Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 99 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
28
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 93 reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
reliable quality, excellent value; but NOT wi-fi
4/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a senior & never had reliability issues with Sony products I've had thru the decades. This is very easy setup, compact in size compared to some others, but has the same features important to me. I didn't want Wi-Fi, because I am Ethernet wired & no need to change & feel there is more reliability wired, although I do have wifi in the house pcs' use. U plug in unit, answer the setup prompts & that's it. Online apps that I wanted, younger that want a bunch more available apps & other stuff, I'm not hip enough to answer, but assume there are other model choices that offer more. My choice because of reliability, price#bcz already outdated#, & has what I want, 1080p, DVD upconversion, netflix, Pandora .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Happy
4/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had A samsung bluray player very very slow, for the last 6 years. This Sony is unreal fast and I can't belive the picture is that much better on my Vizio. Very Cool and Happy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Compatible with Vizio TV
11/14/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was unable to use this blu-ray player with my Vizio TV. Tried using both the HDMI ports and the user manual's troubleshooting techniques to establish a connection, but the TV continued to display "No Signal." Finally I went to the Sony website and worked with the online-support representative. After doing the troubleshooting techniques he suggested, we came to the conclusion that the blu-ray player isn't compatible with my Vizio TV. I wanted to make sure my TV was the issue, so I took the blu-ray player and hooked it up to her TV with my HDMI cable and it worked perfectly. So, I'm going to have to return this and find one that's compatible with my Vizio.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Player
3/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had a combination DVD/VHS player for years. The VHS started eating my tapes, and the DVD started rejecting movies (i.e. disk error, freezing, skipping, etc.). I finally decided to buy a Blu-ray. I couldn't be more happy. Since buying this player, I have not had any problems at all playing DVDs. I haven't played a Blu-ray disk on it yet, but I can't wait to do so. Also, I don't have to use my TV remote. The Blu-ray remote turns on the TV and adjusts the volume. It will even turn everything off if it is left on pause to too long. I absolutely love it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use and to hook up
2/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
simple to use and to hook up,the only negative no wires included in box,and required hdmi cable cost over $30.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sony never disappoints
4/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This Blu-ray player is a wonderful buy at a great price. It has the ability to download a full line of apps from Sony, plays Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon as well as other video and audio apps. Games and social networking (facebook, twitter...) are also available for download but I have not tried any yet. This device does not come with Wifi but by connecting an Ethernet cable (not included) to you router you will be online in no time. I have another Sony Blu-ray player and when I went to the Sony store and logged in, it automatically downloaded the apps I had installed on my older player. It plays and streams in full 1080 HD with great sound quality. I would and have recommended this to my friends and family and recommend it to you as well. Just keep in mind, in order to use the internet on this device you must have it connected to your router, their is no WiFi on this player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Blu-Ray not wifi
2/13/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas along with a Netflix subscription. I decided on this player fully believing it would work thru wifi. I have since reread the description and while it doesn't say it is, to us behind the times in lingo, it sure sounds like it is. It's a great player and does the job however I wish they would state NOT WIFI specifically.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I wanted
11/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Only watched a couple of movies so far. Be sure and buy your HDMI cord online also. They are much more expensive in the store. So easy to setup and I am usually intimidated by this kind of stuff. Beautiful clean picture. So far it's great!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I needed for the best possible price !!!
5/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My original $200 Panasonic Blu-Ray player died a few weeks ago. I sent back three Netflix movies thinking it was a disc problem. I do not use any of the internet services available. Just needed a BR player with an ethernet connection to download updates. This inexpensive Sony works flawlessly and has a perfect HD picture, although the sound volume is less than my older player... not sure why. Tried changing audio settings, but it made no difference. I'll just raise the TV volume level when playing BR discs. Just what I needed for less than half of what I paid originally.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
"Lots Better" Then a Simple DVD player...
4/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought this player after looking at the simple DVD players ... much better value To say the least. After hooking it up to the TV, (HDMI cord not included) went to put in a DVD, pressed open on the remote ... I dropped the Disk in the tray, and closed it, with the remote ... the player turned on my TV and started to play the DVD .... How cool was that? The other Cool thing about this player is you can hook it up to your router with a LAN wire (not WIFI) and it is internet ready... with all the places and apps to watch TV on line. Just a bit more then a simple DVD player but worth the little extra cost. Very good Blu-Ray DVD unit. I love it .... Thanks
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Product!!!
5/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my first BluRay Player and it does all I expected and more . . . it was easy to install and very easy to use, I would highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice for normal use
11/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
not bad, but I thought it would be Wi-Fi- ready and it is not
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Blue ray player
1/13/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my first purchase of a blu ray player. I find it very easy to use, easy to set up, great picture quality and I look forward to using it for all my at home movie needs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceptional High Definition Quality Picture!!!
11/28/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm at home watching Movie Theater Quality DVD's, Amazing. I Love it. I can't wait to play my 1st Blu Ray disc. I know I'll be amazed at the picture quality. I gave this a 4 star rating instead of a 5 because the HDMI connector cable was not included in the purchase (I think for ease of connection, that should have been included) I had to order the HDMI cable separately, took a few days to get that. Happy Holidays All.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for a Great Price.
10/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A name brand product for a great price like this is amazing! I didn't need the the extra WiFi with the apps because I already have a Smart TV (60" Vizio that I bought from here also, LOVE IT!) so I was looking for just a great blu-ray system for a reasonable price, and I've found it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
the product is great and awesome for its price. i still can't believe i was able to get a BLUERAY DVD player with this price. it plays all sorts of things including CDs. fairly easy to hook up. all u really need is a HDMI cord and u can have both sound and image on the TV! highly recommended
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price
6/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted a basic player, one without bells and whistles. This unit is the ticket! It is simple to operate and very compact. Bought it to upgrade my existing DVD player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME BD Player, Good Price!
7/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works beautifully. So what if it's not Wi-Fi enabled? for $78 for a Sony made Blu-Ray disc player, you get a well built machine with good firmware inside. It does have an ethernet port if you want to connect it to the internet for any reason. This machine has a small box which is nice, doesn't take up a lot of space. Remote control has a far reach. Just a really good buy all the way around. I previously had a Panasonic BD player and had nothing but trouble with it. Every Sony product I have owned has been well built and reliable. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for getting on line with NETFLIX
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this item so I could utilize the NETFLIX system. Not only is it perfect for this but the quality of DVD watching is very impressive as well. Great buy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy
9/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Defently would recommend this product I also got a Sony flat screen tv and they both work excellent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-