Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26789 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26789 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26789 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17479
4 stars
6329
3 stars
1546
2 stars
686
1 stars
749
1-20 of 26754 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26754 total reviews
1-20 of 26754 reviews
Roku 3 rocks!!!!
3/22/2013

Customer review by MarineCorpsfamily

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by MarineCorpsfamily
by MarineCorpsfamily

Although I had the Roku 2 HD, I had to invest in the Roku 3. With the Roku 2, I had to search individual channels for a specific program to watch, but with the Roku 3, you can search the Roku screen, which in turn, will list all the channels that are showing the specific show you are interested in watching. In addition, I have a 7.1 surround system and with the Roku 3, I can know listen to the 7.1 sound if the show is available in 7.1 sound. The download time is faster and the Roku 3 has not froze like the Roku 2. There are other cool features too like the screen savers, games, etc., but I do not care too much for those features; although, the fish tank screen saver is nice, especially when you run it on your flat screen; my grandchildren thought I replaced my tv with a fish tank. There is also the ability to plug in a USB device and a memory card so you can watch your own movies, pictures, etc.; which is also an awesome feature.

Was this review helpful? (457) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarineCorpsfamily
Viera, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This was a well spent $99.00+taxes
6/20/2013

Customer review by Mojah

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Mojah
by Mojah

My sister and I decided to finally let go of traditional cable television to save money. I research this device and decided to try it. Delivery was on time, packaging was simple and nice. Set up was so easy I was tickled pink. It took me all of 10 mins. If you already have netflix or hulu etc. Have your passwords at hand and that makes setup faster. Now let's talk the device. It is wonderfully small and compact. The remote control is simple and easy to use. It comes with a pre-loaded game and it's been fun playing it. The "channels" are easy to find. Some do require you to sign up online with a credit card. The "channel" is free but not all the contents. There is always new content to access. You also have a selection of screen savers as well. I use the clock one. I decided to pack up the Roku box and take it on my trip to see my children. I hate the television options in the hotel and I like to fall asleep with the TV on. It was a breeze to connect the box to the tv in the room and Viola!! I was watching movies. Oh Don't forget your HDMI cable. When my grandson came over I connected the headphones to the remote and he was happily watching Thomas and friends while we visited with everyone. After that my sister had to have one of her own. The good--- easy to use, easy to set up, easy to maintain. Love the headphone connection in the remote. The bad--- Not Roku's fault unable to connect to hbo2go via Direct TV ( I use a friend's password); Sometimes you experience sound distortion but I experienced the same via my laptop so I believe it's my internet provider. The Okay--- It never turns off but the specs say that it doesn't use much electricity.

Was this review helpful? (595) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mojah
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
HDMI cable Warning
4/15/2013

Customer review by Iuseroku

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Iuseroku
by Iuseroku

This is my 3rd Roku box and I like the product and have had no problems.... that I couldn't solve. After installatiuon,Roku 3 would not work properly, wouldn't stream movies and kept generating HDCP errors. Anyhow it turns out that all HDMI cables are not the same ! The HDMI cable I used with older Roku box wouldn't work with the Roku 3. Solution: Insure you use an HDMI cable labelled as "HIGH SPEED" I bought one at Walmart for $10 and this solved my problem; it was not presented as a solution by the Roku website help desk. The radio wave feature means u dont have to point controller directly at the box (as with infra red)...this is nice and so is the earphone capability for listening to TV without bothering others. I am now quite pleased with the Roku 3 box and have beautiful HD reception on my TV

Was this review helpful? (260) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iuseroku
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice concept if you understand what you're getting
9/23/2013

Customer review by daleebread

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by daleebread
by daleebread

The ROKU concept is a good one. The device does what it's supposed to do. The ROKU device itself is great. The user interface is very easy to use and looks beautiful on my TV screen. However, you need to know/understand that it is no way a replacement for cable/satellite TV. This is purely a streaming device that allows you to download and play internet-based programming on your television--IF you have existing subscriptions to the providers of the programming. The providers of the programming (e.g. HBOGO, Netflix, Hulu) and the owners of specific programs have restrictions and limitations. For example, I was chagrined to learn that--even though I am a Hulu subscriber--I cannot download my favorite Food Network show "Chopped" to ROKU and watch it on TV. That particular show is only playable on a computer. Another example is that though I am an HBO subscriber, I cannot play HBOGO programming through my ROKU because my subscription is through DirecTV (apparently, if I got HBO-and HBOGO- through Time Warner Cable, I would be able to). So, you need to understand that you must be equipped with existing subscriptions to premium programming (through "the right" providers) in order to fully exploit what ROKU is.

Was this review helpful? (284) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daleebread
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy "Cord Cutter"
4/12/2013

Customer review by eye4graphics

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by eye4graphics
by eye4graphics

I like my Roku. I'm a month in. The delivery to my local Walmart was days ahead of schedule and the product arrived in mint condition. If you had a major "cable-type" system, it pays for itself in a month. What I miss from DirectTV: Watching NBA and Golf channels; DVRing shows. TV network shows. Some of these things can be watched jumping through the correct hoops. I am computer savvy enough that I'll likely do this later. For now, I am more than content to watch the series shows from Walking Dead to Breaking Bad, that I never watched. I love not paying $90 a month for cable. My average spend on the Roku, even if I watch every pay-per-view movie I wanted, still averages out to less than about a third of what I would have spent with Direct. From nearly $1,200 to less than $300 a year. And my TV watching is more deliberate now, since you CHOOSE a show.

Was this review helpful? (154) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eye4graphics
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great upgrade from watching on the Wii
3/23/2013

Customer review by Kermit4423

4.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Kermit4423
by Kermit4423

I absolutely love this picture is clear and crisp no freezing and almost no load time the only draw back is there is no power button to turn it off. There are a lot of free channels.

Was this review helpful? (72) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kermit4423
belvidere, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why pay for cable
3/31/2013

Customer review by Poochie23

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Poochie23
by Poochie23

I purchase the roku 3 because, I cancel my cable. If you have internet service or fios or cable. You should try this product, it will save you hundred of dollars.

Was this review helpful? (86) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poochie23
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great option for soaring satellite and cable costs
3/27/2013

Customer review by Drummer71913

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by Drummer71913
by Drummer71913

I searched for a replacement to our ridiculous satellite bills. And found this little jewel. I have Hulu+ and Netflix subscriptions, and with all the free "networks" that are preloaded in this item, there is plenty of channels to search from for entertainment.. The Roku3 is a snap to set up, and after about an hour of going thru all the channel options to set up my channels I was watching TV in 1080p with no glitches... I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (186) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drummer71913
Hot Springs, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Can't Leave The House!!! :)
6/2/2013

Customer review by RAYT721

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by RAYT721
by RAYT721

I figured that I could buy it and always return it if it didn't suit my needs. I had heard that short of streaming pay subscription services (Netflix/HuluPlus) that it was a pretty useless device. Well, it would appear the people telling me that didn't have or hadn't ever seen a Roku 3. I am so hooked on some of the strangest channels which are completely free. You will need to buy an HDMI cable and make sure your television accepts HDMI, which I have. Not only can you pull the channels from the Roku once it is connected but there seems to be more channels available online through Roku's website (or at least things that I hadn't noticed) and you can find private channels that you can load in from external internet sources. Now, granted you do not have access to your local channels but those are available through your cable or digital antenna. I signed up for a huluplus account because we are more into tv than movies (Netflix). I just loaded a channel from MIT with actual classroom style lectures from the university. I loaded Crackle, a free movie channel, and several food and recipe channels not on our cable provider's roster of channels. I am very pleased with this $100 purchase (one time - no fees until you sign up for services like Epix, Netflix, HuluPlus, etc. Go for it!!!

Was this review helpful? (107) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAYT721
Cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definite savings without compromise
11/5/2013

Customer review by Born4Bargnz

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Born4Bargnz
by Born4Bargnz

This is a fantastic item. The choices and quality is better than cable. There is NO monthly charge. You do have the option of buying on demand or buying paid subscriptions for example hulu plus, netflix and so many more. I love this model with the optional headphone slot in the remote which mutes to all except the headphone listener, My only wish is that the remote could also control the tv to power on and off. (It controls volume). If they could add this you could operate with one remote. The only other thing which would be good is if you chose to purchase an additional remote to be able to have two viewers with headphones. (I called and they said that woould not work) Another great feature is the ability to use your smartphone to browse, pause etc., no volume control. I am very happy with this purchase and wish I had cancelled cable sooner.

Was this review helpful? (85) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Born4Bargnz
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Go with XBOX - you will probably be happier
6/7/2014

Customer review by czarmom

1.0 stars 6/7/2014 by czarmom
by czarmom

I have just packaged up my Roku to take back to the store in the morning. I am VERY VERY disappointed to say the least. This was not all like the ads, website and reviews were suggesting. I will preface by giving you our TV habits - son watches Walking Dead, husband watches mainly MLB, NFL, college basketball/football and some pro basketball, daughter accesses PBS Kids, Sprout and Nick Jr. & I watch Duck Dynasty, some things on the OWN network and cooking shows. Our tv's are not on 24/7. Majority of TV time on is on Netflix or XBox 360 & One and even that is mainly done by my older boys. With that said, here are the top 10 reasons why I am returning my Roku and things that you should know if you are considering Roku but wouldn't necessarily find out if you haven't talked to someone who actually owns one. 1. You need to link a credit card to the account in order to set up. You can remove it later, but then can't subscribe/purchase any channels that require subscribing/purchasing. 2. They do reserve the right to share all your info. The terms and conditions was quite lengthy but the jist was yes we reap info from you both anonymous and not via cookies and our own monitoring of our software and equipment and other 3rd party vendors do the same. We see what you are watching/downloading/subscribing to as well as look at your online activity to see what your interests are. (that was a turn off for me right away but I did want to give Roku a fair shake so I continued) 3. Setup was very easy, self explanatory. I have a wireless connection and it found my router no problem. Hookup was also easy with just plugging in the power cord and an HDMI cable (which it does NOT come with). Batteries for the Roku remote do come with it. 4. If a channel says "free" it may not be free. There were channels that you were able to pick from in the online setup that stated they were free but when you go into your channels later you find out that some have a free trial period before a subscription begins. It does not tell you that when you click "add channel". I was leery about the trial ending and them automatically billing me without me realizing it. It is a bit fuzzy on if you remove a channel does the trial period give way to the regular subscription anyway. It does say that removing a channel does not mean you have cancelled the subscription, you have to go directly to that channel provider for that (not sure what that means). You have the option in setup to use a pin in one of 3 ways - 1. for channel purchase/subscriptions, 2. for channel purchase/subscriptions and anytime you add a channel, 3. for adding a channel (I believe but I could be wrong on this one). We chose #2 but it just asks for your email and password and does not state if you are just adding a channel or if there are costs involved. Sneaky if you ask me. 5. If you subscribe to a channel for say a yearly subscription and then a few months in realize you don't like it you can cancel it but your subscription and it's fees stay in place until the subscription time period is up. So if you are in 2 months of a 12 month sub you still have to pay for it for the next 10 months even if you don't access it. Not something I was happy with. 6. Some free channels still want you to give them your personal info/email before you can access their channel. I tried accessing the free PBS Kids but unless I gave them my email they would not continue to the channel. Some channels need you to go online to a given website and "register" before you can use it, like Pandora. Again, stating "free" but not really being free or free but you have to give them all your personal data. No thanks. 7. Some channels with movies have commercials in the movies. We added the popcorn movie channel and it wasn't into a kids movie 5 minutes and a commercial came up - no warning, just popped right up. I am not happy with that since the one that popped up had a police car with sirens blazing and startled my 7 year old daughter. I backed it out as quickly as I could so I have no idea what the commercial was for. Not. Cool. 8. Not a lot of channels I am familiar with and those that I did (A&E, History, ESPN, etc...) required you to have a tv subscription before you could access it. Like, duh, that is why I bought Roku so I would NOT have to subscribe to cable! Seems like the majority of channels were religious (409), Indie films, horror or more adult than anything. That's not my preferences so that was a big letdown. 9. Website was hard to find all the information on. As I referenced before, it was hard to tell what channels were really free and what ones were free trials with subscriptions to follow. Also had to access the Search to find answers to things like "how to remove a channel" when IMHO that should be already on there. 10. There is pretty much no free live TV or streaming. The majority, if not all, of the things on the free channels was archived videos, even the news. My XBox already has my son's subscription to Netflix and I can access live ESPN coverage through it at no extra cost (he has an xbox live account). It is also easier to find things and is very clear on if something costs money or not right up front. So, bottom line is that I am very sad this did not work out but I am going to regain my $100 (Roku 3) and use my XBox and antennae to watch what I need to and STILL ditch cable :-D

Was this review helpful? (103) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
czarmom
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outdated Netflix internal menu is awful!!!
9/1/2013

Customer review by baccusboy

3.0 stars 9/1/2013 by baccusboy
by baccusboy

I bought the Roku 3 in the USA while on vacation, and tried it out for a week at my parent's house before returning it to Wal-mart. I would like to offer my honest pros and cons about the unit. Pros: Very fast and smooth -- best out there in terms of speed. Headset feature is great, and may make it a must-buy if you need this feature. Solid unit. Instant-on is nice (see cons). More channels than you'll know what to do with (actually, you'll end up ignoring them -- see cons). Smooth and clean playback on Netflix and other apps. Useful apps include Netflix, Amazon, PBS and PBS Kids, Fox News, NBC News as a few examples (but past that, not many others are useful -- keep reading). Cons: Netflix menu is old, outdated, and in serious need of updating. We own the cheap (and sometimes unreliable) RCA player, and it's now our go-to for the family room again, because the Roku Netflix menu is really poor, has no Netflix Kids option, and doesn't show much on the screen. The competition all use menus that can be updated by Netflix, but Roku hasn't updated theirs in gosh knows how long. They're still stuck on text options for episodes, while even the RCA shows stillframe clips from each episode. This is a big deal to my 4 year-old, who loves picking which episode she wants, based on the pics. Also, the Roku Netflix menu does not allow automatic advance (another big deal for kids). Really, Roku was "the king" for quite a while, but it seems that king needs to do some serious updating on the Netflix side. So if you're buying for Netflix -- look elsewhere! Missing Youtube is a MASSIVE hole (YT offers many shows for free you'd otherwise pay for using Roku apps), BUT the TWONKY app allows it to work with your phone. Although nice, the main page interface is more about filling half of your screen with an ad, NOT proving you with a better overall interface. Fancy new search feature isn't what it's billed to be... in fact, it is generally geared toward billed content, and didn't find the "free" search items in my apps hardly ever -- even when listed directly on the free apps I'd downloaded. Instant-on is nice, but eats watts even when not in use, which adds up over time (no way to turn it off). Virtually all of the "free" channels are useless, and contain garbage blog content or 1940's B-movie junk that few care about (many apps offer barely a few of these garbage movies, along with an up-sell to subscribe). Apps by some companies, like Disney, are nothing more than a few short snippets of shows with an opportunity to buy the channel. I am glad I bought this at Wal-Mart! I returned my Roku 3 and ordered a refurb Roxu XS online because the Roku 3's wall adapter is 110v only. The older XS is 110/220v capable. I was somewhat disappointed in the content. For all of the hype about 500+ channels, what you end up with these days is about 490 worthless channels of sample b-movies and home-made blog videos out there as carrots, followed by asking you to pay money to see more. In all seriousness, many of these channels offered as few as 3 snippets or actual full episodes of very old content while asking you to buy the channel! For one, I like to watch network news shows that I missed (CBS, ABC, Fox, NBC), and it seems like the networks have gone out of their way to delete or dilute previously-provided apps which allow you to watch past news content. Really, the more useful things left in terms of news content are Fox News, NBC, and maybe PBS. Obviously, the networks have really come to view devices by Roku, WDLive, Google TV, Netgear, D-Link, RCA streamer, etc., as big competitors. You are left with having to get paid-for content via Hulu Plus or wherever. The remaining free network apps (and there are very few) will post some older/delayed video content as an something of a station-promoting afterthought. Gone are the days when we had multiple apps from the different news/network channels that were worth watching. I noticed CNN international does not work. I've actually found that using my tablet, hooked-up to my TV via HDMI connection, provides me MUCH more access to apps and video content from such network sources and programming (note that GoogleTV also gets blocked, so a tablet with full app store access is the way to go -- GoogleTV is too restricted). You can get a lot of free channels from the USTV app, for example. And as mentioned, because Roku does not support Youtube (and don't plan on it EVER being supported, despite claims), you are missing-out on freebees and entire series of shows that people upload. I find Youtube to be worth more than the endless wave of useless up-sell apps Roku has. I will also say that reviews from sites like CNET, hinting that the cheaper Roku 720p model is a better overall value, are very true. If you must get a Roku, and don't need to spend $100, spend just over $50 and get the cheapest. Same content, and barely perceptible jump in quality. The much-touted new menu/search features in the Roku 3 are not about making your life easier -- they're about pushing ads and paid content on you. With that said, the cheaper Roku's are being switched to this menu system soon anyway. So my advice: I've learned that I've better off with a tablet and the Google Play store (not Google TV, which is too restricted) for more useful content. Run a tablet to your TV via HDMI, or go with a cheaper competitor that's actually full 1080p. If you really want a set-top box for streaming shows, then go with a cheaper refurb XS or basic Roku HD, or a full 1080p competitor for 1/2 to 2/3 the price of the Roku 3. You won't be missing-out on anything in terms of the 500+ up-sell and content-starved apps offered by Roku's channel store. If you want overall ease of use family to watch paid services like Netflix, then go Roku. One final note -- it has become obvious to me that Roku is employing the use of companies that write scores of positive reviews of their units, and scores of negative reviews trashing the competition (my wife's previous job in the make-up industry hired companies to do this sort of thing, so I know all about how it works). Their favorite sites to do this on include Amazon and Wal-mart. I encourage you to look past this and try something cheaper. I also encourage you to buy your unit (Roku or otherwise) from a retailer like Target or Wal-mart, which have liberal return policies. Buy the Roku and a competitor or two and just return the ones you don't want. I think you'll find that the Roku doesn't live up to the hype (and you'll miss Youtube's content, unless you try another brand). Remember, you can always return the units if they don't work. So that gives you no other reason NOT to try the competition, enjoy better 1080p quality for less, and have Youtube. So that's my honest advice ... buy a few of these from different competitors and return what you don't like. Give them at least a week of honest use before doing so. Also, compare them against simply plugging-in a tablet via HDMI. Depending on your desired use, you might be surprised by the outcome of what you decide to keep.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baccusboy
Ankeny, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
3/27/2013

Customer review by 2dayand4ever

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by 2dayand4ever
by 2dayand4ever

We've enjoyed having this product and love the fact that we can pick and choose what we want to watch without being made to take a certain package.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2dayand4ever
Clover, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
3/27/2013

Customer review by Alex777

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by Alex777
by Alex777

I was not sure what to expect, but this device has surpassed my expectations. I am still finding out what it can do and it never ceases to amaze me. I was looking to drop my cable service and this fit the bill nicely. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alex777
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the Roku!
4/6/2013

Customer review by Marie108

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Marie108
by Marie108

Was looking at streaming devices for a while now. Decided to jump in once the Roku 3 came out and I'm so happy I did! I don't have cable and primarily watch movies. This was such an easy set up and am very impressed with the quality of the picture. I dropped my DVD Netflix subscription and kept my Netflix streaming service along with adding Hulu Plus. There is so much to choose from and I don't have to watch the terrible TV that is on the networks. Lots of great TV series that I missed or want to visit again. I highly recommend this device.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marie108
Western NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disagree with license agreement
1/7/2014

Customer review by Nobe4uby

1.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Nobe4uby
by Nobe4uby

This product was highly recommended to me, but, as I was making the last of the on-line set-up steps Roku required me to open an account with my credit card even before I may or may not make a future purchase. That was a turn off for me. Never heard of any one wanting your credit card number before you decided on a purchase. So I had no choice but to return it to Walmart. For others this may be no problem, especially if they are knowledgeable about what they want and expect. Roku should be more up front with their account requirements. Big waste of my time. I am not saying don't buy this product, just be aware of their requirements. Good luck and stay happy.

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nobe4uby
Plano, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/21/2013

Customer review by sparky114

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by sparky114
by sparky114

Like it very easy to start up and did not think it would be .

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparky114
Burlington , Ky .
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Investment So Far
7/30/2014

Customer review by dollarbill2

5.0 stars 7/30/2014 by dollarbill2
by dollarbill2

I am so glad to get this device and cut my cable bill. I just had to get a few more things to make it compatible with my sound bar and HDTV. But as far as watching most of the things I usually watch is very good. I also have my computer hook to my TV too!. This Roku 3 box was so easy to setup and download some free stations. I plan on purchasing Playon, so I can not spend anymore money on Netflix or Hulu Plus. I think this will definitely save me alot of money from comcast cable. My average bill was from $100 to $160 over the last 10 years, so I think they have gotten enough of my hard earned money for now. And even if you don't find all the channels that you usually watch on Roku, spend some time exercising or reading, or nurturing your online biz or something....Just make sure you understand that the Roku box does not turn off and can get pretty warm on the bottom. I have yet to see how long it will last, overrall a very good investment.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dollarbill2
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roku 3 Streaning player is a super product.
4/14/2013

Customer review by JimLa

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by JimLa
by JimLa

Easy to set up, good overall equipment and easy to set up. However the customer service contact with ROKU is poor. They won't return a call.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimLa
Dublin Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy!
3/26/2013

Customer review by GoAvatar

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by GoAvatar
by GoAvatar

Love the family movies and shows that are available. Grandkids love playing Angry Birds! Also with hours we work using the headset is great so it doesn't disturb anyone else while watching TV.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoAvatar
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 26754 total reviews
1-20 of 26754 reviews