and now my subwoofer doesn't work. Very frustrating especially for the price.

Mariska1554
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
It was wroking Great, but not now
10/28/2013

Customer review by PhoenixMD

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by PhoenixMD
by PhoenixMD

I bought this soundbar to go with my 60in Samsung LED TV. The sound is very good but not great. It is much better than just the regular TV, but not as good as true surround sound. At first I used the optical line, but that required using 2 remotes. I then connected it with sound share, and that worked well, but then the TV updated itself with new firmware in August. Now the TV no longer works with the soundshare.

PhoenixMD
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
What a wonderful addition to my Samsung TV
8/23/2014

Customer review by Harleydk

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by Harleydk
by Harleydk

Very easy to setup with the samsung tv and soundbar working together. What's really nice it the subwoofer is wireless and can be move anywhere in the room withing 30 feet of the soundbar. great sound and bass for those dvd and bluray movies. Feels like your right in the theater. This unit also has bluetooth that I hooked up with my IPad2 and it works great listening to Pandora or any music.

Harleydk
Santee, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Its a good buy!!
1/21/2014

Customer review by RoyalT79

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by RoyalT79
by RoyalT79

We bought this on boxing day for $199 and it was a very good buy. The sub-woofer is not the loudest, there are definitely more products out there that are much louder and better quality but for the price this is worth it. We have no issues with it, it sounds great and mounted very easily.

RoyalT79
Brampton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works great wirelessly
11/4/2013

Customer review by bmwest6569

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by bmwest6569
by bmwest6569

I purchased this along with my Samsung 55-inch LED TV - UN55F7100 and Samsung 3D Blu-Ray player. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to connect this sound bar wirelessly to the TV. There is a slight delay when the TV is turned on before the sound bar connects, but it is not in my opinion worth running an extra cable to prevent. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

bmwest6569
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yay it's a wireless stereo sound bar alright.
12/31/2013

Customer review by 123willow

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by 123willow
by 123willow

I bought this a few days ago. It works fine. it is nice and loud for music and movies. The bass is nice for the price. the sound is clear, until it is good and loud, if you like it that way. The bluetooth works great. I have been using it wirelessly. It is compact too.

123willow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Sound
3/5/2015

Customer review by ohno024

4.0 stars 3/5/2015 by ohno024
by ohno024

I enjoy this sound bar and sub. It adds depth and dynamic sound that is not quite there in just TV speakers. Makes movie watching much better. Only drawback is the location of the optical plug in, it is to close to the body of the sound bar which makes it difficult to plug in and makes the location of the cord go in the wrong direction to contain it.

ohno024
Deadwood, SD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Buy
2/1/2014

Customer review by carpsy

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by carpsy
by carpsy

Bought this on boxing day sale. Easy hook up. Sound is decent. Be careful if planning to put the subwoofer behind furniture at the back of the room. My would lose connection briefly and then reconnect. I moved from behind couch and I have not had a problem since.

carpsy
Regina, SK, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great sound for small to medium size rooms
8/12/2014

Customer review by msaenzjr

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by msaenzjr
by msaenzjr

I have it in my bedroom which is a good 12' x 24' and it sounds great. Both movies and music come out crystal clear and the bass from the wireless sub-woofer is very impressive. Bluetooth works good too but I thought it was going to use it to connect to my Samsung TV which it didn't. I use the optical cable which could have been positioned better.

msaenzjr
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews