Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 50 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Stopped working after only 6 days
5/23/2013

Customer review by Magracie

1.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Magracie
by Magracie

I have other Samsung products and have absolutely no complaints. For this reason I didn't hesitate to purchase this TV. I read reviews before my purchase and the reviews did give me a sense of comfort in buying the product online without actually looking at it first. This is my reason for this review as I typically don't participate in reviews, but maybe this will help someone else make an informed decision. The TV was perfect and I was extremely happy until day 6. My daughter was watching a program and suddenly the TV went black. Nothing! Even the red standby mode light that stays on all the time went out. There is no power to the TV. I changed outlets and still nothing. I placed my old TV back on the stand and plugged into the same power outlet, it works fine. I reported the incident to Samsung and was given a trouble ticket number for repair. I would have taken the TV back to the store, but Samsung assured me it would be repaired or replaced at no cost. It has now been 48 hours and no call from the repair service. I have called Samsung customer service again and was told my ticket was still "open" and I should be contacted within yet another 24 hours. I hope this is true and the TV is repaired soon. If I haven't received a call by tomorrow I will just return for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (38) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magracie
Vicksburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TV and Picture quality is great
10/10/2013

Customer review by papickyman

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by papickyman
by papickyman

After watching my son-in-laws Samsung plasma tv, I was very impressed with the picture quality. It was not 3D but the depth of the picture looked like it only better. I also own an led-lcd tv and this plasma just has better depth of picture. The owners manual was easy to understand which made set up a cinch. It may not have a lot of features and hookups but I don't need them. I knew this before I bought it and at this price it's the perfect tv for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
papickyman
Central Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I do not like the stand
6/11/2013

Customer review by Jan326

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Jan326
by Jan326

The stand is not attractive. It makes the TV look very inexpensive and it is not as stable as it should be, in my opinion. I replaced a much more expensive Samsung TV with this one. My previous model had a much less obtrusive stand. Other than the stand, the picture and sound quality of this TV is quite nice and I am pleased with the features this model offers for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jan326
Rockdale, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for a great tv.
3/16/2014

Customer review by KayeJayhawk

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by KayeJayhawk
by KayeJayhawk

This is our first HD tv and we have been wowed. We went back and forth between plasma and LCD and selected the plasma. No regrets.We are able to watch this tv from any position in the room. Our previous tv was a 32 inch and the new one is 51 inch. Just like our memories of the drive in theaters. We can't watch it enough or say enough about how it has improved the quality of our lives. Also very happy with the brightness and clarity. You can't go wrong purchasing this tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KayeJayhawk
Arma, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the plasma you want
4/13/2013

Customer review by Hakuzen

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Hakuzen
by Hakuzen

You will see a lot of reviewers offer you many reasons why this TV may not be for you. They will use words like "Budget" and "Base-Model", and maybe even complain about brightness or lack of features. The truth? If you want a 51' plasma tv, there is no reason to buy anything else. Let me break this down: Features: This is the only area in which this TV does not get 5 stars from me. Why? Mainly one reason, lack of additional HDMI ports. This TV only offers 2 HDMI inputs, which is a pretty big bummer. Personally, I do not believe any TV should have less than 3 HDMI ports, but preferably should have 4. This is truly the one major weakness of this TV, but is certainly not a deal breaker. If you have more than 2 HDMI sources, you can always buy a switch. There are other features missing, but they are mostly fluff. Namely, this TV is not a "Smart TV". I do not dock any points for this, because the whole "Smart TV" thing is simply a fad and is mostly useless to anyone who is not computer illiterate. Why do I say that? Well, that is because you can turn this TV into a "SmartTV" simply by plugging it into a modern computer. You can then watch ANYTHING from your computer on your TV, including Hulu, Netflix and all that other stuff. Not to mention a PS3/Xbox will basically do the same thing, if you do not own a modern computer. In summary, this TV has all of the features you NEED, and none of the expensive fluff. Performance: This is inarguably the most important part of any TV performance. Who cares how nice the TV looks, or how robust it's features are, if the picture looks terrible? The answer is: Nobody. -Picture Quality The 5300 does not disappoint in this regard, delivering ultra-deep, inky blacks, vibrant whites, and an amazing contrast ratio. Do not listen to those who say Plasmas are not bright enough. That may have been true in the early 2000s, but it is certainly not true today. Just set the picture mode to standard, turn off ECO sensor and increase the Cell Light to 15-20(depending on preference). You will NOT be disappointed. The default 720p input looks great, but the second you watch a native 1080p movie (blu-ray) your jaw will simply drop to the floor. It is like watching a painting come to life. Stunning does not even describe it, and the picture quality is unmatched by ANY LED I have ever seen (Including the huge overpriced LEDs you will find on the showroom floors). -Refresh Rate The 600hz sub-field motion makes a subtle yet noticeable difference in comparison to the standard 60hz plasma. Basically, the sub-field motion eliminates most motion-blur and stuttering, but does not give the "fast-forward effect" that the LED equivalent 'Motion interpolation' does. This is a HUGE benefit, as most people who own LEDs simply turn that feature off and deal with the motion blur due to the unnatural feel it gives to movies. Simply put, 600hz sub-field motion is the best of both worlds and will give you flawless playback the likes you have never seen. In summary, Performance is this set's strongpoint. Flawless picture with a perfect refresh rate creates a visually stunning experience perfect for movies, sports and gaming. Design: Samsung again has learned much from past experience, designing a near perfect modern television. The clear image panel uses a single layer, which fixes the two major flaws in plasma TVs people used to complain about. Namely, Ghost images and Image retention. This TV, straight out of the box, produces ZERO ghosting and even after leaving a static image up for over 15 minutes, there was no image retention to speak of. The classic arguments against plasma are no longer relevant, thanks in no small part to the Clear Image Panel. The third issue that people often complain about with plasmas, screen glare, has still not been solved completely. In low-light, this TV is flawless. In a very bright room with open windows, you will still see some reflections. The reflections are greatly reduced/mitigated by the Clear Image Panel, but still not eliminated completely. That one minor issue aside, the design of this plasma TV is flawless. The Plasma +1 means that you get an extra inch compared to other 51’ TVs, via the ultra-thin bevel featured on this set. Amazingly, with all these improvements, they’ve also managed to reduce power consumption AND overall weight of the TV. In summary, the design of this TV is nearly flawless. The Clear Image Panel has eliminated most issues a plasma TV would typically have, and greatly mitigated the one issue it could not completely solve. In a dark environment, you will find no issues with this TV whatsoever. The ultra-light weight and thin design also makes it a prime candidate for wall mounting. Value: Overall, the value of this TV is quite substantial. It is very cheap for a 51’ plasma, and offers the same stunning performance you would find in a TV twice or even three times its cost. The only thing you are losing out on here are ports and fluff features that most people do not need. In Conclusion: Visually, this is a top-tier plasma for a bottom-tier price. Don’t be fooled by the more expensive options out there, they will deliver a similar product with features you do not need for much more cash that you do not need to spend. This TV hit’s the sweet-spot for Price and Performance, and I would highly recommend it to anybody in the market for a plasma TV.

Hakuzen
Seattle, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
First time Plasma screen buyer
8/26/2013

Customer review by pappy22637

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by pappy22637
by pappy22637

I heard a lot about plasma screen display being better than LCD?LED. Did not realize how much better it is until now. It has a clearer picture, with better resolution and contrast, and the colors display truer. Glad I decided on plasma this time.

pappy22637
Pittsburgh, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Awesome!
6/6/2013

Customer review by jennie888

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by jennie888
by jennie888

This has been the first HDtv we have bought and we are very happy to have ths tv! The hd is very beautiful! I recommend this if you want a simple tv that has a good image!

jennie888
New Castle, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Plasma 5300 Series TV
6/10/2013

Customer review by TheDrill

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by TheDrill
by TheDrill

After viewing all the other TV,s in my price range , the quality of the picture on this Samsung model far outweighed the others, crisp and clear pictures on fast moving bluray action films. Overall really excellent.

TheDrill
Los Angeles
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung 5300series plasma
7/26/2013

Customer review by CtTechJunky

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by CtTechJunky
by CtTechJunky

Over all this is a great television the picture quality is excellent as far as plasma's TV's are concerned, and compared to LED HDTV's you would have to buy a Samsung 13000 series to get the same picture quality and color quality. This HDTV does not offer all the same bells and whistles as the higher end models but unless you actually care about having the internet on your television its not a big deal since 90% of the populas has some sort of device hooked upto the tv anyways. The only cons I have about this tv is that there is a mild reverb in the speakers when watching movies or tv with the speakers set to the movie or music setting. Also there is almost NO information on howto pro spec all the little tv settings to get the absolute best picture quality possible from your set and there is almost no information on howto adjust the white level and colorspace. Beyond the lack of information on howto fine tune your individual television I think this is a great HDTV to buy

CtTechJunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV!
6/25/2013

Customer review by OnTheGoGuy

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by OnTheGoGuy
by OnTheGoGuy

I had to have one once I had the phone and tablet and there is no disappointment here. Super Sharp images, fast connection and easy to mount on my wall. Needless to say i'll be hosting all the games this season.

OnTheGoGuy
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Plasma with the light weight of an LED and plasma picture
10/7/2013

Customer review by hyfynut

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by hyfynut
by hyfynut

This is an excellent example of how far the Plasma displays have developed. The unit is less than 2" thick and weighs less than 40 pounds. It is easy to mount on the wall and the factory picture settings are excellent while leaving more than enough room for custom adjustments. Highly recommended.

hyfynut
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV
11/7/2013

Customer review by Krlsun703

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Krlsun703
by Krlsun703

This TV is awesome. I had to replace my 32 LCD after the color went out and this TV is not a disappointment. Great clarity with fast transitions, not only from devise but also in pictures. Great TV for the price.

Krlsun703
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Top Notch
12/13/2013

Customer review by Paradiso

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Paradiso
by Paradiso

This TV has been fantastic. It's exactly what we were looking for. Great picture quality. Everything you'd expect from a Samsung product.

Paradiso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Best bang for the buck!
12/13/2013

Customer review by Heels98

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Heels98
by Heels98

Let's cut to the chase and answer lingering questions about plasmas and how this TV compares in those regards: Is it viewable in the daytime? This was one of my concerns due to the wall of windows in our open-floor living room. Rest assured, this TV is very bright and is easily viewed even during the brightest part of the day. Yes, it is highly reflective, but the light doesn't scatter when it hits the screen, so the overall picture isn't washed out like it can be with LCDs and edge-lit LEDs. What about burn-in/image retention? I've had this set for three weeks, just past the critical 100-hour stage where image retention and burn-in typically occur. This set does an outstanding job, I've yet to see the slightest hint of image retention, and I've been looking for it. Having an older plasma that did have IR I know what to look for. The colors and black levels of this set are excellent, it's like seeing HD for the first time all over again. Of course, the viewing angle of plasma is best in the business as well, so no problems there. All in all it's hard to find fault with this TV. I gave it 4 stars for features because it does not offer any sort of internet or "smart" connectivity. This was perfect for me since I already have a Roku, and I was able to save a significant amount by choosing a TV without those features. I believe this TV is the best bargain in the TV industry in 2013. If image quality and a good value are important to you, then you should definitely give this Samsung a chance.

Heels98
Western NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
1st Plasma TV
12/26/2013

Customer review by RRRoger

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by RRRoger
by RRRoger

Took my Seiki 4k TV back because the 1080 movie quality was mediocre and anything less was terrible. Most of our programing is SD. The Samsung 51" Class 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F5300AFXZA was slightly better image than anything in the store. They were all plugged into the same HD source, so easy to compare. When I got home the image was only slightly better than my (excellant) CRT (optimized for SD) untill I adjusted the settings. Now the SD broadcast are better than BlueRay thru the old TV. I have not tested with a BlueRay disc yet but HD is exceptionally

RRRoger
Monterey Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Superb picture quality
1/8/2014

Customer review by mse1602

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by mse1602
by mse1602

I did plenty of research before buying a TV. After listening to people who knew TV's, I decided on the Samsung 51" plasma with 1080p. I couldn't be happier with the picture quality I get on my TV. There are other reasons to look at different models, but when it comes down to the bottom line, the picture quality is why you should buy a TV. You can't beat the picture here.

mse1602
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Super deal. Great picture, easy setup
2/4/2014

Customer review by GnGranch

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by GnGranch
by GnGranch

Replaced an older Samsung with this one the additional features and good price may this a super deal. Best part is the picture quality, of course but the other features make it a terrific plasma HDTV.

GnGranch
Lake Placid, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could Not Be Happier!
2/4/2014

Customer review by Floridabred

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Floridabred
by Floridabred

I was a little apprehensive about buying a plasma TV but am really glad I did now. The picture is better then I even expected it to be. They look good in the store but the real test is at home. This TV passed that test with flying colors. Very easy set-up and I'm not very tech. savvy. I hope to eventually add a sound bar but not because there's anything wrong with the sound now. I just would like to have some more range. All future purchases will be Samsung.

Floridabred
Fruit Cove, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome value
2/9/2014

Customer review by firebird67ho

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by firebird67ho
by firebird67ho

The value for dollar paid is awesome. Can not go wrong with Samsung!

firebird67ho
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very good TV, regardless its remarkable value
3/3/2014

Customer review by Broadus

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Broadus
by Broadus

Wanting to replace our old Samsung CRT, I began researching HDTVs. My research led me to plasmas and then to the Samsung PN51F5300. I located one at a good price, brought it home, set it up with our entertainment system, and like it a lot. Even with brightness and contrast reduced for the first month to break the plasma in, the picture quality impresses everyone who sees our television.. The viewing angles are great, the colors are really good, everything about the picture is a win. We have two windows opposite the television, so we keep those blinds shut for daytime viewing. There is still a little reflection, as can be seen in the attached photo. With that in mind, daytime viewing is good; nighttime viewing is great. If we get close to it, we can hear a little buzz if there is a snowy background, as in watching the Winter Olympics, but you won't hear it if you're not listening for it. This is a fine television, especially for the price. Would I like one more HDMI port? Absolutely, and there's really no reason there are not at least three HDMI ports on the television. Still, it's not a major quibble. For this price, you won't find a better picture on a 50/51" television. Double the price and you may get an LCD/LED that will come close. Unless someone has a bright room and needs an LCD/LED, the F5300 is a solid set for a great price.

Broadus
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews