Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
18
1-20 of 79 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
I am very sorry for buying this printer.
8/8/2014

Customer review by edZik777

1.0 stars 8/8/2014 by edZik777
by edZik777

I have this printer for 7 months now and unfortunately I have more negative comments than compliments towards it. 1. Wi-Fi connectivity issues is a BIG deal! If you have to reset the Wi-Fi settings every another week it is frustrating. Additionally, if you use Wi-Fi, your printing becomes extremely slow. 2. The printer software is a nightmare. Whatever you are trying to do: printing, scanning or copying it always would give you a message "Please, wait, printing/scanning/copying will start momentarily.... After that printer would take 2-3 minutes for some kind of adjustment or warming up and only after that you will get your document printed. It would be correct to say that one page printing takes 3-4 minutes..... Great productivity, huh? 3. Now about the ink usage. The set of cartridges would cost you ~$60 and out these $60 you will be able to print less than 85-90 pages of text. If you are printing color pictures the ink disappears like water in a desert sand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edZik777
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Good Price for a Great All-in-One Machine.
7/25/2013

Customer review by Mori2013

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Mori2013
by Mori2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for something to replace my old HP printer. This was right in my budget and had all the bells and whistles I wanted. Pros: Sleek Design, Quiet mode, Fast Printing, Great Scans, Great Price. Cons: Takes almost a full minute or two to get started printing. (I will disable automatic shutdown so it will always stay on.)

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mori2013
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Real good printer for the price
8/18/2013

Customer review by Thelar

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Thelar
by Thelar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This printer hands down beats the Epson printer that I just replaced. $60 cheaper and does much more, such as printing on both sides of the paper and printing on discs. The setup was a breeze, even for me (not a geek like my kids). The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is it takes way too long to start printing, and a bit noisy before it starts printing. The print quality is very good compared to my Epson 1500 series. An excellent value for $89 plus a free ream of print paper and a free flash drive to boot.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thelar
Mid Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
printer
7/7/2013

Customer review by userfriendly

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by userfriendly
by userfriendly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice printer. Bought as a replacement for another brand which didn't last long. Always heard canon was a good brand. Very easy to set up. Nice looking. Easy to use. May take a little longer to print, but not that long and great for me as I don't need high speed. Print quality is nice. Love how the tray pops out for the copied print to come out on. Great communication with puter-ie., great toolbar. Yes I recommend this for anyone. We shall see how long the ink and printer last.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
userfriendly
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frustrating network connectivity issues.
11/20/2013

Customer review by jt

1.0 stars 11/20/2013 by jt
by jt

I've worked in IT for over 20 years and deal with network issues for all devices including printers. This MG5422 model has been nothing but a headache. I've reinstalled drivers multiple times. I've reset my wireless router and reconfigured it 3 times. Eventually it will work and I am able to print a test page from both a laptop and a desktop PC. A day or two later when I try to print, it will say it's offline and the whole headache starts all over again. I've called customer support and they've walked me through most of the steps that I did, but the problem comes back. There is either a firmware issue, or Canon's proprietary software is flawed. I have used Canon products (scanners, printers, and cameras) in the past and they've been good, but this printer has left a VERY bad impression. I have found other reviews and blogs with the exact same symptoms online, and users have no resolution. I've had the printer for 5 months and will look to get this returned for a refund. Buyer beware.

jt
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Inkjet Printer/Scanner
5/6/2014

Customer review by PumpkinPie75

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by PumpkinPie75
by PumpkinPie75
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a fantastic printer for under $60. Nice printing, quiet operation (if you enable quiet mode), and the wireless setup was straightforward. The scanner is high resolution, and when set to auto mode adjusts to scan the size of the original. I've tried printing directly from my phone and that works too, without needing the help of a computer. It can process the picture or document through Google cloud print or Apple's AirPrint. The negatives are confined to the printing function and are pretty common to most if not all inkjets --- namely, a set of replacement ink cartridges will cost you more than the printer itself; initial wait time for a print job is interminably long and sounds as though the machine is preparing to give birth; and this particular model doesn't have a rear feed tray for heavier paper stock. Also, the Canon software is a bit bloated but you can remove some of it if computer space is a problem. But those are pretty common issues. If you've owned inkjets in the past and know what you're getting into, this one is a great value in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PumpkinPie75
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unfortunately...
2/11/2014

Customer review by Kel

2.0 stars 2/11/2014 by Kel
by Kel

I'm upset to say that this printer I received as a gift is not too great of a gift. I am currently online now looking for ways to troubleshoot the issue of it "not being connected properly" when it had been connected properly for the past 7 months and nothing has changed. Ink definitely goes quick. One issue I'm finding to be most upsetting is when you are in the middle of printing pictures, if you lose connection to the wifi, the printer stops mid print and gives you your picture, half printed... I have wasted many many many sheets of photo paper and much ink to this. Very frustrating. Also, when you hit "print," there is a good 4-6 minutes spent "thinking" and generating loud noises before it begins printing. Overall, it's cheap and the look gives it the appearance of being a nice, little nifty printer but in reality it feels like you're using a dial up printer, one that 5 times out of 10 doesn't want to do it's job anyways. You'll also find it has "paused the printing job" quite frequently.

Kel
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer for the price.
5/24/2013

Customer review by ebaypowerseller

4.0 stars 5/24/2013 by ebaypowerseller
by ebaypowerseller

Overall, I love this printer. It makes wonderful color copies quickly. I use a scanner a lot in my home based business & this scanner was difficult to learn to use as far as cropping & editing the scans. Not nearly as user friendly on the startup as my old Lexmark. My biggest complaint- no one carries the ink for this printer. Wal-Mart only sells it online. If they are going to sell a printer at a store, why not carry the ink for it there as well? Had I known this, I would have purchased another printer. But as far as getting the job done, Canon delivers on this printer for home use. Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ebaypowerseller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Good quality prints, slow start up
8/27/2013

Customer review by DebraRP

4.0 stars 8/27/2013 by DebraRP
by DebraRP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Takes quite a while to warm up but the quality of the prints are very good. Easy set up user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebraRP
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Slow and disappointing
9/6/2013

Customer review by TrainableMan

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by TrainableMan
by TrainableMan

I bought this to replace a $25 HP printer that finally gave out after several years use. Size-wise it takes about twice the desk space as my old HP. Because this printer offers wireless printing they are too cheap to include the $2 USB cord to use it wired. Also I power my printer from a power strip so that it doesn't suck power when not in use but this printer will not automatically power on when power is restored, you must physically press the power button on top of the printer. Earlier tonight I printed a single black text page from Microsoft Word and it took at least 3 minutes to print the one page, 2 and a half of that was "preparing to print" which sounds like more head cleaning etc. And when you power it off it takes at least 30seconds to clean the heads and park them. I suspect I'm loosing more ink every time it cleans the heads than I have actually printed on paper. All of this time is significantly greater than my old cheap HP. Also, instead of a paper tray just the width of the largest paper it holds, the entire side of the printer must open up which is that much more desk space you must leave clear. I suggest you avoid this printer. I wish I had.

Was this review helpful? (11) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrainableMan
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Not as good as others in the MG 5400 series
3/21/2017

Customer review by Oxfordcook

3.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Oxfordcook
by Oxfordcook

Have it since 2014 and lately the printing is delayed and the print is bold on some lines and letters have a shadow.

Oxfordcook
Chatham, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
dont buy
3/21/2017

Customer review by meme

1.0 stars 3/21/2017 by meme
by meme

Worst print I have ever owned..............................

meme
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
A disappointment compared to HP
9/13/2013

Customer review by WDBJr

2.0 stars 9/13/2013 by WDBJr
by WDBJr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having four HP printers, I thought trying out Canon Pixma would be a good move. My new printer is "louder", "Slower", "Heavier", and "more difficult to set up". I hope I will get use to it and learn how to use it more effectively.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WDBJr
Garland, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It did not work
5/8/2014

Customer review by Venk259

2.0 stars 5/8/2014 by Venk259
by Venk259
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It did not work, when took out of box. There is hardware alignment issue, head alignment paper could not come out. Good part is walmart return policy. I also noticed that this model number is not the list of canon. I think it is older version So i suggest to get the model number 5420

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Venk259
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tremendous surprise
3/19/2015

Customer review by mermaidcms

4.0 stars 3/19/2015 by mermaidcms
by mermaidcms

This is a very inexpensive printer and you would never guess. I am very happy with it. It has two paper cassettes, which was a requirement for me. One is for letter/legal paper and the other for photo paper and envelopes. I use the latter for printing out shipping labels. I must cut the label down to fit in the allotted space for a 5 x 7 photo. I am able to select the direction the label is printed so I can make small or large ones. That really saves the cost of labels. I have not printed out any photos yet, but this is not somthing that I planned to do often, if at all. Neither cassette holds a large amount of paper, about 100 sheets, but its great for home use. Each time you print something, the printer will print using the same settings as it used the last time, which I like for printing out multiple labels. I purchased this printer online at SamsClub.com and it arrived very quickly.

mermaidcms
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
5/6/2013

Customer review by Momof2loves

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Momof2loves
by Momof2loves

I was looking for a photo printer and this delivers! My only gripe is how cheap it feels. Overall all, prints beautifully!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof2loves
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
10/2/2013

Customer review by NikLea

4.0 stars 10/2/2013 by NikLea
by NikLea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this printer! I just wish that it worked a little bit faster.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikLea
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by DONDEE48

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by DONDEE48
by DONDEE48
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great. A few instructions were not clear.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DONDEE48
SEATTLE, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Multipurpose Printer, Resonable Price
4/9/2014

Customer review by MomWifeIT

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by MomWifeIT
by MomWifeIT

I have been using my MG5422 for about 4 month and am still very happy with it. The setup was easy, just follow the instructions. It does go to sleep when not in use but this has not caused a problem when printing. The will be a delay as it wakes up and preps but not for regular back to back printing. I am also in IT and have Not had the problems the other IT Pro mentioned with my printer. Note: I have his same router problem with one of my laptops, but Not my printer. So I suspect his troubles may be router/wireless related, not printer. Why I bought it: Ink Usage: Reviews said costs were higher for heavy office use, but good for personal/home use. Neg: I was surprised I had to buy ink after 4 month of light use, and I was told by an Office Depot person that printers in general ship with starter ink cartridges, not a full cartridge. Most of our printing is word docs or photos. The inks are pricy but I have also learned the hard way not to buy cheap ink. THe front panel the lift up to replace ink feels delicate but so far has held up well. ANd my three year old can reach it, so far so good.... no breakage. There are my 2 cents.

MomWifeIT
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay
8/30/2013

Customer review by lsepse

3.0 stars 8/30/2013 by lsepse
by lsepse
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's an ok printer. It doesn't have the print quality for a photo that I thought it would have. It is also really slow to print, I generally go and find something else to do while waiting. The print copy is clear and I do like that. It also doesn't come with the usb cord that Walmart says is with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lsepse
Frankfort, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews