Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 28 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Awesome camera
7/13/2013

Customer review by sonycyber

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by sonycyber
by sonycyber

The camera is slow on taking pictures, as most point and shoots are. But the quality is insane. My pictures look better than 95% of peoples DSLR camera pictures. I have had the camera for 2 years, take several pictures a day and it is still taking amazing pictures inside and outside. Got way more than $179 out of it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sonycyber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
9/11/2013

Customer review by nuddy

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by nuddy
by nuddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

picks up on the images in video very nicely making crisp clear videos. i love it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nuddy
syr ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
quality not as good as I would of liked
11/17/2014

Customer review by CrystalB

3.0 stars 11/17/2014 by CrystalB
by CrystalB

I have had this camera for almost 12 months, while I absolutely love the features this camera has is awesome ... I can not say the same thing for the outer shell / covering of it .... It is extremely cheap and nasty while the front cover is metal that's really good but the back covering is plastic. I use my camera a lot and take it with me in a hard camera case every were but it has not stood up general usage with the back cover broke on the bottom in the middle along the edge of the LCD the plastic is to thin... also recently the screw part for the tripod also snapped and is also made of plastic. I find this pretty disappointing because it will not last like my previous quality cameras I have had. I would of loved to has seen this camera in a much sturdier covering then I would of most likely have given it a 5 star rating

CrystalB
33836
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good pictures, other problems
5/4/2015

Customer review by Librarian

2.0 stars 5/4/2015 by Librarian
by Librarian

The pictures are so crisp and sharp compared to my old Sony, which, as it got older, when you took a picture you never knew if it would be in focus or not. It also doesn't require the flash unless the room is fairly dim. The night shots I've tried to take don't turn out - it tries to lighten the sky, so the pictures look grainy. The focus is a real pain. It's very stiff, which makes it difficult to only adjust it a little at a time. It zoom in or out a lot - you can't do just a little at a time no matter how hard you try. Then a few months after it was out of warranty the door to the memory card wouldn't shut all the way so the camera would tell me there was no memory card inserted. I haven't been hard on the camera - keep it in a padded case in my purse, so it's not handled roughly. When I contacted the store where I bought it, their response was that I could pay their service company to fix it because since it was out of warranty Sony wouldn't do anything. I ended up solving the problem by putting a small piece of paper folded up between the memory card and door so it would push the card down far enough for the camera to read that the card was there. Since I've now had problems with both Sony cameras I've purchased, I think I'll go with a different brand the next time.

Librarian
Trumann, AR 72472, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
not a good camera for senior person
3/31/2014

Customer review by turkey3159

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by turkey3159
by turkey3159
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

hard to use for older person , returned item

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turkey3159
busti,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My life
5/18/2014

Customer review by Hop1232000

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Hop1232000
by Hop1232000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great in low light, very happy with the camera, small and take any where in your pocket . Again for the price, can't beat it... Even for twice the price and I know and have made that mistake.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hop1232000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
5/8/2015

Customer review by rinron

2.0 stars 5/8/2015 by rinron
by rinron

This Cyber-shot replaced my 8 yr. old Cyber-shot which died. My cousin has an even older Cyber-shot. Both of the older cameras took beautiful pictures which printed out beautifully. My new camera prints out so poorly that I sent it to Sony to be checked out--within its 1 yr. warranty. Am disappointed.

rinron
34234
Would recommend to a friend? No
All I need and more
5/3/2015

Customer review by cudgel

5.0 stars 5/3/2015 by cudgel
by cudgel

When my dinosaur Sony needed to be replaced I bought this camera and am delighted. Not the most expensive but far exceeding my needs. Thanks, Sony, for a great product.

cudgel
Arcadia, FL 34266, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The zoom & lens make this camera great
5/4/2015

Customer review by XEagleDriver

5.0 stars 5/4/2015 by XEagleDriver
by XEagleDriver

Use for international travel to capture pictures beyond the cell phone snapshot and this easy to use little guy does the job. Extensive zoom capability and excellent lens set it apart, yet still compact and easy to carry.

XEagleDriver
Columbia, SC 29201, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All I need and more
5/3/2015

Customer review by cudgel

5.0 stars 5/3/2015 by cudgel
by cudgel

When my dinosaur Sony needed to be replaced I bought this camera and am delighted. Not the most expensive but far exceeding my needs. Thanks, Sony, for a great product.

cudgel
Arcadia, FL 34266, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not easy to change setting
5/3/2015

Customer review by redcase

2.0 stars 5/3/2015 by redcase
by redcase

on /off button hard ro use

redcase
95008
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Camera!
3/27/2015

Customer review by MyPhotos

4.0 stars 3/27/2015 by MyPhotos
by MyPhotos

This is a great camera, it takes great pictures and it is very easy and light to carry on trips.. Unfortunately I lost the charger and have not been able to find a new one so I cannot use it... My advice: DO NOT LOOSE THE CHARGER!!! But enjoy the camera!!

MyPhotos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Creative person's heaven
4/12/2015

Customer review by Marrrel

5.0 stars 4/12/2015 by Marrrel
by Marrrel

The effects on this camera allow someone to express themselves without painting an entire canvas.

Marrrel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i really like the camera
7/7/2014

Customer review by nebwofsdo

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by nebwofsdo
by nebwofsdo

The quality of the photos is amazing. The preinstalled memory is quite low however and I recommend that you buy a memory card. Pictures always come out great, both with and w/o flash. It has so many effects to choose from and is a great beginner camera that does not sacrifice quality. Very quick, just point and shoot, point and shoot.... I like the panoramic feature as well as the ability to capture a shot while recording video.

nebwofsdo
San Jose, CA
Would not charge
11/14/2013

Customer review by srp1125

3.0 stars 11/14/2013 by srp1125
by srp1125
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was excited to get this camera. It sounded like it was exactly what I wanted. But it would not charge or the "on" button would not work. Not sure exactly what the problem was, but we could not get it to power up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srp1125
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All I needed for professional art show!
9/14/2014

Customer review by newphotoartist

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by newphotoartist
by newphotoartist

No one can believe I entered a professional art show and was accepted to show my photo entry taken with my Sony Cyber Shot camera. My photos do not require any "photo fix" type program. The features these Sony cameras provide are wonderful. I am hooked on mine and take it everywhere I go.

newphotoartist
Parker, Colorado
Great Easy Point & Shoot
7/26/2013

Customer review by Wired4U

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Wired4U
by Wired4U

My Wife took this with her on a recent trip to Seattle and we are very pleased with the quality of the photos she collected on the trip. This is a great small camera to take on a trip for quick and easy shots. Day or Night in any weather.

Wired4U
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value camera
9/9/2013

Customer review by jfrbc

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by jfrbc
by jfrbc

good points: low shutter lag, good focusing, excellent low light capability. bad points: short battery life, long processing time between shots, manual inadequate (the specifics of that would require more words)

jfrbc
Washington DC
Great Value for the Price
8/24/2013

Customer review by Photogeek

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by Photogeek
by Photogeek

I am a teacher who requires high quality photos for educational and artistic use. After years of expensive developing costs and technical headaches, I finally made the transition from my 35 mm Olympia to this DX80 Cybershot. I find the camera easy to use, but the quality of photos to be exceptional. What attracted me to camera was the CMOS Image sensor which normally, I would have paid much more for, but has now been made available in this small compact camera. The night shots are incredible. I have never had to use a tripod either at night or day, the camera does have capacity built in to reduce some blur and noise, and automatic exposure, where conditions may not be great, especially outdoors. I was also attracted to the zoom function, which is also exceptional value. Capturing a more detailed blow up or image from even as far away as 15-20 feet works very well. It's the next best thing to a micro photo lense when I take detailed shots of plants. There are a few drawbacks to the camera: You only have about 1.5 hours of charge capability, so if you plan to use it on vacation, you will need to have a charger with you. However the camera comes with a USB charger that can be hooked up to the computer, or to an electric outlet. I have even been able to use my cellphone car recharger. As long as you keep some recharger nearby, you'll be fine. Second, I find the movie button in a very awkward place-it is right beside the shutter button. I have hit it so many times accidentally and turned on the movie recorder, that I would call this a design flaw in the camera. Again, a small inconvenience for all the benefits I have received. The Pros definitely outweigh the Cons.

Photogeek
Best camera I have purchased
9/15/2014

Customer review by DRose

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by DRose
by DRose

I love this camera! The pictures come out perfect. It adds a smooth finish to the photos. I love sony products and will continue to buy them.

DRose
Minot ND
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews