Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

118 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 115 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Poor video quality
6/19/2013

Customer review by marathonrunnerat50

2.0 stars 6/19/2013 by marathonrunnerat50
by marathonrunnerat50

I purchased this camcorder after reading some positive reviews from a couple of different websites. I tried taking some indoor footage of my cat. I used a type 10 SD card, there was adequate lighting, I had the camera set to HD, and used a tripod. The video quality was terrible! It was very grainy. I tried to resolve the issue with Samsung Tech Support. My thought was it had to be a settings issue, and since the camera doesn't come with any detailed instructions for settings tech support was my only option. I ended up chatting with two different tech people online. The first one seemed to know what she was talking about, but before we could finish the session we were disconnect. The second tech was clueless, and could barely communicate in English so I just gave up. For the price of this camera I wasn't expecting a lot, but the video quality of my $50.00 cell phone is better. I ended up taking the camera back. Will purchase another Sony in a couple of weeks when I have the money.

Was this review helpful? (60) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marathonrunnerat50
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
It's alot of fun!
11/6/2013

Customer review by LewisNight

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by LewisNight
by LewisNight
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to operate right out of the box, but make sure you charge the battery before you use it. The menu is easy to operate and navigate. The snapshot button is in a perfect place to use while recording. You can view your pictures and navigate through them quickly and go right back to recording. It has it's own program to use on the computer to edit pictures and videos. I like that it's a one click to your favorite sites for uploading. Also, you can add additional sites if you'd like. Zooming quickly, however, it can get frustrating as it takes a moment to focus. Trying to decide whether to leave it on the optical zoom or digital zoom can be a bit frustrating. The charge button and SD card slot are conveniently placed behind the screen. The lens cover is operated manually and it can be annoying. The record button is in two places, one on the screen and one on the back of the camcorder, which is very cool. The smart auto button works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (106) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LewisNight
Sitting in the Bat Cave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product!
1/20/2016

Customer review by LikeSams

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by LikeSams
by LikeSams

Super Design, Good Quality ... and easy to carry everywhere !!!

LikeSams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice surprise
6/8/2013

Customer review by Leemom2

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Leemom2
by Leemom2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this for my 7th grader who wanted to make longer films and was not happy just using her phone. Very easy to use right out of the box. We've owned Samsung digital cameras before so the menus and navigation were familiar to us. Quality of video was better than expected for such a low priced camcorder. LCD display was crisp, sound pick up was adequate. Make sure you get a high capacity SD card if you are going to take advantage of the HD mode.

Was this review helpful? (183) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leemom2
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing
1/17/2016

Customer review by awesome21

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by awesome21
by awesome21

This camcorder is small enough to carry everywhere and takes great pictures

awesome21
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Great Features
1/13/2016

Customer review by TeachersRock

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by TeachersRock
by TeachersRock

This product has excellent feature than any in its class

TeachersRock
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This has everything you could want in a Camcorder !
12/26/2015

Customer review by Hawkeyesincity

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Hawkeyesincity
by Hawkeyesincity

I had never used a Camcorder before, but to keep the memories of my family alive I wanted one. After looking at several stores and seeing other camcorders features I noticed they had a refurbished one on the Samsung website. The features on the HMX-F90 were comparable and just as nice as other brands that cost a lot more. The Quick Start Guide was very well written and helpful in learning how to record and playback. It also gave other instructions on how to use its features. The 52X optical zoom is great in getting all the action in focus from a distance. The light weight and LCD screen display made recording the action a lot easier. After recording it was nice to be able to see and hear what I had recorded. Having only received the HMX-F90 only a short time, I am still learning how to use all the other features to better enhance the memories I record. In the coming years memories of Christmas, Family reunions, Fourth of July, little league football and baseball games and other events will be caught live for future generations to see and remember. No complaints from me about the inexpensive price paid for this camcorder since it has everything you need on it. I trust the quality of products that Samsung develops. The name has become an icon in electronic technology and reliability. My Samsung television and Galaxy Tablet have always been easy to use and better then all the other brands, in my opinion.

Hawkeyesincity
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love everything about the camcorder except battery
9/16/2013

Customer review by zakzaenanddamien

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by zakzaenanddamien
by zakzaenanddamien

have owned this camcorder for approximately one month. This four hour battery does not last one whole high school game. game approximately three hours. So, bought an extra battery at another 40.00. barely got all of the last game. Zoom on this is exceptional. very good camcorder for sports. Battery needs work.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zakzaenanddamien
corinth,ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera for the price
9/4/2014

Customer review by Pappaw

4.0 stars 9/4/2014 by Pappaw
by Pappaw
Top 500 contributor

Let me start by saying that if you are using a Mac computer this camera will work if you go about it the right way. When you first connect the camera to a Mac via USB iPhoto will open but it will not import the files. Close out iPhoto and open iMovie. On the left side just above the Project screen click the video camera icon which Opens Camera Import Window. This will launch the import window and the video file will be imported to iMovie perfectly. Do not attempt to use the software that comes with the camera as it will only work on a Windows PC but is not needed on the Mac anyway. The camera has an HDMI port which is much faster to use on a Mac or PC than the USB port. As to my review of this camera. I have used it a few times and it is a good little camera that takes decent videos in HD at 720P. It does not take HD at 1080p or 1080i. An extremely high zoom leaves the video out of focus but this is only a problem at above 40X zoom. Below that it is great. The microphone works very well and the camera is very user friendly. The audio from the camera itself when listening to a video is so low you can barely hear it but on video playback on a computer or TV it is fine. Menu is pretty straight forward and easy to understand. Has 2 record buttons and 2 sets of zoom buttons which is nice. Screen will swivel, and the lens has a cover, a plus. Can be charged from a USB port or for much faster charging it comes with an adapter to charge if off a 120 volt outlet. So far I am well pleased with this camera. This is however an inexpensive camera so do not expect professional results.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pappaw
Mayfield, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
Great for beginners
4/1/2014

Customer review by mae1228mae

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by mae1228mae
by mae1228mae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good camera. It is the first camcorder I have ever owned. I have not had any issues with it. Every setting on it is pretty self explanatory. Picture is clear and volume on playback comes out clear. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mae1228mae
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Is not a high end professional camera!
12/11/2013

Customer review by RavensRoost

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by RavensRoost
by RavensRoost

One must understand what one is buying. The cmos imagine sensor is not very good in low light situations, can give you problems under florescent lighting and while zooming the picture can skew or flex on you, this is the downfall of the cmos sensor. If you zoom, I'd recommend using a tripod for added stablity. There is no mic jack or ear piece jack to the camera. It does NOT work on Mac computers. The battery is NOT long lasting enough for high school football games. It will not make you a chocolate Mocha either. I'm stating the obvious based on people comments about this camcorder I read. The camera does have it's limitations, as stated above. AGAIN this is NOT a high end camera nor should you expect HIGH end performance. I have found it performs pretty well for my youtube videos. The video is good to great(the display is a bit deceptive of the actual video quality, it's actually better) and the audio is very good. The zoom noise is minimal, and I don't hear the auto focus motor noise period. The auto focus while zooming is slow to laggish at times(cmos sensor trait). All around I like the camera..practice using it, learn it..and work within it's limitations and you'll be happy with your purchase. For what it is, it is a very easy to use, functional camcorder. Also performs well in colder weather, though battery life will suffer. Give it time to adjust to temperature changes before using though!

Was this review helpful? (93) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RavensRoost
Mabel, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD GIFT
12/25/2015

Customer review by MACHREMON

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by MACHREMON
by MACHREMON

LOVE THIS PRODUCT GOT IT AS A GIFT. AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT AND LOVING IT SO FAR.

MACHREMON
Nassau, The Bahamas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
F90
12/16/2015

Customer review by wifeyyyy

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by wifeyyyy
by wifeyyyy

I LOVE THIS CAMERA! It is high quality and the perfect christmas present. Its bright and the zoom is amazing! the sound quality is awesome! i also love the fact that it can take photos.

wifeyyyy
ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
great camcorder for practically any event.
2/8/2014

Customer review by CountryFriedKettlepicker

5.0 stars 2/8/2014 by CountryFriedKettlepicker
by CountryFriedKettlepicker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great value, bought this camcorder to record the performances of a couple of music groups I play for..mostly for critiquing our shows..The Samsung F90 HD does an excellant job, very clear picture and sound..this camcorder even picks up the low tones of the bass guitar..I love it and reccomend it for anyone looking to get a lot of bang for their bucks! very inexpensive for what you get.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryFriedKettlepicker
Summersville WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera for the price.
9/28/2014

Customer review by ndkiddo

5.0 stars 9/28/2014 by ndkiddo
by ndkiddo

I've read most of the reviews and questions posted on this camera. I am not taking exception to any of them. Rather I am offering a source for finding out exactly what the camera can do with a link to where anyone can download the complete 100+ page user manual. The one that comes with the camera leaves a lot to be desired in that it is intended to be a startup guide. After reading the manual it became very apparent that this little camera can do almost everything that a much more expensive, professional one can. Since receiving the camera, reading the manual and actually trying the various features I am totally convinced that this unit will do everything wanted with many plus features I might not have a need for. Low light, backlight, motion stabilizer, auto or manual for most settings, choice of using the built in software for viewing or downloading to a computer as a USB Flash drive, still or motion, time lapse, pause for longer videos without starting a new video and a lot of other features included. The videos are compressed in H.264 format with a MP4 file extension which is compatible with most video software and the still photos are in jpeg format both of which make the drop and drag in Windows extremely useful. I use Windows 7 and it works flawlessly. The only caution I might state is that for best results use a SDHC or SDXC card. It appears that a standard SD card will limit the quality as well as the total amount of video time available to record. I use a 32gb SDHC card and it works perfectly. The manual link is as follows: http://www.pcrichard.com/images/manuals/HMXF90BN-manual.pdf I could not be more pleased with this purchase and highly recommend it to all my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (51) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndkiddo
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Fair Camera
12/6/2013

Customer review by lovechocolate2

2.0 stars 12/6/2013 by lovechocolate2
by lovechocolate2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera did not meet my expectations at all. The video wavers a little. We do not have enough light in the area to meet what is needed to take good video at night. The camera took ok video during the day except that the video wavered a little. This camera does not have a light on it to help with low light, but it does have a bottom to lighten, but not enough. I guest it would be okay for a child, I would not recommend this camera for serious video footage.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovechocolate2
greensboro,nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product for the price
2/5/2014

Customer review by filmingsports

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by filmingsports
by filmingsports
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Camera is so easy to use and records great video and pictures. great camera for the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
filmingsports
Mason City, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 9 year old son loves it!
12/28/2013

Customer review by dadddy11111

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by dadddy11111
by dadddy11111
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

MY 9 year old son figured out how to make great movies right out of the box. The ease of use and size (for his small hand) make it perfect for a first camera for that aspiring film-maker.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadddy11111
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/28/2013

Customer review by Jeepskate

4.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Jeepskate
by Jeepskate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The lack of a microphone jack makes it impossible to use a high gain microphone to record distant events ( bird chirps when using high zoom ratios for example ). The battery packs are woefully inadequate , (this forced me to make up an external battery pack and use the USB port to power the camera in order to get an adequate record time).

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeepskate
Randolph, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camera for Work
2/14/2014

Customer review by Kate451

3.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Kate451
by Kate451
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great camera for the price. I use cameras to stream video online, and this camera doesn't allow this. The PC setting only allows the camera to stream pre recorded video. Just to record events its great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate451
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews