Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 stars
17
1-20 of 77 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Frustrating network connectivity issues.
11/20/2013

Customer review by jt

1.0 stars 11/20/2013 by jt
by jt

I've worked in IT for over 20 years and deal with network issues for all devices including printers. This MG5422 model has been nothing but a headache. I've reinstalled drivers multiple times. I've reset my wireless router and reconfigured it 3 times. Eventually it will work and I am able to print a test page from both a laptop and a desktop PC. A day or two later when I try to print, it will say it's offline and the whole headache starts all over again. I've called customer support and they've walked me through most of the steps that I did, but the problem comes back. There is either a firmware issue, or Canon's proprietary software is flawed. I have used Canon products (scanners, printers, and cameras) in the past and they've been good, but this printer has left a VERY bad impression. I have found other reviews and blogs with the exact same symptoms online, and users have no resolution. I've had the printer for 5 months and will look to get this returned for a refund. Buyer beware.

jt
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unfortunately...
2/11/2014

Customer review by Kel

2.0 stars 2/11/2014 by Kel
by Kel

I'm upset to say that this printer I received as a gift is not too great of a gift. I am currently online now looking for ways to troubleshoot the issue of it "not being connected properly" when it had been connected properly for the past 7 months and nothing has changed. Ink definitely goes quick. One issue I'm finding to be most upsetting is when you are in the middle of printing pictures, if you lose connection to the wifi, the printer stops mid print and gives you your picture, half printed... I have wasted many many many sheets of photo paper and much ink to this. Very frustrating. Also, when you hit "print," there is a good 4-6 minutes spent "thinking" and generating loud noises before it begins printing. Overall, it's cheap and the look gives it the appearance of being a nice, little nifty printer but in reality it feels like you're using a dial up printer, one that 5 times out of 10 doesn't want to do it's job anyways. You'll also find it has "paused the printing job" quite frequently.

Kel
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tremendous surprise
3/19/2015

Customer review by mermaidcms

4.0 stars 3/19/2015 by mermaidcms
by mermaidcms

This is a very inexpensive printer and you would never guess. I am very happy with it. It has two paper cassettes, which was a requirement for me. One is for letter/legal paper and the other for photo paper and envelopes. I use the latter for printing out shipping labels. I must cut the label down to fit in the allotted space for a 5 x 7 photo. I am able to select the direction the label is printed so I can make small or large ones. That really saves the cost of labels. I have not printed out any photos yet, but this is not somthing that I planned to do often, if at all. Neither cassette holds a large amount of paper, about 100 sheets, but its great for home use. Each time you print something, the printer will print using the same settings as it used the last time, which I like for printing out multiple labels. I purchased this printer online at SamsClub.com and it arrived very quickly.

mermaidcms
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Multipurpose Printer, Resonable Price
4/9/2014

Customer review by MomWifeIT

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by MomWifeIT
by MomWifeIT

I have been using my MG5422 for about 4 month and am still very happy with it. The setup was easy, just follow the instructions. It does go to sleep when not in use but this has not caused a problem when printing. The will be a delay as it wakes up and preps but not for regular back to back printing. I am also in IT and have Not had the problems the other IT Pro mentioned with my printer. Note: I have his same router problem with one of my laptops, but Not my printer. So I suspect his troubles may be router/wireless related, not printer. Why I bought it: Ink Usage: Reviews said costs were higher for heavy office use, but good for personal/home use. Neg: I was surprised I had to buy ink after 4 month of light use, and I was told by an Office Depot person that printers in general ship with starter ink cartridges, not a full cartridge. Most of our printing is word docs or photos. The inks are pricy but I have also learned the hard way not to buy cheap ink. THe front panel the lift up to replace ink feels delicate but so far has held up well. ANd my three year old can reach it, so far so good.... no breakage. There are my 2 cents.

MomWifeIT
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Home Printer EVER !!!
10/20/2015

Customer review by Cathy

5.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Cathy
by Cathy

I purchased my PIXMA MG5422 nearly two years ago for use in my home. I am not a prolific printer--but when I need it, it's there! It was super easy to setup (and I am NOT a technical person. Just follow the directions step-by-step. SO easy! I have networked the printer with two laptops. Works great every time. Not bad on ink use--even with dozens of copies. I just learned today that it prints two-sided copies. This put me "over the top" happy with the printer. Love the quality of photos, too. The color quality is pretty good. Haven't tried any photo-shopped pics. Probably not a good fit for a busy office, but great for a home office. Love, love, love this printer!!!

Cathy
Madison, Maine
Fantastic and easy to use!!
6/16/2016

Customer review by Isabelle

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Isabelle
by Isabelle

I love this printer. I had many before and this is the one I will going to hold on to. Is is easy to use, the quality of photos are excellent and it is fast. Love the wireless feature!!

Isabelle
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Software is the worst
7/5/2014

Customer review by Terry

2.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Terry
by Terry

The machine is OK., but the software is horrendous. Nothing is intuitive. The search in help is horrendous. Every search will find a letter combination that stands alone or even is embedded in another word. The search results, therefore, are endless, and you cannot figure out which results actually have anything to do with your problem. I have had a number of road block that would take forever to work through. The latest is trying to save, yes, something as simple as saving, a layout for a CD disc print. Absolutely cannot find it on that page or in help. I never dreamed anyone could design such completely inadequate software. If it sounds like I am frustrated, I am!

Terry
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ink hog/shuts off short time
3/29/2015

Customer review by profrose

2.0 stars 3/29/2015 by profrose
by profrose

I have had this printer for 6 months and it is painful. The printer shuts off within 30 min of last use which actually causes it to use MORE ink when it is turned on. The printer is an ink hog and the cartridges are very expensive. The printer came with no manual and a very confusing start up sheet of paper - that did not explain well that all of the orange plastic pieces needed to be removed and where they are. Printer does not do #10 envelopes well - addresses are often off centered. When this machine is turned on it goes on and on with setting itself up to print.. often a full minute or more of clicking and clacking.. and I have it attached with a USB.

profrose
Central FL
Great printer
6/8/2014

Customer review by OpaS

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by OpaS
by OpaS

I've had this printer for about 6 months and have NOT had any of the negative experiences of others reviewing here. Both Win 7 and Win 8 as well as my wife's iPod Air found enough drivers automatically to use the basics of this printer. I can print from anyplace in my 3500 sq ft house without an issue. For those wasting paper because of network issues (could be your router, sharing or security settings, etc) you might try connecting via USB for those important picture prints. I too have had wireless print issues, always turned out to be a router or interference issue.

OpaS
DFW - Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
problems with cloud printing
9/13/2015

Customer review by tsli76

3.0 stars 9/13/2015 by tsli76
by tsli76

I have no problems using this printer with my laptop. My husband however cannot connect his Chrome notebook to the Google Cloud printer. We have tried everything. Apparently, Canon has decided this Acer cb3-111 notebook can no longer be compatible for cloud printing on this Canon printer. After researching multiple sites, owners have stated the Acer used to work with Google Cloud but no longer does. Not feeling very good about the Canon MG5420 right now.

tsli76
MI
dont buy this printer
11/10/2014

Customer review by mike

1.0 stars 11/10/2014 by mike
by mike

Bought this printer specifically for new windows 8 computer. It is terrible!!. About to throw it in trash. Constantly tells me not detected, never consistently prints, and runs put of ink all the time. Have bought replacements already on three cartridges and after only a few pages. Tried the recommended downloads and no help. BEWARE!!!!!!!! Don't buy this printer!!!!! I will NEVER buy cannon again. If I could give it a zero star I would. One star is generous.

mike
arkansas
Nice Buy
3/20/2015

Customer review by Ezgorann

4.0 stars 3/20/2015 by Ezgorann
by Ezgorann

Like the value and ease of setup. Works very well with mi I-pad air print function. Like the dual side print function and wireless scanner function from pc dashboard icon. Outstanding photo print quality. Have some difficulties making printer work with my Samsung Galaxy S4 wireless print functionality. Wished printer has NFC easy pair functionality and top loading multi page capability. Overall, very good printer and solid value.

Ezgorann
Sacramento, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very disappointed
8/14/2014

Customer review by grammy

1.0 stars 8/14/2014 by grammy
by grammy

Was given the printer as a Chtistmas gift. Didn't set ip until February. Worked great for a couple of months. Then it ssid off line for more than 2 weeks. Can not get it back on line. It ran low on ink. Replaced the cartridges and still prints all blue. I use it for edible prints for cake decorating. I have maybe printed 25 prints. It never works.

grammy
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sucks up ink in no time!
9/20/2013

Customer review by Butch

1.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Butch
by Butch

1) This printer is to costly to use because of the way it uses up Printer Ink! I found myself constantly purchasing expensive Ink Cartridges and I don't print enough to warrant such Ink usage! The Ink Cartridges are to expensive! 2) I also do not like the separate paper carriers! 3) It operates very slowly before printing takes several minutes!

Butch
Philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
SJ Scan Utility Missing
8/12/2014

Customer review by SC Dude

2.0 stars 8/12/2014 by SC Dude
by SC Dude

After two hours of trying to get the Canon MG5422 to scan something, I realized that it is missing the IJ Scan Utility, and after another half hour of searching for this utility on the Canon web site, I cannot for the life of me figure out how I can get the utility. I therefore cannot scan, which is why I bought this device.

SC Dude
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer!
3/30/2015

Customer review by Kaylin

4.0 stars 3/30/2015 by Kaylin
by Kaylin

I love this printer! It was fast and easy to set up and I love that I can print from my iPhone. The only complaint I have is that the first print is always slow but after that it's pretty fast. I have not printed any pictures from it though. I would honestly rather have photos printed from Walgreens than blow money on ink. Overall, it's a good printer.

Kaylin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE my PRINTER
2/13/2014

Customer review by LinaBelle

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by LinaBelle
by LinaBelle

My fiance purchased this for during a special Sam's event, so we got it for pretty cheap. I absolutely love it! I printed my invitations to my wedding, my save my dates, and even printed on the envelopes - they all look fantastic! The wireless connection was simple and I've never had issues with it. I love not having cords everywhere.

LinaBelle
Lenexa, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Think before you buy
8/6/2014

Customer review by GM

1.0 stars 8/6/2014 by GM
by GM

Cycle time takes too long. Ink consumption is ridiculous, I have spent much more on ink cartridges in the last 9 months versus the original purchase price of this printer. All ink cartridges seems to be consumed even when using greyscale printing.

GM
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? No
WORST PURCHASE EVERRRR
12/4/2013

Customer review by Yiyo

1.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Yiyo
by Yiyo

I'm very disappointed whit this product. I want a product that made my life more easy when I have to print. This Printer PIXMA MG5422 its a waste of time and money. I will definitely wont recommend this product to anyone not even my worst enemy.

Yiyo
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
canon printer
1/7/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/7/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is not a user friendly product. I have tried everything you recommend online, instructions, etc. It will print a test page and that is it. Yes, my connections are there, etc.

An anonymous customer
ok
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews