Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 60 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 59 reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
The previous readeris rite! But it does sound good
7/20/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This system has HUGE inconvenience factors (as listed above), however with the proper arrangement it pushes sound well for its price. I am in a decent sized apartment and filling it with huge sound (bass included) is not a problem. My main thing was bass, because I am more music than movies, and I was upset with the TV compatibility (That echo is ridiculous and yup another remote), but with the TV sound off it fills the void. And it will go ON and Off automatically with the TV (I have the optical line attached). Bottom line for me; this system could look better and could have used better TV integration controls. But I don't hate it, and people like the sound when they visit. And that woofer in my place is an animal!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Yet another remote control
6/17/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not what I expected, but sounds better than TV alone. Here's the bottom line ... you need a separate remote to use the speakers, which means the bar has to be within remote contact ... can't hide it ... has to sit in front of everything. And, turning down the volume on your TV does not turn down the volume on these speakers ... separate remote. The speaker remote can control your Samsung TV, but your Samsung TV remote can't control the speakers. Unfortunately, the speaker remote is a very lite version of a TV remote (no numbers) ... not practical for a TV, which means, now I have yet another remote control. I like to mute commercials, so now I need 2 remotes ... one to mute the sound, one to change the channels. Worse yet, you can't leave both your TV and speakers on simultaneously ... there's an echo because the two don't quite synch, at least for me using an optical cable. Why optical and not HDMI? Did you know that if you want to use an HDMI cable that you need two (2) of them ... one in and one out back to TV? Cables not included, so I used an optical cable I had instead instead of spending $$$ for 2 HDMI cables. So, I use my TV without the speakers. When I want to watch a movie, I turn down the TV speakers and pick up the speaker remote, turn the speakers on and then go from there. Yes, it's better than TV, a little more base, but not the "wow" factor I was hoping for. Seems not much better than good PC speakers with a base unit. And now it just sits silent until I turn it on with my separate remote.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Buy
1/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this soundbar mostly for the bluetooth feature and my wife loves it. She's able to play internet radio from her phone straight thru the soundbar. The soundbar sounds great, just don't expect this thing to replace actual surround sound speakers. But the soundbar speakers are a great upgrade for my living room and the bass from the subwoofer is great. I would recommend buying an extra HDMI cable while you're shopping to connect the soundbar to your Blu Ray player or TV. Installation couldn't be easier, especially since the subwoofer is wireless. Overall I'm impressed with the sound and happy with the product - just don't expect to get the movie theater experience.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good Soundbar
2/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this 2 weeks ago and use with Samsun Smart HD TV. The size and features, though not high end, does sound fantastic. The unit was easy to set up and connect to get system working with the TV. But there are some issues that are minor and easy to get around. The provided remote works great if you use only a TV and sound bar for video and sound. Not so good with a Set Top Box. Does not control the STB for channels. So a 2nd remote is going to be needed. The provided remote is expected to be the master remote with TV function and Volume only. Ok for audio inputs only. The remote is not that functional when using a Digital Cable Box. The Digital input for the fiber connection is very tight, be careful. The Digital output from the TV cannot be controlled via the TV/STB remote. Only the TV connection, via the RF/Bluetooth can be controlled via the TV volume. I use the HDMI connection to the TV and the Anyconnect or the Digital Cable for audio in the Sound bar. This unit has multiple option and I’m sure one will work in any situation even for the most demanding.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Samsung Sound bar and Wireless subwoofer
12/13/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the price, the Sound bar and woofer is a good deal. The sound is very good and easy to install and link up with my Samsung HDTV so that I can use only one remote control to adjust the sound and features of the sound bard.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Actually happy with a soundbar...
4/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've only listened to 5 different sound bar's so I'm no expert. I went to one store and listened to a few they had there and I was fairly impressed but they didn't have the one I wanted in stock so off I went to see what Walmart had. I originally bought the Samsung HW-F35 and for the money it was decent enough but outside of medium listening volume I found it lacking and turned down the sub all the way to it's lowest setting to listen to music at a reasonable level less I suffer through some distortion. I took it back today and bought this one. Ten minutes later I knew the extra $100 was well worth it. Both are fine but I would really recommend spending the extra for this model. Looks nicer, sounds much better and I can leave the sub at the default level and no distortion at normal levels.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than TV speakers... design issues
4/22/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First the good. 1) Speakers are way better than way comes with the TV PN60F5500. 2) SoundShare wireless works great, eventhough there is a 10-20 lag between TV on and speaker on. Before the soundbar turns on the TV speakers are on. Its not an issue, just wish they were more in sync with the power. 3) Design is meet. Lots of input options. Now the Bad 1). THAT POWER CORD. This thing is not designed to be hung on a wall. The power cord does not come with an adapter. The plug is so long and straight that it can't be mounted even with a recessed Leviton outlet. The bar is so skinny you cant mount a super recessed outlet without seeing the outlet. The only way to do is to buy washers, at least a half inch extra clearance. 2) Wish my Samsung made a less expensive 55" wide system like this with 3.1. The audio and spoken word in action sequences gets a bit lost. 3). Wish SoundShare turned on faster with TV.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Adequate sound for most
4/13/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This sound bar is a vast improvement over the cheesy speakers in the tv but with a few tweaks, could have been much better. It's really lacking in treble but mid range and voice are very good. The sub isn't thundering but was never intended to be. For normal broadcast tv it's adequate. I'm connected through Sound Share and the power on and off functions as well as volume changes work fine. It's a good thing since the range on the remote that came with the soundbar is about 3 feet. It will not work from across the room. We have watched a few movies with a Samsung blu ray player attached via HDMI to the television and it has a tendency to break up on louder scenes. I have replaced the cable, substituted my older $ony blu ray player, but the issue remains. It seems the transition from HDMI to Bluetooth that occurs in the television has an issue that Samsung has not addressed. Bottom line: if you want to improve the sound of basic television broadcasts, this soundbar will do the job with no fuss. If you think it's a decent replacement for a true 5.1 or even 3.1 system, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Took it back,subwoofer bad!
5/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I think the sound bar was decent,but the subwoofer faded in and out and was defected,so I took it back. I was not confident in exchanging it so I got on you tube and found a Sony brand for 26 more dollars and it came with a optical cord. A 16 dollar gift that Samsung didn't come with. I'm happy with the Sony.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Sound, Great Price
4/30/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
So sad these days that you spend a fortune on a new super thin Tv, and the sound quality on it is just unacceptable. I couldnt spend much on a sound system, but wanted BIG sound. Im a gamer, and a Big movie and sports fan. Sound is everything. Have to say, this soundbar not only meets expectations, but exceeds it. This base is boom boom big, and the sound fills my family room. One of the biggest problems with the tv speakers is the voice quality. Could never make out what the heck they were saying. With the soundbar, voice is clear, sound is crisp, and the base penetrates the room. Considering the price, its a BIG thumbs up for me!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
big sound from small speakers
12/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This item is as advertised. Sound from my flat screen is transformed into a theater mode with this soundbar. Wow!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
7/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this soundbar about 3 months ago and haven't regretted it one bit. I have a Samsung Smart TV and the speakers on the TV left a lot to be desired so I started looking. I read reviews and looked at a lot of different systems but decided on this one since I didn't want a lot of speakers, just something to enhance the sound of the TV plus it was a Samsung. What a HUGE difference this made!! Great sound for my needs and quite a few settings to get any sound you need from either watching TV or listening to music. Wireless connection worked good and I haven't had any problems at all. I highly recommend this soundbar for those looking to upgrade the sound from their TV speakers, you won't regret it either!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Might sound better in a small room
12/6/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had high hopes for this sound bar based on all the positive reviews, but it unfortunately didn't meet my expectations. My living room is 22 x 12 feet and this little unit barely sounded better than the speakers on my TV. Guess I need more of a traditional "surround" system. On the plus side, the sound itself wasn't horrible, just wasn't big enough for the size of my space. This might work better in a smaller environment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent buy!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Overall I have to give it a 4.8 out of 5 as it has a slight tinny aspect to it however it cud be just that I haven't set it to the features properly. Other than that I'd say it worth it to spend the xtra 69$ For the wireless subwoofer as well as the Bluetooth capability to receive signal from the comparable tv. EXCELLENT buy at $167!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome sound bar for the price
9/22/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had been looking for a sound bar for about the last 6 months and when I saw this one on sale, I took the plunge. My family room is a medium sized space and this sound bar is awesome for it. Movies, music or just regular tv sounds super good. I also was not a true believer on the quality of listening to music over Bluetooth, and this sound bar plays music off my phone or my wife's ipod nano and it sounds way better than expected. The only knock I have is this sound bar didn't come with an optical cable (or even an hdmi one). Pretty minor complaint and I would recommend this sound bar to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sound Bar was GREAT!
1/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Sound bar was easy to setup and the sound is amazing. Perfect if you don't want a big sound system in your living room. We have that in our theater in the basement. However, the connection was not the greatest, I mean not many selection, you only have HDMI, Optical, USB and Head phones hook up(they call it AUX, I don't know the name for that connection.). My Blu ray player was using Coaxial for the sound, so I had to use HDMI instead. Still works great, just had to buy a extra HDMI cable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Sound
1/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The installation is pretty easy. The hardest part was finding something small enough to insert into the reset to get the subwoofer linked to the sound bar. After that ... it's a breeze. It brings the sound of your TV forward vice in the back if you have one of the thin Samsung TVs. Music sounds great, movies ... I haven't found anything that doesn't yet. Ours is set up to turn on and off with the TV. I have no complaints or even fusses with this device.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sound is decent
8/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Features work great. I hooked it up to my Samsung Smart TV 6350 with only an HDMI cable from the TV. It powers on/off with the TV as advertised and I can control the volume with the TV remote. My only dislike is the bass is very weak. You can adjust between -3 and +3 but it doesn't make much difference. The soundbar has great volume but the bass is much too weak and is not easily heard over the volume of the soundbar.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good bang for the buck
5/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this for my birthday and I love it. We do have a Samsung TV so that helps with the compatibility. I had received an LG but took it back because it just didn't work well with the Samsung tv. We bought the Samsung for only 216.00. It didn't come with an optical cable which is the easiest setup I found. the sound is so clear and the bass is deep for what you will spend on this item. A great product for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It was wroking Great, but not now
10/28/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this soundbar to go with my 60in Samsung LED TV. The sound is very good but not great. It is much better than just the regular TV, but not as good as true surround sound. At first I used the optical line, but that required using 2 remotes. I then connected it with sound share, and that worked well, but then the TV updated itself with new firmware in August. Now the TV no longer works with the soundshare.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642840, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-