Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

463 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
274
4 stars
109
3 stars
23
2 stars
20
1 stars
37
1-20 of 452 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 452 total reviews
1-20 of 452 reviews
You cant go wrong....
4/12/2013

Customer review by weldit

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by weldit
by weldit

I had to return 2 Sony BDP-S390 players due to their inability to stream Netflix with my Internet Service. I was hesitant, but took a chance on the BDP-S3100 when it came out. It works and streams all included internet apps.---GREAT!! I don't know what Sony did to improve this model but I'm glad they did. It doesn't upscale regular DVD's as well as my old Sony DVP-SR500H does but it's worth the 5 Stars anyway. You cant go wrong at this price.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weldit
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value and DVD player for the money!
11/5/2013

Customer review by IceChick

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by IceChick
by IceChick

This DVD player allows you to play music or videos from a flash drive or a regular disc DVD. You can also connect to the internet and watch movies thru Netflix if you are subscribed. There are no cables that come with this purchase. I had to purchase a HDMI splitter to run from my TV to this DVD player and one to my DISH network box. Also, the audio is a digital audio output and my stereo receiver is an analog input, so I had to buy a converter for that. So if you purchase this and run into those issues like I did, I was able to find most of the converters and cables I needed at Walmart too.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IceChick
Billings, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome Dvd Player.
4/6/2013

Customer review by pipedigger007

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by pipedigger007
by pipedigger007

This Blue ray player out preforms my older players, the load time is instant super fast. The apps are awesome and has many of them. This player even has a web browser.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pipedigger007
fargo, nd.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony BDPS3100 Blu-Ray - Best non-3D player
12/13/2013

Customer review by Neumonyx

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Neumonyx
by Neumonyx

I usually don't write reviews but I'm finding it more of a good service for future shoppers as I am one of the many that do painstaking research before buying any mid-high priced electronics. That said, I did a lot of looking around. I've been in the market for a Blu-Ray since last year. A lot of the heavy research I did came in over the Black Friday and Cyber Monday week sales. Bottom line - this is the best, high quality Blu-Ray player with built in wi-fi. It does not have all the bells and whistles but for people like me that want an excellent, long lasting, high quality, Blu-Ray player that works well, this is it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neumonyx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is one good puppy
8/6/2013

Customer review by jackd12

5.0 stars 8/6/2013 by jackd12
by jackd12

I am in the over 60 club , needed blue ray , internet ready and netflex ready pluged it in,pluged to tv and kept clicking yes! simple 10 min and off , I love it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackd12
tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product. It will do more than you think.
12/15/2013

Customer review by PTownGeek

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by PTownGeek
by PTownGeek

The wireless feature is the best. I have 2 Sony Bravia TV's that are a perfect match for the Sony BDP-S3100. Besides being able to stream endless content thru my TV"s, thanks to Sony's Entertainment Network feature, I can use my smart phone for a remote control, and best of all I can stream content from my network, my laptop, & iPhone directly to the TV's thru Windows Media Player or Itune's Windows 7 both are DLNA compliant. Great playback of DVDs, Blu Ray Discs. Picture is awesome. Netflix looks 100% better streaming thru this unit. Well worth the money for this Sony device. Don't get caught buying a WiFi BDP that needs a wired connection to a router. Make sure you buy the "wireless" BDP. I've yet to explore all the features this BDP is loaded with but I'll get to soon.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTownGeek
Portsmouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great,love it
4/15/2013

Customer review by ballard4274b

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by ballard4274b
by ballard4274b

try it and it was just great with my new lg TV and will try 3d soon from Netflix and try Blu-ray dvd better than regular dvd clor and sound with extra features when you use the wi fi part of the Blu-ray surprise me awesome!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ballard4274b
Memphis,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for streaming netflix ..
6/27/2013

Customer review by streamer123

4.0 stars 6/27/2013 by streamer123
by streamer123

I constantly stream movies , so i wanted another blue-ray with built in wi-fi. so far its great it was my 2nd choice, do to i all ready have another Sony player and wanted something different...the best feature is that when your streaming a series it will continue to the next episode. It all so has a on demand netflix button on the remote .. So far im enjoying this player so much..

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
streamer123
Redmond OR,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/15/2013

Customer review by Golden4

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Golden4
by Golden4

I love it. It performs like it suppose to. I use it for Netflix and DVD movies and it shows crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Golden4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great blu-ray, player with wifi!
12/12/2013

Customer review by payperview

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by payperview
by payperview

I researched every single blu-ray player with wifi on the market. Walmart had it during it's black friday deals for $54.99. At that price I couldn't pass it up. It has exceeded all my expectations. It doesn't come with an HDMI cable, but I already had one. The picture, and sound quality is great. Easy installation, and wifi was a snap.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
payperview
Spring, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/31/2013

Customer review by Easing

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Easing
by Easing

This product is wonderful. It is easy to use. It allow you to do a lot more with your TV such as watch movies, access you computer, netflix, amazon, and many more viewing options. I really love it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Easing
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent blu-ray player for the price!
1/1/2014

Customer review by dancingnancies

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by dancingnancies
by dancingnancies

I like to buy Sony products as a rule, and my 16 year old Sony DVD player just finally started to skip and play erratically and needed to be replaced. I researched blu-ray players, and based on other reviews decided to try this one. I am extremely happy with it! It is the way to go if you are not into complicated electronics. I found it simple to set up, understand the menus, and get it going so my kids could enjoy it instantly. I LOVE that it has the built in wifi with wireless hookup- all I had to do was plug it in, hook it to my HDTV with an HDMI jack (not included, but inexpensive,) follow the prompts, and it was ready to go online! We are using our Pandora account on it, as well as Amazon Instant video which we have free with our Amazon Prime membership. My kids love that they can go on YouTube and Facebook, too. All in all, this is an excellent player at a very low price, and I would recommend it to anyone! :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dancingnancies
Auburn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1st choice; 2nd purchase
11/28/2013

Customer review by ignitor

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by ignitor
by ignitor

I chose BDPS1100 1+ yrs. ago & has performed excellent. excellent picture/sound. I enjoy internet choices. Now I got another for upstairs bedroom to replace old Panasonic VHS/DVD that still works excellent after at least 15+ yrs.! But, I want internet access up there. It takes just a minute for setup, it is very compact size & light, compared to several other brands, & the price was excellent, after doing much comparison shopping. U can get my 1st model for like $69 @walmart currently. Same thing but not WiFI, just must use Ethernet wire to connect from router to player.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ignitor
Clayton, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony brand is broken in my opinion
5/14/2013

Customer review by Euphoman

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Euphoman
by Euphoman

I purchased one of these to make use of the Wifi facility. At first it operated beautifully. Then, after 10 days it mysteriously stopped working - the wifi connection dropped out at least once every day whilst it was being used. After another 2 days the unit stopped working altogether - I could not turn it on, turn it off, open the disk tray - nada. So, I thought it must be a duff unit> I took it back to the store and exchanged it for another of the same model, being a lifelong Sony user and fan. This second unit lasted about 10 minutes before it froze up on me. I took this one straight back to the store and am now enjoying using my brand new Panasonic wifi blu-ray player which, so far, has behaved beautifully. So it's goodbye Sony, hello Panasonic from now on.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Euphoman
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great component
11/19/2013

Customer review by HuTrade

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by HuTrade
by HuTrade

Really like this dvd player. plays all dvd's looks great on big screen. easy interface to learn and maneuver! syncing with HULU, AMAZON INSTANT VIDEO, youtube etc. was a breeze! usb is helpful and easy to access videos and pics on usb drive, though i have not tried syncing to a pc or smartphone through the usb. still think it needs sd card slot.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuTrade
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/26/2013

Customer review by 1Penny8

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by 1Penny8
by 1Penny8

Ordered on line and picked up at store where it was on sale and saved $20.00. Nice surprise. Very happy with product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Penny8
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extremely easy set up and no problems at all.
7/18/2013

Customer review by AustinUT

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by AustinUT
by AustinUT

The movie sites are listed and easy to use. It has quite a few online TV and movie links, some I had never heard of. It guided me thru the set-up so nothing to figure out. Super easy and convenient, also picture quality is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AustinUT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BLUE RAY PLAYER YES, INTERNET BROWSER NOT SO MUCH
8/11/2013

Customer review by SuperBozz101

4.0 stars 8/11/2013 by SuperBozz101
by SuperBozz101

The unit works as advertised when playing DVD's and BluRay's but the included Internet Browsing capabilities are not easy for me to use. I still can't figure out how to connect my PC to this wireless connection and play it through my TV. The Netflix application works good as do most of the other included apps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperBozz101
St.Louis, Mo. USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, great functionality
12/14/2013

Customer review by G2NICK

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by G2NICK
by G2NICK

Bought it on cyber Monday for a third of the normal price. This thing is awesome, Netflix, Hulu etc. the app for the phone works very well to control it, would recommend to anyone looking for a way to watch Netflix and others on their tv. Haven't tried the blur-ray on it, I'm sure it's fine but I didn't buy it to actually use the blu-ray player...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G2NICK
Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Blu-ray player for the money
8/18/2013

Customer review by Cookiemomster2

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Cookiemomster2
by Cookiemomster2

We bought this to speed up our NetFlicks connection and it does that and has more features than our older model had.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cookiemomster2
Alvarado, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 452 total reviews
1-20 of 452 reviews