Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-12 of 12 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best buy for the money
7/28/2013

Customer review by senrak55

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by senrak55
by senrak55

value for the money this camcorder is a best buy. I looked at Consumer Reports and Cnet for camera reviews. The only con for Sony camcorders is no mic jack. The built in mic on this camcorder is great. But a option of mic would really bump it up a level. With 8gb built in memory this camcorder is ready to film right out of the box. I added a 32gb SD card for extra recording time. Walmarts great price and low cost extended warranty adds to the value.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
senrak55
Smyrna, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to use!
9/30/2013

Customer review by waverlygirl68

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by waverlygirl68
by waverlygirl68

We wanted a reasonably priced camcorder that would offer easy features and a good zoom. This product lived up to expectations.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waverlygirl68
Waverly, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price for a Sony.
12/10/2013

Customer review by deh609

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by deh609
by deh609

easy to use, a lot smaller than I expected compared to older Sony camcorders I have owned.It is so lite its like a toy,but it records great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deh609
Southern New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handy Camera
2/18/2014

Customer review by Wadeinburg

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Wadeinburg
by Wadeinburg

Takes good video, even in low light. The zoom is pretty awesome. When in steady shoot mode, video is fluid and not stop-motion like with other manufacturers. Software is easy to use and non-intrusive. I kinda like the plug on the strap, others say its a drawback but it really isn't hard to charge this camera and connect to your PC. The battery it comes with is a 'data' battery that has a use life of about 40 mins. I bought a two pack of the NP-FV50 batteries (one step up) from amzn which came with a wall charger, snap, battery issue solved. Get the warranty though, seems fragile.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wadeinburg
Hamburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good quality camcorder
2/28/2014

Customer review by bradkazooie

4.0 stars 2/28/2014 by bradkazooie
by bradkazooie

This camcorder has really good video quality and picks up sound quite well, the color is a bit lower then what your recording , but honestly it still looks quite awesome. the only problems that bug me, is the lack of features built in the camcorder. but other then that, i definitely would recommend this to someone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bradkazooie
Clinton,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Toy or Camera?
12/17/2013

Customer review by Kellycrew4

1.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Kellycrew4
by Kellycrew4

First, I was shocked taking it out of the box. It's very small and light...too light. It looks and feels like a toddler's plastic toy. Curious as to how it worked, I plugged it into my laptop for the night. ( and YES the only way to charge it is through your computer or tv) the next morning it was still dead. It only charges if your computer is turned on...obvious I guess, but what a pain!! Not to mention I am also wearing on my PC over time. NOT impressed at all, even with the lower price. Had to go back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kellycrew4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great camera
6/8/2013

Customer review by Sambo

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Sambo
by Sambo

this is the second camera i've ever owned. my first camera was the Sony Handycam DCR-SR82 camera. I've loved it since the day i had it, but the video quality was very poor compared to new day cameras. Then my friends got me the new Handycam and its amazing. great video quality, easy functionality, and decent zoom rate. if anybody says its a bad camera they are definitely lying.

Sambo
Shasta County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality
3/23/2013

Customer review by Smile

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Smile
by Smile

After charging up the Sony HDRCX230 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder the Play Memories Home installation on a “Not online or connected PC”, I was blown away with the 1920 by1080 quality of video that transferred via a USB to the PC. The quality conversion and camera options, I am still learning…but how cool for an old amateur to be able to have fun with exciting artistic possibilities. Thank you Sony and…Windows 8 Pro.

Smile
Torrance, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best camcorder!
9/11/2013

Customer review by chito2800

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by chito2800
by chito2800

i use it to record football games. works amazing. easy to charge with your phone usb adapter or with your flat screen usb or computer or ps3. perfect in the dark. amazing HD. you also can use the usb extender to charge it to the back of your flat screen . super light! plug it to ps3 and watch you HD movies. save them to your external usb hard rive it all works. sony gives you a program too watch your movies on there too and burn your movies. YOU WILL LOVE IT

chito2800
Oakland ca
Been a very good road geek camera for last 2 yrs
8/15/2015

Customer review by Socarboy

4.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Socarboy
by Socarboy

I've been using my HDR-CX230 for the last two years primarily shooting 1080p 60i video from inside an automobile for use in making time lapse road videos. If you plan on using this camera for a similar purpose, best results are achieved using manual focus set approx 3m distance and zoomed all the way out. It's been a great camera for amateur video recording on a budget. Feature highlights are 8GB internal memory, and use of up to a 32GB SDHC card. If you need long continuous shoot I've been able to shoot continuously for almost 90 min. BTW a good companion for the camera is Sony Movie Studio HD Platinum

Socarboy
Charleston, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
USB charge only, no wall charger or ac adapter!
4/12/2013

Customer review by vbmom

2.0 stars 4/12/2013 by vbmom
by vbmom

I bought the camera because I wanted HD and windows 8 compatible. I have a wall charger for my sony DCR SX63, but it doesn't work with this camera. It has a usb on the strap, and will charge on my computer, but I need a wall charger! Sports events etc. It should say that on the box. I will return it!

vbmom
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Need smaller fingers
1/9/2015

Customer review by RHarding

1.0 stars 1/9/2015 by RHarding
by RHarding

Navigating thru the menu is next to impossible if you have chubby fingers or a larger hand I found myself wandering and accidently setting everything from language to time zones. as defaults I subsequently returned this item and purchased another, as usual Walmart was gracious and cooperating in allowing me to return this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from SonyListens - 1/12/2015

Hi RHarding, we're sorry to hear that you had to return the camcorder. We appreciate your review though and will pass it along to the right people. Thanks_Mitch

RHarding
Would recommend to a friend? No