Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26819 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26819 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26819 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17498
4 stars
6337
3 stars
1546
2 stars
686
1 stars
752
1-20 of 26784 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26784 total reviews
1-20 of 26784 reviews
This was a well spent $99.00+taxes
6/20/2013

Customer review by Mojah

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Mojah
by Mojah
Top 1000 contributor

My sister and I decided to finally let go of traditional cable television to save money. I research this device and decided to try it. Delivery was on time, packaging was simple and nice. Set up was so easy I was tickled pink. It took me all of 10 mins. If you already have netflix or hulu etc. Have your passwords at hand and that makes setup faster. Now let's talk the device. It is wonderfully small and compact. The remote control is simple and easy to use. It comes with a pre-loaded game and it's been fun playing it. The "channels" are easy to find. Some do require you to sign up online with a credit card. The "channel" is free but not all the contents. There is always new content to access. You also have a selection of screen savers as well. I use the clock one. I decided to pack up the Roku box and take it on my trip to see my children. I hate the television options in the hotel and I like to fall asleep with the TV on. It was a breeze to connect the box to the tv in the room and Viola!! I was watching movies. Oh Don't forget your HDMI cable. When my grandson came over I connected the headphones to the remote and he was happily watching Thomas and friends while we visited with everyone. After that my sister had to have one of her own. The good--- easy to use, easy to set up, easy to maintain. Love the headphone connection in the remote. The bad--- Not Roku's fault unable to connect to hbo2go via Direct TV ( I use a friend's password); Sometimes you experience sound distortion but I experienced the same via my laptop so I believe it's my internet provider. The Okay--- It never turns off but the specs say that it doesn't use much electricity.

Was this review helpful? (637) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mojah
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
DOA
3/25/2014

Customer review by CTSpeed413

1.0 stars 3/25/2014 by CTSpeed413
by CTSpeed413

I can't give it a fair review until it is repaired. It doesn't work yet.... Hopefully I can update the review once it works. If we get it fixed or replaced, I will either update this one or post a better one

CTSpeed413
Tampa, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Roku 3 rocks!!!!
3/22/2013

Customer review by MarineCorpsfamily

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by MarineCorpsfamily
by MarineCorpsfamily
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although I had the Roku 2 HD, I had to invest in the Roku 3. With the Roku 2, I had to search individual channels for a specific program to watch, but with the Roku 3, you can search the Roku screen, which in turn, will list all the channels that are showing the specific show you are interested in watching. In addition, I have a 7.1 surround system and with the Roku 3, I can know listen to the 7.1 sound if the show is available in 7.1 sound. The download time is faster and the Roku 3 has not froze like the Roku 2. There are other cool features too like the screen savers, games, etc., but I do not care too much for those features; although, the fish tank screen saver is nice, especially when you run it on your flat screen; my grandchildren thought I replaced my tv with a fish tank. There is also the ability to plug in a USB device and a memory card so you can watch your own movies, pictures, etc.; which is also an awesome feature.

Was this review helpful? (488) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarineCorpsfamily
Viera, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Investment So Far
7/30/2014

Customer review by dollarbill2

5.0 stars 7/30/2014 by dollarbill2
by dollarbill2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so glad to get this device and cut my cable bill. I just had to get a few more things to make it compatible with my sound bar and HDTV. But as far as watching most of the things I usually watch is very good. I also have my computer hook to my TV too!. This Roku 3 box was so easy to setup and download some free stations. I plan on purchasing Playon, so I can not spend anymore money on Netflix or Hulu Plus. I think this will definitely save me alot of money from comcast cable. My average bill was from $100 to $160 over the last 10 years, so I think they have gotten enough of my hard earned money for now. And even if you don't find all the channels that you usually watch on Roku, spend some time exercising or reading, or nurturing your online biz or something....Just make sure you understand that the Roku box does not turn off and can get pretty warm on the bottom. I have yet to see how long it will last, overrall a very good investment.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dollarbill2
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love Roku 3 on our old tv ... now smart tv
12/7/2014

Customer review by OriginalFrosty

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by OriginalFrosty
by OriginalFrosty

We love our new Roku 3 added on to our 7 year old LCD TV. It works great. The pictures on all channels are very clear, many are 1080p HD. Practically no distortion at all, and the sound is great on our tv. Very easy set up if you just read and follow the directions. After connecting to our wifi network, and registering on roku.com, and adding the channels you want during the registration, we were on the tv watching movie channels. Just be careful you don't go too fast and "OK" a "pay charge" movie or you will be charged on your card for that movie. We also got the two year replacement warranty suggested by another reviewer, a great idea just in case... cost about $10. Just spent time adding more channels ... free movies, food, fitness, history, reality tv and more, and have 25 channels (all free) and I have owned this Roku 3 for only one day now! This thing is great and recommend to everyone, even smart tv owners - then you'd have a real smart tv!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OriginalFrosty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy "Cord Cutter"
4/12/2013

Customer review by eye4graphics

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by eye4graphics
by eye4graphics
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like my Roku. I'm a month in. The delivery to my local Walmart was days ahead of schedule and the product arrived in mint condition. If you had a major "cable-type" system, it pays for itself in a month. What I miss from DirectTV: Watching NBA and Golf channels; DVRing shows. TV network shows. Some of these things can be watched jumping through the correct hoops. I am computer savvy enough that I'll likely do this later. For now, I am more than content to watch the series shows from Walking Dead to Breaking Bad, that I never watched. I love not paying $90 a month for cable. My average spend on the Roku, even if I watch every pay-per-view movie I wanted, still averages out to less than about a third of what I would have spent with Direct. From nearly $1,200 to less than $300 a year. And my TV watching is more deliberate now, since you CHOOSE a show.

Was this review helpful? (170) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eye4graphics
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definite savings without compromise
11/5/2013

Customer review by Born4Bargnz

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Born4Bargnz
by Born4Bargnz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a fantastic item. The choices and quality is better than cable. There is NO monthly charge. You do have the option of buying on demand or buying paid subscriptions for example hulu plus, netflix and so many more. I love this model with the optional headphone slot in the remote which mutes to all except the headphone listener, My only wish is that the remote could also control the tv to power on and off. (It controls volume). If they could add this you could operate with one remote. The only other thing which would be good is if you chose to purchase an additional remote to be able to have two viewers with headphones. (I called and they said that woould not work) Another great feature is the ability to use your smartphone to browse, pause etc., no volume control. I am very happy with this purchase and wish I had cancelled cable sooner.

Was this review helpful? (91) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Born4Bargnz
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Vudu Channel, No HBOGO Channel - No Good!
8/23/2013

Customer review by davidspro

1.0 stars 8/23/2013 by davidspro
by davidspro

I bought this device specifically to stream VUDU and HBOGO, as I currently use a BluRay player and a Laptop to do both and figured this would make my life easier. I'm one day in and still do not have either channel offered in the Channel Menu. Its as if they don't exist. I've looked for support online and have found others with similar situations, but no resolution. My firmware is up to date! I decided to restore the system to its factory settings and start all over, hoping these channels might appear. To my surprise, the Roku box fired up and now the remote control doesn't work, so I cannot get past the language selection option. My BluRay and Laptop system were far superior. For whatever reason, my box does not come with the 2 channels I most desired and there are no instructions on how to make them available. Too much frustration. I am a video professional and use this kind of equipment all the time. I can't imagine what a lay person would go through with this!

Was this review helpful? (24) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davidspro
Parsippany, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Row row rowing down the Roku stream...
11/12/2014

Customer review by orionlexijordan

5.0 stars 11/12/2014 by orionlexijordan
by orionlexijordan

Our household did away with cable this past summer and went with an antenna (2 channels). My teenage daughter decided to get Netflix through our Wii and kept it in her room. I was using my laptop for the living room but that was very inconvenient due to using the laptop for my work. Soooooo.... with a little research I decided to go with the Roku 3. It was easy to set up. (The only bump in the set up was my daughter couldn't think of her Netflix info). There is so much to explore with this little box, I haven't had the time to just sit and go through all of the channels. I LOVE the setting that you MUST have a PIN # to add more channels. My 9 year old son is Autistic and has messed around with settings on many electronics in the past. So far he has not added or tried charging any channel. Also. there's a headphone jack on the remote which we both really like. I like this product so much I'm looking into getting the streaming stick for my bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orionlexijordan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best for.....
4/15/2013

Customer review by DoctorVa

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by DoctorVa
by DoctorVa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In my opinion the Roku is best for people who do not want the limited access the Apple TV allows you to have. You can do view the same things on both but the Roku allows you to install more apps. This 1080p is amazing and if you have the bandwidth it will blow your mind. Not turning off the unit gets some use to but it uses less power than a low watt bulb. The radio controller is awesome sine you don't have to point it at the unit but I did wish it had a backlight to show you what buttons you're pushing, but like most remotes you get use to it and it does matter anymore. The Roku is perfect for those who want a different choice, the radio stations is a great feature. Adding I heart radio, spotify and pandora is a great bonus for parties or for people living where the radio signal is poor to none existant. Buy one and you'll see why this device has been given so many awards.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorVa
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
7/18/2016

Customer review by agent9

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by agent9
by agent9

Stop paying for cable years ago back and will never go back. Very happy to discover streaming last year. Add to your flat screen to turn into a smart TV. Comes with some games. Holds internet connection better than my smart TV. Great when for parents who don't allow their children to become programed TV drones with hideous attention span problems due to TV addictions. Just unplug the device when you want to unplug the kids. and make them read, play outside, do arts and crafts so they are mentally stimulated and can develop human skills like how to communicate properly and effectively and critical thinking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agent9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HDMI cable Warning
4/15/2013

Customer review by Iuseroku

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Iuseroku
by Iuseroku
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my 3rd Roku box and I like the product and have had no problems.... that I couldn't solve. After installatiuon,Roku 3 would not work properly, wouldn't stream movies and kept generating HDCP errors. Anyhow it turns out that all HDMI cables are not the same ! The HDMI cable I used with older Roku box wouldn't work with the Roku 3. Solution: Insure you use an HDMI cable labelled as "HIGH SPEED" I bought one at Walmart for $10 and this solved my problem; it was not presented as a solution by the Roku website help desk. The radio wave feature means u dont have to point controller directly at the box (as with infra red)...this is nice and so is the earphone capability for listening to TV without bothering others. I am now quite pleased with the Roku 3 box and have beautiful HD reception on my TV

Was this review helpful? (271) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iuseroku
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good Product
3/28/2016

Customer review by RandyM

4.0 stars 3/28/2016 by RandyM
by RandyM

The article here as written is not correct. Roku 4 has been available for a while now. It has more speed than Roku 3 and supports 4K Ultra-HD if needed. But works fine on HD TV's of today. It is way faster than my LG Smart TV and has a voice search which is nice. However the remote is very basic with some items that are promotional built into the remote. Also the remote only controls the Roku device. I use a Harmony 880 which works on the Roku and all my devices. Don't forget this system is free after the purchase but it is more of a search engine to take you to subscription providers like Amazon, Hulu, Netflix, Sling and others where subscription fee's are required. And they are not all alike. As far as seeing programs you missed many are not available. I will say this if you are cutting the cable. This is a good choice but there will be some programming that is not available or very delayed. BTW: Roku 4 has some complaints of a noisy fan even when not in use. It can be programmed to automatically turn off and to me is not noisy anyway.

RandyM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One slight problem.
3/21/2016

Customer review by Sherlock1

4.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Sherlock1
by Sherlock1

I have used the Roku 3 player to get TV News and Netflix movies for less then a month. One problem; I had to get a second remote sent to me after the remote that came in the box with initial Roku purchase needed to be replaced (because of a faulty Headphone Jack). Now I have similar headphone jack problems with second remote. Can't say more right now given I finally got my headphone set to work with replacement remote after a long trial and error process of reengaging the plug for over an hour. Now I leave headphones plugged into the replacement remote specifically to listen to movies at night and not disturb my wife, and, use the first remote to watch all other Roku selections throughout the day when Headphones are not required. Note: Similar problems with headphone set that came in box with Roku unit and my own headphone set purchased separately more than two years ago that have worked fine otherwise when used with other phones, etc.

Sherlock1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice concept if you understand what you're getting
9/23/2013

Customer review by daleebread

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by daleebread
by daleebread
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The ROKU concept is a good one. The device does what it's supposed to do. The ROKU device itself is great. The user interface is very easy to use and looks beautiful on my TV screen. However, you need to know/understand that it is no way a replacement for cable/satellite TV. This is purely a streaming device that allows you to download and play internet-based programming on your television--IF you have existing subscriptions to the providers of the programming. The providers of the programming (e.g. HBOGO, Netflix, Hulu) and the owners of specific programs have restrictions and limitations. For example, I was chagrined to learn that--even though I am a Hulu subscriber--I cannot download my favorite Food Network show "Chopped" to ROKU and watch it on TV. That particular show is only playable on a computer. Another example is that though I am an HBO subscriber, I cannot play HBOGO programming through my ROKU because my subscription is through DirecTV (apparently, if I got HBO-and HBOGO- through Time Warner Cable, I would be able to). So, you need to understand that you must be equipped with existing subscriptions to premium programming (through "the right" providers) in order to fully exploit what ROKU is.

Was this review helpful? (301) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daleebread
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great device, with one small but important issue.
2/18/2015

Customer review by scottyearton

4.0 stars 2/18/2015 by scottyearton
by scottyearton

We are very happy overall with virtually everything about the Roku3 that we recently bought. The range of content offerings is awesome, and the speed and responsiveness is very impressive. The interface is smooth and intuitive. The remote is great, and the addition of the headphone jack on the remote is a really cool feature. We are however, having one small but troublesome issue. At least once a day, sometimes more often, we have to unplug the power and HDMI cables and re-plug them in because the box loses the ability to display video. Sound comes through fine, but an error screen is displayed in place of video. Disconnecting and reconnecting the device always fixes it, and in our case it's not overly difficult to do, but I'd really like to see the issue fixed. I've done some research online and this seems to be a widespread issue, but no one has found a permanent solution. Even so, I'd still recommend the Roku3, as long as the buyer knows they may have this extra maintenance to do.

scottyearton
Jefferson City, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I Can't Leave The House!!! :)
6/2/2013

Customer review by RAYT721

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by RAYT721
by RAYT721

I figured that I could buy it and always return it if it didn't suit my needs. I had heard that short of streaming pay subscription services (Netflix/HuluPlus) that it was a pretty useless device. Well, it would appear the people telling me that didn't have or hadn't ever seen a Roku 3. I am so hooked on some of the strangest channels which are completely free. You will need to buy an HDMI cable and make sure your television accepts HDMI, which I have. Not only can you pull the channels from the Roku once it is connected but there seems to be more channels available online through Roku's website (or at least things that I hadn't noticed) and you can find private channels that you can load in from external internet sources. Now, granted you do not have access to your local channels but those are available through your cable or digital antenna. I signed up for a huluplus account because we are more into tv than movies (Netflix). I just loaded a channel from MIT with actual classroom style lectures from the university. I loaded Crackle, a free movie channel, and several food and recipe channels not on our cable provider's roster of channels. I am very pleased with this $100 purchase (one time - no fees until you sign up for services like Epix, Netflix, HuluPlus, etc. Go for it!!!

Was this review helpful? (113) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAYT721
Cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best VALUE, Highest SPEED, Outstanding QUALITY
1/9/2015

Customer review by Gerry13

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Gerry13
by Gerry13

I have been a Roku customer since the Roku 2 came online. This NEW Roku 3 is VASTLY SUPERIOR to the #2!! I would say the Roku 3 gives the greatest value of any similar device! It has a simple highly intuitive interface. It is exceptionally easy to use and the improved features of the remote control are most surprising! Especially valuable is the ear bud jack that mutes the TV when family members are trying to sleep! Hands down the download speeds are the fastest I've ever experienced for this kind of device including OTHER manufacturers. Overall the device itself, and the hand control are manufactured to outstanding quality control standards, and despite the dog's appetite and an infant that has developed a powerful affinity to chew and droll all over the control, it functions perfectly!! The Quality, Speed of Operation, and VALUE are truly exceptional and this doesn't begin to take into account the powerful customer service department in the rare event some assistance is needed!

Gerry13
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good and very very pleased.
1/9/2014

Customer review by Christine

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Christine
by Christine

I bought this in order to access Netflix from my Samsung HD ready (5ys old) tv and not have to use a laptop. I opted for the 3 as it offered youtube/netflix in addition to the wireless and faster processing speed. It has met all my expectations regarding the faster processing speed, Netflix is better than on my other samsung (1yr old)smart tv and processing speed is much much smoother than my humax. As for the apps for my son who is autistic and loves lego 'Brick show' is perfect. I would have like to have the option to see more detail on apps regarding whether they are completely free/ free but with option to remove adds instead of having to go through every app or to remember what app offers what, an option to see what has been watched i.e watched Storm Warrior but now can't find what app i watched it on, also paying for an app but not having to go on a website and sign up and there is no terms and conditions as to cancelling you subscription i.e. Urbanpix. Other than that very happy.

Christine
London, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not quite
8/5/2013

Customer review by HardDarkCleanPower

4.0 stars 8/5/2013 by HardDarkCleanPower
by HardDarkCleanPower

This is the second Roku I've tried to add to my system, and the second one that I've decided against. If you don't have a PS3 or Xbox 360 with a Live Gold account, or an Apple TV, this is a great add-on to any system. However, compared to the PS3 NetFlix app, I find the box good but not great. It has a great many choices, but I'm really only interested in 3 of them and they are all available on PS3 (NetFlix, Amazon, Crackle). But what really turned me against it was that I kept getting a HDCP error when trying to watch movies. I could switch resolution or turn the device on and off, but ultimately I was disappointed with this issue. I did some searches and found I wasn't alone. In summary, I think it is a great box, but that it didn't add significantly to the capability that I already had on the PS3. If I didn't have it, I would have tried harder to deal with the error I was getting. I do think it is a better way to stream video than the built in apps on my Blu-ray player or Television.

HardDarkCleanPower
Ventura, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 26784 total reviews
1-20 of 26784 reviews