Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 55 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Stopped working after only 6 days
5/23/2013

Customer review by Magracie

1.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Magracie
by Magracie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have other Samsung products and have absolutely no complaints. For this reason I didn't hesitate to purchase this TV. I read reviews before my purchase and the reviews did give me a sense of comfort in buying the product online without actually looking at it first. This is my reason for this review as I typically don't participate in reviews, but maybe this will help someone else make an informed decision. The TV was perfect and I was extremely happy until day 6. My daughter was watching a program and suddenly the TV went black. Nothing! Even the red standby mode light that stays on all the time went out. There is no power to the TV. I changed outlets and still nothing. I placed my old TV back on the stand and plugged into the same power outlet, it works fine. I reported the incident to Samsung and was given a trouble ticket number for repair. I would have taken the TV back to the store, but Samsung assured me it would be repaired or replaced at no cost. It has now been 48 hours and no call from the repair service. I have called Samsung customer service again and was told my ticket was still "open" and I should be contacted within yet another 24 hours. I hope this is true and the TV is repaired soon. If I haven't received a call by tomorrow I will just return for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (38) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magracie
Vicksburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Samsung 5300series plasma
7/26/2013

Customer review by CtTechJunky

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by CtTechJunky
by CtTechJunky

Over all this is a great television the picture quality is excellent as far as plasma's TV's are concerned, and compared to LED HDTV's you would have to buy a Samsung 13000 series to get the same picture quality and color quality. This HDTV does not offer all the same bells and whistles as the higher end models but unless you actually care about having the internet on your television its not a big deal since 90% of the populas has some sort of device hooked upto the tv anyways. The only cons I have about this tv is that there is a mild reverb in the speakers when watching movies or tv with the speakers set to the movie or music setting. Also there is almost NO information on howto pro spec all the little tv settings to get the absolute best picture quality possible from your set and there is almost no information on howto adjust the white level and colorspace. Beyond the lack of information on howto fine tune your individual television I think this is a great HDTV to buy

CtTechJunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TV and Picture quality is great
10/10/2013

Customer review by papickyman

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by papickyman
by papickyman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After watching my son-in-laws Samsung plasma tv, I was very impressed with the picture quality. It was not 3D but the depth of the picture looked like it only better. I also own an led-lcd tv and this plasma just has better depth of picture. The owners manual was easy to understand which made set up a cinch. It may not have a lot of features and hookups but I don't need them. I knew this before I bought it and at this price it's the perfect tv for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papickyman
Central Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PN51F5300AFXZA
3/16/2014

Customer review by here4now

3.0 stars 3/16/2014 by here4now
by here4now

This unit replaced my Samsung PN50A450P1DXZA. Performance: Picture is not as good, Features: My biggest gripe is the Favorite channels selection. If anybody at the company reads these reviews, PLEASE do an update to add this back in. The programming is already there but will not allow you to retrieve them using smart remote w/Favorites button. No, I shouldn't have to buy a smart TV to get this as my very old projection TV had this feature years ago. Should have an MP3 input that is useable with the unit off. Design: lame stand does not distribute weight evenly, just in 4 places, I have a glass stand. As others have mentioned we are in the HDMI era and lack of at least 3 or more inputs leaves you seeking alternatives. Value: if I have to buy another TV in the next 5 years because this unit breaks makes them expensive. Lastly, I hope this unit lasts longer than my previous one that was repaired twice.

here4now
united states
Expertise:Expert
Great design, horrible durability.
4/29/2015

Customer review by MillionDollarCritic

2.0 stars 4/29/2015 by MillionDollarCritic
by MillionDollarCritic

The design of this plasma tv definetly stands out from the others in the market. It doesn't have any features at all really other than pointless picture optimizations in the settings. The performance of the tv however is where the meat is, outstanding colors and shaders give great cinema esquire presentation, especially with blu-ray movies. Unfortunately after just a year of purchase it has now developed a dead pixel line vertically across the left side of the screen which is very disappointing considering the price and short length of its use out of the box. The value of the tv for me has declined tremendously because of this setback. Overall, great tv for the price, poor durability with fair use. My experience with this Samsung product has changed my mind of the quality I thought Samsung held and instead has now made me question Samsung completely.

MillionDollarCritic
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
2nd Samsung Plasma
9/26/2013

Customer review by leibung

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by leibung
by leibung

Well our 2 year old cracked the screen on our previous 50" Samsung Plasma screen, so I found myself back in the market. Bounced back and forth between Plasma and LED and found this 51" model at a reasonable price and now that it is mounted on our living room wall am very happy with the decision. Our last one had 3d, but I sold the glasses and we never intended to use it, this one was lacking the SMART TV features and 3D, but they were not improtant to us. We have a HTPC that conects to it, so a built in app is not necessary and 3D is not something we really desire. Picture quality is great, amazing colors, contrasts and blacks. We have it in a room that has a large North facing window and don't have any trouble with glare or picture quality. At the price, with the promo card you can't go wrong.

leibung
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I do not like the stand
6/11/2013

Customer review by Jan326

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Jan326
by Jan326
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The stand is not attractive. It makes the TV look very inexpensive and it is not as stable as it should be, in my opinion. I replaced a much more expensive Samsung TV with this one. My previous model had a much less obtrusive stand. Other than the stand, the picture and sound quality of this TV is quite nice and I am pleased with the features this model offers for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jan326
Rockdale, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
8/14/2014

Customer review by MixinMatt

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by MixinMatt
by MixinMatt

I have always had plasma tv's, going on 13 years now. I still love plasma. The color, realistic nature of the screen is something I enjoy over LCD. I have had this tv for about 6 months now. It has excellent color and black level. I've had no issues. While this model does not have many features, the low price I paid reflects that. I would fill my house with many of these sets if I had more room. The only downside, and Samsung is not alone with this problem, it the lack of cable management. I can't stand looking at the wires on the back hanging down no matter how you tidy it up. The design should have wires incorporated into the stand if not mounted on the wall. All in all a great set for the money.

MixinMatt
Tualatin, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Great Plasma TV at competitive price. Beautiful picture.
10/25/2014

Customer review by DoctaE

5.0 stars 10/25/2014 by DoctaE
by DoctaE

Best Bang for your Buck, guaranteed. Used this TV regularly for the last 3 months. Watched Blu Rays and they're beautiful (room has to be dark, lots of reflection). Over the air HDTV looks nice. Used as an external monitor for Macbook Pro, runs smoothly. Xbox 360, cool! Started watching football. Sweet!!! Mount it on the wall, hook up a surround system receiver that has lots of HDMI ports. Watch it a lot for 90 days. If everything works still, it'll last a long time. You will NOT Find a Better Value at this price. Don't waste your money on 3D TV, Smart TV, or Curved Display. If you want to spend more money, go for a larger size TV with 4K resolution. The rest are just gimmicks.

DoctaE
Pasadena, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
A very good TV, regardless its remarkable value
3/3/2014

Customer review by Broadus

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Broadus
by Broadus

Wanting to replace our old Samsung CRT, I began researching HDTVs. My research led me to plasmas and then to the Samsung PN51F5300. I located one at a good price, brought it home, set it up with our entertainment system, and like it a lot. Even with brightness and contrast reduced for the first month to break the plasma in, the picture quality impresses everyone who sees our television.. The viewing angles are great, the colors are really good, everything about the picture is a win. We have two windows opposite the television, so we keep those blinds shut for daytime viewing. There is still a little reflection, as can be seen in the attached photo. With that in mind, daytime viewing is good; nighttime viewing is great. If we get close to it, we can hear a little buzz if there is a snowy background, as in watching the Winter Olympics, but you won't hear it if you're not listening for it. This is a fine television, especially for the price. Would I like one more HDMI port? Absolutely, and there's really no reason there are not at least three HDMI ports on the television. Still, it's not a major quibble. For this price, you won't find a better picture on a 50/51" television. Double the price and you may get an LCD/LED that will come close. Unless someone has a bright room and needs an LCD/LED, the F5300 is a solid set for a great price.

Broadus
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
PICTURE
9/16/2014

Customer review by BEARFAN21

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by BEARFAN21
by BEARFAN21

Get this set, calibrate it, and enjoy a picture better than any LCD except maybe UHD. But for the money you cannot go wrong. I am unable to give a website about calibration but it is not hard to find. I was disappointed with this set until I calibrated. You must do this to get the most from this TV. Once you do you will be very satisfied for the bang for the buck. No "Smart", only 2 HDMI inputs, but a GREAT picture. I have AppleTV so no big deal. Plasma is the best. The only reason we won't have it longer is because the Big Box guys don't know how to show it.

BEARFAN21
Tulsa, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
1st Plasma TV
12/26/2013

Customer review by RRRoger

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by RRRoger
by RRRoger

Took my Seiki 4k TV back because the 1080 movie quality was mediocre and anything less was terrible. Most of our programing is SD. The Samsung 51" Class 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F5300AFXZA was slightly better image than anything in the store. They were all plugged into the same HD source, so easy to compare. When I got home the image was only slightly better than my (excellant) CRT (optimized for SD) untill I adjusted the settings. Now the SD broadcast are better than BlueRay thru the old TV. I have not tested with a BlueRay disc yet but HD is exceptionally

RRRoger
Monterey Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Another Samsung Purchased
2/20/2015

Customer review by 66Etype

5.0 stars 2/20/2015 by 66Etype
by 66Etype

Already have two Samsung TVs (one 50" Plasma and a 27" LED) and needed another one to replace an old, obsolete TV that we got rid of. We chose this 50" Samsung HD Plasma due to the fact that we have had excellent reliability and viewing on our first one. I have it in our home office. A little overkill, but why not !! We will need another one shortly to replace another old one we just got rid of and will most likely buy a 42"-46" Samsung LED.

66Etype
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
So sad to see plasma discontinued!
8/24/2014

Customer review by SidandNancy

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by SidandNancy
by SidandNancy

I just picked one of these up today because I was shocked to see such a nice samsung tv for the same price as a smaller led tv. The picture is amazing and my wife (who generally doesn't notice or care about technology upgrades in our home) was shocked by how much nicer the picture is than our old 1080p led tv. I love the tv and my only complaint would be to have more hdmi ports and an analogue audio out for my old speakers but for this value I'll just buy the digital to analogue converter :)

SidandNancy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for the buck!
12/13/2013

Customer review by Heels98

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Heels98
by Heels98

Let's cut to the chase and answer lingering questions about plasmas and how this TV compares in those regards: Is it viewable in the daytime? This was one of my concerns due to the wall of windows in our open-floor living room. Rest assured, this TV is very bright and is easily viewed even during the brightest part of the day. Yes, it is highly reflective, but the light doesn't scatter when it hits the screen, so the overall picture isn't washed out like it can be with LCDs and edge-lit LEDs. What about burn-in/image retention? I've had this set for three weeks, just past the critical 100-hour stage where image retention and burn-in typically occur. This set does an outstanding job, I've yet to see the slightest hint of image retention, and I've been looking for it. Having an older plasma that did have IR I know what to look for. The colors and black levels of this set are excellent, it's like seeing HD for the first time all over again. Of course, the viewing angle of plasma is best in the business as well, so no problems there. All in all it's hard to find fault with this TV. I gave it 4 stars for features because it does not offer any sort of internet or "smart" connectivity. This was perfect for me since I already have a Roku, and I was able to save a significant amount by choosing a TV without those features. I believe this TV is the best bargain in the TV industry in 2013. If image quality and a good value are important to you, then you should definitely give this Samsung a chance.

Heels98
Western NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Great value
1/1/2014

Customer review by AristotleGucci

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by AristotleGucci
by AristotleGucci

Really liked this tv. Image quality for movies is excellent, after I look for a thread on how to calibrate it on AVS Forum. It's not a smart tv, but unfortunately that's not the only missing feature. There's no smart selection source via HDMI. So for instance, I have Google Chromecast on HDMI 2. It is capable of controlling your tv or receiver via HDMI, so if you activate it, all the inputs go to where they should go. Except this tv, it's too dumb to do that. I'm happy, but only because I paid BF prices.

AristotleGucci
Danville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could Not Be Happier!
2/4/2014

Customer review by Floridabred

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Floridabred
by Floridabred

I was a little apprehensive about buying a plasma TV but am really glad I did now. The picture is better then I even expected it to be. They look good in the store but the real test is at home. This TV passed that test with flying colors. Very easy set-up and I'm not very tech. savvy. I hope to eventually add a sound bar but not because there's anything wrong with the sound now. I just would like to have some more range. All future purchases will be Samsung.

Floridabred
Fruit Cove, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV for the price
4/16/2014

Customer review by samsungfan88

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by samsungfan88
by samsungfan88

We really enjoy our new TV. It has several great features and a nice size screen. We picked because we already had a roku so we did not need a smart tv. It was easy to set the roku. The only issue we have with the tv is that it only has 1 optical audio out. There are no other audio outs and we could not connect it to our high end 10+ year old stereo. This is a slight disappointment. Still looking for an affordable solution to this issue.

samsungfan88
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Superb picture quality
1/8/2014

Customer review by mse1602

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by mse1602
by mse1602

I did plenty of research before buying a TV. After listening to people who knew TV's, I decided on the Samsung 51" plasma with 1080p. I couldn't be happier with the picture quality I get on my TV. There are other reasons to look at different models, but when it comes down to the bottom line, the picture quality is why you should buy a TV. You can't beat the picture here.

mse1602
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Surprisingly good TV
6/18/2014

Customer review by poziteevo

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by poziteevo
by poziteevo

I had an older Samsung 720p and wanted to upgrade. For the price you can't beat the picture on a plasma. The picture options are numerous, so you really can tweak the picture to make it look phenomenal. My only gripe is the speakers. They are horrible. Also one more hdmi input would have made it the perfect buy. For the price you won't get a better picture.

poziteevo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews