Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
143
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 182 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews
Great Food by a Great Brand
9/18/2014

Customer review by RmDaze

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by RmDaze
by RmDaze

Wow. I've never seen my pup attack his bowl so hard. He just loves his Iams dry dog food and I just love that he loved it so much. I liked that the bag has the "veterinarian approved" stamp on the package makes me feel like I'm feeding him the right thing and doing right by him. The scent of the food itself isn't too strong like other brands, it's more subtle and pleasing to my nose. The color of the kibble, as well as it's consistency, is perfect making it easy for my pup to spot. He would gladly pick up after his own mess when the food would fall on the floor, not to mention the little bits that would fall as I carried his food to his feeding area. I've never seen my pup so excited to see a bowl of food since of had him. I love Iams 100% guarantee on the bag, it shows that they stand by their product and that they stand by it's quality. The quality of the dry food is evident in the fact that Chicken is listed first as the main the ingredient in the food, once again quality.

RmDaze
West Covina, CA
Perfect for Puppy Health and Affordable
9/18/2014

Customer review by braves87

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by braves87
by braves87

I have been a long time purchaser of the Iams brand. I have an 8 year old Puggle that has been on some variety of Iams since he was 2 months old. I have a Beagle that just turned 12 months old and has been on the Iams Proactive Health Smart Puppy line since we got him. They have both been VERY healthy dogs so far. I attribute a great deal of that good health to their food sources, Iams. Both of my dogs love the flavor of the Iams brand. What I find the most indicative of the quality of the food is that their bowel regimens stay regular. Puppy's often can be quite finnicky when it comes to their food regimen. My youngest pup, the Beagle, has consistently had firm but normal stools. That tells me that he is getting great nutrition to support his growing body and getting a minimal amount of filler that you may find in cheaper brands. Whenever a friend or family member asks what food I would recommend for their new dog, I never hesitate to recommend Iams. You get the quality of the specialized and expensive brands while maintaining affordability.

braves87
Lexington, KY
This is amazing
9/18/2014

Customer review by maggiesbeauty

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by maggiesbeauty
by maggiesbeauty

me and my family have had trouble with him eating all his food or any at all he is very picky and it makes kind of a problem for me because i have to buy his food and it feels like a waste of money when he doesnt like it, but it's also a problem because he wont eat it untill he gets really hungry wich takes away some of his energy and makes him not want to go outside or for walks, we were concerned so we took him to the vet but there wasnt anything wrong he was just picky so they just gave us some vitamins and let us go which didnt do much he was still not as energised or as playful as before. so i got the food a few days ago my little sister opened it and he obviously smelled it and he was jumping around so she started giving him some from her hand while i went to the kitchen to put some in his bowl he ran to it and ate more than half of it i was very suprised at how much he ate, he has been eating it since daily which makes me very happy we also took him for a walk yesterday he was very energised and playful more than he was eating the other brand thank you so much for this has helped us alot with him.

maggiesbeauty
Kansas City, MO
Nourish your pup with Iams!
9/18/2014

Customer review by elhavina

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by elhavina
by elhavina

I adopted my puppy from a shelter and first used the cheapest brand dog food. I started to notice that his coat did not shine as much and it was thinning. My vet told me that it was just sensitive skin and to bathe him with special and pricey dog shampoo sold to us by the vet. That still did not help. BzzAgent recently sent me Iams® ProActive Health™ dog food so I decided to throw out his cheaper brand dog food and feed him Iams. I realized his old food had too much corn in it and was causing his rashes. After I switched him to Iams Proactive Health, Smart Puppy dog food, I discovered that he loved it and his coat is getting its shine back. I suspect within the next few weeks his coat will get ticker, indicting that he is now a healthy dog. I figured out that Iams is actually affordable and it looks like it's helping him get back to being a healthy, happy pup!

elhavina
Brooklyn, NY
A great dog food for your pet!
9/18/2014

Customer review by mitkin86

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by mitkin86
by mitkin86

In the last 10 years we have purchased two puppies from excellent breeders that use their own chow. One pup was an airedale and the current pup in a shorke...aka a schitzu yorkie mix. We had no comparable food except the IAMS. Our airedale grew to be a lanky tally dog of 60 plus pounds and was on this food for a full 2 years. Our little "shorkie" is also doing great... We look for foods that will enhance brain, muscle, and bone, while maximizing hair and skin health and shiny eyes. Airedales have extremely sensitive skin if not well fed they will itch and try to tug their hair out...I can't address the flavor because I dont' eat dog food, but we do know that puppies do not like changes in food, like adding a little milk until older and blend with their prior food for about a week. A dog with sweet breath and great energy is a good deal based on diet.

mitkin86
Lehigh Acres, FL
Finally! A Food I Can Trust
9/18/2014

Customer review by DLGaines

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by DLGaines
by DLGaines

I have always been positive when it comes to Iams food for my dogs. But some of the varieties have not been my babies favourites. But thanks to Iams Smart puppy, I have finally found something that they both will eat. Gotti and Capone are very particular about their food. They will only eat dry food if its little pebbles, Not the big chunks. And was going good like this for a while until the price of a certain type that they are use to went up in price. I will do anything for them, But it was getting very expensive for two dogs that love to eat. Thankfully, I didn't have to wait long for this dog food to come in the mail. They absolutely loved it, the bag is gone now, but I still buy it in the store because it is a lot less cheaper than my other brand. Me, my husband, Gotti, and Capone thanks you for giving us the opportunity to try it.

DLGaines
Easton, MD
So far Buster LIKES IT!!
9/18/2014

Customer review by shadowdancer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by shadowdancer
by shadowdancer

My puppy Buster, a shelter dog, is 5 months old and a very picky eater which I find surprising since shelters often give food which is donated and no particular brand. I have tired a variety of dry dog foods and he did not eat them with any gusto. In fact, when I took him to the vet he told that I should try IAMs so I was thrilled when IAMS sent me a bag of Smart Puppy! So far he has had it for three days and I followed the suggested serving size and he is eating it with little coaxing and no mixing of other foods to entice him. It makes me feel good to know that I am giving him all the important nutrients in one bowl becuse even though he is a dog, he is my 5th "child". I am going running low and will purchase another bag at the store. Since Buster enjoys his food I am feeling like a much more competent pet parent.

shadowdancer
Malden, MA
Great nutritional food for a puppy
9/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I received one pack of Iams Proactive health Smart puppy dog food from Iams in an exchange of a review. I have a 5 months old pit bull mixed puppy and he really loved it. As soon as he heard me opening the package he was all hyped up and it seemed that he really loved the food because he was chomping it down quick and asking for more. The food also smelled better than the typical ones I get. Even my cat ate some of it. Since he seemed to be loving the food I'm thinking about switching from my previous food to Iams until he's a year old because Iams dog food has a lot of necessary nutritions and proteins in it to increase puppy's brain development as well as build a strong immune system and I want him to grow up as healthy as possible. After that I'll have to see because he has quite the appetite.

An anonymous customer
Maiden, NC
Our Puppy Loves IAMS!
9/18/2014

Customer review by fieldflowers

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by fieldflowers
by fieldflowers

I recently received a free bag of Iams® ProActive Health™ for our three little toy breed dogs to try. One of our dogs is a six month old puppy, and she has been very finicky when it comes to food. I was expecting her to snub the Iams like she has all the other dry foods we have offered her. However, I was pleasantly surprised! I filled her bowl, and let her wander to it on her own. She loved it! The kibble is the perfect size for her. Toy breed dogs often have a hard time chewing the kibble because it is too big. She, nor our other two older dogs, had any difficulty with chewing it at all. The bag that I received is for puppies, but after seeing the high quality ingredients including chicken and egg, I decided to let the older dogs have it , as well. They loved it too! Now, they are not as picky as the puppy, but they really enjoyed it. The nutrients and prebiotics in IAMS, are excellent sources of protein, and will help our puppy build muscle. The antioxidants will aid in helping our puppy develop a strong immune system. All these are important factors when considering a dog food, but, most importantly, the dog must be willing to eat the food,and all three of our dogs love it!

fieldflowers
Middle Grove, NY
Iams forever
9/19/2012

Customer review by Erika

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Erika
by Erika

My boyfriend and I adopted a parsons russell terrier that was 3 months old back in April 2012 and we were new pet parents who were under-informed. So we just bought a regular (kinda cheap) off brand dog food b/c we didn't think it mattered too much. About a week later we noticed large red balding spots on our sweet pup and were very concerned. We took him to the vet several times with the answer always being that it was just sensitive skin and to bathe him with special ($30# dog shampoo sold to us by the vet....which I did. That still didn't help so I did some research and found out the dog food we were feeding him was the problem....I felt terrrible! The food had too much corn in it and was causing his rashes. So we bought two differerent, very expensive, brands of organic dog food that I won't say the name of. But each time he wouldn't eat either one #neither would my roommates dog lol)....I suspected he did not like them. So I switched him to Iams Proactive Health, Smart Puppy dog food. He loves it, it is affordable and the best part is that his rashes have healed and we have seen no more of them pop up! Thanks Iams, our sweet puppy is now 8 months old, happy and healthy!

Erika
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IAMS Smart Puppy, smart decision or not?
9/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used Iams brand dog food for my 3 month old puppy since we first got him. He is a full blooded Pittbull and is a very playful pup. We have always fed him Iams and he loves it, and he has always been a very smart dog. Since he has been eating the Iams Smart Puppy he has started doing a lot better when it comes to informing me of when he has to go out. Now, I am unsure if that is because of the brand or not but since he has been eating it he is starting to look a lot healthier than before and he actually eats the whole bowl. Before he would eat about half and then be done, but as soon as he tried the smart puppy he cleaned his plate so I am giving it 5 stars because of how it helped my dogs appetite change and made him so much more active than before it has become his new brand!

An anonymous customer
Thorsby, AL
Great product!
9/18/2014

Customer review by pantheartist

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by pantheartist
by pantheartist

At the point of this review, the bag of Iams Proactive Health dog food that Iams sent me to test is gone and I plan on purchasing more for my two pugs. Beforehand, my pugs were starting to become rather picky and not wanting to eat their breakfast. They really enjoyed the food, I noticed that they tended to eat more of it as opposed to letting it sit in their bowls all day (as they were doing with their previous food). The food did not make my dogs sick, and they seemed to like the food they were eating, both a plus. I recommend Iams dog food to others - especially if your pet(s) are getting sick or uninterested of their current food, like mine was. As an added bonus, the measuring scoop that they sent with the food was awesome!

pantheartist
Saint Joseph, MO
Baxter LOVES Iams
9/18/2014

Customer review by kamwoo

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by kamwoo
by kamwoo

As soon as I got my package of Iams Proactive Health Smart Puppy, my dog Baxter started going nuts sniffing at the bag, but no quite getting what was in it. As soon as I opened the bag and the delicious smell came out, I thought his poor puppy tail would wag right off his behind. Baxter was VERY excited. His first taste and he's been hooked ever since! Even when I try to give him his old Science Diet food to switch things up, he'll head right to the Iams bag and start wagging and giving me the sad puppy dog eyes. I do believe we have a convert! :-) I'm just happy to be giving my little one the best in nutrients for his growth and development. And making him happy all at once! The best is that tail wag. Anything for my baby! :-)

kamwoo
Flushing, NY
Yumm!! Dinner time!
9/18/2014

Customer review by cmichelrn

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by cmichelrn
by cmichelrn

So since starting the Iams campaign , I have to say my dog absolutely loves the new chow! I placed his other brand of food in one bowl and Iams in another bowl just to see which one he prefers. At first he was sketchy about it. But once he tasted it it was define lay his favorite. I have already used the bag that came in my kit and have since then purchased another bag. Every other day I will mix it with a little wet food. He eats all his food and can literally hear me when I grab the bag and scooper,which I love, when I open the pantry for feeding time. He wags his tail as I fill his bowl up. I have buzzed to a few people so far, some already use Iams, but the ones that dint said they would try it..

cmichelrn
Marrero, LA
Great for a small dog
9/18/2014

Customer review by kmsigler

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by kmsigler
by kmsigler

My puppy is less than 2Ibs. She's a Shih Pom (Shih Tzu/Pomeranian mix). We had used another brand (started with an A) that the kennel we got her from had been using. We had her try Iams Proactive Smart Puppy, and she loved it. She kept going for the Iams dog food over the food she had grown up on. She's a very active little puppy, who's is 4 months old. The small bite sizes are perfect for her small mouth. It's not too hard or too soft for her teeth either. Her coat is softer now that she's started eating Iams. Nutritional wise, she's getting the extra calories she needs for her activity level. It's an excellent source of protein. She doesn't seem to have any problem digesting the Iams puppy food.

kmsigler
Carroll, IA
Best puppy food
2/24/2014

Customer review by tlbhorses

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by tlbhorses
by tlbhorses
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried other dry puppy food and it seems to not stick with the puppy by poohing a lot. Switched to Iams. Now they seem full after eating and don't have to go as soon. It seems to digest a little slower and have steady growth. I also feel that its good all around and the puppies seem to benefit from eating it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlbhorses
Clinton Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What an amazing difference!
9/18/2014

Customer review by keller34

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by keller34
by keller34

I revived my bag a few days ago and decided to try it out that day. The food I give my puppy right now is a little large even though it says for puppies. Can I say that his iS just the right size! My puppy loves it and when she took that first bite she went crazy. It was like the best thing in the world to her. She only looked up to wag her tail and breath. I really liked the ingredients list and Chicken being the first with no fillers. That is one of the main things I look for and want to know about any food for my pet. After a few days of trying it I can say that she has more energy and is way more active. I might have found a better dog food than what I am currently getting.

keller34
Riverview, FL
Iams ProActive Health dog food
9/18/2014

Customer review by rpeary

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by rpeary
by rpeary

I received a bag a Iams Pro Active smart puppy food in the mail from Iam s to sample for my puppy Muffet. She absolutely loves it. She is a St. Bernard and is 10 weeks old and has been picky with her dog food, I fill her dish two times a day and she gobbles it down and sometimes I give her more. The bag is definately not gonna last long. I also feel it is very healthy for her and nurishing also. I will definately be buying this for her from now on and I would recommend this to my friends with dogs and to strangers. Thank you Iams for helping me find a dog food for Muffet that she really likes and for a healthy one for her to help her grow healthy :)... I really trust the brand.

rpeary
Potsdam, NY
It is exactly what I thought it was
8/2/2013

Customer review by Dawnamyt

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Dawnamyt
by Dawnamyt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No surprises with the product. The whole order came very quickly. I appreciate being able to order from my living room and have it delivered to my front door. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawnamyt
Williston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lady's new fave!
9/18/2014

Customer review by Mrbokelman

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Mrbokelman
by Mrbokelman

I received Iams proactive health puppy food in exchange for my review. When it arrived in the mail, immediately liked the packaging. We had never used Iams before so we were curious if our little girl, Lady, would like it or not. Of course changes in feeding can cause problems, but Lady seemed to like the new food right away. Lady is an 10 month old terrier. With her old food, her coat was shiny and appeared healthy. After a week on Iams proactive health, her skin and coat were shinier and healthier. She has been an active puppy since we adopted her from our local shelter, Iams seems to sustain her longer. Thanks for a great dog food. My fur baby thanks you too.

Mrbokelman
Greensburg, IN
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews