Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
774
4 stars
276
3 stars
47
2 stars
30
1 stars
40
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews
Two broke EXACTLY after a year and a half!
12/30/2015

Customer review by Dgg4bryant

3.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Dgg4bryant
by Dgg4bryant

Was moderately happy with the diaper genie for the year and a half it lasted. Pros: - Can fit a bunch of diapers. (Less frequent trips to the outside garbage bin.) - Contains odors effectively. Cons: - Sometimes temperamental opening and depositing diapers depending on how many diapers are already in the bin. - Refill bags are very pricy compared to a standard garbage bag. What broke on both of my Genies: On both of my diaper genies, a plastic piece inside broke off not allowing one of the sides of the inner lid to open. This is a big let-down since my children are still in diapers and we now have a 3-week old. This leaves me questioning if I should just buy a trash bin with a lid instead and avoid the aggravation of breaking another diaper bin in addition to paying a lot of money for refills. I would gladly accept a free bin to change my review and try a replacement.

Dgg4bryant
Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must have
1/25/2016

Customer review by Just Jen

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Just Jen
by Just Jen

I'm a first time mom and so glad we invested in a diaper genie to help us deal with the mounting pile of diapers we encounter everyday. Really couldn't imagine life without it. I never have to walk smelly diapers out to the trash in the cold or have them smelling up a trash can inside. It never even smells when we take it out to change it. Very satisfied!!!

Just Jen
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love mine
1/24/2016

Customer review by Naynay1mama

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Naynay1mama
by Naynay1mama

I've had it since my son was born hes now 5 months and Its so effective. I can stuff a lot in and it doesn't smell until i open to take it out. The only thing different I'd like is for it not to be a whole thing somehow. I feel like I lose out on a lot and because the end isn't connected I cant use the last of the roll... I feel like I dont get the whole use out of it. Otherwise it's awsome

Naynay1mama
Mississippi, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Little Dissapointed.
1/21/2016

Customer review by Tinkerbell9911

1.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Tinkerbell9911
by Tinkerbell9911

We placed this item on our baby registry, it was highly recommended by so many people. Our little princess was born in November 2015. The top and the inside jam all the time and don't close completely. I love this item, it really helps there is no smell, and we love that. Just a little dissapointed that it has only been 2 months and the top and inside jam and don't close completely. Sincerely, Gina

Tinkerbell9911
Montreal, QC, Canada
Glorified garbage pail with expensive proprietary
1/17/2016

Customer review by Mom2Three

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Mom2Three
by Mom2Three

Bought this thinking that they still twist the bag to lock in odours... Nope. Doesn't twist, doesn't lock in odours, every time you open the thing in unleashes a torrent of stench. Save your money, put your diapers in plastic bags and tie them shut. They used to make a good product - not anymore!

Mom2Three
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes life easier
1/18/2016

Customer review by Twillow

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Twillow
by Twillow

This is my go to gift for all baby showers. It's odor reducing, easy to fill and empty, and it looks good. I love mine. Had it through all three of my kids.

Twillow
Naples, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much better than the essentials
12/29/2015

Customer review by Uncreative87

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Uncreative87
by Uncreative87

We received one of each diaper genie fas baby gifts. Within 6 weeks my husband replaced the essentials with a second diaper genie elite. The foot petal and larger capacity make this one sooooo much better

Uncreative87
Nashville, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Diaper Genie Elite Eradicates Stinky Diaper Odor
11/16/2015

Customer review by Grayse

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by Grayse
by Grayse

Always a cloth diaper user, I had only used traditional diaper pails. Now with all the grandbabies and the convenience of disposable diapers I was excited to try a new thing. Diaper Genie Elite with its odor neutralizing charcoal filter is the easiest and most effective way to take care of the stinky diaper smell in your baby’s room. The convenient hands-free foot pedal opens the lid and you just toss in the diaper. There is no need to push the diaper in making disposal very easy. Changing the bag is simple and the odor exposure is minimal. Open the lid and using the built in cutter to cut the bag, tying it off and creating a new bag is a simple. I would recommend this for any new parent and as a great baby shower gift.

Grayse
Cambria Heights, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must for parent's with children in diapers!
1/15/2015

Customer review by sro273

5.0 stars 1/15/2015 by sro273
by sro273

I have used the Diaper Genie Elite for over 2 years now and I love it! It can hold a lot of diapers before needing emptied yet only takes up a few inches of floor space. The foot petal is so convenient for those times when your hands are full or messy or just can't bend over. I love that once the diaper falls in, it creates a closure around the bags to help keep smells from getting out. I had to replace my first one after a piece inside snapped after several months of usage and for those few days we went without the Diaper Genie, we could really tell a difference in the smell of the nursery. Our current Diaper Genie has been used daily for about 2 years now with no issues. The bags are very easy to use and the built in bag cutter works great and is so convenient. I have noticed that as long as you change the bags weekly, the container won't smell. I did notice a smell before when I hadn't changed the bag for a while but I just opened it up and wiped the inside down with some vinegar and it was good as new again once it dried.

sro273
Lebanon, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it !!
5/30/2013

Customer review by Jenidanimomma

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Jenidanimomma
by Jenidanimomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great buy! This bundle set is without a doubt worth the money. The only thing I didn't like was it only comes with one set of bag/liners and you will need to purchase a second one in order to start using both piles at once! You can not smell the dirty diapers, and we only need to change out the bag once every week/week & a half.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenidanimomma
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE diaper genie!
5/8/2013

Customer review by misslaura1987

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by misslaura1987
by misslaura1987
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used diaper genie for my last daughter and swear by it since! Works great, and easy! This was definitely one of the top three things I put on my registry, and now you can get it with a bonus mini pail!! How awesome. When I saw that I didn't think twice and the mini pail is just as great as the regular one, just takes up less space and is more portable! You could even bring it in your car! Love it and highly recommend it to any mother!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misslaura1987
waretown, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Right out of the box, product is broken
10/6/2015

Customer review by JMPKRC

1.0 stars 10/6/2015 by JMPKRC
by JMPKRC

got this new as a gift and right out of the box, door and wings open but left wing will not close. It appears that the top may be misshapen as it does not quite line up with the flanges on its base and that this shape issue creates so much friction on the wing that the springs are not strong enough to close it. Plastic molded parts with poor quality control often have shape issues. It stands to reason that if basic shape issues (which should be easily identified during assembly) are not being caught, then there are likely several other types of quality issues that are making it through to the customer. If you intend to buy this product, make the store or shop open it and put it together to insure everything fits and is working properly before you take it home and keep your receipts.

JMPKRC
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of money
12/1/2015

Customer review by Ashleyant1206

1.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Ashleyant1206
by Ashleyant1206

spend little extra money and get a square one from a different company . This broke on me several times and doesn't hold as many diapers as said to !

Ashleyant1206
Albany, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Diaper Genie Refills
11/3/2015

Customer review by Diaperless

2.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Diaperless
by Diaperless

I purchased a diaper genie about 6-7 months ago and really liked how easy and efficient it works until I tried to buy a refill for it. Evidently I have an older diaper genie and the new refills will not work with the older models. I really don't want to purchase a new diaper genie again just to be able to get refills. Be careful if buying an older diaper genie as you will not be able to purchase refills for them.

Diaperless
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Le système a brisé... :-(
10/2/2015

Customer review by Mylene

1.0 stars 10/2/2015 by Mylene
by Mylene

Je suis super déçue... j'utilise cette poubelle depuis un peu plus de 4 mois à peine, mais elle est déjà brisée... :-( Les deux morceaux de plastique qui s'ouvrent quand la poubelle s'ouvre et se referment pour emprisonner (faire descendre) la couche quand on referme la poubelle, il y en a un des deux qui ne se remonte plus.... elle est donc inutilisable ! Je suis vraiment déçue, tant de plastique pour une poubelle qui devra être mise... à la poubelle ! Moi qui avait des couches lavables aux deux premiers bébés, j'avais abandonné le combat au troisième bébé, mais de gaspiller tant de plastique, ça brise mon cœur d'écologique !

Mylene
Saguenay, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Genious invention!
1/14/2015

Customer review by Jaxx

4.0 stars 1/14/2015 by Jaxx
by Jaxx

I have been using the diaper genie for 3 months now. I can honestly say it has its pluses and negatives. The design and over all concept is genious. It's easy to set up and allows you to hold baby in one hand and throw diapers away with the other. It's also very easy to change when the bag is full as well as when the bags run out! If you've never used one before I should clarify that the "bags" are not individual bags, it's a long continuous bag that you cut and tie knots in as needed to create a new bag each time it's full! This also allows you to be able empty the pale when you want and not only when the bag is full. My only complaint is that the odors definitely still escape when you step on the pale. Even with the carbon you still get an awful wiff of whatever's in there! I even added an extra carbon in the bottom of the pale and it hasn't made any difference. I think some of the first diaper genies twirled each individual diaper so it looked like sausage links when you went to empty, not sure how good that was at keeping odors in but there has to be a better way!

Jaxx
Boston, MA, United States
Nursery Necessity
1/16/2015

Customer review by thecrouchresidence

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by thecrouchresidence
by thecrouchresidence

A Diaper Genie is just one of those staples that is at every baby shower, on every wish list, and in so many homes for good reason! We received one for our first child and I don't know how we would have gotten along without it. It saved trips to the dumpster to take out the most vile nappys, and saved our senses by keeping the odor contained. When we travel we have to use small grocery bags to tie up the soiled diapers and even still, we can smell the noxious odors in the garbage can. We will continue to pass on the tradition by purchasing a Diaper Genie for the expectant moms in the family to unwrap at the shower and appreciate later. We recommend them to any new mom because we all know motherhood is hard work, and being able to take just this one thing for granted by having a handy nursery staple in place to whisk away the odor in an instant while keeping close to baby; is a priceless timesaver!

thecrouchresidence
Olympia, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely love!!!!
1/16/2015

Customer review by Torid2108

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by Torid2108
by Torid2108

I was that girl registering for her baby shower with my mom and friend who when we approached the diaper genies said "I don't need that". We'll my friend told me the benefits and I just ignored her and passed them on by. We'll my sneaky friend bought me one so I told my husband,"I guess we should just keep it and try it since we have it" best choice I ever made. I am so glad she bought the elite series bc I love the foot pedal to open the lid and it keeps the smell trapped so well. It's just so easy and convient and actually makes diaper changing fast in my opinion. We never smell diapers and neither do our visiting guest. I will definitely say it totally changed my mind having one. And now I recommend them to every expecting momma I see on the diaper genie isle as well as my clients. This will also be my go to baby shower gift for anyone regaurdless if they registered for it or not.

Torid2108
Birmingham, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smell
10/10/2015

Customer review by Smarks

1.0 stars 10/10/2015 by Smarks
by Smarks

I received this as a gift.. I would NEVER purchase this on my own. I used it long enough to use up the sample bags that came with it and I haven't used it since. It smells so bad with nothing in it and it's cheap flimsy plastic. Not worth the money.

Smarks
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
New Mommy? This is the review for you!
6/24/2015

Customer review by tdawson

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by tdawson
by tdawson
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Great product! Easy to use when your hands are covered in poo. Just literally one step and the stinky diaper is in the trash...and sealed to stop that horrible smell to which your husband will than you because he will not smell it through the scarf that is draped over his face trying to keep the smell out. You can stuff several diapers in there...trust me, when the only thing you desire is sleep and the last thing you want to do is take out the trash...those diapers will fit with ease and you will be relieved. Great investment for any new mommy! Want to be "the best guest at a shower?" Buy a genie because YOU will be the one getting the phone call months later with the thoughtful Thank You! In all seriousness, I loved mine and used it all the time. From my experience to yours....Happy Mommyhood!

tdawson
Moore, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews