Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 112 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
Sony BVDE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System
1/12/2016

Customer review by Joej

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Joej
by Joej

I got this product a few weeks ago but was compelled to return it due to its very poor performance. I connected the digital optical cord from the Disc Player to my LG Smart TV. Surprisingly the volume must be raised to 10 before you can hear any audio sound; The volume max is capped at 33...which is very ridiculous; The 1000 watt it claims it has is a joke compared to the LGLHB655 3D Blu-Ray/DVD Home Theater System of the same audio power I bought later. When you turn on your TV and the Disc Player at the same time, it takes up to 70 seconds for you to hear the TV audio..........very disappointing. I will not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/14/2016

Hello Joej, thank you for your message. SONY takes into consideration all good or bad feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. However, to troubleshoot it, check the link below: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38377. -Oscar.

Joej
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Nice Blu-ray Home Theater System!
4/21/2013

Customer review by beyedup

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by beyedup
by beyedup

I just purchased this product after upgrading to a LED TV and seeking a better sound than the stock TV speakers. After setting it up, which was very simple, I found that this product has so many options for customizing the sound, steam video and/or music. The UI is basically the same as the Sony PlayStation 3. Some feature are the digital FM tuner that allows 20 presets. Which allows this unit to double as a home stereo too. Speaker setup variations. Whether you want all front facing or side mounted speakers . And the ability to set the speaker depth range for an increased listening pleasure. You get the internet browser when hooked up on a WIFI network. Front facing USB port. It has different sound and EQ settings. These are just some of the many features this system has. Overall, this is a very great sounding system. It is definitely worth the $248 I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (167) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beyedup
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic System
1/7/2016

Customer review by SherG

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by SherG
by SherG

This system has been very enjoyable. The sound quality is all that I hoped for. I do wish the speaker wire was not connected to the speakers because you are limited where you hang them by the length of the wire. Also, the blue tooth feature has a slight delay when using a smart phone connection. However, I can live with that slight inconveneince. For the price of this product, the quality exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SherG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no sound for tv
2/7/2016

Customer review by PreciousChihuahua

3.0 stars 2/7/2016 by PreciousChihuahua
by PreciousChihuahua

We bought our tv RCA in 2008. Might be the problem. We cannot get any sound just watching regular tv thru to he systems speakers. Can any one help me out with this?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PreciousChihuahua
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Value!
10/29/2014

Customer review by DiggsYankees

5.0 stars 10/29/2014 by DiggsYankees
by DiggsYankees
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read the instructions carefully, do not call tech support. I made that mistake after a half hour with the 1st tech who barely spoke english and who I seriously doubt he has ever seen nor used a surround sound system. I asked if I speak to someone who knew what he was doing he hung up on me. I called back and got a guy from USA and he tried walking me through the instructions that he seemed to be reading for the 1st time, at every opportunity he could imagine, he would say "there you go!" acting as if all was working well. I have a Sony Bravia TV which should be a match for the system. We couldn't get the sound to come out of the surround system. Every time he heard sound from the TV he would say "OK we got it!" no we didn't. When his shift was ending, he asked for my email and said he would research this and get back to me. It's been 2 weeks and I have not heard a word. I figured out it was a less than high quality HDMI cable that didn't communicate both ways. It is needed for the "ARC" setup of the Sony system. I switched out cable and the system works great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiggsYankees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Theater System
12/18/2015

Customer review by kamerond349

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by kamerond349
by kamerond349

This Home Theater System is amazing! Attacking bass that's shaking my bedroom, surround sound that keeps me terrified while playing horror games. I had two HT systems and they were nothing like this. I opened the box, and set up everything, the surround sound speakers were so short only by a few inches for my room so I had to splice them. I turned on the bluetooth and played music through it. My eyes lit up when I heard the subwoofer deliver that powerful bass, even to how small it was. The speakers were also pretty clear. To Sony: This System is Amazing

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kamerond349
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but could be much better with a few tweaks
8/26/2013

Customer review by dkachel

4.0 stars 8/26/2013 by dkachel
by dkachel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit is very easy to set up and configure. The sound is great and it plays DVDs and Blu-Rays great. Only negatives are that the speaker wires are a bit short for setting up in a larger room. Our family room is 16X24. I made it work, but would have had to cut the speaker wires and splice in extensions to get the speaker to where the old speakers were located. I believe the length of the front speaker wires were about 10 feet and the rear speaker wires were about 25 feet. The other feature I thought was there but was not, was an HDMI input. Would really have liked this but I guess you have to spend more to get that. BTW. great for playing all your media streaming including Netflix, Hulu, Pandora, etc. Included built in WiFi which was easy to configure. Great overall unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (73) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkachel
Lititz, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system. But needs some work in the manual..
8/26/2015

Customer review by DSpach

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by DSpach
by DSpach

This is my second Sony Theater System. And I love it. I have only had it a week. And happy with Quality vs. Price. Can't compare it to a high-end unit that is separate components but for $300 it is just what my family needs. As I noted though, the manual doesn't cover all the options, especially the 2d-3d conversion. I just happened to figure it out on my own by playing around with buttons. So if anyone is needing help with that just let me know. The other issue is related to the 2d-3d conversion. Again this would be very good to include in the manual or on a support page. I found that blurays converted to 3d without any issue, but stuck my dvds in and I got a headache from all the jitter and shaking on the video. I finally noticed that when I converted to 3d the dvds were going into 1080i mode. I finally found that under the Sony player settings I could change the resolution from (AUTO-Default# to 1080p #or 720p) and then the dvds played without the jitter and shake and looked great. So Just some things to think about in the manual.

DSpach
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value level system.
1/13/2015

Customer review by snoozalarm

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by snoozalarm
by snoozalarm

This system really was a steal for the 200 dollars I spent on it. Some people complained that the sound is not loud enough. That is a simple solution. You just need to turn up the volume for each speaker in the audio settings tab. I am not sure why they set the default at 0 on them but you can turn each individual speaker up to 5dB. Good luck and buy with confidence as this is a quality product from sony.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snoozalarm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent sound
8/21/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this for our bedroom, easy to setup and the sound is superb. Although i read some reviews that the system is not loud enough, i felt the same way at first but i was able to increase the level of the speakers in settings and boom it goes. Connecting to the internet via wifi is incredible and it comes with lots of media streaming apps, thumbs up sony.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm very pleased with this purchase!
5/18/2013

Customer review by Sharsong

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Sharsong
by Sharsong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to replace a failing Samsung home theater system and to get Blu-Ray and Wi-Fi together in one package. The set up was easy, it sounds wonderful and I am enjoying the Blu-ray movies. It has everything more expensive systems have, and is very reasonably priced. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and would absolutely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (90) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharsong
Antioch, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yeah, it's OK
9/8/2015

Customer review by jdiddy

3.0 stars 9/8/2015 by jdiddy
by jdiddy

Considering the price and going into it knowing it is a lower end unit, it's not too bad. The DVD player has some decent features, and the speakers sound nice in our theater room of the basement. Setup was fairly simple as well. The speakers may not sound as well in more of an open area, but again that is to be expected. The negatives to this setup are few, but are major considerations: First, there is NO HDMI input! This is very frustrating to have to swap the cord in and out when watching something from the computer, etc. Even though there is an audio in option, this is really made to be a output only DVD player. Second, this is not compatible with Sling TV. The list of installed apps is extensive, but realistically most people aren't going to use much more than netflix and possibly amazon. Doing away with the junk and replacing it with a couple of usable apps would have been better, but I'm sure it saved/made them money to do it the way it is. Oh, and the web browser is all but useless too, so don't plan on that overcoming the lack of an app. All in all if you want a truly good system with great sound and lots of options this isn't the one for you. If you're on a budget and just want a good sound for some action movies, football games and only need a very basic setup, you can't go wrong with this. Just know which category you are in before you buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/9/2015

Hello jdiddy! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, unfortunately depending on the model used some don't have the capability of using an HDMI input as an available source and as per the applications this model doesn't provide the option to delete or install applications since they are motified by the content providers or Sony directly, but we will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for future reference.~Jeannette

jdiddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BDVE2100
1/1/2016

Customer review by Paul

2.0 stars 1/1/2016 by Paul
by Paul

not the sound you would expect. to loud to hear The deep bass. Tech support say you might be charged for this call, it's not 1-800 # (really).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not play load enough to hear
12/29/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have always been a Sony guy. In fact, I just bought a 60" Sony smart tv a month ago and love it. I had a Sony sound system (DAV DZ175) for the past 3 years then the dvd player stopped working which is why I purchased this system. The volume must be on 22 to even hear it and when you turn it up loader than that it shuts off with an error ("push-power-protect"). I read where other people have had the same problem so I boxed it back up and purchased a Samsung HT-HM55 and it has worked well so far. Pretty much sounds like the Sony DZ175. I see where most people have given this item a 5 star review so maybe this problem doesn't affect all but it turned into a huge hassle for me. I'm done with Sony products!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
EXCELLENT SYSTEM
2/5/2014

Customer review by Gary1C

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Gary1C
by Gary1C

I bought this system for my new Vizio LED TV. I felt the standard speakers were just a little lacking. The system comes very well packed. It is fairly simple to hook up. It has a quick installation guide. There are many different options for synchronizing this system. The Blue Ray DVD Player is great. The speakers may look small but they are mighty. The reference manual is clear and concise. My only complaint is the rear speaker wire's could have been longer.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gary1C
Burlington Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor sound
12/16/2015

Customer review by Freddy3

3.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Freddy3
by Freddy3

Sound quality is poor, thought that with 1000 watts sound would be great. Also buttons in the receiver did not work properly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freddy3
Would recommend to a friend? No
low power
8/9/2014

Customer review by Longgonefun69

2.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Longgonefun69
by Longgonefun69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this Sony 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System to replace my old Sony DVD Surround Sound System (which I still have). It plays Blu-Ray's great! But it doesn't have the volume (Loudness) my old system had. Plus the wires weren't long enough to stretch out speakers to where the old ones were. Overall I am very disappointed with this system. Next time I'll just buy a sound bar, as they (The Geek Squad) ended up having to hook it up as a Stereo system because the speakers wouldn't spread out to the same place as the old speakers were. I was told I could splice the speaker wires to stretch them out,but the speakers are so weak now I'm afraid of the power lost I would have at the splices. I can play this system at full power. It's about 25% weaker!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Longgonefun69
Warren,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1000 Watt Wow
12/13/2015

Customer review by Gramaldi

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Gramaldi
by Gramaldi

This was easy to setup and connected to the internet immediately. Nice system with plenty of power.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gramaldi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/16/2013

Customer review by equ725

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by equ725
by equ725
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu- ray Home Theater System is great i can recomend it to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
equ725
Saipan, Northern Marianas Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Theater System
6/15/2013

Customer review by KJM365

5.0 stars 6/15/2013 by KJM365
by KJM365

I was looking for just a Blu-ray player with these features and found the home theater system. It was easy to set up and is working great. Great Price!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJM365
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews