Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

162 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

162 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
90
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 127 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Nice big screen and keyboard!
11/9/2013

Customer review by ChopsyMcGee

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by ChopsyMcGee
by ChopsyMcGee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a replacement of a Gateway 17 inch screen laptop purchased back in antiquity (2004) which worked well for its time, but was heavy, and XP is about to die. This HP machine caught my eye mostly due to price. Wow. Then I checked the specs and was suitably impressed with its capabilities for the money. Windows 8 OS is a kick in the pants, however. While it has nothing to do with this machine specifically, the HP laptop comes with that OS, and that OS is reminiscent of what Vista was. Oh well. The 8.1 upgrade from Microsoft eases a little of the angst, but when one wants to switch programs or power down the machine, it takes a bit to figure that out. Nice computer. Looks nice, shiny, and the keyboard is full. I did have to call HP support to swap out the optical drive, as it would not open when the silver button on the side was depressed. But after some on-line tech support chat with individuals on the other side of the Earth, a working drive arrived on my door-step, and all is well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChopsyMcGee
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A serious machine at a toy price. Has all the tech
4/10/2013

Customer review by HappyCamper6546

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by HappyCamper6546
by HappyCamper6546
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only tech this has at halfway is the display. It is high contrast, but what I consider half retina, which is enough to allow serious editing of HD video and big megapixel raw photos. Can do the work of a media center, and uses all the power of PC software and adds the new apps that work with windows 8. (watch them mushroom). Be sure to download Start Menu 8 from www.download.com so that you can toggle from the app version to the classic PC version. I was able to copy my old files, install my old software without exception, using 64 bit versions when available. I have a Picture/Video/Audio USB 3.0 hard drive and a Data/Backuo USB 3.0 attached all the time, and they are Fast!!! Keep a copy of the free Spyware Terminator to clean the gemlins away on your web browser, and things will stay fast forever. (also on download,com)

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper6546
Sarasota FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for great price
4/4/2013

Customer review by falunqueen

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by falunqueen
by falunqueen

Purchased this for on-line college classes. I did a lot of reseach before we decided on this paticular one. We did not want to spend 800-1000 on something we would likely replace in 2 years. Every one in my household has a laptop - for school, gaming, facebook, etc. We got this computer in a package deal, so also thumbdrive, wireless printer and very nice padded travel case. Some reservations on being refurbished, but with additional warranty through walmart, we went ahead and bought. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but there is a desktop feature that operates more like the traditional Windows. The screen is huge, has a great pic. This also has surrond sound which is great. Netflix loads in about 3 seconds and the pic and sound are great! The processer is the best bang for this price point, quad-core is really fast - up to 2.8 GHZ - webpages are almost instant load . This also has a bit more built in GB than a lot of others (6), which is great for college - and music of course! If you are looking for a reasonably priced computer, I highly recommend this one. I am going to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
falunqueen
siren, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very fast and smooth
10/20/2013

Customer review by bcasio

4.0 stars 10/20/2013 by bcasio
by bcasio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i got this to replace my old hp pavilion, and i was kinda scared about getting a refurbished laptop, but this one has been ok so far, but 2 things i dont like, 1 the numbers lock key dont light up to let you know when its on or off. 2nd after it had install updates, the sounds went out, after calling hp support, i had to totally reformat and install windows 8. i wasent very happy at that point. another small thing is it loves to update, the forst 5-6 hours it installed a ton of windows updates and had to be restarted alot. as for power, iv tried to get it to lag and it never does, iv had 10 windows open, and running some online games with no lag. i installed a 120gb SSD drive and its really snappy now, start up time is less then 30 seconds. over all im happy now that the bugs are worked out.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bcasio
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value but Not For Novices
11/30/2013

Customer review by DrOrb

3.0 stars 11/30/2013 by DrOrb
by DrOrb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This laptop is powerful with a fast quad processor, plenty of memory, 2x USB 3.0 ports and a decent hard drive. The wide screen is vibrant. When I unpacked mine, I thought someone forgot to include the DVD containing the operating system and drivers. I was disappointed to learn it's not part of the product. I had planned to use Windows 7 initially and maybe upgrade to something newer in the future. IMHO this is NOT a good laptop for Windows 8; it lacks a touch screen and starts up with a bewildering interface ill-suited to its little touch pad. I know that Microsoft released Windows 8.1 to quell some of the objections to Windows 8. I connected the laptop to my router with a cable and began looking for the Windows Update program. I finally located it and started installing the Windows 8 updates and then the 8.1 upgrade. IT TOOK 10 HOURS! So, I recommend you weigh this laptop against one with a touch screen or revert to an earlier Windows version.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrOrb
SW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Laptop and it can do some GAMING!
10/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

ok I've read a lot of the reviews on hear and before I bought this laptop I really wanted to know what it could do on gaming so that's what I will cover mainly since most of the reviews cover every thing else pretty well. Ok I am sure you want to know what kind of games this thing will run and when I got it I downloaded a ton of them off of steam and a few of origin. It does not disappoint. First up Crysis a game that 5 to 6 years ago people if they were lucky could run at medium this laptop can run at max settings easy.Now lets say some thing like Resident Evil 6 , Dead Space 3, or Planet Side 2... Also all at Max settings :) . now I put this thing to the ultimate test with the latest game being Battlefield 4 since the beta is up on origin. my first thought was two things are going to happen when I try to run this. 1 its going to crash or 2 its frame rate is going to be so bad its unplayable. well to my surprise it ran and ran pretty smooth around 30FPS...BUT I did notice my laptop starting to get pretty hot after about 30 minutes of running BF4 which I had no problems with that on any other games. So running some thing as intense as BF4, well this laptop can do it though I am not sure I would recommend it. I also have other games I haven't gotten around to trying yet like Skyrim and Fallout 3 but if this thing can run BF4 I don't think any other game is going to be a issue. so verdict on being used on as gaming laptop? this is the best one you are going to find for the price and I am very happy with my purchase. just don't plan on in the future of playing any higher demanding games then what is out right now. if its available at the time I right this review , then this laptop should have be able to run it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HP Refurbished Sparking Black 17.3 Pavillion g7-22
4/9/2013

Customer review by GinaMarie4526

4.0 stars 4/9/2013 by GinaMarie4526
by GinaMarie4526
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I first opened the package, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was in excellent condition. I powered it up and it loaded very quickly. The only glitch when I first started the process of logging in I made numerous user accounts not realizing I was doing so until I went to log on. I did finally delete the other user accounts. I have never worked with Windows 8 and am still in the process of figuring out all the little nuisances. So far, I have been very happy with the laptops capabilities and how easy it is to maneuver around Windows 8. I am still trying to figure out how to go from the Windows 8 app window to my desktop with one click. I am still researching this part of Windows 8. I loaded my Microsoft Word products and am happy at how smooth the process went. The programs are running very quickly and with no problems. The internet loads quickly, something that my older HP laptop was not able to do. I would sit for five minutes waiting for the pages to load. I did find out from my internet service provider that the slowness might have been because of the modem I was using so I upgraded that and with this laptop, it loads very fast. Overall, I would say I made a good decision buying this laptop. The AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M accelerated processor and the 500GB hard drive are great value for the money. I would recommend this laptop and like someone said in his or her previous review do not let "REFURBISH" scare you. I did buy the two-year protection plan just in case. This is not my first purchase buying "REFURBISHED" products from WALMART.com. Previously purchased an Acer Iconia Tablet for me and a family member and another one was bought for my brother-in-law. So far no problems with those products. These refurbished products are just like new. Therefore, if you are on a budget do your research save some money and buy these just like new products.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinaMarie4526
Romulus, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Little ease, lot of hassle.
11/2/2013

Customer review by brighterdaygrace

2.0 stars 11/2/2013 by brighterdaygrace
by brighterdaygrace
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having previously bought an HP refurbished laptop that served me well for years at a fraction of the price, I was thrilled to find this great deal on Walmart.com. Unfortunately it didn't match the same level of quality. Finger mouse area and scroll were hard to maneuver. Certain keys would misfire typing the wrong characters or carrying out wrong commands. This carries a powerful processor, but applications as simple as Solitaire had a slow load-up. To be fair though, apart from Mozilla Firefox (which ran smoothly), I only played with a few select Windows apps. On a few occasions the laptop had paused during start-up leading me to have to force shutdown and reboot. Of, course I will state what most others have mentioned and warn about this computer being loaded with Windows 8. The lack of ease in the operating system only added to my frustrations. Even with a lesser graphics card and the 17" monitor at 1600 x 900 native res, the display was poorer quality than I had anticipated. Moving the monitor just a fraction of an inch would lead greens to turn purple. Returned the product with zero hassle. Great customer service from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brighterdaygrace
New Brunswick, CAN (near Houlton, ME)
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, few complaints
1/15/2014

Customer review by lovelsu

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by lovelsu
by lovelsu

Love the weight and style of the laptop. The screen graphics are great. I only have 3 complaints. I do not like the rough mouse pad on the laptop. If you work a lot on it, it makes your finger tips very sensitive/irritated. The cd/dvd burner works fine but I feel like this could be a problem in the future. It just feels like that piece is cheap - it's somewhat noisy and doesn't open and close smoothly. The only other complaint I have is the Windows version. While this laptop isn't really at fault for this new program/version of Windows - it would be nice if I could shut off the sensitive mouse pad so that IF my fingers get too close to the edge it doesn't bring everything onto the screen. If you've worked in the new Windows on a laptop - you will know what I'm talking about. Overall however, I feel this is a good and affordable product with a nice size screen with good options. I actually bought a second one just like it for my son for college.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovelsu
Prairieville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best deal hands down.
2/27/2013

Customer review by bermijuela

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by bermijuela
by bermijuela

Plays all new demanding games Dead Space 3 on Ultra., Quad core, 6GB Ram. Blu-Ray, Fast Fast Fast! Refurbished like new. Not a scratch. Sweet sound, setup a friend on the wallet. Buy it I use it for school and games and surfing the web. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bermijuela
Middletown, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could have been sold as new.
11/13/2013

Customer review by sbfeibish

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by sbfeibish
by sbfeibish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'd never have known. Screen big enough to view two pages side by side. At home it's hooked up to an Acer V213H running at 1920x1080. Using system memory for graphics doesn't slow things down at all. (works fine for videos, raw photos) I use both Acer and laptop screens simultaneously in "extended" mode. Great, well thought out set of device connections. Great price. In the 1980's it cost $8,000 for a 21" color CRT, my Mac IIfx was introduced at 9-10 thousand dollars. It's amazing that you can get all these features for this price. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 for free. It runs fine. (With only a minor bug during installation. You have to go back and reset secure boot.) Would suggest purchase of either rubber/plastic bladders (better) or bubble wrap for carrying case. I used the protection lose. Maybe you can get a tailer to sew and cover the bladders with cloth. As a carrying case lining. None of the new carrying cases I've seen came with good drop protection. I couldn't find a carrying case with drop protection equal to an old IBM case I've been using since 1999.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbfeibish
Herndon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Budget Deal, Great Performance.
3/17/2013

Customer review by VeteransRN

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by VeteransRN
by VeteransRN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hi There Walmart Shoppers. We have found your bargain computer. This is our 5th refurbished item in general. It looked brand new when we got it. It will still have 90 day warranty, we paid the extra money for the no spill/cracked screen warranty. So we are good to go. We use the computer to: email, Microsoft office (excel and documents), store photos, iTunes, etc. We upgraded from an old dinosoar that only had 99GB of storage, with an upgrade now to 500!, more than what we need. For the basic person who just goes on the web and does basic things, this this is perfect. The number pad is perfect for doing budgeting etc. The thing came like brand new, it takes like 15 seconds to turn on and your on the web. Screen is like amazing compared to my old computer. If you are a family who's frugal like us, and in need of a new computer, we highly recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeteransRN
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop at a great price
10/11/2013

Customer review by DuckyDoes

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by DuckyDoes
by DuckyDoes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer itself is great. It is fast, quite and looks like new. Win8 - I'm sure will be good once I get familiar with it. In the meantime, I downloaded a start button program that makes win8 look like win7 and with a click of a button turns back into win8. Making the computer usable from the first day and giving me time to get familiar with win8. www.download.com. This is the Third hp refurb I purchased in the last 2 year and I am extremely happy with all models (Desktops and laptops). Way to go hp. You do better than any other refurb computer on the market. Walmart has a great customer service. I purchased another brand of laptop refurb from Walmart online. I had to return it (bad display). I returned it to my local Walmart and given credit to my visa within minutes.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuckyDoes
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Refurbished by HP.
3/11/2013

Customer review by Aintgotno

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Aintgotno
by Aintgotno
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great laptop. Powerful, runs cool, battery lasts, and has a nice screen. Too bad I didn't need another one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aintgotno
37846
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleasantly surprised
10/14/2013

Customer review by hfjedieiuts

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by hfjedieiuts
by hfjedieiuts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading many of the reviews (both good and bad), I felt that the price was well worth the risk to buy "refurbished". I am very happy after a week into ownership of this great machine. Speedy with a bright screen and terrific sound. I recently owned a 15.6 inch HP with an AMD quad and the sound on it was pathetic (beats audio). I would thoroughly recommend this laptop without reservation.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hfjedieiuts
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/8/2013

Customer review by BKinOC

4.0 stars 3/8/2013 by BKinOC
by BKinOC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer itself is great and for the price it's outstanding. My only complaint is Windows 8. The computer is awesome. Ordering online and picking up at the store with free shipping was a no-brainer.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKinOC
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
3/4/2013

Customer review by tinagaga

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by tinagaga
by tinagaga

Its very fast, looks nice does everything I want and for a great price . This one has windows 8 which I happen to like. I know some people don't like it but I think its awesome. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. I deducted a star because the hard drive sometimes makes a loud noise but its brief and doesn't happen often other wise I would have given it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tinagaga
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Buy
9/30/2013

Customer review by Joker756

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Joker756
by Joker756
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I looked for this same computer elsewhere and it was more expensive every place I looked. This was the best deal for a great computer, refurbished or not, it offers all updated features and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joker756
Buena Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great spec for a low price comp
2/17/2013

Customer review by TNTTICKING

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by TNTTICKING
by TNTTICKING

This is just a reference for who doesn't know much about tech, this computer got great speed and a good graphic card, good for game and school. The special is it that at low cost

Was this review helpful? (71) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNTTICKING
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Great computer!
3/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought that I might be disappointed with this computer because I have an $800 HP laptop at work. I'm NOT disappointed. This computer is fast, speakers are good, display is good. I love the 17.3 inch screen. It makes the 15.6 look little now! I have had only one problem with the computer, and that is the quick keys for increasing/decreasing/muting speaker volume are not working. Which may very well be something I'm doing wrong. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Athens, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews