Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

186 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
41
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 180 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Problem with Netflix and Set Top Box
3/13/2014

Customer review by Sweetbeans

3.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Sweetbeans
by Sweetbeans

I wanted to give this TV a great review, but I cannot. Whenever you go to Netflix and get back out, you will lose the signal source and must go through the set-up steps to get the signal back. Samsung has admitted this is a known problem and are working on a solution. Another issue is with the universal remote and how it controls the TV versus the set-top-box. Whenever you turn the power off for the TV, the STB will power off as well. There is a seperate button for STB power on the remote, so you would assume that only that button would control the STB power. That is not the case. Samsung states that this is normal functionality of the remote, but I don't want to kill the STB when I power off the TV. This stops my DVR from recording. The picture is great, but I expect that from Samsung since I have several Samsung TV's already. This is my first Smart TV and I have had this model for less than 24 hours, however, and I am less than pleased with it so far.

Sweetbeans
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
This TV is not what is advertised
3/27/2014

Customer review by Haluko

2.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Haluko
by Haluko

I bought this TV because the description reads it contains a fully functional web browser where you can browse your favorite content. This is false. If you do not want to use the Samsung Apps this TV is basically a large monitor. The web browser does not work. I am told by Samsung the browser has limited capabilities. Bottom line is if I want to pay for huluplus.com then I can use the browser. If I want to watch hulu.com free content I cannot. Who is paying for the TV anywho? I do not need another monitor. I am still clicking through the buttons but I think more and more this large monitor is going back. I usually buy Samsung TV because I like their picture quality but after this gaffu I believe they may have lost a customer. I feel the description for this unit is false advertising and I feel ripped off.

Haluko
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV, Impressive features
3/26/2014

Customer review by EricAZ

4.0 stars 3/26/2014 by EricAZ
by EricAZ

I did a lot of research before making this purchase and had decided it would be a Samsung. After seeing this TV in the store, I chose this TV in particular because of image quality. I have been truly happy with this purchase. The guide is cool, however I am having an issue with the guide data. I am using the time offset setting to fix the guide data, but the TV's clock is off by an hour. There seems to be no way to manually set the time zone on this set. Besides that issue , everything works great. The set works with my cable box and was even surprised when I was watching a movie on my gaming console, my friend grabbed the TV's remote to hit pause.... And it worked! No programming required, I was impressed. Oh yeah, the one other reason I purchased this product... No to very minimal soap opera effect.

EricAZ
Phoenix, AZ, USA
First Experience With A Smart TV
3/8/2014

Customer review by MisterTex

4.0 stars 3/8/2014 by MisterTex
by MisterTex

The t.v. has many great features. I do not have any computer or internet experience so this has been a lot of things to discover and learn. I have difficulty working the Web access app with the remote and think a keyboard would help. I am wanting to purchase a compatible wireless keyboard and am struggling to find what to purchase because the website is a bit confusing for me. I called the 800 number and the lady gave me the number for Samsung parts but they aren't working today. I'm 78 years old so this has been a brand new experience for me. I'll keep trying. My neighbor is trying to assist me. Will try again Monday and see how far I get with gaining useful feedback about keyboards for my Model UN40F6300AF Sansung Smart LED T.V. that is thus far, smarter than me.

MisterTex
65049
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Excellent TV! Absolutely love it.
1/1/2014

Customer review by Jpar63

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by Jpar63
by Jpar63

This is my first step into the realm of HDTV and so far I am very impressed with this TV. From the second I unboxed this TV, I could tell I was going to love it. The slim design with narrow bezel is impressive and looks awesome in my livingroom. Although it took a little while to update the Firmware, the setup was super easy and it integrates nicely with all of my other electronic devices, such as Smart Phone and PC. The main reason I chose this TV was the picture, it is amazing. Combind with a great feature set and excellent value, the decission to purchase it was a no-brainer. It looked great in the store and even better once I got it home, all setup and calibrated. I would have no problem what so ever reccomending this Samsung HDTV to a friend.

Jpar63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Our Third Samsung
12/13/2013

Customer review by msj57

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by msj57
by msj57

We have three Samsung TV's a 46", a 60" Smart TV and bought the 40" Smart TV for our Granddaughter when she visits. Have to say picture on all three is good, however, the 40" picture seems to be the best pic of the three. I have a hearing problem and don't always hear sounds well, but I do think that I hear the sound better on the 40". The Smart TV on the 40" is set up different than the 60" and I am not too familar with it yet but we think that the technology is better than our 60" and it is only 15 months old. We are all pleased with the 40" Smart TV and it looks good hanging on the wall of a small room; my husband found it easy to hang and to connect to cable. We really like Samsung products so far and would buy again.

msj57
louisville, ky
Great TV
3/12/2014

Customer review by Papricca

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by Papricca
by Papricca

Purchased this TV as an exchange to my 5300 series. Upon other reviews, the 5300 series has Netflix app issues that I experienced. So I thought if I upgrade, I wouldn't experience ANY other problems (considering that this is a brand new item). Upon delivery of my TV, I set it up and mounted it. The very next day, I experienced black screen issue where I can hear sound but no picture. Over the course of 3 months having a technician over 4 times to service my TV, I finally have a good working TV. Pros: I like the Slim design. There are too many features for me to try all of them. I probably won't even use many of them. However, I do like the screen mirror that I can use with my Note 3. Easy to setup. Cons: Coloring and the brightness adjustments was very hard to adjust to. It's always different under different lighting for some reason. Upon other research, people complain that the volume/speakers are not loud enough. I haven't experienced this problem because I have a small room. Remote control wasn't a problem for me either. Since I watch Netflix a lot, I like that there's a Netflix shortcut on the remote control. I think the remote control is a better simple design than the LG that my boyfriend has. All issues aside, I do like this TV, even though, I have conflicting feelings about Samsung.

Papricca
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
picture is great, wireless not so much
6/14/2014

Customer review by NCsweetTea

3.0 stars 6/14/2014 by NCsweetTea
by NCsweetTea

I was very excited to purchase this smart TV. However, the wireless reception is terrible. I have yet to watch a full program without the wireless disconnecting. Trouble shooting I've done from Samsung says to check with my provider, but this is my only device that has trouble. I will be in the middle of watching a movie and have to switch to my PC which is so annoying! The remote is not user friendly for internet search. I love the picture quality but I bought it for streaming features. This TV does not meet my expectations. I am ready to buy a large screen for my living room and thought Samsung would be my choice but now am re-thinking this decision.

NCsweetTea
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
I can't imagine a better product.
11/24/2013

Customer review by Joelski

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Joelski
by Joelski

I did a some research to educate myself about Smart TV's prior to making this purchase, and it became apparent to me that Samsung is so far ahead in the development game, that buying was a no-brainer. The picture quality and feature set are amazing and the overall design is complimentary to the rest of my A-V gear. This set is replacing a 10 year-old digital rear projection set and I gotta say I am reliving the HD revelation all over again! The mesh with my PC's and Galaxy Note II is seamless and exponentially multiplies the usefulness of this set and transforms it from a mundane TV into an entertainment device. I'll never look at TV the same way again

Joelski
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Review of Smart TV feature only - TV picture great
12/29/2013

Customer review by WaWawashereya

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by WaWawashereya
by WaWawashereya

Ok, this is a great TV as far as the picture is concerned. But the extra features of the Smart TV are kind of lame. The apps: I've had nexflix and other apps on my Wii and Xbox forever, so nothing new there. The TV has a limited memory, and there are several apps that come pre-installed and you can't uninstall them. These apps take up valuable space! There are very few good apps available besides Amazon Video, HBO To Go, YouTube, ect. The "browser" - Kind of useless without a keyboard and mouse. You can get a really really long USB extension cord and plug in a USB keyboard and mouse. I wish Samsung offered a wireless mouse and keyboard!

WaWawashereya
Concord, CA
Smarter SmartTV
7/30/2013

Customer review by DiamondLil

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by DiamondLil
by DiamondLil

This TV is absolutely fantastic for the price. My neighbor owns the UN46C7000 and it runs circles around his on the internet. He has my TV connected wireless to his LAN so I now have access to a web browser and all the internet media content that I was missing out on. The picture quality isn't quite as good as the C7000, but the dual-core processor and internet capabilities more than make up for the slightly poorer display. This TV comes highly recommended for anyone who needs quick, easy access to internet media at a very affordable price. Samsung (and my neighbor) has done it again.

DiamondLil
SE California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Fantastic Features and Entertainment Experience
5/16/2013

Customer review by FlashGordon60

4.0 stars 5/16/2013 by FlashGordon60
by FlashGordon60

It has been a few weeks and I still enjoy going through and finding new apps or ways to enjoy my entertainment experience even more. The ability to find movies or TV shows quickly and easily with s recommendation instead of surfing has refreshed the TV viewing experience making it more enjoyable. The ability to quickly access the internet from the same room as watching TV has been fun, and sharing pictures and music, on the TV in the living room, from my computer in another room, has been wonderful! The TV size is perfect for my small living room too. Way to go Samsung!

FlashGordon60
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
This TV has been dissappointing.
9/4/2014

Customer review by Condodiva

3.0 stars 9/4/2014 by Condodiva
by Condodiva

I bought a smart TV to have access to the internet as I cannot afford both cable TV and internet. Without a keyboard it is difficult to use the internet features, and some not usable at all without one. According to my menu I have the capability for a wireless keyboard but Samsung does not make one for the 6300 series. Makes no sense to have a feature built in and no accessory available. Also a lot of the streaming becomes distorted after being on a short time. I'm sure it is a great TV if you can afford CABLE or have DIRECT or DISH TV but not so otherwise.

Condodiva
WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Would not recommend to a friend within my generation
5/20/2014

Customer review by Pensioneer

3.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Pensioneer
by Pensioneer

As a Baby-Boomer, I find trying to operate the SmartTV laboriously challenging. I find the instructions to be limited and confusing. I loose the internet connection frequently and spend a lot of time re-plugging in long and complicated passwords with a keyboard reminiscent of WEBTV. The screen freezes up often and any internet browsing is awkward and cumbersome. I've spent an inordinate amount of time just trying to get the thing to work. I really like the idea of a SmartTV but either I'm not ready for it, or it's not quite ready for people of my vintage.

Pensioneer
Naperville, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV for the price
5/22/2013

Customer review by Jim4752

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Jim4752
by Jim4752

I purchased this TV because I was amazed by the quality of the picture. It stands out from the crowd in sharpness and overall quality and brightness. I had seen one at another's home and was impressed. The fact that it is also a smart TV is a plus, it connects to my wireless and loads Netflix and U tube movies and video faster than my Samsung blue ray player. The sound is more than adequate. So far I love this TV. The only complaint I have does not relate to the TV directly, it is that the keyboard for it is too expensive.

Jim4752
Utica, NY
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Features but lousy sound
7/29/2014

Customer review by DJ1965

4.0 stars 7/29/2014 by DJ1965
by DJ1965

It is amazing how with the advanced technology that Samsung has for picture quality and great secondary features, that the engineers can not use a speaker system that will handle those features accordingly. Thinking that you HAVE to purchase a sound-bar, just to get decent sound from your TV is sad and uncalled for. Give us better speaker options, just like TV picture quality options! OR, at least built in speakers that stand up to the test of an action movie, without over-driving the speaker on a low speaker volume.

DJ1965
Palm Bay, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
This product has a manufacturer problem
1/5/2015

Customer review by NotHappy40TV

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by NotHappy40TV
by NotHappy40TV

After about a year, the TV started cycling on and off. I had been performing firmware updates regularly. It started out intermittent and now today as soon as I plug the tv in it starts cycling. I looked up the problem online and it seems that this issue is a common problem for all Samsung tvs going back quite a few years so it seems that they have not fixed the problem in newer tvs either. I am hoping to get this issue resolved, but if I end up paying for the repair, I will not buy anything else Samsung again.

NotHappy40TV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung 5500 Smart TV
2/22/2014

Customer review by mm1510

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by mm1510
by mm1510

I think this TV is outsmarting me, but I'll someday learn more about it's many features... Though, there is problem with streaming Netflix. I have been using a different device to stream Netflix, as there is a problem streaming through the TV. I've found others who have had the same problem and have had to have a circuit board replaced... I will contact Samsung for the replacement as soon as the 30-day store warranty has expired. Other than that, it's a GREAT TV and a huge improvement over my prior television!

mm1510
I can connect all my devices!
12/1/2013

Customer review by LEADEROFTHEBAND

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by LEADEROFTHEBAND
by LEADEROFTHEBAND

The TV has a GREAT picture and enough HDMI outlets for my bluray player, Roku, Ethernet cable (a little faster than wireless) and soundbar. In addition, I can also use the Smart Icons to stream Netflix, Hulu and the like in case the Roku goes missing. My only complaint is that the clicker doesn't give you enough time to move your thumb down to the directional arrows before it returns to it's previous setting. I have to have one thumb on "source" and the other on the arrows to change the input in time. Awkward!

LEADEROFTHEBAND
Rockport, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Awesome TV
5/20/2014

Customer review by ScootersMeMe

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by ScootersMeMe
by ScootersMeMe

I bought this TV for my bedroom, which is fairly large. The brilliance and clarity of the picture are superb and the sound is of good quality too. The unit works very well with my tv provider and it came with an app I needed, already installed. Initially, I was going to buy another brand, but since I already have Samsung 55" LED Smart TV, which I love, I changed my mind. I'm so happy with my first one and I feared the other brand may not live up to my expectations. I'm very happy I changed my mind.

ScootersMeMe
Pensacola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews