Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 105 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

105 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

105 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 102 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Surrond sound is great, woofer needs an upgrade
3/5/2016

Customer review by JF245

4.0 stars 3/5/2016 by JF245
by JF245

I bought this for my theater room and the results are pretty good. The surround sound speakers are excellent, would definitely recommend them, however, the sub-woofer is sub par. In order for me to get the theater experience I had to purchase a separate sub-woofer. The woofer that comes with the unit can't handle the bass when the volume is turned up for that theater experience. It bogs down and rattles and begin to sound horrible. I purchased a high end Pioneer speaker and the results are phenomenal. I love the system, sounds amazing. It's loud, very loud actually and now the bass rumbles my furniture like I was wanting.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/5/2016

Hi JF245,<br />We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said onto proper department. Thank you for choosing Sony.<br />>Joffrey

JF245
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Blu-ray Home Theater System!
4/21/2013

Customer review by beyedup

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by beyedup
by beyedup

I just purchased this product after upgrading to a LED TV and seeking a better sound than the stock TV speakers. After setting it up, which was very simple, I found that this product has so many options for customizing the sound, steam video and/or music. The UI is basically the same as the Sony PlayStation 3. Some feature are the digital FM tuner that allows 20 presets. Which allows this unit to double as a home stereo too. Speaker setup variations. Whether you want all front facing or side mounted speakers . And the ability to set the speaker depth range for an increased listening pleasure. You get the internet browser when hooked up on a WIFI network. Front facing USB port. It has different sound and EQ settings. These are just some of the many features this system has. Overall, this is a very great sounding system. It is definitely worth the $248 I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (187) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beyedup
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unit Cuts off during DVD playback
6/21/2016

Customer review by UpsetDad

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by UpsetDad
by UpsetDad

I have purchased THREE units from Walmart. Yes they exchanged the units on the first two within a week of purchase date. I am on the third unit now. ALL of the systems have had issues with shutting off and rebooting during playback. You can watch 5 movies fine then suddenly the next couple of movies reboot in the middle of the movie sometimes only once but other times multiple. And these are New DVD's out of the wrapper without flaws .This is a bad Sony product from a normally reliable electronic company. Overall the sound and system are Ok for the average movie watcher as myself. And as other have said this is NOT a wireless speaker system. Third time was not the charm.....

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UpsetDad
Would recommend to a friend? No
SOUND SYSTEM
6/14/2016

Customer review by DAVID

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by DAVID
by DAVID
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GREAT SYSTEM EASY TO WORK WONDERFUL SOUND LOVE IT I HAVE TWO SYSTEMS IN MY HOME

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DAVID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value!
10/29/2014

Customer review by DiggsYankees

5.0 stars 10/29/2014 by DiggsYankees
by DiggsYankees
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read the instructions carefully, do not call tech support. I made that mistake after a half hour with the 1st tech who barely spoke english and who I seriously doubt he has ever seen nor used a surround sound system. I asked if I speak to someone who knew what he was doing he hung up on me. I called back and got a guy from USA and he tried walking me through the instructions that he seemed to be reading for the 1st time, at every opportunity he could imagine, he would say "there you go!" acting as if all was working well. I have a Sony Bravia TV which should be a match for the system. We couldn't get the sound to come out of the surround system. Every time he heard sound from the TV he would say "OK we got it!" no we didn't. When his shift was ending, he asked for my email and said he would research this and get back to me. It's been 2 weeks and I have not heard a word. I figured out it was a less than high quality HDMI cable that didn't communicate both ways. It is needed for the "ARC" setup of the Sony system. I switched out cable and the system works great.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiggsYankees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad experience
7/1/2016

Customer review by Mikmax

1.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Mikmax
by Mikmax

When I first bought this system I was pleased, but surprised that it does not sound like a 1000 watt system. Then I noticed the clunky menu system. Then the system started randomly resetting while I was watching a Blue Ray or DVD. This seems to be a fairly common problem with this system, and Sony has no fix for it. Randomly resetting occasionally would not bother me too much, but sometimes this happens several times during a single movie. Each time I have to go back and find my place in the movie. This problem became so bad that I have rigged my old BD/DVD player through the TV sound to the Sony in order to play BD/DVDs. This is NOT what I paid for. I have a Sony camera and I love it. I have a Sony Home Theater system and I hate it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/3/2016

Hi Mikmax. Thank you very much for your honest review regarding the device. We'll make sure that your feedback reaches the correct team for improvements. Best regards, -Mark

Mikmax
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good, but could be much better with a few tweaks
8/26/2013

Customer review by dkachel

4.0 stars 8/26/2013 by dkachel
by dkachel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit is very easy to set up and configure. The sound is great and it plays DVDs and Blu-Rays great. Only negatives are that the speaker wires are a bit short for setting up in a larger room. Our family room is 16X24. I made it work, but would have had to cut the speaker wires and splice in extensions to get the speaker to where the old speakers were located. I believe the length of the front speaker wires were about 10 feet and the rear speaker wires were about 25 feet. The other feature I thought was there but was not, was an HDMI input. Would really have liked this but I guess you have to spend more to get that. BTW. great for playing all your media streaming including Netflix, Hulu, Pandora, etc. Included built in WiFi which was easy to configure. Great overall unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (84) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkachel
Lititz, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yeah, it's OK
9/8/2015

Customer review by jdiddy

3.0 stars 9/8/2015 by jdiddy
by jdiddy

Considering the price and going into it knowing it is a lower end unit, it's not too bad. The DVD player has some decent features, and the speakers sound nice in our theater room of the basement. Setup was fairly simple as well. The speakers may not sound as well in more of an open area, but again that is to be expected. The negatives to this setup are few, but are major considerations: First, there is NO HDMI input! This is very frustrating to have to swap the cord in and out when watching something from the computer, etc. Even though there is an audio in option, this is really made to be a output only DVD player. Second, this is not compatible with Sling TV. The list of installed apps is extensive, but realistically most people aren't going to use much more than netflix and possibly amazon. Doing away with the junk and replacing it with a couple of usable apps would have been better, but I'm sure it saved/made them money to do it the way it is. Oh, and the web browser is all but useless too, so don't plan on that overcoming the lack of an app. All in all if you want a truly good system with great sound and lots of options this isn't the one for you. If you're on a budget and just want a good sound for some action movies, football games and only need a very basic setup, you can't go wrong with this. Just know which category you are in before you buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/9/2015

Hello jdiddy! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, unfortunately depending on the model used some don't have the capability of using an HDMI input as an available source and as per the applications this model doesn't provide the option to delete or install applications since they are motified by the content providers or Sony directly, but we will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for future reference.~Jeannette

jdiddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony BVDE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System
1/12/2016

Customer review by Joej

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Joej
by Joej

I got this product a few weeks ago but was compelled to return it due to its very poor performance. I connected the digital optical cord from the Disc Player to my LG Smart TV. Surprisingly the volume must be raised to 10 before you can hear any audio sound; The volume max is capped at 33...which is very ridiculous; The 1000 watt it claims it has is a joke compared to the LGLHB655 3D Blu-Ray/DVD Home Theater System of the same audio power I bought later. When you turn on your TV and the Disc Player at the same time, it takes up to 70 seconds for you to hear the TV audio..........very disappointing. I will not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/14/2016

Hello Joej, thank you for your message. SONY takes into consideration all good or bad feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. However, to troubleshoot it, check the link below: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38377. -Oscar.

Joej
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent sound
8/21/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this for our bedroom, easy to setup and the sound is superb. Although i read some reviews that the system is not loud enough, i felt the same way at first but i was able to increase the level of the speakers in settings and boom it goes. Connecting to the internet via wifi is incredible and it comes with lots of media streaming apps, thumbs up sony.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm very pleased with this purchase!
5/18/2013

Customer review by Sharsong

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Sharsong
by Sharsong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to replace a failing Samsung home theater system and to get Blu-Ray and Wi-Fi together in one package. The set up was easy, it sounds wonderful and I am enjoying the Blu-ray movies. It has everything more expensive systems have, and is very reasonably priced. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and would absolutely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (94) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharsong
Antioch, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
issues with shutting off during DVD playback
5/21/2016

Customer review by Brialdo

3.0 stars 5/21/2016 by Brialdo
by Brialdo

Overall this is a pretty decent system, with the noted exception of short speaker wires. the sound quality is very good, even though you have to turn it way up to get the full "theater" effect. This 1000 watt unit doesn't seem to have the same power as the 15 year old 200 watt amp it replaced. I am commenting, because i have had this less than two months now and the last three times I have used the player to play DVD's the unit has rebooted in the middle of the playback. Has anyone else experienced this?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brialdo
Would recommend to a friend? No
keeps shutting off during movies
3/1/2016

Customer review by riff

1.0 stars 3/1/2016 by riff
by riff

It will shut off completely during movie playback, have no clue why. Don't waste your money

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/2/2016

Hi riff, thank you for letting us know about this issue that you're having with your player. If the power for the stereo system turns off by itself, there may be a problem with the electrical power or a possible loose connection. We would like to recommend you to perform all the available steps through the link below. <br />https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42709/p/46871%2C74232%2C74608/c/65%2C66/kw/The%20power%20on%20the%20Blu-ray%20player%20turns%20off%20by%20itself. Your feedback and review is highly appreciated. Dave

riff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Player/Audio for the price.
3/21/2016

Customer review by digitizer

3.0 stars 3/21/2016 by digitizer
by digitizer

After adjusting audio settings, the volume level is quite high but hardly hear the rear surround. FLAC playback from USB only allowed through front speakers; no setting adjustment allowed. All blu ray audio and PCM going through all speakers nicely.. Streaming is fair on wifi; lots of buffering from Netflix at times. This unit is used in bedroom when main audio headphones (9.1) are charging.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
digitizer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value level system.
1/13/2015

Customer review by snoozalarm

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by snoozalarm
by snoozalarm

This system really was a steal for the 200 dollars I spent on it. Some people complained that the sound is not loud enough. That is a simple solution. You just need to turn up the volume for each speaker in the audio settings tab. I am not sure why they set the default at 0 on them but you can turn each individual speaker up to 5dB. Good luck and buy with confidence as this is a quality product from sony.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snoozalarm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System
4/27/2016

Customer review by jean

1.0 stars 4/27/2016 by jean
by jean

it did not work good I will be returning this item sounds like it only has 10 watts when the reading say it has 1000 . it shuts off all the time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/28/2016

Hello jean, thank you for your message. SONY takes into consideration all good or bad feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. Oscar.

jean
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not play load enough to hear
12/29/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/29/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have always been a Sony guy. In fact, I just bought a 60" Sony smart tv a month ago and love it. I had a Sony sound system (DAV DZ175) for the past 3 years then the dvd player stopped working which is why I purchased this system. The volume must be on 22 to even hear it and when you turn it up loader than that it shuts off with an error ("push-power-protect"). I read where other people have had the same problem so I boxed it back up and purchased a Samsung HT-HM55 and it has worked well so far. Pretty much sounds like the Sony DZ175. I see where most people have given this item a 5 star review so maybe this problem doesn't affect all but it turned into a huge hassle for me. I'm done with Sony products!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
EXCELLENT SYSTEM
2/5/2014

Customer review by Gary1C

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Gary1C
by Gary1C

I bought this system for my new Vizio LED TV. I felt the standard speakers were just a little lacking. The system comes very well packed. It is fairly simple to hook up. It has a quick installation guide. There are many different options for synchronizing this system. The Blue Ray DVD Player is great. The speakers may look small but they are mighty. The reference manual is clear and concise. My only complaint is the rear speaker wire's could have been longer.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gary1C
Burlington Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what it says it is.
6/4/2016

Customer review by milly

1.0 stars 6/4/2016 by milly
by milly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reviewing multiple home theater systems, this one seemed to be exactly what we were looking for. When received all speaker are WIRED. There are no wireless speakers. This should be advertised more clear. Returned it the next day!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/7/2016

Hi milly,<br />We appreciate bringing this to our attention and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. Thanks,<br />>Joffrey

milly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shuts off randomly and not fully .MOV compatible
9/22/2014

Customer review by Micro84

2.0 stars 9/22/2014 by Micro84
by Micro84
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When watching a Blu-Ray or DVD, the player randomly shuts off, even with brand new discs. The item has a warranty, but it does NOT cover shipping the unit back to Sony for repair. I personally feel I should not have to pay $50 to return something that should have worked the first time. Also, the user guide and specification sheet says the player can play .MOV files through a USB connection, but the player is not fully MOV compatible. Several of my .MOV home movies will show the video, but the player says the audio format is not fully supported, so there is no sound to any of my home movies with a .MOV extension.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Micro84
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews