Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
44
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
12
1-20 of 143 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Won't stay online!
5/1/2014

Customer review by rockinrnb

1.0 stars 5/1/2014 by rockinrnb
by rockinrnb

I bought this printer to replace an MX860 that died after 4 years. In retrospect I should have gone with another brand, but bought the MX459 because of the price and it would do all that I needed which wasn't much. Bad thing is, it has been nothing but frustrating to use. It is set up to work remotely which it does on and off and when it will work is anyone's guess. I have deleted it, reinstalled over and over and sometimes that works, sometimes not. Then I have to start the install process via the USB and it works. That is until I scan remotely. Then if I try to print it says the printer is offline and I have to start over. DON'T BUY THIS PRINTER!!!!! Oh and question to Canon support, what's the deal????

rockinrnb
Steamboat Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome Printer
6/22/2014

Customer review by Bushmaster

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Bushmaster
by Bushmaster

This printer is FANTASTIC as far as value for the money and for what you get. I've been a Canon fan ever since I purchased my first printer (BJC-600) back in 1993. I have read other reviews stating this product was hard to set up or install and that the printer would spit paper out on the floor, I would suggest using the output tray extension to prevent the paper from getting spit out on the floor.. Please note that I've not used 8.5" X 14" paper yet, so my opinion might change when I do, but 8.5" X 11" has worked flawlessly. Overall, my experience has been great!!! Installation was VERY EASY for me. I just followed the instructions given in the packaging. I initially I connected it to my company's laptop via USB cable, but now I am going to connect it to my home computer (desktop) via Wi-Fi. I already have an MG2220 connected to my home desktop computer, so this is going to be great being able to print to the MX459 via Wi-Fi.. Additionally, Canon's Support has been FLAWLESS. They have always responded quickly to me. I haven't had to wait any longer than one (1) hour from the time I sent them an e-mail asking them questions until I received a response. I do agree with one of the comments that the display should have a backlight, but I've been able to get by without one. If needed, I just take a flashlight with me when I have to look at the display in darkness. I would recommend this printer to anyone for casual use or with a home office or small business.

Bushmaster
Vernon, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent and Reliable Product
7/12/2013

Customer review by summerstar

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by summerstar
by summerstar

Canon makes excellent printers at fantastic prices and the ink cartridges are reasonably priced. I have never had problems with their printers and I've been using this brand since my first home computer in 1999!!! They've ony been replaced to suit my needs. i strayed once to another large brand and from technical to printing quality, speed and cost of ink and supplies, I tossed it after 3-4 months and went back to my reliable Canon. Hands down I would recommend Canon.

summerstar
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Display screen should have been better.
10/7/2013

Customer review by pwc

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by pwc
by pwc

While not expecting a color display for the price point, the tiny display on the printer should have background lighting and have larger text. Also a better way of changing from ABC to 123. At least use, for example pressing #2 should get you 2, ABC,abc. Therefore this product can be considered as being difficult to use. Side Note: A duplex-er would have been a better choice than a fax machine.

pwc
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not print 2-sided
4/21/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 4/21/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Had to buy a printer in a hurry for my business because my MP560 started giving me error B200. To my surprise this printer does not print 2-sided automatically. You have to manually flip the pages over to print the back. Does not have a paper tray! Print more than a couple pages an you will have to pick them up off the floor. does not catch the paper. Outfeed too short.

An anonymous customer
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
They almost got it—but not quite
6/24/2013

Customer review by Jay

3.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Jay
by Jay

I'm an old Canon fan from 'way back, but this machine doesn't make it for me. There are little frustrations that wear me down. (1). The discharge tray is not quite long enough to support 11" paper. Paper falls out on the floor. I've taped a ruler to the tray, and that helps unless I have to fold the door up. (2) I found the box that lets me choose to print b&w only. I've never seen it again to change it. I've tried every maneuver I can think of, but I'm stuck in b&w with no panel with an opportunity to go back to both color and b&w. I've taken to putting my documents on a thumb drive, inserting that into my laptop, and printing wirelessly both color and b&w from that. (3) The 459 seems slow to load. (4) Once in "Copy" mode, it's not easy to break out of that and back into "Print." (5) On an earlier model I could refill my ink cartridges. This machine has made it very complicated to use refilled blacks. I have to use strange combinations of "stop" such as holding it down for 5 seconds, etc., deleting the pending file in the print panel and trying again, or turning the machine off and on, and still never being able to predict when it will suddenly give me a low ink signal with the freshly refilled black and refuse to budge. I know, the initial price is low so they can make exhorbitant money on new cartridges, but I see this as what my father used to call "sharp practices." I wish Canon would find a new revenue stream. I tried another brand, because they print a better image, but they're even worse in this ink aspect. That's why I came back to Canon. I guess I'll have to still shop around, but it won't be for a Canon.

Jay
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
A great purchase.
3/4/2014

Customer review by Anna

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Anna
by Anna

I received a Canon printer and fax machine for a Christmas present, it is a great product, I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for an all in one printer and fax machine in the near future. I will be enjoying my All-In-One Printer & Fax for many months to come. Thank You Canon for making such a wonderful product.

Anna
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The fax will not pull the papers through to read them. It's extremely frustrating. We've installed and re-installed the entire device numerous times and it still doesn't work. Other than that it's a nice machine, but considering that we need to fax regularly it is not the machine we were looking for.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
save your money
12/21/2014

Customer review by malimoe

1.0 stars 12/21/2014 by malimoe
by malimoe

ink eater...prints reports for everything and it took about 80 pages of reports to finally stop it. only faxes when it wants to. should have stuck with my previous brand and not the cheapest brand

malimoe
Excellent All-in-one office printer!
10/16/2013

Customer review by kikileigh

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by kikileigh
by kikileigh

Excellent print quality; for the post part it's easy to use; love that it's wireless; love the document auto-feed; and the price for such an excellent all-in-one machine was great!

kikileigh
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pixma MX459
5/3/2014

Customer review by funrob

3.0 stars 5/3/2014 by funrob
by funrob

Hard to set up. Took about 4 hours. Equally difficult to return to online status if printer fails to respond for any reason. Diagnostics are lacking.

funrob
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Printer Ever
3/10/2015

Customer review by PT

1.0 stars 3/10/2015 by PT
by PT

Worst Printer Ever! I would not recommend to anyone

PT
Hopewell, VA
2/7/2014

Customer review by Ed

2.0 stars 2/7/2014 by Ed
by Ed

The unit has no light on the display screen, and very hard to read lettering.

Ed
Would recommend to a friend? No
THE MX459
9/26/2013

Customer review by paul

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by paul
by paul

THE BEST WIRELESS PRINTER I"VE BOUGHT EASY TO INSTALL 10 MINS BEAT MY OLD HPS

paul
VENICE FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY
5/2/2014

Customer review by TNMOM

1.0 stars 5/2/2014 by TNMOM
by TNMOM

This is by far the hardest setup of a printer I've had.

TNMOM
Pigeon Forge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
WIFI impossible to set up
8/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

WIFI impossible to set up on a Mac Time Machine network

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hard to set up
12/4/2013

Customer review by Penny4568

3.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Penny4568
by Penny4568

I was setting up the wireless on my computer. With the disk they gave me. And I don't even know what to do. It's so hard. Half the things I didn't even have.

Was this review helpful? (18) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Penny4568
Barkhamsted. CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
As always, another great product
9/1/2013

Customer review by RevKitty

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by RevKitty
by RevKitty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried printers by all the manufacturers, and have found that Canon makes the best at the lowest price out there. Ink replacement is cheap as well, and the product far outlast its price. This all in one, meets all my expectations and looks good doing it. At first I thought it was way too loud, but it has a quiet mode setting, and once applied, it is the quietest printer I have ever owned. Easy to setup, and Canon customer service is outstanding as well. You can't go wrong with a Canon printer/all in one, and at their prices, you can't pass them up. I installed to an HP laptop, and an android tablet. The wireless function lets me print anything anytime without having to be right next to the printer, and its copy, fax and scan functions work just as well. You won't be sorry you made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (66) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RevKitty
Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Canon Pixma Printers are the very best!!
12/31/2013

Customer review by DaHawkster

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by DaHawkster
by DaHawkster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I will just say this. I have owned 3 Canon Pixma Printers now (including this new one I just bought). I buy Canon Pixma Printers simply because they are the best product for using @ my home, as well as in my office. The costs of the ink is very little compared to other brands on the market. The Canon Pixma Printers are very reliable, the performance is outstanding! The quality of print is excellent! I will say that when you want to make copies of your photos, the Canon Pixma has exceeded my expectations, as I am sure that it will for you as well. The new "My Image Garden" is incredible & the pictures, as well as the slide shows that you can create will last you, your family & your friends a lifetime filled with great memories!! The last thing i will share with you is this, this Canon Pixma MX459 is enviromental friendly as well.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaHawkster
God's Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome All-In-One Printer, Copier, Fax, Scanner
2/26/2014

Customer review by Levi007

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Levi007
by Levi007

It took me a while to finally get the product fully functional, but when I did I at first had problems with the fax and wireless features. After procrastinating for at least a month I got on the phone with Canon customer service/tech support. I was totally amazed at the patience, professionalism and overall experience with them. The representative was one of the best I've ever dealt with. Once done with the wireless part he walked me through the fax machine part and voila I now have a fully functional product. So if your looking for a good cheap product that has all these functions and work right this is the one. The only negative I have at this point is I need ink already. I can't confirm that the ink runs out fast as it could be just the starter ink I will know more once I buy more and whether it is reasonably priced etc.... All in All Excellent Buy

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Levi007
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews