Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
48
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 188 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
Best Bang for your Buck!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Mindspeak

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Mindspeak
by Mindspeak

I was in need of another TV and began researching several sites to narrow down not only what options I was interested and not interested in, but also what recommendations were made regarding the size and my price point. In every instances, the Samsung PN51F4500 was given great reviews. For the component heavy user, this TV may not be the way to go as it has two HMDI ports and 1 A/V config. (and a USB port), but for the less component driven user, this TV is a steal. Assembly and set-up were a cinch and the E-menu makes any adjustments or explanations of the various settings a cake walk. Important note: ensure that all viewing for the first 100 hours is at full or stretch screen (there are automatic adjustments to handle this) or the black side bars make be etched into the screen. There is a way to remove this over time but paying attention to the first 100 hours of viewing is a safer bet. Also, remember, plasmas show better in darker rooms but there are adjustments that can be made to accommodate your preference. Overall, great buy.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mindspeak
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Early Birthday Gift !!
5/26/2013

Customer review by babygirlrosie69

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by babygirlrosie69
by babygirlrosie69

I was so excited to see my wife come home and surprise me with this amazing tv such a excellent picture quality and sound excellent options. plus the tv size is perfect and it doesn't even really weigh much 39lb' that nothing compared to what a tv this size use to weigh . the only negative thing i have is there's no a/v out-let and there's only 2 hdmi input's but everything else im please with .

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babygirlrosie69
joliet IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy it
7/4/2013

Customer review by iiiiiiii

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by iiiiiiii
by iiiiiiii

Seriously. I bought this TV in November 2011. It was a great TV. Then I just now, in July 2013, turned it on and got no picture. Investigation found an internal star-shaped crack in the middle of the screen. At first I thought my teens had broken it, but a quick Internet search revealed that this is a design flaw that's happening to thousands of people. And Samsung won't do anything about it. Unfortunately, since my warranty has expired, I'm stuck. But I think we can safely say that one should expect an expensive TV to last longer than 18 months. I will never buy another Samsung product as long as I live. I suggest another brand.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iiiiiiii
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Bang For The Buck
10/7/2013

Customer review by IKNOWHDTV

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by IKNOWHDTV
by IKNOWHDTV

Without a doubt, the best value for an outstanding image. Couple this TV with the extended four year warranty and you have an affordable, quality, new (not refurbished) 51" HDTV for around $560.00. Never, ever judge the quality of an HDTV image by viewing it in a retail store setting. Buy it, take it home and adjust it's settings to suit YOUR viewing environment. Don't let the 720p resolution of this plasma deter you, it handles 1080i OTA HD signals flawlessly. If you do not need a SMART TV, give this unit a very close look.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IKNOWHDTV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Longer Working After 21 Months
10/19/2013

Customer review by Squirrley33

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Squirrley33
by Squirrley33

We purchased this TV in December 2011. It was a great price for a TV this size. It had a great picture and great sound quality. September 2013 the TV started making a clicking noise and then all of a sudden it just stopped working all together. I have never, in my life, had a TV tear up this fast. Very disappointed in this purchase. The TV comes with a one year warranty. If you do buy the TV make sure you get an extended warranty. It is going to cost us $45.00 hour to have the TV checked and repaired at a local repair shop.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squirrley33
Inez, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good TV for the money.
12/16/2013

Customer review by Moontopper

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Moontopper
by Moontopper

Excellent plasma TV. It's a good TV for rooms or areas that do not have excessive back lighting such as windows during the day that have no covering or bright lamps at night time. We keep our drapes closed to keep light out and our lamps lit on a dim setting so we have no problem with light reflecting on the screen. If you have a brightly lit room I would suggest not getting a plasma TV, instead get a LCD/LED TV, they are better in brightly lit areas. So the bottom line is the plasma has a better overall picture but if it has a lot of light reflecting off the screen the picture quality does not matter because you see too much back lighting to enjoy the quality that a plasma TV offers. Keep in mind, the back lighting is usually from lamps and windows that are behind the people that are watching the TV, not for windows and lamps behind and way away from the side of the TV. Even LCD/LED TV's can have light reflection issues from bright lighting behind the viewers but not nearly as bad as the plasma TV does.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moontopper
Lyndonville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful plasma, easy set up.
11/12/2013

Customer review by CJWhouse

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by CJWhouse
by CJWhouse

My husband and I preferred the warmer picture of the plasma vs. LCD. And frankly, on the Dynamic setting this 720p, it looks so much like the 1080p, you are not feeling cheated by any means. Skin tones are more natural than the LED/LCD. The 20 watt speaker delivery is more than adequate for us, but you can add digital type external speakers if you want. We are happy with the sound quality. There are different settings to choose from for tv speaker use, but we like the amplify and also the new clear voice technology where voices are not drowned out by loud backgrounds in many movies. We were hard pressed to find a set that was over 42" without spending a thousand. The USB will not only do photos, but you can play movies as well. Some tv's with USB only do the photos. Three HDMI's and auxilliary RCA jacks if you have older DVD player without the HDMI connection or kids, plug and play games. There is a pixel setting to protect the set from burn in, so the problem that existed years ago with pixel burn in is now solved. The screen is glass, not plastic. We have only had the set a few days and are totally pleased. You cannot beat the value for the money spent.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJWhouse
Peoria, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/22/2013

Customer review by littlelinenose

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by littlelinenose
by littlelinenose

my first "big" tv for my new house and it has been just perfect so far. Only complaint is i cant have the dvd player and wii connected at the same time. Not enough red/yellow/white plugs in the back.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlelinenose
los angeles, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/26/2013

Customer review by twotvsoneyear

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by twotvsoneyear
by twotvsoneyear

Has very Good picture Quality compared to the Panasonic. These large flat screen panels are very sensitive to impact so I recommend to Velcro strip Plexiglas over glass to protect from flying beanie baby's or any other object kids play with around them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twotvsoneyear
Gladwin MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A-mazing
6/10/2013

Customer review by jkp042009

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by jkp042009
by jkp042009

This TV is awesome. Its an early B-day present as well and gotta say its worth the penny spent. The most affordable Plasma TV out there and from a Power house giant of TV's as well. We've had it for a week and love it! our inlaws, whom we live with, now want one too. Cannot wait to play some Halo on the darn thing too!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkp042009
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best value for the money
11/27/2013

Customer review by gajssmith

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by gajssmith
by gajssmith

I bought this TV December 2012 as a replacement. I had limited funds so I had to seriously consider what was truly important to me. Size was the most important factor, I was replacing a 50 inch TV and did not want to get a smaller one. That was more important than features such as 3D or a Smart TV, which would have cost significantly more. There are 2 HDMI ports and digital audio output, so it works well with my existing sound system. I was turned off initially by a display at a local Wal Mart, but realized they didn't have the picture set up correctly when I saw the same TV at another reatailer. 720p was a step down in resolution; however, I really cannot complain about the picture I've enjoyed for the past year. Resolution is not as important as you might think, as illustrated here: http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/samsung-pn51f4500/4505-6482_7-35647505.html Bottom line, if you're looking for a decent basic HDTV around this size, it's hard to beat the value you get on this one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gajssmith
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/27/2013

Customer review by Jedmond

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Jedmond
by Jedmond

Performs well and great sharp picture

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jedmond
Lorena,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent tv for the price.
9/5/2013

Customer review by Newbedforme

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Newbedforme
by Newbedforme

Tv looks great when I first turned it within minutes picture started to get a little wavy but has never done it again. The sound factory settings was horrible so I played around til I got some settings that worked for me. I hate turning your tv up to half volume just to hear people's voices. Picture quality is great and very little glare and easily viewable from side angles. Not going find a comparable tv for this cheap. Like the back metal casing seems pretty solid.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newbedforme
Louisville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for the price!
12/14/2013

Customer review by romodesign1

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by romodesign1
by romodesign1

I have owned several Samsung TVs and have always been impressed with their quality for the price. I purchased a more expensive Samsung LED TV and while the picture quality was okay, the colors shifted from channel to channel and any movie we played suffered from the "soap opera" effect which I can't stand. While this is an older model TV it is a real sleeper in terms of online reviews, but, I did find one review that gave this model extremely high remarks. I purchased the TV on Cyber Monday at half the retail list price, which I now consider a steal. The TV has an excellent picture, extremely dark blacks and does not suffer from being in a well lit room (which is a common complaint for plasma TVs.) The only drawback I see is that it is not a smart TV, but if you hook up to a Roku or Apple TV it works great. I have an Apple TV and can stream movies and images from my iPad and the pictures look great. I would highly recommend this TV, especially if you can purchase it for around $500.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
romodesign1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT TV "LOVE IT"
12/8/2013

Customer review by JUSTKICKIT

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by JUSTKICKIT
by JUSTKICKIT

5 STARS ALL AROUND This is the best Plasma TV easy to set up, I LOVE IT. Not only that Walmart packed it up like they wer're shipping eggs and got it in 48 hours.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JUSTKICKIT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent TV, Excellent Price
9/27/2013

Customer review by kimned88

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by kimned88
by kimned88

What's more to say?

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimned88
New Castle, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delighted!
12/12/2013

Customer review by dd3dcc

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by dd3dcc
by dd3dcc

When I first turned this plasma tv on, I was disappointed in the picture quality--a bit dark and dreary. After tinkering with the remote, I discovered the Tools button which showed me three picture modes--the tv had been set to the Standard mode. When I clicked on Dynamic mode--WOW--the difference was like night and day! Wonderfully bright and clear and sharp and absolutely dynamic! You can also play with contrast, brightness, etc. via the Menu button. The sound quality is average, not bad, not great, a bit too much treble. Might have to get a sound bar. You can't adjust it much. Overall, this is a fabulous tv for the value and dynamic picture quality.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dd3dcc
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent television for price!
7/24/2013

Customer review by Juldi

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by Juldi
by Juldi

The television works great, the picture is sharp and bright - and has many options to customize it to your preference. There is glare when there's a lot of light in the room, but this is expected. It mounts easily and has 1 USB port, 2 HDMI ports, and 1 set of ports in the back for composite cables. You really can't ask for a better TV for the price! It's great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juldi
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/1/2013

Customer review by Jody56

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Jody56
by Jody56

We added a Samsung Sound Bar to get optimum sound when viewing movies and listening to Pandora. The value for the price is EXCELLENT! Great picture. Very easy to get set up. Definitely would recommend to anyone. Big plus, it arrived 5 days early!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jody56
Port Arthur Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We are so happy with this purchase!
1/9/2014

Customer review by Tippy1976

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Tippy1976
by Tippy1976

I did a lot of research before purchasing this TV sight unseen from Walmart.com. I got it online on black Friday and got a great deal. Our prior TV was a 25 year old relic, and the kids wanted to upgrade it to play the xbox split-screen option with friends, which is exactly what you can do when you enter the HD world. The good: once we upgraded Direct TV and got the HD box, the picture was great. Before we did, the picture was awful but that is because it didn't have the HD support. Crisp, clear, and wow what a picture. The not so good: Sound quality is okay, but you can't turn it up too loud (not a big deal for me), if you are in a bright room it is very reflective (but so was our other TV so I don't care so much. We don't watch a lot of TV during the day anyway). I was super worried about buying a TV online without ever seeing it first, but I am extremely happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tippy1976
Lincoln, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews