Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 148 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

148 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

148 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
25
1-20 of 139 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 139 total reviews
1-20 of 139 reviews
Not "Drop-Safe," So functionality doesn't matter
7/24/2013

Customer review by ChumneyHouse

1.0 stars 7/24/2013 by ChumneyHouse
by ChumneyHouse

A fair warning to everyone out there considering buying the nabi Jr: We bought a nabi Jr from WalMart in May 2013 and our three-year-old absolutely loved it. We couldn't have been happier. We'd read many good reviews about the fact that it was made to withstand drops, and Nora was actually really careful with it. Then the inevitable happened: she dropped it. Her screen cracked on a diagonal and only one side of it works. I contacted nabi Cares, but it turns out they don’t. I’ve been told there's nothing they can do. There is no screen replacement program for this product. There goes $100. It was fun while it lasted, but we won't be buying nabi products in the future. The “Drop-Safe Bumper” was a big disappointment. We cannot justify spending more money with a company that promises “The nabi Jr. will handle those little bumps and drops without complaint and with its chunky construction and drop safe bumper, it will make it home undamaged after show and tell.” I thought my daughter would learn great lessons with this device, such as number recognition, phonics, and spelling. Instead, she’s learned that sometimes a company cannot stand behind the product it makes.

Was this review helpful? (123) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChumneyHouse
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A step above the rest!
3/8/2013

Customer review by jcb0409

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by jcb0409
by jcb0409

The nabi jr. Is an exceptional tablet for any child. As well as any mom or dad who would rather not have drool and cheesy puff finger prints on their iphone. At only 99 dollars its a steal. Its rated for 3 to 6 years. My son is 2 and never puts it down. You don't have to buy cartridges or batteries for it. Included is a USB charging cable. It has one physical home button. I found that the home button works more like a back button than a home button. If your in one of the 7 app screens you have to hold it a second longer to go to the main app home screen. It also has a volume rocker on the side, sound quality is pretty good. Its little hands friendly and very well protected. Surrounded in hard plastic and rubber, its build with terrible twos in mind. Its not to heavy but has a solid feel to it. The screen is perfect size (5") and has more than enough picture quality for a child. The camera rotates from front to back and is 2MP, that's plenty for endless pictures of the carpet and ceiling. However it doesn't include a flash. Probably a good thing. The screen and camera lens has a plastic protective cover on it so you'll have to remove it to get the best picture. You can buy it with either 4GB (99 dollars) or 16GB (139 dollars) of storage with an option to add more storage via SD Mimi card. It works like any other Android device. It runs off the Android jelly bean OS so you can do basically everything you can do on an Android smart phone or tablet. It has Bluetooth and wifi capabilities, works well on a mobile hotspot. Mommy and daddy mode is password protected and lets you pick only the apps you want your child to have access to. While in mommy or daddy mode you can get you email, search the Web even use facebook. It comes with a kid specific app store through nabi however due to the early release, the app store doesn't have much to choose from yet. You can download Amazon market, Android mobile market, etc. to get the games, videos, movies your child will like best. It comes pre loaded with many apps, however they aren't very good. You can uninstall these to allow for more space. Wings is some kind of nabi learning center, however it will not work until the official release date of the tablet. Which i haven't been able to find. Once it does finally release you will be able to buy accessories like a stylus. It only comes with a filler, its just a white piece of plastic that will not work on the screen. You can also buy different color bumpers, kick stand, cases/bags, screen protectors, and little plastic squares with letters, numbers and pictures on them. They attach to the back of the nabi. I will admit the OS seems a little buggy at times but once they release the unit and the update comes out, im cretin the issues will be corrected. We originally intended on buying a leappad or innotab. After coming across the nabi jr. I realized its outrages that the leapad cost the same amount but does so much less. If you're planning on getting a tablet for you kid the nabi jr. has all the bells and whistles. There isnt much information about it online due to the release date, but the nabi cares (customer service) have been very helpful. Overall we are very happy with our nabi jr. And you will be too. Go get one.

Was this review helpful? (163) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcb0409
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
10/28/2013

Customer review by enigma821

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by enigma821
by enigma821

I got the Nabi Jr Tablet this month on the 15th but here is what I think and have dealt with so far: Good things about the Nabi Jr Tablet: It is perfect for the age group it was made for. Mommy mode is excellent because you can add applications to Nabi mode you find suitable for your children's age as apposed to them adding whatever they want. The best thing about it is; it does pretty much everything any other tablet does. Plus it has rubber sides to protect it when it slips out of little hands, has a great camera and it already has games, music and activities on it for young children. It's a music player, learning tool and movie/TV show player all in one. Bad thing about the Nabi Jr Tablet: Once the battery is low you can't use it anymore. It would be nice if it warned you of the battery being low but let you continue using it to the last drop of "juice" if that's what you choose. It does however have a USB charging cable that also has a wall plug attachment so you can use it on the go (if you personally have that option) or plug it in to the computer at home.

Was this review helpful? (99) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enigma821
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!
3/5/2013

Customer review by KFCw

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by KFCw
by KFCw

Only had it for few days but so far I love this tablet it is so much better than having a toy tablet that you have to purchase batteries and cartridges etc. Pictures quality is not bad my kids are loves to take pics of each other etc. It comes with preschools apps drawing, abc etc I also downloaded amazon app store and downloaded angry birds and some other educational games for them. So far they love love this table and im very happy with it..

Was this review helpful? (108) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KFCw
Silver Spring MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
3/10/2013

Customer review by twillams

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by twillams
by twillams

Okay, so my son just turned 2 and I've been eyeing the Nabi 2 for him until I happened across this little gem. First of all, it's smaller and is definitely pretty rugged. He's always stealing my iPhone and his dad's tablet and can manage them very well, so this Nabi Jr is a cinch for him, within 2 seconds of me handing it to him he already had found the music and started playing it. At first I didn't think you could get skype or netflix on it, but upon further investigation, I figured it out and he was watching Yo Gabba Gabba on his tablet in no time.. the picture quality isn't that great, but it's a child's tablet.. I would buy this thing all over again if I had to.

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twillams
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
YES! love it
5/3/2013

Customer review by MommaOfTwoAngels

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by MommaOfTwoAngels
by MommaOfTwoAngels

I was at first torn between purchasing the Jr or the nabi 2. I have a 4 1/2 year old and just turned 7 y/o. I was intending for them to share. They have already mastered my iPhone and kindle, but I wanted a third device so we wouldn't all be fighting over my 2 (haha). So my concern was, will the Jr be too toddler-ish for my 7y/o. We've had it almost a week and we just love it. Yes, the pre installed educational apps are great but preschool geared, however once in mommy mode you can download the Amazon market, and I love that all my apps I already purchased for my kindle can be re-downloaded to this. I've only found one or two that's aren't comparable from my kindle fire. So they have Angry Birds, Temple Run, Cut the Rope, Where's my Water, and all their other favorites. They even successfully video skyped with their grandmas today! The only slight disappointment I have is the 4G of space is really only about 2G. Maybe 2 1/2. And we've already almost filled that up. I thought by installing a micro SD card I could fit more apps, but apparently that isn't an option. However, the apps it came with plus the favorite Amazon market apps I loaded are more than enough to keep them satisfied. They are only small children after all, and don't need to be plugged in all day. Also I did successfully load tons of movies we have and mp3 songs they like onto the SD card, so it's an awesome movie and music player. Again, the video quality and speakers are not top notch, but pretty darn good for $99 and young kids. They can also Netflix from it. Another down point is it comes with a fake stylus, which is silly, but whatever. For $99, you can't beat it. With other tablets you have to buy a $30 protective case and screen protectors, not this. Just $99. It's no IPad of course, but it is pretty speedy and responsive. I can surf the net, email, Facebook, you name it. It's a full out awesome little android tablet for the price. I'm pleasantly surprised. I was a little worried after reading bad reviews, but I think those people just got frustrated and didn't know how to install the markets and apps. It takes some know how. But by googling and using youtube tips, it's doable. I may have to get a second one for my second child. At $99- it's worth it! I have 2 leapfrog gaming systems and over 20 game cartridges, which is well over $700!!! These apps are endless and FREE. You won't be disappointed. Aside from the "preschool" look of the outside of it, the tablet itself would be awesome for older children up to teens (heck even adults)! Which was my main concern again as I searched endlessly for reviews of age 7+ using it. This mom gives two thumbs up! :)

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaOfTwoAngels
south Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
My peace of mind
5/7/2013

Customer review by BrwnSugarDust

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by BrwnSugarDust
by BrwnSugarDust

I really love this tablet. It has SO many apps that are great learning tools. My son has already gravitated to the Spanish flash cards. It is durable, easy to use and manage. I love that I can program original chores with my own voice for him. Mommy mode is awesome. It makes the Nabi jr a regular tablet. It's really nifty. Easy solid access to my wireless. The only thing I really didn't like was they didn't include a stylus. I say this only because they went through the process of creating a "filler" product to put in the slot where a stylus would be. It stated on the fake stylus that it was a filler item and was not intended for use. Why take the time and effort to tell me what I don't have? And the money spent to create that filler item surely was a waste when it could've been directed at making an actual stylus for the Nabi jr.! I picked up a stylus for $5 at the gas station and it works great with the Nabi. Other than that I do recommend this product for your toddler as a great learning tool. The games are fun and very interesting. My son LOVES this and I'm sure your child will too.

Was this review helpful? (109) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrwnSugarDust
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still loving our nabi jr!
11/10/2013

Customer review by LaMamiFeliz

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by LaMamiFeliz
by LaMamiFeliz

We have had the nabi jr now for about 9 months and my children still fight over it. The preloaded apps provide lots of enjoyment for the kids, I have also been able to easily customize the tablet adding more fun apps, their favorite music and videos, even full episodes of shows from YouTube, which can be watched when wifi is unavailable. The tablet has been dropped a few times on our hardwood floors and has survived so it takes a beating. The camera is one of the kids' favorite features, since it rotates and can take forward- and backward- facing photos. They use it for Skype, self-portraits and making videos. We have had a great experience with the nabi jr and have recently added the free Wings Education System app, so it is even better.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaMamiFeliz
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No replacement cables available. Unacceptable.
5/29/2013

Customer review by ca2452

1.0 stars 5/29/2013 by ca2452
by ca2452

This is the quote from Nabi support on a getting a replacement charger cable: "currently, we haven't finalized our nabi Jr. charger replacement yet. We'd love to get you a replacement charger but in the meantime, we ask that you wait for a bit." This is absolutely amateurish and unacceptable to not have replacement parts for a kids product. Especially when they use proprietary cables that can't be bought anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ca2452
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Malfunctions Regularly & Very Limited Capabilities
11/8/2013

Customer review by MotherWifeTeacherLawyer

2.0 stars 11/8/2013 by MotherWifeTeacherLawyer
by MotherWifeTeacherLawyer

I got two of these- one for my 4 year old and one for my 2 year old. Overall I'm disappointed. My kids do enjoy playing with this Nabi very much, but just because of the apps, not because of the device. I do like the simple interface, but actually think my kids could navigate any other interface just as easily and would prefer not to have to scroll through several screens to get to the app they want. Both of the Nabi Jr.'s malfunctioned immediately after purchasing them because the apps freeze and crash regularly. One of them completely stopped working after only less than two months. It says 4 GB memory, but really only has less than 2 GB available for apps and it is very limited in the number of apps I can install for my children. I am constantly uninstalling apps to install new ones. I got this instead of a regular tablet because I thought it would withstand abuse (throwing down) better than a regular tablet. However, I would recommend buying a regular tablet (kindle, galaxy, etc) because if this Nabi didn't crash so much, my children wouldn't be throwing it down out of frustration. Also, this device is limited in its capabilities. For example, Angry Birds Star Wars app cannot use "launch" feature with the toys we purchased.

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherWifeTeacherLawyer
Lanham, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/15/2013

Customer review by NABIMOMMY

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by NABIMOMMY
by NABIMOMMY

I love it, i got a regular tablet for my 3 yr old and it was perfecT but he broke the sceen, then i decided to get nabi and i love it. the fact that is has mommy mode and yes you can download 1 moblile market and get all those free games kids play on our phones plus all the educational games it already has are awsome my son loves it, its small with a bumper . JUST PERFECT .

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NABIMOMMY
EL PASO TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Technology is not Great
1/6/2014

Customer review by NJMamaDrama

3.0 stars 1/6/2014 by NJMamaDrama
by NJMamaDrama

I bought 2 of these gadgets for my 3 and 4 year old. They are used to playing all of the free app games on my iphone- a habit I was trying to break. So, we had these for 48 hours before I returned them. The technology was slow, and the screen kept freezing, which would just frustrate my toddlers. Also, the picture quality is really low. I know it's for kids, but when they are accustomed to things like the ipads and ipods, it's hard to make the switch to this. The one unit actually completely died after 48 hours. It wouldn't even turn on (so much for the durability factor). I ended up purchasing a Nook from Walmart for $29 more, and we've had these for the past 3 weeks, and the kids LOVE these. They are just as fast as an ipad or iphone, no freezing, and the battery lasts for 8+ hours. I had to buy a kid bumper to put around it too, but well worth it. If this Nabi is for a 1 or 2 year old, it might not be a bad idea, but if your kids are proficient with the games and tech savvy, I wouldn't do it!

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJMamaDrama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
6/5/2013

Customer review by FunMom17

2.0 stars 6/5/2013 by FunMom17
by FunMom17

I am very disappointed with this tablet. I bought this for my daughter's second birthday. One of the primary reasons I purchased this was because of the appropriate age range and Nick Jr. apps as advertised on Nabi Jr. website. My daughter loves Dora so I was really excited about the Dora apps however, upon receiving the tablet and searching for the nick jr apps which were not there, I called the help line and was informed that these apps are not yet available. "They're working on it." I was originally told they would be up and running in two weeks time. When that time frame had come & gone and I sent an email inquiring about the status of the nick jr apps which were still prominently advertised on the website, I was told that they had encountered some problems with the nick jr apps and it was taking longer than expected to get them ready for release. Also, the nabi jr does not hold a charge for very long at all. I charge it all night and its dead within an hour. Very disappointed in the customer service and in the tablet itself.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunMom17
Mandeville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too cute!
3/22/2013

Customer review by misskhandy

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by misskhandy
by misskhandy

Bought this for my 15 month old and he loves it! He loves anything touch screen! Lots of apps pre-downloaded, which is great! No need for batteries either, as it comes with a wall charger. It is kid-proof as well...we all know 1yr olds are not "gentle" with their toys! Kids are kids..I would highly recommend the 2 yr protection plan!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misskhandy
Carencro, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
False advertising
6/29/2013

Customer review by aleroy

2.0 stars 6/29/2013 by aleroy
by aleroy

The main deciding factor in getting this tablet for my child was the Nick Jr and Wings content. I knew this when I bought it, but thought they'd really have it any time now since the commercials were showing nick jr content. That was nearly a month ago and still, no Nick Jr or Wings. If you ask on facebook, all the techs have to say is "soon." They don't even have an estimated timeframe! The Wings content information is right on the box, and says it comes "preloaded!" It's a straight up lie! It's ridiculous. I wish I'd paid a little more for the Nabi 2, and would have if I'd known they wouldn't deliver on the promise of the special content. I'd give it a one star, but once I got youtube and angry birds on it (which is no small feat since there's no google play, you have to download the amazon market) he still likes to play with it. So two stars because my kid is four and doesn't know better, no stars because Fuhu and Nickelodeon pretty much failed to deliver on this one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aleroy
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nabi
11/1/2013

Customer review by F1976

2.0 stars 11/1/2013 by F1976
by F1976

Purchased for my 2 year old, Battery life was very poor. I returned the product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
F1976
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 2 year loves it!
4/10/2013

Customer review by lorijhl1

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by lorijhl1
by lorijhl1

I bought the Nabi 2 for my 7 year old for Christmas. My 2 year old son, wanted to play with his brothers, so I decided to look into one for him, well I across the nabi jr. He loves it!! I can't believe how much he has learned in just a week from using it. If you use the amazon app store, it is great and has a bunch of free apps for toddlers, like vehicles, colors, tools, and so much more. So happy with this buy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lorijhl1
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding product
11/22/2013

Customer review by TheGrandPs

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by TheGrandPs
by TheGrandPs

My husband and I bought this for our 2 year old grandson. He absolutely loves it! It is everything we thought it would be and everything it is advertised to be. My grandson's counting, speech, and motor skills are developing at a rocket rate. This is a great product to supplement and support a child's learning.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGrandPs
Homewood, iL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
problems with turning on power
12/28/2013

Customer review by mommy362010

3.0 stars 12/28/2013 by mommy362010
by mommy362010

we bought the nabi jr. for my 3 yr. daughter for her birthday and worked a couple days and i had problems turning power on... and it deletes your mommy mode id for a couple days and then it turns itself back on the mommy mode id does ...i thought this would be a great product for my daughter to learn and get ready for pre-school.and it has turned out out to be one of most annoying products to deal with right now in my household ..camera doesnt work right either that has never worked right . so i am kinda of mad and disappointed in this product... my daughter has wanted this product ever since it came out and it took me and her father awhile to decide to get this product for her. and the nabi jr. wont hold a charge either it takes 4 days to charge and then the battery goes low so quick its unreal..the battery goes low quicker than our cell phone batteries do. im having to charge her nabi jr. 3 to 4 times a day ...the nabi jr should hold a charge all day long no matter how long my daughter is on her nabi jr.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy362010
nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A huge waste
11/14/2013

Customer review by Keller0580

2.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Keller0580
by Keller0580

Bought this for my 4 year old with the hope to get my phone back. We've had it for almost a year now. There's a few good apps but very few. It's complicated to figure out how to put new ones on and even harder to pick up a connection to even start the process. I actually have to stand in our office to pick up the signal. Then wait forever to download. I bought a preschool app and it was just a light version. So basically what you'd get for free on some tablets you pay for on this one. There are some free ones but they're mostly ones that don't keep her attention. The only good thing about it is the letter tracing app. Needless to say I didn't get my phone back! Just doesn't seem worth the price. I also agree with most on the stylus. Why would you not include it??? I haven't even seen one in stores.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keller0580
Greenfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1-20 of 139 reviews