Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 93 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
Just works!
10/22/2013

Customer review by Satisfied_user

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Satisfied_user
by Satisfied_user

I installed this unit in my 5th wheel trailer because the existing surround sound unit developed a defect such that no sound was produced while playing a DVD. I hooked the Blu-ray player to the TV with an hdmi cable and the TV to the surround sound system with an optical audio cable. Now for a cheap price, I can watch Blu-ray as well as DVD's and just use the surround sound system for the sound (which works just fine). I haven't used the Blu-ray player a lot yet but it works just fine so far.

Satisfied_user
Kemptville, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Sony Blu ray disc
8/12/2013

Customer review by coldroom

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by coldroom
by coldroom

I always prefer Sony especially for either DVD player or Blu Ray disc. The picture is very clear like I'm actually there. Looks very normal the sound were good with my tv. I tried using the regular HDMI it won't work. It really requires high speed HDMI to work. Other than that I'm happy with this product. Sony is the best Blu Ray disc, even though I'm using movie dvd to use the Blu Ray meaning go ahead & use either your dvd or blu ray movie. The picture is still sharp.

coldroom
North York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great basic BluRay with a really nice remote.
12/4/2013

Customer review by Dodgeboy

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Dodgeboy
by Dodgeboy

Got one for my parents last Christmas .. small but really nice. It is way faster in loading the discs, plus the remote is outstanding. Easy set up and logical controls for the BluRay and TV. There is other versions of this machine that have WiFi and 3D -- this on does not have those features.

Dodgeboy
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
Great blu-ray/DVD player
12/23/2013

Customer review by AmyAtWalmart

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by AmyAtWalmart
by AmyAtWalmart

This player makes my DVDs appear a lot clearer on my TV.  Blu-rays played on this player give a super crisp picture.  This blu-ray player was a steal as I got it on Black Friday.  I use it with a high speed HDMI cable that I had to buy separately.  

AmyAtWalmart
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Awesome Product Awesome Price
1/4/2014

Customer review by Shopaholics88

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Shopaholics88
by Shopaholics88

Bought this just before Christmas at a great price.  Had an LG blue ray dvd box prior to this which stopped working and it wasn't even a year old.  I find the Sony picture quality better and you can't beat walmart's awesome sales

Shopaholics88
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value
1/27/2014

Customer review by Danr

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Danr
by Danr

This little player does pretty much everything you need and more. All it is missing is wireless, but I am close enough to my router I just plugged in a network cable and voila!

Danr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great player but not wireless
12/28/2013

Customer review by Les4

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Les4
by Les4

Really like the player but it is not wireless and perhaps I just assumed in this day in age.  Would buy it again though!

Les4
Whitby, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Sony Blu-Ray
1/4/2014

Customer review by SamT

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by SamT
by SamT

Bought as a gift for daughter...great picture, easy to hook-up to tv, great price...and its a Sony!

SamT
Smiths Falls, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Sony blu ray works perfect!
1/3/2014

Customer review by JanetT

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by JanetT
by JanetT

Bought this Sony blu ray based on the sony name and that it was inexpensive. It works perfect!

JanetT
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
SONY - Sony® Blu-ray
12/25/2013

Customer review by mamyfer

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by mamyfer
by mamyfer

loved it enough to buy another one as a Christmas gift for my son ....

mamyfer
Warwick, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
1/1/2014

Customer review by cody2233

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by cody2233
by cody2233

EXCELLENT PRODUCT...........LOVE IT..........AAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++

cody2233
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
Excellent
10/19/2013

Customer review by JoSutt

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by JoSutt
by JoSutt

Great picture, easy to use, and a great price here

JoSutt
PEI, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
reliable quality, excellent value; but NOT wi-fi
4/22/2013

Customer review by ignitor

5.0 stars 4/22/2013 by ignitor
by ignitor

I'm a senior & never had reliability issues with Sony products I've had thru the decades. This is very easy setup, compact in size compared to some others, but has the same features important to me. I didn't want Wi-Fi, because I am Ethernet wired & no need to change & feel there is more reliability wired, although I do have wifi in the house pcs' use. U plug in unit, answer the setup prompts & that's it. Online apps that I wanted, younger that want a bunch more available apps & other stuff, I'm not hip enough to answer, but assume there are other model choices that offer more. My choice because of reliability, price#bcz already outdated#, & has what I want, 1080p, DVD upconversion, netflix, Pandora .

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ignitor
Clayton, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy
4/20/2013

Customer review by dadsleft

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by dadsleft
by dadsleft

Had A samsung bluray player very very slow, for the last 6 years. This Sony is unreal fast and I can't belive the picture is that much better on my Vizio. Very Cool and Happy.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadsleft
Escondido Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Compatible with Vizio TV
11/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was unable to use this blu-ray player with my Vizio TV. Tried using both the HDMI ports and the user manual's troubleshooting techniques to establish a connection, but the TV continued to display "No Signal." Finally I went to the Sony website and worked with the online-support representative. After doing the troubleshooting techniques he suggested, we came to the conclusion that the blu-ray player isn't compatible with my Vizio TV. I wanted to make sure my TV was the issue, so I took the blu-ray player and hooked it up to her TV with my HDMI cable and it worked perfectly. So, I'm going to have to return this and find one that's compatible with my Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (49) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tempe, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Player
3/21/2014

Customer review by Kayb60

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Kayb60
by Kayb60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a combination DVD/VHS player for years. The VHS started eating my tapes, and the DVD started rejecting movies (i.e. disk error, freezing, skipping, etc.). I finally decided to buy a Blu-ray. I couldn't be more happy. Since buying this player, I have not had any problems at all playing DVDs. I haven't played a Blu-ray disk on it yet, but I can't wait to do so. Also, I don't have to use my TV remote. The Blu-ray remote turns on the TV and adjusts the volume. It will even turn everything off if it is left on pause to too long. I absolutely love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayb60
Twinsburg, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to use and to hook up
2/14/2014

Customer review by drs1964

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by drs1964
by drs1964
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

simple to use and to hook up,the only negative no wires included in box,and required hdmi cable cost over $30.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drs1964
Bluffton,In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony never disappoints
4/4/2014

Customer review by TCinIL

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by TCinIL
by TCinIL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Blu-ray player is a wonderful buy at a great price. It has the ability to download a full line of apps from Sony, plays Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon as well as other video and audio apps. Games and social networking (facebook, twitter...) are also available for download but I have not tried any yet. This device does not come with Wifi but by connecting an Ethernet cable (not included) to you router you will be online in no time. I have another Sony Blu-ray player and when I went to the Sony store and logged in, it automatically downloaded the apps I had installed on my older player. It plays and streams in full 1080 HD with great sound quality. I would and have recommended this to my friends and family and recommend it to you as well. Just keep in mind, in order to use the internet on this device you must have it connected to your router, their is no WiFi on this player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCinIL
Parkersburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Blu-Ray not wifi
2/13/2014

Customer review by simplydjo

4.0 stars 2/13/2014 by simplydjo
by simplydjo

I bought this for my daughter for Christmas along with a Netflix subscription. I decided on this player fully believing it would work thru wifi. I have since reread the description and while it doesn't say it is, to us behind the times in lingo, it sure sounds like it is. It's a great player and does the job however I wish they would state NOT WIFI specifically.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplydjo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just what I wanted
11/8/2013

Customer review by SofiaPatea

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by SofiaPatea
by SofiaPatea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only watched a couple of movies so far. Be sure and buy your HDMI cord online also. They are much more expensive in the store. So easy to setup and I am usually intimidated by this kind of stuff. Beautiful clean picture. So far it's great!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SofiaPatea
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews